Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Applegarth Guest house

Warwick Road 20-21, Stratford-upon-Avon, CV37 6YW, United Kingdom

#15 of 38 B&Bs and Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 837 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    A very good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Located close to the town centre. Room of adequate size, good lighting, clean, with all you need. Bathroom was clean and fresh. The hosts were very pleasant and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.6
    Applegarth was the perfect location for our needs and the staff were very welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing because it was great value for money. The accommodation was what we expected.

    We liked its closeness to the heart of Stratford and the facilities nearby. Very friendly staff and comfort. Great parking!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    Lovely staff beautiful room excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed at this hotel before and breakfast was included which was excellent. However this stay didn't include breakfast which was a little disappointing but stayed in the delux double room which was lovely. Will probably stay again as there are plenty of places to eat breakfast.

    Lovely staff beautiful room excellent location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Had a fridge and location was perfect, only 5min walk into...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like

    Had a fridge and location was perfect, only 5min walk into town. The hosts were so friendly and helpful, great value and we would gladly stay again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    Ok for one night, but I wouldn't stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was extremely soft and the room kept getting very hot - I hardly slept. I also kept hearing the flush of the toilet in the adjoining room during the night, or if someone was having a shower. The separate bathroom I had had a weak shower over the bath and no bath mat, so was slippery and I was worried about falling in the bath tub.

    I liked having a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities in the room. The location was also close to the town centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Another great stay.........
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’ve stayed a few times because it’s accessible to everything and safe. I personally like the fact that they’ve decided not to do breakfasts because firstly you get to lay in, but secondly there’s such lovely places for breakfast in town, I particularly love Fourteas and HR’s. Staff are lovely and helpful, highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Perfect place for a visit to Stratford.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great price and location (for theatres in Stratford-upon-Avon). Very nice proprietors, very comfortable room, which was bigger than most. No English breakfast, but that was no problem whatsoever.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.8
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If on your website you stated that breakfast was no longer available. Did not make a difference to us but your info should be clearer. Feather pillows.

    Location. Very clean rooms. Helpfull staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    The property is close to the main attractions in Stratford...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is close to the main attractions in Stratford upon Avon. The bed was very comfy, and we appreciated the mini refrigerator in the room. They also have off street parking!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay, very clean, with friendly and highly...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great place to stay, very clean, with friendly and highly helpful hosts, and situated close to the center of the town. I would love to re-visit! Vassiliki

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    Very good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Irritating digital clock, very near road and road noise could trouble some.

    Very convenient situation, room and fittings very good. Irritating digital clock required to be hidden. No breakfast available so I took breakfast at M&S which is a short walk away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location, within easy walking distance from the Royal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location, within easy walking distance from the Royal Shakespeare Company and plenty of good restaurants and bars. Nice room, not too small with a comfortable bed, seating area and a good en suite bathroom. Stayed in summer, was nice to be able to open a window at night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Very comfortable bed and bedding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food as renovations of the kitchen area was under way. Not a real problem though as the location was excellent with plenty of nearby places for breakfast.

    Very comfortable bed and bedding. Lovely having a fridge in the room, especially as the weather was so warm.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Free parking, free internet, stones throw from town and close to amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing to not like

    When looking for accommodation I always look for parking first before I decide on where to stay. The Applegarth fits the bill in mores ways than one. Free parking, a stones throw from the town and perfect hosts at an affordable price. The Applegarth is on a one way system but is easily found with plenty of parking spaces to accommodate most types of vehicles. The rooms are clean and tidy and free internet is thrown into the bargain. The guest house is currently going through some renovation work but as we did not intend to stay in or room all day so this had no effect to our experience. Close by there is a Lock system on the river Avon (Before you get into town) where we watched a few barges negotiate the river system, a fair few pubs and restaurants and of course the Shakespear experience. (We purchased the whole story which will give you a massive saving although the schoolhouse is "not" included in the price). We did not use the car at all during our stay until the final day when we travelled to Anne Hathaways cottage and Mary Ardens farm. On the whole I would recommend this Guest house to anyone who asked and will certainly visit again due to its wonderful hosts and the proximity to the town. Please note that the food question was marked down but only because of renovations there was no food option at this time.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    I liked the cleanliness, and the location was just about 3...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is definitely no longer a B&B. There is no breakfast. There will be no one there to greet you if you arrive after 6, though they will send instructions for late arrivals. There is no garden. You look out on parking and construction.

    I liked the cleanliness, and the location was just about 3 blocks from the RSC theatre

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely spacious and comfortable room with small fridge,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just to note a steep narrow staircase so request ground floor if less mobile. Don't miss the driveway turnoff on the oneway road system!

    Lovely spacious and comfortable room with small fridge, kettle, all the necessary bathroom accessories. Very peaceful nights stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    Would Recommend The Applegarth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parts of the Guest House are a little dated re the decor, but this is a minor point.

    Excellent location for the centre of Stratford. Clean room and decent facilities. Alan, the owner, is very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.1
    Very comfortable bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Disappointed by lack of breakfast even though warned ahead. Hope they resume in future. Noisy because of road which cannot be helped but became difficult during the heat wave because windows had to be kept open. Quiet after midnight until 6am

    Very comfortable bed. Lovely bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Marvellous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although on a busy one way system, the room was nicely quiet. we last stayed here 5 years ago and said we would be back next time we visited Stratford. We were not disappointed. Unfortunately due to extensive building works, there was no delicious breakfast as before, but we could not fault any thing else. We particularly like the very spacious airy bathroom. The close proximity to the town center (a few minutes walk) and the free on site parking are an extra bonus. We had fabulous weather whilst visiting as an added plus. We will return to Stratford and The Applegarth with fond memories.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Apart from the fact that there were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apart from the fact that there were improvements/extensionstaking place during our visit it it was ideally situated for the centre of Stratford, the river, theattre, canal, Shakespeare's birthplace, etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Major downfall - it was hard to find and the satnav told us the wrong side of the road. If you do not go round the right way in the first place then you have to go round again to be in the right place to go into the car park, as the house is on the corner and in a one-way system. Other downfall - according to booking.com it included breakfast, but it didn't as the building works were not finished.

    The room was lovely and comfortable and soundproof.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Lovely large room with a fridge and a powerful shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No voile to window which overlooks the main road so it’s not very private. Take a dressing gown!

    Lovely large room with a fridge and a powerful shower.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Good location I'd stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast because of building work. Noisy main road traffic outside window.

    Convenient for access to town Very clean Well equipped room Comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Perfectly placed lodgings with parking and a smile!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived early as we only had one night in Stratford, we where met on the doorstep with a friendly face and help with our luggage up to the room, very clean and fresh room with complimentary bottled water, tea and coffee. We spent a lovely afternoon and evening in Stratford and decided to spend the following morning there too, the owner very kindly let us park the van in the car park till lunch, top guy and top service. we will return for sure.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Best B&B I have ecer stayed in and would not stay anywhere else in stratford
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    The hospility was execellent room was excellent everything you needed the room to make your stay enjoyable, parking facitlities and only 5 mins walking distance away from the town centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    We will return (again).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have been to the Applegarth any number of times. It has a car park (though we travelled by train on this occasion) and is only five minutes' walk from the town centre. I don't think you can beat it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    A very comfortable stay with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really liked the extra mile they went with the piece of chocolate, the staff were friendly and the rooms where very clean. The facilities like the wifi, coffee and fridge in my room really made my stay an extra bit comfortable. Highly recommend it to any one

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked voiles or nets on the huge window, as our room overlooked front of property. We had to keep the curtains closed.

    Very well situated hotel within 5 mins walking distance of the theatre. Clean and comfortable. Fridge in room and free on site parking. Great not to have to get up early for breakfast. Lots of fabulous places to eat very close by - recommend The Fourteas.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to renovations, I was aware ahead of time that there was no breakfast provision. However it would have been good to have suggestions of where to book. If you do need breakfast book at Huffkins which has a great breakfast menu

    Excellent location, literally five minutes walk to the RSC and the town centre. Very friendly welcome from the owner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    The accommodation was lovely and right in the heart of Stratford. Thank you Alan for a lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The plumbing in the bathroom was a bit noisey i.e when you turned the sink tap on it made a lot of noise, but didn't spoil our stay.

    The room was beautiful and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    We arrived early but it was not a problem.we were given a very warm welcome and a help with the luggage.nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    I couldn't have asked for more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything about the place so have nothing negative at all to say.

    The welcome was friendly, the room clean and tidy, the bed very comfortable and the location close to the town centre ideal for exploring Stratford and all it has to offer. I couldn't have wished for a better place to stay! When the kitchen is finished and up and running it will be perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Charm and comfort at it’s best. Definitely the perfect overnighter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the portaloo out the back, which we faced, due to the current construction, was being pumped out shortly after we checked in, and the smell!

    Great location with plenty of car spaces. Lovely hostess and very comfy room. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    We'd go again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to say here.

    That the B&B was short on one B [no breakfast because of work being done on the kitchens] was no problem for us with Stratford on the doorstep. The whole place looked to have been refurbished sine we last stayed there. 2015?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable stay. Loved the idea of fridge in room. Although breakfast not included plenty of places to eat at reasonable prices. Great being so close to the town. Would highly recommend and will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay and would recommend to everyone!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location perfect. Trouble free stay Hosts amazing and helpful, breakfasts not available due to renovation but recommended places great for breakfast(especially the weatherspoons "golden bee" fabulous breakfasts close by availability early morning and lovely Comfortable beds Perfect break!

    Clean,comfortable perfect stay highly recommend !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Will come back again when breakfast also available. Definitely recommend it to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly owner. Despite due to work on the dining area and therefore no breakfast facilities, our stay was great. A parking space for the car which could be left until 12 on the departure day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was excellent but being really picky power point needs to be at table level so you don't have to boil kettle on the floor, and also could use it when drying hair so don't have to keep unplugging fridge plug, instructions how to use shower as we have never used one like this before. Alan was very friendly and welcoming,would be returning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was hot. Noisy road meant opening windows a problem. TV stations limited. Separate private bathroom fine but another room key hanging in there but of a concern regards security.

    Location. Reasonable price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    I ws disappointed that the kitchen was not working and therefore there was no breakfast but the alternative venue suggest was excellent.

    The owner was very helpful; there are good parking facilities. Location is fantastic for going to the theatre and the room very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Great place to stay, will be going back in a couple of months.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing even the weather behaved itself.

    We found the owner to be very helpful. Our room was lovely and clean, as was the bathroom. It was so close to the centre of Stratford, only a few minuets walk away. There was a pub close by that served excellent food. It was called the Red Lion.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Excellent nights stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn’t like!

    Excellent stay at applegarth guest house! Great value for money, lovely room nice and clean! Short walk to the center of town where all the bars and restaurants are. Many thanks to Alan for being an excellent host!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    A lovely, friendly and comfortable stay. Will be back hopefully, and would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The duvet cover did have holes in on the seam, but it was clean so didn’t matter really.

    The owners were lovely and friendly, ran through everything we needed to know and then left us to it. The bed was comfy, there was plenty of tea and coffee, and the towels were soft and smelt lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Relaxing, wonderful & didn’t want to leave .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location in centre of town. Loved my stay here so much and I was so relaxed here that I extended my stay another night. Spotlessly clean, friendly hosts, everything was perfect. Visit Stratford-Upon-Avon often and usually stay in hotels. First time in a guest house and it was so much more enjoyable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location and host. The shower not so much.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was horrendous. Imagine stepping into a furnace and then jumping into the antarctic with no clothes on. There was no in-between. Either scolding or chilling. It was frightening. There were these weird symbols on the shower that looked like hieroglyphics. You didn't know which way to turn. Literally. Also the bed was very low to the ground which was a bit awkward for a couple of fifty somethings. It was like "ooooowww my back, can you give me a hand up" every time we tried to get up.

    The host was very accommodating and helpful and we enjoyed the location and cleanliness.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant location with parking and great hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to works taking place the guest house could not offer breakfast but we were informed in advance and the hosts made excellent recommendations for breakfast in town.

    The owners of the guest house are fantastic. Very informative before arrival and at check-in. Provided a good overview of the town - recommending restaurants for dinner and breakfast. Highly recommend to others and will definitely stay next time in Stratford Upon Avon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Comfortable and a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast being served, but good local alternatives signposted. Only downside was that the room rate reduction wasn’t enough to compensate having to get an external breakfast.

    Friendly welcoming staff. Town map and ‘to do’ literature very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    B&B was in great location with parking which was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    B&B was in great location with parking which was great! Room was very clean and owners were very helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend and stay here again :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    Friendly, comfortable, convenient - can't fault it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - it's a great place

    Supremely comfortable bed, and totally charming host. The benefit of parking and its location was a big plus - and it had free wifi. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    A lovely place to stay in the centre of Stratford-upon-Avon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the central location, just a hop step and jump from the Shakespeare theatre and indeed all things Shakespeare ie his birthplace,his grave etc. Also very happy with the upgrade to a better room. Many thanks. Although right in the centre of town, there was no noise because of the excellent double glazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    Amazing stay in Shakespeare's hime town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no breakfast. The price was adjusted accordingly so this is definitely not a complaint, and I believe there are plans for breakfast in the future which I imagine will be as amazing as everything else!

    It was absolutely perfect and exceptional value for money. The location, outlook, staff, decor, cleanliness were impeccable. You could walk to everything worth seeing, it was toasty warm despite the blizzard-like snow that had piled up prior to my visit, and nothing at all was a bother. I'd love to return with my family in the future.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Easy check in even though i came after reception was closed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy check in even though i came after reception was closed. Confortable bed, so clean, great shower. Really good heating on a cold snowy night. Easy walk from station. Answered all my questions promptly. Would defs stay again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Lovely weekend away, helped by good value, comfortable accomodation and great customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not available due to overrunning building work but we were given plenty of notice, a discounted rate and alternatives, so no complaints.

    Close to town but no traffic noise. Proprieter (Alan) was very helpful and accomodating. Allowed us to park from 12pm on Saturday though to Sunday evening. Good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Convenient, comfy, clean and a great price - just what I was looking for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I do not like a guest house where there are no staff on site at night. I believe that it is less safe.

    Location close to city centre with parking. The Tai restaurant very near by best Tai meal I've ever had.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.8
    The check out was very early!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check out was very early!and from 8:30a.m had a lot of noise from hotel constructions. Maybe it was better to be the check out at 11 or 11:30 such as all other hotels or guest house.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Very satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was the best I’d slept in since arriving in U K a week ago- firm, comfortable - location excellent - short walking distance to the theatres and restaurants. I’d definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    It was for just for overnight but good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guest house was situated on the one way traffic system and very close to the centre of Stratford 👍🏻 Only a 5 To 10 minutes walk away . Being able to leave your car till 13.00 hrs on the day you were leaving was a great advantage

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.2
    Lovely B&B with great breakfast a short walk from the theatres, shops and restaurants of Stratford.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains let in light at the edges and the fridge emitted noise at random moments during the night.

    Great breakfast and a warm welcome from the hosts. Great location - 10 mins walk to RSC theatres; Good car parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Warm, welcoming, excellent value for money. I will definitely book the Applegarth again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I can fault is that I found the bacon in the cooked breakfast too salty for my taste - yes that really was the only thing!

    Alan, the owner, was so accommodating with my late check in, and regular communication with him regarding this was really appreciated, especially as I was travelling alone. The location is a 2 min walk into the centre of town where you will find shops, restaurants, and Shakespeare’s birthplace just another 5 mins away. The Applegarth is clean and homely, I had the room with the private external bathroom - it really is just across the hall and private! Breakfast was fab - the fresh fruit salad was delicious, the cooked breakfast lovely and hot and the lady working there was polite and welcoming. I can not recommend the Applegarth enough and will definitely stay again when back in the area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Absolutely excellent.Wo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I think the applegarth is perfect

    The applegarth is without doubt the best property in Stratford and one of the best b&b I have ever stayed in. Staff are friendly and helpful without being obtrusive. The breakfast is excellelent. It is also 5 mins walk at an easy pace to the theatre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    I was only in Applegarth House for one night, but Alan was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was only in Applegarth House for one night, but Alan was a warm and helpful host and I'd definitely recommend this place for a comfortable, affordable stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    Lovely and warm stay in Startford
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a big day walking around, it was difficult to wake up early for breakfast abd check out however ethat was the only negative!

    Good location. Room was very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and the owner was very friendly and obliging. A great place to stay in Startford!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Most enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very close to a busy road, which did quietened down after 22.00

    The room was very good had an excellent bathroom, the staff were polite and helpful and the Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay in a lovely house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had forgotten how cosy a double bed is. Too short for hubby to sleep comfortably.

    Very welcoming and knowledgeable about the local area. The breakfast was lovely. We will definitely return.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.2
    Very good. We will certainly stay there again - ideal for RSC visits.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room (no 6 on 1st floor) was small but adequate. There are bigger rooms. The staircase is steep with narrow treads, but we ( aged 75 and 73) managed OK. Less agile guests with larger cases would need help. Keeping windows closed to cut out noise might make the bedroom hot in summer.

    Easy approach from M6, well-located in the town, plenty of parking, easy stroll to theatre and restaurants. Very genial, helpful host. Clean, warm, comfortable room and bed (4'6''), good shower. Sited on corner of busy road, but effective newish double glazing kept out traffic noise. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    Totally outstanding many thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Everything, the location, the Owner, the staff, the room, the surroundings was fantastic. The breakfast on both days were great everything fresh and cooked to perfection. This is our second visit in just over a year and we wouldn’t consider stopping anywhere else just superb.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Our stay was very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Someone had boiled noodles in our kettle, making the tea taste unpleasant! The owners were very apologetic.

    Everything at Applegarth is extremely comfortable. The breakfasts are splendid and the owners friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    well located and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower in our room veered from being boiling hot or freezing cold without making any changes to the settings. Would have liked the 2nd pillow to be on the bed (found in the wardrobe the following morning) additional charge for credit cards

    Excellent breakfast concerned that there would be noise from the road but there was absolutely none location excellent - very close to the theatre and town comfortable bed - we had a very good nights sleep

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.2
    Came with daughter (aged 35 - no tick box for this above), following recent bereavement. V Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly tricky driving to entrance. Not a big problem however. Nothing to dislike in guest house.

    Small but comfortable room, good en suite, tv, kettle etc. Very friendly and helpful people. happy to return in future. Easy access on foot to Theatre and attractions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic location, very quiet, beautiful breakfast and great sized rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, we loved all of it.

    We were very happy with this beautiful property. Even though our room faced the main street out front and it was a busy road, it was double glazed and we heard no noise at all and was a fantastic size. The ensuite was HUGE and there was lots of hot water. The bed was really comfortable and with free wifi which was excellent. The owners were just lovely and we really enjoyed the breakfast in the morning. There was plenty of choice and it was freshly made. Location for this property is EXCELLENT. We could easily walk to all the main shops and having off street parking was an added bonus. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Perfect B&B in Stratford up on Avon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Loft Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. You should bring your small luggage to the room since there is no elevator.

    English breakfast is wonderful. The room and bathroom are large and clean. The bed is very comfortable. The car park is very convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful and Relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I loved everything!

    Breakfast and French press coffee was a great treat! Lovely owners. I felt very safe as single female traveler. I highly recommend this super cute, friendly and location for your trip to Stratford.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely large bedroom and bathroom (we had paid for a slightly larger room). Lovely to have the extra touch of delicious chocolates every day. Also very nice to have a fridge in the room. Gluten free toast was provided for my husband when requested at breakfast time. A really handy location within easy walking distance of the town centre (about 5 mins) so we didn't need the car most of the time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    A friendly and welcoming place for a theatre stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little too warm even with the heating turned off. Shower is one of those plastic Triton jobs which are notoriously difficult to control and a little cramped.

    Good full English breakfast, one of the best in Stratford.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    A great place for a stay in Stratford.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Loft Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was great to find a guest house with a good sized room to accommodate 3 friends without having to use sofa beds etc. Location and the on-site parking were ideal, the breakfast very tasty and the people very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Applegarth Guest house traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: