Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Archways Lodge Hotel 3 stars

11 Hitchin Road, Stevenage, SG1 3BJ, United Kingdom

#1 of 17 hotels in Stevenage

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 479 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom and shower could be updated. There was an issue with no hot water but the owner soon rectified that for us. Can’t complain.

    Location was excellent, self catering facilities were fab as you didn’t have to get up at a certain time for breakfast. Very relaxing stay in a very tastefully decorated and clean room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.8
    Very good would use again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small space shower Room quite small but perfectly ok for price Lack of toiletries there are some but would shower gel

    The bedding was lovely and comfy Room temp brilliant Staff are amazingly helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't work out how to get the oven on.

    This hotel was such great value for money. Was clean, friendly staff and amazing room (stayed in the suite).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s nothing to dislike.

    Excellent value for money. Lovely rooms. Very clean. WiFi, good size TV, fridge, microwave, tea coffee biscuits crisps toiletries included. Very comfortable beds (all good size). Very friendly and welcoming. Plenty of parking. Good location. Think this is a gem. Will definitely book here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    It was pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroon is very small yet functional, but being an older building is maybe no surprise.

    Comfortable, clean, small kitchen amenities for those who want to prepare a breakfast, parking in front of the building. Honest conditions and price. Very practical arrangement for us.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Great room but a tad small
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pictures on line showing the room were deceiving as they made the room look a lot bigger than it actually was.

    The Staff were very friendly, the room was very clean, the bed was comfy and the shower was fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was slightly smelly. Not experienced this before here so was probably a one off

    Like the facilities in room and what you are given to eat and drink is a lovely bonus Very large room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Superb, unexpectedly relaxing, beyond our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needed to ask for hairdryer.

    Great welcome, lovely unexpected welcome pack, informative, helpful. Room clean, bright & thoughtful attention to detail.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.9
    Value for money and a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy as we was near the door that people use to go out for a smoke. Bathroom was small and the shower wasn't particularly clean. A few hairs.

    Bed was comfy, good location to local shops and restaurants. Towels etc were clean and plenty of free stuff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    They don't serve breakfast, but we knew this upfront so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They don't serve breakfast, but we knew this upfront so no problem. There was a little kitchenette, you get a little basket with candy, cookies, sugar, milk, tea, coffee etc. . The room was massive and clean, the mattress was very comfortable, great shower. Top hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Would definately recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress toppers very soft. (Personal preference) Very small shower/bathroom area. Loud noises of next room's water pipes/pressure when, I presume the occupants using shower. (Could not hear the occupants or the shower itself)

    Ample off road parking. Excellent value for money. Clean with good facilities. Large beds with quality bedding. Large bath towels. Good shower with plentiful hot water. Location to small village with plentiful bars and eateries.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Perfect location. Perfect for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing everything was more than expected.

    Excellent facilities comfortable room and clean. Loved the mini kitchen. Beds really comfy and clean. Ideal location 5 minutes walk to Stevenage old town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Top quality service from the staff, as we required a really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top quality service from the staff, as we required a really early check in and they did everything they could to accommodate us. Rooms were nice too. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Comfortable bed;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable bed; good shower; friendly and helpful landlady; nice room; good facilities or making your own breakfast; complementary snacks appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Lovely, helpful staff who make you feel very welcome indeed. It's like staying with friends.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    The newly refurbished bathroom was lovely. The location is great! So close to Stevenage Old Town and great road links. It's ALWAYS a pleasure to stay here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    A hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a little soft for my dodgy back.

    We particularly liked the friendliness of the staff, the size of our twin room, the cleanliness of the whole building and the welcome pack. The location is only a few minutes walk from Stevenage Old Town where there are plenty of eating places to choose from

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    A comfortable, quiet, congenial and friendly place to stay, very convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cost of rooms is a little pricey but, they're sort of worth the extra cost.

    The rooms are always clean and tidy, the staff are wonderful and incredibly helpful and the hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the delights of Old Stevenage High St, with it's shops, restaurants, pubs and variety of shops! There's a Sainsbury's supermarket and petrol station a couple of minutes drive down the road and the road links nearby are excellent!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    We stayed in the one bedroom suite which was spacious with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen had a cooker and oven but no cooking equipment. Not an issue on a one night stay but if someone is staying for a few nights would be a nice addition to the facilities.

    We stayed in the one bedroom suite which was spacious with a living room and a separate kitchen. Bedroom had a double bed and a single bed both very comfortable and a much needed fan was provided.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.6
    A welcome rest thats clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If it did breakfast it would have scored a positive 10 for me. Yet I will still make this my new local hotel when I need to do a stayover. There is a microwave in the room and small kitchenette but that means doing a little shop first.

    The cleanliness of the hotel and the helpfulness of the owner especially as we arrived so late after a flight delay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Travelling with friend for family party
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to choose a negative it would be towels, which were a little thin and tired feeling..having said that there were plenty of them and they were spotless!

    Attention to detail..welcome goodies, fan in room, very clean, fridge, a real unexpected gem

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.6
    Polite, friendly staff. Homely feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think that for the price you pay per night, they should look into providing breakfast at the hotel.

    The rooms are very clean. Fans are provided in the cupboards and a complementary array of snacks and juices are in the kitchen cupboards. The mini kitchen is so convenient and is the best feature of the rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    6.3
    Nice room with a small cupboard kitchen with a kettle,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the room next to mine was being renovated and decorated. The strong smell of the paints triggered my migraine! It’s not nice when your asleep and the builders are working away at 7.30am! The lodge should of informed me of this or given me a different room.

    Nice room with a small cupboard kitchen with a kettle, microwave and a fridge which was great in the hot weather. Also gave complementary cookies, orange juice and crisps.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Great weekend stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very nice and clean hotel, conveniently located very close to the Old Town. The mini kitchen was a nice touch, and I was grateful for the fan in the room. Very reasonably priced too! Very happy to stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.5
    relaxing & comfortable stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it didn't offer breakfast & the location was not very convenient. it's quite a walk to the train station

    very clean room comfy bed & friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Beds are comfy and the rooms are immaculate.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beds are comfy and the rooms are immaculate. The big bonus is the mini kitchen in each room, which contains a fridge, kettle and microwave and even a kitchen sink :) The staff brilliant and go out of there way to help. his place is a real grm.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.7
    It was ok and value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small shower cubicle not really enough space for comfort Was not given replacement tea bags and milk for second nights stay Room had a slight damp smell

    Very clean room, modern and nice looking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Good hotel in Stevenage
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice small hotel and sevice minded personnel. Rooms were clean an with comfortable beds. Slept like a log. Even though the road is near I could not hear the traffic from the room. They don’t serve breakfast but there is a water heater, micro oven and fridge in the room. Super market in walking distance. 5 minutes walk to Old Town centre with several pubs and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Familiar feel due to being second visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Easy-going place, everything is simpler with self-catering facility. We could come and go as we pleased. Hot drinks supplied ie teabags etc. Hope to return.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Brilliant place to stay will be back there in future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff was very welcoming and nice. The room was very clean. Bed were comfy and the little kitchen in the room was good how it hides away like cupboard. It was so close to we’re we went out for the evening/night. And the fact we can stay till 11clock was brilliant. Would defo go back there in the future

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel and wonderful people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely helpful and professional when they were notice my have knee problem they give me the ground floor room. More over one we realised we made a mistake on our booking instead 2 nights stay we only booked 1 night. The hotel was fully booked, the owner of the hotel kindly offered us to stay their guest house( actually is their own home). We had a wonderful time and the guest house was a hidden gems and the owner give us quick tour of 600 years old house.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    Simple but elegant guesthouse
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is too soft even with a topper. It seems that a new mattress is needed. Also, our room is the 1st one at the top of the stairs, it was therefore noisy as everyone has to walk past it.

    Facilities for self catering, free parking onsite, easily accesseible, cleanliness of the room and hotel, nice touches here & there are all lovely features of the hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Great value, well thought out hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were really impressed by the courtesy package - a lovely gesture. Room was well planned and decorated. Great location within easy walk of the old town. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic friendly establishment, highly recommended and will be using again in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot of anything to improve this hotel met all our expectations.

    Very friendly hotel, the standard of cleanliness was the best I have ever experienced, I actually thought the room was brand new! Bed was very comfortable, staff very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Lovely, clean, friendly hotel and great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were really comfy, the staff were wonderful and could not do enough. The bungalow out the back is excellent if you have mobility issues and struggle to climb stairs. We would definitely return! Very good value for money in a great location!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    SUPER clean!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small shower

    SUPER clean! And very friendly family run business. Super comfortable mattress and nice little snacks free of charge! Also has mini kitchen and microwave as there is no restaurant or bar in the hotel. But with Tesco and Waitrose at walking distance and LOADS of yummy restaurants, that’s not a problem at all!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Would stay again for sure and recommend to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was small and difficult to move around,but very clean,hot water,lots of towels

    The owners, manager and the staff were very friendly. They went out of thier way to assist

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Good and bad .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were woken at 7am by workmen outside the door walking up and down the halls and on their phones. Could not sleep from this point onwards. Also to much light comes into the room.

    The room itself was very nice. We managed to lock ourselves out of our room. It was late so no staff in the hotel however we rang a number and the receptionist came back to the hotel and let us into the room which was very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Very comfortable
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower doors didn’t meet so bathroom floor got very wet. Nice Lady on reception said they are replacing them.

    Comfortable room, kettle, microwave, sink, and some snacks!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Really good facilities within a compact but comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a little cramped but the benefits of the whole place outweighed this.

    Really good facilities within a compact but comfortable room. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Comfortable, clean, quiet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was very clean, the beds were comfortable and the facilities surplus to our requirements. Beth was very friendly and attentive. She made us feel very welcome and valued from the outset.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    A great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing. It was all great!

    This is a very nice to stay and had come back after I stayed here four years ago. It is just as nice as it was then and refurbishments are taking place now and it did not affect our stay. I highly recommend it! The staff are always making sure the customers are well taken care of.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Modern luxury at an amazing price. Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I couldn't stay longer!

    The lodge is absolute perfection. Did not have a travel cot for my little boy, but I booked very last minute so they did not have time to organise. He loved having the big double bed to himself though! Amazing room. Amazing stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable for the night, as I was moving on the following day on Business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast. there wasn't any. Had I realised at the time of booking, I probably would have booked some where else, which I could have done for the same price of the room but with breakfast included.

    The room was comfortable and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    clean, warm, light, friendly, helpful, innovative with little kitchen space
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The duvets were a bit too thick and heavy for how warm it was in the room and outside, but I understand that the transition from winter to spring is hard to judge in England.

    I LOVED the little kitchen and dining table, the size of room was perfect for us, which we were kindly given by the receptionist when hearing we had a baby child and travel cot. The shower was powerful, and very noticeable clean floors and bathroom. the mattress toppers were nice too. I liked being able to access the extra milk and coffee in the corridor if there was no receptionist on the desk

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Very convenient for short business stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room opened out onto a patio with the smokers area. As I don’t smoke, I couldn’t really benefit from what would have been a nice place to enjoy a lovely evening after work.

    My room was very comfortable and well equipped. I really liked the mini kitchen facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    We were very impressed and will look to stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything. Obviously a bigger hotel would have had a guest lounge so you could sit somewhere other than the room but we weren't expecting that given the excellent value of the hotel.

    Couldn't believe what incredible value it was. £50 for a family room with in built little kitchenette which was well stocked. It was tastefully decorated-much more homely than the chain hotels and the staff were so very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Greeted with a smile, the lady on reception was lovely,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Greeted with a smile, the lady on reception was lovely, showed to our room, spacious, very clean and the bed very comfortable :) we were also able to have a pre arranged early check in to enable us to check in before attending a wedding. Will stop here again on our return to the area :) thank you so much xx

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and clean rooms, good location, helpful and kind stuff.The rooms have a small kitchenette which is very useful.The parking on site was also a nice touch.Would book again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very comfortable room with a lovely bed. Nice kitchenette, couple of nice touches like crisps, orange juice and biscuits. All complementary. Clean. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    bright clean and enjoyable would certainly stay there again
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all good

    The staff were helpful, rooms were bright and clean and everthing in the hotel was good quality including pictures and decorations, the ouside smoking room was a nice additon and even had leather chairs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Great little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real facilities in the hotel except your room

    Staff were great and friendly. Room was a little on the small side, but it was perfect for a short stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    comfortable and enjoyable night stay at this hotel. We would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel. We had a ground floor room with was helpful staying with my baby boy. Reception lady was really nice and even brought her own travel cot from home for our stay. Also recommend places for us to visit in the area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Perfect little hotel that met all our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a lovely little hotel, very welcoming, our room was beautiful, the bed was so comfortable, the little kitchette was very handy. The girls that work here were so very friendly, the little garden out the back was great. It was just a perfect stay and would definitely book here again for a night out in the old town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    All you could ask for a at a very low price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really

    Excellent touch providing a little kitchenette - great use of space; brilliant for us as late arrival and had takeaway only optio - easy as the cutlery, plates, and washing up sink readily available

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    OK for a very cheap one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in the newer outbuilding. For our needs the room was far too cramped with the extra full sized single bed. A fixed bedside shelf meant it wasn't even possible to push the single against the wall. The shower was unusable because the temperature was stuck at scalding hot. These things do happen but this was mentioned by another reviewer so it isn't a rare problem. Neighbouring room was noisy into the small hours.

    Great location; loads of parking adjacent to room; good heating and ventilation; fridge; very comfortable bed; lots of hanging space; plenty of sockets for laptop/iron/hair dryer; covered smoking area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent. See above comments
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were so helpful and polite, the room was warm and cosy, all within walking distance of Old Stevenage town centre, plus free parking. What more could you wish for ....... One happy family.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.5
    Adequate for a short stay only for us. Friendly reception staff, high standards for cleanliness.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise from Traffic affecting the Hotel, opposite it has two separate dual carriageways, and no designated crossings to access the town, so care needed. The laundry room next to us, was noisy due to water tanks refilling at all times, as it was being used by others.

    The friendly reception, Anna was very helpful with directions to the Old Town, and provided a list of recommended restaurants there, from previous guests. The high standards of the rooms cleanliness, and facilities, good parking areas.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    great location, very reasonable for the extent of the facilities
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    although we had a choice of two roomy beds we did in fact find them a little lumpy. maybe that was just because of old bones - hard to say!

    we had booked a twin room but as they were taken up on arrival we were given a whole suite! all very good, thank you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Clean, comfortable, everything worked and much thought put into visitors comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The beds were exceptionally comfortable - foam mattress toppers. Housekeeping and maintenance was to a high standard. Bed linen was spotless as was the decor. TV catered for all. Lovely utility area in built in cupboard - sink, kettle, crockery, cutlery, microwave and adequate fridge - very well thought out. The staff were friendly and welcoming - Cerys checked us in and personally showed us to our room and how everything worked and where everything was - hairdyers and iron etc if required in cupboard on landing. Her sister Bethany checked us out. Owned by their Grandmother it was very much a family affair. Quiet establishment and would highly recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Warm, clean and great value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather

    Given the other options in Stevenage this is excellent value for money, friendly and comfortable. I continue to stay here when in Stevenage having tried others before finding this one.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Will be back soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would be delighted it they could offer a pet friendly option so I could bring my dog.

    I love it here. Friendly, perfect location for me. Everything I needed for two days stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Very happy to visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nil

    Very quiet and restful after a days DIY at our sons in Stevenage. Extra for the King size, but well worth it as the room was at the back - light sleeper.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.8
    Just everything I needed, no stress!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very helpful flexible staff, everything was spotlessly clean, lots of hot water, having the microwave and fridge as well as tea/coffee was a bonus. Free parking on site was very valuable for me in Stevenage, as it was a particularly busy xmas period

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    8.8
    comfortable and fairly quite .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The door in hall way ( fire door ) to rear of property banged when shut , could do with soft closer.

    Good size room .Easy access to Stevenage old town and its amenities .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Comfy warm safe
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First time own my own in a hotel. Felt safe and comfortable. Also bedding was nice and all was spotless.lady to meet me was very nice and helpful will use again. Well well worth the money. Thankyou

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Comfortable, clean and friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly don’t have a complaint. Very happy with our stay.

    Staff were extremely friendly, happily offered us directions and supplied us with refreshments on entry. Bed was comfortable and clean. A good wee sheltered smoking area was shown to us which was a bonus. Would defiantly stay again and recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    It needs a one way sign as you drive out of the hotel as we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs a one way sign as you drive out of the hotel as we drove the wrong way up the dual carriageway... didn’t know the area, could have been catastrophic...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.2
    very comfortable and good facilities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff, daily towel changes. Very comfy beds with mattress toppers. Kitchenette was a fantastic bonus for light meals and making you feel more at home. Within easy walking distance of the hospital and old town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Short but very satisfactory stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location not easily found but staff relayed route by 'phone while driving. Nothing else adverse!

    Staff were extra helpful and very pleasant. Room spotless. No dining facilities but the room had a drinks/microwave provision which would suit most before going into nearby town (in easy walking distance) for evening eats/breakfast. Left a small bag in the room which had been handed in by cleaners and it is being held for collection! Am delighted to find this place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Clean comfortable warm and lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were not very soft but I’m sure they get washed so much they loose there softness so not a big deal. Also as the rooms have fridges fresh milk for your tea/ coffee would be nicer than the little cartons. But again not the end of the world

    I stayed over alone the room was perfect just for one with a little kitchen aria in the cupboard. Really neat and compact and useful. Will stay again on my next trip

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel, clean and well equipped, lovely staff - a great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were delighted with the hotel. The staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming. The rooms exceeded our expectations for comfort and facilities. The beds were very comfortable, the rooms spotlessly clean. The fridge, microwave, plates and cutlery were really handy and there were lots of complementary snacks to feast on.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    As above
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked the Double room a bit bigger only there two nights so adequate if staying longer a larger room would have been better.Single room was adequate.

    Clean room and friendly helpful staff .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel in a quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult as everything is so great. No comments necessary

    The room, as always, was spotlessly clean.The attention to detail is awesome! Welcome basket with biscuits and crisps.Microwave available. Excellent accommodation !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    nice relaxing stay 50 channels on tv soft bed and kitchen { home from home}
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    have stayed here before so knew we would have everything at our finger tips [bar would be nice lol}

    comfy bed mini kitchen everything you need in one room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    The bed was very comfy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't realise you could park at the back and struggled a little to park at the front, only read info on parking once in the room

    The bed was very comfy

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: