Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Argyll Guest House 3 stars

970 Sauchiehall street, North West, Glasgow, G3 7TH, United Kingdom

#6 of 29 B&Bs and Inns in Glasgow

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1017 B&B reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    The staff was very friendly and tried to help us in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to pay 15 extra pounds for check in at 11 am, even though I explained my parents were old and waiting until 3 pm was a bit too much... paying for a check in at such a late time as 11 am an extra of 15 pounds was not so fair I think....

    The staff was very friendly and tried to help us in everything. The breakfast was good. The rooms were comfortable even if small. The location is good, near a very beautiful museum.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.3
    Not exactly what I expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed was hard, no extra blanket no place to put luggage or toiletries in bathroom narrow curving short steps down to lower level could be dangerous, should have asked if we could navigate.

    close to great restaurants

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    The Argyll Guest House Review.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little cramped and the shower had seen better days.

    I have stayed at the hotel several times and found the location excellent and the breakfast first class. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.1
    Clean, nice bathroom & nicely decorated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to walk across the road to check in & eat! The horrible thin stairs to basement rooms! Bed was uncomfortable. Staff in dining room lovely, staff on reception need some welcome training.

    Clean, nice bathroom & nicely decorated

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.3
    Clean room in a good location, but you can do much better for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booking.com brought this up as a B&B, which it is NOT. It is an OK, overpriced hotel. You can overpay for a breakfast there, or walk two blocks and get good stuff nearby. The room was noisy - it is a somewhat busy street and there is night-life so if you're in a ground-floor room you may have trouble sleeping.

    Convenient location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast room was gorgeous and the buffet was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thought it might be closer to the airport.

    The breakfast room was gorgeous and the buffet was excellent. A very pleasant morning experience. Also appreciated how easy it was to order a taxi for the airport and have it arrive on time.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    The decorations is quite Scottish with good English...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain.

    The decorations is quite Scottish with good English breakfast. The staff is helpful and friendly. Location is near to the the university. Very convient for going to conference. The bus stop is almost in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice place, clean, spatious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was somehow hidden, it took us a while to find it and to carry the luggage (going down and up the stairs).

    Nice place, clean, spatious. Great room decorations. Good breakfast served right across the street, in the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    Conveniently located for visiting the university.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception could be more welcoming and helpful. We got one key - for a 3 persons room. Not very thoughtful or helpful! However, their staff at breakfast were amazing.

    The mattresses were awful. Old and really not firm. The duvet covers hadn’t even been buttoned properly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Cute, clean, easy overnight stay close to both west end and city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I suppose better vending machine facilities? They were pretty old school.

    Cute Scottish themed room, wonderful location in west end walking distance of city centre , simple and quick check in and check out with friendly and efficient staff. Room was simple but immaculate. Surprisingly quiet despite facing main road. Couldn't ask for more from a budget stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.1
    Great location, clean room and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit warm and window only opened a crack. Couldn't keep the drapes open because it was a ground floor room so that little bit of air couldn't circulate in the room.

    Staff was friendly and room was clean. It was clearly stated where to check in (across the street) which was very useful info. Location was excellent for Kelvingrove Museum and park.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.0
    The bathroom was new and the room was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though it was sunday the evening and night were very noisy because of people walking by the window and traffic. The radiator didn’t warm so it was a bit cold, but it still made a lot of noise. Bed was not comfortable and the room very small.

    The bathroom was new and the room was clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    We had a good and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was friendly, but not personable as in other places we stayed. Perhaps the car was secure, but I did not feel confident about leaving it on the street, but that was the only option.

    Everything was clean and comfortable. The Argle is well located for walking to many restaurants and tourist attractions. We enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    European Gymnastics Comp 2018 with my little niece
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Misleading advice regarding parking prior to arriving told by hotel (advised hydro/secc so spent £5 just to drive around it when phoned to ask for directions n’ told Not recommended to park there despite an email telling me that via hotel staff) because we had a few bags managed to park ride outside of guest house 3 hours max makes parking bit tricky.so we parked outside hotel from 5pm-10am for £4 then drove back to Hydro for event as 24hr parking in Hydro would have been £20 paid £10 for up to 12 hours which was gd for an all day event at Hydro.Some staff a bit unapproachable on arrival and when asking about nearby restaurants (a smile would not go a miss) and were ignored on check out/not acknowledged I had to say we were in a hurry to avoid a parking ticket.Eateries near by really expensive so be prepared for that unless fine dining your thing.Perhaps more modest restaurants not open on a Thursday?Restaurant in hotel was not open when we were there.Kelvingrove park a must!! We didnt have time for museum!! Despite that it was a quirky hotel with a scottish theme and was immaculate my niece loved it so thats all that mattered!!

    Quaint room,quiet upper market location good price about £55 less than cheapest hotel for August!! Parking tricky 3 hours max outside!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    Worth the stay- ask good questions
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were on the street side, windows at sidewalk level, during Pride weekend. The crowds were loud long beyond when we needed to sleep. It would have been helpful to know this would be the case ahead of time or have an option for a quieter room.

    The staff, room, and cleanliness were great. An added convenience was the ability to purchase extended parking so we did not have to move our car early in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Great place to stay in Glasgow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a bit too simple. It could be a bit more wider range of choice.

    It is a great place to stay. It was very nice and clean, the staff were very kind and professional. We loved it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.4
    Location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very uncomfortable, lumpy and soft with hard pillows. Room was extremely difficult to get to. Down one set of narrow and small steps and immediately up another. Very difficult to manage luggage.

    Location was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    The room was large, with a sitting area and bay-window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all that central, but it was not a problem because we had a car.

    The room was large, with a sitting area and bay-window. Both bathroom and bedroom very clean. Quiet at night. Excellent breakfast in the morning. Staff very kind and efficient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.9
    Defo stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was a bit on the small side and I'm not a fan of shower cubicles

    Check in was smooth and pleasant, the bed I slept in suited me no problems there, BREAKFAST !! was terrific but would have preferred a proper mug instead of dolls cups for the coffee

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.7
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    7-21-18 we were led to believe that parking was free, it was if you could find a spot on the street, we didn’t have to pay because we were from six at night to eight in the morning and it was a weekend but if we had been there on a weekday we would’ve had to pay the meter and move our car every three hours We were I in a room face a room facing the street near the entrance and we found it noisy at night.

    Clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Good rooms/food, convenient and in safe location, with friendly staff. Very comfortable relaxed stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For us personally the steep stairs were a struggle for my mother but she is 83 yrs old but I hadn't realised there were stairs and the option of a ground floor. The pot plants on the steps leading up to the Guest House obstructed the use of the hand rail/banister, again as my mother wasn't quite as mobile as the rest of us this did cause a bit of a problem.

    Rooms lovely and spacious, very clean with good facilities and replenishment.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    All in all a pleasant place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not want to have a room in the basement, which I communicated as well when booking the room. Nevertheless I got a room in the Basement.

    The location is good for the Hop-on-Hop-off bus tour and the nearby Kelvingrove Museum and the University. The staff for breakfast was lovely and caring.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Ideal accommodation for what we were wanting to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Loved the location of the property. Within walking distance of “The Hydro”, “Oran Mor”, various restaurants and bars, and Subway Stations. Despite this, a very quiet position. Our room was spotlessly clean. The staff, particularly those at breakfast, were very friendly and obliging.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    Great hotel, fab location- shame about the slamming door and stuffy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very hot( it was exceptionally hot for the time of year) however a fan in the room would have been beneficial. The slamming of the front door kept us awake from early doors every morning, so by time we left on Monday we had only had a few hours sleep. Will stay here again, but will be on first floor and above( I have limited mobility so struggle with stairs, but do need to have sleep)

    Room clean and tidy as usual. Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    The bed was very little for a double bed room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower room

    The bed was very little for a double bed room. The room was facing the street and therefore noisy. It was a hot day in Glasgow, which is unusual. We came back over night and the room was too warm to give us some good sleep.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Nice area to stay and on-street parking available near by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because where room was situated was very noisy with traffic sounds so was woken up early. Because it was very warm outside needed to keep windows open for ventilation. One improvement would be better ventilation or air conditioning so you didn't need to open the window.

    Excellent room very comfortable and a nice bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Cultural weekend in Glasgow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi access was a nightmare, great once logged on but would not allow to log back on if you left for a few hours. Bed was not the most comfortable and the room got very hot at night!

    Location was excellent Staff at hotel reception were very nice Only on street parking but free at weekend and lots of spaces available Location was excellent not even 5 minutes walk from Kelvingrove Museum and the University Lovely walks to do in the park too

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location, clean and comfortable rooms at a reasonable...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Conflicting information in confirmation email about check in time and staff was rather unpleasant when this was pointed out.

    Great location, clean and comfortable rooms at a reasonable rate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.8
    Room clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vending machine outside the room we were staying in. It was used all during the night and made a loud thud every time a drink was bought. Not ideal as not much sleep was had as every time I dozed off another thud from the machine happened.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    it was very nice!
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff is adamant on starting the breakfast at 7 AM! It could have been better if the breakfast service is open for all bit earlier so we could leave the place earlier first to avoid traffic and to be on our business appointment earlier to avoid disappointments.

    cleanliness,facilities and foods

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.1
    Room comfortable good clean bathroom good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to cross busy Road to book in . Also for breakfast . Their restaraunt was closed , but lovely choice of food local . Breakfast ok , cooked fine , tinned fruit available and white sliced bread .. room ok on front of hotel . Access to go up and down flights so felt a little cut off

    Good location ,near the museum and trendy food outlets and bars easy access for bus to Glasgow room fine and clean , not expensive Stewart tartan decor very Scottish

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    4.6
    Not recommended if you value cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not properly cleaned (hairs in the bathroom and on the bed, distinct smell in the room itself etc.) and the staff did not take complaints regarding the cleanliness of the room seriously. Breakfast is awfull so you better go out to one of the many places to pick from within walking distance.

    Within walking distance from the park, with its excellent museum, and the area has a lot more interesting shops and places to eat as compared to the city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Perfect overnighter
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a bit difficult. Better at the weekend. Could be a nuisance during the week as meters start at 8am.

    Very clean. Had a single room lovely big bed. Slept well. Would go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location, good price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to keep signing into WiFi.

    Great location, good price. Quality is as expected for a cheap B&B. Breakfast was good and the staff were really helpful. Good veggie breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money. We would definitely stay there again and recommend to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Mirror in the bathroom was fancy and modern but difficult to use for make-up - very minor complaint really

    The room was clean, cheery, very comfortable. The location was great for the galleries and museums in the West End. Excellent access to public transit. Breakfast room and staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Mirror in the bathroom was fancy and modern but difficult to use for make-up - very minor complaint really

    The room was clean, cheery, very comfortable. The location was great for the galleries and museums in the West End. Excellent access to public transit. Breakfast room and staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Very comfortable despite local disturbances
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Delivery lorry dropping off heavy things onto thr road outside the hotel at around 5.00am Very loud Drunks fighting in the street in the middle of the night

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic, Especially for the Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel, the breakfast staff were exceptionally lovely and my room was clean and cosy. The WiFi connection was fantastic and the bed was comfortable. I was there for two nights and that came to a total of £75 including WiFi and breakfast - amazing price!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Location of the hotel is ideal for us when we come to Glasgow to go to the theatre / concerts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs to our room was a challenge (we are in our Sixties/Seventies) but it did not affect our enjoyment.

    The location - The ability to park was a bonus -

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    Location close to Glasgow Univeristy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff promised during check-in that I could store my luggage for several days, but during check-out this appeared not to be possible after all.

    Location close to Glasgow Univeristy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.3
    OK guest house , within wakling distance of Glasgow city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from traffic, and people coming in at the very early hours of the morning (4am!) No cups for water in the room.

    Nice guest house, within walking location of Glasgow city centre ( approx 20 minutes) Rather noisy, being located on the main road. Would benefit from secondary double glazing. Otherwise quite comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    SO much tartan ;o) Less single use plastics in bathroom and breakfast please.

    Comfortable, warm, well maintained, friendly desk and breakfast staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Clean room, breakfast was lovely and all staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was right next to main entrance of guest house . Guest's kept banging door which made me have a poor sleep . We were in room 01

    Staff friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely stay again, cosy and staff really friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the stairs up and down, in the guest house we entered the building and had to go down stairs and up another set of different stairs to our room which was odd, I think as previously it had been separate buildings knocked into one

    First impressions - reception quite cluttered and decor a bit worn but the room we had was just lovely, huge, comfy and possibly recently refurbished - very Scottish with tartan etc but just lovely!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.7
    It was fine for one night but I certainly would not want such a small room again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was tiny, no room to even put down my suitcase! It is the smallest room I have ever been in, bathroom is very cramped also.

    My room was very quiet despite being on a busy street. Breakfast choice is good, staff are pleasant and helpful. Place needs some upgrading but is clean and price is very reasonable for the middle of Glasgow.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent - a comfy, clean and friendly boutique hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor point but wifi - did work but was intermittent.

    Very friendly staff at a hotel with great location for west of the city - about 10/15 minute walk to Buchanan street and less than 5 minute walk to Kelvingrove museum. Bed was very comfy (a nice double which was unexpected for a budget single room!) and the room/bathroom was very clean. Breakfast had a good selection too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    2.9
    Misleading
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of the receptionist was horrendous, myself and my mum were put in an annex flat that was quite frankly disgusting, unclean and the furnishings were damaged and dirty. I was able to get us moved, however, the attitude of the woman when I went to request a move was vile. At least the second room was clean, but to be frank the pictures do not reflect the condition of the guest house in any way.

    1 member of staff made me feel better about my stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.5
    very good in general
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was good, but pillows gave me a neckache, it's just that I have a bad back, it would be good to have a choice of pillows of different thinknesses, I usually bring my own, but this time it was a long trip for me, so I did not....

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like to see all hotels provide a small fridge in the room as happens in other parts of the world.

    Location was great. Close to the Hydro and West End. There were no long corridors and I felt safe.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Would stay again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only criticism would be that the duvets were not very wide and pillows very firm

    Clean and modern room. Good breakfast and location for pubs and restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.5
    Good room, good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Downsides to this hotel are; • Having to check-in in a different location, only across the road however. • Dirt marks in the bathroom, not very clean. • Walls not very thick, could hear doors being slammed.

    Room is a good size, very close to kelvingrove museum! Staff friendly and willing to accommodate to any needs. Small detail but if door is left open it sounds a small alarm which was reassuring for security purposes. Good amount of plugs right next to bed, rather uncommon. Bath/shower both very nice. Breakfast, which was in the hotel opposite, was a good breakfast, buffet style. Vending machines good for late night snacks, however only had two types of chocolate even though there was a lot of choice for juice. Overall very good service, good rooms yet probably wouldn’t stay again due to not realising how far away the centre is.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Extremely pleasant, couldn't fault anything and for anyone going to Hydro this is a fabulous choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I would mention is the stairs, very narrow and steep to get to your rooms so anyone unsteady on their feet should request a room on the ground floor. We stayed in the basement with windows onto Sauchiehall Street and it was surprisingly quiet.

    Didn't have the breakfast so cannot comment. There was plenty of milk with the tea/coffee facilities in the room though! There was also a handy vending machine in the Guest House for anyone wanting nibbles. It's also a 40 minute walk into the Centre of town, but only cost £5 in a taxi to get back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were clean and comfortable. The location was brilliant, walking distance to several places that we needed to get to. The breakfast buffet was fine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.5
    Argyll Hotel a gem in Sauchiehall Street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Cleanliness + tea point and information of what to do and where to go in Glasgow in abundance,staff were happy and could not do enough for guests. Will definitely return in near future also recommend to friends.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful guest house thats very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mirror in room for doing hair. That we were unaware that room would be downstair.

    Location was excellent. Room clean and cozy. Staff very welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.5
    Good location next to Kelvingrove Gallery
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That you have to validate credit card and £1 was taken because” booking received through a third party”

    Very good cooked breakfast. Restaurant staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    This was my third stay at the hotel and would recommend it to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cooked breakfast could have been hotter.

    Friendly staff and excellent location, although crossing the road for room/breakfast was a little inconvenient. The room was very clean, spacious, well facilitated and there were good choices for breakfast. The staff in the dining room were very attentive and courteous.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    excellent location, friendly staff, value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a single room (assuming I'd get a single bed) but was pleasantly surprised with how spacious it was for 1 person. I also checked in past 11pm without any prior warning and found out that that wasn't an issue at all (they have 24h reception it seems). Location is excellent too, just beside Kelvingrove art gallery and near the bus stop.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.8
    Friendly, helpful staff.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some might not like crossing the road for breakfast but I thought it was worth it. The entrance hall to my apartment building was needing an uplift but I liked it's character.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Quick check in. Really good breakfast, well set up. Big room with good ensuite,heating, wifi, and facilities, nicely cleaned.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    Good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location! About a 20 minute walk to the city centre. Nice area with good coffee shops. Close to the Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum and the University.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Since my previous stays, wi-fi has been outsourced, and takes longer to connect (because you have you visit a webpage and type in your electronic-mail address) than heretofore (previously, all you needed was the password, which was given on the key and/or in the visitor information book).

    An excellent guest house, with a clean, comfortable, & quiet room (room "Arran", at the back of the ground-floor flat). Breakfast (buffet) provides ample choice, including vegetarian options. For more details, see my previous reviews of this property.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    It was clean and the bed was huge!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in the lower floor.

    It was clean and the bed was huge! Comfy and good price, a short walk from the city centre in a quiet but nice part of the city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, affordable and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quiet, comfortable, clean and a good size. Spoilt for choice for interesting, quality cafes and restaurants nearby. Right next to Kelvingrove Museum.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for a low budget hotel in a fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want a cheap, no frills location then this is it! If you want fancy toiletries and room service this is not the place.

    The location in Finnieston is perfect. It’s close to the park and lots of bars and restaurants. I walked into the city centre but if you don’t want to then the Exhibition Centre Station is closeby and it’s 3 minutes to Glasgow City Centre. The check in staff were incredibly friendly and my room was clean. You check in at the hotel and cross the road to the guest house.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable accomodation in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable bed in the room with ensuite and tea making facilites. Extremly clean area great location for the West End and for going into the City, Art Gallery and Kelvingrove Park Staff friendly at reception

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    4.6
    Terrible customer service from management, with an otherwise ok room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What I didn't like the management. I haven't experienced such dreadful customer service since I stayed in a one star hostel called paddies dump, I mean paddies hostel in Dublin. Due to unfortunate circumstances involving my travel arrangements I requested from the hotel management a possible date change, to one day before to my stay. I was informed that they had rooms available this night, but I was then told it was booking.com policy not to change booking dates. I proceeded to call an agent who was very helpful in trying to resolve the situation. But she too could not convince the hotel to change the date for me. I contacted the hotel again asking why they wouldn't change the date even after a booking.com agent said it was okay to do so! The manager gave me the same story again its not our policy to change dates when booking via booking.com while quoting text from their policy to me. What a joke. The site where the room was booked gave the go ahead yet the hotel management refused a simple request. Horrible having to deal with such a unaccommodating management structure.

    Friendly reception staff during check in. Comfortable bed, in an averagely decorated room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was definitely big enough and clean. The location was great, we were able to reach all of Glasgow with the local busses.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent! I'll be back...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only down side - The In House phone had one of those incredibly bright displays - I had to cover it up with a pillow so I could sleep. Another tip, not directly connected to the hotel, DO NOT go to the Chinese Take Away around the corner - The food is appalling! (And I suspect no Chinese people were involved in the preparation)

    I got lucky and the room they gave me for a single room price was a triple bed room. But that is not why it was so good. It was very nicely decorated, excellent facilities and friendly staff. Amazing value and a good location (near the Art Gallery).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Lovery best hotel for the price I’ve found
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I liked everything about the hotel,loverly American lady at reception,very very clean nice tidy warm room,nice furniture good shower,nice modern tv on the wall got tea and coffee in room nice bathroom with good shower and a bath,bath a bit small but I’m a big bloke lol great place good erea I’m going to be staying ther for the next two months for work at the near by university.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    6.7
    Great stay, awesome location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was really tough. The parking situation was a bit misleading and confusing. Very noisy at night as the hotel is beside a pub.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful! Great location easy to get around.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable and welcoming, will definatley stay here again and recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything, staff were so friendly, welcoming and helpful. Property was very clean and warm and even had a choice of 3 beds in the room, the beds could have been a little more comfortable however it did not spoil our trip. Breakfast was more than what I expected, full Scottish breakfast buffet along with cereals and fruit.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.2
    Good value, excellent location
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was slightly small and could hear other guests, however for our purposes it was fine.

    Breakfast was good, good selection and staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was warm and comfortable, good TV and shower. Location was excellent, very close to Finnieston with a lot of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant and comfortable.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above.

    Overall it was good. But I got underground rooms which made me feel a bit suffocated. No information in the details about the location of the flat while booking. The kettle wasn’t working in one of the room. Otherwise, 100 plus in cleanliness. No view as underground.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    7.9
    Good price for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a room at the front of the building and there was quite a lot of road noise. The vending machine right outside the room was noisy with plenty of thudding and bangs as other guests bought stuff. The smell of cigarette smoke was very strong - seems like someone was smoking in the building

    Great price for the location. Good shower and bathroom

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    9.6
    A thoroughly enjoyable stay. Staff coudn't have been more helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing lacking were glasses in the bathroom. No complaints at all.

    We stayed for 2 nights in the same room across the road in The Guest House. It was a beautiful large room with all comforts. Had to go across to the hotel for breakfast. A huge selection and staff very attentive.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: