Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Aberdeen Guest House

14 Argyle Road, Ilford, IG1 3BQ, United Kingdom

#3 of 23 hotels in Ilford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 119 hostel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Host was very friendly and helpful. I hadn't expected anything so to find a range of cereals, juices and biscuits in the room was awesome. The kitchen was available so I could have had a hot meal if I wished. There is also a garden with a seating area. Very good value for money especially for the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Juice in fridge was out of date by quite a while. Didn’t feel ultra safe walking to the hotel as had to pass abusive drunks who were shouting, vomiting and urinating in public on the walls of other hotels.

    Close to the station, staff/owner very welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower could have been a little more powerful.

    Friendly hosts, fantastic location and room was very clean. Cereals, juices and tea/coffee were a much appreciated bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small breakfast items and milk provided. Very clean , looked like it had been recently decorated/updated. It was not busy when I visited, so there was plenty of parking and it was very quiet.This might not have been the case if it had been busy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels were quite old and the bath towel was too small. There was nowhere to place shampoo and shower get in the shower.

    I liked the provision of the fridge in the room with the breakfast cereals, juices and milk. That meant I knew I could keep some snacks in there too. I also like the room as it was compact and cosy. The bed was very comfortable indeed. Even though it was not weather I liked having a quilt available as I my legs get cold sometimes at night even on a hot night. I liked the provision of an electric fan because it was boiling hot in the Saturday afternoon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really.

    I liked that it was quiet and easy to get to from the nearby train station and the welcoming staff so i will try to come back here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't like having to leave

    It's the little touches that booking.com doesn't tell you about that add up - fridge in the room with milk and juice, cereals provided - and this despite booking.com stating that no meals are provided

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed here a year ago and saw my review from last time and can't believe I only scored it 9.6..... I scored it properly this time, this hotel is brilliant. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although bed linen & bath towel were clean everything smelt as if had been washed in toilet cleaner (not bleach, that is). Bedding didn't feel fresh, bath towel was small, very stiff & grey; smaller (hand) towel? seemed to be a bath mat although bath mat was already supplied. Shower appliance is appalling - power so low had to handhold close to body to rinse effectively.

    Staff very accommodating regarding my late check in, & pleasant manner. Good hospitality tray. Surprised to find fridge & microwave in room, which some potential longer-stay bookers might appreciate.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Group
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only tiny problem was that the shower wasn't very strong, quite drippy. The bed and pillows were a little hard for my liking. But this is only a really small issue compared to all the good points.

    We really liked the thoughtful touches of tea/coffee facilities, milk, apple juice and tropical juice in the fridge. There was also cereal available in the room. Check-in times are very flexible 3pm-11pm which was really helpful for us! Very happy with our stay. Good value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival we were told that there was no booking under our name. Called Booking.com who confirmed our booking and said the vendor must have upsold the room privately. We were not offered an apology (only excuses) and eventually given an inferior room without an en suite.

    Good location, easy access from A1, room clean and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning as it was a hot day but fan available.

    We enjoyed our stay and we'll definitely book there again. Close proximity to the station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fridge in our room was really noisy !

    Staff so friendly and helpful, we were there for Prudential ride London and had a secure brick built shed to store our bikes overnight . Man was prepared to get up to unlock shed for us at 4am ! so we decided to keep them in our room because of early start , again it was no problem . Fridge in our room with milk and juice. packets of cereal and tea and coffee,biscuits. There is a area with a microwave and table leading out to garden. Clean and tidy .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything... This owner went extra miles. Room was spotless clean and has a microwave and fridge. The cereal breakfast and 2 juice drinks are a great bonus. Highly recommended this place for a nights stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing. it was all good.

    5 minute walk to Ilford station, very clean, friendly staff and excellent overall service. could not fault it at all. thank you for a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    this nothing to do with the guest house just be careful round by the station late at night few strange people about

    I have stayed here a few times no complaints place clean tidy few minutes walk from train station and good price value .Big garden which you can sit in will stay again in future trip .I even got a fan in this hot weather too :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have done with cereal that weren't chocolate based. It was a very child like cereal choice in our room considering it was booked for 2 adults. They also throw away an expensive item that had been left behind. Apparently this is the norm .. I find this a little odd that things are thrown away so quickly after the room has been vacated. Staff member became defensive and rude on the phone when I rang and asked them to post it back. I even offered to pay for the postage. I find this very odd and in my eyes bad practice. Surely it is good customer service to keep hold of things for at least 24 hours!!!

    . Very convenient to the local train station and shopping centre. Clean and tidy room with plenty of tea and coffee . Biscuits were a nice added touch as was the breakfast juice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisey being on the ground flroor could everyonocoming and going and people outside. The fridge in the room although very nice to have was very noisey during the nite.

    The place is easy to find and was nice and clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower could have been more powerful

    Comfy bed and nice to have breakfast available in room, cereal and milk provided in the fridge along with fruit juice which was replaced every day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly? Nothing

    Great location quite at night with amazing shops and restaurants at 2min walking distance, well connected by road and public transport.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surprising and amazing extremely comfortable lovely family atmosphere but suitable for singles and couples who wants to spend a night away from normal life, the owners are nice people the hygiene is a ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ there is a shared space that leads to what looks like a secret garden ☺️ with nice view, I would come back

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I never write reviews but the Aberdeen guest house was so good..... Free cereal (4 mini boxes), tea and coffee, biscuits, orange and apple juice and milk in the fridge. The internet was excellent and the location was a minutes walk from the high street and train station but was still on a quiet street. I would defiantly stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Fresh Milk in the fridge. It's clean, quiet and near the station. Only 20 minutes to Liverpool Street. No cost journey with a Freedom Pass

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not on suite

    The staff were very nice, literally welcomed with a smile, the place looks very nice and you know they take very good care of the place really clean

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like - second stay at this property. Ilford isn't great but it's one straight road to Stratford by bike 15/20 min or jump on the train.

    We could keep our bikes in the room. As we had an early start, we bought breakfast as we had a fridge, kettle and microwave. Shower was hot and room very clean. There is a communal kitchen too with a water cooler. It is a 2 min walk to Ilford station so convenient to access central London. Staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have had the basic such as a iron! how do they expect guests to travel with one, I had to check with other local guest houses and pay £5 to use it! when I told the guy who is the owner he said, we do not offer the iron for the value we provide if you don't like it you can stay at one of the expensive guest houses. Place smelt like damp, could use air freshners, or open a window.

    The lady was friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly owner. Clean and tidy. Quiet. Convenient. Parking. Good value for London.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely quiet street. Room clean. Fridge with milk & juice & tea /coffee & cereal all in room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place is surprisingly well mentained Profesional staff Comfortable bed and clean. I loved it definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy at night

    Great location good wifi

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing thanks for running such a good accomodation

    Very clean property

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely spotless, very nice room, friendly owner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    ensuit facilitys / fridge in rooms and breakfast items

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything, especially what Booking.com does not tell you that cereal, milk and juices are supplied

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge with milk and orange juice in room . Price and location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    just not much hot water from tap

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    comfortable bed, very friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out @ 10 am, is ridiculous

    Comfy, Clean..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all ok. No problems.

    Very good price for an excellent room and good service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect for a one night stay, and i stay here every year for the RideLondon100 event.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea coffee pots and biscuits in your fridge !! Cosy little room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Good guest house

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They made a mistake with the booking. We were booked for 2 rooms, 1 night. They had us down for 1 room, 2 nights!

    Nice owners!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room seems very narrow and celing very low gives uncomfortness

    Able to occupy the room quickly after my reservation in short notice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Lovely owner, absolutely amazing stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, tidy, and homely. Had a small fridge in the room and TV. Nice garden area to sit outside. All round good value.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a fridge in the room. They provide cereals, milk and juice. And lots of coffee, tea bags are there.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything really nice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were little bit hard

    Room was pretty clean n tidy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendly welcome and fantastic facilities

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price it was perfect

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean quite discreet family atmosphere and good value for money

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Very nice ppl and property

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic but clean and good location. Fine for 1 night

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basis, spotless, beds were to our liking, very firm. Very close to the tube station. Would recommend & stay again

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to not dislike

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold shower in the morning.

    Comfy bed. Although breakfast not included we had cereal and milk left for us. Fridge in the room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    General decor and lighting

    Parking

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower fitting not very good

    Friendly staff, room and en-suite shower room clean and tidy

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no iron

    Speed check in

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about. Staff was very accommodating, beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Handy to Ilford railway station and to places we were visiting.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable as ever. Please ignore the comment that there is no meal plan - juice, cereals, fresh milk and biscuits are all provided for the morning

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge stocked with milk and juices. Off road parking

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast facilities were cereal in the room.

    Comfy bed and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything that you need for rest after busy day at London. Easy access to train station, shops and restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    double bed rather than twin. but hey ho.

    Simple no fuss clean, warm accommodation for short stays. Coffee, tea in abundance, cereals, milk and juice in the fridge and a microwave. Everything you want for exploring London , O2 and more. Will definitely use again.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Solo traveller

    N/A

    I was surprised of the quality of the room for that low price I've paid. Also very clean with access to beautiful garden. In general really lovely.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There should be a staff around the reception area at all times especially late at night in case of emergency.At least, some one or a number to contact if need be

    Everything,to customer service was just perfect

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That we had to check out at 10 am. It's definetly way too early for check out.

    Off street parking available. Front door key given to us as we were returning late.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Due to my car breaking down I really needed a early check in , the owner kindly let me sit in the kitchen area to wait while he cleaned a room and allowed me to charge the car battery and let me check In 4 hours early! So kind of him , the room was sparkling clean he supplied soap and shampoo cereal juice milk sugar and tea n coffee all the lil things that count , it's 5 mins from nearest train station and lots of shops and takeaways , plenty of towels and extra bedding was supplied too , best place Iv stopped in a while good for anyone who is going for a weekend break or work weekend has everything you would expect of a room including private shower and toilet instead of shared also a room key and front door key for security and a smoking area in the back garden.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A bit far if u would like to experiance London night life ... The only way is to have a car, pay 45£ for a taxi or wait till 5:30 in the morning for the trains to start operating again :)

    Really clean, amazing hospitality :) good price and availability (it was booked last minute) ......good train, underground connections....

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I arrived late on the first night and was locked out of the hotel, forcing me to purchase another hotel room nearby. The owner of Aberdeen House was also difficult to contact the following morning. I had to pay for the first night as a penalty for not being on time for check in... though I felt I had made a good faith effort to get there by 11pm in bad traffic (I believe I arrived around 11:45 PM). As a traveller from the U.S., I did not have access to a working phone to call the hotel. Also, I could not find their email address in booking.com. In general, the communication was poor.

    The hotel was clean and well located next to the station.

There are also 39 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: