Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Amsterdam Hotel 3 stars

11-12 Marine Parade, Kemptown, Brighton & Hove, BN2 1TL, United Kingdom

#32 of 60 hotels in Brighton & Hove

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1263 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Boutique Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't get to the hotel until 6pm and our room still wasn't ready even though check in is at 4. After a day of driving we were exhausted and just wanted to rest but we had to wait for 30 minutes while they finished our room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast items a bit stale.

    I have stayed at the Amsterdam several times. I like the friendliness of the staff and the consistent quality of the hotel. It is very well located for my purposes. I look forward to my next stay with confidence.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little noisey late at night, eveything else spot on.

    The position of the hotel was excellent near Beach, bars and restaurants....we paid extra for a sea view room, room was good and really cool when we had window open and bathroom window blew straight through. The only down side was could be noisey later at night especially on weekend when the resort becomes a lot more busy. Would not put me off staying there again thou.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bit more attention to the entrance needs a bit of TLC

    nice little hotel very clean inside staff very good little bit noisy from hotel next door but overall a nice place to stay and we would stay again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakfast , sliced bread for toast good quality but croissants were very doughy! Coffee a bit rough too, but would stay at the hotel again@

    I had the continental breakfast, limited choice of meats and cheeses but Ok, however the fruit looked tired! Partner paid £7.95 for cooked veggie breakfast which was good. Meals off the menu at other times excellent quality.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This first floor room had a great view but the noise from the adjacent night club was unbearable unfortunately and sustained until the early hours... relative to the cost (£120) this was a very disappointing nights stay....

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small and there were hardly any pillows for two people to sleep; one each. The £5 room service charge is slightly steep.

    The location was amazing, loved the shower/wet room bathroom design, bed was comfortable. The continental breakfast was great! The charge for a hot breakfast is a bit silly, would be better inclusive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very cute and comfortable however it was very dusty in places but Not filthy! and didn't look like have been hoovered or swept however the view from balcony was amazing would definitely stay again

    Sea view was amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn’t have its own bar so no late night drink unless the bar/restaurant it’s attached too is busy There is no big wheel in front of it as pictures suggest

    It was clean and good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning in the room, the only option was to open the balcony window onto a busy street below. However ear plugs were provided.

    The continental breakfast was spot on and the shower was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff where appalling. Especially the assistant manager. Very rude. We were promised parking and there was none. They way they treated us from our arrival ruined the entire weekend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plug in bathroom sink didn’t work and the tv had no signal. Also the fruit served at breakfast was not fresh.

    Lovely hotel. Room was lovely and sea view amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, helpful staff, clean comfortable room. Function I attended there was well run. We stayed for Sunday lunch following day which was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is quite poor, and the room was really noisy as there is a club underneath.

    The placement of the hotel and the views from the room - we got a seaview room and we had just infront the Brighton Pier which is beautiful. Bed was confortable and room big enough. I wouldn't mind to stay again if I come back to Brighton with nightlife plans.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Penthouse Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar and the staff in the bar and manager, shouting and giving abuse to us for no reason. When i said i felt unsafe to stay the hotel said pack and leave. At 1am in the morning totally a horrible experience

    The room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking isn't ideal, I purchased a daily permit from reception and the person on duty marked on a map where I could park. Only to find I had been given a ticket although the road was within the area he had advised. This was disappointing :(

    The hotel was in a great location and was perfect for what we needed and was very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was next to a room that was being freshly painted. The heating wasnt working. Matress didnt fit the bed. When complained i got told told it was my own fault for booking a basic room.

    Right by the sea front

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With great location does come with some downfalls -limited and expensive parking -really nosy all night especially between 3am -8am (guests coming back or walking by , bins being emptied , traffic, emergency sirens) - I personally feel quite pricey, £350+ for three nights which didn't include a cooked breakfast. -

    -Location was great, -easy walking distance for the pier, amusements, restaurants , shops bars and clubs. -comfy beds (need more pillars though) - very basic but clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a new shower, no water pressure & shower head way to high. Only let down of our stay

    Rooms were bright & airy. Staff all very friendly. Bed comfortable, had good night sleep

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillow too hard and a little lumpy.

    Bathroom area with walk-in shower spacious. Furniture unusual. Room, although small, very well equipped. Good lighting. Thick towels. Good quality bedding. Even provided ear-plugs although room not facing the street. Excellent cooked breakfast for the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower only had one temperature Hot, and a bit noisy from bar below (but the hotel does supply ear plugs on a daily basis.

    Location on seafront had a lovely view of pier, room large and clean. Bed comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the key issue was the times the restaurant was open for food, last orders were 7.30pm and Breakfast did not start until 8am, as I was there on business I was not able to have the breakfast i paid for as I had to leave before it started, so worth knowing

    all good and staff very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked 4 nights left after 1. Very loud road noise and noise from room above. No drawers and tiny wardrobe, poor flushing of toilet and cold tap ran hot.Hot room.

    Location close to beach. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a bit expensive for what is on offer, but the staff are very pleasant overall. The breakfast was mediocre at best. The fellow in charge of the restaurant bit seems to get a bit hysterical.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the menu and paperwork left was very manky, the wooden furniture could do with a thorough clean and the full ash tray on the terrace wasn't too great but everything else was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small, not worth £99.00. Awful/shirking view from window, no parking had to park 10 mins away in NCP which was ok for work but not pleasure. Breakfast not served until 8am so not able to have any even though I paid for it as I had an early start. TV signal kept dropping out so lost picture a few times.

    Location good to walk into Brighton.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being above a night club, the cleanliness was awful receipts from March 31st in the room on 11th April. Nail clippings on the floor dust everywhere and the tv did not work, the bathroom floor squeeked so loudly you could hear it from outside the room. When we spoke to the gent on reception he offer no genuine apology and was grinning like it was funny. As soon as we left he went to check would be interesting to see what he thought The night club went on till 3am then cleaning team with jet washes started at 8am.

    The location was great apart from being above a night club which is not mentioned anywhere on the website

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite small and our room overlooked backs of properties.

    Rooms decorated well, secure and relatively quite considering the central location. Rooms looked recently upgraded. Very clean and sea front central location was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit dusty, no toilet paper replacement on the second day. Breakfast could have more options

    Location is fantastic! Lots to do around, right by the pier and sea life centre. Great value for money. Room cleaning daily

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Wifi unfortunately did not work in my room (I was located on the top floor), unless I was stood directly next to the door. The shower in my room was also fairly weak and either really hot or really cold.

    Great location for the price, nice clean spacious room, plenty of clean towels and options for tea, coffee, decaff, sugar or sweetener, hot chocolate etc. Also offering earplugs was a nice extra considering how close to the city centre the hotel was located.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been good to have French bread to compliment the excellent cheeses and meats served for the continental breakfast

    The location was ideal ... close to all the attractions Parking, although not provided , a voucher could be bought at reception All the staff were friendly and helpful Our room had a sea view and breakfast was served looking out towards the pier

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was due to stay in a boutique double room with balcony sea view to celebrate my wedding anniversary. After driving around Brighton for 40 minutes to find a parking space we walked a long way with our bags to get there. We were charged the full amount before even stepped into the room. When we arrived in the room my wife and I were disgusted in what we experienced. Over powering stench of strong bleach met us as we entered the room. The worst part was the bedding. The sheets were filthy with a large brown/red and yellow stains on them and also on the mattress. When we complained the man in reception he could not care less. We showed him the photo of the sheet and he told us he would just turn the mattress over!! We were then shown two other basic rooms and to our disgust the bedding was also filthy with one having a hole in the sheets. It was so unpleasant we decided that we were not comfortable in staying at this hotel and it put a real downer on our weekend after travelling over a 100 miles to get there. The staff told us that many drug addicts have been housed here paid for by the council and they have left the rooms in a terrible state and are having a ‘nightmare’. Price for this room was £154. Stay well away.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disco under our room! Couldn’t sleep at all

    We had a room with sea vue witch was nice, room was nice and clean unfortunately was on top of the bar and no one told us there will be a disco at night. The whole room was buzzing with music, we couldn’t sleep or watch tv. Very disappointed.Never again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room for the price with no view. Would question whether bed was large double! £129 for small room at back of hotel just seems a little too expensive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi is a but weak, its a difficult building in that respect and parking is not for the faint hearted but that's Brighton, no fault of the hotel's....they provide day permits for on street parking that you pay for and they fill them in for you, excellent service!!

    Lovely big room, great bed so slept well, we were on the 3rd floor so no noise problems at all. Very clean efficient bathroom, plenty of hot water! The hotel is in an old building so has its quirks but that's to be expected, we loved it! Staff were brilliant especially the guys on reception and the cheerful ladies cleaning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bar advertised an ale however didn't have any ale on tap

    bed was comfy, room was impressively well sound proofed, that or it was quiet due to the room being out of the way, fun labyrinth of a place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    wasn't told about renovations going on within the hotel, in fact the room next door so was very noisy during the day when we needed to catch up on sleep.

    good location, parking was cheap and easy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noises as near main road. Understandable I guess. Had a problem with noise from a left on extractor fan .room nextdour.

    Harry Ramsden resterant close by.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and bar staff were absolutely lovely. Drinks and food very reasonably priced! Had a fab Sunday lunch. Room a little small but had everything we needed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv in our room was hanging off the wall, the windows were really hard to open, there was no way of controlling the heat in our room.. the toilet seat had what looked like shower gel all over it.

    Bed was comfy and the towels were nice an big

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv and lights would just turn off and on again. Went to ring down to reception as it was late at night and the phone in the room didn’t work.

    Bed was super comfy and loved the room. Breakfast only continental but ok. Location and staff fantastic! Will most definitely return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was a bit tired. My main problem was noise from the bar on Friday and Saturday till midnight, but there are probably quieter rooms if you book early enough and ask. There were earplugs in the room!!

    The staff were lovely, the location superb, and we loved sitting having a great breakfast looking out at the sea. The room had a kettle and tea, coffee (including decaf) and hot chocolate. Shower gel and soap provided. Iron and ironing board. There was a lift. Beds comfy. We had a nice lunch there, but you're also seconds from coffee shops and restaurants. Brighton is a great place to visit with unique shops and the Pavilion which is worth paying to go in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the bar and karaoke until the early hours. We were moved to a lessor room however the noise from slamming doors and other rooms was horrendous. If I had known the original room I had booked was above a karaoke bar I would not have booked and I was disappointed with the standard double room we were moved to. A member of staff said all hotels are like this in Brighton but afain we didn’t know and there is nothing about this noise at the time of booking. Very disappointed

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was very dusty on floor board my socks were covers with dust and everywhere else there were covers dust on desk n top of door frame and on top of wooden board behind bed where the coffee/tea tray is. Hopefully next time we stay there will be improvement of cleaning staff doing the job properly to make it spot on clean.

    Our stay was lovely and room was very nice n tidy and it is different very nice room, we enjoyed good time in Brighton and Breakfast was perfect we enjoyed that, and we had good time in hotel bar with live music on Saturday night. we would come again stay at this Hotel was perfect spot near to pier n close to town shops n pubs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Penthouse Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise during the night. To be expected maybe on a Saturday night with a night club next door.

    Everything in the room was great, very spacious large 4 poster bed, excellent sea views.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't wish for a better location along the seafront. Amazing sea view room with a huge balcony. Friendly polite staff. Can't really fault this place at all.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldn’t recommend this hotel to anybody

    Only thing good about our stay was location toilets were disgusting no double glazing very noisy were supplied earplugs very falls appetising on the website they are using only the very expensive sweet Wouldn’t recommend this hotel to anybody

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next door to a nightclub that shuts at 3am - it didn’t bother us but can be a bit loud

    Wonderful sea view overlooking Brighton pier and the central location only 5 mins walk to the Lanes and landmarks

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a Dislike, just an observation. Parking not on site but was very easily arranged upon check-in and still very close to Hotel.

    Warm comfy room. Very friendly staff. Location perfect. So close to all amenities that car not needed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only issue was that the breakfast was a bit boring, no boiled eggs and all cleared away by 10am even though the voucher said 10:30am.

    A wonderful room overlooking the sea, and we got a spectacular murmuration of starlings over the sea as the sun set over the pier. But what a lovely room and fantastic bed. Amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at front desk was smoking at the front door and he thought it was ok to laugh when I asked about reserve parking. We paid £16.00 for two days parking with a voucher provided from the hotel but spent over 2 hours looking for a space, therefore could not move the car to go exploring as we wouldn't get another space. We paid for breakfast which turned out to be a terrible display of cheese chunks and salami slices which had seen better days so we refused to eat it. The room was extremely hot so we couldn't sleep. It was noisy which we should have known as the room had earplugs for customers. Overall I would not recommend this hotel as it was more like a hostel. We will never return.

    The view was nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Please remember your female guests....a shower cap in the bathroom would have helped!

    The bed was very comfortable and the room was generally well-appointed. Reception and breakfast personnel were very helpful and extremely friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff dressed very scruffy and swearing! Took me an hour to park! Shower soaks toilet! If you use toilet less than 2 hours after shower you get wet feet and backside! If you don't move lights go off so don't bother reading a book.. Noise outside is awful! Travelodge is better at a quarter if the price.. Towels smelt like they had been taken from an old people's home!

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    With no double glazing the drunken fights outside the window on 2 of our 3 nights kept us awake, as did noise from other residents in the middle of the night. A fire alarm going off in the early hours was never explained and no one apologised. The breakfast was mediocre.

    The bed was comfy, the large room was clean, the towels were fluffy and large. The position was central.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit noisy in the morning due to road works. Was a bit disappointed with the view in room 26 after seeing the rooms online with the beach front view. But for £39 shouldn’t complain just would have been nice to see the beach!

    It was in a really good location, close to the beach front and the lanes! Friendly staff and easy to get in and out the hotel leaving late / coming back late. The rooms had everything we needed, plenty of towels extra pillows and tea / coffee. Comfy bed, nice powerful shower and mirrors!! Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    stinky room floor (raw bleech), tv did not work and staff unable to sort it out; however, they offered me a room swap.

    Lift, good location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Really friendly staff. Lovely room and a free upgrade to a sea facing room with private balcony. Fabulous shower. Amazing value, would definitely book again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little warm and I struggled to control it with radiator switches

    Rooms are clean and well presented and on this occasion I was offered a free upgrade to a sea view room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not clean, marks on duvet cover and bits on bathroom floor. All cups/glasses needed washing before use. Earplugs were provided and deffinitely needed. Very loud area but also no soundproofing in hotel. Our room overlooked the section in-between buildings which was filthy and looked like a slum. The breakfast room was dirty and breakfast was basic (that I can accept because of the hotel price).

    The room was okay, had everything in it you needed. Good tea/ coffee selection. Good size bathroom. Parking permits available and no issue finding a space.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast. Room lacked charm but comfy enough

    Nice staff. Good location. Not direct seaview Comfy little hotel but breakfast not great Overall good value hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    our only gripe would be as there is a club next door which we didn't have a problem with, staying on the sea front you expect some noise, until early hours then we realised how noisy it was windows only single glazed & one didn't close properly if windows better would have been completely fine,

    good location , staff friendly and hotel was clean & tidy, parking was £8.00 for 24 hours via a permit through the hotel which was good. we had a sea view room which we liked as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    quite noisy during the night- due to odd groups of people walking passed- if window left open! bin trucks came round 3 times to empty bins on road!!! ear plugs are provided! sliced fruit at breakfast quite dry -left out too long. I do prefer a bath- but walk-in shower adequate for 1 night!

    comfy beds. continental breakfast adequate. free upgrade to sea view room, good view of the pier- room 32, hotel didn't seem busy was January!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Boutique Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, but if you want a quiet night in at a weekend it can be noisy

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, with fantastic views.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel does not have its own car park. Finding parking near by is difficult. Street parking is free from 20:00 until 0900 but then can be expensive during the day.

    Loved the location right on the sea front

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn’t spectacular but it wasn’t too bad for what you pay.

    The bed was very comfy and everything we could have possibly needed was in the room!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the staff were lovely and really helpful, but there were some that didn't seem to care so much and weren't so friendly. This was a very small blot on what was otherwise a wonderful stay.

    The breakfast was perfectly adequate and the bed was super comfy. We loved the room and the location. We had a wonderful view of the pier. I loved the shower room as well!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked for 2 nights but wasn’t told the bar was closed on the second evening. With no where else to go in the hotel except the small reception area we had to spend the evening at another hotel bar. Bad communication.

    Receptionist was really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was below par. We were aware that it was a continental breakfast, but the quality of the food on offer needs to improve.

    The room was larger than expected, lovely and warm, bed was comfy and clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were pleasant and helpful. The room comfortable and clean. We were made to feel very welcome and the added Christmas cabaret in the Amsterdam Bar and Venue was excellent. We will return.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The uncomfortable bed!

    The staff were lovely, the room was very clean, amazing view of the pier, not too loud. Close to a lot of places, bed isn’t too comfortable unfortunately, other than that it’s all really good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our booking.com search included parking but when the booking was made we discovered no parking available on the premises and could only use nearby road parking with additional costs. Room so small there was a gap of approx 6 inches between the chair and the bed, making it difficult to move around. The inner door was propped open with a bedside table but as there was loud music coming from the bar and we needed to close the inner door for soundproofing so the table was then in the way. When using the walk in shower the water ran under the door onto the bedroom floor. And someone with a sense of humour left the windows wide open and the radiator switched off when it was 2 degrees outside!

    location was fine

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wasn't clear that it was a single bed. Pretty noisy, but not the hotel's fault. Bit pricey, but that's Brighton on the weekend.

    Clean and efficient. Room was nice, bathroom clean. Staff friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fab place but if you want to sleep I'd go elsewhere as noise from bar downstairs goes on till the small hours and could hear every move made in adjoining rooms .. having said that we had read other reviews so we're expecting some noise but didn't realise it would be that loud and go on for so long :-(

    Super comfy bed , fantastic location ,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We experienced a disturbance in the early hours of the morning from the room next to ours which prevented us from sleeping. We attempted to contact Reception by 'phone from our room but it was out of order, so, my Husband went downstairs to report the disturbance to the Night Porter. He agreed with my Husband that it was very noisey and would investiate and return to us. We had not heard anything from him by 1.30/1.40am and decided to go back to bed and try and get some rest. At 4.15am - having had very little sleep - the noise in the room had become increasingly irritating and louder. We decided to check-out. At. 4.45am we called at the Reception desk and waited until 5.00am to speak with and advise the Night Porter of our decision. He did not show. We left a note on the Reception Desk informing him and requesting a member of staff to contact us to discuss. Several days passed and we had not been contacted - so I sent an email. When we did receive a reply - it was very defensive and offered us a 'token gesture'. Why did the Night Porter not come back and tell us he was unable to assist and offer to move us to another room? We were given an explanation as to why there was such a disturbance and now fully understand. But I repeat, why did no one assist and/or move us? We had intended to shop and enjoy roaming around the streets of Brighton, but sadly feeling so utterly exhausted and disappointed returned home.

    The location and the cleanliness of the room and quality of the bed linen and towels were excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was great.

    Loved the atmosphere, the super friendly staff, the food was delicious and helpful with food allergies. Made us feel very welcome. Great location too. Thank you so much for everything, was the perfect little break away. :)

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: