Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4 stars

23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh, EH1 3BH, United Kingdom

#24 of 138 hotels in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2866 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately when we were there the hotel had a power cut and this definitely put a dampener on our night and enjoyment of the hotel. I know these things can’t be helped just disappointed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar area and reception was a bit soulless.

    The room was a good size with a large ensuite bathroom. Beds were very comfortable and the windows had good sound insulation. One of the nicest rooms I've stayed in of this kind of hotel. Perfect location near to Waverley station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room location.

    The Hotel is in a great location, clean and the staff very helpful. The only let down was the location of the room as it was on floor 2 and the room level with the road/walkway with lots of passing public.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I experienced the power outage during my stay there. And it is really annoying. No internet connection, can not call the receptionist, and they are left us in completely dark at night, without either any replacement diesel light or polite noticement before and during the power outage. in fact, no apologize after that 😎

    near the train station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed June 2018. Excellent location. Room and ensuite were spacious. Clean. New. Bed was comfortable. Staff at reception and restaurant were very warm and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work started earlier than stated ..around 7.a.m on a sat morning

    Large airy room nice leisure facilities great breakfast with very friendly staff and good location. Plenty of restaurants in the 10 min walk area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s having work done and one of the lifts was designated for that so was not very nice to use - otherwise nothing negative

    The location is great and the staff very helpful - they moved our room when I asked for a bath as soon as they could. The room, just a standard, and bathroom were lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was tired- stairwell area needed a good clean and paint job. Our room although big and spacious was dusty and the view from the window was of pipe work and other internal rooms (ie no view). On arrival i tried to get a drink from the bar, however the bar attendant was too preoccupied serving another customer.

    Good location. Good facilities. Very comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered breakfast up to the room but the slip you order on is confusing so we didn't get what we were after. After the food arrived to the room it wasn't even nice. The pool and spa on site was a bit small and lack luster but it was ok.

    The room was fantastic, clean, spacious and the bathroom was so big. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Perfect hotel for near the train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    Excellent breakfast and light dinner. Pleasant, friendly and efficient staff. Eager and ready to help. Special thanks to Steven and Kaelie. Fantastic location with easy access to old and new towns. Pretty good weather too !!.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have previously stayed in the hotel and in the last room we were in we had a DVD player and were able to rent films from the hotel, however this time when we rented them there was no DVD player in the room so we couldn’t watch them. Also we were provided no robes unlike last time which was a bit of a disappointment. If this was to do with the price bracket then it should be made clearer on this website in which case it would not be the fault of the hotel.

    The room was very pleasant and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel was also very well situated; right in the city centre and within walking distance of the major attractions. Most notably of all, the staff were impeccable in their service. They were both friendly, attentive and informative, and were quick to help when we asked for it. I couldn’t recommend them higher.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar service quite poor really

    Beds very clean and comfortable.Room size good.Bathrooms spacious and of a good standard.Staff excellent. whilst we were there our toilet lid broke it was attended to immediately with no hassle.Staff always wanting to help.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Concierge, Linda, was above and beyond fabulous. All the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We upgraded when we got there and were very glad we did. We got a room with all the amenities and an American king sized bed that was soooo comfortable. We loved the hotel and would gladly go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt there were not enough lifts, only 2 and one was out of service. I have mobility issues and this was a slight inconvience, as stairs are an issue.

    The location was excellent for shops, theatre and eating. The staff were friendly and very helpful . I would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The business office (for customer use) had a printer that was not working.

    Our room faced the street and had a very nice view of an old cemetery across the street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing not to like!

    I liked everything at this hotel, especially the walk-in shower. Breakfast was a pleasure and served in the dining room. Room was very comfortable and close to shops, the station and tours.Staff were very helpful especially Linda who went out of her way to provide me with a tour I wanted to do re Grace Darling in Northumberland. I hope to visit and stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet seat had come adrift and was not attached to toilet.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean and well equipped. Bed was comfortable. Would recommend hotel and would stay there again if in Edinburgh.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outlook at the back of the hotel was not the best as they are developing this area. However the room was double glazed and we didn’t hear any noise in the morning

    Very convenient to Waverley station. We arrived in early evening and needed to catch a train to Glasgow the following morning. As the hotel was only a 5 minute walk from the station this was the main reason that we chose this particular hotel. Although we had a room on the top floor it was clean and the beds were large and comfortable. The restaurant was fully booked that night but we ate in the bar and this was more than adequate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering price of the room the Shower floor was not up to scratch, needed tlc attention Was not impressed with untrained staff in restaurant and food - bothvery ordinary .

    Room was lovely, great position close to princess st, enjoyed facilites & spa,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Seemed a bit expensive for what it was but I suppose we were paying for location which was great.

    Super location right in the centre but still a quiet street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff were less than helpful with recommendations and directions but this was not across the board. One lovely lady spent a lot of time showing us directions on a map. Shower was mould stained.

    The hotel is very well located. You can walk to public transport and many must do places in Edinburgh. Staff were responsive to requests for room supplies. Lots of restaurants in walking distance. The little Italian place a few doors down was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given the price charged, at least a continental breakfast could have been included in the tariff.

    Ease of access to the Waverley Edinburgh via the basement

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are currently renovating so we could hear chipping and grinding. One of the lifts was used for tradesman but we were out a lot so this wasn’t too inconvenient.

    Breakfast was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lifts are slow but you can access the fire stairs easily

    Great location within easy walking distance from the train station. Good breakfasts,friendly staff, and comfortable very quiet room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View was building site however the room was really nice and big. The bed lovely and bug found it bit uncomfortable but maybe just personal thing as my husband skept fine .

    Staff were very friendly and accommodating. We visited spato habe massages which were great and used leisure facilities which was nice. Our room was lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room was to small for 2 adults and 2 choldren, not enough room to get ready as we were there for a wedding.

    Complimentary items within the room we're excellent, my children aslo enjoyed the amenities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing had a brilliant time here

    Near station and just a short walk to princes street. Had a spa day with couples therapy it was amazing, booked to go back and so looking forward to it. We also had a voucher towards spa which was handy and toiletries in room were elemis which gave a insight into how lovely they are. Staff at hotel were great and we received a complimentry drink because our room was 15 mins late on arrival which to us was no biggy but had a lovely glass of chardonnay. Nice restaurant but there also nice places within walking distance wee italians (marones I think ) on corner do a brilliant breakfast and amazing smoothies in fact all the food we tried there was spot on it worth giving a try

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel easy to find, walking distance from railway station. Lovely room great view. Spa facilities good. Very clean. Staff very polite and helpful. Would use this hotel again and recommend to family and friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough staff on duty at breakfast and you ran out of cereal bowls both mornings we were with you.. Dinner was slow coming when there were very few people in the restaurant and you had run out of one of the main courses by 7.30pm. The shower area was a bit tired with peeling paint at floor level. Breakfast should have been included in the price.

    Great situation, good room, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our daughters camp bed wasn’t very comfortable

    Great location Fantastic staff Lovely extras in the room, Elemis toiletries, a good choice of snacks and Earl the rubber duck Fabulous pool

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn’t ‘work’ in our bedroom despite trying to log on many times. Aware could have reported to reception but managed to log on to BT Mail and also used mobiles to get by.

    Excellent location. Bed comfy. Large tv screen. View from window would have been higher rated but for ongoing (two years maybe?) building works outside.....These not related to Apex!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing stood out for improvement- we were all very impressed.

    Excellent service at reception on arrival. Efficient, welcoming, pleasant. Gave a very positive start to our stay. I had requested 2 rooms on the same floor, this was accommodated with rooms a couple of rooms apart. It was ideal. Rooms were very clean, modern, well fitted and spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was expensive, I think it should have been included for the price I paid to stay there.

    It was in a fabulous location, couldn’t have picked a better spot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For €150 a night the room was small - i always seem to get a bad room when i book through booking sites - is it because the room is prepaid they dont feel the need to impress? Bad lighting (3 lamps not working in room), poor mirror at dressing table, air conditioning very loud

    The location was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not particularly helpful when a problem was encount. Used all my monthly mobile phone allowance trying to resolve on Thursday night before arriving on Friday, only to find still not resolved and reception took ages to action refund on duplicate room that Apex/Booking.com has done in error

    Nice food in restaurant but small portions and very overpriced

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being in a room that was dark and obviously for disabled guests. Wifi was terrible due to being lower thank street level we assume and when we arranged the rebooking it should have been for 2 nights not one.......the extra cost was a lot for the inconvenience of the mistake when booking. That was booking.com not the hotels fault though and we didn't notice till we were there!

    Staff were lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was our first time in Edinburgh and we absolutely loved it because of our stay at the hotel. Its location is perfect as it is 2 minutes away from Waverly station and close to all the attractions (the castle, scottish whiskey experience, calton hill, and the shopping district). The staff were super friendly and our room was amazing; super big and spacious. I would definitely stay here next time I'm in Edinburgh!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The eggs were poached to perfection. Only one complaint - the coffee pot was not big enough for two cups of coffee each, but there was no problem about being served with another pot - so that really should not be a complaint!. The choice of buffet foods was excellent and the cooked "classics" were varied and well presented.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room was to an inner yard of the hotel and to some offices - it felt very invasive and uncomfortable

    Great hotel, great location - just across the train station, very helpful staff, nice swimming pool, big a comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Station entrance was difficult to negotiate partially blocked with trollies and poor signage If customer was disabled then they wouldn't manage it

    Check in staff were excellent Swimming pool was very welcome addition. I used it every morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View out of the window ok but bins and rubbish below Arrived late, no food or snacks not even crisps or nuts available Breakfast at £15 expensive

    Lovely hotel friendly staff spotless

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • City Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only issue during the stay was that our lobby floor room was a little noisy when the pubs closed in the early hours of the morning.

    The location is excellent! This hotel is a two minute walk from Waverley Station and a five minute walk from the Royal Mile. The room was a decent size and clean. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The location was fantastic, and 5 mins from Waverley train station which was great , the rooms were clean and beds very comfortable, staff were very friendly on our arrival ... will definitely stay here again when I’m Edinburgh. Top hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service from all staff I encountered. In particular, the staff on reception were very friendly and efficient. Massive shout out to Linda on concierge who was amazing. She was so friendly and helpful; the trip was booked for my birthday and she helped my boyfriend in bringing up gifts to the room as a surprise. She was absolute excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed in the hotel on a number occasions and have been highly satisfied. However, on this most recent occasion, the room was in poor condition and run down. The bathroom and toilet were not clean and had mould.

    location and staff are excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean and the bed very comfortable, the location is in the center, hotel staff wear very hospitality and they are very helpful. Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty loud at the moment during the day as there is a lot of building work going on across the road. Thermostat in first room didn't work

    Excellent city centre location. Happy to move us rooms due to poor guests next to us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing i could pick that i wasn’t happy about was no parking, however didn’t effect my stay as we found a car park a 5 minute walk away for the 4 day stay for £45. Since found out there is a park and ride just off the A1 which if we have known about we could have used, maybe advise guests of that? Like i say this is nitpicky the experience was fantastic.

    Every member of staff we came across were polite and friendly and were willing to have a conversation and give advice. Including the cleaners. The facilities were amazing especially the spa! The room was one of the best i have stayed in for a hotel. Was our first trip to Edinburgh and will definitley be returning and using this hotel again, also recommended to all our friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool temperature was very cold

    The breakfast was so lovely.Everything you could think of they had it for breakfast and was freshly cooked to order for you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sauna was switch off in the evening. The breakfast was not great. Eggs were very badly cooked.

    Great location, friendly staff and comfy room. The mattress was fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to right here

    The bed was so soft and I loved the fact that the duvet and the pillows were feathers. The staff were all really down to earth,friendly and helpful. Linda was lovely on the info desk. It wasnt a problem for the hotel to hold our back on arrival and departure before check in and after check out. The leisure facilities were fab I really enjoyed that as it was so relaxing,plenty of towels for your use,Great hair dryers, gorgeous Elimis shampoo and body wash. Everywhere was so clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The upper level is a bit cramped for space, especially to lay open a suit case or if you want the ironing board out it is a bit tight for room.

    The layout of the suite (had a separate upper level) which is a godsend especially with a young child, the bath wasn't a let down either, breakfast service was brilliant too. The staff in the bar also made us feel very welcome with our daughter too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we had a towel with makeup stains on in our room when we got there, we gave it to staff and they replaced it but makes you think were the other towels even fresh? Kids diving and splashing about in pool at 8/9pm so not very relaxing, didn't go the pool again after that .. not the hotels fault though i blame the parents.

    bed was super comfy and bath/shower was amazing! location couldn't be better and staff were very helpful with our trip letting us know the best places to go ect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was a bit cold, sauna wasn’t warm enough, showers in the room weren’t as good as the ones in the gym!

    Really convenient, good service and good facilities, good rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service at the hotel restaurant was absurdly slow.

    The bed was super comfortable and the hotel was in the perfect location for tour pick ups and walking around the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room overlooked a massive building project. Work started at 7am and it was very very noisy.

    The hotel was in an excellent location. Bright modern and clean. Staff efficient but friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was a little colder than I would have liked and the sauna and steam room were only being enough for 4 people at a time

    Perfect location, friendly staff and when your in the hotel room it is so perfectly quiet

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel & amenities were all good. Staff very friendly & helpful. The room comfortable, spacious and clean. Location is central without being affected by city centre busyness.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin beds were together, not what I expect when I book a twin room. Found hairs on bathroom floor. Room was dated furniture scored and scratched. Shower floor needs re grouted and freshened up. Building work going on outside hotel but not advised if this when booking.

    Location was good. Spa therapy was very good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would be good on the websites to mention where the nearby parking is - I was just lucky that I parked at the nearest location as when driving round a city that one does not know its a bit of guesswork

    Bed exceeded expectations as did the quality of the room, and the staff are very helpful. Breakfast made freshly and having dairy, wheat and caffeine free options amazing!!!!! Thank you for a fantastic stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location very close to the train station. Lovely staff, great restaurant. Massive thanks to the hotel staff who swiftly posted an item of clothing back to me that I stupidly left hanging in the wardrobe. Brilliant service. I would definitely stay again when in Edinburgh

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was chaotic, terrible organisation and hot food was returned as cold and greasy. Queued 15mins for breakfast and continental laid out in entrance with people in and out was not nice.

    Room was lovely and reception staff friendly and helpful. Spa amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool is very small and cold, sauna wasn't hot, overall heating of spa facilities were not warm. The bath in the room was small and the tiles in shower broken and then fixed over badly. The bed was not comfy, it was bumpy and hard. We have a new born baby which staff woke up twice; once by ringing the room phone when our room service was being delivered (they then knocked on the door), and then again in the morning the cleaner knocked at 9.30am when we were not due to check out until 12 noon. Overall £170 for one night!!! We should have spent our money somewhere else.

    Very central location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was a bit drafty and decor very plain. Needs brightened up with pictures, mirrors and twinkly lights etc. This would make it much more homely and appealing.The complimentary tea/coffee etc in our room was very sparse, but we asked one of the cleaners for some more coffee sachets and she kindly let us take some more.

    Lovely comfy room, excellent staff and superb breakfast. Lovely spa and great swimming pool. Nice and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a fantastic stay at the apex from start to finish. The staff couldn’t have been nicer and I would definitely recommend staying here to friends and family. We will most Definitely be back soon. The rooms were well looked after, the pool area was lovely and the staff really were faultess.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing-all staff were friendly and helpful-made our stay wonderful experience-one off the best breaks we have had in the capital.

    Breakfast very good as you can pick and choose what you want-lunch toasted sandwiches great value came wiith side salad and fries - generous portions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for upgrade, next time I would wait and look at my first booking of room first then ask for a upgrade how much it would be, then would see the differences in rooms

    Staff was excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say all good

    I love this hotel! Great location in the city centre. Staff on reception and in the bar really friendly and helpful. Room was lovely with super comfortable bed and great breakfast in the morning. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There weren’t many problems at all, the only thing I would suggest is a free drink token on arrival as I’ve experienced this with other hotels. The spa treatments looked amazing however slightly too expensive for me.

    The room was lovely and the bed was so comfy! The staff were so helpful and friendly, particularly the reception and resteraunt staff. Loved the sauna & pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the hotel did not have parking and had to pay nearly £20 for our car to be parked while we stayed at the hotel.

    Liked that the hotel had a restaurant and used room service which was rather pleasant as my partner and I were too tired to get ready to go out for dinner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel and location and to top it all off the staff were extremely helpful and friendly...we got an amazing upgrade for free as I let the hotel know it was my wife’s Birthday! Even though we didn’t expect anything it was a huge gesture which we very much appreciated 👍🏻☺️🙌🏻

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting 15 minutes at the counter to check in. A couple was before me asking questions on sightseeing and stuff, I get it. But it took 15 minutes for another member of the staff to come and check me in. Not the worst in the world but could be improved

    Total blackout bedroom! Great place to rest

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little dark. And the weekend we stayed was exceptionally cold, so an extra blanket would have been useful.

    Lovely bathroom, fabulous bed. Check in staff were very helpful. Loved the free ducky for the bath 😀

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Couple
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The pool was clean and well maintained, nice large bed good view, so near princes st all excellent used the spa facilities staff again first class

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I did not like. Loved it all

    Liked everything about my stay. This is my second time in apex Waterloo & would highly recommend it to everyone. Happy with

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Apex Waterloo Place Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: