Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Abbey Grange Hotel 3 stars

Horseshoe Pass Road,, Llangollen, LL20 8DD, United Kingdom

#9 of 9 hotels in Llangollen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 537 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely period country property with a warm welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Plumbing was a bit antiquated and bathroom needed some updating but overall was good value for money. Everything else was fine and the owners had given the room some personal touches.

    Staff very obliging, willing to please. Waitress attentive and friendly. Altogether very comfortable stay with an excellent cooked breakfast. Given an upgrade to four poster room which was large with a very individual style and glorious country views. Lovely soft white towels and sheets.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    3.3
    Would not recommend nor ever stay here again,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slow check in. Room not properly cleaned so had to move us to another room. We had booked a large double bed and it was only a standard double. Mattress too soft. Internet wifi didn't work and management was unsympathetic and did nothing to rectify the situation. Instant coffee for breakfast!!

    nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    2.9
    Not As Advertised
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very dated, staff were unprofessional, my bathroom was cleaned once during my 4 night stay and I was never given clean towels!!! On arrival I had to check-in at the Bar as the hotel reception was closed. However the Bar was sticky and dirty and littered with dirty glasses and plates, there was food all over the bar/restaurant floor. I paid £200 for 4 nights and never once had breakfast as this was not served until 08.30am which I didn't find out until I read the hotel information on the back of my allocated room door as told to by the staff when I checked in!!

    The bed was comfortable that was it!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.7
    Fairly large terrace and garden area, which was quite...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff did not collect dishes, glasses, etc. nor clean tables outside on terrace. Bar food was somewhat overpriced for the quality.

    Fairly large terrace and garden area, which was quite heavily used on a Sunday afternoon. In house brewery with interesting beers.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    staff very pleasant, very obliging, and helpful, if you need a taxi, Premier cars were excellent,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no hairdryer, and shower needed upgrading.

    we had a four poster bed which was very very comfortable. food good, freshly cooked, as you ordered it, heating on nice and warm although a very short stay it was very enjoyable, stunning scenery will definately stay there again next year.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    A country haven close to all facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin beds as requested. Probably about time mattresses were replaced. Can’t complain about anything else at all.

    Absolutely stunning location & just a short drive from Llangollen. All staff extremely friendly & helpful. Had my morning coffee accompanied by a peacock, rooster & sheep, so tranquil. Lovely cooked breakfast accompanied by cereal, juices, toast, coffee & tea. We also had our evening meal at the hotel which was also excellent.would highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.7
    Good Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Welcome wasn't Good. The Woman that came to the Door left us at the Door went to get atr Key told us the Number of the Room an Walked away. Dead Flys on the Window Sill. Quite a few Cob Web's around the Room.

    Good Location. Lovely Breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.7
    Overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coustomer service, no child safety lock on Windows.

    Family Room comfortable Breakfast Ok Staff not very welcoming Just told instructions on back of the room door and handed the keys.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    6.3
    Quirky.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Female staff member disinterested, slow, slagged Booking.com off and disappeared MID CHECK IN for a cigarette. Late and then S-L-O-W Breakfast. Faulty Towers run by Cruella De-Ville.

    Location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    4.2
    Would not recommend this hotel nor shall we be revisiting it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole place is in need of redecoration. The bedroom was a big disappointment. Spiders were in resident in 3 of the corners above us. Beds were very uncomfortable (twin beds). No hairdryer. The bathroom was stuck in the 70s, Avacardo green. Shower over bath was unusable as you couldn't regulate the hot and cold mixer tap. We ordered food on the night we arrived, which was classic pub grub but not at a high standard. Breakfast was very basic with cereals, toast on a help yourself basis as was tea and coffee. Cooked breakfast was the best part of the meal. The member of staff who served our breakfast gave the impression that she didn't want to be there!

    Unfortunately there isn't many positive points I can add. The location looked perfect, just at the bottom of the Horseshoe Pass and a 10 minute drive into Llangollen. The young girl who booked us in and served us to our food and drinks was very helpful and pleasant. The resident peacock was a talking point.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.0
    No wifi, no toilet roll, no smile, it’s very frustrating...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi, no toilet roll, no smile, it’s very frustrating when you working away and the hotel advertises free WiFi and you can’t get it in the room, and even more frustrating when you find no toilet roll, being on your own in a room. The staff weren’t very helpful, and I heard them moaning about the customers to each other, clearly in front of me, not coming back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    It's was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were nice but could of made more of an effort. One lady was running the bar and reception at the same time so you would have to stand around for longer than should be expected.

    I liked the picturesque location I loved the hotel we will deffinately be booking again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful place, will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better camping facilities, water pressure in the shower.

    Excellent experience, met some good people during the Bikefest, we were really pleased that the staff managed to find us a spare spot on the campsite the day after our stay despite being booked up. Excellent breakfast and some nice beers from the on-site brewery. Excellent sized room with a four poster bed. Understand the restriction on the campsite numbers as the facilities are limited and can be overloaded with too many people staying despite there being the room on the field.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.3
    Nice quiet and ckean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wasn’t what you would call friendly looked like they didn’t want to be there !! Only young bar maid went out of her way to be friendly enjoyed it but could of been better

    Nice quiet and ckean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Pretty Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike

    The room was a nice size, and clean, with a nice view.. The sheets and towels were all good quality. Many different choices for Breakfast, and all freshly cooked. The Hotel wasn't busy, and it was nice and quiet. Good value for the price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.7
    Unlikely to come again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived around 8.30 p.m. after an 18 hour day and there was absolutely no food at all available after 8.45 p.m. (despite being advertised as: bar food offered until 9.30pm). Similar in the morning, no cooked food until 9 a.m. despite "breakfast between 8.30 and 9.30" sign. Bathroom fittings could do with updating, there is mold in the corners.

    Stunning location, nice room decor. Looked very inviting from afar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing. One sausage, one egg, one bit of bacon, quarter of a slice of fried bread, spoonful of beans, one bit of black pudding. The shower was impossible to get to the right temperature.

    Beautiful views, lovely room. Outdoor area was lovely. Most of the staff were friendly. The bed was gorgeous. Overall enjoyed the stay! There was a difficult customer causing trouble over dinner. Staff dealt with it pretty well though.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.4
    Some staff were lovely and friendly. Certain ones not very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar meals weren't good. Very basic for the price charged. For example half a chicken meal served with tinned potatoes, tinned carrots and peas. No fresh veg, no stuffing or roast potatoes.

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.4
    Only location convenient but I would prefer to pay more and stay elsewhere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Massive cobwebs in the room and bathroom. Also the breakfast service was shocking!!! We’ve been waiting 50min for welsh breakfast!!! Nearly an hour and there was only one more couple waiting for the eggs on toast and they’ve been waiting for nearly an hour as well!!! Total shocker!!! Ruined my morning and wasted time!!! Michelin star dinner would take only 20min to prepare!!! Also the lady who was serving was not providing the service with a smile at all!!!! For that reason I will not be coming back there ever!

    The only thing I liked was the location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.0
    A great occasion almost spoilt by unfriendly and rude staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we were very early so asked if it was possible to deposit our bags, the female behind the bar snapped " there's no where safe". My wife asked if it would be possible to enter our room at 3pm, again the woman snapped " No, you can get in at 4, as it said in the confirmation".

    The location is outstanding and the hotel would be great if only the staff were more friendly towards its paying customers.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.7
    Lovely area - with friendly hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very few staff - owners friendly but service very slow. Rooms could be much cleaner and food service a little chaotic. A little bit of 'fawlty towers'!

    Bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was good. We had only booked to stay one night. Would be fine as a base.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.9
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No power shower, but had a nice soak in the bath!

    Clean and comfortable room, accommodating staff. Food in the restaurant was fabulous...cooked to order, the lamb chops were succulent. Breakfast was great, lots of choice, plenty of fresh fruit, pastries and cooked breakfast cooked to order, excellent value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous Little Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked breakfast was the only let down unfortunately. The mushrooms were overcooked & dried out, the sausage & bacon appeared to be deep fried & were quite greasy, but there were plenty of cereals, toast, fruit & yoghurts available.

    What a great little hotel. Set in stunning surroundings next to a 12 century abbey & with wonderful views not to far from the horseshoe pass. Our double room was very spacious, very clean & tidy with fresh clean bedding & towels, on suite bathroom, tv & wifi, although the wifi wasn't that good in the room. Very helpful & friendly staff, small bar, plenty of tables for dining inside & a very large grassed garden at the front. Definitely worth a visit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Relaxing and very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely hotel. Surroundings are beautiful. Staff are really friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. Couldn’t fault the food and service at all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Staff were pleasant and did their best to make our stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs updating but this is reflected in the price. TV in our room did not work. Due to hot weather there was a very bad problem with flies.

    Staff were pleasant and did their best to make our stay comfortable. Food was good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    Situated at the bottom of the horseshoe pass the scenery for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the staff did their jobs a smile and a few pleasantries would be nice. It was a long wait for breakfast to come but very nice when it did.

    Situated at the bottom of the horseshoe pass the scenery for miles was absolutely amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    3.3
    Grossly Overpriced Hotel.....Never Again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very rude to ALL guests. Room was tired and not very clean. Mould on tiles and walls. Handle on window was on upside down and broken. Shower curtain was hanging off the wall. Shower was a mixer tap in the bath, normally no problem but mixer button was missing from tap. Kettle did not work properly, had to hold button constantly in order for it to boil. Cups and saucers not clean. Bath towel was dirty and looked used. Crack and hole in the bath. Food was a average but very small portion sizes compared to price. Room grossly overpriced and most definitely NOT worth a third of what we paid. We would NEVER use nor recommend this hotel to anyone in its current guise.

    Great grass area for the dog Just out the front of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    A pleasant stay in a good location but marred by the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Creaky floorboards, getting woken up early by a peacock(?) and some dogs barking. The price was excessive. We heard other visitors at the bar being offered accommodation for £30 per person. We paid more than double that.

    Good location, clean room and a good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.0
    Customer service was very poor and it felt like we were a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service was very poor and it felt like we were a pain for being there and wanting to order a drink or food. Ordered some drinks and the bar man said no we have no glasses and when asked if he could perhaps wash a couple of the empty ones on the bar - he reluctantly did do but wasn't happy about it. Great location but the property was very dated and wouldn't go back due to the really poor service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.2
    Rubbish, overated and very over priced to be treated in such a rude and obnoxious way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The hotel is dirty and dated. You can accept older facilities but these were compounded by extremely rude staff and very poor food. Dirty glasses in the bar area and no acknowledgement when asking nicely for clean glasses. I got more grunting sounds from the staff than you'd get from a group of unruly teenagers

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    Hotel with Beautiful surroundings
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi did NOT work The TV did not work - Error message - NO SIGNAL Shower just trickled The Receptionist had no smile or welcome greeting

    Good location, breakfast was ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Great location, friendly welcome, nice breakfasts and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You do need to drive into Llangollen.

    Great location, friendly welcome, nice breakfasts and evening meals, super value for money... would we return? Most definitely!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    3.3
    Even worse than the reveiws I had read, and they were bad! Did have a room available 3 days before!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Do not stay here unless last resort, very overly priced and staff unfriendly and rude. Staff ignored you when trying to book in. Was told that the details for breakfast were on the back of the door. All the note on the back of the door said was that breakfast was between 8.30 and 9.30. It would have been quicker for her to have told me that, than tell me to read it, she was very rude. No net curtains at window which looked out onto seating area and camp site. TV internet only worked when nobody else using it so when others went to bed we lost the film. Tiolet seat broken. When we went down for breakfast at 8.30 (would have had earlier but not open till then) we sat in the wrong part and it was only when the third member of staff walked past us that we were told we were at the wrong tables! Breakfast was swimming in fat, even my 11 year old son wouldn't eat it. Food in pub was very expensive, luckily I had read reveiws and we didn't bother and got take out pizzza.

    They allowed us to store bikes in a secure area. Had empty rooms to book 3 days before our stay when everywhere else was full - I know why now! Was close enough for pizza to be delivered from Llangollen which meant we didn't have to pay the rediculous prices in the pub. A memorable weekend was made more memorable by staying in such a bad place, it gave us something to talk about on our cycle home.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.0
    Average stay at reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room quite scruffy and in need of rennovation. Cleanliness could have been better. staff not particularly friendly

    Breakfast reasonable. Location pretty

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely and great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Emma who greeted us was wonderful I had my partners family who only speak Italian and she made everyone feel so welcome and we had a lovely piece of trout from chef 👨‍🍳

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.5
    Cheap stay in expensive tourist area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A family run hotel that included a camping field. In the nicest way it comes from an earlier time but in the area a couple will pay a fortune more for a simple nights B&B with pub food and home made beer. The brewery is where you turn in. For £50 a night for two B&B. No complaints. Its no Hilton.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    3.8
    Not as described basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and dated needs a good refurbish not as described dont go by the photos. Food is very basic and over priced

    Mattress was a drèam we booked a 4 poster bed was expecting something old etc but got a modern diy pine thing shame

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    a great base for exploring this area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing to dislike

    this hotel is what you see is what you get little bit dated and in some cases could do with a bit of tlc,but for all that the value for money was excelent the breakfast first class would certainly stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    Great facilities, and food and quiet location. Marred by a complete lack of friendliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having been travelling for 3 months the welcome we received was the most indifferent we have had anywhere. We really felt like we were imposing. It made a big difference to how we felt because we had intended to extend our stay but decided to move on.

    The room was exactly what we wanted. Dinner and Breakfast were great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cobwebs in the bar and eating area, had to wait an hour for our food when there was only approx 10 in the restaurant 5 before our order. Very missrable staff

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.6
    Clean and functional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a bad place, but well over priced, we booked a few weeks before. Got charged £130 for one night. Which is well over priced for the standard of accommodation. Clean but very dated. Not what was expected. When we arrive it was clear rooms very going for £60 for the same as what we had been charged £130. Used Booking.com for years for work and weekend breaks very disappointing to be over charged like this. Will not be booking through site again.

    Clean and functional

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    The room was nice and the bed was very comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communication wasn’t good. I needed a taxi and was given a number which wouldn’t connect. I needed to be out before breakfast was due to be served so asked for something to take away. It was eventually provided but only after I had to bang on the dining room door and then wait for it to be prepared. The bathroom wasn’t the same standard as the room and I had a view of the car park and sheds from my window.

    The room was nice and the bed was very comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.4
    Wouldn’t book again, sorry
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated decor, hardly any staff, poor Ayer pressure and very old bathrooms....needs money spending on the hotel and expected a lot more for £100 per night

    Rooms were clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.4
    Lovely location but staff need public relations training
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay on arrival even though booking said pay sometime during stay. One biscuit on tea tray to share between two and not replaced on second day. Hot water in basin coughed and spurted everywhere dangerously also dangerous in shower area. Breakfast very,very slow even though only three couples eating. Used towels put in bath for changing but instead were refolded while still wet and put out as new. Service very poor - a smile at the beginning would have been welcome. This is the first time we have done a review due to disappointment.

    Location and room size.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    4.6
    Would not recommend. Poor value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was worn out and decor left much to be desired. Breakfast wasn't very good and the staff objected to substituting a bile egg for a poached even though both were on the menu. Breakfast was basically self serve with instant coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    3.3
    Would not go back and would not recommend to any one
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room. Staff not friendly .bed uncomfortable wall paper peeling off .sink and shower did not work properly. Dead flies on room windowsill load of cobwebs in room

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Lovely location with beautiful views and everything you need for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant location. Beautiful views to sit and have a drink while children play. Lovely food. Family room spacious and clean. Good value for money. Overall a lovely relaxing overnight stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.0
    Unhappy..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the general attitude of staff and how uncomfortable the beds were they didn't even make the beds the first day just pulled the top cover up and tucked it in.the second day they never touched the bathroom. The towels were exactly as we left them when we went out. I shan't stay there again...

    Breakfast. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.1
    Could be third time lucky.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the breakfast, dry toast with no butter. And being rudely woken at 4 am by someone trying to gain access to my room and walking up and down hallway, keeping me awake. After trying to get staff attention in morning to discuss they completely ignored me.

    It has got a really big car park. And a bar downstairs with a restaurant and it's not bad for price for food. Their have got their own brewery next door to the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant, comfortable accommodations made for a great vacation in Langollen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The “prawn” salad was extremely disappointing. Salad shrimp from a can served with iceberg lettuce does not qualify as a salad and it does not require over 40 minutes to prepare. The bartender/front desk did not give a warm reception and did not explain anything about the room or services. I overheard someone talking about the complimentary breakfast, otherwise I would have never known. I was not pleased with booking.com because it wouldn’t allow me to adjust my reservation without a fee that was more than the nightly charge. I will not use it in the future.

    My room was comfortable, clean with natural light and I found the cleaning staff to be extra attentive. The outdoor seating was very lovely when the sun was shining. Breakfast was excellent with many options with exceptional service. Despite booking .com’s ridiculous policy and fees for changing reservations, I was pleased to see I was not charged for the extra night that I was unable to remove from the reservation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing weekend batteries deffo recharged!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bank holiday weekend and only one member of staff working to cover the bar and service of food outdoors! Had to wait an hour for meal to arrive in the evening shortly after which no more orders were taken as chef was apparently having a melt down as he had five covers!! Go figure 'it's a restaurant' ! Luckily we were just chillin lol

    Staff really friendly rooms spotless and comfy. Fabulous views good food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    4.6
    Pleasant staff but rooms definitely in need of some TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very dated.. shower hardly worked and plug for sink was pointless as didn’t hold the water in. Bed was very firm and bed frame was in poor condition. Very odd smell in room and bathroom (greasy food smell)

    Staff seemed friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.9
    good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing to dislike

    Very old had character food was excellent service was good and home made beer went down well. Don't expect a five star as it is not but overall value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.0
    Wales
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in the bathroom when you turned the taps on they coughed and spluttered. The heating was on all night. It was like a sauna. The breakfast was to late in the morning if you wanted to travel.

    The good location and the good bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    Potentially an excellent hotel, nice location, good price but we wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff, it was obvious from the initial lack of welcome and surly unfriendly manner that this wasn't going to be a pleasant experience! An evening meal took an hour to arrive and was just microwaved and fried, basic fare. Breakfast was OK but took too long, when my wife had the audacity to ask for cutlery it was suggested she take it from another table. Hardly the way to impress one's guests? A bit of customer service would make all the difference. The decor is very loud and doesn't suit the fine period building, the odd decor would be easily ignored if the staff were friendly and hospitable, but they weren't. The place is like The Marie Celeste, generally sort it yourself as there doesn't seem to be any visible staff about generally.

    Good location, room was clean and warm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    Good Inexpensive hotel in Wales
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although our dinner waitress was delightful and helpful, our breakfast service was decidedly grumpy.

    Great value for money. Our trout dinner was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.4
    Noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place was very noisy everything creaked which made it hard to sleep when people came up late. The bed was ok, and the rooms were clean enough

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.7
    A place to stay if you aren’t picky!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to check in at the bar and we ended up waiting in line as 10 people were ahead of us ordering food. At first they said we didn’t have a reservation so I got my IPad to show them and then we had to wait in line again (they said that they had us on a different night). No one showed us to the room which also surprised us. The bathroom was quite dated (1960’s) and the tv was very small. Bed was just okay.

    In the country and quiet. The room was typical small European type room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.6
    Nice location but overall quite dated/shabby and the breakfast was lacking. Lovely location though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mattress was very old/springs were weak. Dated. Room excessively noisy. Cutlery at breakfast was quite dirty, food was below average.

    Staff waited for our late arrival (midnight)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Very good value clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift which was ok for me but may not be for some folks. It is only a two storey building.

    It was clean and the room was big. We booked a family room. The bathroom was spacious with a bathtub and overhead shower. Lovely views. A cheap taxi into town, but book a table early as restaurants fill up at the weekend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    5.0
    A very uncomfortable night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was extremely uncomfortable and needs replacing. The springs sank and we could feel the surface of the bed underneath. Both of us were in pain the next day. Not the friendliest of places and the room was a little drab but if the mattress was changed this would go a long way to improving the experience

    Breakfast was very good and the evening meal we had the night before was also good. Real chips, homemade curry and cheap too :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    The beds were a little creaky and the room a little tired...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds need updating

    The beds were a little creaky and the room a little tired but for the money what can you expect.The meal in the bar was very good and breakfast was superb.I would definitely recommend this hotel😀

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.3
    Quaint, but uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable and the hot tap would angrily spit in every direction no matter how much the tap was turned. Walls are thin and I guess our room was next to some sort of water tank / system? It was distractingly loud when trying to sleep.

    High ceilings helped the room seem spacious and open, which was nice. Location is beautiful and hotel is easy to find.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.1
    Could have been better but the resterant and bar and area very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one at check out very impersonal . Room need a make over very old floorboards creaked when you walked.

    Food was very good, bar and resterant nice. Location had great view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    5.4
    OK. Just.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    décor. Tatty

    Breakfast 1 hour from seated to service. Manageress hardly friendly. Bar staff friendly. Room clean. View great. décor in hotel - awful (1970s). Tired

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    Relaxed, unfussy, well-located hotel with plentiful parking.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Things might be a bit creaky, but it's an old-fashioned, unpretentious place.

    Clean linens.Top sheet as well as duvet provided - nice! Windows open properly - really nice, fed up with suffocating in hotels that only let you open them a few inches. Rustic and laid-back atmosphere, plenty of free parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.3
    Above average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was old and very uncomfortable. Waitress at breakfast was unpleasant and everything seemed to be a problem for her, breakfast was very slow coming and there was very little on the plate which was a shame as it was a lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.9
    The Hotel is in a beautiful scenic location.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were unable to use the shower as there was a part missing on the tap which meant we could only run water into the bath.

    The Hotel is in a beautiful scenic location. The meals in the restaurant were good, as was the cooked breakfast in the morning, and the staff were friendly. Our room was large and comfy and had everything we needed for an overnight stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    4.2
    Wouldn't stay there again.... sorryt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was dusty, outdated, poorly maintained, and we were disturbed at 9:25am by someone trying to enter our room, Quote "I was just checking to see if anyone was in here". There was no knock or hello, just a key in the lock.

    4 poster bed looked nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    5.8
    Room was nice and setting lovely
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a dreadful stay, the room next door was very drunk, they were rattling our door, shouting and having very loud sex till about 3/4 in morning. When we complained to staff in the morning they suggested my male partner should have gone in there and beaten them up to keep them quiet. It totally destroyed the visit, we could not sleep and did not feel safe. The hotel should have stepped in to set the problem out.

    Room was nice and setting lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    6.3
    Bed and pillows very uncomfortable could do with updating as quite outdated.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff should be little more helpful in communication, but put this down to the owner as only one word from him was Morning.

    Warm, food not bad you pay for what you get good property for 1 or 2 night stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.9
    Very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff where a bit miserable. Not very welcoming and didn't go out of their way to talk. Pretty much left to your own devices but could be a bit more friendly.

    Set in a beautiful valley very peaceful indeex

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.9
    The location was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower was temperamental, either too hot or too cold.

    The location was beautiful. The family room was a good size and comfortable. Breakfast and evening meals were very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Nice relaxing night en route to work.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike at all.

    Lovely clean room and crisp bedding, fantastic views, and so relaxing. Excellent evening meal and terrific breakfast. Nothing to fault at all.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Lovely Hotel in a Lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, i think for the money we paid the hotel exceeded our expectations.

    Spacious 4 Poster room, great view from the room. Lovely food at the bar and Breakfast the following day was also good. Very good value for money and a great location to explore the welsh hills, lots of walking from the door of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: