Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of 1 Park Road 4 stars

1 Park Road, Windermere, LA23 2AW, United Kingdom

#61 of 76 B&Bs and Inns in Windermere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 189 B&B reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    6.0
    Less house rules more scrubbing!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in our room was absolutely filthy. The toilet brush was covered in faeces and wet toilet roll, there was a coating of dust/scum all over the shower/shelves and the sink. This had obviously not been cleaned for a very long time.

    The location and the information regarding walks etc was helpful. We were given a decent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    It was a brilliant short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing everything was to our satisfaction first class.

    The Location was close to all the things we needed and we couldn`t faulty anything about the room. The Breakfast was excellent too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast was tasty and quite a lot to choose from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double (1)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really sqeaky but apart from that it was nice and comfortable.

    The breakfast was tasty and quite a lot to choose from. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. The room was very cosy and had everything you needed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.0
    Windermere is beautiful, the fells are absolutely stunning. But for me there was too much walking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They had put me on the top floor, up four flights of stairs, I have heart condition and did not find this acceptable.

    The owners were very friendly, and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    3.0
    Will not be returning wouldn’t recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the room I struggle to see how the room was superior The bed was very creaky with the headboard not even attached the noise actually woke you up when you turned over There was hairs in the shower and in the bed Our room was nothing like any photograph on the internet We struggled to be seated at breakfast as the room wasn’t big enough we were asked to move so people could get to the coffee We eventually cleared another table and moved felt very much in the way

    Check in was simple and the owners were very knowledgable parked in the front felt safe

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    1 Park Road was a favorite place to stay on our trip to England.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our friendly, helpful hostess greeted us with lots of information about the area. The house was lovely, in a quiet, picturesque location, our room comfortable, and a delicious breakfast every morning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.5
    Location was great.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double (4)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Issues with cleanliness. Need to check milk jugs and under beds and dressing tables and hairs in the shower. Pets only allowed in bedrooms..alot of rules and regs to read through was a little intimidating.

    Location was great.owners friendly and good cooked breakfast..short of beans though was a little dry with out them

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Enjoyed our stay, breakfast excellent, made to feel welcone, and i liked the fact that all guest's w
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints from us😌😌😌

    Philip and Mary were very down to earth, i liked the fact you could come and go as you pleased no matter what time you came in, most enjoyable wee break 😌😌😌

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    4.6
    Mary and Philip are great, awesome breakfast
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double (6)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall cleanliness in the bedroom and en-suite was poor, the place needs a proper good clean, especially the mirrors.

    Lovely hosts, nice towels, superb breakfast, great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Highly recommended. Will stay there again if we are in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Perhaps some more water pressure in the shower.

    We liked everything. The hosts are absolute darlings. Rooms are airy and comfortable and the cooked breakfast is divine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely, cosy guest house with good sized bedroom, perfect...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely, cosy guest house with good sized bedroom, perfect for stay with our dog. The location was great, just a 10-15 minute walk to the lake. Lovely breakfast with lots of choice and the owners were really friendly, I'm already looking to book again for the summer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    Lovely old victorian house on a corner position offering a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double (6)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The dated Bathroom and the carpeted stairway.Parking only for 2 cars which is a little tight....A bit more thorough with the cleaning of room.

    Lovely old victorian house on a corner position offering a superb location for Bowness and windermere town centres.We enjoyed the breakfast which came with quality fresh produce.Very friendly hosts and enjoyed the light conversation particularly at breakfast,with them.Both are very knowledgeable of the area and nothing was too much trouble for them

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    Lovely 2 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower wasn't great but I understand that in old properties. Slightly disappointed by the amount of dust in the room and a dirty shower. Also the drinks tray hadn't been cleaned.

    Lovely property with great hosts. The breakfast was really good. The lake is quite a walk away but it is a really nice walk. Really liked the area and would love to go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Clean, friendly staff, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was lovely but don't like Smokey bacon so maybe some non smoked should be available too. The lake was 3 mile away and the pub a fair walk, room was a little small. Shops just 5 mins walk away. Overall was pleased and would definitely recommend this accommodation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    It was a lovely stay and with the help of the owners it was made even better.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The two owners were so friendly and helpful. They had great information about what to do and where to go. The breakfasts were delicious and so much variety. The room was clean and tidy and the facilities were excellent. They even made the trip great for our dog too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Perfect for a relaxing stay in the Lakes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double (6)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Our hosts were really friendly and welcoming. Lovely room plus guest lounge where you could even play the piano. They gave us some really good restaurant and day trip tips too. Simply fabulous!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Perfect getaway in the most beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing we can think of, our stay was wonderful and peaceful

    The room had tea leaves and coffee with fresh milk available which is very unlike the fake milk other hotels use, was truly an extra treat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    Lovely stay, especially with a dog
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cooked breakfast was a little greasy - the sausages weren't the nicest.

    The continental breakfast was amazing - I loved the fruit selection. We appreciated the chocolates on the bed when we arrived and the little touches for our dog. Great location and lovely hosts. Really did make us feel so comfortable in their home.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had such a lovely stay at 1 Park Road. We've only ever used hotels before so this was our first b&b experience and it definitely exceeded expectations. The property has lots of character, the rooms are nicely decorated & comfortable and have everything you need. A lovely touch of fudge/marshmallow as a welcome, and a good selection of tea/coffee/cocoa in the room, as well as toiletries in the bathroom. Breakfast was a highlight, there was a good selection of cereals/fruit available, as well as several hot breakfast options - we tried the full breakfasts and bacon sandwiches, both delicious, and the hosts were very accommodating with one of us being vegetarian. Mary was so attentive, making sure everyone was happy at breakfast, offering drinks and more toast and always with a smile. Both hosts were lovely and made the stay much more enjoyable. The location was also really good, a very quiet area so no noise or disturbance, just a short walk from Bowness and an even shorter walk into the centre of Windermere for evening restaurants etc. Mary went above and beyond, as we'd left something in the room upon departure without realising, and when we got to the train station she was there waiting with it, we wouldn't have expected this had we realised, but it does show what lovely people they are! We will definitely stay here again if we go back to the area, and would thoroughly recommend to all.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    Charming villiage, BnB and hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ...all good...

    The hosts were incredible; warm, welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was amazing, the location perfect and the house was full of charming character.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    We are hoping to visit again in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double (1)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really had no complaints

    We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived, the owners were a lovely, friendly couple , the house had a cosy homely feel and we were given a choice of breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    fantastic location, attentive and friendly hosts and fabulous breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a small double and that was my fault as I assumed 'small double room' would just be a smaller bedroom not smaller bed. For a pregnant woman and tall man it was certainly fun trying to fit on there.

    The hosts were fantastic! Very attentive, helpful and welcoming. They offered lots of information for walks in the surrounding area to help enjoy your stay. Breakfast was really good! Plenty of choice and lovely freshley cooked breakfast. The hotel is in a great location, we walked down to the lake which took about 20 mins from the hotel. We were also able to be collected by mountain goat from our hotel for the 10 lake tour. There was a few pakring spaces at the front of the hotel, otherwise you were able to park up the road which was non restricted.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    4.6
    overpriced stay with little comfort.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a very below average breakfast with uncomfortable beds a tiny shower with very low pressure very old bathrobes that hardy fit and an unclean bathroom. Add to this the out of date facilities and the low upkeep then i guess that about sums up this place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    10
    Brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Park road is in a lovely location close to all shops, pubs ect, Mary and Phillip are very friendly, lovely breakfast a wide variety to chose from, they catered for myself being gluten free, can’t really fault anything about our stay we had a fab time! The room was lovely!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money. Breakfast was excellent. Very warm and genuine welcome. Nice homemade touches and paintings for sale by local artist. All in all a great place to spend a weekend break without breaking the bank.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    4.6
    The breakfast was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for off road parking not much room to park the space the owner said for us to park his wife pull in to it with out a second look so we had to park on a very busy road . Cobwebs all along wall about kettle

    The breakfast was ok

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.7
    Was a lovely place, very clean and tidy, rooms were nice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double (4)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The woman wasn’t very welcoming or pleasant, made us feel uncomfortable. And the bed was like a concrete pad. It was solid.

    Was a lovely place, very clean and tidy, rooms were nice and food was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Nice relaxing place to stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double (6)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Excellent service at breakfast. Good choice of locally sourced food. The cooked breakfast is excellent with a choice of pre-ordered specials. Good view from our room (6). Good and well cleaned room with a large comfortable bed. Very close to town centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hosts. Yummy breakfast. Dog friendly. Great location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little bit small that is the only thing I could complain about everything else was perfect.

    Phillip and Mary were excellent hosts. Breakfast was excellent. Location was ideal for shops and walks to the lake. Had a fabulous time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    A good place to stay in Windermere to be close to the shops and to the Lake!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have no concerns. We had a very good stay.

    The attention to our pet was touching and appreciated. The morning light was inviting to getting out for the day despite the weather. Our breakfast was excellent and started our day. Thank you for making our stay such a nice one.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    Feels like a home away from home, very friendly and comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only negative I can think of and this is if i'm being really picky was that the bed was a bit too small, but my partner is 6"5 so its not that unusual! We were also in the standard room and I think all the other rooms had bigger beds, over than that it was very comfortable!

    Phillip and Mary were the perfect hosts, we felt very comfortable at 1 Park Road, it had a homely and friendly atmosphere and the breakfast was great! Would definitely stay there again if we ever go back to Windermere!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Hosts were very friendly and fun- breakfasts excellent and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hosts were very friendly and fun- breakfasts excellent and hosts recommended lovely walks with our dog and without -lovely stay with Mary and Philip and would recommend

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    A very relaxing stay in a most picturesque area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit of a lottery, ie. First-come-first-served onto very limited parking space. If you failed to get onto the parking area, which was basically property frontage, then you had to find a suitable spot on the road.

    The hosts were very friendly and the service was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    A fantastic b&b - will definitely be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe water pressure in the shower could have been stronger, but it wasn't a problem.

    All the facilities were excellent - and breakfast was fantastic. We were able to leave our luggage and collect later. I would definitely book 1 Park Road another time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Good guest house. Nice people. Good food. Beautiful area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, it was all good.

    Our stay was excellent in every way. Hosts Mary and Philip were attentive, friendly and efficient. Good food, good room and nice atmosphere. We were glad to stay there and would do so again happily.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    The hotel has a stunning location, not too far away from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double (1)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a stunning location, not too far away from town Windermere and close to the lake as well. We enjoyed walking a lot to the lake, wband to the town. The hotel is beautiful and staff is kind. We both enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Enjoyable holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was perfect. Our room was confortable. The English breakfast was great with a variety of food. Mary and Philip were very helpful and gave us good advice regarding walks in the region.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    3.3
    Charged extra for having a pet in a "pet friendly" guest house
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have the best experience at this place. We booked this particular guest house as it was described as pet friendly, however we weren't greeted the best when they noticed we had a dog with us and we were charged an extra £20 for our pet to stay as we weren't in a "dog friendly room." We didn't get the opportunity to declare our pet on the site but thought it would be fine as the hotel was described as pet friendly. We were charged £100 for one nights stay, checking in at 8pm and checking out at 10am which we felt was very expensive for our stay. Our room wasn't cleaned to an acceptable standard. The toilet was dirty and there was hair all over the sink from someone shaving. When we questioned our bill on check out we received a very abrupt response about having our dog stay with us and were made felt to blame for not declaring it before our stay. It was very disappointing and spoiled our night away.

    Breakfast was nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable, homely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower power very low (not surprised with age of building) Not luxury or boutique as I have stopped In previously - but still a nice room and building Needs a refurb in some respects, good facilities and breakfast. Eggs benedict normally a standard on a menu- not normally chargeable extra Defo recommend

    Nice large room, great parking, good location, easy check-in, nice facilities

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.9
    Park Road
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double (6)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed needs a new mattress not very comfortable. A little more attention to cleaning would be needed. TV needs a retune; freeview channels limited. Park Road is full of character but a bit 'tired'

    Breakfast was excellent. Mary and Phil great hosts. Walking distance to town centre. Phil gave us lots of advice on day trips and where to go for places of interest. Loved having seating in room rather than having to sit on bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double (4)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good.

    Mary and Philip were very good hosts. Nothing too much trouble for them. Breakfast was smashing. Excellent location for Windermere and Bowness. Very comfy room with sofa.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    Perfect for tourists in lake district!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mary was so friendly and she made perfect breakfast! And luckily Philip went to the same uni with me made this journey even more fun. The room was very clean and warm and the location is perfect for a lake-district tourist and near the train station, but takes 20 min walking down hill toward the bowness harbor. Overall it was a perfect stay! Thank you!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double (1)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners are very friendly and go out of there way to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as they can,the rooms are very spacious and clean with your oen en suit,1 Park Road is central to Windermere town centre with some lovely bars and cafes in serving lovrly food it is also central to the lake in Bowness.i would highly recommend this b&b me and my partner will definatly be returning sometime in the future.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    10
    Great stay at one park road
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Philip and Mary are lovely, the room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast great. Little extras like the DVDs and the walking books available made the stay even better. 5 min walk to the town and Philip and Mary are able to recommend lovely places to eat. Overall an amazing stay and we will definitely be back!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    8.3
    Excellent place. Unless you have a dust allergy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double (4)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom had clearly been properly cleaned, but there was a thick layer of dust all over the furniture in the bedroom. And some grass on the carpet. A bit odd given the great quality of everything else. The bed was also very hard for my taste. I couldn't sleep well in the 3 nights. But that might be that I'm simply used to soft beds. Breakfast is 8:30 to 9:15, which is quite a limited time window in my opinion.

    Big bedroom with a cozy feeling. Your own sofa in front of the TV with a DVD player and DVDs to borrow from reception was really nice. Wide selection of tea and coffee (and it was proper coffee too). The toiletries were also really nice. The hosts are nice and sociable and the breakfast was excellent. Fast Wifi too.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    7.1
    Home Comforts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double (4)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was often cold, there was an extra heater but it was still cold, a few cobwebs here and there, paint work could have done with a good scrub. Toilet needed a bleaching before we arrived. I don't think it should be advertised as Boutique.

    Good brekkie, nice big room, helpful accommodating hosts. Nice touch having proper milk available to guests with fridge

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    10
    Just the relaxing break needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double (1)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a really lovely stay. Mary and Philip were excellent hosts nothing was too much trouble. Best breakfast and fantastic service with attention to detail.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    Lovely for a short break.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was excellent. The location ideal with walks from the door. Mary was exceptionally helpful. We had a dog with us and found Windermere very dog-friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    4.2
    Disappointed as not a true description of b&b
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad attitude of owners , lack of cleanliness , general feeling of house, dark and dismal , not at all as described.

    Leaving ASAP

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    As above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double (6)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay with Mary and Philip was fantastic in everyway

    As above

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.8
    Room was large and breakfast good, cleanliness was not good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double (1)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was dated and not clean!

    Room was big.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    The bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking on premises. Room was not clean enough due to dog hairs.

    The bed was comfy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Totally recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely welcome from our hosts. Eye-popping architecture and furnishings. Superb breakfasts!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.2
    really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double (1)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    excellent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine.

    Choice of drinks in room and at breakfast. Choice of food at breakfast. Apple supplies of all.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Clean, comfy,good location very nice breakfast and lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double (4)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfy,good location very nice breakfast and lovely owners, would stay again and definitely recommend b

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Exquisite
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double (4)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non applicable

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Homely feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No drinking water in rooms, and limited water at breakfast when it’s so hot.

    Homely feel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    4 great days taking in the literature history and the very impressive scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great breakfast options and time to talk to both of the bosses.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Great people, great breakfast: great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Great hosts: make you feel right at home with their openness and good sense of humour. Rooms are nice and quiet, good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Mary and Phillip were great host, would defo go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major but the shower wasnt powerful.

    Mary and Phillip were great host, would defo go back. Also the breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.3
    Hosts couldn’t be nicer, breakfast was lovely and fresh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as clean as would expect, or hope - though linens were clean. Overall tired interiors

    Hosts couldn’t be nicer, breakfast was lovely and fresh

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money in one of the uk’s most beautiful sites
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double (4)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent facilities with gracious hosts. Will definately be back

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Nice room, friendly staff, awesome breakfast, comfy bed,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double (6)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice room, friendly staff, awesome breakfast, comfy bed, good location (close to the Railway station, restaurants and supermarkets).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Overall brilliant service and very helpful food was lovely and in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the location and loved the breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Really great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double (1)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is rubbish (very weak)

    Lovely hosts, great breakfast, massive room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.0
    Average B&B... great village
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double (4)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More effort needed for breakfast provided

    Friendly couple running family bussiness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    The proprietors, Phil and mary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double (4)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Short breakfast period

    The proprietors, Phil and mary

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    The welcome the friendly felling
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The welcome the friendly felling

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No teaspoons on tea/coffee tray but am sure would be supplied if asked for!

    Very friendly and helpful hosts. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    Did the job for 1 night wouldnt stay any longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double (6)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room hard bed not luxury at all

    Not the best place i have stayed in old tatty room supposed to be luxury room bed rock hard

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Excellent location for Windermere and Bowness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for Windermere and Bowness. Clean, comfy and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Labrador Holidays At 1 Park Road
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It allowed our dog to come on holiday too! The whole family was welcome, fantastic!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing wrong at all

    Excellent location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly owners, great location, everything was just as good as expected!

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: