Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Malmaison Brighton 4 stars

Brighton Marina, Brighton & Hove, BN2 5WA, United Kingdom

#26 of 60 hotels in Brighton & Hove

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2345 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - lots of hand prints on balcony window - mattress protection was covered in small hair an false eyelashes how ever the sheet you slept on was clean. - rather dusty - hairs on bathroom towels -1st cooked breakfast was bad but rectified. -had to call a cab twice 1st didn't arrive

    breakfast was good, options for vegetarians nice view walking distance from lots of hot sports super big bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s very easy to miss the entrance and loading unloading bags is a little tricky.

    The room was great,a little short on hanging space. Breakfast was fantastic superb food and David went above and beyond to ensure great service. Cocktails were expensive but very very good. Check in with Donna after a long flight was beautifully simple. All of the staff went out of their way to help.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a room at the front last year, overlooking the marina. The rooms are just as good at the back but the view doesn't compare.

    Nice hotel in a quiet location. I did the London to Brighton bike ride on that day and the staff kindly locked my bike up in a safe place. Close enough to walk back from town at the end of the ride.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to book 2 nights but only wanted a single night, so it was an expensive stay. This was due to the time of year we stayed and most other hotels do the same thing.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, they went out of their way to look after us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious, comfortable and beautiful rooms with equally nice bathrooms. Shower was lovely. Cocktails and dinner were delicious. Overall me and my boyfriend were very, very happy with our stay and are hoping to be back soon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all!

    Every single member of staff we had contact with was so warm and friendly, offering 5* service without being stuffy or unapproachable. We paid £2 extra for the cooked breakfast upgrade and it was well worth it on top of the very nice continental options. We also enjoyed afternoon tea and some cocktails. All delicious. We had a sea view club room which was large and very well presented. The shared terrace was lovely (although on our visit it was a little too windy to sit outside). The hotel is 30mins walk from the pier although there are lots of buses and taxis near the hotel to town. The Volks electric railways is also close for a fun ride to the pier. The Marina area has lots to offer on its own in terms of activities, bars and food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the bedside lamps did not work. One of the light switches made a constant 'fizzing' noise when switched on. The room was smaller than expected.

    Lovely staff, especially on reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To expensive , that dirty toilet floor , no where to hang your clothes, no grab handles in the shower ,no soap dispenser

    I liked leaving , well overpriced 4star hotel mmm one star to many, toilet floor dirty .no gym .Be a good stay if got a better rate ,and the toilet floor was cleaned properly ,I don't know how no one can see it?

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is really hard to find your way into the hotel and then find reception. They told us they are moving reception to the ground floor which will help. It would be useful if they gave instructions on where to park and how to get into the hotel when you book. Our room was very small and dark at the back of the hotel.

    The best thing is the friendliness of the staff who went out of their way to be cheerful and helpful. The bed was really comfy and the breakfast was excellent. Free parking is a bonus. We loved drinking cocktails on the terrace overlooking the marina.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poorly appointed bedrooms, no drawer space whatsoever, very limited hanging space. Area around the bed very cramped.

    Location and friendliness of staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prefer parking to be onsite rather than across a busy road

    Rooms were flawless , bed super comfy. Parking is free although multi-storey carpark does not belong to hotel so bit of a walk with heavy bags etc so bear in mind if you are disabled or have difficulty walking. Breakfast option expensive at £14 so much better to walk 20 yards to Wetherspoons quayside bar for a cheap and cheerful breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No where to put your clothes just a big scaffold rack shelf thing ,toilet floor is dirty ,outside on roofs dead bird, litter , dirty areas , one lamp base in lounge was dirty all the time I was there ,I got told of for taking free coffee , but it does not tell you it's only for group meetings ,that upset me ,well more like annoyed me, dislike material headboard I wonder how many heads have rubbed on it ,tray containing foods is filthy seems no one ever looks no soaps no grab handles in shower .I could go on but it seems no ever notices anything , poor management, oh it's got one star to many , I would stay again at much better rate , mainly for the parking and buses ,and breakfast was extra bonkers you can get 2 breakfasts outside in places from £10 for two people there's a witherspoons to . 4star hotel and no gym . Seaview more boat view ,don't waste your money on seaview

    Leaving, free parking ,good bus service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    .My mistake, but I didn’t realise just how far away it was from city centre to the Marina, it’s a good 40 min walk.

    Fourth time I’ve stayed in Brighton on business this year, though first time at Malmaison, on point in all areas, good setting looking on to Marina, high quality food in restaurant and standard Mal touches in bedroom. My midweek rate was better value than a lot of the hotel chains on the day. You’ll struggle to find fault,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only complaint was a dusty glass in room.

    Lovely hotel.Great location right on the Marina. Firm comfy bed & pillows. Really nice bar & terrace.Very welcoming reception staff. Enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price....£139 per night without breakfast.....we were looking to return in August but it is £477 for 2 nights without breakfast....

    Location is fantastic, it is a classy hotel, with the staff at your beckon call.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t fault it.

    Clean comfortable rooms decorated and equipped to a high standard. Friendly and chilled out staff on reception. Comfortable bed. Great views. Nice balcony. Nice bar area. Great shower. Free parking. Lots of restaurants and bars nearby. Close to racecourse.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is obviously new and customer service was poor from the start! Check in was extremely slow and we were left standing and waiting for a while with no apologies..... breakfast was a shambles, we went down at 9.20am and left at 11.15 having had just tea because it was sooo unorganised and sheer chaos!!!!

    The hotel is stunning and is in the lovely Brighton marina what is surrounded by refutable and bars but still quiet..... very close to city centre!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was expensive for what it is . Could have provided dressing gowns , more tea and a fridge .

    The staff were super friendly and charming. The guys and drinks were really good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was lovely throughout. Views were great from the bar of the Marina and some out spots to sit outside. The room itself was cosy, love the decor and the spacious shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food in the restaurant is very good both breakfast and dinner

    There is very little space to hang clothes and there is no draw space to put clothes in, the room is small and my partner kept knocking her leg on the the furniture that there is.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing wrong!

    Everything! If you’re looking to stay in the marina definitely check in here! We come back every time we pop to Brighton once or twice a year and love it! It’s so quiet too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms small Went to the restaurant only one person serving and seating. Went to sit down ourselves to find the chair caked in food down the sides and glasses dirty. We walked out.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    lift not working & only access is via stairs which is difficult for 80+ mother.Staff did offer assistance.

    excellent location,with free parking which is a bonus in brighton & good bus service into middle of Brighton.1st stayed prior to Malmaison taking over & it can be seen they have invested considerable money in the last couple of years.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was all good diddnt like the DiSabled bathroom but was changed to a normal one

    The Hostesses were very njce and reception was very good Clara was on reception when we checked and Matt the Manager was very nice made sure everything was on point

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car parking is not dedicated to the hotel, but a public multi-storey a short walk from the hotel. It was impossibly tight for a large car to access and there was no lift for those with mobility difficulties. The check-in was slow and I would advise guests to check their bills carefully as mine was in error, as were 3 others that I overheard whilst waiting in the reception area. Also, I stayed at a weekend and on the Sunday morning there were beer cans left in several points in the corridors / stairs that staff walked past without bothering to clear up.

    The location is lovely and the restaurant and bar have lovely views of the marina. Bed was comfortable and the blackout curtains helped get a good nights sleep. Cannot fault the breakfast which was plentiful and perfectly cooked.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park was a short way from the hotel, so don't over pack! Lots of stairs down from car park.

    Compact and clean rooms, staff were great on reception and bar. Food was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the property. The area isn't amazing, the Marina's cleaning had alot if work put into it but the surrounding facilities are mainly chain restaurants.

    Great views with the Sea Facing rooms. Nice outside space for drinks/meals. Pleasant walk into Brighton along the Seafront. Free parking in multistory car park opposite hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dificult to find the hotel - they need to provide clear instructions. I did mail ahead and ask for parking details but got no reply. And you have to take some tortuous path to get from the car park to the hotel. Once I arrived I had to wait 10 minutes before a receptionist saw me and she didn't seem that bothered that I had difficulty finding the place. Booked club room with sea view and balcony - but the balcony is just a large terrace shared by many rooms. Was dissapoonted with the marina. If you like Nandos, TGI Fridays and that kind of thing then it'll suit you. But don't expect any independent dining - take a stroll into town for that. Hotel was overpriced in my opinion - well over £200 for a (not so special) double room. And they took my payment on entry (not just a credit card swipe) - suspect that the owners realised that they'd screwed me on this. Could have got a much better place in town.

    Room was good, bed comfy and a hint of boutique style. Breakfast was excellent - lots of options and good quality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are extremley thin, there are adjoining doors between rooms so you can hear everything from your neighbours room. We had a porn film being made in next room all night long with slapping and all sorts going on so was extremely embarrassing and soul destroying when you want to relax and sleep. It was like being at butlins on a stag weekend!! This is malmaison for £200 a night!! Butlins is £200 for a week!!

    Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds in the twin room sloped backwards slightly and so not very comfortable. The bed in the deluxe room though was extremely comfy.

    Breakfast was good value. For just £2 extra you could have a hot breakfast and help yourself to the continental as well. Terrace area near the bar was a lovely space to enjoy a drink and watch the boats on the marina.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smaller than expected and the sea view was actually of the Harbour. The lady next door complained she could hear us talking and said the walls were paper thin. We heard people walking upstairs all night and I picked it as I thought it was large and thus wouldn't have that issue.

    Nice open balcony, shared but no one else used it. Very big comfortable bed and spacious room. Fully stocked with everything you might want. Lovely kind receptionist. 24 hr bar if you wanted it. Waterfall shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surrounding area let the hotel down slightly

    Great ambience, friendly staff and a nice walk into Brighton. The breakfast was wonderful, complimentary cocktail, which went down very well, free parking and access to town makes this a great place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was a shambles, the staff looked like rabbits caught in the headlights and had no idea of what they were doing, several even admitted that it was a bit of a "Car Crash" Their words not mine. we stayed three nights and breakfast was just as bad each morning, clearly short staffed, the so called Breakfast Buffet was bereft of most things and not replenished. If I were to return (not likely) I would ask for a larger room and on a B & B rate and cut out the breakfast altogether. I would also ask if they had any weddings booked.

    Great place to stay of a weekend, although noisy and the balcony for the room was tiny. It was noisy too with a wedding function on at the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place - came here with my man for a get away from London. The location was perfect. Loved the room. Awesome staff. We rode bikes along the beach, watched the sun set on the beautiful communal balcony, went to the beach for ice creams and doughnuts, evening dinner on the pier (they have so many restaurants - literally everything). The hotel restaurant was also beautiful. Glad we chose this place. So many good things to say about it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hour long wait for Olives

    I booked this Via Booking.com and two weeks prior to the stay I had arranged balloons and rose petals and a bottle of Champagne to the room on arrival , for my girlfriends birthday .. it did Not disappoint!! Was set out beautifully and the staff were great upon arrival and helping me sort this out for what was a great weekend. As it was sunny we had the bottle on the decking outside overlooking the marina with a glorious sunshine.. we were also upgraded to a room with a balcony over looking the marina which was nice to sit out in the evening , coming back from Copper Clam Restaurant near the pier .. All in all I’d give it a 9.8 only missing out by a full 10 because we ordered some olives and took an hour after repeatedly asking but still very good and also highly recommend for couples .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in was very chaotic and late. Club room no robes. Things missing. Breakfast service extremely slow. Little things like no milk or butter on table. Chaotic this time so disappointed. Not sure whether we will return. No apologies from staff. At this price service was unacceptable. We weren't really looked after.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only issue we had was when we arrived we checked in the girl behind the desk told us our room was ready, we went up to find the door open with the bed left the same since the last people woke up and even there glass of water on the bedside table! We left it another hour and it was still the same so we spoke to receptionist (and fully understand it was not their fault!) and she was lovely and upgraded us to a sea view which we were very thankful for. This must of been a result of a busy night before - cleaning took a little longer but we were looked after very well. Thank you malmaison :)

    Lovely location a nice walk along to the pier (around 25-30 mins) although we hired bikes which was lots of fun, and only took around 10 mins! Rooms were lovely, clean and beds were very comfortable! Bathrooms again were lovely, and spacious!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tissues in tissue dispenser could of been re filled, my wife used them all after coming down with a cold on our first night. Had to go and buy pocket tissues. 🤧

    Bed was super comfortable. Overall great hotel, clean, tidy, great location, will defo be returning at some point.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area inside the wardrobe was to small, I was on my own and after I had hung my few clothes up there was no room. If there was a couple I could see a problem. The safe and the fridge are in this area and it Affects the space.

    The location of the hotel and the staff were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having stayed in another Malmaison room was really small in comparison. Not very well signposted to find from public car park. Be careful when you book as rates are for dinner, bed & breakfast. Not room only. Staff were good enough to offset bar bill against rate paid as we had no intention of having dinner. Albeit this was only at check out.. check in staff didn’t seem bothered. Overall stay was ok don’t know if I would stay again having woken up to the dredger in the marina that started at 7am on a Saturday morning .. sounded like was on a building site

    Location was good for restaurants, good views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room small, tight space between bed and desk. No space to hang longer clothes. Wedding party drinking on terrace outside our room all night. The room wasn't ready when we arrived, but the apology was sincere and we were given a voucher for champagne at the bar whilst we waited half an hour.

    Friendly staff, extremely comfortable bed, superb food, shower excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service in restaurant in the evening. Breakfast varies depending on the chef - sent back orange rubber scrambled eggs, rest of food then arrived tepid

    Location great, free parking a bonus but park on level 6 Poor service in overpriced restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bass boom for on restaurant - Night Manager had o turn it off. Misleading re car park - it’s not clear how you get to hotel from the car park and the signs in car park say max 4 hour stay.

    Marina view. Bed was extremely comfortable and shower powerful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location away from Brighton centre with a lovely view over the marina with plenty of bars & restaurants around. A big plus free parking in a nearby car park. Good on site restaurant & well stocked bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially confusing to find but once found - well it is a great find!

    Location is brilliant, staff are helpful, friendly and welcoming. Rooms are spacious, very comfortable bed and beautifully decorated. The shower and toiletries were also fanatic. Will definitely revisit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon not working

    Place was spotless, easy free parking, room was perfect, had all the bits needed for a great stay. Food and drink priced well. Very nice place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering I paid 350 for 2 nights I expected the room to be bigger since it was such a crampt space hardly enough space to put our luggage!!

    Service was amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at breakfast was slow and several guests were unhappy there seemed a lack of organisation . The coffee was poor quality for a hotel of this standard.

    The reception and house keeping were very friendly upon my arrival. The views from the hotel were superb. Modern boutique style rooms large shower with nice complimentary toiletries. Very easy to get transport into the town or a pleasant 15 minute walk along the sea front. Parking was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING!

    The bed was extremely comfortable and a good size. The room was beautifully decorated and worth getting the Marina view room. Location is excellent and staff are extra friendly. Worth every penny!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of the carpark. Wasnt aware it was a public multi storey carpark so couldnt find it at first.

    Modern decor, i requested rose petals on the bed when booking and they actually did it! Amazing views of the harbour.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to share a balcony with other people, would’ve been nicer to have individual ones.

    Rooms were very modern and the view from the balcony was so good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were miserable. We arrived and our room was not ready. There was a dirty pair of pants left under our bed when we first arrived in our room!

    The hotel itself was lovely and modern. The location was beautiful, over looking the marina.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small, especially the space between the bed and the office table!

    The location is great, the staff is very kind and cleaning is very good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff rude and not at all attentive. Told one of the ladies at breakfast that the yoghurt we had chosen was out of date and that the rest of them on display were out of date - she looked and ungrateful and just shrugged her shoulders and left the remaining yoghurts there. Rude

    Nice location and view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping needs to review its daily practice of checking bedrooms, main entrance (first impressions count). Unfortunately customers do ignore the hotels no smoking policy by putting their socks (dirty ones at that) over the smoke detectors but housekeeping need to do a checklist when cleaning the room. Look up and down the room, check light bulbs work, bathroom floors are clean - no hairy corners! Soap in soap dispensers - bedrooms and general ladies toilet - no soap. Fresh fruit if offered needs to be fresh not wrinkly! My room service experience had to be abandoned as a simple request for a drink to my room never materialised even tho’ I had been told there would be a 10 minute delay. I had to cancel the order 45 minutes later as I needed to get my taxi. Reception helpful but slow in booking in customers. Lovely decor and reception desk ... just well used and sticky surface. If the Mal team focussed on the detail and added a smile my rating would have been different.

    Adrianna who served breakfast in the most professional and cheery way. Some of her colleagues should think about how a smile enhances the customer experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying £325 for one night however, I booked it the day before so to be expected!

    The room was clean and tidy, tea making facilities and an iron. Balcony. The paper we requested was left outside the door in the morning which was nice! The hotel staff were so lovely and gave us a complimentary prosecco voucher because it was my boyfriends birthday. Sylwia on reception was so nice and friendly!..It’s a nice way to enter a hotel. Also, the waiter who served us in the bar was also so friendly!! He had his hair tied back and has such good customer service and friendly attitude!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check in was slow. There was a bit or dirt in the cupboard on top of the fridge, nothing major so I cleaned it myself. On another day the room didn't seem to have been properly cleaned, bed not properly made and cups left in the bathroom. Room very small. Lots of different entrance points to the hotel, made me wonder about the security, Long way out from Brighton itself which I hadn't realised and is my fault for booking this location. The bus service was quite good but too far to walk even though I usually walk everywhere.

    Modern room. Bed was quite comfy and the shower and toiletries were good. Close to some restaurants on the marina. Speedy checkout.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very upset that we booked a sea view room months in advance but on arrival, told we couldn't have one due to overbooking???

    Lovely hotel, staff & location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The approach to the hotel is through a very tired multi storey carpark which leads to the Marina. Whilst the restaurants of the Marina are quite nice, you have have to get to the hotel by going behind them through a dated area with empty shops. Upon arrival, the check in desk isn’t very clear, there is a desk with visitors chairs (like you would expect for a concierge). There was obviously a big issue concerning the two people currently being dealt with as the two staff members could not spare a second to acknowledge us. Once they had dealt with giving the aforementioned people an alternative room, we could eventually check in which was fairly efficient. The interior of the halls are quite nice, but this was quickly overshadowed by the overpowering smell of weed when we opened our room. If this had been left by the previous guest, we found it inexplicable that a cleaner or any hotel staff member would clear this room as fit for the next guest. Given the drama and hassle evidently undertaken by the guests we saw at reception, we didn’t request an alternative room. We were so tired and elected that we would just open the door and put the air con on to clear the smell. After a while we got used to the smell. This smell heavily reappeared when we pulled back the duvet to go to bed. The smell has permeated it and I repeatedly woke up during the night with the smell. This did make us wonder whether the weed had been smoked before or after the bedding was changed.... The ‘balcony’ was quite disappointing. Despite it being a double room, the balcony was a tiny metal cage with only one old chair on it overlooking the roof.

    The interior looked great and the bed was fairly comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Beautiful location overlooking the marina. Loads of restaurants on the complex and a supermarket. Hotel was super clean, comfortable and haf a sun terrace where they serve food and drink.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Signage for the hotel could have been a bit clearer. We did walk around trying to locate the entrance.

    The view of the marina. The overall hotel was very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room wasn't available until 4pm We had to wait for most food and beverages but other people gave up and left. The room facilities are basic. The linen was inadequate and long overdue for a change

    The staff were trying to cope with fundamental flaws in their management. When the food finally arrived, it was good The duty manager did an excellent job of service recovery, removing many items from our bill.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were excellent. Location good. Regular excellent bus service to Brighton town centre if you didn't want to take the 25 minute walk along the prom. Lots of eating places at marina. Free parking. The continental breakfast was included in our deal and there was plenty to eat. You can upgrade to cooked breakfast for a couple of pound.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor welcome on arrival. Drop off point to hotel not available as used by taxis Walk to hotel from NCP a pain. No assistance offered with luggage. Room not ready until 7.30pm! Room small and dark and not worth the money . Bar terrace was shabby, tables not cleaned Glass of champagne served in a dirty glass (lipstick on the rim) Shower didn’t drain properly . This hotel over promises and undelivers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn’t check in until 7pm even though we were told 3pm when booking, we were given free drinks vouchers but still waiting over an hour was not ideal. Room was expensive for what it was

    Room was clean and modern with beautiful views from the balcony. Breakfast was delicious and staff were friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would say that the glass door to the shower needs to be slightly bigger as I found that when having a shower that the water often sprayed onto the floor from the shower. And the floor then got very wet and slippery.

    Room was lovely and spacious- had a beautiful view of the harbour. The shower was excellent- water temperature and pressure was perfect. Lots of tea and cofee provided in the room. Bed was very comfortable. The Reception staff were very helpful with any questions. There was free parking. Loads of restaurants in walking distance near by. Great location, only about 10/15 mins drive from brighton town center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the fact that my room led on to a balcony that over looked the marina with a lovely view and weather permitting sit back and relax and have a bevvy or two. Also they seem to have a good sense of humour.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    1 - Wanted to use the room phone to make a call abroad, and asked the receptionist, who said it is not possible!!! When I came to my room, I called the reception, and asked again. Same answer. I gave the idiot a piece of my mind, and asked to talk to the manager. After some to and from, she informed me that I could dial so and so to get out: BUT WITH A SURCHARGE! I eventually met the manager in my room, who explained the "surcharge" which is the normal difference of calling to a landline or a mobile. Everything sorted out! Unprofessional receptionist. 2 - Between 2100/2200 hours fire alarm comes on. Full evacuation. All standing outside, half-dressed in shitty weather. NO representative to see from the hotel. Fire alarm still going for quite som time. After close to an hour the alarm stopps. Nobody to tell us if it was safe to go inside. Waiting even more outside till I felt it was ridicules to stand outside, and carefully walked up to the reception. The manager is behind the counter, and when asked what happened, she shrugged her shoulders. And that was it! Incompetent and irresponsible staff. Room nice and clean, and breakfast good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices for mini bar more clearly displayed.i could imagine people travelling with kids could find it tricky.as the price list was "hidden" on the floor.

    Wonderful view.would love to stay when there was a thunder storm.be great to lie in bed and watch out of the big window.or even sit on the balcony.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room too small, bed too small. Staff never answered the phone. Place is poorly sign posted. In this day an email about drop off points for luggage and the walkway level from the Public Car Park could have been sent. Paid for the Sea View and the balcony. It wasn't mentioned that this was open plan - and full of cigarette butts.

    Shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We kept having to ask for the dressing gowns. I have stayed in the property several times as Hotel Seattle. I did notice that the occupancy room rates were higher under the Malmaison chain

    Staff very professional

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a bit confusing. Would appreciate information prior. Elevator make concerning noises though safe the hole time.

    Modern decor, loved the bathroom. Great staff both for check in and in the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    car park was a bit far away to bring luggage, needs more facilities like a pool etc for the amount we paid, the balcony was hard to get 2 people on it, the lift goes straight from the car park to the rooms with no security check or staff to go through.

    very nice location, amazing staff, the room was very clean and looked amazing, loved the view from the balcony, the bed was so comfortable, very quiet for a good night's sleep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waited 35 minutes to get a room after checking in, and even then had to complain to get something sorted, which to be fair they did, but seemed a bit disorganised.

    Fantastic location on the Marina, very clean comfortable rooms and a real top boutique hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took 40!min s to check in and then they checked us in yona room that was already occupied and they did not even think that was a problem

    The location and the restaurant staff

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: