Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Anchorage Inn 4 stars

87/89 The Promenade, Portstewart, BT55 7AG, United Kingdom

#8 of 10 B&Bs and Inns in Portstewart

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 600 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cluttered room, awkward plug points

    We booked into hotel as we were attending a birthday at Me & Mrs Jones Hotel. It was too expensive to stay in. We only slept in Anchor and did not eat or sleep there. There was no problem with noise as we didn't get back until 2AM! The room was average with 2 large double beds. We only needed one. The bed was comfortable but was a bit cluttered with a fan and a bed we didn't need. There was no view, except another room across an inner yard. The bathroom was clean, modern, but was cramped. I would probably stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't realise breakfast wasn't included in price when I booked through booking.com and was going to be £9.95 each! Very noisy until 1.30 when music stopped although we were told about this at reception.

    The room was nice.very clean and the bed was very comfortable. It was right in the town so very handy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water wasn’t warm in shower, said at reception when checking out said that It should have been that I should have run them

    Rooms have been updated, bed was comfy, good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was above the disco which went onto early hours , after disco closed we had a car racing up & down main road to 3.40 am plus members of the public urinating up the side of the building below us

    Location to main street & sea front

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was so comfy, all facilities brilliant- staff were so friendly and food was excellent- thoroughly enjoyed our short stay. We had been here before , that is why we came back and we will definitely be back again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely, very clean and comfortable - staff were very pleasant. Fan in the room which was a nice change instead of having to go looking for one from reception! Felt welcome from the minute we arrived!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel comes with a night club and a bar which has nightly entertainment, so you might hear some noise later on at night.

    Receptionist was really pleasant to speak to, lovely big clean room , big comfy bed and pillows We ate in the restaurant and really enjoyed our meal , staff once again very pleasant, bar and entertainment were really good great place to stay if going to see the bike racing, breakfast was good as well. So if you enjoy a good night out this is perfect to place to stay in

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its the best night we've ever had , i booked for my wifes birthday and she loved it. Thanks to everyone at the Anchorage Inn . Hopefully we can get back soon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave

    The anchor is a great hotel with excellent facilities. The bar shows all the sport. The restaurant is great with amazing food. The nightclub is great aswell. The staff from the minute you walk in are friendly and go out of there way to make your stay relaxed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant closed earlier than stated so we ate in the bar instead , the food was OK, i would not be likely to eat there again , but there were a group of very drunk men shouting at us from across the room who then followed us over to the other side of the room making inappropriate comments, they were not asked to keep it down, or to refrain from making comments even when we made it known to staff we were uncomfortable. The shower was also very small.

    The bed was huge and so comfortable , and the room was spotless There was a very welcoming member of staff in the bar I did not get his name but he had dark hair and was about 5ft8/9.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outside activity can be heard and can find hard when sleeping however that's no fault of the hotel.

    Excellent service, cosy rooms and lovely food/bar areas. Would recommend to stay if going to Portstewart/Coleraine area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I felt the food in the restaurant could be improved - the service was fine but the waiter and waitress were a little abrupt!

    The bedroom was slightly too hot at night time - but the bed was very comfortable. The shower was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the live band and the nightclub was loud BUT we knew what to expect so it didn't bother us

    The rooms were clean and tidy, the food in the bar and the service was excellent,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was uncomfortably warm didn't get much sleep would need air con or a fan at the very least. Had to open the window which meant noise from outside. On 2nd floor and music could be heard in room from downstairs not great for a 3yr old

    Room was well presented and food was love.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff couldn’t control the noise of other residents & didn’t ask us how are staff was quite rude after we had paid our bill. Won’t b staying again ever or recommend this place.

    The location bar & food were great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What we didn't like was the fact our stay was over, there honestly wasn't a single thing we didn't like, first class.

    The food was fantastic, good quality, fresh, homemade and great value for money with a range of dishes to suit everyone. The staff were incredible, very helpful and really made you feel at home, they went above and beyond to make sure we had an exceptional stay, first class service all round. The entertainment was superb, the artists had great talent. We can't wait to go back. I can't recommend The Anchorage enough, you certainly will not be disappointed if you stay here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant was ok it wasn’t great. Their chips were horrible

    Room was fantastic, great hotel. The bar that is part of the hotel right next to hotel was super loved it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lukewarm water in the bedroom Cold breakfast room and over priced breakfast

    The bedroom was good and the bed very comfortable. Staff extremely helpful Evening meal in the bar was good and reasonably priced

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise in the bedrooms when the entertainment was on in the hotel was terrible. Staff & website did say that the rooms were not soundproofed & could be noisy, but this was ridiculous. I thought ths dj was playing his set in our bathroom. Room far too warm - there was a fan in the room, but it was too noisy.

    Bar facilities good & staff pleasant & helpful. Food excellent & very keenly priced.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, how nice and smart the place was. Was stated in booking. Com breakfast included but was told by staff it came as an extra cost of £9.95 per person, besides that 1 small error the hotel was overly all a place I'd recommend to anyone... Really smart layed out and pub and club in the premises... 8/10 rated...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checked into hotel around 7pm, went out to meet friends returned around 10 pm could not get entry, doors locked and took about 10 minutes to gain entry. Would have liked to have had a drink but was told bar was closed. This was about 10-20 pm. Not often you get a hotel with no residents facilities. Disappointing to say the least.

    Decor and cleaness in rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guests in room next door very loud next time will book during the week think the weekend is more for people staying for the night club drinking and partying not for couples or families

    Food lovely ate in bar a couple of time each time the food was perfect

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the pub below until early hours Saturday, and the noise from guests. The underfloor heating in the room was difficult to control and the room lighting was depressing. The second hand smoke from people smoking outside the pub permeated throughout the building. The room was just about ok, but wouldn’t recommend it or stay there again as I felt it was overpriced for what it offered.

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a nightclub attached to the hotel and you can hear the loudest music playing all night. When we asked staff about it (which it was so hard to find and get in touch with staff) they said it was expected and should have been told to us, which it was not.

    Beds were comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really enjoyed my stay here the food was absolutely gorgeous everyone was so friendly and the entertainment was fantastic would highly recommend and definitely be returning 😆

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we didn’t like, we could hear everything our neighbors were talking about 😕

    We had a meal in the bar, the food was excellent and the staff very friendly 🙂

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was just a little on the small side but it wasn't really a big issue

    Comfy large bed lovely room with water tea coffee biscuits.very quiet too even with a disco going on downstairs

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on 2nd floor & my husband found stairs difficult as he has mobility problems but in saying that i never mentioned it at booking so i didnt give the staff the chance to change the room.

    Staff were very helpful & friendly, food was excellent, rooms were clean and beds were very comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was far too hot, could not sleep both nights and while food was great as guests I thought we could have got better tables, both nights we were squashed in to very small tables made our dining experience less enjoyable.

    Have stayed before, food excellent and staff helpfull

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely comfortable bed! Clean, quiet, well appointed room. 'the restaurant serves tasty breakasts and dinners. In easy reach of Giant's Causeway and Bushmills Distillery. A great base to explore Antrim!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing could prepare you for the noise on music night. From 11pm-1am you may as well have been downstairs at the function as it felt like the entertainment was in our room. Really disappointing.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waited over 25minutues for breakfast order to be taken for it all be to wrong! Also asked for our room to be decorated for a birthday and that wasn't done.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On site parking.

    Clean comfortable room and Bed, good shower, parking was off site but easy to find free parking. Evening meal and breakfast excellent. Staff very friendly. Would recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nightclub blaring until 2am under the room . No soundproofing . TV in room next door was blaring all night until 6am . We had no sleep at all . The en suite was tiny and the toilet seat was bizarre . Would not stay up because flush handle in the way ! Ordered steaks for dinner . Half of steak was gristle and inedible , the other half was tough and stringy . Very poor .

    Very little . Staff were friendly .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were super comfortable and the room was very clean. We ate dinner at the restaurant on site and it was some of the best food we had the whole trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff on check in were rude and abrupt to the customers in front of me. However, reception staff on check out were 100% Room (103) was too warm, however the noise from the bar and street was too much so the window needed to be kept closed until well after kicking out time, 0200?

    Bed was comfortable, and the shower would lift skin if you wanted it to.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud music until 1AM from disco downstairs. Ear plugs provided in the bedside table drawer - we didn't realise they were there until the next morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We understand that the Anchorage is a nightclub etc, & we don’t mind that at all but when the party is over downstairs & people want to bring it to the rooms until 5 in the morning no thank you, 1st time ever we have had a problem normally we don’t hear anyone even in hall ways or anything. Suppose it is just pot luck with who you get stuck with. Also we asked for a double bed & ended up with 2 singles side by side no biggy tho the beds make up for it 😃

    LOVE this place for its beds duvet & pillows 😍 comfiest ever.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy for family break. Apparently booking.com website states hotel is not sound proof. Didn't see this and to be honest wouldn't be something I'd look for. Felt like band were playing at end of our bed to 1am. Not ideal with 7 and 4yr old. Then fire alarm went off at 3.40am and staff didn't know how to turn it off for ages. We were wrecked by end of stay. Gave manager a chance to deal with our complaint but got standard unsatisfactory response. In reply was told website clearly states rooms aren't sound proof. Shame as it's lovely hotel and lovely staff. Definitely not for children and complaints dept could do with a bit of training. Wouldn't return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was extremely noisy in our room due to the club music and people partying spilling into the street outside our window and in the rooms around us. Tried to call reception for help but no answer. The room was uncomfortably hot and sign said that it could not be adjusted.

    The bed was comfortable and it was clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was located over the bar and nightclub so it was very noisy late evening/early morning. Hotel provided ear plugs! We were there on a Friday and Saturday so it may well be quieter during the week.

    Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. Very comfy beds. Great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I can say I liked about the place was the food. The location was good also.

    Location was good. Just off the sea shore. Staff was okay. Bar staff was nice. Room was not the best at all for the money. The water was cold and the bed was leader headboard and all marked also it was a very small room. There was hair in the shower and the water for the shower was way to cold. The room was not that warm also.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant staff rarely smiled and the first point of contact in the restaurant (male) could do with learning some people skills - not very welcoming!

    Beds are exceptionally comfy. Restaurant food was delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only parking on the nearby street. Sunday nights in Port Stewart are spoiled by locals driving up and down the street on the sea front most of the evening. Area would be enchanted by making this street a pedestrian area.

    Room and facilities were very good standard. Room was good size. Restaurant was busy and food served was good .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather an expensive round at the bar although the gin cocktails were delicious!

    Great location near the seafront. Bed was very comfortable and shower excellent. Breakfast was fantastic - the chef went to extra effort to produce some gluten free pancakes for me and they were delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Travelled with wife and four teenagers. One son has coeliacs. I could not praise the staff highly enough on their care and attention to detail to ensure he had a varied Gluten free stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was quite small but for a 2 night stay, it was fine.

    The room was a good size and decorated nicely. We had everything we needed in the room, tea making facilities, towels, and free water which was a good bonus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no onsite parking, however, there is loads of on street parking nearby. The hotel is a bit pricey, however, you have to remember that Portstewart is a really popular spot in the summer and hotel accommodation is at a premium. Also, there is a nightclub in the complex and it can be a bit noisy at closing depending on which side of the building your room is situated.

    I liked most things about the Anchorage - its location was perfect as we were there for a University reunion and the Anchor was our favourite haunt when we were last there. The rooms were really modern and really comfortable and spotlessly clean. The staff were fantastic, really welcoming and helpful and the breakfasts were delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good hotel staff were very helpful and well mannered excellent. Hotel was in a great location with the main promenade on the door step. No parking on the grounds of the hotel but there are parking bays a stone throw away. Very good hotel in a great seaside town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much parking facilities, but was able to park at the door to load and unload, using a taxi stand and nobody complained. As far as I could see, no lifts available, so mightn't be suitable for very elderly people or anyone with a mobility handicap.

    Booked at the last minute, staff did slight alterations to accommodate my wife and I and 2 year old daughter. Very comfortable bed, little extras in the room which were nice, even if not needed - sewing kit, soap, shampoo, etc as well as a kettle and tea and coffee. Very good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed for two nights and the room was not vacuumed on the second day; bits of paper on the floor were not even picked up.

    Bed very comfortable. Nice touch having ear plugs in the bedside drawer. Food good. Drinks surprisingly pricey. Water in the room an excellent touch. Decor very nice. Asked for foam bedding and this was accommodated. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought whenI booked that breakfast was included in the price. Was told it wasn't, price for room only far too expensive compared with other like hitels

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy disco till 1.30 am if you want a good nights sleep ask for room furthest away or go party with the rest of them!!

    Friendly staff hotel very nicely furnished great breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Feather pillows a bit soft for me. Armchair to relax in would have been good. Apart from those minor issues, can't fault hotel or staff.

    Bed very large and comfortable. Room was spotless and warm.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably some music noise in bedroom but it is mentioned when booking. The entertainment adds to the hotel & was very good.

    Cosy comfortable room with class bed & pillows & had great meal in hotel restaurant. Staff very friendly as well

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom small! Noise from the corridor late at night!

    Bedroom was a good size, with a massive bed which was extremely comfortable. Good food in the restaurant and great atmosphere in the bar!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were not friendly or helpful. Should include a standard breakfast for £80 as it's not a 5 star hotel.

    The bed, pillows and duvet was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar was quite noisey and mostly geared towards serving food. It would have been nice to have a quiet seating area in the bar to enjoy some drinks without feeling you had to order food.

    Rooms were lovely and the bed was very comfortable. Well located in walking distance of pubs and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking at the hotel but the receptionist was very helpful in advising us where to.park between what times

    Loved the bed, was the most comfortable I've stayed in! Great slippers etc

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionists rude. We travelled with a Romanian friend who has poor English skills and they particularly rude towards her. This was disappointing as on previous stays the receptionists and other staff were usually very polite.

    Club bar on site

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Turns out a full 5 piece live band, blaring wedding music play outside your room until 2am! In the morning when asked how my stay was, I politely said, "great, bit loud for us though". The response was, "well it says on booking.com that rooms are not sound proofed, sorry, bye". Honestly, the restaurant was amazing, the younger staff were brilliant, I just wish it was explicitly stated on the website that you will not get to sleep until the music stops after 2am.

    The restaurant food was beautiful, the staff at the restaurant were amazing!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking poor . Needs a lift...

    Very comfortable bed and very clean room. Really friendly barman Stevie.. All staff extremely friendly and helpful. Great location....

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nice hotel in a good location. Bedrooms where tastefully decorated and bed was very comfy, we had a great nights sleep. Food was lovely in restaurant and we had a great breakfast.Nice

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise in the early hours an when went to restaurant for our dinner we were set right beside the fire witch lead to my partner having to leave his food to go out for air as his back was stuck right at the front of the fire then a member of staff asked the table next to us we're they warm an when I said excuse me to try get her attention to ask for her to maybe turn it off or turn it down we were ignored.

    Food was Good apart from the fire!! cocktail was definitely good value for money..

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on first floor was above the club which was noisy on The Saturday night.

    Very clean and comfortable rooms. Great food in The bistro and live entertainment in the bar.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant not as good as before, i got prawns for Starters and they were cold and I got Rib steak burger and it wasn't presented very well or very tasty. This was on 2nd night, the first night I had Steak & Ale Pie and it was lovely. Maybe just a bad choice of meal but would still go back

    Have stayed before, room spotless and staff very helpful and entertainment in Bar/Hotel both nights.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    These are comments, not complaints! I had requested early check-in and sea view - but I didn't get a response- no mention of either on our arrival. Location is let down a little as there is no private parking - probably more of a problem during high season. The room was a bit chilly - I think it's underfloor heating?

    Great location as a base for walks and drives. Decoration was fresh - impression of a well run business.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff on there mobile phones at night in bar pet hate

    Arrived early left case in reception had lunch sitting beside big roaring fire served by lovely gentleman.got bus to Coleraine bit shopping .back to hotel had dinner in restaurant which was lovely and reasonable.rooms comfortable and clean

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lifts in the hotel, may not suit physically challenged or wheel chair users. music in the form of a disco/ night club on a Saturday night on the ground floor can be a distraction as the noise is evident in most rooms to around 1.30am

    Bed was queen size and really comfy. the Irish breakfast fry up was amazing for quantity,and freshnessly cooked.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an issue with our room being far too warm even with the windows opened Resolved with discount the next morning but an uncomfortable night

    Liked the location food and music without having to leave the hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm disabled and the bouncers beat me up because one of the locals grabbed me by the throat for no reason and I ended up getting arrested ended up at the hospital as my joints are bad and the bouncers were a law under them selves and then when the police come it's like butter wouldn't melt in there mouth monsters will never be back in this dump as it is ok if you are a local strangers arnt welcome.

    Nothing won't be back

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise was appalling between the music being so loud we couldn't sleep and people staying in the room across from ours were screaming and roaring middle of the night and banging on our doors and arguing . It wasn't ideal as we had drove 6 hours that day and we're looking forward to a nice sleep we were really tired. Plus it was a special occasion we had gotten engaged that day at the giants causeway. Also we had to drive around for 40 minutes to get parking as there is no parking with the hotel.

    Food and the staff were great. Bed was very comfortable and rooms very clean free WiFi is excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron or ironing board had to iron clothes with my own iron an use bed for ironing board.

    Room was very well finished an various lighting for partner to do her make up etc

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that put us off was when I was booking it didn't say that we would have to single beds pushed together and as a couple this wasn't very comfortable and we spent £120 for the room and wasn't comfortable at all because it was 2 singles that kept moving apart ! Was disappointed because the room itself was lovely just a shame we got 2 singles wouldn't pay to stay in a hotel to sleep in 2 singles ! Also when we came down to breakfast there was barely anything left choice was poor and there was no fruit juice left or anything ! Cooked breakfast was good I enjoyed that !

    I love the bar and atmosphere at the anchor always have so we decided to stay for the night for the first time for New Year's Eve dinner and entertainment was amazing can't fault it !

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy in bedroom over the bar but not that big an issue... I'd been informed at check in that there was a band playing that night & therefore might hear them. Had I been less tired I'd have watched them anyway! As it happens I went to bed and despite a little noise fell asleep pretty quickly.

    Friendly staff both in the hotel & bar, lovely steak for dinner (in bar) by the fire where there was a pleasant atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: