Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Appin Guest House 3 stars

11 Carrick Road, Ayr, KA7 2RA, United Kingdom

#3 of 30 B&Bs and Inns in Ayr

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 171 hotel reviews

9.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    10

  • Comfort

    9.9

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.9

  • Staff

    10

  • Value for money

    9.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better, it was great.

    The App in guest house was beautiful, the house and the lady owner we're great. Couldn't ask for anywhere better, brilliant. Many thanks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed.

    Breakfast good, pleasant and helpful landlady, lovely clean accommodation, not sure about clear window glass in bathroom,telly a bit small, bed very uncomfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps the bathroom could have housed a bath, as there was enough room for one.

    Melissa, the landlady/host was very welcoming, even texting me on the way there to ask what time I would arrive. I found the room very warm and just the right size for one person. The room was on the back, so was very quiet. Breakfast excellent, and as I was attending a funeral later in the day, it was just what I needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The friendly hosts made us feel really welcome. The room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Fantastic location with a lovely breakfast room looking onto a lovely back garden.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, couldn't fault our stay.

    Guest house beautifully decorated, hosts lovely and friendly, even left a box of chocolates for my daughter as they knew she had just celebrated her birthday - lovely touch, breakfast superb.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    couldnt find anything wrong with this guest house.

    the hosts were very friendly. the room was beautiful and comfortable. breakfast was lovely loads to choose from. we are already looking to book again in the spring. perfect location as town centre is only a 5 min walk away. beach is 10 mins away.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed overnight as was attending a wedding at a nearby venue. The B&B is lovely and I recommend staying here. Excellent service and breakfast was tasty, nothing was a hassle. Well worth more than they are charging.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like

    the homely feeling from the wonderful host. Everything was spotless, breakfast good and bed comfortable. The location was excellent for walking distance to where we were going and also close to Railway Station and other amenities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like everything was perfect

    We loved the perfect home from home atmosphere,the welcome on arrival by the lovely Melissa,the breakfast , top marks 😀

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could not find any faults.

    Breakfast, plenty of choice and generous helpings and piping hot, very welcoming and friendly .Only a few minutes walk to the town centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. There was no onsite parking but could park on a side street less than 2 minutes away so was not a real problem.

    Everything! Couldn't fault a thing from the warm welcome from Melissa to the comfy bed and the lovely breakfast. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to stay in Ayr!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    We were welcomed (by name) by Melissa, our very friendly and personable hostess/owner. The room was spotless, with quality décor. Breakfast was excellent, taken in the conservatory, with plenty of choice of hot and cold food and fresh flowers on the table.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    n/a

    Wonderful couple who run this b&B very accommodating, nothing too much trouble! It was also a beautiful and well maintained house, cannot fault anything!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely home with exceptional owner. Melissa was welcoming, warm and helpful. She gave us tips for restaurants and sights and she made us feel like family. Home is updated and very stylish. Room was clean and comfortable with En-suite bathroom. Breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit and farm fresh eggs!! We especially enjoyed the breakfast room overlooking the serene garden. Highly recommend for location, comfort and value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a lovely house runned by a lovely family and the lady of the house is the nicest most welcoming person you will meet. This was a nice holiday in a very clean tasteful surrounding

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about.

    We liked everything,I'd have to list everything if I was to name what we liked. Breakfast in the conservatory was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was perfect

    I loved everything about this property. Melissa and John the owner's were very warm & welcoming which made it feel just like home. Quality about everything, right down to the products in the shower. Bed really comfortable & a short walk to the town centre of Ayr. Great value for money. I would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone visiting Ayr Scotland

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We received a very friendly welcome and were given recommendations for restaurants. The twin room was beautiful, luxurious and had everything you could possibly need. Had the best breakfast I've had in years, also. Will definitely be back and will be recommending this B&B to my friends.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing what so ever

    I loved the bath! Very friendly owners which made us feel very welcome! The breakfast was lovely also.. perfect to lift a small hangover lol!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to fault

    Rooms were lovey and spotlessly clean. Owners were very welcoming and couldn't do enough for you. Breakfast was fantastic and will definitely be returning here again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only having time for one night there.

    We were very pleased with the Appin Guest House and could not fault anything. The bed and bedding were comfortable and the breakfast was great. The owner could not do enough for us. We will definitely go back.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The guest house was beautiful,very clean & homely. Breakfast was delicious & set us up for the day ahead.... would highly recommend & will difinatly be returning!!! Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Extremely friendly and spotless guest house. Excellent cooked breakfast cooked to order. The location is very central, but has quick access to the bypass.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was clean and had a relaxing atmosphere. This was our third time staying at this property and we have never been disappointed. We have booked up again

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazingly clean and high quality decor Breakfast was delicious Melinda was amazingly attentive Walking distance to the train station Will be using this place for most of my visits to the area

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Received a very friendly welcome, room was beautiful and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was wonderful. Thank you both for a lovely stay. Cannot believe how cheap the room was!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really struggling to find something we disliked or weren't satisfied with during our stay.🤔

    Bed & rooms extremely comfortable & clean. Breakfast was fantastic & owners Melissa & Mark really went above & beyond to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay.Situated close to all amenities. Definitely would recommend 'Appin House B&B'& would definitely be our first choice when visiting Ayr in the future.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing so good we know we will be booking again

    The owner was down to earth really friendly and helpful the guest house was spotless the bed was really comfy and very close to all amenities

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely nothing you could fault about Appin house at all, hope to return in the near future,

    Amazing property , wonderful interior, absolutely brilliant place to stay, hosts very friendly and extremely funny , well recommended,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is limited but our landlady put her car outside so ours was on the drive

    Very comfy room with all mod cons and a really friendly landlord who made us most welcome! Great location!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Melissa and David are wonderfull hosts, very friendly, and make you feel at home immediately. Warm breakfast in their beautiful winter garden breakfast room was extremely delicious! Melissa and David gave wonderfull tips as to where to go, what to see and where to dine. Is was a pitty that we left after only 3 nights, and we can only highly recommend staying with them!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All satisactory. Very clean/comfortable/friendly.

    Not far from Rail station and town centre/shops. Quiet location. Bedroom very clean and comfy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    One of the best b&b we ever stayed in, beautiful house and excellent breakfast, very goood value for money, very warm friendly reception from Melissa the owner. Would definitely stay here again. Thanks again from graham and Sue from Newcastle upon Tyne.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent stay at the guest house. Host was fantastic and couldn't do enough to help. Rooms were luxurious and well maintained. Would highly recommend and will definitely be back with OH next time we are in the area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found nothing I didn't like.

    Everything, the accommodation was excellent, room beautifully decorated. The owner was really lovely, very friendly and helpful. Typical Scottish breakfast, fresh fruit, cereal, yogurts, it set you up for the day. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B & B to my family and friends and we would stay there again if ever we were in Ayr.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    5star accommodation. Hosts very friendly. Great breakfasts. Extra little touches like giving us a crystal glass to enjoy our whisky. Recommendations for dinner.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    From the minute we arrived, we received a lovely welcome. The room was immaculate and the standard of facilities and breakfast were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although Close to Town Centre- Great Location... Great Choice of Breakfast- Really sets one up for the day. Lovely Hosts! Lovely and Clean throughout and the Bed was so comfy! Certainly our 1st choice of accommodation, next time we visit Ayr.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We liked everything about the place, our hosts were very welcoming

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic value for money, a friendly welcome, lovely room and great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely breakfast. Very friendly hosts.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    The location was superb the room was excellent and the hosts were brilliant very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike - splendid place to stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all great.

    Everything, beautiful place , lovely food and exceptionally friendly hosts in Melissa and David.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very polite, friendly, and accommodating

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and tidy very friendly owners great value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything great room ensuite bed, breakfast,and host very friendly and helpful all round great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location and sumptuous surroundings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First class

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cash only taken. Would have been helpful for Booking.Com to know this.

    Locality to town, friendliness of host, amenities and breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very accommodating, superb friendly home from home experience. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Lovely hosts. Beautifully decorated room. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Was fantastic. Melissa so welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was beautifully cooked and presented with plenty of additional tea and toast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners of the Guest house were fantastic really friendly breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great reception friendly and homley

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a beautifully presented facility which was immaculately clean. Very friendly owners and a great breakfasr

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Host is fantastic, very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is lovely. The bed was super super comfy and the decoration around the guest house is lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor, cleanliness and helpfulness of hosts.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean comfortable and very accommodating

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property and host. 5 min walk from town centre. Great value. Checked in early to drop off our bags.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Delighted with our last minute booking and our stay at Appin Guest House.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Gorgeous room lovely on suite owners very friendly, breakfast very nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean comfortable friendly and welcoming situated just off the town centre so quiet but easy to access Ayr.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not find fault.

    Comfortable, very clean, outstandingly friendly. Perfectly situated for the town centre. 5*****

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Very tasteful decor; clean and comfortable; nice range of soaps etc.; very charming proprietor; delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful hosts

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I Have Nothing NegATive to say.

    It was close to the main town and a short ride to the bus and train station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely landlady and fab breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Host was most welcoming and had no hesitation in assisting us with our luggage. Few steps but not onerous. Cooked breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was lovely,the room was amazing easily the nicest b+b I have stopped at

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff made sure breakfast was available even though I had to leave early

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Excellent food and very pleasant owners

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Bed extremely comfy but overall the hosts were amazing, made u feel completely at home 😀

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: