Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Exhibition Centre 3 stars

Claymore Drive, Aberdeen, AB23 8BL, United Kingdom

#31 of 46 hotels in Aberdeen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 336 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    Does exactly what it does on the tin. Cheap and cheerful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired accommodation but I gather it’s been on the market a while. Will be wholly redundant once the AECC moves hence why it’s looking so dated with water stains on the ceiling and a little mould here and there. Ground floor room was noisy with people in the bar but full so unable to move us. Just be aware of this if booking on a busy night.

    Location was great for the AECC Staff at breakfast were fab Good breakfast Good value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    3.8
    Run down, dirty hotel that needs to be knocked down!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down. Shower broken. Light switch ok entry to the room broken. Bed dipped in the middle. Carpet and walls dirty. I understand the hotel closed Monday. Very overpriced for the facilities and cleanliness I experienced. Very disappointed!

    Location to AECC

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    4.2
    Cracking weekend, rubbish hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room was smoking, which I refused as per my booking, second room was 128 which had an extremely unpleasant damp smell, clothes hanging up smelled like damp when we got home :(

    Directly across from the event I attended in the conference centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.7
    Better than having nowhere to stay! I understand the hotel is closing down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were allocated a smoking room on arrival and our view was it wasn’t fit for human habitation! Old & umcomfy mattress

    Not a lot but it was relatively inexpensive

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Good place to stay. Buti should have been offered a slight refund for the fire alarm malfunction
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered room service both nights. One night I was missing some items described on the menu for my order. The food was more like microwave food. Also the fire alarm went off during my stay. Set off by the alarm in my room. I had several staff. Manager and firemen wanting access to my room in the early hours.

    Nice big room. Polite staff. Car parking onsite

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location for the AICC next door - great for an overnight stay with super breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our evening bar food was over cooked and several meals were returned. The bar and waiting staff seemed very stressed and harassed.

    Breakfast was first class - piping hot, well cooked and regularly replenished. Breakfast and checkout staff were very friendly and attentive. Comfy bed and hot shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    6.7
    Average, no better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television didn’t work properly and tv remote didn’t work at all. Advised reception at 3pm on arrival day. By the time I left at 8am the following morning nothing had been done. Luckily I had iPad but disappointed my Corcoran’s went unanswered.

    Location as it was 2 minutes walk to AECC

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.1
    Nice place for a stopover with nice decor rooms a bit tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom could do with some improvement e.g. grouting of tiles. Bed a bit lumpy and sloped in the middle. Would have preferred if food had been served all day as we had to go elsewhere.

    Nice place, great location for our reason for travelling.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.1
    Short stay that met all my requirements for comfort within a budget
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was freezing on arrival as heater was very low.

    Good value for money with an ideal location for my business trip. Comfortable bed and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confusion of Holiday Inn and Holiday Express being right next to each other, guests were confused and no sign for Express reception, wee bit of inconvenience

    Welcome and professional manner of staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    5.8
    Bed dipped in the middle so was uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed dipped in the middle so was uncomfortable. Adjoining door was not locked so unhappy with the security and privacy issue. After complaining this was locked. Not enough staff behind the bar, they were very pleasant but felt bad for them, huge queue at the bar, felt this was very unfair on the bar staff and customers.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    5.0
    It was ideal location as my partner and I were away to see a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As there was a gig on I felt that it could have done with more staff, my partner waited in a queue for about 5 minutes to be told there would be a 15 minute wait on food orders being taken but continued to wait on the queue as the time he got the bar it would have been roughly that time, to which he waited just over half an hour and upon arrival at the bar he was told that they still weren't taking food orders and would have to wait another half hour, absolutely disgraceful as we had a 3 hour journey and thought the hotel would be able to provide us with decent food at a decent time, we did get to the hotel pretty early aswell! More trained staff is key for a business like this. In the room we also had dirty bed sheets which we had to turn the sheets over.

    It was ideal location as my partner and I were away to see a gig so it was a perfect minute walk to the venue.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Overall experience was good, would definitely come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were in was right beside the loading bay, there was a droaning noise possibly coming from an air conditioning unit??

    It was clean and tidy and great that it was right next to the AECC

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    2.5
    Horrendous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service on arrival and departure was poor. No one manning reception and I felt like an inconvenience to be honest. Service was not personal or interactive at all. The room 521 was horrendous! On arrival we just dropped our bags and headed out to a wedding. There was a strong smell of stale cigarettes but we left the window open while we were out but on return it smelt just as bad. It was so horrendous that I actually felt sick and could not wait to leave in the morning. That room is certainly no where near a standard that is acceptable to charge for. I wish now I asked to change room but on our return at 1am we did not want the hassle. The room itself was also not that clean, it felt dirty and dusty and our pillows even still had the cleaning ticket stuck on it!! When returned at 1am we were greeted by the reception /porter staff who were at the front door smoking. This is disgraceful and very unprofessional! But really summed up our stay. Will never stay or recommend this hotel ever. I strongly suggest that someone investigates that room as it's unacceptable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.9
    Overall I would go back but these issues were a problem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough staff on , you could see that staff in the restaurant/ bar area were pushed to the limit, not enough staff serving at the bar, need more staff in this area, had to wait a long time to get served, there were also people there after the concert in the bar who were not resident in the hotel

    Room was great, bed comfortable and was very quiet in the room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    5.4
    Fawlty Towers/Benidorm. Great for somewhere to sleep after a concert - but not for food/drink.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service WAS TERRIBLE. When we booked in they said dinner was between 6 and 9 or something. We went down at 6.30 for dinner, very little tables and queue 20 minutes long to the bar. Once we waited at the bar, we were told they had stopped taking dinner reservations for 20 minutes as it was too busy and we had to go back if we wanted food. Breakfast was one chef who came out with bits and bobs - there was never anything filled up ready for eating or drinking. Everything was constantly running out.

    The room was clean and comfortable and the location was perfect for the concert venue.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.1
    Does the trick
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a shock. Food had been out for a while and wasn't replenished. When asked, the "manager" in the restaurant was either unhelpful or scared....I couldn't figure out which!

    Fit for purpose. Comfortable bed, decent facilities and not a bad price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.1
    Perfect for our needs 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a bit dated and in need of some tlc .

    The property was perfect for our needs but found the rooms a bit dated although there seemed to be some work being done on the restaurant area while we stayed so hopefully the start of a renovation program in the hotel but overall a good place to stay and staff where lovely and very welcoming .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.5
    On the whole great, have and will stay again great for concerts at the aecc
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was un organised, hard to find anything and food took ages to come out not ideal for a buffet breakfast but tasted great once there were enough items available to enjoy!

    Location was great rooms quiet and bed comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.4
    Very disappointed, and wasn't cheap, will stay in the city centre next visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very tired it reminded me of an old hospital room and should have be upgraded many years ago. The mattress was awful with no support in the middle of the bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    4.2
    Great for a concert at the exhibition centre but that’s it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor hotel considering what I paid. Very dated room, not the cleanest either. Bed very uncomfortable - mattress seen better days. The duvet was paper thin. Bathroom left a lot to be desired.

    Location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.9
    Decent stay at the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 102 had a view of a skip as the hotel is under renovation. Bathroom could do with a bit of TLC. Glad I purchased on a low cost site.

    Great location when visiting the AECC. Food excellent at the hotel. Staff really nice and hotel clean with a comfy bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.1
    Got what we paid for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed mattress needs replaced, I rolled into the middle of the bed lol. Screens/nets in room were in a state of disrepair and marks on the walls could have been cleaned off.

    We considered the room good value for the money we paid and reception staff were very friendly, polite and pleasant thank you!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.6
    Good Value for money.
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed just ok, would have liked more support from the mattress (Sloped down in the middle).

    Polite and friendly staff, cleanliness of the hotel and room and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    Great location and friendly
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit dated Bathroom needs modernising. Hall carpets dirty. Shower tiling needed regrouting. Didn’t like how bacon was cooked

    Location and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.2
    The location was perfect as we were attending a concert and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect as we were attending a concert and the hotel is right beside the AEC, the staff were also very welcoming and helpful would definitely recommend

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.1
    Mediocre. Chosen for convenience at last minute; let down by cleanliness.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall cleanliness of room was poor, fittings and furnishings are worn and dated. Dust and stains all over, hairs in the bathroom.

    Friendly staff. Decent hot water pressure and temperature in the shower, covered parking and a reasonable breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.1
    Met our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shocked and appalled that the snow had not been cleared around hotel. There were many older guests, some with sticks and walkers. Lots of people were walking to the Exhibition Center for concert and the paths were very dangerous. Quality of breakfast was pretty poor and staff were run ragged as clearly not enough staff allocated to this basic service.

    Convenient location next to the concert venue.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.1
    Friendly staff, spacious comfortable room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom a bit tired and grotty looking in the corners. Hairs in the bath on arrival and was unable to pull the plug after a bath as it got stuck.

    Friendly staff, spacious comfortable room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Excellent !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff where very helpful, offering to help me organise food as I arrived late at night, looked after my case whilst I attended a conference and organised a taxi even after my check out

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    5.0
    Hotel dining experience spoiled what should have been an enjoyable evening. Fortunately this did n
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have never encountered waiting staff who were less attentive to customers needs. Twice had wrong main course delivered to table. Final bill showed numerous drinks which we did not have. Very poor performance.

    Convenient for show at nearby venue.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.8
    Nice room and breakfast but was let down by poor sleep quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed!

    Because the bed was extremely uncomfortable we hardly slept all night.When I complained to the receptionist all she said was 'sorry' she didnt offer to pass this information on to management. When my husband checked us out he was not asked if everything was ok. The breakfast staff and bar staff were very helpful and curteous and the food was good. We will not be returning because of the poor sleep and the lack of a proper apology.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.1
    Lack of sleep is the over-riding feeling.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very uncomfortable in room 306. Seemed to sag in the middle and as such I did not sleep too well. Hotel appears unfinished as the refurbishment has been put on hold, so the dining room is small for such a popular hotel.

    Staff are very welcoming and make you feel comfortable. Breakfast was also good. Parking was easy and the location was excellent, close enough if you wanted to go into the City but far enough out to relax.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for seeing a concert at the AECC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could do with being updated.

    Decided to have room service opposed to going to restaurant, food was delivered to room within 10 minutes and was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    4.2
    Handy for gigs but I've stayed in better for much less!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room (103) positioned at the front of the hotel, kept awake by people standing right at the window smoking, poor lighting, traffic noise, cleaners hoovering very early in the morning, toilet appeared as if it hadn't been cleaned. Only in the room for a couple of hours before going out thankfully.

    Only good for proximity to the exhibition centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    Brilliant location and great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The window barely opened obviously for health and safety reasons but it meant the room was hot and stuff all the time.

    The room was nice, really comfy bed. Perfect location for a concert or going into town

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    6.7
    Very dated!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very shabby skirtings coming away from walls and the glass shower screen to small for the preasure from the shower a shower curtain would suit more not enough plug sockets in the room and not having any beside the bed was not handy hopefully they can improve this in the near future..

    This is the most dated holiday inn ive ever stayed in but there was a sign saying under refurbishment so hopefully it will be more up dated in the near future

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    This was ideal location for our party of 10 as we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was ideal location for our party of 10 as we were playing a match at Royal Aberdeen Golf Club which is just minutes away. Aberdeen City centre was only a 5-10 minute drive. Would stay again if I am up there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.2
    Was only there for an overnight stay so was sufficient for the purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seems that they have turned the bar area into the dining area, there was no privacy for when you are having your meal from people checking in, also as it was winter was cold from the cold air coming in with people coming & going. Also breakfast was a bit cold could do with a better warming plate.

    its closeness to the AECC, the hotel itself being clean and friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.8
    Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom not cleanef properly put a damper on it. We were going to fill out a review form but found one that some one had previously filled out in october. It was commenting on the same complaint as ourselves and was still lying there. We just thought - whats the point

    Price

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Comfortable, friendly, would book with Holiday Inn Express in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    our original booking was for Holiday inn, but when we wanted an extra night, they could not accommodate us, so we cancelled, and on their advice booked Holiday inn Express. This was a good move as it worked out cheaper for us, and included breakfast, but we arrived about 9 in the evening and could not get a meal in Holiday inn express. We went to Holiday inn to eat, which was a bit pricier than we had hoped, although delicious

    breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice, room was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    Staff were very polite and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Phone in room didn't work which meant I had to go downstairs to order room service.

    Staff were very polite and friendly. Clean and spacious room. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    A good nights sleep in pleasant surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although housekeeping do a great job in the rooms, the bathrooms are a wee bit tired and the corridor carpet was very grubby. But all in all a pleasant stay.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Comfy beds and big, thick towels.The bar and restaurant area were really nice and very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Will be back again
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame bar closed so prompt as my partner had to join us later in the evening and we missed a celebratory drink together to mark the start of our long awaited holiday

    We were delighted with every aspect of our stay at the Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Exhibition Centre

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Overall a good stay and may return in future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar service requires attention. Very limited choice of both soft and alcoholic drinks in the chillers. No brandy as the manager was on holiday ??? We walked out the bar in disgust on the second night with no drink consumed.

    Breakfast was good with an excellent choice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.8
    I'd definitely stay again. Made the AECC experience really enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A walk in shower would have been ideal. Rooms could do with a bit of a freshen up. A bit tired.

    Staff were fantastic. Really professional. Location is great for venue next door.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.1
    Perfect location for AECC, good advance rate, new mattress req, bfst items better planning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable and made both my husband and I roll towards the middle of the bed. Breakfast items weren't all available at the same time, various empty platters. Drinks contained in the drinks machine were all full sugar, no diet drinks available, not a great selection. The cans were not chilled as you would expect from this type of machine. Left my hairdryer at home as one in room, however was disappointed as it was merely a travel hairdryer.

    Lovely friendly lady on reception and breakfast. Loved the water pressure in the shower took no time at all to wash & condition my hair.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    2.5
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building work limited restaurant menu & layout. Wouldn't have been to bad if we had been pre-warned. Drink prices !!

    Service & very convienient for AECC

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.7
    Easy to find hotel, really nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm not sure the difference between Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express. They are next door to each other. We parked in the Express car park as the Holiday Inn car park was full. The room was ok, no sockets next to the bed which is a bit annoying for charging phones. The hotel was far out from the centre but just next door to the exhibition centre, so it depends what your in Aberdeen for.

    Easy to find hotel, really nice staff. Large Room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Friendly staff ,great breakfast, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated bedrooms think it in middle of getting done up but no need for the think dust on standing light in room and the mould round bath and sink and in need of lick of paint as walls in room all scratched

    Friendly staff ,great breakfast, good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    2.9
    Awful and memorable for the wrong reasons.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I arrived after 9pm Friday having booked no smoking room-No info from receptionist re breakfast or dinner only interest in getting credit card. Informed them the next morning room wreaked of permanent smoking, clothes smelled , pillowcases had long dark hair on them! told reception next morning and left note for cleaning staff - only comment from reception was indifference. Next evening sheets had been changed room still as bad. On checking out same receptionist didn't even bother to ask whether things had been rectified. No info in room or reception about meals, times etc. I come to Aberdeen once or twice every month my son at Aberdeen University close by. I have stayed in Holiday village/ Premier etc but wanted something closer - by far the worst hotel I have been in PS I read the breakfast card on the room door to find out times but for the first time ever I decided not to eat in hotel. On coming home last night I let my husband smell my night clothes and Jacket that was hanging in the room - disgusting smell of stale smoke. Someone should also try the bed as the mattress is so soft it subsides if you sit on it anywhere?

    Easy proximity of hotel to my required location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    Good business stay, great bed and sleep, but hotel is a bit tired and unloved.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lobby tatty, with what looks like long-term incomplete works, polythene sheets, and 'permanent' plywood repair to floor. No power sockets next to bed for phone charging! Internal access corridor to Conference Centre closed, which means we had to walk in the rain. Generally a bit tired.

    Friendly staff. Great bed. Next door to AECC. Free parking. Good WiFi, and printer in lobby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    It was a nice hotel but was soured by the breakfast farce
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one comfy chair in the room

    We booked bed and breakfast but when we got down in the morning they told us breakfast was not included not happy we would not have booked this hotel if we were not to get any breakfast, in there defence they did give us breakfast as a good will gesture.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.1
    Good at a discount, HI Express next door preferable.
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very warm, decor dated and worn, not as good as Holiday Inn Express next door and would be poor value at full price.

    Good location if travelling by car, clean and quiet, good value at discounted price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    Good value B&B for accommodation while visiting family and friends.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed mattress was dipped in the middle and soft. Possibly could do with being replaced.

    Very friendly staff and dog friendly. Good out of city centre location and excellent value for money. Beside the Exhibition Centre and no events going on while we were there. Don't know what it's like when events are on and what parking would be like.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant 😘
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food prices were high and breakfast stuff had been lying for a while.and you had to search forjuice.in other words it was spread all over.toast you had to ask for.by time you did this breakfast got colder .

    Size of room .TV ! bathroom and shower!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    The location at the exhibition centre was ideal as we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location at the exhibition centre was ideal as we were golfing and the majority of the courses we were playing are north and we avoided the Aberdeen traffic. Great breakfast and easy to and from town for anything else.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    Aberdeen review
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a family emergency had too leave a day early was really upset but hotel was really good just a shame i lost a night

    Comfy beds breakfast nice room nice and clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    4.2
    The breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact I have used this hotel off and on for 8 years and the rooms have never been updated in that time speaks volumes for how they are left behind their competitions

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.8
    some staff need to smile
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast staff seemed uninterested and like we were an inconvenience, however the bar and reception staff were all very polite and friendly

    comfy bed, excellent choice for breakfast and room clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.9
    Overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms require painting & new carpets laid

    Rooms look a bit tired but linen & towels were fresh & clean had to ask for a change of room as we were allocated a smoking room without being asked - I didn't think there were any smoking rooms in hotels nowadays - but receptionist was friendly & changed our room with no problem

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.3
    Very happy with our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately fault with bath plug system failing, not able to empty bath - reported to reception upon checkout who took note of it.

    Large comfortable room with a bath. Slept well. Good public transport links into city centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel for what I needed it for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms look a little tired/worn. It needs a re-vamp. Only 2 plug sockets in the room caused us a hassle with all our iphones, pcs etc.

    Friendly, helpful staff great position for the Aberdeen Exhibition Centre

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    9.2
    Overall very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was so so, the bacon , tattie scones etc were a bit hard as if they had been lying a while.

    Staff very friendly room very good, breakfast area nice, easy parking.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    6.3
    A no go for the disabled (as it stands)
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The access for people in wheelchairs was very poor. There was a ramp towards the toilets and the bar. The bar, where the self-service breakfast was served, was mostly blocked by a fruit machine. Navigating to the disabled toilets was difficult. Going to and from the bedrooms; I was faced with 3 heavy spring loaded double fire doors. I needed to open both doors to get through which is extremely difficult on your own. The bedroom door used the infamous key card system which failed 4 times had I been alone this would have been disastrous for someone with a fatigue illness. Once open, the bedroom door was a tight fit for my chair, and inside the room, any movement was all but impossible.

    The staff were great and the Guinness wasn't bad either.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    7.9
    Perfect location for Arena
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed as seeing a concert at the arena next door. It was perfect as only couple of minutes walk to the concert and meant I didn't have to go into the centre of Aberdeen.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    3.8
    I was given a 'smoking room which stank and I asked to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was given a 'smoking room which stank and I asked to change - the alternative room, although non-smoking, also had been used by a smoker and was only a little better. It sounds like I am one of those terrible ex-smokers who are actually worse than people who have never smoked at all. Not the case, I'm actually pretty relaxed about it, but these rooms were appalling! It's a shame because the day staff and the hotel itself was actually ok.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    9.2
    Very nice stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait 15 minutes to check in (we were second in the queue) as there seemed to be a problem of some kind with the customer at the desk.thought more staff would appear when they saw a queue forming.

    Staff friendly, room clean, breakfast very good with plenty of choice.we were able to take our dog with us.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    6.7
    Good value, shame about the facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit run down. Renovation work impacted on stay, limited access to seating areas. Staff struggling to cope with volume of guests. Not able to keep tables and toilets clean. Not good.

    Value for money. Good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    5.0
    Overpriced for stay & service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No table for dinner booked despite emails Then staff discovered it was booked under other parties name although not till we were checking out Huge mix up with billing for 2 rooms took staff ages to work it out! Bed not very comfy Kept rolling together due to mattress

    Near to exhibition centre Car park

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    5.0
    Go somewhere else until refurbished
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar service was very slow and there was a queue of people waiting to be served. There was minimal places to sit and have a drink and were told no restaurant bookings were available. Very poor. The room was on the 5th floor and stunk of smoke when you opened each set of fire doors. We asked at reception on checkout to confirm this had been a smoking area. I don't feel enough had been done to counterattack the smell. Very disappointed.

    The hotel was handy for the concert venue is the only positive.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    6.3
    Great concert!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prices at bar are off the wall - only option was £40 for a bottle of cheap red even the staff admitted you would get in Tesco for £6. Breakfast - don't bother - treat yourself to room only and buy a better breakfast in town for much less - you will need to save your money for the chiropractor you will need after a night on those beds - and we were told we were not the only ones who had complained that morning. If wasn't at a concert wouldn't even think about this place!

    Proximity to AECC is perfect, otherwise wouldn't ever dream of staying here.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    10
    The staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little 2 soft. It was fine for me but my partner found it a little too soft

    The staff were excellent. We had our 10 month old daughter with us and the staff just adored her, gotherwise her some strawberries to munch on while we had our breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    8.8
    Mid week show break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was a bit soft but its nothing to complain about,a restaurant would have been nice we were told that building work would have been finished by time our booking came round

    the food was great in the limited space there was, the staff were very pleasant and helpful the hotel was very close to our show which was great

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    7.5
    Good location for trip to AECC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't open windows! Some staff could have been a bit more attentive at times of dining, e.g. checking everything was OK.

    Nice big bed. Bathroom with shower over bath. Breakfast available to 10am. Quiet rooms, good long lie in the morning.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: