Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Access Apartments City 3 stars

Macclesfield Road, Islington, London, EC1V 8AE, United Kingdom

#852 of 1,490 Holiday rentals in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 125 apartment reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    6.8

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    The apartment was pretty big, bigger than expected and had...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no keys to the balcony so couldn't use it other than that all was good.

    The apartment was pretty big, bigger than expected and had everything we needed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    Dissapointed stay in an apartment having higher expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment had a very strong smell (spice). It was hot, 25 degrees and the heating automatically come on in the evenings with no way of turning off.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They took copy of my passport and bank card which I have never provided during my stay at other places . I had to leave the keys of the flat on the dining table, which I felt a bit insecure about, as the flat was left unlocked especially because it was a holiday and office was closed.

    quiet spacious and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.1
    Perfect housing for students/young groups
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    be aware: it is more or less a student home. This was perfect for us but can be a problem to some travellers.

    friendly and helpful staff, 24/7 availability, convenience store right in the building.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.7
    Good basic accommodation. Aimed at student/ traveler community. Dorm style set up. Functional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic, quite spartan. Dorm style tubular steel beds. Harsh lighting, curtains not fitting windows and quite bare

    Plenty of space, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having a double bed in one of the rooms rather than all beds being single

    Good facilities, the apartment had a dishwasher, a washer&dryer and was inexpensive. Also really good transport links

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    3.3
    horrible
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible turned up at first could not find booking, went to block were apartment was, it looked like a crack den. There was not even a bar of soap in the apartment, terrible smell, I have never been to prison but imagine that the bedroom looked liked a communal cell in a prison. 3 metal single beds with thin covers and the thinnest pillows I have ever seen. Very strange stains on the curtains. So bad I slept with my clothes on as I was not sure how clean the bedding was.

    leaving the appartment

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    3.8
    Very poorly maintained and cheaply furnished with cockroaches for company.
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 19 nights

    Our room was poorly maintained and fitted out with poor quality cheap furniture. The rooms are the most basic you would be able to get. The hot water took forever to come through both in the kitchen and bathroom areas. The Bathroom fittings were extremely poor and the sink drainage and plumbing was so bad I had to keep fixing it myself to use. Throughout the bathroom and kitchen areas there was a great number of small cockroaches. Response from maintenance was to keep all food stuff away and sealed and keep all sides clean!!!! These units are completely over priced and severely under-maintained. Horrible.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    2.5
    You get what you pay for
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift at the property wasn't working ! It was 6 floors up and we had to walk up and down those stairs countless times. Horrible. Room was ok' very no thrills

    The three beds. Good size.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    4.6
    Nice location but poor in every other way.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The name of the property is different so took me 45 minutes of walking around the block trying to find the place. Trying to then get the keys was an absolute nightmare. The apartment had a horrible smell. The beds are single beds - all I wanted was a double bed to sleep in. The bathroom lacked cleanliness. I had to programme the TV myself to make it work. It was even more difficult to check-out and return the keys - I wanted to leave luggage and collect later but as I couldn't get to the office to return the keys - no answer - had to walk around all day with my baggage. I will definitely not be staying here again - avoid at all cost.

    I liked the location and the WiFi was good apart from that nothing else.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    5.0
    Accommodation needs a lot of work, and replacement. Checking in was a huge hassle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The kitchen utensils were old and worn, they need replacement. The sofas were broken. There was not enough toilet paper to last supposedly four people for one week. There was also a dishwasher; but without soap or tablets. We were ought to buy these ourselves for the few days we were going to stay there. The numbers and letters on the oven were all worn, so we couldn't read the temperature. It was very difficult to find the exact location of the place to pick up our keys, after calling the given number we were told it was the wrong number. When we found out where to go, we couldn't get into the building because something had to be scanned to get in. Once in the building, the office turned out to be closed and we were told to call the host; with the exact number we called before. Checking in was a huge hassle.

    It was a very spacious accommodation, with two bathrooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    2.9
    Nothing really.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The images that were taken must be so outdated. The beds were the most uncomfortable that I have ever slept on and be prepared for the springs to dig you in the back all night. Couch is way outdated and the cushions have sunk so much you can barely sit on it. The kitchen had burn marks all over the bench,the utensils and crockery was dirty on arrival. The bathrooms have torn off bits of wall and tiles. The shower sprays all over the floor (very dangerous). The rooms themselves dont really have airflow. There is a lot of outside noise with not only construction but also the occupants of the buildings next to - this continued on until the very early hours of the morning. Would not stay here again. Overpriced for the quality received. Very disappointed.

    Nothing really.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    6.7
    Bitter, sweet. Very confusing on arrival, but room spacious, clean & comfortable with good Wi-Fi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could not get hold of any staff, I tried all the phone numbers & despite the 24-7 promise, not once did anyone answer! I got called back but this was a slow response. Couldn't find anyone on arrival.

    The bed was comfy, rooms very clean, Wi-Fi good, good bathroom facilities & plenty of space.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    5.4
    Large room but very dirty floor
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty floor! All of our feet and socks become black:( very inconvinient when we checked in! There is code to ge inside the building and we were trying to find out how to get in the reception desk outside the building, a men went down and took us upstairs and we did all procedures to check in, then we had to go back down, went to anothed buildinh where the room is! Nothing at all even in the bathroom From soap to towel so you have to prepare everthing if you want to rent a room here !!!!!

    The flat is quite large

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    6.7
    Value for money basic accomodation but well resourced kitchen.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting into the right door and the collection of the key was quite time consuming and challenging. Instructions would make this easier. Also I had to have my ID photocopied and will have to do this each time I stay as a customer on the database can my details not be kept and referred to? This takes time.

    The apartment was well resourced spacious and clean. The bedrooms would benefit from bedside lamps. The building works outside were quite noisy. The price was value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    7.9
    Spacious apartment.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom is starting to show wear-and-tear. Overlooks a noisy building site during the weekdays (but that was not a problem as I was out-and-about during the day)..

    Spacious apartment. Very good value for money. Bathroom and an ensuite.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    3.8
    accomodation- terrible
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it was disgustingly mouldy in the bathroom...the smell permeated everywhere so much so that on my second day I left and even though I had booked three nights I could not bear another night there and I left the apartment

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    Basic facility and not easy to find. Good value for families. Showing wear and tear.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The keys had to be collected at a different block and not well signposted.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.7
    Good basic accommodation in London at a fair price
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The kitchen cooking pots were dirty.

    This was a plain, basic and simple apartment that did the job for the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    It was ok only. Austere furnishings in generous living space. 3 hour power outage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The website did not mention the apartment is in student housing block.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    The size of this property is very large for London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in was difficult.

    The size of this property is very large for London.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible!!! Don‘t book this apartment it‘s horrible! I had to pay 2 times and they don‘t give me my refund!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.1
    Overall, great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gentlemen who gave us the keys was not very friendly

    It was spacious and clean and good value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.3
    Spacious, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roaches, dirty, hot

    Spacious, good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    5.0
    Would not stay agen,but staff was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not clean, funeture old .

    didn't like it

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    5.4
    Average
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cockroaches in the bathrooms and kitchen. Very dirty floors. No cleaning equipment or plug for kitchen sink.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    4.6
    Very basic facilities, no soap in the bathroom, hot water...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic facilities, no soap in the bathroom, hot water erratic, uncomfortable bed. The staff were friendly though.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Basic accommodation but clean tidy and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic accommodation but clean tidy and comfortable. Everything you could need for a short stay base.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.9
    Will have no problem recommending to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The name on the property was different from that advertised. It was Ability Towers not Access Apartment City

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    2.5
    There was a plague of cockroaches, do not recommend for anyone. No hotel reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cockroaches No Reception

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    5.8
    Poor service and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service and staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    6.7
    Easy to access food where a supermarket is near the apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of apartment..

    The bedding should have room to improvement and some of the cooking utensils need to be replaced .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    8.3
    City stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lighting in the apartment could have been brighter.

    Excellent value for money & spacious too...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    7.5
    Nice appartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction works

    Location and appartment itself

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    5.4
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Was very tired paint work and fixtures.

    Good location.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: