Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Almondsbury Interchange Hotel 3 stars

Gloucester Road, Almondsbury, BS32 4AA, United Kingdom

#4 of 4 hotels in Almondsbury

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1437 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    4.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.5
    A good place to stay, its rooms are a good size, and are clean. A little dated, but OK.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Bar or restaurant on site, Wifi only in reception. Ground floor room with a window, that you can not lock.

    Nice simply place to stay, rooms are a good size and are clean. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.9
    Well located hotel that served purpose for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - all OK

    We only stayed one night as we were at a wedding locally so it was functional for us - didn't use facilities really; just slept and had breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.0
    Convienieb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure very high, therefore showering a bit “ interesting” . Shower unit very light and liable to come of the off the clip and flood the bathroom floor, as my husband found out.

    Comfortable if somewhat tired room. Adequate for our one night stay. Very good position for access to motorway. Quiet slept well. Good towels. Plenty of hot water.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.2
    Don’t expect too much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast...cold tea/coffee Poor quality food 1 towel in a twin room. Hotel was dirty and in poor repair. Very dated in need of a face lift and deep clean

    Proximity to motorway

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    2.5
    Totally disgusting and would not even entertain eating what they call breakfast. I want a refund!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, see above as I want a refund.

    The staff were nothing but rude. The room was disgusting. The shower did not work. There were hairs in the bed. The breakfast was nothing but dreadful and the bread was dry and the cereal was far from fresh, flys sitting on what breakfast there was. Just dreadful so did not eat anything!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    Very large comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very large comfortable beds. Large TV pleased the children/husband . This was an overnight stopover on trip down South and the location was excellent for easy access to motorway. Staff were very welcoming and helpful when required. We had a good night sleep with no noise or disturbances and breakfasts was good. Good value for money and would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.7
    Convenient for a short stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decoration in the rooms is tired. Taps drip; extractor fans do not work; window frames need paint; baths are chipped; the coffee tray in the room needs replacement, while the public areas are finished to a high standard. People don't talk to each other. Checkout occurred while the office was busy. Not enough coffee at breakfast time; the furniture layout is too rigid and too close to the buffet. Some daylight in the breakfast room would be welcome. The breakfast menu never changes.

    The location near a major road, and two motorways. Bus services, and taxis are easily accessible although they vary in frequency and cost.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.0
    Acceptable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very short staffed in the evening it appeared one rather harassed lady was barmaid,cook and waitress. Although the hotel is in need of an update on the whole it was good value for. The money

    Room was clean and presentable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Brilliant place to stay will use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had my 11 month old grandaughter with use nothing was to much trouble for them brilliant staff very friendly place to stay this was are second visit .wont be are last

    Booking .com

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.0
    Second receptionist was verythema helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude receptionist on arrival, very bad breakfast, instant coffee, poor soap and shampoo, dingy breakfast room with no windows, musty smell, TV did not work, no biscuits in the room.

    Second receptionist was verythema helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    Very convenient for Bristol. Excellent value
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy from the motorway but to but to be expected

    Comfy beds and pillows. Lovely fresh bed linen and towels. Room a little dated but clean. Basic breakfast but plenty of it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    2.5
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff hardly spoke.over 2 day's the only thing that was said to me. Your room is up the stairs. Even when trying to make conversation there was no interest. Not even a good morning or thank you for staying. I stay in a lot of hotels for work and pleasure and don't rate this 'hotel'...Breakfast was appalling..at the time of booking I booked breakfast only to find continental which was very poor. I certainly won't stay here again and definitely won't recommend to anyone. Very very disappointed and certainly not worth the £84 I paid for a twin room. Disgusting..

    Nothing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    this was my first stay at this hotel, and it will be my first choice when I have to stay in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stay in a lot of hotels for short stays and this was one of the best I've been in... I will definitely be booking this hotel when I'm in the area...

    excellent value for money and a price that included a continental breakfast in a comfortable dining room, good parking, great bar, friendly staff who actually smile... excellent access to the M4 and M5 motorways... Highly recommended...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    Convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Understand no Wifi was available in guest room but could not log on in the reception or bar areas either.

    Location - easy access from M4 & M5. Ample parking. Room was spacious and bed was comfortable. Continental breakfast was sufficient. Service was satisfactory. Shopping - Both the Cribbs Causeway Centre & Willow Brook Centre are quite near.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    2.9
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Put the do not disturb notice on the door on Sunday morning until 10.30, then changed to please make up the room, when we arrived back at 5.30 the room had not been touched, Spoke to reception and they said it was not cleaned because we put the sign up saying do not disturb, I said don't they come back she said theoretically yes so I don't know why she did not. We then went to have a drink and something to eat in the bar at 7.00 only to be told the staff have not come in so it's closed, we had a 5 mile drive to find somewhere to eat as the bar next door to the hotel stopped food 6.30.

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was basic but still OK. Only missed a decent cup of coffee.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Very comfortable bed (mattresses were new), easy parking and easy to find, good access to motorway. Nice bar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.8
    Sufficient for 2 Days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole place is a bit Tired Shower head was leaking badly, water every where but receptionist gave me a new shower head -OK Toilet was obviously needing some kind of Chemical treatment eg heavy dark Lime scale ! If someone came to my house and saw that I would be ashamed, I mentioned this to receptionist and her reply was we are not allowed to use bleach any more, to which I replyed how do other Hotels manage to keep the toilets clean then. I could get a Travelodge or Days Inn etc for similar price and you could almost garantee they would be in better shape The attraction for me was it was close to what I came for.

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    Clean, slept well and friendly staff, I would use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cooked breakfast

    Stayed here as a stop over from north to south as was half way. Ideal location from M5, easy to find and ample free parking even though we arrived late in the evening. Receptionist was very pleasant and made us feel welcome. Room basic but for £45 including breakfast was perfect to just get our heads down. Slept well, went for breakfast which again was basic but adequate (cereal, fruit, yogurt, toast, crumpets with all the needed trimmings).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.3
    It really was more than fine and much better than a lot of the Travelodge/Premier Inn I've stayed at
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's just a bit tired but this is reflected in the price.

    For the price I was expecting the worst but it far exceeded my expectations. Large clean room with TV and Tea/Coffee. Decent bar and bar food served until 9pm. Easy to find from the motorway, just a few miles from Bristol city centre and plenty of parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    Acceptable (the better side of) one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like many properties at the moment the high temperatures have made it quite warm at night.

    Friendly and helpful reception, the property was a little dated but it was clean and presentable with a good size car park. Comfy beds , we had a number of rooms, all to a good standard. Family rooms had good space. Did not use the Resturant but it looked cared for and presentable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.3
    1st stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of bathroom was poor. No children’s menu available in bar area. Workmen sat by entrance smoking and drinking, off putting as a female travelling with children.

    Value for money Convenient location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.4
    Old fashioned and dated.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned and dated. Didn't have most of the food and driink we asked for in the evening.Spent the afternoon in the pub next door. Building felt dead, dark and dingy. Staff were ok. But not great. Really needs to have a overal inside and out. Bathroom was not to good. Doors dreadful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Would use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather soulless hotel that could do with updating. But met all the requirements of a comfortable nights stay.

    Comfortable bed with a perfectly adequate breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    3.8
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed looked clean but we didn't stay,smelt musty,place looked like it needed a good clean , carpets were stained and dated the window was small and looked out into a roof top and the whole room was like a prison cell.The bathroom needed refurbish and the shower replacing Felt like we didn't want to use it. Reminded us of a place were workmen would stay Reviews are misleading and photos are not a true reflection of how the place looks Altogether a very disappointing and experience as we left even though we had paid and found better accommodation This is the first time we have ever found one of your recommendations not up to standard

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    4.2
    The exit sign on the car park
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar food should have been served from 6 00 pm. I went down for food at 6 15 but the staff had not turned up. I ended up in the pub next door which was open for food all day hence I would not have had to wait till 6 00. Could not shower properly as the showerhead would not stay on it's holder. The ceiling lights did not work and the carpet was filthy.

    The exit sign on the car park

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    4.2
    The best part was the pub next door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was basic, the tea/coffee making facilities were minimal with a tiny kettle, the bathroom was not very hygienic (stains on the walls) and the "Continental Breakfast" looked like it was prepared by a 12 year old.

    We particularly enjoyed checking out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    4.2
    Was ok for a one night stay but lacked facilities. Staff were pleasant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of menu options at evening meal. Only 5 types of curries available. Bathroom was not 100% clean and the room smelt fusty. Furniture was old and dated. Window to room was not secure as locks were broken.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous value for money & lovely helpful staff.Close to motorway junction &The Mall @Cribbs Cause
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection in the rooms, although there is free internet in the foyer and bar area

    Welcoming, homely and inviting. Yvonne and the manager Sian are so warm and friendly, nothing being too much trouble. Restaurant and bar facilities available but also within 2min walking distance from local pub which also serves homemade food and real ales until later in the evening.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.5
    Good value for money, close to the motorway and staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If there are two of you you'll need to look in a zip up bag in the wardrobe for an extra towel !!

    Perfectly acceptable for the price. Bed was really comfortable and everything was perfectly clean , if a bit dated. Staff were lovely. Breakfast was continental, which was to be expected for the price, but there was a good selection of breads, crumpets, cheeses and ham, yogurts plus cereals. Plenty of tea and coffee. Location was nice and quiet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    The location and price were good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although everything was in working order it felt a bit tired. The WIFI didn't work in all rooms.

    The location and price were good. It provides a good cheap no thrills stop over.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.8
    The purpose of our stay was to overnight and then move on. This happened.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities need to be updated. Also to access any wifi you need to go to the reception area or the bar. We chose to stay in and have a meal in the bar. This was very disappointing. There was only one towel that had been put out for us and then after checking the wardrobe for extra pillows that was where we found the second towel. Tea and coffee making facilities are not in easy sight, it was only in the morning that we saw them on a shelf under a small table. Breakfast was a little disappointing. Luke warm tea, the toaster coloured the bread but did not actually toast it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    Surprisingly comfortable for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Next time we'll have a downstairs room because there's no lift.

    A real bath in every room. A quiet room facing away from traffic noise. Good linen and comfortable bed. Good selection for a continental breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    3.8
    Only stay here if you don't have a choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Photos are very misleading, this place is extremely dated. Staff very grumpy. No wi-fi in the rooms, no fans or air conditioning. Rooms look out onto a building site

    Easy to get to from the motorway

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    Good location, the bed was comfortable and the room and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived the receptionist was rather rude. All other staff were polite and helpful.

    Good location, the bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our window was right on the car park so we constantly had our curtains closed. Had a hair in my breakfast, only continental breakfast wasn’t much choice

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    Graduation stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location just tricky, but wouldn't stop us staying there.

    Great value for money, stayed previously, clean, comfortable and enjoyable experience. Just a little tricky to get to. But didn't put us off! Would definately recommend, for families or anyone.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.7
    It's ok if you want a cheaper place to just be for a night or two.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Wifi in the rooms (although our room was so close to the exit that we had it). Some things outside the room weren't that clean (like curtains full of dust), and the breakfast, although it had most of the things we would expect, they were kind of poor. And no warm foods (sausages, eggs, etc).

    The staff was polite. The bathroom was good enough (although kinda dated). For the area, compared with the other places we saw, had an acceptable price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.4
    Location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is looking very tired- staff reflect the hotel condition - continental breakfast - all the items available from breakfast ‘buffet’ were obviously from ‘budget’ ranges. Bar only opens from 18.00 and food available was obviously microwave fodder! It’s a shame that the owners are not investing in what was once a great hotel in a great location!!!

    Location is great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    3.3
    Wouldn’t stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired hotel. Room was very dated and facilities old. Staff not very welcoming or even there on arrival meaning several people waiting around to check in. Very basic food available and not of a standard to be expected. Not value for money.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    4.2
    It did for a couple of nights
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy - one window boarded up ! - carpet in room I feared for my feet - shower was mixer tap ! Breakfast was as minimal as a Mondrian painting

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    Clean and tidy and good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the room could do with a make over and they should display the restaurant menu for the night for you look at before dining

    Large car park ,good shower and bed , and tv

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small.... high windows over looking a flat roof was awful. No air con.... Very old dated bathroom.. However clean

    Great staff.... comfortable bed.....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    Pleasantly surprised on ease of access, cleanliness, friendliness and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms need updating but were very clean and functional. The bar could have been better stocked. A cooked breakfast option would be nice (continental style only) but there was ample of it and for the price it was good value.

    Although dated, the hotel was very clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are in desperate need of updating but they were still very clean and well maintained. For the price, this was exceptional value for money. Just don't go expecting 4 or 5 stars and you will not be disappointed. Great location for those on a journey to Devon / Cornwall that need an overnight stopover.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.5
    Lost main lights to my room on last night due to another...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lost main lights to my room on last night due to another guest room fuse blowing my room fuse. Other guest room was fixed but I had to use a bedside light as it was not possible to fix my fuse, nor were there any spare rooms to offer me.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.3
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed here during a spell of hot weather - the room was hot and airless. Only one window opened and there was no air-con. Very uncomfortable at night as a result. Breakfast was OK but basic.

    Location. Staff friendly. Room and facilities OK - a little old-fashioned and in need of updating but all functioned as expected.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi fi only available at reception, supposed to be at the bar as well but I could not connect.

    For the price it was great. Bed was comfortable and the room had all the normal facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Almonds bury interchange experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place, pleasant staff and a peaceful stay. Close to Bristol and shopping but in a peaceful location

    Big comfy rooms, decent breakfast and plenty of parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.0
    Historic Ambience, or dated, take your pick.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1) on the ground floor with no security on the window, 29deg in room in hot spell and could not open a window for fear of theft. 2) for the price I did not expect an old, worn, dated and dirty room. 3) The shower head jumped out of the holder when used for the first time and soaked me and the room, high water pressure on a low water pressure shower head, I had to VERY gently tweak the taps open very slightly to make it work. 4) the bathroom fan did not take the heat out of the bathroom, if it worked? Nice people, shame about the decor etc.

    The hotel staff were freindly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    I would not return. There are quit a few things need to be updated or improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are very hot and smelly, WiFi connection is very poor that only can be used in the reception area, There is no hot breakfast neither. I have been on 20 days trip around Great Briton, this is the worst place I have never been.

    The location is convenient

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.0
    Cheap but not cheerful, Ants included
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not particularly friendly receptionist. Dated building. But ants included with evening meal!! Oh, and if I knew it was only continental breakfast, I wouldn't have booked it.(not obvious on Booking.com site). Would not repeat!

    Close to motorway

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location with easy access to the road system for the area. We'll run accommodation.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dreadful buffet breakfast of no quality : carbohydrate overloaded options, cheap processed cheese, sugary yoghurt, fibreless bread etc

    Very good bed for a quiet night's sleep. Plenty of parking space. Evening meal at the Swan our next door which has an excellent range of food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It looks good on the website, but when I arrived, I was shocked. Outdated, dirty carpets and room furniture. The whole place needs modernising. Nothing impressed me on the breakfast buffet. For the price you are charging, you could at least aim for what places like the Travelode are doing. Thank you

    staff were polite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    Convenient but lacking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very basic,carpets definitely need replacing very stained and dirty.and cleaning not up to standard

    Location to M5 and Thornbury which is well worth a visit.Staff very friendly and told us of local places to visit including Severn Bridge

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.2
    Uncomfortable nights and room too hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee mugs were dirty with brown coffee rings inside, as though they had been used and not washed them. The carpets were old and dirty, I woke up with blocked nostrils and was sneezing whenever I was in the rooms, but felt better and decongested outside the premises. The 3 rooms we booked were poor ventilated and very hot, whilst other rooms were cooler. We had to ask for fans to try and cool ourselves, as it was difficult to sleep at night. They said breakfast is included, but never Specified that it was not full English breakfast

    The location was good and the staff were friendly. The bed linen was clean as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant and relaxing ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was only cold meats and kids cheeses. The bar food menu again only catered to children.

    The hotel was quaint almost a step back in time. The staff were all friendly and chatty it was very comfortable and familiar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    Good for a simple nights stopover
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no aircon in the room at all which was incredibly unfortunate as the temperature was around 30°C over that week. It may have been helpful to inform us in advance of the no aircon so that we may have brought our own appliances to supplement. I would have had no problem with doing that as it was extremely hot in the room even with the window wide open.

    Staff were polite and informative. Very welcoming. Nothing to fault service wise. Apart from the air con, it was exactly as expected for the price. All in all, comfortable stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.8
    great location for us, but you get what you pay for!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist must have had a bad day, bit grumpy when we arrived...Breakfast is very odd! Left to get on with it, no one says good morning, actually did't see anyone. Breakfast quality itself is very dated as with the decor of the place...also, where do you go now that you pay for your stay when you check in!

    location, The Swan pub next door has good food and service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Bed very comfortable and had a good night's sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated room decor and bathroom needs all renewing, which is why it doesn't look particularly clean.

    Bed very comfortable and had a good night's sleep. It was peaceful too. Room itself was fine. Breakfast had plenty of options other than a cooked breakfast. Included gluten free cereal and bread. Staff very helpful - provided small jug of fresh milk on request in tbe evening as sachet milk in the room is horrid! Location just off the M4 M5 interchange is perfect. Plenty of parking space. Extremely reasonable price so very good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.5
    Helpful staff and convenient for M4/M5 junction but breakfast was a disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room had no towels and although the helpful staff provided these for me I arrived in the early hours of the morning planning to get a few hours sleep and this delayed my rest. The room price included breakfast but this was 'continental'. the choice was limited and included processed cheese slices (the type used on burgers), processed ham, processed cheese triangles, toast (cook it yourself), cereals, small croissants, fruit juices and low fat high sugar content yogurts. I didn't enjoy the breakfast and although the information did not state full English breakfast my expectations were not met.

    Very convenient for Bristol, M4 and M5. 24 hour Reception. Helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    It was excellent
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly they coukd not provide dinner or bar as there had been a death in the famiky of the chef. One cannot blame the hotel for this.

    The people were extremely helpful and welcoming and jolly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Friendly and trustworthy staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is dated, however it is what it is. Good location with the pub being next door. Breakfast was awful... Not much choice at all If I was to recommend anything it would be spend the money on the breakfast rather than the decor.

    Friendly and trustworthy staff. i left my iPad in my room they rang me and held it in the safe for me. Lovely staff. The bath was hot and was perfect after a long day the bed was extremely comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    The staff were very helpful and welcoming.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was just the nearness to the main road and the heavy traffic that woke me up ( I live in a quiet village) If the room had not been adjoining the road I am sure it would have been quieter

    The staff were very helpful and welcoming. The food was OK, the room was OK. Parking was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    4.2
    Fancy a short stay in the worst of the 1970's?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside was far from welcoming. The hotel reception was dirty and again not welcoming. The room was in need of decoration and updating from the 1970's, the windows had died and mould on them, the toilet bowl had not been cleaned we had to ask for some bleach to make it usable. We did not fan y the idea of eating in the 70's restaurant so when next door to the Swan Inn. Breakfast was supposed to be a continental. Do not continue to represent this hotel.

    It was easy to find.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    4.2
    The whole place needs revamping very dated , the rooms had a...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place needs revamping very dated , the rooms had a stale smell , noisy from traffic , receptionist didn’t smile , when we arrived the Asda internet shop was being delivered dropping off frozen pizzas , and yes it was pizza on the menu in the restaurant that night !!! Also breakfast is only continental. Wouldn’t comeback

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is dated and in need of a revamp - stuck in the era it was built in but there is a lot of potential - the staircase into Reception could be decorated and modernised for effect as it leads down from the upper staircase on a slight twist. The dining area is dark,drab and dreary and the Continental breakfast unappetising - the Hotel Inspector Alex Polizzi would have a field day 'im sure.. The bathroom is well worn, the shower short of useless and the door opens onto you when using the convenience! I remember when it was built and it is a shame that it no longer holds the kind of status it had then. On the plus side it is convenient to the motorway and the ideal place for a stop over - but for us one night was enough and we wouldn't rush back.

    The fact that we could open the window to let in some air as stayed on a very hot day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Price, parking and bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very hot. No fan or air conditioning. Shower flow was weak.

    Price, parking and bed was comfy. All the usual room facilities such as TV, kettle, ensuite shower /toilet abd breakfast was included. Easy to find from the motorway.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Very clean and very good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little more dated than what I was expecting but great value for money.

    Very clean and very good value for money. Would defiantly stay again! Even had gluten free cereal and soy milk. Catered for all!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location for a stop en route was perfect. Next to pub with good food and a wide selection of games. Lots of choice at self-service breakfast and plenty of it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    excellent location with friendly staff and clean amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike apart from the shower didn't have any cold water. Both taps were boiling hot. 😄

    Staff very welcoming and helpful. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Very pleased will stay again.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have had more choice in terms of hot or continental.

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Bedrooms were clean and tidy and it’s nice to go to a hotel with a nice deep bath for a change.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Overall comfortable. Staff helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower did not have any pressure. More selection of meats for continental breakfast No tartar sauce for scampi.

    Yoghurts were nice as well as crossiants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    The bed was comfy, the staff were welcoming and helpful, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast did not feature a cooked breakfast, the shower was pathetic, the bathroom floor was creaky and the room smelled of socks

    The bed was comfy, the staff were welcoming and helpful, the bar was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    4.2
    Plenty of parking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived late (21.40) after a long day travelling, I opened the door to my room and it was like opening an oven door. In addition I was hit with a terrible smell. There was one small window that could be open to ventilate the room. THe smell of the room slowly disappeared but the heat in the room was terrible and no fan in sight.

    Plenty of parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.0
    Shocking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was dated, no hot water in room had to hold shower as hook was broken, there was a crack in the bath panel, the bed was like sleeping on a bouncy castle, the lady in the bar area clearly didn't want to be there and was just rude, when we asked if we could have a early breakfast or a take away one as we were leaving for the air port, we were told breakfast starts at 7, there is fruit bowl in the dining room shocking for they charge

    Check in was fine, and then leaving this place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    3.3
    To be avoided if possible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tired, smelly and dirty hotel. Unprofessional, rude staff. Below average breakfast. No wi-fi in the rooms. The room was not clean, with bits of carpet missing here and there. No mirror over sink. Dirty shower curtain. Definitely not good value for the money.

    Lots of free on-site parking

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: