Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Healey House Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Towngate Road, Healey Lane, Nr Leeds, Batley, WF17 7HR, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Batley

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 352 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely folks, lovely room, will be back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were just lovely and the place was spotlessly clean with a real small hotel charm. My room had oak beam and bay window like an old coach house, which was charming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    2.5
    Booked hotel and had to cancel due to job being called off,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booked hotel and had to cancel due to job being called off, was spoken to like a piece of dirt on the floor and told to complain to booking.com . Disgusting people

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    3.3
    nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fluted up windows, no light bulb in side light, poor water pressure, dirty bathroom, not any decent coffee, bloody awful breakfast, list staff attitude. Lack of choice in bathroom cleaning materials, lack of information, appalling room electrics, no real choice in bar, I could go on

    nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    2.9
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Firstly the room was dirty the tv didn’t work, the shower also didn’t work. But the absolute worse was the breakfast it was advertised as £7.50 so we booked in, went into the dinning room which just had dirty tables and no staff. They had juice and tea and coffee on the side along with warm yogurts and gone off fruit. After a while a member of staff took out order (she said “what do u want” I said what are the choices, she replied “well it’s breakfast so full English”). When the breakfast came it was clearly re heated with rubbery bacon and sausage, mushrooms were burnt and just had a morsel of beans. When we went to check out the rude receptionist said we owed £19 for breakfast which even she laughed about. Overall I would say avoid at all cost.

    Acceptable location for what we needed. That was it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    5.0
    As already stated the only good thing was the lady on reception. It really was grubby and I
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The side tables by the bed were full of cigarette burns, the bathroom was very very basic and not very clean. The trouser press did not work. The curtains did not draw properly. The room was the most basic I have ever stayed in. It was not very nice at all.

    The lady on reception was really lovely that was the only good thing about the place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant enough.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was not the best. Dry vegetarian sausage as no meat ones left. Greasy breakfast

    Pleasant surroundings. Comfortable enough room. Good value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    8.8
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately the room probably had a smoker in it prior to our arrival as it rieked of it, forgot to mention this to the receptionist. Also the shower head was broken, but there was the fixed shower head that worked so got by.

    The location and how quite it was! Surrounded by trees and a view into the garden area. Cosy lounge area, no beer on draught, but the receptionist was a creative person and got me some bottled beer and a bottle of lemonade to make my own shandy :) the night receptionist was a bit slow and maybe that's why our breakfast demand in the morning came as a surprise to the day shift, still, good effort to try to make it from scratch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    4.2
    Friendly staff doing best job they could in bad conditions
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Blind didn't work. Room dusty. No breakfast menu. Only half a loo roll. Got out of hotel fast. Terrible venue. First time ever over many years let down by booking.com. Will email AA as their sign was up.

    Friendly staff doing best job they could in bad conditions

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    7.5
    Well located for our Business Trip to the Batley technology business park.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The squeaky floors, the thin walls, the dated decor, could be a little cleaner, needs new pillows and mattresses. The location was ideal for our business trip and the gentleman on reception very nice and polite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    7.5
    The location was great;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were not enough pillows

    The location was great; close to the motorway and facilities (cinema and places to eat). The grounds of the property were also lovely, our room had a view of the garden and trees.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    5.8
    It suited our needs for one night, would of been much better with breakfast, a cleaner warm room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was drab, good do with a good clean, the chef didn't turn up to cook breakfast, so had to go to local town for our breakfast. The water was very hot. The staff on duty were very helpful and friendly.

    The bed was very comfy . Quite room as requested, we got a upgrade as requested with lovely garden view. I can't imaging what the lower grade rooms were like. The room was very cold.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    6.3
    1 Night Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Property was dated. handle on wardrobe missing. scratches on all surfaces. Divan bed bottom stained and on show. Unable to have breakfast as no staff turned up.

    Location was walking distance to the event I was attending. Reception staff were polite and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This was booked for my son and his girlfriends. I informed them that they were both 16 it was there year anniversary however the staff and management were very rude towards them and declined them to stay.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    3.3
    Poor service, rude staff & uncleanliness. Stay well clear!!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Arrived late after a long day at work. Waited 10 mins for someone to arrive at reception. When he arrived he was on the phone. When the call ended he answered another call. When I eventually had his attention he repeatedly asked my name. His english was very poor. Took a long time & another phone call to find my booking. Gave very poor instructions on how to find the room. The only thing he was efficient with was taking payment. Once in the room we were greeted with a bin full of nappies, some not on bags. Upon putting my things down on the desk I realised it was wet. No soap in the bathroom.The bed was uncomfortable, I was not convinced it was clean & left promptly the next morning feeling itchy. Needless to say I did not try the breakfast & would most certainly never return to this hotel. Poor service, rude staff & uncleanliness. Stay well clear!!!

    The property had availability.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    4.2
    Don’t bother
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I found a bug in the bed in the morning, reported this to the receptionist and asked for a refund. I was told I would receive a call from the manager about my refund and never did

    Staff were pleasant and check in was easy. Feee car park

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    2.5
    not worth the money and rude staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the staff would ask where i am going, when i’ll be back as i was going to my sisters house when i arrived, asked if my sister lives local, where i stay. the staff were very rude on the phone aswell. the wardrobe in my room and hot water tap were broken n could hardly move in room and felt very cramped. i dont think they change the tea and coffee in the room because my coffee tasted weird and felt sick after.

    nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    5.8
    I would not recommend it.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel charged us extra money at the arrival. Also, we were given completely different room than the one on the pictures. Unfortunately, the room wasn't clean. We got one small towel each. ( Even in the cheapest hotels, you get 2 towels plus the floor towel). It is not good value for money either. We will definitely not coming back.

    The receptionist was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    5.0
    Grim
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was expecting food and a bar to be available. I was also expecting the room to be cleaned and the beverages to be replaced. The complete shambles when the fire alarm went off.

    The location was convenient for the event I was attending.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very dated and tired, with broken plug sockets/ lamps etc and not particularly clean. It was small and not comfortable. The menu looked basic, with no obvious vegetarian options for evening meal or breakfast.

    We thought the staff were quite friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    3.8
    Awful, could hardly sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very small, the bed, although small for a double took up most of it. It was claustrophobic. The furniture was awful. The shower was poor - very little eager came or of it and the sealant needed replacing in parts. Hot and cold tap labels round wrong way on sink. The room cost £30 - which we thought was going to be a bargain but we hardly slept, mainly as bed was so small but also the banging of the fire door in the corridor outside our room that went on and on through the night. There was also a high pitched whining sound coming from outside. There was also a great deal of light coming through the blinds - there were no curtains. Although a double room only one small and one larger total were given. Plus point was that the lady on reception honored our booking price of £30 although she thought that it was due to a disgruntled sacked ex member of staff seeking retribution. We were tired and it was getting late in the day and had thought that the £30 price was a special offer/late in the day deal to attract customers to get empty rooms rented out- bad mistake :( - we made the fatal mistake of not reading the reviews - hopefully our experience has taught us never to repeat that lesson. The picture of the rooms on booking.com may refer to other rooms in the hotel but bore no relation whatsoever to ours - perhaps we were put in this awful room as a payback for having got a room for £30

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    8.3
    Short but comfortable stay.
    • Couple
    • Nightingale Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bath didnt plug and once plugged, no way to remove it. a little dated and requires modernization. Staff didnt smile but overall were ok

    Place was fine, good convenient location. four-poster bed was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    5.0
    no sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the noise and coming and going all nite from young men who appeared to be known by the staff, this was raised personally with the manager via an email immediately after our stay but with no response, very disappointing

    it was convenient for the purpose of our visit

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    6.7
    Nice staff, not nice rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    VERY thin walls, could hear full on conversations from rooms either side of us, room also didn’t smell very nice

    Easy location, easy parking, friendly staff, exactly what was advertised

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    3.3
    On arrival there was a pile of dirty linen proping open the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On arrival there was a pile of dirty linen proping open the door we moved this to the corridor where it remained for the rest of the stay. Bathroom had an unusual odour. There was no hot water to have a shower and the room had cobwebs and dust

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    5.8
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was noisy at night we were woken several times with people making a lot of noise. The first night, the room was very hot but I turned the radiator down the next night so it was better, the bed sank in the middle so we rolled together, 2 pillows had been put into one case which was very hard, but we removed one the second night so slept better. The wardrobe door was off its hinges.

    The cost was very reasonable, the room was clean and it had a bath which is good. A kettle was good but we used the coffee on the first morning and it wasn't refreshed so there was none left for the next- a little detail which would have been nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    6.7
    My parents room was better than ours but probably wouldn't go back.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very shabby. The blind wouldn't stay down. No lightbulb in one wall light. No teaspoons. Milk out of date. Dirty sheet on bed. No descent mirror. TV airial hanging out of wall....

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast very good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    7.1
    The staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Getting the shower to right temp was an art form Decor looking worn. Needs some investment. Continental breakfast was packet cereal, juice, instant coffee, yoghurt and jam and toast. Not a bit of cheese or meat on sight !

    The staff were lovely. Very pleasent and helpful. Room was clean and a descent size. Descent sized car park with no messing around with permits Very cold weather and place was well heated

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    8.3
    The stay was okay
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedroom was absolutely freezing cold and we had to ask for a heater on 2nd night because on 1st night we slept with t-shirt and other bottoms to be able to get warm.

    We liked how close we were to our son. Simple place for everyday people not all big and posh so nobody would feel out for place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    10
    Smashing sleep! Smashing little place!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have included an All Bran or low sugar cereal and maybe a low fat yoghurt option.

    I enjoyed the peaceful location of the hotel-not near rowdy pubs or busy motorways. The man on reception was very jovial and welcoming and carried my suitcase up to my room which was a nice touch. The bed was comfy and the breakfast was nice also

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    3.8
    Too Noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In one room the heating was not on and there were no towels on arrival. The other room that was booked had tea making facilities but no cups. The noise levels after 12pm were unacceptable !!!

    The sheets were clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    2.5
    awful, terrible, did not sleep. DO NOT BOOK *******
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    advert on booking was evening meals, arrived to find a message on reception desk saying no evening meals available. car park confusing. no curtains in bedroom, only a blind so light shone in. noisy, someone came in at 2am making noise and banging doors. milk sachet mouldy for tea/coffee. no hangers in bedroom cupboard. no sky on tv in room. I have asked for a refund from the manager on checkout, said he would ring me this morning, no call, I rang, he said, would ring me this afternoon, I rang this evening to be told, refund still not done and will be tomorrow. terrible service.

    absolutely nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    5.8
    Was not informed the restaurant was closed until check in,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was not informed the restaurant was closed until check in, Radiator in bathroom was not working, asked for an extra heater but nothing came, other guests woke us up several times at 3/4/6am Bathroom was in need of some TLC and a good clean, hairs found in the bedding.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    5.4
    Cheap and cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On arrival in our room it had not been cleaned hair on bed and towels, the toilet had not been cleaned! ( poo in toilet) So was moved to another room witch under the bed had not been cleans was full of dust and bottle caps, The shower head fell off while using it! They was no bar open, no restaurant open for food! On leaving the hotel the guy on the desk said we owed £45 extra for the room upgrade even though it was then that updated us due to un clean room

    Staff are really friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bungalow was dirty and in need of renovation and updating. Dangerous with young children and couldn't open the metal gate covering the back door/fire exit!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    4.6
    Not very good And in my a pinion i think that this hotel is also has rooms for people with no home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was not clean poor level of cleanliness and maintenance breakfast : The full English was different for the six people at our same table And when we booked in we where asked if we wanted a full English So i can not work out how they told two people in the party they had RAN out of BEACON Also did see a kid come in from out side and get a drink of milk from the chiller BUT the main thing is he used a cup from a table that was lade out for customers and then left NOT VERY HYGIENIC

    The trip home

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    8.3
    Good comfortable overnight stop with lounge/bar.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I missed breakfast as had to leave early. Stayed here before and breakfast was excellent so disappointed not to enjoy this time.

    The hotel is very welcoming.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2018

    2.5
    HOTEL THEFT
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    After coming back from going out during the night me and my 3 friends who were sleeping in 2 separate rooms noticed several items missing from the hotel one of which was a £250 watch. The hotel manager shows no interest in getting the situation resolved. Very angry and disappointed. Along with a rude receptionist, who also showed no interest. Kids running about banging on your doors at 6am in the morning. Not happy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    2.5
    Nothing.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had to clean the bathroom as the bath was filthy. There was a smell that came from the bathroom the whole time of our stay and made us feel sick!

    Nothing. I will never stay there again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2017

    3.3
    Very poor - Damp in bungalow. Will not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in the bungalow at the back of the hotel. It smelt of damp when we arrived and had not been decorated for a long time. It did not seem to have been stayed in for some time. It was hugely overpriced at £150 for one night.

    It was open when we arrived

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    tiny room, radiator on high (couldn't switch it off or turn it down - knob broken)... bathroom smallest I have ever seen... being redecorated so no breakfast available - no advance warning of this. We stay here regularly as it is cheap and convenient, so you get what you pay for I suppose, but probably will be our last time there.

    Healey House is convenient and cheap.... about the only really good things you can say... oh yes and reasonably clean...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2017

    3.8
    I was told I couldn't order breakfast as the chef...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was told I couldn't order breakfast as the chef wasn't there. No cereal or anything was offered. No milk in the room for the tea and coffee . I had to request some. Adjusting temperature of the shower to between freezing cold and scolding hot took ages.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    4.2
    Will not rush back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small double bed and beding only just covered it but it was clean, radiator worked but only just on the coldest night so far its not the best,dust on lights,not much furniture but what there is is very worn (should be bined) all poorly finished didn't look like any pictures.

    Not a lot

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel for the price we paid,will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room ready for some redecoration & fixtures a little dated.

    Friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Lily white towels & bedding. Very reasonably priced room & food options.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    2.5
    Awfull Awful a dump xx
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed at the cottages it smelled was dirty oven micro dirty booked for seven people could only sleep four as pull out bed was not any good ,chair at table broke , with one room been in main hotel that roomm was very cold and no hot water for shower x ask staff who said why are we staying there it stinks the all hotel very smelly x only booked as just across road from my daughter where two of our children had to sleep we went for my birthday what a let down never again costed £179 not worth it pluming very nosey all night , no good telling staff the where not interesting badsevice when checked in staff chewing gum and not knowing anything xxx

    Nothing it was awful never stay there again x

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2017

    7.9
    It was good, the young receptionist was very friendly, the location was good. The room was tidy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no dinner was available - however, staff gave a number of a takeaway The charging point was too far way from the bed - should have a bedside plug point

    location and friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    4.2
    Wouldn't recommend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was dirty the toilet wanted a good clean. The breakfast was cold, cheap and nasty, it was the worst I have had.

    We had the two bedroom bungalow, it was shabby but adequate and it was in a nice setting.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    5.0
    Wouldn’t stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was the incorrect room, not heating, hot water upon arrival, WiFi didn’t work, no confirmation of my booking when I got there, pictures on website don’t look anything like the rooms, wallpaper hanging of the walls, tiles in the bathroom were all cracked and not fitted properly. Staff didn’t have a clue about anything.

    The bed was comfy & towels/ bedding was very clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    8.8
    I enjoyed my stay, Emily the receptionist was brilliant, very friendly and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really you get what you pay for

    The price for my room was excellent, alright the room was clean the bedding was clean and so was the bathroom, the décor was a little bit dated but at the price I paid I can't complain, if you want high class modern room you would have to pay treble the price ,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    5.8
    Ok if you’re on a budget and not staying for long
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The decor was very tired and in need of a clean. The duvet was thin and there was no blanket. Luckily, the room was warm (I actually had to turn the radiator down). There was no bedside cabinet or lamp nearby. The toilet seat and shower head would not stay up. The cooked breakfast was lukewarm, the sausages were undercooked and the bacon was not good quality.

    Receptionist was friendly enough. Room was quiet and warm.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    4.2
    Avoid - this is badly run.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basin was blocked with biscuit crumbs floating about- this does not suddenly happen! Shower rail was coming away from the wall. No curtains, just a scruffy blind. No chair. Wardrobe is close to collapse. Bedside light didn't work. Bed was collapsing on one side. Nasty brown carpet looked dirty. No soap or shower stuff. All night, intermittently there was either a macerator running or a very noisy fan - a bit annoying.

    Radiator worked

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    6.3
    Logely staff not hackef up by favilities or brrsot as st choice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cool shower. Only veg breakfast and the reason for it

    Chef would not cook bacon due to his religion apparently. I declined breakfast in the end. Wasnt hungry. Evening staff ellie and haz were lovely. Couldnt do enough. Shower too cold in morning

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2017

    5.4
    You only pay for what you get as £26 for a night was good but wouldn’t pay anymore for a room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slow cold shower tired furniture get rid of the blinds and put curtains back up also cold room

    Hotel could do with refurbishment tired rooms But must admit the bed was clean and comfy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    7.1
    The duty manager Pav was very fiendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At the back of the hotel a machine causes noise in regular intervals even during the night, which is quite annoying. I missed a toilet brush in the bathroom. Low water pressure in the shower.

    The duty manager Pav was very fiendly. She adviced me about a hiking place (Ikley moor) nearby and prepared an excellent British breakfast. The garden of the hotel is very beautiful and quite big. It offers space for getting some rest, relaxing and is also perfectly suitable for celebrations (marriages, parties, ...). You can see the garden from the breakfast room which is sun lit in the morning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    2.5
    Terrible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room 4 & 9 were terrible. Staff acknowledged this and said we should have been moved to a 3rd. Great to hear when you are checking out Shower not attached to wall Towel rail not attached to the wall Dirty bathroom. Mound on tiles. Loo had not been flushed Very dated, tatty rooms Very noisy hotel Forgot towels in the room and toiletries were used Night porter sleeps on the sofa in reception... useless Manager was going to call me this morning to discuss. Still not heard from them. Don’t seem to fussed about the issues. Staff are aware that rooms are crap yet still happy to let you pay full rate! Waste of money! Not a lot of hotels locally so travel!

    What a terrible place. Nothing good about our stay. I can’t put a lower score than 2.5

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2017

    3.3
    Awful. The worst place we have ever had the misfortune to stay at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We are a family of six and booked the lodge as it was advertised to accommodate 6 people and appeared to tick all the boxes. In reality it only slept 4 as the supposed sofa bed was two small base cushions and a solid wooden base. The bedding provided was dirty, the main bedroom door had come off its hinges and could have quite easily taken a small child’s finger off if pulled closed. The carpets had dirt from previous guests, the bedroom walls showed signs of dampness, both the kitchen and bathroom looked like a disgruntled guest had take a hammer to both the wall tiles, fridge freezer and supposed fire exit door. After complaining about the lack of beds my husband and one of our children were offered a room in the main hotel which was a little cleaner but still pretty awful.

    Absolutely nothing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    5.4
    Was adequate but nothing memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed wasnt comfy.. only a pillowcase on some very tatty pillows... no restaurant open as advertised one reason we picked to stay was onsight eatery.

    Beautiful old house in large grounds... staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    3.3
    Not what's advertised by bookings.com and absolutely appauling
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I am writing to voice my disappointment having stayed at the Healey House Hotel on Saturday eve with my family . When I visited your website , the images do not in any way portray what we had to endure . The rooms we were given were not the rooms advertised and had I known this I would not have stayed as they are far below standard. Paper pealing off walls , holes in walls and patchwork covering up holes . Dirty shelves doors ( basic essentials of a hotel ) pillows had to be swapped as blood stains on one ! The top pillow cases had been changed but the bottom ones had not ! They were clearly soiled from a previous guest ! The floors were so creaky we could hear every footstep from other guests at unwelcome hours of the morning (2:30am) The bathrooms have not been updated for many many years and were very uninviting with mould on the ceilings and cobwebs in the corner of the ceiling . The 2 female staff on duty at 8pm were arguing over who should serve in the bar and who should work the front desk ( very unprofessional ) and the night duty man was sleeping in the sofa in reception ! I am requesting a refund for the rooms as 2 members of staff admitted that the room allocations had been mixed up and we should not have been put into those rooms . Your website portrays a 3 star rating by the AA yet your hotel displays the 2 stars which I agree is more fitting . I booked the rooms based on what I saw on your website and I was not given this ! I feel that this is a false advertisement and as I was not given what was expected I am now asking for a refund . We were also woken at 12:30sm by other guests returning home and noisily talking outside our windows causing my very young grandchild to waken and this took several hours to get them back to sleep with much crying which was over heard by other guests also . I had a 3 hour drive on Sunday which was made dangerous by tiredness through lack of sleep .

    Location only

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    5.0
    Waste of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Arrived at the hotel after booking an executive room....Not sure what kind of executives visit Batley but the allocated room was dull, unwelcoming and really tired ...more tired than I was after a night here. Asked for room change but in the confusion it transpired we had been green a standard room... standards are pretty low in Batley I assume. After much of a do I paid aan extra £20 for a upgrade to the Bridal suite....if you use this room for your wedding night you better to start saving up for your divorce !. In hindsight I should have just gone elsewhere immediately . I spent the first 20 minutes dusting the room. There was no glasses in the bathroom or room. However on plus side would make an excellent bail hostel.

    Leaving it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2017

    2.5
    The fact the house was on the nice grounds with privacy was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The house was dirty needs painted new bedding new kitchen floor , the property was not cleaned for us infact I would say as I am in the cleaninf industry this property hasn't been cleaned at all !!!

    The fact the house was on the nice grounds with privacy was a selling point for us having 3 small children but when we arrived we were very disappointed,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    2.9
    Filthy bathroom would not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom disgusting, hairs in the bath, leftover tube of shower gel on the side of the bath, leftover shower gel on the wall x Only left 1 hand/bath towel in a double room so had to ask for more. No glasses in the bathroom so had to ask for 2 On checking out was asked about our stay although the staff member looked shocked no offer of an apology was given Would not stay here again

    Bed was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    10
    Value for money venue that provides an optional but highly delectable breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Lighting arrangement in the bathroom was not designed by a CIBSE Lighting Engineer and cast shadows on the shaving mirror making it difficult to see what I was shaving. Lucky I have a good memory for faces.

    There are very few places to stay in Batley and this is my favourite value for money. Staff are friendly and accommodating. The decor is ecologically and economically justified.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    5.4
    Noisy room but comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was above kitchen and very noisy fan was constantly on until 10.30pm and started again at 6.30am. The wifi did not work and one of the bedside lamps was broken.

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    7.5
    Not so cheap, but quite cheerful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We weren't told the doors needed locking, unlike the key card doors, so we didn't lock our door and a random guy walked straight into our room. Luckily we were dressed, and luckily we hadn't left valuables on view when we went out too. Bed wasn't too comfy, and didn't fancy paying £7.50 for breaky so went to a pub down the road.

    The guy on reception was friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and had a good tv, big cupboards, and a bath.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    7.1
    Clean and comfortable, very good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor is a bit dated, could do with a refurb

    Breakfast was really really good! Bedding and towels were fresh and clean, staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    5.0
    Healey House needs work
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ok the bad bits..... the decor was plain white looked liked a stop over for workmen. Awkward to make a cuppa as tv mounted in front and above facilities. Breakfast was good but not everything cooked fresh as described. Now the seriously bad bit .... the shower eehhhhkkkk !!!!! Unclean, black mould along base and in grout and a weird looking substance in base.

    It was comfortable and the one member of staff was friendly and was very affiable. The grounds it was set in were nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2017

    5.4
    You get what you pay for... just!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is very run down, TV in room did not work properly, wardrobe would not open, bathroom was clean but very old.

    Staff were really friendly, bed was comfy but a little small for a double.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would suggest boosting the WiFi signal a little as it was a bit hit and miss upstairs

    I have stayed here a few times, for the price it is one of the best places I've stayed, very friendly staff clean comfortable rooms, powerful shower and excellent food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    4.6
    Never coming back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived there was no hot water so shower was warm. In the morning the water was hot but when you put the cold water on there was no hot water, the shower head had no power. The toilet seat did not fit properly. The windows were black and one pain was broken. The furniture had seen better days and the whole room could do with a make over. Considering there was a notice of a £50 fine for smoking in the room it smelt of stale smoke.

    The bed was comfortable. The person on reception when we arrived was very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    8.8
    Good value but check small detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Decor although clean is dated. Manager rather abrasive. Check the charge for dog if bringing one...tried to charge me £15 ...wouldn't have stated if known that.

    Clean, quiet, wifi good, good food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    5.0
    Tired and in need of a good clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very tired and in need of good clean. We booked a cottage for 6 which only had 4 beds so kids had to sleep on the sofa!

    Location was good for what we needed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    5.4
    disappointed with the booking arrangements,and that the room that we booked was not the one we had
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived there was no booking for us even though we had written confirmation ,eventually an alternative room was offered

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2017

    5.8
    Reasonable value but poor accomodation all round. Desperately needs a make-over
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dinner was good but missed breakfast by 10 mins and they didn't make any real effort to get me something, eventually offered to get me a bacon role. I declined.

    Bed and pillows very poor, room needs a serious make-over

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2017

    10
    brilliant stay at healy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There wasnt a big range of beers and wine in the hotel bar but i suppose it depends how many are staying there there should always be a well stocked bar

    healy house was located down a small lane and tucked out of the way it was peaceful and full of wild life the hotel was lovely clean and tidy restaurant was excellent great choice for breakfast and tea at night . The room i was in was excellent lots of space clean and the bed was luxury . The grounds were superb and as ive said brilliant wildlife they couldnt do enough for you . And a special gold star should go to the hotel manager Raymond and the woman who cooked the food I dont think healy house would run wonderfully if it wasnt for them . I enjoyed my stay there and would deffinetly stay there again when i come back to batley .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Nightingale Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked chopped fresh fruit for breakfast.

    Lovely old house, nice clean comfortable room. Arrived a little early but room was ready. 24 hours reception staff. Friendly breakfast staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2017

    2.5
    Avoid at all costs
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was dirty, carpets filthy, mattress soiled, curtain rail loose. Shower was next to useless. Room smelled of the kitchen beneath. Room was noisy due to extractor.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: