Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ambrose Hotel 3 stars

Duke Street, Barrow in Furness, LA14 1XT, United Kingdom

#20 of 32 hotels in Barrow in Furness

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 265 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.7
    Good position and easy to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Place was a bit tatty and run down but you get what you pay for and it was reasonably priced. The area is also a bit drab and run down.

    Room was clean and nicely set out. Staff very friendly. Parking excellent. Very close to pretty much everything in Barrow. Breakfast was nice with excellent poached eggs!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    A great stay in Barrow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A chair in the bedroom would be nice.

    We had a great stay at The Ambrose. The room was clean, the bed comfy.The staff all were very nice to us. Parking was fine. The bar is great and the customers friendly. The breakfast was great (the coffee is brilliant). We hope to stay again!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    A good budget hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very tired looking, needed decorating and the carpet was marked and looked dirty although it wasn't.

    Nice clean bedding, lovely towels. The staff were so friendly and helpful nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was very good, all round good value for money. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.3
    Value for money and a whole lot more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area! but lovely people in neighbourhood as if you have known them for a long time!!

    Great staff + breakfast + Saturday night entertainment! Superb singing Historical Dock - don't miss it! Lake Windermere just 30mins drive!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.8
    A great place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine.

    A really nice place to stay with great staff who were helpful and knowledgeable as to the area. They provided me with some great information as to on-going travel. The food was great, reasonably priced and the breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Barrow visit 7.8.18-9.8.18
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent customer service, welcome and help. Fab breakfast included and availability of cooked meals menu on site to pay after 5 was big help. Food fantastic. Can’t help you enough.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice clean hotel with good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place to stay however there was a fire alarm at 2.45am and we all had to get dressed and troop outside. The fire brigade came and found nothing. There was no apology or explanation from the staff. A discount would have been appropriate I think.

    Nice clean hotel with good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    It's noisy during the night as people's gathered at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's noisy during the night as people's gathered at the bar of the hotel ground level and shouted loudly. Other than that, the hotel service is fine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    Friendly accommodating staff made us and our pet feel not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with a shelf above the basin in the bathroom.

    Friendly accommodating staff made us and our pet feel not just welcome, but friends. Very dog friendly and able to advise us of good places to visit with our pet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Brilliant thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the music being so loud, and that we didn't know about this at the time of booking.

    Ruth was a fantastic employee, so helpful and had great customer service. Infact there wasn't a staff member you could fault for the care and hospitality.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Excellent budget hotel accommodation in Barrow-in-Furness town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The television in the room didn't seem to work - but this is a minor quibble when put into context with everything else that was good about the hotel.

    The Ambrose Hotel is great value-for-money accommodation in the centre of Barrow-in-Furness. It has good facilities, comfortable rooms, and a particularly welcoming public bar area. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated in a quiet and convenient part of Barrow-in Furness' town centre, a short walk from amenities, town centre shops, and the railway station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    A Hidden Gem!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't fault it at all!

    Brilliant experience - was upgraded to a massive family room for free which we found to be spotless and really comfortable. The complementary toiletries and excellent selection of biscuits were really nice touches. Breakfast the next morning was of a high quality and amazing value for money. There was also a wide selection to choose from at breakfast rather than continental only etc. All of the staff members were genuinely helpful and friendly. All in all, an excellent stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    2.9
    Entered room no place to hang clothes, dirty mattress's outside, left gave back key didnt stay yuk
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Remove the disgusting soiled mattresses from outside the room on the veranda (view from bedroom) no facility to hang clothes not even a peg on a door,

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.8
    The breakfast was great, staff were nice and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable. The location of my room, I was right above, what sounded like, a electric generator or air conditioning unit. Either way, it was very loud

    The breakfast was great, staff were nice and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Would recommend for a cheap stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was an average hotel stay, nothing really bad but like the hairdryer didn't work and shower was old etc. I'm sure they would've offered a replacement hairdryer etc so nothing worth complaining about to be fair but there's room for improvement.

    Booked the hotel last minute as an emergency stay (as in 10pm that night) so was chuffed to get a fair rate. The included breakfast was great and the staff seemed friendly too :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Other beds were not comfortable.

    Stay at Ambrose was good. Although location was a bit 30 mins drive from main lakes, our stay was comfortable. Breakfast was very good. Main bed was good. Dinner at 2 mins drive restaurant Dhabba was super delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.0
    Amazing and helpful
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    We went on an urgent visit,as a family member had collapsed on holiday ,while visiting the lakes, unfortunately they died, The hotel couldnt of been more helpful. we booked for overnight Saturday and arrived at 8am Sunday morning,after being at the hospital all night,hoping to get a couple of hours sleep before driving 3 hours home. They kindly changed the booking for us,to the booking being the Sunday night without asking or charging us,,so we could leave the Monday if we wanted, We didnt stay all day though ,we left during the afternoon as we needed to get home .In such an awful time ,the staff were outstanding in their service they offered us, This is exemplery customer service,and they are highly recommended, unfortunately we didnt pay much attention to our room or the other areas, to give a genuine mark on this, but Im sure it would of been brilliant as well, Very well done to the staff here on perfect customer service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had room facing Main Street, above pub so bit noisy outside at times.

    Convenient location near retail park with large Tesco Extra, McD, KFC, Vue cinema etc. Good price. Modern shower room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money but not a good nights sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't open all the windows and it was a very warm evening. The one window we did open meant there was a lot of evening noise of people being dropped off at near by residencies and early morning seagull noise. Black out curtains would have been nice.

    Friendly staff, value for money, especially the full English but shop around as we paid less than £60 for three people and another group of three paid £90. Easy check in and check out. Spacious and light rooms. Free car park. Accept dogs but we didn't take ours.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Quiet and comfortable stay in the heart of an Industrial area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpeted toilet surprised us. It would be better if there was mixer tap design for the bathroom sink.

    The English breakfast included in the booking, friendly staff. The family room was a great sized room for a group of 5 friends - there was a large flat screen TV, small fridge, coffee and biscuit supplies. It was also very quiet stay. Very convenient with Tesco extra 2 mins walk and other fast food chains.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    We will be using this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wallpaper was slightly damaged and the hairdryer didn't work. But nothing major.

    The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was lovely and served by happy, friendly staff. Car park just over the road for private use of hotel guests. Well stocked bar, with live music on weekend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.3
    Good pressure on the shower and clean carpet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mould in the shower room, cold water tap not working properly, no TV signal one night, the mattress in one of the beds was not fit for purpose.

    Good pressure on the shower and clean carpet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Great one night stay and free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Arrived at the hotel/pub and made very welcome. All staff are friendly and considerate. The room was clean, tidy and comfortable. The ensuite was very good with plenty hot water and a good shower. Entertainment at the evening was ok and finished by 11.20 which was good. Breakfast was brilliant all cooked to order and plenty, including cereal, fruit juice, cooked breakfast, toast and hot drinks. We would go again for the price we paid. Thank you to all staff. See you again hopefully.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    4.2
    Poor hotel in a terrible location - avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First off, please note that this is not a hotel. It is a pub with some rooms above it. More fitting of a B&B. I am being as honest as possible with this review to assist other potential travellers. We stayed here overnight on a Saturday night, knowing full well from the reviews that they have live music on a Friday and Saturday night. However, the music was that loud that it literally shook the bedroom floor (we stayed in room 5) and we could hear nearly all the words of each song. Even turning the TV up could not drown out the noise. The music also continued until 1.45am, which was far later than other reviews suggested. In between the music, there seemed to be a resident dog wandering the hallway which would not stop barking. The dog also started barking at 5am the next morning. When we walked into the pub, we waited almost 10 minutes for someone to check us in. The room itself was very basic and the double bed was two single beds pushed together. The shower was reasonable but despite there being soap dispensers in the bathroom for the sink and shower, these were all empty. The shower rail was also not attached to the wall and was suspended off the wall. We decided to give it a chance nonetheless and venture out into the town. There is nothing in the town and every other shop seems to be either closed down or boarded up. A great shame. We did discover a local Brewers Fayre around the corner that had a Premier Inn attached to it. We wished we would have stayed there. There is a local Travelodge and Premier Inn in this town, but sadly not much else. We wouldn’t stay here again and when we handed in the room key the next morning, we weren’t even asked about our stay. We couldn’t rate the breakfast as we were too scared to try it, given how grubby the whole place was downstairs the night before. Disappointed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.4
    Nice breakfast included in the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there seemed to be a nest of seagulls on the roof above our attic bedroom. This was very noisy throughout the night. Shower broken so couldn’t adjust temperature away from very hot.

    Nice breakfast included in the price. Spacious bedroom for 5 of us staying.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    4.6
    A room with a roof. Not sure I'll be back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room very small for the price compared to other hotels in the area. Bed not very comfortable and quite loud from both inside and outside the hotel.

    Great location for the Town Centre

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.1
    Great and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks like it’s on a council estate not quite what we were expecting but inside much better

    The staff very friendly clean rooms. Reasonably priced drinks good entertainment plenty to do in pub darts pool etc

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    When we got out of the car I worried about my choice in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As you pull into the street outside you may wonder where the heck you are, it's hardly glamorous. But this place is a gem in the middle of it all. Don't let looks be deceiving.

    When we got out of the car I worried about my choice in accommodation, we had my two nieces aged 11 and 8 with us. But from the moment we walked in I knew I need not have worried. The staff were so friendly and could not have done more for us. They were accommodating to us when we asked for an early breakfast, we said we would like it at 7.30am and as we walked in for breakfast at dead on 7.30am it was being served to our table. The rooms were lovely, and very clean. Really would recommend this place, the people who run it are lovely, and so too are the locals in the pub who made us feel very welcome. Thank you all very much.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    One night in Barrow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely friendly staff nothing too much trouble. I know it was only a one night stay but it was very enjoyable, breakfast was fab. Will definitely stay again when in the area

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.8
    Much better than I anticipated, great place to lay your head and a great breakfast the next day.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Door between the bar and the hotel rooms could do with a timed closing arm, to stop it slamming, but website makes it clear there is a working pub on site so expect a bit of noise but nothing that caused me any problems once I had my head on the very comfortable pillows.

    Staff exceptionally helpful, welcoming and friendly. Room comfortable, good quality sheets and towels and a better selection of biscuits that branded chains. Breakfast was a joy, lovely selection, catered to whatever your requirements were and unending supply of tea or coffee, good quality food and nice to see them filling up flasks for the construction workers who were staying there, or sending them out with takeaway cups full of tea or coffee. A very pleasant surprise, great value for money, don't expect the Ritz, but you will receive good service and be comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    My room was very nice the staff seemed very helpful,...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was live music, which is great ( a band playing) but meant that sleeping was not an option until 12:00am (I was really tired).It was not a problem in my case but the stairs are quite narrow and no lift

    My room was very nice the staff seemed very helpful, genuine kind and nice. You get served very quickly. Very good for parking. has a car park and street parking - no restrictions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Ambrose Exellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing not tk like .

    Good location to the town . The staff were excellent lovely clean comfortable room and bed . Also a very good breakfast would highly recommend .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.9
    Exellent weekend, for last minute decision, good hotel staff and breakfasts despite being local pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The accommodation is in a local pub which means you could be disturbed by music or pub activities

    We booked a last minute break over a bank holiday weekend and found Barrow clean and bright with beautiful flower displays in the town centre and on the roundabouts. The residents were open, friendly and helpful where ever we went and the Dock Museum is well worth a visit. We walk the beaches to both north and south Walney, and took the ferry trip to Piel Island and had very good meal there. Many parks and surprising walks especially along Walney Channel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.8
    Decent breakfast served quickly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was just above the bar and both nights were very noisy especially Sunday evening when the last party goer left the building at 2.30am we were in the family room (we had a child with us)

    Decent breakfast served quickly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.7
    Only stayed the one night and ince music had stopped slept well. Would stay again but only mid week
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No welcome on arrival, you lad didn't even say hello didn't explain breakfast process i.e. Times. Weren't told how to get to our rooms. Checkout process not explained. Although noise from live music in the bar was expected as explained in the details didn't expect it to be quite so loud. We were in a family room which was right over the area with the live music. Iron burns on carpets in both rooms we had booked.

    Located just outside town centre. Access to Lake District was good and not too far to drive meaning we could be outside tourist busy areas. Rooms were clean with hairdryer iron and plenty of tea coffee and milk. Service at breakfast was good and waitress very friendly and efficient

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.4
    Don't go there unless you have no other option
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Finding it was quite tricky.When I called reception to find out it's location there was no answer.I did eventually find out it's location after asking some locals.There is a fully functioning pub downstairs and there was loud music until midnight. It was quite hot and there is no air-conditioning.Interestingly the full amount is charged at checkin. if you have aged people taking heavy luggage don't even consider this place as there are no lifts.Dining options in Barrow in Furness are extremely limited too.

    The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Massive breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Massive breakfast. They do a good vegetarian breakfast. Proper coffee. Lovely down to earth friendly attentive staff. The hotel with pub on ground floor is in the middle of a council estate on the out skirts of Barrow town centre. It's a quiet area. On Saturday there is live music until midnight, place full of older locals having a quiet drink and chat. I could not hear music from my top floor room. Good WiFi. I was visiting a pal who does not have a spare bed. Other visitors seemed to be builders or others there on business. Place is very clean. Pint of Guinness just over £3. Feels safe and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Great value and enjoyable stay for all the family and our dog
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and spacious room, plenty of little extras:toiletries,biscuits and tea etc. Delicious breakfast and friendly staff. Hotel is friendly for our beloved pets.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    We had a fantastic stay with our dog.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a fantastic stay with our dog.it was very clean & food and staff were fantastic and very helpful and welcoming as were the locals will definitely be going back again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.9
    Clean and comfortable. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't be helped, the building exterior gave the wrong impression. A bit seedy

    Clean and fresh. Staff friendly Breakfast was lovely, personalised to your taste.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.5
    Probably good value for the money in relationship to other establishments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is an old building and the access to your bedrooms was through the public bar. It is probably one step up from a hostel. A number of minor repairs were required within the washroom

    Clean linen, comfortable bed. Staff excellent very obliging.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.6
    Good value stay in Barrow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very minor point considering the good points but the bathroom flooring could do with re-sealing but this is an aesthetic observation rather than complaint as the room was so clean, it shouldn't detract from the overall good review.

    The accommodation is better then expected - super clean, really good bedding and towels. Instant hot water. The staff are friendly and very helpful. We were on the top floor and the room was small but contains everything you need. If I hadn't been lazy and lived out of the suitcase (we were only there one night) there would have been ample storage for belongings. Overall pleased with this accommodation, and for the price we paid for B&B very good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.5
    Staff were lovely, room was big & clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the hairdryer didn't work & wasn't replaced. The breakfast cereals were out of date, which was a shame because the cooked breakfast was absolutely fine

    Staff were lovely, room was big & clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.5
    We will be back.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing much, don't expect the ritz, but do expect a comfortable clean basic hotel.

    Staff was excellent, as an example, there was an error with our payment, and it was resolved instantly, Great service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't realise it was a pub, the noise was a bit to loud but there was a sign to say it would be. The hotel was great and catered to our needs. 😀

    The breakfast was lovely and had everything we needed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    7.5
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were out late as I was taking night photo's and we had to ring a bell to get in late disturbing the landlady. A key to get in would have been nice, didn't like waking her.

    Nice hotel with friendly staff. Dog Friendly however when I asked that the dog not be put right next to my table where it was sniffing the table the staff politely asked the owners if they would mind moving it and set up a table for them a bit away from the other guests which was very nice of them. Don't get me wrong, I love dogs, but I would not let my dog sniff the tables and I don't expect to have other peoples dogs sniffing mine. Sorry if I offended the dogs owners, clearly I did by the comments, but I did appreciate your moving away. Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.5
    Staying at the Royal Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with the wifi being stronger to reach all of the rooms. Instead of just near the reception.

    Room is clean, staff are very helpful. Breakfast is very enjoyable. But due to my working hours I am unable to enjoy the hotel breakfast. Evening meals are excellent, but again due to my long working hours I am again unable to enjoy the hotel meals.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.5
    Location perfect for safari park, big family room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the live band downstairs, family room was directly above were the singer was could be distributing for younger children.

    Location perfect for safari park, big family room With comfortable beds. Good selection for breakfast, staff all friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    8.8
    Very spacious and comfortable family room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Saturday night entertainment a little loud in the room but to be fair, the hotel do warn guests that there's entertain on Fridays and Saturdays. Did not stop us dropping off to sleep.

    Very spacious and comfortable family room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower door doesn't shut properly, requires a little attention.

    Very friendly staff. Great to find a room for a family of 5. Really good breakfast in the mornings.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    9.2
    30 min drive from lake district
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing as such

    So you might some reviews about loud music playing until mid night but if you pick a quite room on 2nd floor maybe room 9 you won't hear much. We loved the hospitality of the staff. The room was clean and came with a boiler, tea, pressing iron and toiletries. Breakfast was good if you like a std English breakfast. WiFi was a bit slow in the evening but worked. If you can't get a hotel in lake district and dont mind driving down an hour away then this can be a good option to stay. The hotel has a free parking as well.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    5.8
    Ask for a quiet room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly I was given Room 4 which is right above the bar and snooker table. When I checked in I did inform the staff that I had a job interview the next day (awake at 6:45am) but is was so noisy downstairs I couldn't sleep until around 2am and didn't feel like packing my suit up and trying to move to another room. My previous stay was more acceptable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    5.8
    Poor
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is not very nice / middle of a council estate in what looked like a very run down part of town. Building badly in need of refurbishment. The window in my room did not close properly and I could hear most of what was going on in the bar below until midnight. Each to there own but I would not return and would advise anyone with a family not to book - I would not take children there in a million years!

    That my car was still there in the morning....! Staff very friendly

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    8.8
    Very clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little cold, but this is an old building with no radiators. There was a mobile heater which was a bit of a help.

    The staff are very friendly and can't do enough for you. Room is very clean with all the necessary for a night away.Breakfast was lovely freshly cooked full English or a choice of cereals.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    7.5
    The venue was really good a little noisey with live band on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The venue was really good a little noisey with live band on (Saturday night) and smokers in and out of backyard. If you could pick pub up and move it , even into middle of retail park it would be vast improvement

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    3.8
    Do not stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whole place was dirty Room smelt of mould Room roof leaked Bathroom was awful

    Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    Friendly and genuinely welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and genuinely welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice room and great friendly staff and the best English...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice room and great friendly staff and the best English breakfast I’ve had in years

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    3.5
    So noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So noisy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were friendly and couldnt do enough for us will definatly stay again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    The staff were very friendly and made us feel comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and made us feel comfortable and welcome

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    The best nights sleep I’ve had in years!! Staff very friendly and accommodating and the breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Lovely friendly staff. Lovely rooms to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Friendly staff, nicely cooked breakfast, rooms were clean and tidy, nicely prepared, provided clean towels etc. Rooms were also spacious and comfy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was a very good place to stay

    Very friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY, CLOSE TOEVERYTHING YOU NEED
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    The place was clean. the breakfast excellent, and the staff really friendly,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    our stay was excellent and we enjoyed the comforts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    middle of night bit noisy.

    The Food and service

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Reception very very friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Reception very very friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    nice big room with good shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    tv not working but didnt mind as didnt have time to watch it anyway.

    nice big room with good shower. nice breakfast,staff friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.9
    Friendly staff, good breakfast, location and parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No double bed, all single beds, TV not working

    Friendly staff, good breakfast, location and parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Will be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff very friendly and so kind. Excellent with children. Cooked breakfast in the morning was amazing even the evening meals were amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    good value for money breakfast included,,friendly staff and very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    not recommendable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    away from sightseeing sights

    friendly pub downstairs

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    This is my sceond time I have stayed at the Ambrose Hotel and I find it very pleasant thank you
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very nice and the staff were very pleasant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Friendly over night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and all in all I couldn't ask for more. Brilliant place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good price,friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: