Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Tyne and Wear holiday rental reviews
  4. Gateshead holiday rental reviews
  5. Reviews of Alexander Apartments Gateshead

Reviews of Alexander Apartments Gateshead 5 stars

72 Cameronian Square, Gateshead, NE8 2DB, United Kingdom

#15 of 20 Holiday rentals in Gateshead

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 31 apartment reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    6.8

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    2.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 19

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2019

    10
    Relaxing, beautiful modern apartment for BnB price! 5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was up to my standards

    Location was great, apartment nice & quiet, extended stay from 2 nights to 5 nights while work was being carried out in my home. Was cosy & welcoming, host was great always on hand when contacted him. Apartment was spotless for me arriving. Nice clean light modern decoration. Would 100% recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2019

    3.8
    We booked this apartment months ago on booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this apartment months ago on booking.com for a 4 night stay with our 2 year old and 4 year old, whilst heading down the road to this apartment (near 7 hour journey) we still didn’t know how we were to get in, we had to contact them for details about keys, parking etc. When we arrived there was somebody parked for the whole entire stay in our bay which we had to find another parking space, this was a few blocks down, with suitcases kids etc it’s not easy! When we opened the door of apartment 72, the smell of smoke hit us! And from then it just got worse. The cigarette burns on the carpets was awful in the pic that’s just a small area, no curtains in the living room window, I felt we had no privacy at all. The place was really dirty took a picture of underneath the bed! Doesnt look like there’s been a cleaner for months. The walls had chunks out of them, scrapes and marks over them just awful. I tried phoning the person that we contacted earlier about the keys umpteenth times but did not answer. I messaged them saying we were not happy and still no reply. Really this place needs a good bit of work done to it and a thorough deep clean, SHOULD NOT be advertised on booking.com We couldn’t stay in this mess for 4 nights so shortened our stay. 4 very unhappy guests.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    10
    A love the apartment the balcony and the lovely quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here a few times and flat was immaculate as always staff were very helpful was a lovely break will definitely stay again soon

    A love the apartment the balcony and the lovely quiet peaceful area it’s at also close to Newcastle and Gateshead perfect location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    3.3
    Extremely disappointing! I don't recommend using this company.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in was AWFUL. Info for check in was sent by text, and turns out the apartment allocated to us was locked when we arrived. Company then informs us it was given to someone else when it shouldn't have been. Then had to wait around outside in the rain, chasing calls back and forth for an hour to find out what the solution would be. An apartment was eventually found, didn't have free parking(!!!), but the whole experience was ATROCIOUS. A follow up call would have been appreciated, but this didn't happen. New apartment didn't have enough towels, dirty towels were found hanging up on back of one of the bedroom doors from previous tenants - disgusting!! No soap, no hand towel, no dish towel, no toilet roll. Extremely disappointed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.1
    Nothing wrong with the property or location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The communication with me prior to arrival was abysmal in fact none existent. No reply to calls and texts on the day of arrival. I had to go back into the booking to get the flat owners number. He did his best but was out the country. No response to questions I asked 3 days prior to arrival. The door code entry details we were given at check in didnt work when we returned in the early hours. Somehow someone must have done something remotely as the doors opened after leaving messages on the various numbers we had. We were stood out for nearly an hour at 2pm in the morning. No communication regarding check out ie) where do we leave the keys etc. Good apartment great value, but due to the above I will be avoiding like the plague for future visits. Not the standard i expect via Booking .com

    Nothing wrong with the property or location. All really good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.0
    I liked how central it was for things and the size of our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We never met the host. She never really replied. We never got the place cleaned. Their wasn’t a key for the balcony bedroom door. Just poor.

    I liked how central it was for things and the size of our bedroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Arrived to a clean and welcoming apartment. Spacious,comfortable. Easy check in /check out process.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to report !suited our needs

    You could tell the apartment had recently been renovated and decorated. Lovely kitchen/sitting room area ! Nicely decorated and very clean!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    5.8
    Good location for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place needs a proper clean between guests. I had to give the place a vacuum as there was glitter all over the floor, probably from a previous guest. Cup left in sink. Sock on floor. Toilets needed a scrub. The tv screen was damaged. No pillowcases so had to pop to Tesco to get some. One of the camp beds was not in a good condition. The worst thing for me though was the smell of tobacco in the living room. Not nice.

    Good location for the price. Big enough for my family of six for one night. Good communication from owner so we got in without any problem. Free parking but you need to find the space for this apartment first!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    2.5
    Terrible experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience was unpleasant

    Got to the apartment after giving my arrival time. There was no one there to attend to check in. When we had got into the room there had been no cleaner since the last visitor so the room was filthy. staff on the phone was friendly enough but done nothing to resolve the issue.the rating system has automatically gave this a 2.5 but it was not even worthy of 1!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    4.2
    Please read before booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked the Alexander Apartment in Gateshead for a 1 night stay (17th - 18th February) for 6 people. I contacted the number provided a few days before and was given Chris’s (Property Manager) number, Chris replied the day before our trip and said there had been some problems with the Gateshead apartment therefore was unavailable for our stay although offered an alternative accommodation: Apartment 714, The Bar, St James Gate. We accepted this alternative due to the fact it was less than 24 hours before our planned trip, with the reassurance the apartment accommodated 6 people and Chris’s agreement to reduce the price of the apartment to cover the cost of parking. I called Chris to collect the keys whereby he gave me a code for the main door and said the door was open with the key inside the apartment - I assume this is regular practice. Chris then said a colleague would be round to collect cash payment for the apartment, this was very confusing as it was assumed the money would come out of the card used to book the apartment through booking.com. Upon arrival to the apartment, it appeared significantly smaller than the Gateshead Apartment particularly the lounge areas, the cleanliness of the apartment was below standard; the main bathroom had dirty skirting boards, the carpets had black edges, there were multiple chips and marks on the walls, a broken chair, 1 roll of toilet roll and both bedrooms had broken blinds along with previous guests belongings found under the beds. The apartment had 2 bedrooms; 1 bedroom with a double bed and the 2nd with a double and a single bed - only enough room for 5 people to sleep despite the link suggesting there was a sofa bed. I called Chris to discuss my disappointment with the apartment and the price. Chris suggested there was an extra bed in the cupboard with bedding. Inside the cupboard we found a broken like camp bed with quilts but no covers, a broken lamp and a pot of paint.

    The only positive to the apartment is the location to the night life

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    2.9
    Poor quality run down accommodation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality run down accommodation. We were “upgraded” to a property in forth banks Newcastle instead of the advertised property in Gateshead due to apparent electrical problems. However the photos of the advertised apartment in Gateshead are in fact photos of the apartment in Newcastle and must be old photos as the apartment is poorly maintained, lacked cooking and eating utensils adequate for 4 people and smelt of stale smoke and not at all like the pictures. Add into this we were expected to pay for car parking at 50p per half hour where as the Gateshead apartment had advertised free parking. Also disturbed by the metro trains from 5am to midnight.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2018

    10
    Love thick apartment as it’s central to every thing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love thick apartment as it’s central to every thing

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    10
    Great access for Gateshead a Newcastle quays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault it

    Great access for Gateshead a Newcastle quays

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Love this apartment the balcony the whole place lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love this apartment the balcony the whole place lovely

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.5
    We had a nice time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was given the wrong pin to get in and two of the extra beds were broken

    It was in a good location and was a nice size

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    3.8
    Property was not suitable for 6 people as stated and stank...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was not suitable for 6 people as stated and stank of stale smoke!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Just what we need after staying in a poor hotel previously
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean tidy.the lady who delt with us was very helpful at a difficult time , .while a family member was seriously ill in hospital

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very simple check in procedure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    2.9
    Stay away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken beds, tv remote broken

    Would of been lovely if clean and both beds wernt broken

    Stayed in February 2018

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 19

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!