Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tormaukin Hotel 4 stars

Glendevon, Glendevon, FK14 7JY, United Kingdom

#2 of 4 hotels in Glendevon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 641 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Great small hotel with excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Stable Block
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was a little bit run down (but clean), but now has new owners so maybe this is something they are going to look at. Showers were not very good at all.

    Staff were very friendly and the food (dinner and breakfast) was exceptional. Especially great choice of menu for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely place with excellent food that will benefit significantly from service staff training.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Stable Block
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar and restaurant staff don’t work as a team and lack direction / leadership. Waiting times from being seated, eventually receiving a menu, and having to ask to place an order were painfully slow. Additional drinks were not offered, nor was dessert or coffee. The bill appeared without being requested, however. New starter staff seemed to be of a much better standard and things definitely improved during our stay. The new owners and management are committed to improving the service and were keen to discuss feedback. We were genuinely pleased to stay there and recognise this is very early in their ownership journey.

    New owner and reception staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating, switching our room and making us feel very welcome. Location was perfect for our running weekend and food was of a high standard with an excellent cooked breakfast and varied dinner menu and bar meal option.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely location excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight lack of information about breakfast times etc at check in, no towel rail or shelf in shower in bathroom but this is being picky

    Lovely room good hospitality tray large towels excellent food friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    3.8
    What a shame the former glory has faded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor welcome, receptionist was non-communicative and ‘didn’t know’ if we could have bar snacks. We have visited many times over several years and all stays have been good. New owners have taken over and the ‘dog-friendly’ policy has been extended to ‘dogs are more important than guests’. Food was great but, with the exception of David, none of the front of house staff had a clue. The owner’s dog barked at guests. Carpets in general areas and stairs to guest bedrooms were covered in dog hair. The service at breakfast was slow, juice and coffee weren’t replenished until a second request was made, staff passed by the buffet table without noticing the lack of basic supplies. A housekeeper knocked on our bedroom door to give us ‘a 15 minutes till you have to checkout’ warning... Another guest’s invoice was presented on checkout... All things considered, we’ve probably made our last visit.

    The anticipation of returning to an establishment we’ve stayed at many times before, for a birthday celebration... unfortunately, the anticipation was the best part.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.8
    Food was first class
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was 2 singles pushed together, which were on 2 different levels and shower had no pressure. Room backed on to noisy fans from kitchen.

    Food was first class

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    staff freindly good food well presented
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast bit dry first day lot better but got the order wrong second day, the walkway to our accomadation could do with tidying up & theirs was a bag of rubbish in the car park rear

    staff freindly good food well presented

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.1
    Excellent short stay location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Stable Block
    • Stayed 1 night

    tv was disfunctional but unnecessary anyway. mattress could have been firmer.

    meals were superb as was the coffee, staff were very helpful and cheerful accommodation was clean and fit for purpose.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    STUNNING LOCATION, CONVIVIAL STAFF AND COMFORTABLE ROOMS. HIGH QUALITY FOOD AND WONDERFUL ATMOSPHERE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    THERE WAS NOTHING ABOUT THIS PROPERTY THAT HAD A NEGATIVE EXPERIENCE ON MY STAY

    AMAZING LOCATION- VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL STAFF AND GREAT FOOD. WOULD LOVE TO STAY HERE AGAIN NEXT YEAR. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. REALLY HELPS YOU GET THE FULL FLAVOUR OF YOUR SCOTLAND EXPERIENCE

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Great Hotel close to Gleneagles
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel has just been taken over by the lovely Chloe and her family. They work hard to make sure your stay is extra special - its a lovely place to stay. We will all stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Loved everything, food was outstanding, staff were lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all!

    Loved everything, food was outstanding, staff were lovely and really helpful, very comfortable room and definitely great value for money. Definitely will be back!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    New place for us but well worth the visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wait for things like toast at breakfast. Sometimes waitress would make a journey to kitchen for individual items, repeated multiple times, when several items could have been dealt with on one journey.

    Bedroom was roomy and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    Would recommend to others but not if your looking for alternative local options for food and drink
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the location from a transport perspective. Limited taxi availability in nearest villages meant that someone had to frequently drive, but I guess that isn’t attributable directly to the hotel itself and a bi-product of the peacefully quiet surroundings

    Warm and friendly staff in nice surroundings. Decent “atmosphere” generally. Nice comfy beds

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Lovely country hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely quaint inn. We had very large bedroom with big comfy bed. Not modern but had complete range of extras in the room. Toiletries and tea/coffee and bottled water. Food in restaurant for evening meal and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Lovely quaint hotel with excellent evening cuisine served by extra friendly staff 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast my first morning was 2 poached eggs on toast which unfortunately were hard and no butter on the toast so it was very dry. Husbands 2 fried eggs were burnt too, then 2nd morning’s breakfast haggis was megga overcoooked making it uneatable but the rest of the breakfast was good. so a little more attention to detail on the breakfast and it will match the high standard of dinner. 😁

    Evening meal was amazing as usual and staff were all really lovely and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    A fantastic stay with freindly atmosphere and good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Stable Block
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed mattress needed turning we think as we felt like we were rolloingito the middle all night on both nights. Something you would reayonly know by sleeping on it.

    Our room smelt clean and fresh and the staff were very freindly and helpful, breakfast was amazing 😊

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    5.0
    SHOULD GET REFUND
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing in shower to hold shampoo etc our meal on monday night we could not eat steaks were off my my breakfast on tues morning felt as if it was on a hot for hours THE SMELL OF SEWRAGE AS YOU ENTERED THE HOTEL WAS UNREAL

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.1
    Very comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Stable Block
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surprisingly lacking in atmosphere. Seemed a bit tired. Attention to detail in public areas could be improved ie, seats in lounge eating area poor, front outside patio bare, would benefit hugely from some a few tubs/greenery and cigarette bins emptied. Wouldn't cost much.

    Very comfortable beds. Dog friendly room. Reception staff helpful and friendly. Food was very good, though portions small.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Gorgeous place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Stable Block
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a huge let down as the was literally no pressure with the water.

    The beautiful location and value for money. Plus was very homily in the bar area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Comfy, clean, and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Stable Block
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only slept and had breakfast and found nothing to complain about.

    Huge cooked breakfast, that did not reduce quality because of quantity. Supplied us with decaf tea, which a lot of larger hotels could not do.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    The staff were so friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was amazing. I have never tasted such fabulous lamb it was so tender that it melted in your mouth. Beautifully presented food. Delicious starters. It was cozy although the bed was a bit creaky and you couldn’t really have a shower because there was no shower wall fitting but we did have a shower hose attached to the claw foot bath. Overall a lovely experience and very reasonable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    4.2
    Disappointed we will not be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Guests with dogs took over the hotel even though there was an area dedicated for them. This meant us having to take our drinks upto our room as there was no where to relax without dogs. Room not cleaned during stay.

    The food was well presented and tasty

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.9
    Very comfortable stay.. bed comfy.. .towels big and clean...breakfast choice excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Stable Block
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't like the fact that room quite gloomy as window looked out on an alley way which is an access into the inn.. nothing can be done about this .. but would still stay again.

    staff friendly and breakfast very good...and although on a busy road.. pleasant to sit outside with a drink.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful country area with scenic approach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room wi-fi was non existent but you could access it fine in the Inn foyer. Although the dinner meal was extremely delicious, it was a bit expensive for more than one night's stay/visit and the drinks were expensive. Quite a bit of talking noise could be heard from the room next door (walls must be thin) but as I was tired and the bed comfy, I slept anyway.

    Beautiful country area with scenic approach. Lots of character in the building and its furnishings, and decorations are in-keeping with its style. The room above the Inn overlooking the road was spacious, very clean, comfortable and well equipped with a good-sized comfy bed, dressing table (with mirror), wardrobe and wall mirror. In general I find that mirrors are often forgotten about in guest rooms/accommodation. Very little road noise so was not a problem. Good ensuite shower and good tea and coffee facilities. Easy to find and on-site car park was conveniently located. The included breakfast was excellent and the dinner was delicious. The room tariff was exceptional value for money but the dinner menu (although extremely delicious) was quite expensive. The nature photography and in particular the 'hare' photos decorating the restaurant and bedroom were quite novel, interesting and very beautiful. The staff were very helpful with assisting in directions and places to visit. Could have stayed longer than two nights to explore the local area and walks. Would stay again at this inn for the character, comfort, food and friendliness. Would recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.8
    Good site but very let down by staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was absolutely Atrocious the servers had no idea moving us once after telling us to sit anywhere. Repeatedly bringing be wrong food - on the third day we gave up asking for toast and did not attend the breakfast on the last due to the poor service.

    Coffee

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Very nice country inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Lovely country Inn, very comfortable rooms. Friendly staff and excellent food. Location is excellent for walking, fishing or taking golf clubs for a wander.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    A great little inn with great breakfast and dinner in a central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was of the highest quality and better than most 5 star restaurants. The written menu however would not lead anyone to expect such great food as it failed to describe the real meal put before you.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable dog friendly hotel with great food.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Stable Block
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service was a bit slow.

    Relaxing, friendly and homely hotel. Dinner menu varied and our choice was delicious. Dog friendly MEANT dog friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.8
    Very average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed - the mattress was far too soft for us and probably an old one that needs changing.

    Average hotel in Glendevon - stayed for one night only as attending a wedding nearby. Found staff to be quite unhelpful really, but perhaps it was an issue with management as they seemed inflexible when asked questions. Very rigid with checkout time despite having no one on reception when we went down to do this after being asked to vacate our room. Cleaner was nowhere in sight if this is what they wanted to do. Food was pretty average as well (supposedly dinner is much better) and breakfast service was very slow. Old fashioned hotel overall.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.7
    Not bad but would not go back in a hurry, There are better alternatives.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Stable Block
    • Stayed 1 night

    Looked and felt like it needed a thorough clean. Staff clearly had little idea of what they were doing, and their WIFI does NOT reach every room.

    Location is gorgeous. Although I do not have a pet, it is pet friendly which is a useful thing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    Convenience and comfort at a reasonable price when visiting Glendevon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    As we were visiting friend who live nearby the pub/hotel was ideally located for this purpose. The room was spacious and comfortable however the en suite bathroom was a little cramped.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Really comfortable, value for money accomodation in a lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great room with a terrace to sit on. Large room, comfy bed, great bathroom. Well appointed. A lovely Inn with plenty of nooks to sit in and have a quiet drink or a cups. Food in restaurant is fabulous. Such good value and great to use as a base to visit the region

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    It was a very pleasant stay and we would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Stable Block
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been handy if there had been a shelf in the shower for the shower gel.

    The bed was very comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and very lavish.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    The ambience of a country pub but the service and style of a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains need to be blockout. A late night followed by early sunlight was not welcome

    The ambience of a country pub but the service and style of a city hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Would highly recommend wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was amazing a little out of the way perfect for walkers and very dog friendly the views were fantastic. Service at breakfast was slow but worth the wait staff very friendly and helpful would highly recommend and would love to go back x

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Definately stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the only small gripe was the length of time it took for breakfast, and refilling of things like milk, sugar, coffee etc. If you are not with a pet, just ask to stay in the main hotel.

    Excellent stay, great location and value for money. Would recommend and use again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed our short stay,except for the food & drink problems.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ran out of items on the menu in the restaurant on Saturday night.On Sunday afternoon my partner & her friend couldn't get a cup of tea because there was no hot water.Thought there would have been a kettle in the kitchen!.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Conveniently placed for walking the Ochils.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Stable Block
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Taps hard to turn on and off and dripping: needed new washers. Picture in room dire. Bedside light switch hard to access.

    Evening meals delicious. Staff were very good, and when we left property behind took good care of it until we could collect. Couldn't believe the bargain price of £54 per couple.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay on business or holiday.
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Stable Block
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were as friendly and efficient as ever. They are extremely pet friendly and the atmosphere in the bar makes one feel very welcome. There is extrmely easy access to local woodlands and hills which are ideal for serious or occasional walkers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel but the experience can be marred by lackadaisical service & over-expensive food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Hot water to the bedrooms ran out on the morning of my stay. I had to have my wash after breakfast after the boiler had been re-set. - Serving staff are pleasant but not always efficient or reliable. Watch out for incorrect or incomplete drinks & meals orders - and check your final bill for stray additional drinks charged - No orange juice at breakfast (They'd run out!?!) - Had to search for someone to take my breakfast & drink order - and basic items such as milk, butter & jam were not routinely replenished - Manager was friendly & pleasant as long as guests were fitting in with his preferred arrangements for guest meal times, billing arrangements for drinks, etc - If staying on DBB, be aware that the dinner allowance is only £25 per person - which will probably only get you a 2 course meal at typical menu prices here. You will be charged a supplement if you go over the £25 limit. - I couldn't get the free wifi to work

    - The full Scottish breakfast was great - Room was clean, towels & bed clothes cool & crisp - Welcome provision of toiletries, bottled water, hot drink supplies and Scottish shortbread in the bedrooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    Excellent meeting point for friends ..... provided one had a car!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV had a mind of its own and was difficult to switch on and off. The volume left a bit to be desired. One couldn't control the main lights from the bed.

    Staff and food were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Super experience. I would definitely recommend to friends and would use again without hesitation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Stable Block
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower wasn't the most powerful, but then we were out in the wilds so assume this is out of their control, it was however functional so all good.

    Staff were the friendliest I have come across whilst travelling in the UK. Nothing was too much trouble and flexibility second to none. Food excellent, the breakfast superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    The property has great character with open fries exposed...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view outside the property is a little bleak but that is the property across the roads fault.

    The property has great character with open fries exposed beams, exposed brickwork and is full of rustic charm, the atmosphere is welcoming and friendly. The staff are fantastic and the food is outstanding. The best relaxing atmosphere in an hotel I've had. Well done guys.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Tormaukin - hill hare hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Stable Block
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a complaint but weekend menu was too 'fancy' for us. If you like Guinea fowl and foie gras great, but we are the hearty pub grub type!

    Quaint olde worlde, nice real fires in bar and lounge,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    It was good value for money with it costing £30 a person for a night with a lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Stable Block
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were careworn and needed a little TLC. Not as clean as we would like. The extra pull out bed, which we didnt use had a dirty cover on it and the floor in the bathroom was not very clean. The shower was poor and the water came out like a teaspoon. With a little care this pub could be really nice. A lick of paint and some new linen here and there.

    Breakfast was delicious. Drinks and food were very expensive for a pub. Our room rate was £127 for 2 nights with breakfast but when we asked to add on a evening meal they wanted to charge us £280. That's a heck of a lot for 2 dinners for 2 people. That didn't include drinks either. When we said we didnt want the extra dinner the landlord was very off with us and didnt speak to us for the rest of the stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Short stay at Tormaukin
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Stable Block
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The room was comfortable, clean and tidy. Had an evening meal and it was very tasty with an extremely generous portion, very filling. It was all reasonably priced too. Staff were very friendly on arrival and at breakfast. I couldn’t fault it and would definitely come back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    An amazing find - we will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    The en-suite was a little small but perfectly adequate.

    Very comfortable room. The restaurant was of a very high standard - we had an amazing meal beautifully cooked and presented by the chef. All staff were fantastic - very friendly , welcoming and professional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    An Inn with wonderful food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Stable Block
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was rather small and dark and in need of refurbishment and the bathroom was tiny. Having said that, the beds were comfortable and everything worked.

    The food was amazing...a home made pizza and wild boar medallions for dinner and a breakfast menu to die for...eggs benedict, kippers, pancakes, bacon and maple syrup and the full monty with haggis as well as black pudding, plus fresh croissants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service was exceptional & the food was really good. We had room no. 4 which was a lovely big room & very comfortable. There's lot's of lovely walks in the surrounding area, so peaceful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Great value friendly b&b with excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room - Stable Block
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent value for money, basic room but adequate for a stay, fabulous breakfast and very friendly staff plus on site parking, couldn't ask for more for the price, great location only 6 miles from Gleneagles.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.9
    It's still on my list of places to revisit.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have been a visitor for about 5 years. The hotel has changed owners and is up for sale. This means that the upkeep and the "enthusiasm" are not at the levels they once were. Having said that, it is delightful and well worth a visit and stay.

    Great breakfast and good value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    A brief, overnight stay which my wife and I well enjoyed. It's the perfect location for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi doesn't work in the rooms, only in the downstairs public areas, which is a big let down - most hotels and B&Bs have wifi as standard throughout now. And on a minor note, the shower room was quite small but that's almost nit-picking.

    The room (#4) was a really good size and very clean and comfortable. Our dinner was excellent - we have stayed and eaten here before and was excellent previously too! The location of the hotel is great, off the beaten track but not far from Stirling. And the staff are nice, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Had a lovely comfortable four nights stay and will probably return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not keen on the hotel being dog friendly.

    Staff were very attentive and looked after all our needs. All worked extremely hard. Breakfast was best we have ever had. Cabin was clean and comfortable and linen and towels of brilliant quality.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in a good location. Accomodation and food quality could not be faulted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Paid the bill in full upon leaving the hotel. However when I checked my bank account I noticed an additional debit of £50 from the hotel. This amount was subsequently refunded to me the following week but I had to contact the hotel on three occasions to get refund sorted.

    Excellent room facilities. Food in restaurant excellent. Staff very helpful and accomodating particularly as we arrived at the hotel very late after being stuck in the snow on the M80.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Stable Block
    • Stayed 1 night

    The milk supplied in the room wasn't great, but I am quite fussy about milk.

    Arrived in time for Roast Beef dinner and Crumble for dessert - both excellent. Had to leave early, but breakfast served from 0730 so managed to sample that too, even the small breakfast was tasty and filling. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic food let down by freezing room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Stable Block
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, room1,was freezing as the heating didn’t work.... it was sub zero outside and I didn’t expect the same inside

    The staff were fantastic as was the food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable break, good food, warm and welcoming family atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    My husband found the mattress too soft but it was ok for me.

    The restaurant was very cozy, especially the one to the left of reception. Lovely open fireplace which gave a welcoming atmosphere. Food very good too, nice choice. Breakfast was the highlight I think. The full cooked breakfast was very good, tasty and not greasy. Very good choice of other cooked food too, smoked salmon with scrambled egg, kippers with poached egg, eggs benedict, pancakes, fruit etc etc. Room comfortable and with character, clean. Staff friendly and welcoming. Location nice too, away from it all but easy to get to. An enjoyable experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic ... All of it
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Stable Block
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great wee place. Excellent food, cosy bar which welcomed us and our dogs. Room was lovely and quiet, bottles of water in rooms etc were a nice touch. Breakfast possibly the best I've had, shame I couldn't eat it all it was delicious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.3
    A charming hotel with lots of promise, but lacked due customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Stable Block
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no shower in my room. When I complained a gentleman (presumably involved with the hotel) looked me up and down and passed comment, "You had a bath, didn't you?" The receptionist was sympathetic and told me that the member of staff who checked me in should have told me about the shower and if this was a problem (?!) I could have been given another room. Surely, if another room was available, I should have been accommodated there, rather than the room with no shower.

    The hotel itself was quaint and welcoming and the staff were friendly. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Relaxed , emjoyable two night stay and great value accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Stable Block
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really.

    Staff were very friendly and there was a relaxed feel about the hotel. I think our room was upgraded and wsas more pleasant than we expected. The food in the restaurant was good and the atmosphere was warm and cosy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.9
    Staff very helpful and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small pane of glass broken in one of the windows. Internet was a problem.

    Staff very helpful and pleasant. Good Inn atmosphere. Heating very good. Very good bed linen, pristine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Small, cosy and friendly country hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small, cosy and friendly country hotel. Small fireside bar, larger comfortable seating area and dedicated dining room. Great food. Good location for low level walking and easy access to the Ochils. Loved it. Will go back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Wow what a gem of a place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely traditional inn. The dinner food was out of this world and the breakfast was tip top! The staff and owner were so attentive and friendly. After dinner enjoyed a lovely evening in the lounge with all the locals and their dogs, everyone made us feel at home. The room was huge and the bed was so comfortable. Great value for money and expected our check out bill to be much more for the quality that we received. Can't wait to return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    This hotel was excellent.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was excellent. A cosy break in beautiful surroundings. Staff were attentive, dog friendliest hotel I've ever stayed in. Food was excellent. Breakfast was fantastic. Will we be back...for sure. Thanks Tormaukin for a lovely weekend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    The lounge area with the fire was lovely and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Stable Block
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lounge area with the fire was lovely and quiet. The room was well decorated and warm. The breakfast was great and the service from the staff was friendly and cheery at all times.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.8
    Great location but the hotel could do far better. Poor maintenance is letting the hotel down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chalet was very tired. Handle of the shower head was split and cracked and squirted water everywhere. Taps were old and needed replacing as had to turn them several times before any water came out. Toilet systern was on such low pressure it took ages to refill once the toilet had been flushed. Room showing signs of damp.

    Breakfast was very good. Location was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful staff and superb food in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children) - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit older style but good value and really clean.

    Wonderful staff and superb food in the restaurant. Very welcoming of the dog and really personal service. We will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely stay here again When we visit friends in Dollar.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was-12°c outside, the coldest night of the year. Totally the hotels fault, lol! 😉😉

    Felt very welcome with a dog. Not like our previous 'dog friendly' hotel in Scotland!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    Have been here a number of times over the years to stay or...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The negative. I can’t fault the hotel in respect to accommodation but the food at dinner was expensive and not very good which was a disappointment as the food here is to be amazing. I made staff aware that the food was big reason we keep coming back. Please sort this out as at one point I was not coming back but the breakfast the next day made up a little for the dinner. It was very tasty and plentiful. Come on guys get the dinner sorted then we will be back

    Have been here a number of times over the years to stay or just have food. The accommodation was as expected good. We booked a chalet and although can’t complain next time I would book the old traditional rooms as stayed in them in the past and prefer them. Front of house staff were very nice. The area for walking is amazing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Stable Block
    • Stayed 1 night

    The greeting on arrival was just as if we were an inconvenience as the gentleman was obviously busy with other matters and could not even bother to look up at us whilst giving us a key to our room. We decided to have dinner in the restaurant and was given a menu. My first choice which was a chicken breast I was told the kitchen had run out so I was then recommended to have the Bass which I was told I could have the same garnish as the chicken so I ordered this only to be told that was not possible but they did have the trout so I ordered that which had also run out so I ended up having two starters. I felt that having all this problem with my order completely ruined our evening.

    The breakfast was exceptionally good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    Cosy hotel lovely for a winter visit, fire in the bar and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room on this occasion was a little small but still very comfortable.

    Cosy hotel lovely for a winter visit, fire in the bar and lovely setting. Friendly staff. Great value and loved the food both dinner and Breakfast. The Dinner B&B deal was really worth doing. They were doing a festive menu for the Christmas period and we were able to order this which was great. Lots of character in an old building. The rooms vary in size because of this. We have stayed before and would certainly do so again. Convenient for a relaxing night on our own as it is close to family that we visit regularly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    A hidden gem
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - everything was good

    Great value cosy hotel and very dog friendly. All the staff/ regulars were very welcoming and good with the dog. Dinner was very good, particularly the monkfish dish. We plan to return in the summer to take in more of the local walks.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent food, way beyond what we expected at a small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was a bit temperamental other tan that no problems.

    Excellent food, way beyond what we expected at a small country hotel. Really friendly staff and lots of good humour. The open fire was a great feature very cosy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.3
    fine hotel,good staff and very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Stable Block
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only gripe was the fact that in our room the shower wasn't working properly.I informed the manager of this when paying the bill.The bathroom was quite small but that was a minor point of issue.

    Have been to the Tormaukin several times before and it continues to maintain a high standard on all the main criteria. The location is fine for a start and the food is excellent especially evening meal which was very tasty and well presented.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.3
    Nice place but a few issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered sandwiches at lunchtime and 45 minutes later we were still waiting! !!!It seems the waiter forgot to put order through to kitchen.Thought we might have been given a complimentary drink to say sorry but all we got was "sorry about that"from the manager whose manner was not at all pleasant.

    Very cosy and lovely bedroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Lovely relaxing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Stable Block
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were friendly, food was excellent and some very nice wine available. Room was warm and comfortable. Surrounding area is nice for country walks, fishing and golf .

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: