Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Abbotsford Lodge 4 stars

Stirling Road, Callander, FK17 8DA, United Kingdom

#7 of 24 hotels in Callander

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 669 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a B and B this was excellent. We had room 1 and the bathroom was more luxurious than some hotels we’ve stayed in! Excellent service and location! We required early check in due to attending s wedding and the staff could not have been more accommodating! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm welcome by hostess. Hostess & all staff very attentive. Spaceous, comfortable room with well equipped ensuite. Outstanding breakfast - both vast cold buffet and freshly cooked hot options.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful modern rooms with a comfy bed. The property was an amazing old house and the owner made us feel really welcome. If you like to hike then this is the place!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Room was recently done up and it was practical, clean and fuctional. There was tea and coffee making facilities inroom and it would be topped up every day, fresh milk will be supplied at request. Breakfast was excellent, something to suit everyone!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t like share the bathroom and the toilet, it was a noisy shower.

    Breakfast was very good, room was comfy, nice staff, very helpful. Location was ok. Car park included.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was no ordinary B&B - it is EXTRAordinary! It is very large and beautifully maintained. Our room was a standard twin bedded and very comfortable; which includes the beds. Lovely bathroom with a large convenient shower. Breakfast was a real experience - being waited on by staff with gloved hands! Breakfast included just about everything you could imagine. Callander itself is a sizeable town with lots of shops and restaurants. Very good location for touring.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower thermostat did not give constant water temperature. It varied from very cold to hot. The quilt was too thick. The bed size was told only in the confirmation. I had to upgrade the room type because I thought the "standard" bed were too small.

    Large bed was good but the quilt was too thick, because the room was warm. Very good breakfast, too good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We were attending a wedding locally and this accommodation was perfect. We were able to walk to our wedding and come back to lovely accommodation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's worth noting that local pubs, restaurants etc. don't serve food after 8:30pm. But there were no problems with the property at all.

    We had an amazing stay here - the owner is lovely and gave some good tips on where to visit. Breakfast was fantastic every day (and the music selection was brilliant) and the room was comfortable, clean and spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only slight negative was the parking - the hotel does have clearly marked spaces but sadly, there are folk who just don't want to 'fit between the lines', so there was a fair bit of irregular parking going on... if you find you arrive and there does not appear to be space, there is plenty street space available over the road...

    This is more boutique hotel than bed and breakfast and the only slight 'downgrading' was that the room seemed somehow small in comparison to the ensuite - but that is just an architectural quibble and nothing to do with facility or comfort provided. It was most peaceful with outlook to the hills and the rising sun. The guests' lounge is top notch, the welcome warm and genuine. The breakfast arrangements are among the best I have ever encountered - ordering the night before so no waiting in the morning... and what a breakfast!!! Royal feasting. Prepared to the highest standards. My sister and I were truly impressed... but the 'cherry' in our case was that the staff then surprised me with an impromptu 'Happy Birthday' singing and presentation of a chocolate cake that was definitely more chocolate than cake! To share that with fellow guests was a pleasure and it was such a fine end to our very short stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Pretty much everything, amazing breakfast, very accommodating, storing our bikes, drying equipment etc.The property is really well decorated, very clean and the staff attentive.The only tiny gripe would be that we came back mid afternoon after a cold and rainy bike trip and we had to wait for hot water for showers, not a long wait but with everything else in the property being excellent it came as a surprise.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are to go and eat out in town I'd suggest securing a table in a nearby restaurant not too late as restaurants may close early.

    Lovely owner and staff! Very kind, smiling and helpful. The place is among the cleanest premises I have seen in my life, all things confounded. The breakfast was perfect too, fresh and with lots of tasty choice. We actually wanted to come back a few days later actually.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in one of the Superior rooms and it was lovely. Spacious, clean and comfortable. The bed was fantastic, so comfortable after all the aches and pains from climbing the near by hills. All the wee extras were great and the breakfast was also very nice. Definitely the best place we would have chosen to stay while in Callander.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great B&B, such a warm and friendly welcome. Straight away felt comfortable. Room immaculate, bathroom huge and amazing shower, breakfast easily the beat I’ve ever had.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Owners wonderful people- Apartment we stayed in was beautiful with nice views- Shower was weak-but understandable given 14 rooms-Only negative-all else great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent welcome from dina and dave room bright modern and spotless beds oh so comfortable £5 for a breakfast to die for our 2nd visit to Abbotsford lodge we can't imagine going anywhere else in calander still can't believe the quality we received for such a basic price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The service and attention to detail was impressive. The room was impeccable and the breakfast, including the service was fantastic. I would highly recommend this property. I would also add that the pictures online are very accurate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative was that our room was right by the front door, and right at the foot of the stairs, so we heard everyone coming back in the evening and then getting up early in the morning.

    Great bed, large clean room, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners are really friendly , rooms beautifully decorated and immaculate, breakfast menu AMAZING! The pancakes were scrumptious! 3rd visit to Abbotsford Lodge and we will be back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Honestly can not think of anything.

    Bed, bedroom superb, Tea, coffee, choc. biscuits, small refrigerator, Large wall mounted TV, room above expectations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very minor point but and may just be personal preference but I would prefer a lock on the bathroom door.

    Staff, facilities and breakfast were fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Liked everything.

    The room was spotless it had been refurbished to a high standard. The breakfast was excellent, hot and cold food plenty of choice. The staff were lovely

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was all perfect by my books!

    The friendliness and amenability of the staff at all times. Also the warmth, comfort and coziness of the hotel itself. It has great character with its tartan carpet, different color scheme in each bedroom, and tasteful furnishings. Loved the silver ‘Christmas tree’ on the table by the front door with its tea lights and other such unique, classy touches!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fantastic. There isn't one thing, I feel that could be improved. Everything was perfect. Firstly the hosts Dave and Deana was so friendly and welcoming. They couldn't do enough for us, from advise on the local area to asking how the previous day was at breakfast. Even when they was busy they made time for each guest which is just lovely. The breakfast is beautiful, spot on. Great choice, lovely presentation and everything we had tasted amazing. The decor was lovely and everything had been done to a high standard, nothing had been scrimped on. The cleanliness was on another level, I've never been anywhere as clean. We had one of the delux rooms and there was lots of little extras like locally made shortbread, chocolate biscuits, bottled water and a little bag of chocolates. Lots of extras in the bathroom too like cotton wool balls, toothbrush kit, shoe shine kit, sewing kit, shaving kit. Also robes and slippers in the room on arrival. There was sweets in the hallway and decanters of whisky and port in the lounge which you could help yourself too. Also a range of books and board games available. Whilst we was there Dave also did a little whisky tasting event for the guests which was a lovely addition to our stay and very unexpected. He was very thorough and knowledgable but it was very informal and relaxed at the same time. Very interesting and to do something like this free of charge was very nice. I can't recommend this place enough and we hope to be back again one day! I feel I have rambled on but it's important to mention and recognise the effort that has been put on I feel. Thank you both :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, although if the property is full, the noise of people entering and leaving rooms can be a bit noisy at times. This would not deter me from staying at this property again.

    Very nice room with a very comfortable bed and large screen TV. Breakfast was delicious. Owners and staff were very courteous and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely wonderful place to stay. Our room and bathroom were clean and lovely, very cosy sitting room and lounge, friendly and helpful personnel. And the best ever breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like having to come home!

    I couldn’t fault anything about the visit! It was absolutely perfect. The owner was really friendly and did everything he could to ensure we had a fantastic time!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is one of the best B&Bs we've ever saved in. The warmest, friendly welcome. Spotlessly clean. Super comfortable. Plentiful tea and coffee and treats in the room. Amazing, huge, delicious traditional Scottish breakfast. I would stay there again and stay there longer. An easy walk into the High Street to get dinner, a lovely guest lounge to chill out in. Just fabulous

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were extremely polite and friendly. Our room was fabulous and much more than we expected with the large en suite. Our breakfast was cooked to perfection and there was a variety to choose from. Great location as just a few minutes walk from the small bars and restaurants which was what we were hoping for.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Room lovely,tastefully decorated and bed very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing. Great variety and everything freshly cooked.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything!

    The owner was extremely welcoming and went out of her way to be helpful i.e showed us how to work Satnav on our car which we desparately needed!! The breakfast was of a higher standard than any other accommodation I've stayed in. I would thoroughly recommend Abbotsford Lodge to other travellers.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too soft for my partner and i but still had a resonably good sleep. You can’t please everyone with a mattress but it was cosy all the same.

    The staff were very welcoming and premises beauitfully kept. We had the superior room and it was wonderful: mini fridge, tea and coffee facilities, massive tv, a very high standard en suite along with mega bed and seats to chill on. Breakfast was fresh and local produce, great chat and very acomidating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything to make your stay wonderful is carefully planned. The period features of the beautiful home won me over. The staff and breakfast were also 10/10

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dave was super friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The staff was wonderful, the breakfast excellent, and the room spacious and comfortable. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location, excellent service, personal and warm reception, beauty of The lodge.We were 2 hours late yet they went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The atmosphere reminds you that you are special and that you are on vacation

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Abbottsford is a great guesthouse in the Trossachs, ideal when heading north to the highlands or south towards Stirling/Glasgow. The guesthouse is clean and well decorated. The staff/owners incredibly friendly. The breakfast was exceptional. Can also highly recommend the Callander Meadows restaurant for dinner just 10 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On fishing trip and property well located near centre of Callander. Breakfast is excellent with large selection of quality food. Staff very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic breakfast, so much choice, many different types of fresh fruit, melon, pineapple, strawberries plus nuts and seeds,even chia seeds, lovely honey. This on top of a variety of cooked breakfasts all beautifully cooked and presented.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived before the official check-in, but this was no problem as we were made very welcome by our friendly host. Room was of a high standard with a comfortable bed and at an agreeable temperature. Breakfast staff were very friendly and accommodating whilst serving a huge choice of sumptuous breakfast that proved great value for money. The lodge was well located for the function that we had to attend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to leave

    Superb breakfasts. Great staff. Friendly owner. Whiskey and port in the evening lounge nice touch. Highly recommend!!! Set the bar quite high!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing that we did not like about this accommodation.

    This is probably the most lovely bed and breakfast accommodation that I have ever stayed in. From the moment we were welcomed in to the minute we left, everything was perfect. The owners and staff are fabulous and nothing seems to be too much trouble. The whole building is beautifully decorated and the rooms are very well appointed with sumptuous beds and soft furnishings and a luxurious bathroom. If you drive an electric car, they even have charging points for these too! The breakfast options are incredible and having helped yourself to the breakfast buffet, followed by Scottish porridge and a cooked main meal, you won't leave here hungry. All in all a fabulous stay and we will definitely be coming back when we are next in the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We've stayed at this location twice before and it has never disappointed. The bedroom and bathroom is decorated lovely and very stylish. It was very clean. The food for breakfast was nice, and has a good coffee machine. All in all the place is A*

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There isn't anything not to like at this B&B. It is just perfect. superbly clean and a wonderful breakfast. would definitely return here. first class sums it up

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could only spend two nights here,wish it could have been more.

    Breakfast choice was superb as was the dining room. The staff were so helpful and caring and the boss makes a very good pancake The rooms are comfortable and there is an excellent residents loung with a selection of books.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the checking should have been made before 18:00, we arrived quite late due to our delayed plane. They have been waiting for us until 21h ... And besides this everything else was perfect ! thanks again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was slightly too hot and we weren't sure how to cool it down.

    The beds were comfortable the bathroom and shower clean and roomy. The breakfast was awesome. a lot of choices fresh and the staff waited on your every need. Great place would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee and tea offered at table service breakfast, however if coffee chosen then you have to serve yourself from a machine? Coffee quality not very good! This let's down an otherwise excellent breakfast so I would strongly recommend that they serve freshly brewed coffee.

    Great welcoming Staff. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great wee find. Whole family met there and so we had a selection of rooms to suit our needs and each one of us fully satisfied with cleanliness, facilities, breakfast choices, and most importantly welcoming friendly owners and staff. We were there to celebrate a birthday surprise for my mum, who has fond associations with the town of Callander and this B&B was absolutely fabulous in creating just the right touch.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The complimentary drinks at night was a lovely touch and the sweets! We were mountain biking and very muddy and they were so kind in storing our bikes and letting us use the hose to wash everything, and a great drying room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    When booking we didn't order the breakfast .On arrival the owner said that we were missing out on the best breakfast in Scotland, a bold claim considering we have toured for the last 5 years! I'm glad we didn't wager anything, the breakfast was amazing, we had pancakes with maple syrup bacon and fruit. The buffet was also excellent. The next day we had a long chat with the owner who is also the chef. Our family room was clean and nicely decorated. We were surprised to hear that it is earmarked for refurbishment, standards are set high here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect from start to finish, great off street location and ample parking. Room was stunning, huge comfy bed and the breakfast was the best we've ever had! Couldn't recommend highly enough! Can't wait to go back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More places to eat locally.

    The property has recently been refurbished to a high standard and the rooms, beds were lovely. The breakfast fantastic and the staff couldnt do enough for us.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful on the outside, gorgeous on the inside! The lodge is very well taken care of. Our room was nicely decorated, spacious and overall too clean! It felt incredibly cozy with all the pillows sitting on the bed and the couch. The fluffy carpets and the thick, glorious curtains just added to that feel! The staff was very sweet and kind! And they served us one of the best breakfasts we had during our 2 week stay in Scotland. The lodge itself is situated in a charming little town, just at the egde of Trossach national park! No complaints what so ever!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We seem to advanced a lot faster in australia with our coffee this is not a reflection on this place imp articular but everywhere lacks good coffee and fresh milk .

    we found the lodge to be in a great position easy to find many similar places on same street. The coffee came out of a machine you find in a petrol station No compalints I find all these places a little hot so I just open a window where I can and turn off the heating Poms love to have the heat on even in summer it was june

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a beautiful property, the rooms are immaculate. We stayed in no.4, very spacious, everything you could ask for after a long cycle. Hosts and breakfast staff very welcoming and relaxed, nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast is fab, lots of choice and comparable with very good hotels. Bed very comfortable with lots of white pillows etc. In short,the best overnight experience we have had in a long time. Would definitely return. You could probably get cheaper BnBs but life is too short not to treat yourself now and again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very lovely property, we stayed in a room with two twins and an ensuite bath, while not large, sufficient for our needs. The breakfast area was divine and breakfast was lovely. The host recommended a little pub in town which served on of our best meals on the trip.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The whole experience was the best we've had in Scotland to date and possibly the best we have encountered throughout the UK. The landlords made us really welcome and the breakfast was 1st class

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No blind on bathroom window. Paying for our room on arrival rather than departure. Communal lounge was locked at 10.00pm.

    Excellent breakfast choice and super comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything. Very friendly people, all rooms we've seen were decorated with a lot of taste and were really nice. Breakfast was great with a lot of choice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't complain about anything.

    Lovely house, extremely friendly and helpful staff and wonderful breakfast. It takes 10-15 min to walk into the village. The two room family suite was not too spacious, but comfortable and very good value for the money. Wish we could have stayed for longer!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value for money. Nice clean room and bathroom with a candelier! Close to ameneties in Callander, just on the edge of town. We didn't have breakfast as we needed to leave early but it looked as if the choice was beyond the usual. Friendly hosts who recommended places to eat. We went to 'Poppies' which was quite formal but good, tasty food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An overnight stay cost me £430, the staff is charging me £300 to clean the room !!!!!!!!!!!!

    Staff were out of order for charging me £300 without a bill to advise it's for cleaning !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quilt was to thick and the room was to warm. Not much of a gripe, but I didn't sleep very well.

    So much choice for breakfast and it really is a great one!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower drain a bit slow but nothing so bad

    Owners and staff were very friendly and helpful, we were even proposed an upgrade of the room for the same price on our arrival! Good position, very good services, the room was very clean and everything was really nice. The best breakfast we ever had! We'd definitely come back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful stay! A few minutes after our arrival, the owner knocked on our door to ask if we'd like a free upgrade to the Bridal Suite since we were staying for 3 nights and it wasn't booked. Very coincidentally we'd just gotten engaged two days prior, so that was an amazing surprise! The suite was beautiful with a lovely view of the front garden. It was an old house but very well maintained. Breakfast was maybe the best we'd had on our trip, and had very large portions. The owner was very friendly, as was all the personnel- they were also very professional. Unfortunately we had to miss the free whisky tasting provided by the owner, but it's nice that it's provided by him.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet wasn't the easiest to flush On the ground floor so had to have curtains pulled mist of the time .. could do with some voile or shutters really

    Breakfast unbelievable ! So much choice and well looked after

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was ideal, very easy to find and within walking distance to the High Street (the town centre). Our room (on the ground floor) was very spacious, very clean and cosy and warm. The beds & pillows were firm and comfortable. So glad we chose the breakfast option. It was amazing! Great choice of food to choose from, assorted fresh breads, croissants, homemade bakery, fruits, cereals and yoghurts, porridge, juices, tea and coffee ... and that's just for starters, save room for the main which is a full cooked Scottish Breakfast, equally delicious!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have preferred it if breakfast could have been available later in the morning and found the idea of pre ordering breakfast the night before a little strange

    Service / Breakfast / Room - all excellent.....to be recommended

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The high standard throughout the B&B was impressive. The rooms were really nice to stay in, they had just been refurbished and fitted out to a high level. The breakfast was excellent, quality foods used. Staff were lovely.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Beautiful, clean and stunning finish. A warm and fresh feel with a beautiful comforting room. Professional and welcoming staff. Boutique hotel feel and service. Will def recommend and be back.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. The room was immaculate. Breakfast was amazing. I definitely recommond this place and would love to go back.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Warm welcome and best breakfast ever, we had a tremendous weekend meeting up with friends. The owners were very helpful and booked us in for dinner in a nearby restaurant and organised the transportation.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything that would have made it better

    The whole experience was amazing . Comfortable beds great breakfast and lovely friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing that could have been done better. It was perfect.

    Everything was fantastic. Food was great. Staff were so helpful. They really went out of there way to help you.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more space or at least reorganised room (storage needed)

    Excellent staff, well presented and attentive. Superb breakfasts. Best ever had in many years of B&B, and better than most 5 star hotels I have used. Proprieter friendly welcoming and very knowledgeable ang giving of his time.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Abbotsford Lodge traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: