Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Villa Navarre - Les Collectionneurs 5 stars

59 Avenue Trespoey, 64000 Pau, France

#23 of 42 hotels in Pau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 195 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    loved the swimming pool, most welcome when the temperature were 35 plus. The views of the Pyrenees
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    could have had a comfortable chair in the room

    The staff were incredibly attentive. The restaurant was great we had a delightful meal,and the staff in the restaurant were first class. Thank you

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast disappointing no croissants left and little of anything else when we arrived 20mins prior to finishing time

    Lovely quite location close to centre but felt like in countryside. Fabulous outlook towards mountains. Great swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely building and great rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu was very limited and expensive. No vegetarian on the menu, although they did cook a plate of veg for my wife, but it was just that a plate of warm veg!!

    Lovely building and great rooms. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    Hotel good and room excellent as we were given upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Visit to Pau spoilt by a Formula 1 road race in the city making horrendous noise and spoiling any pleasure we had expected from a visit to Pau. Most roads unaffected by the race were being dug up in a major renovation, so no chance of getting about the town - we left earlier than planned, which was a pity as the hotel is good.

    Hotel good and room excellent as we were given upgrade. Food also OK in the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing - although Pau town is a lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no idea how this property achieves 5 star rating. It is like a tired country house in need of renovation. The experience was rather like Fawlty Towers, with no bar staff, limited breakfast and generally lacking in any ambience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful and unique hotel with fabulous views and delicious restaurant. Very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We needed soaps and shampoos and little details to make the third person in the room feel as comfortable as the other two.

    Food, wine, indoor pool(!) and hot tub, view from the room all fabulous!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice Hotel with expensive disapointing breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast at 19 Euros is a disgrace for a "5 Stars" hotel. Limited choice, average products. Not in line with a 5 Stars at all.

    Nice and peaceful location, Comfortable room. Decent staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    Did not let the meal affect our stay. We had a lovely time apart from that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant totally let us down. Very expensive meal but not expensive food. Did not let us spoil the occasion though. We ate out the rest of the time.

    Loved the room, loved the view. Upgraded to a suite. Great facilities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.9
    Very nice place and enjoyable but not 5 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was lovely but a bit tired and the carpets definitely need an upgrade in the room and the public areas. People smoking below our room on the terrace below was not great but thankfully only happened one night.

    The view and the original features in the older part of the hotel. A lovely setting in its own grounds and very peaceful. All the staff were really helpful and nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.9
    Weary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being woken up on 2 of 3 nights by noisy bar use in outdoor area under bedroom windows at midnight lasting till complaint at 2 am

    The management of late night revellers and quiet stay at home guests caused conflict

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful place to stay rather than the usual hotel found in towns.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorry but the restaurant was disappointing for dinner. Only used first night room service was better the second night.

    Lovely location. Drinks n terrace in the evening very nice. Room excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic last night off long weekend, and bonus was they were filming an episode of Grand Tour .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we did not like.

    The food in the restaurant was to die for. After 2 days off fiestas and tapas the food was delish. Every plate was amazing although we plumped to the most expensive menu.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    I wish we could have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We had a split level room with our daughter sleeping in the lower room sofa bed and us sleeping upstairs. Lovely view, clean. Quite impressive. Dinner and breakfast were a bit "posh" but our little girl still managed to find something to eat.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    5.0
    Underwhelmed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put up in the annex. It smelled of damp. People next to us were woken by yapping dogs that had been left alone in a room Does not deserve its star rating: staff at front desk poor. Breakfasts outrageously expensive: we ate out

    Position: could at a pinch walk into town Very quiet Swimming pool fun Great city to visit, loved Pau

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic chateau and grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to not like.

    Fantastic chateau and grounds. Huge rooms and bathrooms elegantly decorated and with floor to ceiling windows facing green forests with the Pyrenees mountains looming above - spectacular view with dinner on the terrace. Food is terrific and reasonably priced for the quality and the setting.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.5
    Nice place, but rather a 4-star facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is understaffed, both in terms of quantity and seniority. Not in line with pretentious 5 stars boasted. Breakfast needs a tune up.

    Location is very pleasant, with stunning view on the Pyrenees. Nice building, and nice gardens. Good restaurant, with limited selection of food but extensive cave.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    7.9
    Past its sell by date
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast, considering the price charged, was very limited in content. We have had a better selection in a 2 star hotel. Not up to standard.

    The dinner was excellent as was the wine.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.0
    Excellent overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Quiet surroundings.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous property with beautiful garden. Very good restaurant.also.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet paper dispenser comes off the wall easily...it needs to be fixed.

    Beautiful building beautifully preserved.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful building and grounds with an excellent restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful building and grounds with an excellent restaurant and heaps of parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Friendly staff and nice place and garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and nice place and garden

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.7
    It was ok, but we wouldn't go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't well maintained. The food was good but over-priced.

    It was very quiet. The staff were friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    Bit overpriced but nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t included in the price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Stopover one night a little off the main highway but as all paradores excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Dinner was lovely. Room was comfortable and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was excellent! So friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Location and pretty building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant, spa and pool closed. Room service meal was expensive dog food. Staff was surly.

    Location and pretty building

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.5
    A place worth of memories.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    The garden and Chateau with its many facilities. Service excellence included.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a great room on the ground floor, private with access to the wonderful gardens with an excellent view of the Pyrenees.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.2
    Very helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Driveway from street into property is unlit.

    Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Well looked after.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Service. Staff. Food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Definitely coming back
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a long time the best stay in a hotel in France . Best food!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compared with other 5 star hotels bedrooms were small and fittings and finish were poor.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.8
    great view of the Pyrenees, generally very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    great view of the Pyrenees, generally very helpful and pleasant staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly and relaxed for anyone travelling alone
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and relaxed for anyone travelling alone

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    9.2
    The room upgrade, the spa
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room upgrade, the spa

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    10
    Luxurious hideaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not soundproofed from corridor noise.

    Setting was peaceful, breakfast delicious.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    5.0
    Really nice building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff is not at the level of what you shall expect in a 5* hotel. Nobody to pick up the luggage. Room service with lack of correction and professionalism. When we entered the room there was a very unpleasant smell.

    Really nice building. The yard is really charming. It is one of the few 5* hotel in Pau.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    9.2
    This was our second stay at this hotel and we will...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having returned to the hotel we wanted a cognac as a nightcap. There was no barman but the receptionist was covering that role too. She took our order and returned to apologise that they had run out of cognac. We ordered 2 glasses of red wine instead and she brought 2 glasses and said they were complimentary. Sadly both glasses were full of sediment and I assume were the end of a bottle. Therefore most of the wine could not be drunk. A 5 star french hotel/restaurant WITHOUT cognac really is not good enough. On this occasion the Villa Navarre let itself down.

    This was our second stay at this hotel and we will definitely stay again. It is a beautiful hotel in a great location and despite the negative comment a place I love

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    7.5
    Good location within city boundaries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom plumbing needs some attention to detail.

    Good location within city boundaries. Quiet position in mature parkland. Good, if rather expensive, restaurant. Comfortable rooms with adequate facilities.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    5.4
    Good food in restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner trays from previous guests still outside room on arrival and well into the evening. Problem with A/C. Informed reception. No action. Finally changed rooms, with no offer of assistance. Place felt under staffed. Pool was a bit like the one in 'A Good Year' !! Not inviting.

    Good food in restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    9.2
    We loved the elegance of the building and the magnificent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A small problem was that there were only two power points in our room and they were difficult to access. It would have been good to have one in the bathroom

    We loved the elegance of the building and the magnificent views of the Pyrenees mountains. In addition, the staff were polite, friendly and ready to satisfy all of our needs.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    8.8
    Lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A 5 star hotel shouldn't have aircon which doesn't work, lamps which don't work, plugs which don't fit in the sink. Sadly our room was deficient in all these areas

    Lovely location. Comfy bed. Really good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    7.9
    Large bedroom&bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No proper air conditioning. Just some noisy machine with a pipe sticking out of a window. Not practical at night and not acceptable at this room's price.

    Large bedroom&bathroom. Good location. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    5.8
    Large and comfortable room and hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Value proposition for room and meal not sufficient for the price. Hotel needs more maintenance. Staff could be more helpful.

    Large and comfortable room and hotel.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    8.8
    We had a lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only drawback is that the hotel is outside of town, so one has to drive or take a taxi anywhere. The restaurant was a bit limited in its menus and going out in the evening is a bit of a chore. But you couldn't have such beautiful gardens and views in the centre of town.

    We had a lovely stay. Everything about the room and the hotel was perfect. The room was very large and comfortable, bath and wardrobe spaces terrific. Fabulous view of the Pyrenees across beautiful hotel gardens.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    7.5
    Beautiful scenery from rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Standard not to Five Star level. We were a party of Three but the room facilities were set up for Two. Eg gowns, slippers , coffee ,milk etc

    Beautiful scenery from rooms

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    10
    This is an excellent hotel with helpful attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My ONLY minor criticism is that it would be helpful if the restaurant menu was also available in English

    This is an excellent hotel with helpful attentive staff. The facilities are very good and the spa, although I didn't use it, looks great and very tempting. I will be using this hotel regularly in future whenever travelling across France

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    4.6
    The view from our suite of the Pyrennees
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of service, lack of maintenance, lack of attention to details.

    The view from our suite of the Pyrennees

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    10
    The hotel, room, staff, food was all excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel, room, staff, food was all excellent. We would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    6.3
    The view from the room was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much choice on menu and a bit fussy. Much further out of Pau than we thought so could not walk in.

    The view from the room was lovely

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    7.9
    Excellent location and lovely grounds / views
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent location and lovely grounds / views

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    7.1
    The environment the garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room are old style and not 5 stars designed

    The environment the garden

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    9.2
    All ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nil

    All ok

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    5.4
    Location and grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Faded elegance,no ambience in the restaurant and overpriced

    Location and grounds

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    7.5
    The grounds, the dinner, the friendliness of the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    a few mosquito bites…my fault, left terrace door open.

    The grounds, the dinner, the friendliness of the staff

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: