Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of The Abbey Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

84, High Street, Battle, TN33 0AQ, United Kingdom

#2 of 8 hotels in Battle

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 145 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    6.7
    Nice room with great view but customer service could be improved. More staff?
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Room 3
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in is in the bar and barman made us wait for him to make a large jug of pimms and 4 other drinks before checking us in which took about 30 seconds. We ate in the hotel as the menu was fab but the food did not live up to the promise, although the moussaka was good but smallish portion for price.

    Nice if smallish room with great view of the Abbey. Dogs welcome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    10
    Great reception from owners and all staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 6
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great reception from owners and all staff were very friendly. Lovely hotel and location right across from the Abbey and battlefield. Thanks for great stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    7.1
    Fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Room 7
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would not rate their admin, I asked three time for confirmation by email about the changes I had made to my booking but did not get it. No on site parking and difficult to find the car park which was a walk away.

    Lots of effort made to make our stay a pleasant one. The team were very flexible and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    6.3
    Rather casual customer service, inexpensive, convenient for the Abbey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Room 4
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was spacious but strangely designed as you could not stand up to have a shower! this was due to the sloping ceiling above the bath. There was no shower curtain.

    The room was unusual, only having dormer windows; at the side of the house the room was quiet, a bonus. the fresh tea was very delicious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    7.1
    A good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 7
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom smelt of food, as if the extractor fan was connected to the kitchen

    Lovely room and bar area . The breakfast was very good and the service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    6.3
    Clean and tidy Yes Warm and cozy No quiet definitly Not
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Room 5
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heating goes off at night and its freezing. Duvet is thin and cold. Walls are paper thin and you can hear everything going on in the next room

    The warm shower

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    10
    Excellent booked to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Room 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly welcome . Efficient staff. Excellent food..return visit after enjoying lamb shank supper .. breakfast yoghurt and berries scrumptious. Bed comfy good quality towels and linen .. very clean ..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    9.6
    Warm in Battle
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Room 7
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather!

    I stayed in room seven which is at the back of the hotel and so was very quiet. The room and bed were comfortable. I had a meal in the bar in the evening at the hotel which was very tasty and well priced. All the staff were very friendly which is nice when you are travelling on your own. Best thing is the chest of draws at the top of the stairs so that if you have forgotten anything you can help yourself for a donation. The breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    8.8
    Perfectly suited for our overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 5
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Narrow stairs, but only to be expected in a very old building. Room small and space a bit tight. Parking may be difficult during the week,only limited street parking adjacent to the hotel.

    Friendly staff. Comfortable bed, lovely shower.For us is it was ideal for a short stay, excellent breakfast. Great selection of cheese boards.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    7.5
    Good Breakfast, nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Room 4
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Guidance for car parking in Battle - beyond the hotels control but - Abbey Car Park - currently £4.50 per day and supposedly "no overnight parking " - ridiculous for an essential resource !

    Good Breakfast, nice room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable last minute break in a lovely little quaint hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Room 4
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was a bit of a chore but not impossible.

    A lovely quaint little hotel with restraunt and pub. The owners were lovely as were their family who run the pkace. Enjoyed our brief stay and will return soon.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely homely hotel - excellent value for money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Room 3
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are really noisy as in the main road - traffic noise throughout the night and heavier very early morning. Unfortunately it was very windy and the hotel sign outside the window creaked and groaned all night - owners said they would address it

    Cosy environment, great location, friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    10
    Smart hotel in heart of Battle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 7
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wasn't a problem to us as we were so tired - landing hall light was on all night and very bright. It shone through the slight door gap onto pillows.

    In the centre of Battle opposite the Abbey. Clean, smart decorated room with comfortable bed and luxury bathroom with gel and shampoo provided. Huge wall mounted freeview tv. No parking, we parked in Abbey car park with CCTV £4.50 per day. Staff very polite, friendly and helpful. Breakfast (included in price but not indicated on Booking.com website) is excellent. Dog friendly too. Very nice touch was their honesty chest - if you've forgotten essentials; razor, toothpaste etc. Would love to stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    8.3
    Great location, neat room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room - Room 2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have appreciated a rail in the shower and bathroom as older people might appreciate something to hold onto if surfaces are slippery. The room was advertised with breakfast but none was available on Christmas Day. I don’t necessarily mind, but a reflection in the price would have been nice.

    Really great location, staff were friendly. Recently renovated rooms were very pretty and the bed was comfy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    10
    Abbey Hotel 2nd December
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Room 3
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing to dislike

    We loved everything about the property. The room was very comfortable, clean and well decorated. The bed was comfortable too. It is a family run business and the staff couldn’t be more welcoming and friendly. The food in the restaurant was excellent. We would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    9.6
    Friendly and welcoming staff, comfortable room with kettle,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Room 6
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor quibbles but: room was a bit cold on arrival! Busy evening so had to elbow past people buying drinks to check in at the bar.

    Friendly and welcoming staff, comfortable room with kettle, tea and biscuits, top location right opposite Battle Abbey, dressing gown provided, delicious breakfast included in the price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    7.5
    Very enjoyable would certainly book there if im ever in the area again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room - Room 4
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking not brilliant as you are on the High Street but there is a pay car park a short walk away

    Staff were excellent, very accommodating , my flight was late but they met me at 02:30 in the morning, room great, and evening meals just as good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2017

    10
    Great location for country break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Room 3
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great room, best view towards the Abbey, lovely details like special tea and coffee selection and great breakfast options. Excellent breakfast coffee, very friendly staff. Highly recommended. Good garden as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    10
    Incredible, we will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 7
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A full length mirror in our room would have been nice but it wasn’t a huge issue.

    Great selection of whiskey, the staff were lovely, very approachable and accommodating when we asked for a late checkout on the Sunday. We had dinner in the hotel on the Friday night and the food was amazing, particularly the nachos! The beds were very comfortable and our room had an amazing selection of tea, the room was at the back of the hotel so no noise was heard from the pub downstairs. This hotel is also in a great location with a car park nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely break with husband to historic Battle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 5
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely location right across from The Abbey. No parking on site but public car park at either end of High Street. Lovely welcome by Charlie and the staff. Room was lovely. Small touches like a cabinet full of items guests may have forgotten plus complimentary rock. Breakfast which was included with price was absolutely delicious (we had the full English). Would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only stayed for one night (could have stayed for longer), the staff were excellent from the time of checking in to checking out. The breakfast was excellent and freshly cooked. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel in Battle. Well done to the staff and keep up the good work and hope to see you soon!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    9.6
    Extremely pleasant! Lovely room, great food and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room - Room 4
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only fault is no on site parking but there is parking close by.

    The hotel was lovely! Room was clean and tidy. Bed comfy and loved the little added extras in the room of complementary water and robes. Staff were really nice and friendly and made the stay even more pleasant. The breakfast and other food that we had was extremely nice. Would definitely recommend to others

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    7.9
    Overall I was satisfied with my stay here and I would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Room 5
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What could have been better was the breakfast - both the food and the service left issues to be desired. I didn't like that when I chose a fresh pear from the fruit bowl, a cloud of fruit flies came up from the bowl - most off-putting! The food was generous in portion size but my eggs were overcooked on 2 out of my 3 mornings. The service was also quite slow on those two mornings and I'm fairly sure that the young woman server addressed me as 'hon' or 'honey' - I don't like that but I didn't challenge it at the time because she was clearly quite busy and appeared to be working on her own. I think hygiene in the bedroom could be improved by the use of a mattress protector between the bed mattress and the bottom sheet.

    I liked that the bedrooms have received a major refurbishment since my last visit 3-5 years ago. The bed was comfortable, the room and bathroom were well kitted out and with tea/coffee making facilities. Because the rooms are situated above a pub I was expecting there to be some noise from downstairs and there was a little but it was tolerable and I was pleasantly surprised and relieved that everything went quiet at closing time. I had a good nights sleep on all 3 nights of my stay. I had an evening meal on one of my nights there - the food was tasty and very nicely cooked, there were good varied menu choices, and efficient service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    9.2
    I'll happily go back again!
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Room 6
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only public parking available. WiFi... it worked in my room, but not in the restaurant.

    I really liked the rustik atmosphere of this tiny hotel. My room was basic and rather small, not a problem for me traveling alone. I found this compact hotel extremely comfy! Extra plus for the bed, sleeps like a dream! Staff was/is fantastic! Food was served quickly, menu inspired with plenty big portions, don't expect to finish your plate. If the weather is ok, the garden behind the house looks like a nice place to spend some time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    8.3
    Overall very nice atmosphere in the hotel rooms and bar/restaurant public areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Room 4
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We enjoyed a good breakfast from a reasonable menu but the preparation time for us four and about eight other guests in at that time was quite slow. No hurry so not a problem but detracted slightly. There is no on-site or very nearby parking. Nearest is Abbey car park or Mount Street charging £4.50 and upwards from £2.00 respectively for short stays.

    A short stay; one night, but room at the rear of the hotel was very nice (Room 4). Split level down from the entrance door with sufficient space

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    6.7
    A mixed bag. The hotel itself is very nice, but I just feel the staff (one member
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    The problem with the hotel came unfortunately with a particular staff member. It was such a shame because initially the staff were very willing to help and they spent the time to try and accommodate us. But as soon as things went wrong, the attitude was not quite right for hospitality I feel. So we booked a taxi, which unfortunately they got us mixed up with another guest and changed our booking by accident. Mistakes happen, which is understandable, but we did not get an apology, and were told to just "deal with it". It was only when we suggested swapping with the other guest's taxi when it worked out, and luckily the taxi driver was very understanding and let us off of the extra charge. All was well after this (to be fair we weren't in the hotel!) until the nights stay. It is quite a noisy hotel in terms of creaking floor boards, a busy road outside of the window etc. The bed was comfortable, and I myself was fine sleeping, but my girlfriend is a light sleeper, which mean't she did not sleep so well unfortunately. When we sat down for the breakfast, we were happy to hear it was included. We arrived for Breakfast before 10 am, but had to wait over 1.5 hours for the breakfast to arrive! When it did come out, they messed up our order and attempted to give us a meaty breakfast instead of a veggie one, weirdest thing was that we had bacon on our veggie breakfast! So the attitude to this was not to apoligise, but to shout at the other staff who took the order - personally I this makes me feel uncomfortable, and I do not really feel this is the right way to work in hospitality! Later on another member of staff (a lady as opposed to the man) did apologise and was quite nice about it, which made us feel better - and she said we could check out later as result which was much nicer.

    The hotel itself, the facilities and the town were lovely. They had a nice part of the hotel where if you forgot something (like I had forgotten my toothbrush) you could donate an amount and claim the forgotten item.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room - Room 4
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is on-street, though it a main road and fairly safe.

    Very friendly, lovely clean room and a great breakfast. One of the best places I've stayed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2017

    8.8
    We felt totally spoilt and enjoyed our relaxed stay. Will definitely be back for more very soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Room 4
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room 4, wonderfully characteristic but probably not too good in the shower/bath area if you are tall, fortunately we are both shortish!

    The food was very good , the staff friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely. The staff made it very pleasurable especially as I was alone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room - Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Car parking is a nightmare and also the room was not very big. For one night it was fine. I think if I stayed longer I'd want a bigger room especially if my dog came next time !

    The staff were superb

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    10
    Beautiful Family run Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 7
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    We were going to a wedding in The Abbey so I booked this hotel for two nights. We were so happy, it is a lovely family run hotel. Our room was spotless and the bed very comfortable. The restaurant was lovely and the food and the service were excellent. Everything was done with a smile. I would definitely recommend this hotel, it gets a 'Gold Star' from us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    10
    Perfect location for a wedding we were attending at the Abby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Room 4
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shower in our room - not the end of the world though!!

    Perfect location for a wedding we were attending at the Abby. Really comfy bed, nice and clean room. Great breakfast! Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2017

    10
    Comfort, convenience and a fantastic breakfast in wonderful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Everything was fantastic.

    A modern, clean, tastefully decorated and comfortable hotel housed in a wonderful, 300 year old building. The Abbey Hotel has everything you need for a comfortable stay, provides a great breakfast and is situated in the perfect spot adjacent to Battle Abbey.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    8.8
    Quality quaint hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room - Room 4
    • Stayed 1 night

    The position of the bath makes it difficult to shower but just enjoy a leisurely bath instead!

    Location is excellent, staff friendly and delicious full English breakfast. When we there were no taxis available to take us to train station, the hotel owner arranged a lift to station. This hotel goes above and beyond in their customer service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Room 4
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room could not accommodate a shower, so it only had a bath. This was not a problem for us, but I might be for someone else.

    Lovely room, very clean and the bed was really comfortable. There was very little noise and we both slept very well. Breakfast was great and the portions were very generous.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2017

    5.0
    A good start...sadly let down by qualty control
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 7
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking. When we arrived there was no outside parking and the abbey was full the nearest carpark was a five minute walkaway not ideal with bags. The second night caused a problem We had quite a full day and went to bed while people were still in the garden. I awoke about 3 oclock to a loud humming noise, someone had left the extractor fan on in the kitchen. The loud was quite unbearable. When we went down in the morning the owner was not there, The young lady was taking orders for breakfast. I ordered the full english. The girl went away and we were left with a few other guests. The owner came out and the juice bottles were empty and he made a comment about having them on tap as he goes through so much of it. The breakfast came with the coffee pot. The toast and mushrooms were burnt. So were the peoples on the next table. The coffee was cold and undrinkable the cup was dirty. Mypartner went to see someone , But the young girl was talking to someone loudly about not being paid for what she was doing. So my parntner left it. When the girl came out she sat by the bar looking at her phone. The owner was no where to be seen . So we left. I would have second thoughts on going back there. The first night was lovely the second night and breakfast let them down. Not good for £200 spent

    The room although small was quite confortable. The shower was excellent , hot , powerfull and well equipt with shampoo and gel. The pub was modern and quirky. The breakfast on day one was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed the Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Room 5
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wardrobe to hang up clothes, basically all that was available I would describe was a converted hat stand. Otherwise the Hotel was tasteful decorated and adequate for my requirements.

    Clean and bright with very friendly staff. English Breakfast was huge a little too much for me.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2017

    9.6
    Nice Renovation on The Abbey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Room 3
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We did not really like the selection of the menu for dinner. There were things in the lunch menu we would have liked for dinner, but weren't being served. The dinner menu was a bit too high end for what we were looking for. It would be nice for a special night out, I think.

    We had stayed at The Abbey before it was renovated. They did a wonderful and tasteful job with the reno. It is very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hidden gem
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room - Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had room 2 this time - everything great apart from the road noise - actually felt like you were on the pavement next to the road - really loud ! Have tried to whiten it with secondary double glazing but it hasn't worked

    Staff are great Lovely and comfortable Clean and modern but not sterile Fantastic view of the abbey from the bed!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2017

    8.8
    Great Find
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room - Room 4
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room had no shower and I didn't realise, hopefully they have other rooms that do? Headboard was very dusty Parking a bit of a pain when carrying briefcase, suitcase jackets etc

    Lovely safe feeling and comfortable place, Bar/restaurant was cosy and the menu looked great - would feel comfortable eating here alone

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2017

    10
    The Abbey Hotel was very welcoming, with a fabulous and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Room 4
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    The Abbey Hotel was very welcoming, with a fabulous and comfortable decor, home cooking, warm and comfortable. We met Charlie and his staff who were all friendly and helpful. Our room was great and we couldn't have had a more pleasant stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2017

    10
    An absolute gem of a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    We had the most wonderful stay at this gem of a hotel. The room was spotless, cosy and had a lovely view of Battle Abbey. The food was out of this world. Two very happy people. Lisa and Mark x

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendliness of the staff. Some very thoughtful nice little touches in room that you only really find in big hotels. food is excellent. And the location is perfect.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2016

    10
    comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night

    the portions at dinner were very large the food was tasty and good and much enjoyed, so I would make the portions small.

    a pleasant comfortable stay. the staff friendly and engaging.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    9.6
    A very relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Room 4
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was a bit tricky!

    A very friendly and comfortable place to stay in the centre of Battle.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    9.2
    It was nice that the wedding party had breakfast together on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 6
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was nice that the wedding party had breakfast together on one long continuous table, There was a nice friendly atmosphere in the Abbey Hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    10
    Everything was absolutely fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was absolutely fabulous. A wonderful comfortable place to stay the night and great food too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    10
    Good standard of accommodation, excellent food, friendly...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Room 5
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Good standard of accommodation, excellent food, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing and would not stay there again. Found somewhere else in the area for my visit in 2019
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Room 5
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No parking had to use a public car park and pay at the other end of the town

    Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    10
    Anniversary Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Room 4
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a thing!

    Beautiful settings, comfy room, amazing food and amazing service. Staff so helpful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    8.8
    Great place to start your holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 6
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff very good, welcoming and attentive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    Vary relaxing weekend stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Room 1
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Our stay was first class

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing manner of ownerwhen you are a paying guest
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Room 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Owners manner

    Receptionist/barmaid

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast - poor quality, no bread
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Room 7
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast - poor quality, no bread

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    5.4
    Very poor
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Room 5
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant and bar was closed and the hotel was full. Breakfast was poor no bread for toast !

    Rooms were well equipped

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    8.8
    A very cosy comfortable friendly stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Friendliness and quality of food. Location and comfort.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Room 4
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room

    The location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    9.6
    great room, fantastic food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    fire door on bathroom very annoying

    food was excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    8.8
    bed was comfy-shower door was broken though trouble stopping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower, room 5 ,shower door was broken

    bed was comfy-shower door was broken though trouble stopping water going on the floor

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    10
    A perfect place to relax and ynwind
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Room 4
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our stay wasn’t long enough!

    Loved the experience and a lovely clean hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    10
    Rich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 7
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One dirty cup at breakfast

    A good friendley place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    10
    Room was great, food lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Room 4
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was great, food lovely

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    9.6
    Cosy, friendly and comfortable hotel with great food in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 7
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds very comfortable. Breakfast was good quality and large choice of items.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2018

    9.6
    Visit to Battle
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room - Room 4
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No shower

    Great location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    10
    Dinner and breakfast were amazing, staff were lovely and bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dinner and breakfast were amazing, staff were lovely and bed was well comfy!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    9.2
    Great staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Room 7
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2017

    7.9
    The staff in the evening were very exceptional!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Room 4
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of shelf I. The bathroom... nowhere to put a wash bag !

    The staff in the evening were very exceptional!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No chocolates on the pillow. Not really, it was perfect.

    Excellent location and view from the window was amazing. Super friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    10
    Abbey Hotel Great Place To stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 6
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owners and staff were lovely and so friendly. Meals were very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    7.1
    Average with bad beer.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Room 3
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beer was poor- real ale was stale- probably because of slow turnover- bar was dead both nights.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    10
    Great staff - very accommodating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Room 7
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast - the perfect huge portion after a big wedding!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Room 6
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic service and the staff were very friendly! We will definitely be returning in the future. X

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    9.6
    fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    9.6
    Romantic break - lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Boutique and niche - well appointed and comfortable. Well located and perfect for a romantic night away from the hussle and bustle of life.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    8.3
    Central location, good food but parking sometimes difficult.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Room 3
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking can be difficult in busy times.

    Helpful staff and room had a good view of the Abbey. Enjoyed the food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel in the heart of Battle, above the pub (but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Room 3
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable hotel in the heart of Battle, above the pub (but quiet)

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: