Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Annie's Guest House 3 stars

106 Beach Road, South Shields, NE33 2NE, United Kingdom

#9 of 14 B&Bs and Inns in South Shields

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 135 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight inconvenience of the bathroom & toilet being a floor below us, but at least we had a sea view

    Quiet location, comfy bed, excellent service & would definitely recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have our own batbroom.

    We've never stayed in a B&B before so was expecting alot less, it was cosy friendly and just a lovely place to stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. The location the free parking the beach was about 10 minutes away we could walk into the town there were an enormous amount of restuarants around the area, but most of all our landlady was a mine of information who gave us a very comprehensive guide to everything. If and when we go ba

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...unless they could’ve controlled the weather conditions😂😂

    The staff where extremely helpful/friendly/un-intrusive...nothing was a hassle to them...stayed there when so called “beast from the east” snow arrived and was allowed to stay extra nite when i was stranded...clean room, clean bathrooms...cooked b/fast made to order excellant value for money and wouldn’t hesitate to book again...no complaints from me!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorry guys it wasn’t for us. Neighbours fighting all hours room was boiling hot and not kid friendly my 3 year old banged her head in her sleep on the bed table divider we kept banging our legs on the bed post because you had crammed too many items into the room. Too expensive. That room was £40 tops with breakfast.

    Friendly welcome comfy beds

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be careful of the car parking rules in South Shields town centre as it is full of traffic wardens. I passed three issuing tickets on my two street walk to the Metro station.

    I arrived in the dark but found it easy to find in quiet residential location with ample free parking. Beaches/restaurants/town centre/subway within short walking distance so if the weather is fine you can leave your car and walk. All day Metro ticket was £5.10. My room was clean and warm in a particularly cold December. The free wifi was fast and stable. Staff were good, I liked the idea of receiving a mobile number that only registered guests could call 24/7 if I had any issues although thankfully I did not find a need to use it during my stay. I can't comment on the breakfast offered as I don't eat it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Exceptionally clean & good value. Fridge, microwave, plates, glasses & cutlery were supplied. Allowed to bring in food & drink & a take-away. I hope to return next month.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Memory foam mattress was uncomfortable.

    Very welcoming and clean. Great location, nice room and handy for town centre and beaches but noisy concrete road outside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did call at the house although earlier than checking in time just to make contact but there was no reply despite knocking several times which seemed unusual.

    Our family room was clean and airy with a wonderful breakfast. Also for a guest house the extras were special eg fridge with fresh milk ,iron and ironing board and a fan.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    traffic ran all night which was not her fault with me being next to the road it was quite noisy

    jane was very friendly and very helpful ran of asheet with all the places to eat also stored my bike in her yard could not help you more

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared toilet and bathroom facilities. One bathroom and 2 toilets among 6 rooms isn't sufficient and it wasn't noted on Booking.com. If I had know I wouldn't have booked as I have tummmy problems and am up 3 or 4 times a night. Up and down the stairs all night disturbing others wasn't ideal. But as there was a no cancellation policy we were stuck with it. Also the breakfast was advertised as exceptional which it wasn't. It was just adequate. When I looked at Booking .com the day after we arrived that description had been taken off.

    Bed was comfy but room was cramped (bed against the wall. Older Lady that seemto run it single handedly was lovely and friendly and very helpful. Door numbers system entry instead of keys was very good idea. Excellent location for beaches and town center.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    had to share a bathroom didn`t like this the room we had felt like we were in the loft and was quite small , and no toilet in the room so when you need it in the night we had to go down stairs . would`nt

    location was good and the area quiet the lady running the place June was very pleasant and the breakfast was good .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting out of bed to go to work in the morning.

    Value for money, breakfast included. The free wifi was extremely fast. Good location/easy drive to Nissan SR5.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hygiene, bed felt very comfortable. Kind Hotel Host - very nice lady. Would recommend annie's guest house to any one looking for a very good and comfortable bed and breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have an ensuite bathroom, walls too thin so could hear everything from neighbouring rooms..could have been more options on the breakfast menu

    Comfy beds,prompt breakfast and always clean and tidy

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    VERY strong smell of dog in hallway from owners area of the house. The second you walk in the door it hits you like a brick. The rest of the house is perfect but my initial impression was not good. Once I climbed the stairs to my room the smell was gone and I was relieved - the doggy niff is confined only to the downstairs hallway. I myself own a 75kg Newfoundland with a heavy coat and understand how dogs can smell - but in a hallway that leads to the diningroom of a guest house such a strong smell put me off my breakfast. More than likely the owners have gotten used to it and don't notice it anymore.

    Very comfortable, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pin number sent to me by Bookings.com was not the late entry pin number you must telephone the bed and breakfast yourself to get it. This wasn't very well explained to me by Bookings.com.

    Only place in area that allows 24/7 arrival. Staff/comfort/value/breakfast all good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff we kind and welcoming and we're so helpful. My 5 & 7 year old were welcomed and made to feel very comfortable. The breakfast was amazing and the staff made you feel like nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean and comfortable and well supplied. It benefits from being a few minutes walk to the marine park and is only ten minutes walk from the fair and beach. Perfect.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't find the stairs too easy but I am getting on a bit and rather arthritic! I normally stay in a hotel with ensuite but it was very good value and a comfortable environment to return to after a funeral.

    Extremely helpful and cheerful staff member.Good breakfast cooked to order with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room basin didn't empty easily I didn't report it as it would be obvious when keening But don't have a hissy fit over it

    The company at breakfast. The room comfy bed come n go as you like just respect others

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single room already booked for next week but they had a double with en suite for £5 more.

    Great welcome and service from Annie, room was great for solo traveler.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only staff we saw were the cook and cleaner. The only b&b we have stayed at on our many trips around the u.k where we never saw the proprietor

    Breakfast was good cooked to order. Room clean and tidy but small.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 19 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The people made the experience better. Lovely people. Couldn't say anything bad about the people.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in the room a little small but functional

    Friendly Welcome, Clean and practical. Good Breakfast selection

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not keen on foam mattress myself

    The huge room and fantastic staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast warm friendly welcome & very clean, lovely comfortable room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared toilet shower

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    single room had shared bathroom and down stairs

    Very Clean and Breakfast Cheap and plentiful the host very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was brilliant

    Everything the owner took us through everything and explained everything would definitely recommend

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing , always a great stay

    Choice of Breakfast is great , location superb, staff always happy to help

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A guest lounge would have been nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff couldn't have been more helpful when Booking threatened to cancelled my reservation at the last minute.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very helpful from my arrival. It is a good place recommended to me by the college.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Felt very safe here as a female on my own.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to smoke outside.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect thanks for everything.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was good for streaming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked to book another night but my room was already sold which was disappointing.

    Late night arrival was no problem.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly, home from home atmosphere.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish I could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    High quality breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm and cozy room. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift apart from that everything was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately its a shared bathroom, so between * rooms it was difficult to get the timing.

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything.

    Clean and comfortable room with a control for the heating as you liked it. Good location for Haven Point on Ocean Road.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean + good value. Location was excellent for my purposes as I was training at MOST.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea/coffee well stocked and fresh milk

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect theatre digs. Flexible and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small more than like a box room though the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds very comfortable, food excellent, A lovely place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    SHORT WALK TO SOUTH TYNESIDE COLLEGE. BREAKFAST WAS A BELLYBUSTER.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location Good room staff very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really liked being able to make ice using the room fridge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs

    Comfy clean bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great accommodation for hospital and can accommodate a late arrival.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having an en-suite room

    Friendly service very helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    heatwave but there was a fan provided

    superb room, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No suggestions for improvement.

    It was an enjoyable stay, thanks!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very cramped room for 3 adults. No sleep due to noise outside and church bells all through the night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing staff, extremely clean and comfortable. Highly recommended :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Your superb breakfast set me up for the day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could do with some new pillows and lighter duvets.

    Breakfast was excellent and the room was fairly comfy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    enjoyable stay thanks glad i picked you. the flexible checking in was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, top value for money, good Italian restaurant on the next road. Beach down the street was glorious.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like having to go down two flights of stairs to use the bathroom

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Checking out.

    Lots of tea/coffee supplies which I like.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The breakfast was ideal and serve on time.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't accept pets.

    Warm + cosy + freshly made breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Great food and good choice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ReallyFriendly lady.and breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom

    Great comfy bed

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Great bed great breakfast great service great location brilliant value

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we had to share the bathroom and toilets

    it was very clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: