Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Apple Tree Hotel 3 stars

Keenthorne,Nr Nether Stowey, Nether Stowey, TA5 1HZ, United Kingdom

#6 of 6 hotels in Nether Stowey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 90 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    No grab rails in the bathroom meant that my husband, who has balance issues, could not get a shower. I was told that this would be rectified in the near future.

    Spacious comfortable bedroom with easy access to the car park. The staff were friendly and very obliging. Excellent varied menu, giving a better choice than offered at a four star hotel we stayed at recently

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing springs to mind

    Was only staying the night, for a wedding nearby. But the room was exactly what I needed. Easy parking, clean and comfortable room, not overly expensive. But best of all, the owner was really very kind and helpful - although we didn't need anything in particular, I have the feeling that he would have gone out of his way, should anything be required to make our stay more comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Plumbing in room 2.............wastewater from shower seemed to gurgle up in toilet Room 7 & 8, central heating/ hot water coming on #5.30 am was noisey*

    Single beds were extremely comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't fault the staff, place and facilities even if I tried.

    Very friendly, polite and helpful staff, the place is set in a beautiful and quite surrounding, the premises is tidy on the outside and inside, plenty of parking spaces and beautiful garden, inside the place is organised in a logical manner which make it easy to find anything you need, very clean rooms, restaurant, bar and library with comfortable sitting and specious. The food on offer is of the highest quality I have came across during my travels and comparing to other places a stayed in. The staff was very welcoming and always found the time to answer any question I have had or just for a chat even when they were busy. The room and bed were excellent and I had a very good night sleep. I will go back and stay again if I visit the area again, fantastic value for money. Well done To Simon and his team, keep up the excellent work.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hosts and staff were so friendly and welcoming. Clean, comfortable rooms. Delicious freshly cooked food - no wonder non-residents chose to eat there. Lovely bar and library area with comfy sofas. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were comfy and clean but a little tiered, but overall still good value for money.

    The welcome and the friendliness of the owners and staff, they made you really feel welcome. Great breakfast, really tasty, fresh and full selection.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Delicious cooked breakfast made with good quality ingredients. The owners and staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was extremely comfortable with a pleasant view over the garden.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no complaints

    everything really - from rooms to friendly staff and ease of parking. Evening meal choice was very good and breakfast choices were also excellent Facilities in rooms were good and comfort of beds excellent Rooms cleaned promptly every day, and staff worked hard , but overall it was the easy going atmosphere created by the hoteliers that made it better than most

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have nothing to say regarding negative feedback.

    The staff were very welcoming and couldn't do enough to help. Very nice breakfast, and the bar/ restaurant looked great too. Great location for the wedding we were at.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No draft beer.

    Restaurant very pleasant with good food and service. One of the best breakfasts we have ever had. Very quiet all round and well looked after.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Altogether a great experience, but a shower chair in the bathroom would make it perfect.

    Easily accessible ground floor room, with spacious bathroom that could probably accommodate a wheelchair. The staff were very professional, thoughtful and pleasant. Nothing was too much trouble. On recognising my husbands problem with the internal stairs they opened the patio door to the dining room to give him easy access for breakfast which was much appreciated. The menu was well thought out with some unusual and interesting dishes as well as the usual steaks etc. Dinner and breakfast were excellent, beautifully cooked and presented. Would have no hesitation in recommending the Apple Tree.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    located on busy A road so room on that side of premises might be noisy

    comfortable & interesting lounge area, lovely dining room location in rural surroundings with entertaining birds & rabbits! Very welcoming host &hostess. Food carefully prepared with excellent choice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As you can see from above there was nothing to dislike !!

    On arrival was welcomed by Simon , ( Owner and Manager of Appletree Hotel ) We had travelled from Surrey for a Wedding the following day. Not knowing the area found Simon most helpful sorting out cabs( even to the point of searching round for a reasonable cab company instead of being ripped off !!!!! ) Most Hoteliers make you feel welcome but we ( myself , Mum and dad ) found Simon to have the edge on most , always there if needed , if he wasn't on premises left a mobile contact number if we needed anything . Breakfast well my Dad and I found it most fulfilling , should have put a photo on Facebook !!!! Will most certainly return if ever planning a return trip to Sommerset Would highly recommend , value for money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Very friendly welcome from Simon , found him most accomadating for sorting out cabs for Wedding we were going to !! Also food was exceptional , nothing too much of a problem even short notice on a Sunday evening after a day out Found Simon and Gill a lovely couple , had great chats with them both and would certainly book with them again if visiting Somerset

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The radiator in my room wasn't on, there was no thermostatic valve to open, but not a big deal and used the spare blanket

    Very peaceful and relaxing, beautiful location. Very friendly staff, Emma was lovely Breakfast was very nice

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no issues

    Lovely welcome from the owner. Food all freshly prepared Had cucumber fro my Hendrick's gin too! Good sized bedrooms, home from home with a very comfy bed

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in room 11 which backs on to the Gents toilets and more annoyingly the hand dryer which is right behind the head board on the other side of the wall. There is also a shower pump in the room above that sounds like it's going to take off. Not nice at 05:40 in the morning! I did speak with the manager who apologised and said he was looking to replace or relocate the shower pump.

    The food was excellent and the staff very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The welcome, the ambience, the lovely room, the great dinner, the attentiveness of staff. The location is beautifully rural yet a few minutes from the large town of Bridgwater, the M5, or going the other way the quantocks, Minehead, Exmoor, We came up to say hello to some old friends in the area and picked this hotel for it's location. Next time I will pick this hotel for the people who own it. They were superb hosts.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Evening meal choices were small, we ate out after first night. We were in annex which is a bit tired. Not much room in bar area to sit and drink. No draught beers available.

    Breakfast was good. Location good for visiting the area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I stayed in a single room with en-suite bathroom which did not have a 'shaver' socket. I purchased an adapter locally for less than £1.

    A clean well managed hotel with friendly staff. The room was quiet with a comfy bed. A very tasty and well presented english breakfast. Also, ample free parking on site.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A draught bitter presence would have been nice to add to the lagers avilable

    Excellent breakfast freshly cooked Friendly welcoming proprietor and partner

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If I was to be picky, the plumbing was a bit noisy. But this in no way detracted from a great stay.

    The home cooked food was outstanding and the owners could not have done more to make us feel at home. The property was very clean and the bed was really comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower facilities could do with an update .

    Comfortable bed . Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extra attention to help our stay easier and meet our needs. The care given to make sure our granddaughter had what she wanted to eat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff, lovely room. All in all just a great place!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice Hotel, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was cold due to central heating being on a timer

    Very friendly staff and very nice food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice friendly hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not on a bus route

    The decor and the service

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely staff, good food, and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice friendly accommodation, great food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location and rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.I

    Very good. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room next to main staircase and a little bit noisy

    Staff very approachable and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Friendly owners, extremely helpful. Good breakfast, comfortable rooms. Evening meal excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a iron in the room.

    The food is amazing. The staff very helpful. Ample parking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff are friendly and helpful. Specials menu changes daily.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, great food

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast and friendly attentive staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not particular.

    Very nice staff. Good breakfast. Quite location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really helpful staff, nice rooms, lovely surroundings, good food...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and friendly

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and helpful. The restaurant is very attractive and the food excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff the food the location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect

    Simon and Jill were amazing. Friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. The service and food was fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    bar and restaurant opening earlier

    comfy bed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More choice of yoghurt flavours please!

    The welcome and attentiveness we received throughout our week long stay was so lovely, we felt very at home.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food for dinner, defrosted and overcooked meat and it took long Order took almoust one Hour

    Nice loaction Friendly host Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very friendly welcome from all at the Apple Tree, a comfy room and excellent food. I've stayed before, and I'll stay again!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some bedroom features a little worn

    Relaxed welcoming warm atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor service for dinner. Had to wait almost 50 minutes to eat the starter. Noisy in the morning as my room was next door to the laundry room and staff were talking at 6am.

    Very friendly manager.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Booked extremely late in an emergency, helpful and pleasant staff looked after me very well indeed. Pleasant, spotlessly clean accommodation in the superior B&B / family hotel category.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    from the moment we walked into the hotel we felt welcome and the staff were friendly and ready to make sure we had everything we needed fro a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing not to like. Would have to be very picky to find a fault!

    Lovely welcome on arrival, very clean, great food all freshly cooked, friendly staff. Would stay again if in the area

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unfortunately I arrived quite late in the evening to properly sample too much of the hotel. Nonetheless I had a friendly welcome, enjoyed an excellent evening meal and had a hearty breakfast before leaving. All the staff and the owners could not have been more helpful or friendlier. My room was also excellent value for what I paid. Having experienced the lovely 20 minutes or so drive through the Quantocks on leaving the hotel to get to Taunton, I'll definitely use this hotel again when in the area.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was nothing that we found disappointing.

    The lovely welcome we received, the setting of the hotel, the excellent service and the very good food. Excellent quality of ingredients, cooked well. The purpose if our visit was a family get- together to celebrate a special birthday, and it proved to be a perfect choice of venue.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very welcoming and pleasant. The food was excellent and the accommodation was very clean. Nothing was to much trouble. We would definitely return there.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no dislike

    the hotel was very good,the food very good as was they staff and owner we will be going back ,it was nice to be on the ground floor and have our front door ,

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Got quite noisy with fans starting after 05:30.

    Close to my journey's end, reasonable cost (incl. early breakfast). Generally quiet and with off road parking.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the toilet in the bathroom has the most aggressive and longest flush! Wi-Fi signal poor in room

    Stayed here before and did not realise that office had booked again until I arrived. The room on this occasion was much better than last stay. The food was once again excellent as were the staff

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing negative to comment on

    The attention to detail The friendly, helpful staff The freshly-cooked breakfasts - better than most 4* hotels A really good small hotel that we would be happy to visit again

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had to wait 20 minutes before i could check in as no one on site. Room hot and claustrophobic despite turning radiator off. The bathroom needs attention, especially the toilet.

    The owner was very friendly and the feel of the hotel was welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovey comfy bed and very friendly owner and staff

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shower

    Food

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was tired with some patches of mould. Not as clean as I was expecting!

    Excellent meals and comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. Simple food cooked very well. Great English breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room near men and women's toilet a bit noisy

    Decore nice and clean

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shower wasn't great

    Great service. Exceptional poached eggs at breakfast

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great evening food

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff really friendly and helpful. Garden room restaurant was simply but lovely. Food was good. Will hope to be back.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lovely friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendiness of the owners, relaxed atmosphere and nice surroundings. The food was exceptional.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice hotel, friendly staff, good food, handy peaceful location near Bridgwater.

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: