Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ambassador Hotel

Centre Of The Esplanade, Scarborough, YO11 2AY, United Kingdom

#21 of 28 hotels in Scarborough

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3295 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.5
    the hotel doesnt know if it is a big high-end hotel or a family-run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was very disappointed to find I had to make my own tea at breakfast with a teabag in a mug and hot water from an urn. I wanted a pot of tea freshly made from a kettle. Broken bin in the bathroom. Tea and coffee box looking very tatty and loose lid. I did think the hotel was on the sea-front, but it is high up and there is a steep walk down to the sea.

    Comfortable beds. Good temperature in room - not too hot. Good storage - we didn't need it as we did just one night, but it was available and the furniture looked good. Lovely view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some parts of hotel could do with up dating but is a lovely hotel

    Lovely oldy world hotel has a lot of character very clean breakfast was excellent staff where amazing had problems getting our TV to work brought us another one nothing was a problem will be back again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    The location the sea view the breakfast the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't say that there was anything We didn't like. Some of the decoration was in need of re doing.unfortunately we had to change room from our sea view room to a back room due to rain pouring through the ceiling.

    The location the sea view the breakfast the staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi didn’t reach our room. Tv remote didn’t work and they didn’t have any others that did. Room was very cold and the heating didn’t turn on so we had to use an extra duvet. Also the cloreen in the pool was so strong we couldn’t stay down there for longer that ten mins.

    Staff were lovely. Facilities very clean. Room spacious and bed comfy. Breakfast was also lovely. Location was fantastic too. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and I would recommend it also.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    The place was ok staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small..no room to move about.no where to sit unless on the bed..Room was in Need of Up grade was Marks on the wall..Hairs on the bed..The whole place is in Need if a big make over..and that would make it better..

    The place was ok staff very friendly..Bathroom was good and very clean..The view is amazing over looking the bay..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.8
    Mostly enjoyable - Scarborough was central to where we wanted to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was NOT made up AT ALL on the Sunday!! Also no shelving in the bathroom made life difficult for storing toiletries.

    Good choice for breakfast. Receptionist on morning shift was very helpful with bus timetables and other info.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Had a relaxing break and felt catered for in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was on the small side and in need of sprucing up!

    Room was very spacious with a good view over the town and the sea. It was comfortable with plenty of storage. The tea-making facility was very useful. Clean towels were provided daily.Staff were very helpful and ready to answer any questions put to them.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    What a view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast finished very early, abit more of a lie in would of been nice.

    I asked to be moved rooms into a sea view room and I was pleasantly surprised with the room we received.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    the staff was not applicable because there was no Bar or...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the staff was not applicable because there was no Bar or Restaurant. I was very disappointed and it will play a major part of my decision, next time I visit Scarborough.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    Location great but hotel needs updating and breakfast needs improving.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food available at night had to order a dominos and another guest did the same, clearly a need there. The breakfast was very poor, you could tell it was done very cheaply. The rooms were clean but shabby. In need of some modernisation.

    Location was great, staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.6
    Pool and sauna was spot on although water was too cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior dated, was promised a room with sea view which didn't get, was promised a smart Tv which was just a tiny flat screen tv. Chose a large double bed where we got two singles put together. Very disappointed to be honest. Got a tiny room which was suppose to be family room.

    Pool and sauna was spot on although water was too cold. Location is a spot on.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    The room was lovely and comfortable and clean , all staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't get any food after breakfast. Just crisps etc. From a vending machine. No bar.

    The room was lovely and comfortable and clean , all staff were brilliant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.8
    Not much to write home about
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs a huge overall, a loud buzzing noise from a fan (?) woke us up on two occasions at around 4am and carried on on the second time for about 20 minutes..Bathroom could only be described as "institutional"....We were told we had been upgraded, if this was an upgrade we would like to see from what. considering the price we paid this was a huge disappointment...As said above the staff were lovely people and very helpful.......such a shame really because they and the visitors deserved much better.

    staff were great,friendly and very helpfull..the location was great and located in a quiet peaceful area

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.8
    Sorry I wouldn't stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sea view room was very basic. The bathroom was very small, the grouting was mouldy. You couldn't open the door fully as it hit the toilet. The shower over the bath was not very effective. The whole building needs updating and decorating.

    The staff were very helpful, polite and attempted to go the extra mile.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    4.2
    Glum. In desparate need of lick of paint and whole lot of TLC. Needs to do better. I won't be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff generally very unenthusiastic. Lift and a lot of other things were non functioning eg door code lock on entrance to pool and lights around pool area. Reception area was unclean and cluttered and not at all welcoming.

    Room was clean with a decent view and the bed was very comfortable. Bathroom clean with excellent shower and bath.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    4.2
    Tiny room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no nets on the window which throw the night let all the insects in.the room was tiny not good value for the money the coffee was instant but there was a fresh coffee machine in reception which the price was expensive. The seal around the small bath had mould around it. The breakfast was ok but the eggs where the smallest I've ever seen

    The view was beautiful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.1
    Lovely spacious bedroom with stunning seaviews
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property needs extensive tlc. Very faded and dilapidated. Old carpets, chipped paintwork, rickety lift. In its day it must have been very grand but sadly not now.

    Lovely spacious bedroom with stunning seaviews

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.0
    My stay was bloody awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleanliness, hairs on bed and in bathroom. The zen garden was covered in cigarette ends and discarded socks. No towels in the room when we arrived. Took till the next day to be given some. Breakfast served till 0930, but NOTHING available at 0900? Filthy mugs.

    The pleasantness of the staff. Asides from that there really was not anything likeable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Good location on seafront with plenty to see and do in Scarborough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly our room looked rather tired and dated. Corridor paintwork and lift buttons really needed cleaning too.

    Excellent location. Friendly helpful staff. Fabulous views from our room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.7
    Location and free parking nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bar or restaurant facilities within hotel only vending machines.

    Location and free parking nearby.Wet room appeared to be new.Also free breakfast was good.Overall fair value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    An enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could do with updating in places but good value for the price.

    Great value for money, given a free upgrade to a sea view room, comfortable bed, staff very pleasant, nice position on the Esplanade with a short walk into the town. Lovely breakfast and would certainly book this hotel again. It does have a swimming pool but unfortunately didn't have time to use it. Overall a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wetroom was not ideal as the whole of the bathroom became wet and slippery. The swimming pool was very cold - heating of it required.

    The breakfast was brilliant! I couldn’t believe it was included in the price! Room was comfortable. Booked on the same day - great value considering it was very last minute.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.9
    Overall a very pleasant experience, would certainly book again if we are in Scarborough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No evening meal or bar.

    Comfortable room with fantastic sea view.. Good breakfast. Swimming pool. Didn't see much of the staff, but the ones we saw were quite friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Pleasantly Surprised
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift worked when it felt like it not ideal for elderly guests

    Basic room but clean and well maintained. Pool was a nice little park, my son loved it. Breakfast was nice and location was perfect

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    4.6
    Not what I expected!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were allocated was not at all like the ones pictured. It was small, dark and depressing! The double bed was 2 seperate beds pushed together. We asked to be moved. The decor is also tired, with peeling paint and wallpaper. There is no bar, or evening meal facilities. It didn't have the feel of a Hotel, more like rooms with communal areas. Expensive for what you get.

    Although we didn't use the pool facilities they did look inviting. The self serve breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    5.4
    Not sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Constant humming noise in room 317, I couldn’t sleep for it

    Our room was fine but there was a constant humming from something I could sleep for it room 317

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom needed a good overhaul, It may have been cleaned but it felt grubby and the toilet made an horrendous noise. Not a room I wanted to stay in too long.

    The bed was comfy and large. The breakfast was excellent and nice to be able to help yourself. The swimming pool was nice to use with big towels provided, a locker and the warm showers were good too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    6.7
    Fantastic views, lovely breakfast
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar or food provided in the evening would do so much better, bedroom was unclean when we arrived but was upgraded straight away

    Fantastic views, lovely breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.9
    Clean Comfortable but the overall premises looks tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Calling it an hotel it is just a large B and B really TV kept losing picture could have a chest of drawers in the room

    The location and the room with the sea view

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.5
    We had a very relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double bed with the two singles needed to be connected as they came apart. The bath plug was not sealing and some of the jets in the shower head blocked.

    The room was nice and the sea view was relaxing. There was plenty of tea and coffee available and the staff were very helpful and they made you feel welcome.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    2.9
    As the hotel was not how it looked on booking.com our stay was not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything the carpets throughout the building was so dirty and stained all the lifts were dirty it ruined our break away which we were looking forward to as my husband has been ill

    The breakfast was the only thing we were happy with the room which the hotel gave us was so dirty we asked for another room which then had the shower curtain hanging on with just a few hooks there were stains on the carpet and the lifts were so dirty and we were so surprise to see that the spa room had only one changing room and no bath towels to use only hand towels

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    2.9
    Disappoint and a let down never again !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to like Breakfast was ok

    Awful got a 50% refund as it spoilt our weekend room was terrible damp and cold and really old fashioned. Reception staff rude Overall very disappointed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.7
    I doubt if we will be staying there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Somewhere to dry towels or at least something to put towels on. They were still wet the next morning when going in shower! The lift was out of acton for a day. Was glad I wasn't on the 4th floor with our son! Thought breakfast items could have been filled up without having to ask for items1

    Tea and coffee were filled up each day. The view was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No regulation of cold water to bath/shower. The water was scalding. Bedding too small for the bed. A sash window only opened by 3 inches, this was held open with a small block of wood. The pool had a lot of long hair in it.

    Location good, breakfast ok, free street parking. Sauna ok.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    4.6
    Spend your money elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and decor very shabby Breakfast was a farce. Many people arrived with 5 mins before the end of breakfast and told there’s just what’s left. No bacon - no beans - no fruit juice - no egg. People were not amused.

    It had availability

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    5.0
    £120 for a night and the curtains had stains all over them,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    £120 for a night and the curtains had stains all over them, and the overal decor of the room was dated and done to a poor standard, also the shower only worked with cold water. Grouting around bath was also filthy. £60 room maximum

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.9
    the location was great had a lovely view when stepping out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    advertised free wi-fi which was the reason we booked but couldn’t connect

    the location was great had a lovely view when stepping out of the hotel of the sea

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.7
    Nice room but let down by the bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was awful!. No shower screen so water went everywhere. No towel rail. No toilet roll holder the toilet roll was on top of the bin. No shelf to put toiletries on.

    Room nice. Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    3.8
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room with a view but the window had cheap tacky frosting on it so you couldn't look out and even if you could look out it was at a wall the bathroom had not been cleaned after the last people the tap dripped all night and there were two sets of towels which one set was damp so we put them into the dirty laundry bin that was blocking our room door also the bed had more springs coming through than zebity's underpants . The TV only worked when it wanted to . The toast was nice for breakfast but the bacon was like cardboard and you had to wait an age to get an egg that by the time they brought them out I was finished my breakfast I don't know if they were having a bad day but I would rather camp out on the beach than go back there

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.4
    Once a wonderful hotel but no more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure what happened to this hotel! Stayed here several years ago and it was fabulous. Now seems to be run on a shoe string! Bar removed no more music evenings room very dirty on arrival bath tide marks not cleaned, toilet had pooh on the porcelain! Tea and coffee tray filthy, kettle covered in dust. I rarely complain if ever but to see what was once a lovely clean hotel reduced to this state is sad. Needs new management team or at the very least some serious training and thought around service delivery. I rent out an appartment in Spain and would be mortified if clients turned up and it was in the same state as our hotel room here. Not acceptable...we will not be staying here again

    Location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    Location and ease of parking, reception staff friendly,...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a hairdryer and clean cups when staying for more than one night.

    Location and ease of parking, reception staff friendly, breakfast was excellent lots of choice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.3
    Comfy beds , adequate room, pleasant sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Public Bar Facilities !!! Having stayed here on a number occasions in the past - it came as quite a shock to discover that the Ambassador no longer has a bar / nor evening meal facilities !! - i would defiantly check this out before booking again !!!!

    Comfy beds , adequate room, pleasant sea view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.3
    The location was really good and lovely views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very misleading, the room was not what we expected and it was very small. We also requested a double bed and they put 2 singles together and it was very uncomfortable

    The location was really good and lovely views

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    4.2
    Not a good one
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is was very cold showers rubbish the room wasn't cleaned or madup on the second day the heating did not work morning staff miserable didn't take your plates away till you had finished your breakfast and leaving

    The breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    3.5
    We would not recommend the boutique hotel( boutique not)!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was disgusting whole hotel needs a complete overhaul, cracks in walls tiles filthy. Extremely dissapointing, if we hadn’t have already paid we would not have stayed!! Pool was cold, no bar no restaurant as stated on booking.com As for view disgusting bins and old barrels. No heating on 1st day.

    Not a lot

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.8
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of a really good clean & spruce up. Swimming pool very cold & in need of clean. Room & hall smelt of cigarettes

    Overall average. Location was good. View from front of hotel was good. Very near beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.0
    Very dissapointed and won't ever stay there again!!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View from window was a fire escape, very expensive, tired and the quality of food was poor. We couldn't connect to the Wifi. We stay in hotels for business 130 to 140 times a year, this is in the lower quartile!!!

    Really struggling to be positive about this hotel sadly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    4.2
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not how it looked in any picture, no bar even tho most pictures show wine or champagne, could hear tv from other rooms, not worth what I paid, eyes sore from chlorine in cold pool

    Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    4.2
    Nowhere near to our expectations of what the hotel was going to be , would not stay there again ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities offered on the hotel's web site were not correct ie. no bar , no restaurant and the jacuzzi was just some hydro therapy jets in the pool , not a separate unit . The room was cramped and in need of decorating , no information literature in the room , in general the hotel seemed very tired and not up to the specification implied in the web site . On a plus note the breakfast was ok , taken in a nice dining room and our room did have a good sea view . Would definitely not stay there again ..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.0
    Uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was awful. So uncomfortable you could feel every spring and it sunk in the middle. They also only provided a single paper thin pillow each. The room had an unpleasant drainage smell and the shower was only luke warm even though the tap was turned to hot as it could be.

    The lobby area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.7
    Great location and great rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leisure facilities weren’t great. The pool was too cold to use and the sauna was tiny. Check out was 10.30 which I thought was early for a bank holiday/weekend.

    We booked a sea view room which was huge with an enormous bed. Shower in the room was lovely. Good selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.7
    Ambassador
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was dirty, the quilt wasn't big enough for 2 people (since 2 beds are put together to make the double) and you can't control the heating in your own room.

    Fab location, staff were lovely and helpful, the pool and sauna facility was nice and the breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Loved the property, we booked as a last minute thing,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the property, we booked as a last minute thing, absolutely amazing views and value for money we got to use the pool and sauna with breakfast included. And the staff were extremely helpful. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.8
    nice position and lovely view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The worn drab corridors and carpets, the paint scrapes tatty decor in the bedroom, minimum input from staff and general absence of holiday feeling from the hotel.

    The position of the hotel with sea view was lovely and a very nice breakfast, the pool was nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Really enjoy they stay staff were lovely . Breakfast was lovely was very happy with the price .i
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit cool in room on a evening

    It was clean staff were very helpful and my husband said the breakfast was lovely enjoy the stay only thing was I had a cast on so disappointed cos I couldn’t use the pool . Will stay again .lovel views .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    One nights stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself was nice, but to be honest do not think it was worth the £152 i paid for one night. Do not know if it was because Brittany Spears was playing.

    The breakfast was lovely with the perfect view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.2
    Breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After returning from our night out we came back to find our room cover in water what looked like a leek from the room above water everywhere

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.3
    Nice hotel but could be far better for the money the Crown is far better for a little more money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little things not working TV remote,jacuzzi water damage on room ceiling, room was cold with ting heater, pool was far too small to swim

    Location and sea views

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.0
    The pictures do not reflect the actual place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More attention to decor and cleanliness.pool was very cold and burnt our eyes with the chlorine. I requested more pillows but did not receive them. Breakfast was slow to be replenished. No bar or food served after breakfast. We had to park at long way from hotel.

    Sea views were lovely and one of the housekeepers that had just started provided excellent customer service by bringing clean towels to our room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    4.6
    Will not return
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was no bar area for residents which is really very unusual. Also the rooms were not cleaned every day and were left half done on the days they were. The decor was also tired.

    the location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable but pricey for the room we had compared to our last stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price was £268 for 2 nights, we have stayed before in a large double room with 2 sea view bay windows which was exceptional I think it was room 208, this time we couldn't get same room due to high season so opted for family room 308 with 1 large double & a single although the large double turned out to be 2 singles put together & a separate standard double, the sea view we had to stand to see over the tops of the bay windows and they were old sash windows that were in need of attention. The pool was a little too cold for us to enjoy to the full.

    Breakfast was lovely plenty of choice, room was large, beds were clean & comfortable. Location of this excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    3.8
    Just used room for sleeping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift. No bed making are cleaning of the bathroom. Plus having too wait until 3.00pm for check in and then finding food in a cupboard plus no spare toilet paper.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice short break, in a nice area. Granddaughter loved the indoor pool. Friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel could do with a lick of paint ( it looks tired upstairs). Parking although close to the hotel, was very tight, saw some cars touching others when parking. Painted parking spaces on the road would be better.

    The location was nice . It was away from noise. Lovely views from there. Not far from the Spa, via the funicular railway ( 200 metres from the hotel, drops you down to the Spa level in 30 seconds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    4.6
    Rooms and facilities were basic and the beds were uncomfortable, check in was delayed and the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms and facilities were basic and the beds were uncomfortable, check in was delayed and the hotel seemed to be a little disorganised.

    Good location and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    4.2
    Good location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn’t clean. Disinterested staff at breakfast. Room and hotel itself in desperate need of an update. Our room was nothing like the pictures. We paid for a sea view but it looked over another block of flats. The outside space was left with empty cups, cigarette packets etc. through the duration of our stay. Did not seem to be anyone visibly overseeing the running of this hotel. Will not be going back.

    Good location . Friendly receptionist.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    3.3
    Probably nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s tired, unkept, unclean. There are definitely health and safety issues.... There is no restaurant despite what it states in their website..... All in all it’s a pretty grim place to stay!.... thank goodness it for only one night!! A sea view room is the third picture I’ve uploaded!!! Ugh! Broken tiles, electric shower bypassed and hooked up to the taps.

    Probably nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely weekend away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned lift. Use of keys rather than key cards. (Massive keyring)

    Graceful rooms with vaulted ceilings. Pool and spa were great. Staff very nice too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Very pleased wouldn’t hesitate to top at the ambassador again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large amount of hair in the shower drain which we had to clean before my wife would use the shower

    Breakfast was excellent and the location was brilliant for our stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    3.8
    The bedding and towels were clean (as they should be!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely small. The whole hotel needed a good clean and lick of paint. It was over priced. The breakfast was poor - I didn't even eat any of the cooked breakfast as it looked so unappetising. Very disappointed and won't be returning.

    The bedding and towels were clean (as they should be!)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.0
    Would not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Totally ripped off because of a concert being on in the town. Room really small. Could not keep up with the demand at breakfast, so there was always a wait for something. No hot water on the morning we checked out, so could not have a shower

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    3.8
    Awful-ridiculously overpriced for a dated box room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was dated and for the cost of £161 per night was completely ridiculously overpriced!Just a box room with a small window over looking the back of a sauna .Bed leaned to the right and was probably the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in.Not a chance I would stay here again..The Geordies in room 115 were screaming and shouting at 1 in the morning.Awful place to stay-avoid

    Meeting Dave the drummer from James-top guy!That was the only highlight of my stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.7
    The Ambassador could be better value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room was very expensive and the room looked nothing like the photos on booking.com. I was expecting "a lot" more from the room. The bedding didn't fit the quilt, the decor was shabby, the bathroom/ wet room had bits of mold and the toilet was dirty. The cups in the room had chips around the edges and the glasses in the bathroom were plastic cups! At breakfast the tables hadn't been cleared and there was a severe shortage of clean crockery and eating utensils. The corridors could also do with a new lick of paint as the walls look grubby. Such a shame.

    The location is fantastic and the staff are very happy and helpful. The parking facilities and swimming pool are great and the seating area outside the hotel and on the ground floor are very welcoming. If attending a concert at the Open Air Theatre there's also a bus that brings you back to the Esplanade for £2! Walk down to the beach in only 5 minutes...but a bit longer walking back up, ( it's steep.)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    2.9
    Apart from the above, the hotel was ok, but because of the above, I would not return. I really do no
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One day we were not left any shower towels. I asked if we could have some but, unfortunately, they were not replaced by the time we returned to our room later in the day. I even had to ask the girl to clean our sink in the bathroom, she said to me "is that bad"!!!!!

    Breakfast was very good, hot buy not frazzled.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    4.2
    Bad choice misled by photos on website and booking.com would not revisit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor staff attitudes, cobwebs in bathroom , all main areas are marked and dirty all doors and carpets are stained. Staff are young and seem to sit around chatting. Disabled ramp is very steep and shakey on one side

    Bed sheets were white cotton as were the towels

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.5
    Scarborough trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little tired which is reflected in the photos and the location is quite far from a lot of the towns amenities.

    They are clearly looking to upgrade a lot of the rooms as we had booked two and of them was more modern than the other. We loved the swimming pool and the breakfast was great. The staff made us feel welcome and even allowed us to eat a takeaway in the dining room.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Ambassador Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: