Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa 5 stars

East Street, Turners Hill, RH10 4QD, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Turners Hill

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 385 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Quintessentially British- relaxing and luxurious country house and spa
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly overpriced for some of the food. The menu could have been a little more adventurous in their premium restaurant (AGs).

    The house, grounds and rooms are impeccably maintained. Really beautiful location and gorgeous gardens. Staff were accommodating and friendly, attending to late arrivals, unique requests, etc. Allowed for a late checkout by one hour. They also offered us half price room upgrades which were definitely worth it!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Refined ambiance and beautiful manor with amazing grounds and staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found the beds really on the soft side but cannot fault anything else. The spa tends to get busy at weekends which is normal. Used mostly the pilates studio which was perfect for me.

    Refined ambiance and beautiful manor with amazing grounds and staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely romantic place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Super King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall fantastic. They accommodated us beautifully and took into account our requests. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. The only thing that wasn’t immaculate was the Spa facilities - could have been cleaner and maned better.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Would well recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like paying with cash for individual things, sometimes things where automatically charged to the room for example breakfast

    The room was amazing spacious and light, the bathroom was fabulous The spa facilities were amazing well worth the money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is beautiful, the indoor swimming pool is awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms have no aí conditioner. I understand that this is not a costume in the UK, but I believe a hotel at this level should be equipped with AC, since it was really hot during summer. A fan was provided in the room.

    The hotel is beautiful, the indoor swimming pool is awesome. Hotel is conveniently located close to Gatwick airport. Staff is very courteous, especially Endre who made sure to show me all around the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful location, first class spa and treatments
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a special treat it’s worth it but on the pricey side. Room was relatively small for the price in my experience :-(

    Beautiful location, first class spa and treatments

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Great Spa. Excellent food in AG’s. Delicious afternoon tea!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Super King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always had to wait in queue at the casual restaurant and although staff there always very pleasant something not quite right with organisation so service very patchy.

    Very pleasant staff. Stayed 2 nights and ate at Hotel. Food v good quality. Casual restaurant a bit expensive. AG restaurant excellent food and service. Afternoon tea good value and excellent!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Meal in AG restaurant has absolutely outstanding. Scallops & "Cote De Boeuf" most definately in top 10 meals of all time. Fantastic surroundings and drinks on the lawn early evening. Exceptionally helpful, friendly and informative staff throughout. Highly highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    Worst night stay ever because of loud wedding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Super King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Despite requesting a quiet room, our room, "Elm" was directly above a wedding that lasted until 1am. Music and guests were very loud, not only guests talking loud outside but shouting on the corridor outside our room, that were not insulated from noise. Had an extremely bad night sleep. Night porter unfortunately couldn't help. Received no compensation or apologies by the hotel. They increase their revenue, but we have our worst night stay.

    Hotel is beautiful with great facilities. It's surrounded by countryside., which includes lakes and forests. Great food in the restaurants, specially the AG. Staff were mostly friendly and Spa was great with the outdoor Jacuzzi and Sauna in the garden. Rooms and bathroom were well sized, but appeared to have no insulation from noise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    Lots of potential but not quite delivering. Fine if your standards aren't too high....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food cold, low standards and very overpriced. £18.50 for a bog standard burger and chips. Chicken club sandwich was dry, pre-cooked chicken and limp bacon on sliced white bread. £22.50 for eggs benedict for breakfast - rip off considering standards weren't very high. Staff were very attentive at times, and incredibly slow and not particularly helpful at others. To be honest I wouldn't go back.

    Great location, lovely outdoor jacuzzi pool and lovely setting to eat out on the terrace lawn by the bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel not far from Gatwick airport. The rooms are big and beautifully decorated and all the staff are very polite, welcoming and helpful. It was a shame we couldn't stay longer!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Super King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the Reflections restaurant was not good value for money. It was a bit bland and the average main course was £20.

    Afternoon tea was great. The staff were very welcoming and attentive. Our room was clean and comfortable and the spa was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Total relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The attention to detail by the staff. So attentive & professional. The spa, food, drinks, setting and room (we were very kindly given an upgrade to a Junior suite) were all simply outstanding. We can’t fault anything and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Thank you

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.3
    Nice stay - would go back but not in a hurry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Garden Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden rooms, while more expensive, actually look directly onto one of the access roads up to the main hotel so cars drive past while you sit on your balcony. Makes it less private and peaceful! Neighbours smoked on their balcony and the smoke blew into our room/when we sat out we had to come inside because of the smoke. Indoor pool floor was sodden and no one was coming in to check and the outdoor seating area around the outdoor hot tub was almost too small for the number of people. Breakfast in our room on both days arrived with mistakes/food missing - so much so that they kindly took the price off from one of ours. The entire time while rooms were being cleaned, almost half of the day, trays of old food lines corridors without being taken away. It was a nice enough stay, we needed the break and it did what we needed. While we wouldn't rule out going back, we wouldn't rush back in a hurry.

    Pretty grounds, bathroom in the garden rooms was gorgeous and the actual spa treatment was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is truly beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the fact that our room was ready at 3pm and we have to leave the hotel at 11am. We paid a lot of money for one night, so at least we should have been allowed to use to the pool and restaurants until 3pm. But we have been told by reception that we need to leave the hotel premises at 11am sharp.

    The hotel is truly beautiful! The jacuzzi outside is absolutely amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Main Property needs modernizing so that the whole property matches. main house rooms are not in keeping with the rest of the hotel. the main house rooms look like they are being held together on a budget and not very well either.

    The Room we were allocated was so dated that it felt the room used to be an old storage room that had been created as an afterthought. One of our meals we ordered a steak to be medium well done only to have them arrive so rare that they could have walked off our plates of their own accord. we pointed this out to the manager who without question offer to replace them. when they came back my steak had shrunk by 2 thirds. when I questioned this they advised that that does happen when your steak is medium well done. I know this not to be the case and they still charged me full price for a meal that was 2 thirds smaller than the original that they got wrong. Also, the noise experienced while trying to sleep from 12 midnight until past 5 am was never dealt with as we could not get hold of the night porter by phone. Also, the spa pools have seen better days and need a thorough clean of the tiles. even though we booked through a htel booking site for a discount, we expected far better for the premium price that we paid.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Staying was the antidote we needed to London life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t eat in the dining room because when we looked in, the room seemed to lack atmosphere.

    The spa and our room and the people on reception and in the lobby were cheerful, polite and helpful. We had a very happy stay at your hotel a few years ago and whilst the new additions are not totally in keeping with the old part they have made the hotel very special indeed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was expensive at the end. But we felt great. Thank you to all the staff. If someone search he will find always something. We do not want to search. :-)

    We enjoyed very much. If someone search he will find always something. We do not want to search. :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Perfect day perfect night in lovely surrounding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They using kingmill bread and when paying £20 for breakfast I expected more and £40 for a £9 bottle of wine is over priced in my opinion

    Everything was perfect and the hotel is easy to get to food was very tasty facilities very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Perfect, relaxing, romantic!
    • Couple
    • Luxury Garden Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All our expectations and requirements where met, the place was amazing. Had a slight issue with our meal we booked in one of the hotels restaurants but was refunded and our needs were met/rectified in an instanice! Can't really fault the place. Great getaway!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing and fun weekend stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much really - could have a maximiser in the bathroom and you absolutely have to reserve your spa treatments and restaurant in advance!

    Very nice facilities and amazingly spacious room. Fantastic bathroom and overall a nice decor in the entire hotel. Great for a weekend of relaxation. They even prepare the bed and close the blinds before it’s night time! Also well equipped gym!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    Great place. Fab dinner but breakfast time felt like an afterthought.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was disappointing - they had run out of bread and it was cold.

    Beautiful hotel. The fine dining restaurant was fantastic and the rooms were beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Fully satisfied :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Super King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The short gym opening time. .No indoor connection between garden suites and main house

    Friendly staff, cozy and stylish hotel with all extras that i expected in that category. High ceiling, spacious rooms. Delicious club sandwich :-)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.1
    Disappointed but would come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there for my husbands bday; unable to get a reservation in one restaurant at all and the other we couldn’t get a table until 21.45 which was far too late. On check in the room card didn’t work, on returning to reception couldn’t find anyone to assist, had to go into restaurant and ask retsauarant manager There was dirty tissues behind the bath (Chestbut room) The room phone did not work, reported it as soon as checked into room but never fixed - had to call reception through mobile phone! Breakfast - service very slow and seemed to be a lot of confusion between staff.... toast didn’t arrive until breakfast was finished and then 3 lots arrived as example

    Facilities in the hotel were amazing. Spa staff excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Absolute bliss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was lovely. We were given a free upgrade which was a nice start to our holiday! The spa was amazing, lovely pool, the outdoor garden was so pretty and there is an outdoor hot tub which was amazing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    5.0
    Did not meet expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Garden Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa facilities looked a bit "tired" and could do with an upgrade. The outdoor sauna did not warm up properly. The Huntingdon room where we stayed did not warm up properly and had to ask for separate little radiator at the reception desk. I would not go there again for a spa-break though.

    Dinner in the restaurant. Friendliness of staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.3
    Lovely spa facility with a warm and welcoming team.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Phone in our room want working. Made it really hard to request and book things.

    Customer service in restaurants was great as well as front desk. Young lady lent us a phone charger as we forgot ours which saved the day considering we had to be contactable with children.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel with truly excellent staff, fabulous restaurant and top-notch gym. Not so utopian spa.
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a suite in the main building but were 'upgraded' to a modern suite in another building. In this instance the extra room suited us as I had several suitcases to repack, but, normally, I would have been disappointed to be 'moved out'. I booked a sports massage but received a very superficial but pleasant treatment.

    The suite room had a large comfortable bed and good walk-in shower, nice bath. There were lovely extra touches in the room, such as milk, water and a few fresh biscuits. Good mirror. Two soaps: It sounds silly but it makes such a difference not to have to move the soap from the sink to the shower and back. Dinner at AG was fabulous. We had a lovely time. Oh, and the GYM, great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    5.8
    Nice location and grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt the room charge was more than it should be for the type of room. The room was dated and a little tired. The bathroom was tired and patches of mould. Breakfast was really poor, very small serving and cold, not great as it was supposed to be a cooked breakfast!! All in all not value for money and very disappointed!!!!

    Nice location and grounds

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.1
    Very nice stay for our wedding night but very very expensive!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price!!! Way over priced!!! £419 for one night in a suite! It was nice but not £419 nice! We could of had a weekend away for that price! Plus the food and massage, we spent nearly £700!! Never again. Glad it was our wedding night so a very special occasion but i wouldnt spend that again in one night unless i won the lottery!!

    The breakfast was delicious in reflections restaurant and the staff friendly. The spa was very relaxing and massage was bliss!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful place to stay. I will definately return
    • Group
    • Comfy King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were very helpful and friendly The room was very comfortable and had everything we needed. The food was delicious and the spa was lovely especially the outdoor jacuzzi

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.1
    Nice spa facilities and grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on website dispayed double bath with rainfall shower we did not have this in a junior suite. We had a normal bath and shower😐we asked for a upgrade before hand didn't get one but communication beforehand would have been good. Also we asked for late check out beforehand again they had no idea at check-in so i had to cancel all treatments booked at 12 and 130pm as we check out 11am.

    Nice spa facilities and grounds. Nice champagne bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfy King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrid wallpaper in room. Smoking hut very small and cold and no table. Apples wrapped in cling film, not v environmentally friendly!

    Lovely swimming pool. Old part of building very beautiful. Great breakfast selection. Gorgeous soups.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    5.8
    For people who are are neither used to better nor aware of the value of money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spa facilities were poorer than those in my gym. Everything was overpriced for what was average to low quality. I do not understand why this was so highly rated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Relaxing NYE stay.
    • Couple
    • Comfy King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely comfortable room and very spacious for a standard room. Big bathroom with gorgeous roll top bath. Pins colada’s from the champagne bar (not on menu but made to order ) were one of the best I’ve tasted! Really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.2
    Had a really good time the facilities and food was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t happy with the time it took the drinks to come to us when we were in the outside jacuzzi , we had to rush to finish them to make our dinner reservation

    Had a really good time the facilities and food was perfect

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.3
    - the charm of the bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - service was not good, definitely not a 5 star hotel's service (they forgot our main dish at the restaurant, we ordered a coffee at the bar, it took 30 mns to be served, they tried to make us pay the room a second time (although everything was already paid through Booking.com) - restaurants and bars are overpriced for what it is

    - the charm of the bedroom - the spa - the quietness and countryside around

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    Extremely pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were incredibly comfortable. Staff were very accommodating, especially female on reception desk. Clearly in control of keeping all customers happy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    3.8
    Avoid. Was good but has declined massively
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avoid. Hugely over priced. Food was cold. Bistro restaurant is like a school canteen except they charge £35 for a steak which is cold anyway. Also the room was freezing cold. Night porter was useless. We checked out at midnight

    Bar was ok but £16 for a gin and tonic

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice stay in the south of England even though it was windy and rainy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Garden Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little overpriced, considering you had to pay extra for everything including breakfast.

    Bed was wonderful and food everywhere in the hotel was superb.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    Have paid more for worse but have paid a lot less for better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was very crowded by the afternoon. There were no loungers free by the pool. Lunch is too expensive for what it is. Adding a 12.5% service charge to absolutely everything seemed a bit much when the room rate is so high and the mark up on drinks / food is already significant. The place would benefit from a bit more explaining. For example, it is entirely unclear where you can actually go in the hotel in your robe, as we were told you can just walk around, and when looking for lunch we were told to go to the champagne bar, only to be turned away in our robes! Which made me feel a bit silly. A sort of ‘spa etiquette’ guide would be very helpful, maybe as a small card in the room? Or a picture in the changing rooms. Lastly, there were a lot of people who seemed to think they had booked one thing but actually either hadn’t or had booked something else. My advice would be to triple check you have booked what you wanted, the right restraunt / treatments etc, as the hotel is unlikely to be able to accommodate late changes due to its size. That said, it at least one of the 4 cases I was aware of from chatting to guests, they were able to. If a full weekend including a couple of treatments came in at circa 7-800 I think you’d be happier, but the cost is more 1-1100.

    The setting and property are excellent. The pool in particular is lovely. AG’s is good, although the highlight was the amuse bouche! The mussels in reflections were excellent although the spatchcooked chicken was ok. Slight case of style over substance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing, perfect for our stay during wedding
    • Couple
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although against weights and measures act the 1608 bar apparently only serves doubles.

    Showers are wonderful, room clean and tidy. Great views and friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.1
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Garden Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not great, had room service order was wrong asked for chicken salad got fish asked them to change order which they did but just placed chicken on top of the fish!! Bread was dry and my plate smelled of wet dog where it hadn't been dried properly.

    Very comfy beds,great suite although I do feel it's over priced.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    3.8
    Incompetent staff and inadequate standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfy King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having paid over £200 for the night I would expect nothing less than the 5* service you promise however this was not the case from start, to end and even up until now. I arrived, having booked this through booking.com under my name - Jessica Burrows - to find the reservation had been put onto the system as ‘Mr Burrows’. My girlfriend and I initially founf this funny, however in 2017 England you would not expect these presumptions to still be happening. We were then meant to receive a slip under our door inviting us for breakfast however this was posted under the Brides door, again as ‘Mr and Mrs Burrows’. Having spent no time in the room due to enjoying the wedding on site, when we finally went up to bed the room was like a sauna it was so hot. Ill turn the air con on in my 5* room I thought. but no, no aircon in the room that by the way is absolutely not of 5* standard. It was not remotely like any of your pictures online and was most certainly not worth the money paid. I then thought, ok I will open the sliding windows to let in fresh air. Again, I was to be mistaken.. the windows in my ‘5* room’ would not stay up so I used my note pad and diary to prop them open in attempt not to boil to death. So I wake up the next day to have a morning cup of coffee. Oh wait, no we won’t as the cafetiere still full of coffee from the previous guests in the wardrobe and nothing replenished even if we wanted to clean it ourselves. Having packed up as we couldn’t enjoy a morning coffee we thought we would enjoy an hour in the spa as this is part of the 5* experience. Except we wont, as apparently it is very busy today so we can’t have access. We then returned to our home in the north over 300 miles away, and returned to work. As I went to take my diary out of my handbag it suddenly dawned on me that I had used this to prop open the window in my sauna room and I had left it. Not to worry, the 5* hotel would sort this out. I think not.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    Very relaxing and staff were exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Garden Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rug was not laid right and was not able to move due to heavy furniture, you could see all the under matting. Room was expensive for what it was but we did enjoy our stay. You need two nights to get enough time for treatments as well as using the spar.

    Location, staff, bar, gardens

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    The garden suites are beautiful.
    • Couple
    • Luxury Garden Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food in the Brasserie wasn't worth the cost. It wasn't anything special but the price was!

    The garden suites are beautiful. Amazing design and lighting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful, relaxing spa hotel in lovely surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely comfortable room. Excellent staff who are always very friendly and helpful. I particularly like there Champagne bar with its big comfy chairs and fireplace.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Outstanding, feeling like a VIP
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Garden Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, the property, the room, the staff. Everything absolutely amazing. Peace, quiet and fantastic service. Luxurious facilities, luxurious food, luxurious feeling

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.1
    Decent one night stay, Spa is fantastic but Hotel is expensive if you are on budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was expensive for one night and did not even include breakfast. Also the outside sauna, the vegetation was overgrown so much that it blocked the outdoor shower, looked messy which a simple pruning job would resolve.

    Our room was good, spacious and quiet overlooking the lawn at the side of the hotel. The Refections restaurant was OK for dinner but the food was nothing spectacular, Spa was excellent. Hotel grounds and staff were nice. We went here mainly to experience the Spa facilities and treat ourselves to a couple of treatments. Would we come back here, yes but only if there was a sepcial offer on.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.0
    The spa is worth a visit, but the hotel does not offer atmospehere and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Garden Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sadly there were so many rules (you can't eat outside/you can't eat from different menus in different parts of the hotel/no mini bar), that we didn't find the over all experience very relaxing. Also the decor felt out of keeping with the country feel and looked slightly dated and in need of some tlc. Lacked atmosphere.

    The spa was great: good staff, great amenities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked our stay for my friend and I to relax and be pampered. Prior to our stay i could not get through to Utopia spa to ask about the massages, and was unable to speak to anyone at the utopia spa. The online chat is not good for me as i kept getti g timed out. I tried to book online but the price was coming up wrong hence i had to call, I left 2 messages and no call back was received. The whole point of our stay was to completely unwind and enjoy the treatments. I had to leave details of our treatments with the receptionists on wednesday ( day before our stay) and then i got a call back only to be told thursday was fully booked but she would see what she could do. That was disapointing as we had paid £149 for room only and were not even sure if we would get our treatments. No timings were given just an email was received to confirm they would be done. On arrival we get to know our treatments were not even on thursday but friday morning,10am 11am and 11:45am That was very infuriating as we had check out at 11am. The duty manager kindly gave us complementary check out at 1pm which was still no good as my treatment finished at 12:30. Not enough time to shower and relax. You should bear in mind staying at your hotel and the treatments is not cheap. And then not to accommodate your guests for the very reason they came is very disapointing. The room rate does not even include breakfast. Even if it did we would have had to miss breakfast as the treatment were in the morning, it seems you take priority of spa day guests over residential guest's. To speak to a therapist regarding treatments should be made much easier. The fact that you were aware we wanted treatments, a call perhaps to the guest to ask what they want would gave nice. The TV in room Bleinheim is completely on the wrong side. We both were struggling after a while trying to watch TV side ways. The TV should be in front of bed not on the side. The bathroom had a weird smell.

    All the staff at the hotel were exremely friendly, helpfuland very attentive. The grounds were beautiful. The scones were fresh warm and delicious. The spa area (pool all the 3 Jacuzzis sauna and steam room) was clean and excellent. My treatment with Cindy was amazing. I inititally booked for the Manipura message. I would have been very disappointed if she had not told me before the start of the treatment what it entails. i am so glad we changed it to just a full boddy massage. She did exactly how i wanted the massage. Huge huge thank you Cindy as i had been very much looking forward to my massage. All your therapists should learn from Cindy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely surroundings with very helpful, attentive & polite staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and lunch service was little slow and on the odd occasion we had to ask more than once for somethings but no real issues to report.

    A very relaxing place to be and the front of house staff and team in AG's restaurant really looked after us throughout over stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice setting. Upgraded room very good apart from view. Breakfast at £19.50 per head waste of money.
    • Couple
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We know there was a coffee maker in room, but it would of been nice to have coffee sachets as well, not enough tea bags (2) not acceptable. Breakfast dreadful-waste of money! Staff did not have a clue when to bring the hot breakfast, so still intended to leave it whilst eating cereal- no room on table. Forgot the coffee.

    The bedroom was very comfortable. Outlook not nice. Lovely large bathroom & toiletries

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.3
    Nice hotel but terrible value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The prices at the hotel were far above market rate. For a hotel outside of London, I was surprised to see prices that exceeded the going rate in London. This applied to both food and spa treatments. For a 5 star hotel the rooms were also very small. Your money will go further elsewhere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyed it but,t wasn't wowed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for early check in fifty quid. Room not ready ! Workmen painting the lifts and had to,use stairs to the third floor. No apologies. Breakfast staff asked us if I wanted them to push tables together so we can sit together for breakfast. I almost laughed. Is it usual practice that families sit apart then ! When you collect your breakfast toast there are no plates to use, had to ask for them or walk through dinning area holding hot toast by the crust.....Basic stuff is soooo overlooked by the 4 staff members hovering around smiling and saying hello. Male workmen in the ladies spa changing room, apologised to us yet we had to dry and dress in the loos Mostly three people working at the often empty reception area. When it comes to 11am check out just one person left on the desk alone and then a big queue . How poorly managed is that!! I could go on yet basically you pay a lot for five star and you get nice surroundings with polite staff who are ineffective at the actiones needed to deliver good , never mind exceptional service.

    The outside spa garden was excellent. The showers with the side taps on were great however it only worked one day and there were male workmen in the ladies changing rooms most of the morning which meant drying and dressing in the loo. Not very 5 star fabulous. !!! The only member of the team which wowed us with his manner and effectiveness was the barman , he is well trained and not just polite but effective. The gardens are pretty (but paths are not swept) The concierge is helpful and always on the look out to help with bags. Beds are very comfortable. Use as many towels in the spa as you need. The turn down service is a nice touch

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    5.4
    Overly expensive and horribly hot and stuffy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was heated like a sauna and although costing £323 wasn't air conditioned nor was breakfast provided. The breakfast I was happy to pay for but despite opening all the windows in the bedroom and bathroom and switching on a fan located in a cupboard, the room was still unbearably hot and despite hoping it would cool down during the evening, it didn't. On emailing after our return from holiday I was told "We do offer rooms with air conditioning" and that the towel rails were on hot to keep swimsuits and towels dry. The towel rails were not on and the concierge on checking out told us "the central heating comes on when it rains as elderly people feel the cold" - this was end July on a particularly humid day! I was assured that had we complained on the day we may have been offered another room but my friend was exhausted after a flight from El Paso and I was loath to change rooms in the middle of the night, despite not sleeping at all. This was supposed to be a treat but was a sorry start to our holiday and definitely not worth the money. The hotel inform me that had we complained they could have done something but having paid £323 for room only I was convinced that the room would eventually cool down and we would be comfortable. Air conditioning was the very least that we expected.

    The food was good and the treatments very relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Garden Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maintenance and other issues with the room, a very dismissive and unhelpful duty manager, our spa appointment was not booked in despite having written confirmation prior to the visit and there was a pair of women's knickers in the outdoor sauna....quite a lot of issues for a supposed 5 star boutique hotel and spa.

    We borrowed bikes to explore the surroundings, which was a nice touch and some of the staff were really pleasant. The location is good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    nice hotel with great spa facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in Edinburgh room and in the shower, the water didn't drain very quick and the shower area was filled with lots of water. At some points I had to stop showering and waited for it to drain.

    The hotel is so beautiful I felt like I was lost in a small old castle. The room is nice and we had a very comfy bed. The bathroom is gorgeous with the bath tub. We also enjoyed our experience at the spa even though we didn't book any treatment. the private hot tub was amazing, the other one was also nice but you might have to use it with lots of people. We had dinner at Reflection restaurant. The steak for sharing was wonderful. Besides that, the staff at the hotel was absolutely amazing and so nice. We had stayed in many hotels in the UK and they had the best staff ever. We felt very welcomed and warm at the hotel. every member of staff always treated us with a smile. We only stayed for one night but we are looking forward to coming back here in the future. It was a lovely short break.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.7
    Would be very good if no large noisy parties insisting on shouting and splashing etc
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfy King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As above, large party of rude noisy people

    Good breakfast and dinner, comfortable room. Pool full of people shouting, looked like a hen party, very noisy and as it's a confined space it was not possible to stay and relax.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The seating area outside by the chequers board. It needed more tables umbrellas and the plants changing.

    From the moment you arrive you are welcomed. If you see a member of staff they smile. The service wasn't intrusive. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    A perfect weekend retreat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I particularly like cappuccino in the room in the morning FOC and during dinner the extra courses given without telling you , almost as a lovely unexpected surprise - again - FOC. The small things are the ones that make a huge difference.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    5.4
    "Hot room" did not sleep, no air conditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very hot and small. told you should of spoken to us, we could of opened your door. the door that leads to the hallway ?

    lovely property and surroundings

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.9
    Great stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is hot, a little stuffy. And they ran out of decaffeinated coffee, Which is a problem for me, as I cant Drink a normal coffee. Apart from that, it was a lovely stay for us.

    Great service and all the staff are helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    The hotel is very grand and beautiful and the room was above...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the gym/spa opens at 8am and closes at 8pm I would have preferred earlier and later times.

    The hotel is very grand and beautiful and the room was above standard.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful location with below average staff and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Garden Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment we arrived the staff were unprofessional and useless. The elderly concierge accosted us as soon as we arrived in the car park and make sarcastic and inappropriate comments about our choice of parking space, and moaned on about how he was having such a difficult day. Frankly .... not my problem and not a good start. After a long journey we were taking a nap and were awoken by a delivery of tea to our room, which we had not even ordered. At breakfast we were served by someone who was in total confusion when I asked for sugar for my porridge (there were only sugar cubes on the table .... not great for porridge!) He returned with a bowl of icing sugar????? Overall, not at all impressed by the service or the staff. We had paid for excellent service and attention to detail and were left feeling very cross. To top it all, an 11am check out is too early.

    A beautiful location and a very comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful venue, but be prepared to lay out the cash
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drinks were really expensive. £12 small glass of wine/cocktail. I suppose it's expected at such a luxury venue. A little too steep if you ask me.

    Complimentary upgrade was a lovely gesture. Staff very attentive. Food in the reflections bar was very good, I preferred it to the fine dining in AGs. We also had a lovely cycle around the public paths on the estate. Beautiful country side.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    We had an absolutely Lovely stay at this property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Garden Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had an absolutely Lovely stay at this property We had a few treatments at the Amazing Spa on site I'd definitely recommend staying here the staff were all very attentive The food was excellent and we'll definitely be staing again in the future

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Everything one needs for a relaxing spa break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I have to say something the window in our room didn't open very easily and there wasn't really enough ventillation as in windows that could open.

    Everything one needs for a relaxing spa break. Have been before looking forward to going again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    5.4
    Not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Firstly the room I was allocated had no air conditioning, stuffy and hot, it had a noisy extractor fan that made so much noise I couldn't seep. The clock in the bedroom was the wrong time which means the room has not been used for a long time. The door of the room was chipped at the top and bottom. the desk and chair was also very worn and chipped away. It felt as if I had booked a hostel room to stay in. The spa/swimming pool floor was very dirty and not cleaned with lots of towels lying around on beds that were not occupied. The steam room and sauna were in the changing rooms so I was not able to use these services with my partner. When we checked out there was a discrepancy of charges, someones had put their drinks and dinner onto our room charges, this did not make the checking out process smooth.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.5
    Nice, but heftily over-priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hugely over-priced with an extra cost attached to the slightest thing. The mark-up on the breakfast is especially shocking.

    The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    The bed was huge and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives at all

    The bed was huge and very comfortable. The staff are very helpful and gave us a warm welcome. The bathroom in the room was stunning

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.2
    Excellent staff, so helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa is lovely but gets really busy.

    Excellent staff, so helpful. Great for gluten free which can make or break a trip for a coeliac! Comfy beds, great bar, brilliant spa treatments.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    6.3
    Relaxing Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfy King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paid extra for breakfast. Maybe our fault as we went for breakfast 30 mins before finishing. But cold breakfast, had to be reminded of toast, tea/coffee we had ordered and milk. A lot of food had gone and they didn't replenish. Staff weren't very friendly at breakfast. My room was very dusty on arrival and marks over bedding.

    They brought tea/coffee to room (complimentary) in the morning, which was a nice touch.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic spa and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few more sun loungers would of been perfect, and drinks a little expensive in the bar

    The spa was absolutely fantastic and lovely staff, lovely location and building

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    4.6
    Avoid at all costs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Attic double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were so many issues, it is difficult to begin: 1) The room did not remotely correspond to the description on the hotel website. It was really tiny and the walls were so slanted, that it was unsafe to use. For once, it was impossible to sit at the coffee table without hitting one's head on the ceiling. Moreover, it was impossible to take a shower standing up: you had to tilt to one side while at the same time you had to squat (good luck if you are not a yoga champion). Most of all, there were quite a few ropes (supposed to allow you to manage the roof windows) on which you could literally hang yourself if you were of an average height (anywhere between 165 to 180 cm) and going to the toilet in the middle of the night. Photos are attached to this review. 2) The service was abominable. Whenever there was an issue, the usual reaction was screaming at the client. Obviously in this place they are not used to apologizing for their mistakes and they have zero respect for other cultures. One would wonder if there was any selection or training of the employees: a) For instance, we reserved some spa treatments and paid in advance. When we arrived at the spa, we kept on waiting and waiting until we raised some questions only to be "informed" in screaming that our treatments were rescheduled and that we received an email about that. The negative surprises continued as we were offered different treatments from the ones we had booked. Upon investigation, it turned out that they sent an email to a different recipient (not related to us), the "new" treatments were cheaper from the ones we booked, etc. Yet, the burden was on us to talk to the manager to get the difference back and we were promised a letter of apology for which we have been waiting for more than a month in the mail. b) The very much acclaimed AG restaurant managed to destroy a special occasion (my partner's birthday).

    The negatives outweigh the positives to such an extent that it is difficult to remember what one liked. We would not return and we believe it is shocking this hotel is categorized as 5 stars. There are many hotels in close proximity to London which merit greater attention.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: