Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Acorn Hotel 3 stars

140 Elderslie Street, North West, Glasgow, G3 7AW, United Kingdom

#20 of 81 hotels in Glasgow

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1017 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    3.3
    Leaving!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived and in the middle of booking in the receptionist took a telephone call! The room was cold,and had to request heating to be turned on. The pillows were like jelly The room was dirty The room was overlooked with no voils in windows people could see right in.

    Leaving!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.2
    Just the right hotel in the right place for what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The porch light wasn't lit which made exit and entry a little precarious at night. There were steps. The cooked breakfast was sufficient and the gentleman serving it would accommodate any variation requested.

    The very helpful person on the desk was great. He was never too busy to help with information, chat or plasters which I needed. Very cheerful and approachable

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike!

    Everything. From the warm welcome from Chris on reception to checking out was first class. The bed and pillows were comfortable, the large shower cubicle was spotless. Linens perfect. I didn't book breakfast, but was invited to help myself if I wanted to eat before leaving.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    9.6
    Loved the place but needed a bit more quiet than it afforded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls are not sound proof and we could hear conversations on both side of us.

    The two gentlemen who were at the desk were fantastic. They are a great asset to the hotel. The place is lovely and comfortable and very, very nicely located. We could walk to many things. There is a lovely breakfast place right next door if you don't choose breakfast at the hotel. There was tea and cookies in the room, the tv worked well, and the shower was hot and very nice. The people in Glasgow are very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.2
    Great small hotel with old fashioned customer service !
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to get out of the REALLY COMFY BED !

    Great small hotel with old fashioned customer service ! Arrived late as drove from Manchester after work , our late arrival was no problem. Good room equipped with dressing table including GHD’s , really comfy bed , great shower and lovely clean white bed linen and towels. Location great for Glasgow west end and its restaurants and bars , however , Five March , the bar and bistro next door is well worth a visit ! Top marks also for freshly cooked plentiful breakfast. Would definitely re-visit Acorn Hotel , THANKS

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    8.8
    Value for money, great breakfast, excellent staff and good location for SEC (10 min walk)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift and on top floor but it's only two stories so not a huge issue

    Room clean, good shower, fresh towels daily and great receptionist Chris who was helpful, efficient and doubled up as an excellent breakfast chef !!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    BRILLIANT.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about the Hotel was great. The room was spotless,lining was fresh and crisp,bathroom was spotless. 5*. Breakfast was great ,good choice,even had marmite,honey and croissant,Danish pastry.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Ideal place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs are difficult for older people - although I realise it is an old building

    The person checking in and making breakfast was very polite and attentive, as well as a good cook

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.5
    Excellent value in a great location in the west end
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor soundproofing between rooms. Could here every cough of our neighbour

    Great location, very helpful staff. Hotel room clean if a little small. Bed very comfy and a good sized shower

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.1
    Lovely place but noisy at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at night. Thumping music at around midnight. Banging doors outside our room. Hard to sleep. Shower doors didn't meet so there were two large vertical gaps, thus getting water into the rest of the room unavoidable.

    Great room with good facilities very clean. Lovely staff on arrival.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.3
    Well done and close to museums & galleries
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift, we are 59/60 with physical conditions that make going up steps a bit hard and with suitcases it is not easy. There was only one woman at check in and she could not assist us up the stairs.

    The staff were very welcoming and no instant breakfast but cooking our breakfast as ordered was a real plus! The room was better than others we had stayed in while in Scotland, we would stay there again. Clean, well kept and though small, it was a nice room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    Really enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of a lounge space.

    Friendly and efficient Staff..clean rooms..missed having a lounge to relax in especially as there were three of us and bedrooms were small. Great hotel though !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay in Glasgow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dining area could be a little larger.

    Comfortable beds, large shower, very clean, personlised very good breakfast, helpful staff,quiet location, not to far to walk to the centre, very handy parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.0
    Great service, comfortable bed, no allergy symptoms despite...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A toilet brush would be nice. Changing the sheets once during a six nights stay would be great

    Great service, comfortable bed, no allergy symptoms despite being house dust mite allergic and carpented floor

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Excellent Stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is in a good location, as I have not visited Glasgow before the staff were very helpful with attractions. The room was very good, could not fault it. I will definitely stay here again, when visiting Glasgow.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    Perfect Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a room on the main floor and therefore it was near the restaurant which had a band. If you go to bed early then best to request a room away from the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Really would recommend this hotel for great location to places of interest in city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficulty getting cases up stairs to front door & no lift. Luckily staff helped me with case to room.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast really good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    No complaints and would stay again with pleasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, comfortable room and friendly, helpful staff. Quiet location in easy reach of wide variety of restaurants and major attractions. Staff particularly friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Great stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice staff there, who helped keep my baggage and reserved the room for a late check-in. The room is very clean and has a great view toward the park and the church. Hope I can stay there for a couple more days.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel and convenient location leads to a good Glasgow visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The immediate neighborhood did not seem as "up-and-coming" as advertised.

    This hotel was not overly crowded so it felt quite private. It was easy to walk around the Kelvingrove area; it was a little more of a hike to the City Center, but also easy to walk to and around. Staff was helpful and friendly and the rooms were nicely appointed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable budget accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single rooms a little cramped, poor shower presseure, dim lighting in room, no lift will pose problems for some travellers; wifi not the best.

    Excellent staff. Very good breakfast, shops & restaurants close by, clean and modern decor, secure accommodation.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Sauchiehall str. is under construction & it was difficult to get arround. Most museums were closed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room wasn't very clean, there was dried blood on the comforter and the carpet had never been cleaned. It would benefit greatly from a quick renovation and a deep clean. The black pudding was of the awful, cheap, frozen, and undercooked variety.

    Staff was lovely and very helpful. Overall, really friendly and affable guys. They do a mean toastie in the mornings.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Lovely and well located hotel. I'd recommend it, but skip breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    While rooms were cleaned daily, they weren't thoroughly cleaned. The breakfast was abundant but very expensive at 9 pounds per person. Only worth it if you are planning on having a full English every day. There was no fresh fruit.

    The location was great; walking distance to the centre, but also to the park and many attractions in the West of the city. Staff were very friendly and super helpful, and the facilities were good as well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    This hotel is a hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing

    On arriving at The Acorn,we were immediately greeted by a very helpful young man at the reception desk.. Nothing was too much trouble for him,answering all our questions, insuring our parking payments and carrying our bags up the stairs. The hotel was in a great location, well priced and very comfortable. The bonus was the wonderful restaurant next door to which hotel guests received 10% discount.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel in Glasgow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Bed was a bit uncomfortable, whenever my husband moved while sleeping, I moved too. - Not the hotels fault, but last day of our stay the next door neighbour had their music one, so it was loud.

    -The best 2 things: Nice people working there and delicious breakfast. - location was also good. Near Glasgow city center. - little place but cosy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing and pleasurable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean and comfortable hotel with informative and friendly staff, situated on edge of city centre overlooking quiet, public gardens. In easy reach of a variety of excellent restaurants and major tourist attractions such as Kelvingrove Art Galleries.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    Staff were excellent, couldn't be more helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 3 -The room at the front suffered noise from the adjacent bar till after midnight and then there was noise from people congregating, noisy and smoking outside the room with the smell of smoke coming in. Room 12 - a new matress is needed as it sags in the middle.

    Staff were excellent, couldn't be more helpful. Breakfast was really good and poached eggs perfectly cooked.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    I would definitely stay here if I was in the area again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant below was quite noisy, not really the fault of the hotel.

    The breakfast was very good, the cooked breakfast was freshly cooked, there was a good choice of juices and teas. The room was light and airy, with a clean modern bathroom. Was in a very good location, walking distance to the centre of Glasgow, also to the Kelvingrove Park. We were attending a concert at the Kelvingrove bandstand so it was in the perfect location for us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Stayed for one night at the Acorn with my son.
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything to dislike but a lift would be nice if you weren't very good on your legs.

    Stayed for one night at the Acorn with my son. Made to feel welcome and very good early check in so we could spend the afternoon in the city the day before a wedding the next day. Lovely breakfast freshly cooked to order which was a bonus Would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Good company and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not have been looked after better anywhere else,Nothing was to much trouble.The location was easy to find and not very far from the Westend restaurants and bars

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    Great for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls quite thin so I heard my neighbours talking, creaky floorboards and no lift as it's an old building. Just small findings that didn't detract from a pleasant stay.

    15 min walk to city centre, Charing Cross Railway Station a 5 min walk. Handy for Kelvingrove.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Perfect location for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for our concert in Krkvingrove Park. Really helpful man on reception Vivo g advice on places to go etc. Liked the subsidised parking too

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Very nice hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located near the city centre (just 10-15 min by feet) so you can park just outside and forget your car during your stay (parking is "pay and display", about 4 GBP/day if you buy ticket directly in the hotel). Our room was big enough and looked clean. The bed was comfortable and quiet during the night. During my stay I fell ill and felt very weak and I'd like to thank Mr. Alan of the staff for his irreplaceable kindness and help in getting in touch with a local doctor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Location was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast smells were reaching upper floors. Not important for someone who doesn't spend the day in the room

    Location was fine. Close to the city center but generally in a quiet neighborhood. Very clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just warning that we had to lump our siitcases up 4 flights of stairs. OK for is but some might struggle. Saying that...we were offered help with this.

    Great location. Amenities were superb and very clean. Quiet room. Reception very helpful and informative. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    Good place to stay for one night, if visiting the West End.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too small.

    Staff were super friendly and efficient, the young man who acted as receptionist, cook and breakfast server was excellent. The room was very small, although comfortable. As a budget hotel this was great, although not as good as some of the better Premier Inns (the one at Pacific Keys in Glasgow is superb). That said the location and surrounding areas was great. Overall a good stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Great accomodation for an affiliate price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only stayed here one night but found the location perfect for exploring the west end of Glasgow and the room great. The bed was comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. I'd definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Great little hotel, would definitely visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. But the details weren’t completely accurate on the booking.com website in terms of the breakfast. It offers a cooked breakfast for the price quoted not continental as described. So don’t miss out on a good scottish breakast....

    Excellent, comfy room. Lovely king size bed and really nice shower in large en suite shower room. Great breakfast in the morning. Chris was really friendly and helpful. Excellent value. Thank you.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent staff, excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar below a bit noisy, but balanced by food and wine selection available there.

    Desk staff went extra mile for us and others. Great recommendations for eating incorporating food intolerance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Staff were so helpful and friendly, nothing was a bother for...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were so helpful and friendly, nothing was a bother for them. Location is lovely and great for SSE Hydro as only a short stroll (15 mins or so)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.9
    Small pleasant hotel for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was just above the basement bar which was noisy with music until midnight. Breakfast was basic and scrambled eggs watery. I had a boiled egg the next day and it was fine.

    Room was clean and comfortable and bathroom very up to date. Plenty of tea/coffee supplies. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Really enjoyed ourselves and breakfast was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No banister on entrance stairs. Not really great for a person with mobility problems

    The guy who booked us in, September bed breakfast etc was very helpful, friendly, courteous and welcoming

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Very nice B&B in Glasgow. Will return if we visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    This is a well managed hotel. The traditional building has very high ceiling and we stayed in a corner unit with plenty of views and air. The staff is very helpful and we had a very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Excellent , beautiful decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking outside side hotel , be better if had spaces just for hotel , had pay for parking but wasn’t bad as hot discount voucher from Hotel

    We loved the building staff breakfast, bed was so comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Super place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel management must link with the Council to close the bar/disco in the basement, or make them improve their soundproofing.

    Great location, available parking, great room, very good breakfast and a super service: after a very noisy first night they moved me to a top floor room, even without me asking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing.

    Very quick to check-in and check-out, only 1 minute. Warm smile. Comfortable and clean. Wood floor. Wifi is fast, connect well. Beside is a park, it's near to everywhere for me, just walk 10 minutes. It's good for me if not providing slippers, teethbrush and shoop. It's helpful to the environment.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    Hotel was clean and in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was lumpy, room very small for two people however had everything needed for one night

    Greeting from staff was good hotel was clean and fresh excellent location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, clean and cheery!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Guests may be required to walk up the grand, old staircase to second and third floors.

    Staff very accommodating and cheerful. Flight changes forced us to stay an extra day and although this required an extra booking of one night rather than an extension, desk staff set us up so that we didn't have to move.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On street pay parking only. Had to walk so far to city centre, art gallery & university, we should have used bus.

    Everything was just fine & comfortable, good free coffee available, able to open window. Great staff, room & facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Chris was very helpful and did his best to make our stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room we checked in was very small and smelled of smoke. Window was right next to a rooftop, therefore not the safest thing to keep it open. Asked Chris to change rooms and he facilitated us the very next day. The second room was more comfortable. I find it a bit expensive for what it offers. Have in mind there's no lift, we stayed at 1st floor so it was no problem.

    Chris was very helpful and did his best to make our stay comfortable. Good location to walk around Glasgow.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Very comfortable and easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better lighting in the bathroom possibly would be my only suggestion.

    The bed was comfortable, the staff helpful and cheerful and the location excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was great. West End and City Centre were within easy reach. Close to Kelvingrove Park and the hotel was in a nice neighbourhood. The room was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel in excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location in the prettiest part of Glasgow. Very quick and smooth check-in. We were even able to check-in earlier in the day. We could leave our luggage at the reception on the checkout day. Very friendly staff. Good and clean room with bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay in Glasgow near the center but quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A ventilation in the bathroom was missing (or not working).

    Very good situated, perfect for a walk around to see the interesting places in Glasgow. Also very quiet neighbourhood, at night no noise and no cars. Great restaurants nearby. Close to the city centre. Breakfast was very rich and nice. The bed was very comfortable. Small room and even smaller bathroom but its good and enough for a stay in Glasgow, anyway you are there to see the places. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice enough but needs a bit of work to bring bedrooms and linen up to scratch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too much light entered the bedroom, and quilt was very hot.

    Very friendly staff, great breakfast, and within fifteen minutes walk of both city centre and of Kelvingrove Museum

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Very comfortable stay! Exceeded our expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Chris was very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, clean and the beds very comfortable. Parking was easily available and very affordable. Location was great- near Kelvingrove Museum and near the city area!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in a great location in Glasgow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No negatives to report.

    The location was perfect for our stay in Glasgow. We were given a very nice and comfortable room. Chris was extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. He was just as cheerful each morning and his kitchen skills ensured we had a fabulous breakfast. We will certainly stay here again when in Glasgow. Thanks Chris - you're a real asset to the Acorn Hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfectly fine, would stay there again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    South onto the M8 was terrible at rush our 5-6pm - spent an hour crawling along to get from south Glasgow to the hotel (not the hotel's fault!). The soundproofing was maybe not stunning - on a par with similar converted accommodation, but not an issue unless you are really unlucky with your neighbours - manager seems to live on-site so expect if guests really out of order they may say something.

    Staff / Manager was very personable and helpful and the accommodation was perfectly comfortable and clean - would stay there again if in Glasgow. Parking was on the street outside but plenty spaces available until about 7-8pm and even then sufficient within a 10min walk I'd guess and with discounted ticket from hotel was only £4.00 for the day

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    Ideally situated for the restaurants and places we wanted to visit.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just fine - nothing we didn't like

    Friendly welcome from helpful Manager, smart and clean room, great bed, good shower. Nearby parking . No traffic noise despite being on the front of the building. Incredibly good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    A very nice, clean, reasonably priced hotel in Glasgow. Great value and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I stayed at this hotel for 7 nights. The staff was very friendly. The hotel was very clean. The breakfast was very good and filling. I never had a problem finding a parking space near the hotel. I enjoyed going for a run in the morning through Kelvingrove Park. Within walking distance there is a Starbucks, a small Italian restaurant good for a quick pizza or pasta dish (Lamora Pizza), a delicious and reasonably priced Pakistani restaurant called Akbar's and a very good breakfast place called Singl-end. My overall experience was very positive and I have no reservations recommending this hotel to anyone looking for a clean, quiet, reasonably priced stay in Glasgow.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Very nice stay, the staff makes you feel very welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv should have been bigger

    Great and extremely kind and helpful staff. Nice, cozy room. Very clean . Never felt that they were trying to milk the guest unlike other hotels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, trouble-free and the receptionist was great.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking for cars is adequate but only just. It's difficult to find a vacant road-side slot during the working day. More guidance before arriving for the first time would help.

    Very friendly, helpful staff. Good, well-equipped rooms. Good transport links but within a short walking distance of the City Centre. Excellent value and we will certainly stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Friendly hotel, comfortable rooms, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls between bedrooms were a little thin and I could overhear much of the conversation from my neighbours.

    The staff were very helpful and both recommended and booked a local restaurant for our first night. Breakfast was very good.Our single rooms were a generous size.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel,closed to the Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - No lift - breakfast closed 9:30 ( a bit early )

    Chris at the reception was a great helper with my heavy bag, thank you dear. Good location ( closed to the Park ). City center within short walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel with great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen could use some sort of a ventilation/air conditioning system as the smell of breakfast sausages came to the room in the morning... other than that no complaints whatsoever.

    Great location, lovely and friendly staff, really made me feel welcome. The room was great, clean and nice, quite small though but served its purpose perfectly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff, excellent location,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Everything was really good.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, excellent location, perfectly clean and really nice breakfast. One of the best hotels I have stayed in Glasgow.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    A great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind at all.

    The staff were very accommodating and extremely helpful . Got greeted at the door and got help with my luggage. I will definitely look at availability when I am next in Glasgow. The rooms where really nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic Service and Accommodation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    "included" parking was street parking with a discount from the reception. £2 per day instead of whatever the meter charges. I was under the assumption the hotel had its own private parking.

    Very professional staff, clean, tidy, good quality sheets, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    Perfect stay in Glasgow
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was extraordinarily friendly, helped with taxi booking as well as providing coffee and pastry while I was waiting for my room to get ready for check-in. I could check in an hour early because my room was cleaned as a priority. Absolutely great staff and very nice rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Truly exceptional
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing at all I didn't like.

    The room was warm, comfortable, spotlessly clean, with all that was required -toiletries, tea, coffee, biscuits, even hot chocolate. But the staff are this hotel's main asset. They are courteous, efficient, polite, and go to no end of trouble to ensure guests' comfort and satisfaction.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.2
    The staff here are great, made our stay very enjoyable,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff here are great, made our stay very enjoyable, giving help with booking taxis, directions to venues we were attending on foot, places to eat in town etc. Its nice to see such customer care and pride in their work., going the extra mile with some good banter too :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything! The hotel is amazing!! We have stayed in many hotels in various locations across the world and this has been one of the best! The best thing about this stay was the service, unfortunately we didn’t get the member of staffs name, but the service he provided us with this weekend was outstanding it would be extremely hard to find his friendly, approachable and genuine personality in any 5* hotel! The service he provided us with was 10*++!! When we where checking in we where extremely early however this was no problem, our welcome was amazing and we got to keep our bags in the hotel and was also offered a room that was ready if we wanted to check in hours before hand. The member of staff gave us a map and recommended places and areas we could visit. When we arrived back the member off staff walked us to our room carrying our luggage to make sure everything was in good condition. We settled in to the room which had everything you could need and more, with biscuits which where topped up every day, and GHD straighteners are provided in case you forget them which I’ve done a lot. Our breakfast was amazing and there was no limit to what you could eat. When leaving the hotel we where given a discount code for next time we where visiting. Noise level? There was none and the location was fantastic. I could not recommend this hotel enough and could not praise the staff member who was exceptional going over and beyond with service. Can’t thank you enough for an amazing stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    My wife and I had a very pleasant stay in the mid range Accorn Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, hotel delivered what it promised.

    Room was well decorated and appointed. It had plenty of storage space and a good toilet/shower room. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Excellent property, would recommend 100%
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't fault it!

    It was our second stay in Acorn. Its an excellent location between the city, West end and SEE Arena. Really lovely helpful staff and will definitely stay again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Room was clean and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thin walls, maybe? could hear the shower vent/fan from neighbour's room, but was not a problem.

    Room was clean and comfortable. Friendly staff and great location

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: