Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Villa la Malouine

62 bld Carnot, 06300 Nice, France

#151 of 169 hotels in Nice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 168 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Short walk to the port, handy for overnight in Nice,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our ensuite bathroom was tiny, but had all it needed so fine

    Short walk to the port, handy for overnight in Nice, beautiful old building, super friendly and helpful owner Nicholas (speaks fluent English), comfy bedroom, lovely secluded garden terrace to sit and enjoy breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    3.8
    overall, terrible, not to be returned
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the first room booked, a standard, was small at the limit of tolerable .. you could not open the suitcase. Lying on the bed, I see that there are nails sprouting beside the head, on the headboard. Bathroom so small that you do not turn around. Without air conditioning, intolerable during the summer heat, and without even the screens on the windows to protect against insects and mosquito bites. We decided for a better room upgrading with 15euro more, which is worth at least for the space. Here there was a small terrace, and hypothetically also the air conditioning .. but that does not work. Reception staff annoyed and unfriendly, cleaning so & so (do not look under the bed if you are not lovers of vintage dust) ...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Great location close to the the port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Great location close to the the port. Excellent bars and cafes nearby. Manager was extremely helpful and very friendly. Would recommend for great value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Good location by Port and free parking.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs repair. Toilet seat was loose and shower head needed replacement. Place in general needs looking after. Spiral staircase was a pain.

    Good location by Port and free parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.8
    The room was very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was not very confortable, I think there was something wrong with the mattress (very hard and a bit bumpy). Also the stairs to go up quite/very narrow that made things difficult to reach the second floor with suitcases and without lift and no one in the hotel helps you to put your stuff up. Anyway, not much about this (except the bed and the help with the suitcases) can be fixed, as it is the structure of the building.

    The room was very nice. Full of light with a nice balcony with two chairs looking into the garden and overseeing from far away the sea. Nice and confortable room. Nicely spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Great stay in Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb old mansion house a short walk from Nice port with onsite parking. We booked this hotel due to its location, favourable reviews and the fact that you could park onsite so close to the main attractions of Nice and we were pleased we did. The house is amazing and has been refurbished by Nicolas the owner in traditional style. It was spotlessly clean and full of character. There is a stunning sitting room with a bar and amazing furniture where breakfast is served if it’s raining otherwise it’s outside in the garden which has lots of interesting trees and plants. Nicolas is friendly and has a good knowledge of the area. He has a lovely boat which you can hire and he will take you out on the Med. We had a great stay which was great value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful, quiet home close to everything with parking on the property if you are driving
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything except the shower was really small, so next time we would book a bigger room.

    We liked that it was within walking distance of the Promenade Des Anglais, and Old Town with all the shops,restaurants and bars. We also walked to the Museum of Modern Art, which is certainly worth a visit. Nicholas was a great host, and served a breakfast of coffee and croissants each morning on the terrace; we even booked a few hours on his boat to visit Monaco!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    The perfect place to stay in Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We chose a premier room and were not disappointed. We had a wonderful view to the harbour, a large and clean room, a balcony from which to enjoy the view and a comfortable seating area. The location is excellent as it is a short walk into the old city, close to the port and the ferries, the bus to Monaco goes past the front door and shops are nearby. I would recommend this hotel as a perfect place to stay when in Nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    4.6
    Dont expect a lot
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no airport-shuttle, only if you pay extra. Breakfast is not included, costs extra. furniture was old, rooms are small

    There is a busstop very close, where you can go to Monaco for 1,50 Euro from Airport the bus is 6 Euro; taxi 30-40 Euro The owner was friendly; location is good, if you dont mind walking uphil; Bus is also available if they dont strike.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night we were located into a room on the top floor that was very small, fortunately Room 4 was available and we moved in there for the extra 4 nights charged 10 euro extra per day, breakfast charge 8 euro per person,

    Location was a short walk to the Port, further around the beach and old town of Nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful, peaceful, stay in Nice. 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was lovely and quiet. A very pleasant and peaceful atmosphere to have breakfast in the beautiful garden. The owner of the hotel was very friendly and helpful. He made our stay extra special. Great location with an enjoyable, short walk into the town centre. Would recommend this hotel. We had a lovely experience and would love to go back there again. 😀

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    6.7
    Okay for the price, not very friendly, a long walk into main part of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Host wasn't very friendly and wasn't there much. We didn't get a wifi code at check-in, and the first night I kept calling the front desk and no one ever answered, so we couldn't get on wifi until the second day. He sort of accused us of having taken a liter of bottled water that was for sale, which we hadn't. There were 2 smallish towels that were stiff and harsh. The hotel is described as being a few minutes walk from the port. It's about 10 minutes to the west side of the port, another 5-10 to the port bus stop, and a good 30-40 to the old part of town.

    The hotel was a decent value for Nice and one of the few that had free on-site parking. It was quiet (window opened onto a courtyard area). There were some very good restaurants about a ten minute walk away. We ate at a wok restaurant and a Lebanese restaurant that were both very good. A plus is there is a bus stop a couple of blocks from the hotel that we took to Monte Carlo.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Well situated, great value for money, recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small hotel, well situated for the 5 minute walk to the harbour and 10 minute walk to the main seafront. Private parking a bonus. Excellent value for money, we had a great view, good bathroom and simple continental breakfast. The owner gave good advice on where to eat, what to see and a highlight of our trip was to take a (paid) trip on his boat. We enjoyed the walk into town and had no trouble with the hotel stairs but suggest this may not suit people who have difficulty walking. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    3.3
    Very bad quality/price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We paid 89€ for (what most surely is) the worst room in the hotel: old furniture, old and too soft bed, small (too) simple bathroom, in a third floor without elevator, where the internet was horrible/slow and didn't work all the time. We saw a few of the other rooms passing by and the others had better sun light, refurnished and more spacious. We guess that we got the worst one because we only were to stay one night. We don't recommend it.

    The host was kind of attentive and allowed us to leave the car longer in the hotel parking so that we could walk around after the check-out.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    6.3
    Good location, minimal luxury/comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was very tired and not really set up as a hotel it felt like a private property. No reception open. We called and waited in the court yard for the man to arrive and let us in. Breakfast was poor.

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    9.6
    good choice !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent stay , as the hotel is off the road and so very quiet.Room large enough with a balcony.we didn t have to drive as the old town is really close,pehaps 10 min walk. I suppose not every one can appreciate an old house transformed into a hotel but I did .!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    10
    good hang out !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    couldn t stay longer as it was fully booked.

    we had a great stay as nothing could be better.the room was spacious,clean,quiet...In fact it makes feel like going back to Nice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    8.8
    Beautifull VIlla with a lot of cache
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    that we just could stay one night.

    if you like old Villas....... a must, We do so and therefore we liket it big time. The Parking is narrow for a big car but you can park if you know how to drive. For small and intermediate cars no problem. The place is close to the old town and close to the old port. So for us perfect. We stayed there before we left via Airport. Be aware if you have to go to the airport traffic can be a change....so give yourself enough time.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    5.4
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Host is not friendly at all and very complicated. I sent an email at 9am that I will arrive between 7 and 8pm. He didn't get the email and was angry from the beginning. He even not introduced himself. Reception is officially closed from 1pm to 5pm but afterwards also not available. He ruined my stay, honestly. Furniture in the room was nice but in the corridor some parts are more rubbish. In the night around the hotel it`s really dark. Taxi driver asked me: Is this really a hotel? Do you really want to stay there?

    Quiet location, near to the center

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Any time again
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy place... English reception avail... Great to stay there...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    4.2
    Dissapointing
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fleas in bed, moldy bathroom, smelly. :-( No chair and table on the balkony.

    Mood of the building.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.0
    Overall disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a charming villa as described, more like a rundown old house in need of a lot of maintaining, dark and dungy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Very friendly owner and excellent location. Although on the Basse Corniche, very quiet
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    The view from our balcony and our breakfast in the garden

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.7
    High price of parking and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price and confort. Little and old bathroom !

    Building and location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    3.3
    It's old and not very clean
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's old and not very clean Looks more as a hostel than a b&b Look elsewhere

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Basically, we were thrown out of the hotel. We stayed one night. At check-in I asked by what time we needed to check out next morning and the receptionist said: "for you, any time". This was an unusual statement, but I assumed that the room was not booked after our departure, so they were not too concerned with our departure time. The following morning, we stayed in bed late because I had come down with the flu and was feeling quite sick. By 11:45 I went to take a shower and get ready. While I was in the shower, the same receptionist gave a 15 minute warning by knocking on the door, and just as I was about to come out of the shower, barged into the room, together with the house cleaner, propped the door open, and started removing the linen from the bed. As I did not have all my clothes in the small bathroom, I had to come out in my underwear and put on shirt and pants in front of them. They were not apologetic at all. Throwing all my belongings quickly into the suitcase, we left the room. We were frankly quite shocked and left speechless by what had transpired to make an argument or ask for an explanation. Not to mention that I was feeling very low energy due to my illness. So we just left. There was no-one in the reception waiting to check in. I have never experienced or heard of such a bizarre behaviour by a hotel manager. It was a memorable stay, but for all the wrong reasons.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    9.2
    The charm of the original shabby chic of this quircky old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First room was small . Upgraded to a larger lovely room.( no opportunity to upgrade when booking with . com.) Bit of a hill to climb to get to hotel,could be a problem for elderly/ disabled.

    The charm of the original shabby chic of this quircky old villa . Great shower. Lovely outside terrace where breakfast is served under a grapefruit tree!! The helpfulness of the manager/ owner Nicholas, who was super helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    5.4
    Quiet location and near harbour, bit of a walk to town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast poor value at 9euros for bread and croissant, coffee and orange Dirty and torn shower curtain. Old property in need of re-furb.

    Quiet location and near harbour, bit of a walk to town centre.Helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    10
    Quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Uphill from port and bus stop at end of the day!

    Quiet. Good room with reasonable bath room. Helpful proprietor. Short walk to the port with good selection of eating places. Good busses into town and east towards Monaco. Plenty of coffee with breakfast. Felt safe.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    5.0
    We feel the photos give a false impression of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We feel the photos give a false impression of the hotel.On arrival we felt disappointed with the overall look and the room we had didn't match up to our expectations.It was quite dark, badly decorated and very basic.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    5.4
    Parking on site and cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First room put in (room 1) was awful. Bathroom basically in a cupboard and not very clean. No air conditioning - fans only, not ideal for this time of year. Breakfast basic and expensive for two croissants and a small loaf of bed. Towels and bedding require renewal. This is a two star hotel, I have seen this advertised as a three star. More like a bed and breakfast than a hotel. No bar

    Parking on site and cheap View from Room 9 was good Staff member was welcoming Free upgrade to room 9

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the bathroom was very small, but it didnt bothered us very much.

    Everything was perfect. The owner was really friendly, the room small but clean. We had a nice stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    7.5
    The Villa was located just off a busy road with a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although the room was clean, the stairs leading to the room needed a good hovering.

    The Villa was located just off a busy road with a very narrow car parking area, the room itself was a decent size but the shower ensuite was a bit of a squeeze. Breakfast was served outside however was not value for money.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    7.5
    We stopped here for one night on our way to Italy and it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stopped here for one night on our way to Italy and it was perfect for what we needed. We were driving so we could park our car and walk 10 minutes to town.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    7.5
    Big room well decorated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    View

    Big room well decorated

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    10
    perfect hang out for my stay
    • Solo traveller

    perfect hang out for my stay quiet and tidy room surounded by garden. what to expect !?

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    6.7
    Friendliness of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very tiny bathroom

    Friendliness of staff

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    7.5
    It was a short walk to the Port and to the beach at Nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a short walk to the Port and to the beach at Nice. There were good restaurants close by. Our host was helpful.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    10
    Wonderful environment,and the owner/manager Nicolas...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful environment,and the owner/manager Nicolas could not be more welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    9.6
    we thougt it was an ideal hotel close to every thing we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we thougt it was an ideal hotel close to every thing we wished to visit. confortable and quiet... what else to say !

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    8.3
    Quiet surrounding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Quiet surrounding. Close walking distance to harbour and old town. Safe parking place in the backyard.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    7.9
    20 min easy walk to center, hotel is near big port, free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    20 min easy walk to center, hotel is near big port, free parking, excelent i internet, and very nice staff

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Guests also reviewed these properties: