Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Royal An Lochan 3 stars

Shore Road, Tighnabruaich, PA21 2BE, United Kingdom

#3 of 6 hotels in Tighnabruaich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 97 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is managed by a lovely family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower pressure was too low and it took over five minutes for the water to heat up.

    The hotel is managed by a lovely family. Jill and Greg were very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble for them, even to the point of requesting a mug of tea instead of small tea cups 😃. The view from the room was stunning and the area was very quiet. The chef did an excellent job in preparing the meals and was happy to meet our dietary requirements.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful location. Well appointed hotel. Breakfast could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited choice at breakfast. Previous reviews seem to indicate more but they were minus a permanent chef when we visited

    The view from the room was amazing and the ability to walk into Tighnabruiach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't make the visit longer.

    Tge location and views were amazing. The waitung staff were exceptionally friendly and attentive and the food we had was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, friendly hotel with good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had an en-suite bath but I didn't realise how much I'd miss a stand up shower.

    The food was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was only made up once in 3 days, would expect this daily, and our first 2 nights there was no chef so dining options were limited.

    Great views, friendly staff and nice big bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Super hosts with a lovely property in an amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn’t like, it was all fab.

    The host was lovely, we arrived late at night and they were so accommodating, making us some food after our long journey and being really pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    all staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome went...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome went the extra mile to accommodate my wife who had difficulty walking nothing was to much trouble will be back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant couple of nights. The new owners from Dunnunda should succeed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I suppose the public bar is a bit pokey, not sure I'd want to take a bar meal in here when you can overlook the Loch at sunset in the restaurant. But it is was it is.

    Good food, great location overlooking the Loch. Obliging staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    A magical place to stay. We’ll be back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The new owners have improvements to make and have a lot of great ideas. This place will only get better.

    New management made us feel very welcome indeed. The food was great and our room was well-appointed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.7
    Our stay coincided with the handover to new owners. Our comments are for the outgoing owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated room interior, needs upgrading. Food overpriced. Cooked breakfast rather meagre.

    Dining room location/views. Beautiful crispy white linen. Beautifully displayed food. Comfortable lounge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice for an overnight with good food, and very comfortable lounge to sit in after dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Décor could be slightly more current, but none the less still nice.

    Staff were very friendly and the location is perfect. Dinner in the evening was beautiful and priced accordingly. Breakfast was short on choice but very nice all the same. We had a bedroom facing the sea which on a nice day, I believe would be a beautiful view. We were unlucky that the weather wasn't too nice. We had the biggest bathroom ever with a wardrobe and dressing table in it!! It was big enough to fit! Room décor was slightly dated but clean and comfortable. I would go back if ever in the area again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely stay in a beautiful area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a beautiful situation in a small and very attractive bay looking towards Bute. The hotel was comfortable , nicely decorated and our room which had a sea view was lovely . It is an old hotel but the owners have given it a modern twist without spoiling the original features. We had a lovely evening meal too. All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful short break experience in an old fashioned comfortable and friendly way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Felt that the bathroom window needed a blind or frosted glass. Felt the net curtain was not sufficient privacy when the light was on but wonderful to have a bath as well as shower.

    Anything we needed was attended to swiftly. Food at dinner was wonderful but could have been better with some vegetables added.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    What a gem....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What a gem, Christine and Keith made us feel welcome from start and through out the stay. The hotel is situated close to the Loch, presenting beautiful views. The Pub is a part of the hotel and here it is possible to get some of the local ambiance. The restaurant is worth a visit, creating fine fine things from local products. We will definately be back, and it will not be 15 years this time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Our stay was very pleasant, the hotel is a good location for seeing around that area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like about this hotel.

    Liked the fact that they had breakfast specials as well as the usual cooked breakfast options. The food was amazing at every meal. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable and fab views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff a bit stretched. Stayed for dinner 1st night but it was not great value for money. Had langoustine and there was not much to eat.

    Room was very nice and very comfortable with a fantastic view looking over the Kyles. Breakfast was great with excellent selection

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.5
    Suited the location we wanted to tour round
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problem with cold water pressure on second floor. This meant we couldn't control the temperature of the shower which in turn was too hot to stand under.

    Suited the location we wanted to tour round

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay to enjoy the sea and the Kyles of Bute!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent hospitality, food, accommodation and views (while eating and sleeping)! The owners are charming, helpful and hospitable ~ you easily sense their sincerity and commitment to their role as hosts (and chef!).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    A beautiful place to get away from the usual hectic life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel was lovely, room was comfortable and clean just what we were looking for. The view was beautiful (once the weather cleared up). The food in the restaurant was delicious. The views from the room, restaurant and breakfast room were peaceful and relaxing. Just what we were looking for.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    Peaceful night but noisy bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small public bar which was noisy at times. If you want d a bar meal it wasn't the best environment and disappointing if staying at hotel

    Lovely room and bathroom and comfy bed . Staff very helpful and friendly. Good locations with sea views . Very comfortable lounge areas with plenty of seating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Long weekend at the Royal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Personally begrudge paying extra for a 'Sea View' - so I didn't.. Not that it mattered in this beautiful location. Just went and sat outside ( with the midges lol).

    Nicely decorated , very friendly Team , fantastic location. Well equipped rooms with little extras thought of . Would HIGHLY recommend

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    3.3
    Very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    The hotel was poor no lift no help from staff to get our luggage up to the top floor food and wine was over priced no alternative places to eat . We defiantly will not return to this hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    A little bit of Heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to improve on, just keep up the good work.

    The room was large and comfortable with a view of the sea. The bed was huge, the bathroom was big and had a bath and separate shower. It was very clean and the homemade shortbread that was provided daily was a lovely touch. The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome, nothing was to much trouble.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Excellent lochside hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - it was all excellent

    Fantastic location. Restaurant and bedrooms rooms overlooked the loch. Food was excellent using locally sourced ingredients. Nice comfortable lounge.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    Beautiful location and lovely food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning views and friendly staff who were only too happy to help. The food in the restaurant was excellent and beautifully presented. The full Scottish in the morning tasted as good as it looked.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    Best break ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What's not to like, can't fault anything.

    The fabulous views from the window, we booked a sea view and certainly not disappointed, lovely to sit in bed in the morning wth a cuppa watching the sea fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.5
    Food was excellent, but I would have liked eating the fish...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was excellent, but I would have liked eating the fish & chips ( bar menu) in the restaurant this was not allowed but there we go, suppose that was the rule

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.6
    A very comfortable hotel in a pictuesque setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only the weather!

    Very pleasant and helpful owners and staff. They are all well trained and go to a great deal of trouble to make guests happy.Good food and wine. Great location. Lovely room with a loch view.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    9.2
    Great Scottish short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Fantastic views, great rooms...could have happily spent the entire weekend relaxing in our room. breakfasts were very good too. All in all a lovely hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    8.8
    The owners and staff made themselves available at all times...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no shower in room 5, just a bath. There was no lift to first or second floor rooms

    The owners and staff made themselves available at all times and were very chatty and friendly. The food was really good. Immaculately clean. Lots of little touches like fresh bottled water and a sewing box on each floor for the bits you forgot.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Our room was lovely. We had no complaints.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our towels were still wet on the second morning so not very nice to try to dry with !our room was lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Lovely friendly hotel, great staff and magic breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely friendly hotel, great staff and magic breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Stunning location, good food, excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners and the staff were great ..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    A gem of a place that deserves wider recognition
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    First class staff, first class food, first class all round

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely new owners, who make you feel at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely new owners, who make you feel at home.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable room and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    A great night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great location and wonderfull hosts. And to top it off a great evening talking and drinking with the locals in the Shinty bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Relaxing and very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    The new owners and staff we so welcoming and attentive couldn't do enough for us delightful weekend break

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was lovely, the food was excellent and great value...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was lovely, the food was excellent and great value for money but for me the staff were the best part. Can’t I’ll not do enough for you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Enjoyable weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing

    There was nothing not to like about the property it is a fantastic property

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Very good and relaxing with good friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and attentive

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    Had great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No beans with breakfast and breakfast a little small for me.

    Art gallery

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.9
    Relaxing, restful and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communal stairway was a bit tired.

    BteKfast and dinner options good. Lounge very comfortable. Bathroom facilities excellent - particularly the bath.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing and great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soya milk

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Lovely food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather

    Lovely food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    We were well looked after. The rooms and service were great... and what a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service, rooms and food. The views are fantastic. Wifi worked throughout and attention to detail was evident

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    2ND TIME WE HAVE STAYED. WILL DEFINATELY RETURN. FANTASTIC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    FANTASTIC LOCATION. HOSTS ARE LOVELY PEOPLE. MAKE YOU FEEL MOST WELCOME. NOTHING TOO MUCH TROUBLE.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    Location and sympathetically updated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt more like a guest house than a hotel but this may be more attractive to others

    Location and sympathetically updated

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    Frosty welcome but redeemed by outstanding breakfast and thoughtful personal touches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome could have been friendlier.

    Breakfast was outstanding.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Great location and superb staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and superb staff. Excellent spot to explore the surrounding area. An excellent facility

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    5.4
    Very over priced for the location and accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small meal portions, break fast and evening meals.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    wjll definately be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All great.

    Top quality breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.5
    Great accommodation and lovely views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast waitress was a bit miserable and dinner in the bar was very good but the seating is not very comfortable.

    Fabulous room and views

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    6.7
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It just felt like the management was a little bit 'in charge' all of the time.

    The location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    A nice hotel with personal touch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wet weather but that's not hotels fault!

    The food

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.2
    For Seafood lovers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the best seafood I've ever eaten. The scallops with mussels and crab - amazing. Great views, quiet and very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.8
    Great location and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    External appearance

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast very good but evening meals were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very good but evening meals were excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic Easter break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was first class and service friendly and very attentive.owners certainly know how to run their hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Idyllic hotel location in unspoilt region of Scotland
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of food served. Personal interest of the staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.5
    Hotel needs updated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower never had a good enough flow. Didn't feel clean afterwards.

    Food was very good, service too. Beautiful views from hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    9.6
    Lovely relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View is fantastic

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.2
    Peace and tranquillity of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Peace and tranquillity of the hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    7.5
    Lovely position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit to quiet. Didn't like the way it was worded regarding corkage charge.

    Lovey sea view, food good, lovely breakfasts.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    6.7
    Good breakfast, served well
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having stayed at this hotel before and had an excellent experience, we were very disappointed with the quality of food and service at dinner. Overpriced. Room adequate.

    Good breakfast, served well

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    9.2
    Food was first class and location brilliant, superb views...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food was first class and location brilliant, superb views over the kyles from the room were worth the room rate value alone, absolutely magic! Old style bar within the hotel is a must visit, classic venue.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    9.6
    Delightful, comfortable stay with absolutely stunning views,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couldn't fault anything

    Delightful, comfortable stay with absolutely stunning views, the evening meal of seafood to start followed by lamb was delicious :)

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    10
    This is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately to facilitate breakfast service this hotel uses a back dark room for breakfast unless you are up early to use the lovely front sea view room. As the room was empty and service was not busy it was very disappointing for us to have to eat in this room when all the tables in the front room were empty. Please change this arrangement management as it spoils an otherwise great hotel.

    This is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in.It has a lovely lounge with comfy sofas and fires, loads of interesting books on the shelves to browse and a very comfy bed. The hotel has also has wonderful views of the kyles of bute. The hotel has the feeling of a home from home with very helpful and friendly staff. There was also a little yard round the back to store our bikes in.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    The lovely setting, our comfortable room and spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience only the Scottish weather which at times was showery.

    The lovely setting, our comfortable room and spacious bathroom. The view of the Kyles of Bute from our windows , our very pleasant hosts. The food was very enjoyable and nicely served.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    8.3
    Breakfast was first class, lots of nice touches in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I felt the manager was rather unfriendly and unapproachable. We did not eat in the hotel as I felt there was no atmospher in the hotel. The management, in my opinion, need to look at making the hotel more friendly. We ate in another hotel in the town and had to wait on a table, the place was busy and welcoming unlike the Royal Hotel. For this reason I would not return which is a pity as the hotel itself had so many good points.

    Breakfast was first class, lots of nice touches in the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    7.9
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We failed to enquire the location of our room. Result was we were on the second floor and there was no lift. We are both in our late seventies and found the 41 steps a bit of a struggle. Certainly gave us a bit of exercise though.

    The location. The owners welcome and commitment to to ensuring all was well.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    8.8
    Great location overlooking Kyles of Bute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location overlooking Kyles of Bute.Very clean and comfortable.Warm welcome from owners.Sea view room if you can is a good idea(room 3 was nice for us).King sized bed.Plenty of towels.A bath with over-shower to suit each of us.Nice beers and whiskies.Lovely lounge area.Easy parking outside.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2015

    10
    The experience from start to finish was fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was only able to stay one night because of my itinerary.

    The experience from start to finish was fantastic. The view from the hotel was breathtaking and a quick drink in the snug and cosy pub attached to the hotel was perfect after a long but wonderful drive. The food and the staff was both incredible. I look forward to visiting again. Great experience.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    7.5
    Nice size room
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    A bit worn round the edges

    Nice size room

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    8.8
    Friendly staff and excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff and excellent food.

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: