Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Abbey Guest House 3 stars

16 Stracey Road, Norwich, NR1 1EZ, United Kingdom

#14 of 37 B&Bs and Inns in Norwich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 436 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The price (£38) and the welcome. It was comfortable and the breakfast was great. Much better than trying to drive home or forced to stop at a Travel lodge at £70+.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cold in my room and I did ask for the heating to be put on and they never put it on

    The room was lovely and bed was very comfort and staff were very nice. Plus I slept like a baby

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit warm in the small room. Has a fan but still toasty. No personal toilet facility which I don’t mind but the one to use was pretty small. Good for the price though.

    Place was super friendly, good about supplying vegan breakfast and fresh coffee in the morning. Location perfect for city and train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I managed to stub my toe several times on the bed leg that protrudes a little

    Convenient for station and fairly close to town centre. Room small but comfortable. Breakfast was good food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly and comfortable, a home from home, but with perfect balance of welcome and respectful privacy. Superb breakfast, even at a specially requested earlier time than normal hours. Comfortable bead and spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was OK with my iPhone and iPad, but I couldn't get a connection with my computer. This was the only downside.

    The hosts were very friendly and the room (shared bathroom) was clean and quiet enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thanks to David and Mandy for an amazing stay.Very clean and nice rooms. What a breakfast, made as ordered, with lokal products. Walking distance to all sights. Will sure be back next year to attend : Let's Rock Exeter! Good Internet and TV programs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely breakfast, we were made to feel very welcome. The second time we’ve stayed here, excellent location. Wouldn’t consider staying anywhere else in Norwich now!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Black out curtains needed. Awake at crack of dawn because room was so light. Not good after a hard night’s partying! Also loud music playing in morning but not sure where coming from.

    Great location and good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely clean, comfortable room. Well stocked Tea Point. Very helpful owners, who made me very welcome. Breakfast was simply "Superb", and freshly cooked, and served with a friendly smile. I was so impressed, i will be going back once a month, every month, travelling to work. Ideal location too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The people who ran it (owners I guess) were extremely helpful with directions. They took the time to look up schedules and were just very pleasant and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing which displeased me.

    Mandy, the proprietor was very friendly and professional. The room was clean, with a very comfortable bed and facilities and a good shower. excellent breakfasts too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Creaky floorboards! Not a new property and clearly not the owner's fault but difficult not to avoid waking your neighbours if you rise early.

    Stayed here a few years ago so it was my first choice for this stay. So handy for the station and the hosts are great. Excellent breakfast and bathrooms etc spotlessly clean. A marvellous stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A larger bath towel would be nice. Also a few more tea bags in the room after a long journey to get there

    When told about the breakfast times I was asked if it was early enough for me, so I didn’t risk missing out. Friendly but none intrusive owners

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Super value for money. Car parking was no problem with the permit provided, though be warned, it's a good 20 minute walk into the city centre! The cooked breakfasts were excellent. David & Mandy were wonderful hosts and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Be good to know early on that cars need a permit. Thankfully no fine but might've been otherwise.

    Very well looked after, nice food and room, good location close to city centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    10 mins walk from the station in a quiet area. The bed was comfortable and the room spotless. Breakfast was delicious and the staff friendly. Well recommended!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. For the money I couldn't fault anything.

    Spotlessly clean, excellent breakfast. Owners are very pleasant and helped me out when I couldn't get in my car! Rooms are comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room was small it was lovely, well presented and had everything needed. It was homely and quiet, and a nice place to relax after a long day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little too warm for our taste but we recognise that this is a personal preference issue.

    Excellent breakfast. Warm and professional welcome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing at all.

    Small and very friendly guest house near the railway station and buses to city centre. Mandy and David made us feel very welcome and at ease, and the room we had was large with an en suite shower. Breakfast was delicious and set us up for the morning. Bed very comfortable and had great sleeps. Would recommend this guest house to anyone visiting Norwich as it is a wee gem.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike

    Very clean and tidy, nice single room, wc shower spotless, very nice people, good breakfast, brilliant location 5 min walk from station,no problems parking on street, excellent value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was aware of TV noise from a neighbouring room on my first night until quite late but there was no problem on my second night. Perhaps guests could be asked to keep the volume down after, say, 11pm.

    This was my third stay at Abbey Guest House, visiting my brother and family in Norwich. This time I was in a single room with shared bathroom and toilet, which was not a problem. The proprietors, Mandy and David, are friendly and welcoming, and serve an excellent breakfast. The accommodation is very good value and is conveniently situated near the station and football ground.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    the owners are straight-forward and friendly. the food is excellent. the guest house is close to the train station, and is very quiet at night. the bed is comfortable, the rates are very reasonable, and it is absolutely spotless in the house.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was so convenient 5 mins walk to rail station and shops. Loved their tasty full English breakfast. People were very welcoming and helpful. Room was lovely and clean. We really enjoyed our stay thank you.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was too soft and the curtains let the flood lights from the Royal Mail depot which is opposite the B & B though in to the room which meant i woke at 4am thinking it was morning. You can also hear the lorries coming and going all night at this busy depot, which would have been much worse if the double glassing hadnt been installed.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lovely establishment run by a lovely couple who go out of their way to make you welcome. I can not recommend this place enough, a home from home before I go offshore for two weeks.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cant think of anything

    Pleasant and helpful owners. Full English breakfast to die for with extra tea or coffee if required. Free parking arranged for duration of our stay. Every thing spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not the most comfortable, but having said that we did sleep well.

    Spacious comfortable room. Delicious breakfast with lots of choice. Hosts were very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The venue has limited parking permits and so take this into account if driving , but there is 2 hours free parking opposite and free after 6.30 .

    The guest house is excellent value for money , with clean functional rooms and an excellent cooked breakfast .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was cold - needed an extra blanket

    Proprietors made every effort to ensure dietary needs were more than met: gluten, dairy-free - you'll have a great breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing to dislike.

    Very friendly and accommodating, offered to make breakfast extra early for me. Some nice little touches that I didn't expect for the price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pillows were rock solid, but that's just not my preference! And the shower was quite weak in pressure and the plumbing was very loud if anyone used the toilet or the tap.

    The attention to detail with the hosts was great, and they obviously look after and care for their business. Breakfast was good and having a sink in the room was a nice addition, with having a shared bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a budget hotel offering very good value. The owners are very welcoming and went out of their way to help. It is close to the station but very quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were rather thin and when the person in the room next door put his or her TV on late at night, it kept me awake for a while.

    The people were friendly, it was clean, and extremely good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful small and welcoming place. The owners so very friendly and helpful. Breakfast fantastic and well made. The location is excellent for the Railway Station and the Riverside entertainment area. However, the room was quiet and I slept really well. I would say the only thing with the room would be an extra plug socket next to the bed for the iPhone obsessed :-)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was very clean, they'd thought of all the things anyone could want (little shampoos, coffee and kettle in the room, extra blankets etc), it was lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing of any consequence...

    Great location for the city centre, train station and Norwich City Football Ground. Very friendly and chatty proprietor. Wonderful, generous breakfast selection. Tea and coffee in rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the snobs of the world, the decor and finish of the whole property would be a bit naff, if you can look past some outdated pieces you shouldn't have any problems with your stay.

    I booked very last minute advising that I was a vegan in my booking, I was immediately supplied soya milk for tea in my room on arrival as well being well catered for at breakfast in the morning; Without being asked I was shown the packaging for dairy free vitalite and Linda McCartney sausages to assure me they had me catered for and more Soy milk was brought for my tea and the cereal options they had available. I was essentially given all the same options of a normal breakfast veganised!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would update the curtains and bed linen with more contemporary style, but it's a matter of taste.

    Clean, tidy, well managed premises. Staff friendly and helpful, breakfast great. Overall, excellent value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stay here whenever possible as Mandy and David are always welcoming and friendly. Accommodation is spotless and comfortable, within easy walking distance of Norwich city centre and the rail station. Breakfasts are superb and exceptionally generous.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is on the road and limited time limits in day. May be vety difficult when norwich are playing at home. Single room is incredible small but quiet and surprisingly comfortable.

    Very close to centre of Norwich and short walk from railway station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice to have a few more tea / coffee bags on the drinks tray in the room. The number was absolutely fine if you drink both, but if you both only drink one or the other it was a bit light. However, I'm quite sure if I had bothered to walk downstairs and ask for a few tea-bags, it wouldn't have been a problem, so it is only a small comment.

    The owners were extremely helpful and accommodating, in a number of ways, and offering local advice and directions regarding all sorts of tasks we had to get done whilst we were staying at Abbey. Clean, very comfortable, quiet room with a very nice toilet and great shower shared with the other room on the top floor. Really nice fluffy towels and very useful touch with the complimentary shower gels and shampoos in the room. Great breakfast and people's personal dietary requirements enquired about. Good value for money and very pleasant. I will stay again when I come to visit my daughter. Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place run by young couple who are very friendly and helpful Free street parking from 4.30 till 10am Freshly cooked breakfast very good and food allergies catered for Situated in quiet area Rooms clean and comfortable But there are steps outside the property and stairs inside

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit of a problem, but only because Norwich city were playing at home. I had a parking permit from David which was fab.

    It was immaculately clean, David was so welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Mandys breakfast was amazing, plenty of cereals, toast, tea, coffee and fruit juice. Then came the full English which was lush. A nice touch was the complimentary shower products but the towels were the whitest iv seen and the bedding was spotless. I would highly recommend....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    only downside for me was the top floor shower, not enough pressure and could only get cold or boiling hot water

    the size of the room, breakfast and the facilities the room had

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location; 5 minutes from the train station and Carrow Road.Cheap and convenient B&B, comfortable bed, Tv and decent wifi connection.Small room but great value for money.Friendly and fast check in, cards accepted.Good breakfast included! Really clean toilet and bathroom facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the guest house is not the most attractive part of Norwich but is very convenient for the station and football ground.

    This was my second stay at Abbey Guest House and I was again made to feel very welcome. My bedroom was the same as before - spacious and comfortable. The full English breakfast was hot and delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well nothing really. It's close to the railway station which is between 'The Abbey' and town but not too far. No complaint really as I knew,

    Taking into account its a Victorian villa it's been brought right up to date, very clean and stylish. I was given a double room which was of a good size and the storage place - wardrobes and cupboards and draws - would have been adequate for several people's stuff! Room and bed were clean and comfortable with all usual amenities. The breakfast room at the front of the house is of restaurant standard and the full English was most adequate and well prepared. Breakfast time 07.30-09.30 is unusually generous as is departure time of 'by 11'. The lady was very pleasant and prepared to assist.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Friendly staff and excellent freshly cooked breakfasts. Parking permit available on the street outside the hotel or very nearby. Good location for exploring the lovely city of Norwich - 10 mins walk to the Riverside facilities & 20 mins to the centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very welcoming quaint b&b. Lovely staff very helpful asking if I needed help with bags and offering proper plate and cutlery for our food delivery order. As well as setting up a high chair at the breakfast table for the little one.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single room was directly above the kitchen area and I was aware that breakfast was being prepared around 7am with the noise coming from the kitchen below. However, I needed to get up early anyway so it didn't really affect me too much but others need to be aware. This is a minor point - overall it was a great stay.

    Superb breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small - not that I minded as I booked a single room and it was only me staying. However, I would bear this in mind when booking.

    Lovely friendly couple running the B n B. Keen to tell me lots of info about the city so was a really local experience! Excellent breakfast in the morning, cooked and served by the hosts. All in all a comfortable and pleasant stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walk into town is a bit tedious.

    The room was very basic. But that was expected as it was quite affordable and thus great value for money. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Abbey guest house felt friendly and welcoming, and David who met me at the door was great - a genuinely lovely bloke. I got a great night's sleep and had a delicious breakfast. I really enjoy staying in guest houses for their character, and Abbey guest house has loads of it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A minor niggle only: I was there during a heatwave (not the B&B's fault!) and my room - one of the singles - seemed to retain the heat particularly, even with the windows open. Not sure why this should be. It was a small room, but no room which could possibly fit a double bed in is ever sold as a single in a B&B. There was a separate bathroom but it was never occupied by anyone else during my stay.

    An excellent location: not glamorous (opposite the mail sorting office) but very quiet and 300 metres or so from the main railway station: the city centre starts just beyond the railway station and just to one side of the station is a big riverside area with restaurants. You can walk from the station along the river a short way and up through the tranquil Cathedral Close into the centre of town. So a very convenient place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Strange no handsoap?

    Tasty breakfast Friendly chatty proprietors very convenient for rail station, close to riverside walk/amenities and a reasonably short walk into city centre

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was uphill from the station.. if I knew I would have taken a taxi instead of walked with my luggage.. I didn't like not having my own bathroom..

    It was close to the train station.. the owner helped with my luggage.. there was a sink in the room..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighbouring room occupants movements in the night were really a nuisance as the floor squeaks when you move on it.

    Had a full option veggie Englisch breakfast. Was lucky to find a parking spot right infront of the motel. The manager gave me a residence parking permit to display. Very sociable and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the shared bathroom was quite flooded after a previous guest had used it (not the hosts fault at all, but an unfortunate risk when using a shared bathroom) so I didn't have a shower on the second morning. Perhaps a sign to let guests know the appropriate way to use shared facilities and clean up after themselves would be useful!

    Lovely host who was always available, and allowed me to check in early due to my work commitments. Breakfast was simple but lovely, and the host was very accommodating to dietary requirements. Location was good overall, but a little far from where I needed to be in town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a thing amiss here.

    We were allowed to book in at 7.30am due to a horrific night in another hotel. We were offered time to settle in before paying for the stay, as well as a, more than adequate, breakfast and great selection of drinks at a bargain price. The food was first class. Dave and Mandy were very welcoming and attentive. They gave us directions and kept our luggage for us even after we had checked out, so that we could attend an event on the other side of the city. The room was spotlessly clean, bright and breezy. Wifi, TV, Tea, Coffee & Biscuits. Complementary Toiletries, Clean White Towels. Close to the Train Station and Buses. Right on the edge of the City Centre a stone's throw from the River Wensum.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a Victorian house looking a little shabby with no comfortable communal sitting area. It is opposite the Royal Mail depot and not in a very attractive street.

    Owner helpful with recommendations and departure flexibility, ordering a taxi for me to airport. Easy walking distance to town, river and Railway Station. Room clean. A fan was put in the room, without asking, during the hot weather and I was able to borrow a hairdryer.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    David and Mandy made us feel very welcome. Abbey house is within walking distance of the Railway Station and the city of Norwich. It's in a great location for travellers without a car

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/a

    David was very helpful and friendly. Showed me directions to where I needed to get to and recommended good eating places. Quick service for breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a strange smell in the room, but this dissipated as the stay went on. It was a bit of a trek to use the w.c.

    The guest house was comfortable, and the host friendly. The room was basic, but that was o.k.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was really lovely! Spotlessly clean and friendly hosts. Good value for money. Quiet but very near town centre and historic cathedral and river.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom and toilet were shared, but we could use them as our own as no one else stayed. There is no lift so it is a bit hard to carry luggage to second floor especially when you have heavy suitcases.

    The owner lady was very very nice and attentive and always made sure to make our stay the best as it can be. The location was also very good, close to bus stop and train station. The train station is 5min away on foot (even with heavy suitcases it is within 10min) so I totally recommend this hotel if you are using train, which is the best way to reach London. (Coach is a little cheaper (£5 ish but if you buy advance ticket, train costs only £9, and faster and far nicer) It is also close to a huge grocery store Mollison and within walking distance to city center. The place is very clean. The breakfast was a lot!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls were a bit thin so I could hear sounds from the adjacent room, but this is a minor point and the place was overall an excellent place to stay.

    What a great find--impeccably clean, warm reception, delicious breakfast cooked to order, and only 5 minutes on foot to the train station. Can't beat the price either. Will be back if in Norwich again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nil.

    David and Mandy were warm and friendly hosts. Good en-suite bedroom. The boiler had a problem during my three night stay and hosts provided me with a portable radiator and extra blanket. Good cooked and continental breakfast. Tea and coffee making facilities in room. Next door to Norwich railway station.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    En suite would have been nice.

    Very flexible proprietor attitude - building could not be any cleaner - recently decorated - host guided me to park within local restrictions.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did find the bed mattress rather soft, but this was only because I personally prefer a firmer one.

    The guest house is very clean and is well located near Norwich Station. The owner is friendly and welcoming, and the cooked breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    I've stayed lots of times now and they are perfect stays. No complaints just a perfect and affordable b and b in a good location 5mins from train station. Would recommend it. With David and I many the perfect host. And a yummy breakfast too

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is located not the very centre of the city (15 mins walk from the coach station), but is only 5 min walk from the train station, so that's perfectly reachable anyway.

    This hostel is amazingly cozy and comfy. The rooms are clean, and the staff are fantastic and polite (ready to help out whenever needed as well). If I am to visit Norwich again, I'll stay there!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    This is a great guest house about a five minute walk from the train station in a quiet street. My room was very comfortable and clean and I slept extremely well. The cooked breakfast was delicious and really set me up for the day. It is about a 25 minute walk to the city centre, but there are buses from the train station if you prefer. Mandy and David were very welcoming and I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Signs downstairs asked people to check out at 10.30. Notice in the room said 11.00. Bit confusing, so checked out at 10.45!

    Good "old fashioned" guest house. Friendly welcome, comfortable room and bed, complimentary wifi. Sadly didn't try the breakfast, as I had a lie in because of a late night.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Abbey Guest House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: