Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ardwyn House 4 stars

Station Road, Llanwrtyd Wells, LD5 4RW, United Kingdom

#1 of 12 hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 125 B&B reviews

9.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    10

  • Comfort

    9.9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.8

  • Staff

    10

  • Value for money

    9.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning house. Fabulous hosts. Breakfast was delicious. Tea and cake. Our room was so comfortable. Just stunning. Definitely staying again in the future. 100% recommend

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing... it was all brilliant ( however on reflection I guess if I had to mention anything it would be the late check in time( 5pm earliest)

    Roger was very welcoming and the room was really lovely. Breakfast amazing, and he was very attentive to my own specific food needs. There is nothing to fault our stay , it was outstanding. Our welcome was wonderful ( tea and chocolate brownies) and everything was no trouble, and the price is incredibly good for the high standards of the place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like a fuller pillow, but that’s just my own preference

    Lovely host, were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was ready for us at the arranged time and of lovely quality. Great to be offered coffee and cake on arrival, and so accommodating over our parking of our trailer. Will stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all, everything was absolutely amazing!

    The decor, the ambience of the whole house, hosts were more than friendly, fabulous breakfast and very relaxed atmosphere. I definitely would recommend anyone to visit Ardwyn House. Even the chicken was friendly!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Made to feel extremely welcome by hosts, very hospitable. The room was beautiful as was the entire house and breakfast was exceptional. Can’t fault a thing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could not fault this place and I can be a bit particular sometimes!

    Welcoming hosts, at ease immediately, superb breakfasts, fabulous furnishings, decor and interesting stuff to look at or read. Spotlessly clean, wondeful attention to detail

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Meet and greet was very good. The room was spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was very nice and prompt. They use local produce. Leaving was very slick also.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Errrr let me think.... We liked everything :)

    Very warm welcome on our arrival followed by fresh coffee and lemon cake! Lovely room with mountains view, amazing bed with fresh linen. Beautiful fresh cooked breakfast. Perfect :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything! Katie, Roger and their family are the most wonderful hosts (they couldn’t do enough for us.) Beautiful views. Such a comfy room and bed. The yummiest breakfast. You leave here as friends.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing .

    The warm welcoming friendly service. We had a lovely room with comfortable facilities. Family run with nothing to much trouble. Excellent food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    My second visit and I will go again, beautiful house and facilities,lovely bedroom. Very welcoming and friendly. Gorgeous place to stay in a lovely setting. Delicious breakfast best mushrooms I've ever tasted.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Llanwrtyd Wells is quite a small place so not a lot going on there although there were plenty of places around that were nice.

    The room was very comfortable with lovely views a really nice large shower cubicle, kettle and a choice of beverages. The hotel was quiet as there weren't many guests at the time so we had our hosts full attention!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that I had to go home :-(

    On arrival parking was perfect and then I received a fantastic welcome from Roger and Katie and their beautiful children. Gave me a little tour of the hotel, and then on to my room which was perfect. I was a bit worried about taking my little one away on my own but he was made very welcome, and a cot and high chair was made available for him aswell. I would most definately go back here again as I was made to feel very welcome and 'at home'. We drove to the property but for anyone looking to stay here arriving by train it is literally a few minutes walk away. There are a couple of pubs nearby if you want a drink or some food, cash point and local shop. All in all a Perfect location,Thank you so much xx

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most amazing guest house I've ever visited. The house is beautiful and the owners very friendly and accommodating. It's a very sleepy town - only a restaurant (which is very good) and a local pub.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is based in the smallest town in Britain: the town itself looks like it needs freshening up. We traveled out of town to eat.

    A comfortable hotel based in a large old house. Furnished accordingly with old style furniture etc. Good sized room with a good en-suite with a large shower. Good full cooked breakfast for vegetarians with fruit, cereal, toast, etc. Guests can use the library with small pool table and 'honesty' drinks section.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we hadn't booked for a little bit longer ;)

    Amazing trip and one I will never forget! Enjoyed it so much we are planning another trip in November!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We chose to stay after reading so many excellent reviews. From the warm welcome on arrival, to the first impressions of the building and great breakfasts Ardwyn house is excellent. Roger and Katie are exceptional hosts and have created something genuinely special. Indeed Llanwrtyd Wells itself is a unique place blessed by nature and enriched by the warmth of the locals and civic pride.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The owners roger and Katie were very good at making you feel at home . we enjoyed there company as well there hospitality The environment was warming ;clean and welcoming would recommend to friends and family.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't find fault with anything.

    A warm, friendly welcome. Beautiful decor. We felt very relaxed and comfortable at Ardwyn House. Would definitely stay there again and have already recommended it to friends.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are two pubs and two restaurants in the village, the latter pricey. The pub I at ate was adequate but a little down at heel.

    The room was comfortable, the proprietors very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good too. It is a quiet location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't have asked for a better stay! Greeted on arrival with a huge pot of tea and homemade chocolate brownies. Enjoyed the amazing weather on sun loungers in the lovely front garden with a few drinks from the honesty bar in the library room. On our second day, the hosts made a lemon drizzle cake for us, and brought a few drinks out to us in an icebox - 5* service!! The room was gorgeous, with an incredibly comfy bed, and a huge bath to relax in. Breakfast was a particular highlight. The creamiest, tastiest scrambled eggs any of us had ever had. I can't recommend Ardwyn House enough, can't wait to stay again!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The very warm welcome from Roger and Katie, with tea and cake, and the general comfort and cleanliness of the whole property. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We cannot think of anything we did not like

    We booked B&B. The breakfasts were excellent; very good choice, well cooked, almost anything you could ask for. Bed comfortable. The proprietors could not have been more helpful and obliging. Facilities in the town (claimed to be the smallest in Britain) were sparse - but we chose it as a centre for exploration on foot and by car, not for facilities. There was a SPAR store, and little else. Several eating places, varied standard. The view was from the bathroom, rather than the bedroom, and glorious over wild countryside. (We do not know which way the other rooms faced).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was an amazing place to stay. Beautiful house and the breakfast was absolutely delicious!! The owners were so kind and friendly and went out of their way to be incredibly helpful. Would happily stay again!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    I had a beautiful room with stunning country views, antique furniture, and warm biscuits straight from the oven to greet me! Delicious breakfast with vast choice of local superb quality food, and to top that, local honey and home made marmalade, A lovely family will make you feel welcome. Thank you for such an enjoyable stay, I will be back in September for a longer visit.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Everything was perfect, beautiful room ,good views, fabulous bed linen and comfortable bed. , gorgeous bathroom ,warm friendly welcome, breakfast all I could wish for ! I had one night and felt totally refreshed, even had excellent packed lunch.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners Katie and Roger were very welcoming and helpful. The attention to detail in returning the house back to the Art Deco period was very well done but withmodern facilities also on hand. Lovely family and beautiful house and location.Breakfast was very good, with a selection of cooked breakfast for vegetarians too. Would recommend.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very clean, extreemly friendly, large rooms and bathrooms. WIFI-Internet was nice and fast(usefull as no 4g in the area). Owners were very accomodating, extra tea and cake when we came in from spending the day out in the cold & wet. Loved the library and Dining rooms too, very comfy sofa's to relax and catchup on facebook. ...being very sensitive to alergins I had an alergy free weekend, carpets very well kept.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was lovely.

    A very warm welcome from the hosts. Nothing was too much trouble! A delicious breakfast. A spacious, quiet and comfortable room. A lovely period house. Altogether, pretty perfect! I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very high standard of the accommodation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hosts who go the extra mile.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Fantastic B & B. Nice location. Well run & excellent value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautifully restored and spacious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked a reading light by the comfy chairs in bedroom

    Excellent breakfast. Quiet location and very ' happy to help ' hosts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Victorian grandeur. Sumptious bathroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing unlikable

    Very clean, friendly people and god breakfast. Relaxing place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The welcome, the quality, the cleanliness, the breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    comfy bed and breakfast exellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very lovely place to stay, owners and decor were lovely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather.

    Warm and friendly welcome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything was excellent, a very pleasant stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming staff. Excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A warm welkom ... every day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Wonderful B &B. The property is lovely and so are the hosts Kate & Roger. Superb breakfast and wonderful cakes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect!

    Amazing breakfast. Perfect Hosts. Beautiful house. Lovely location!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly helpful owners Beautifully decorated in period style

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a lot really

    Good standard of accommodation, the breakfast was excellent - recommended

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic family, very welcoming

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendliness and hospitality of the owners

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Host's were very welcoming as they met us at-the door. Wife and I were very relaxed staying at Ardwyn House. Nothing was to much trouble.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful decoration and good service

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff who 'went the extra mile'.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I told you everything is WONDERFUL!

    Everything. Owners are amazing. Wonderful breakfast. Really nice place

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    A beautifully-restored house, with charming and solicitous service and every comfort for an overnight stay. Thoroughly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    our hosts were great, really warm and welcoming; nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Quirky with lovely breakfast and roll top bath

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hospitality was outstanding

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Super hosts and tea and cake were delightful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very relaxing and lovely attentive owners

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic owners, couldn't do enough for you

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great owners and great breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather

    Lovely welcome by the owners and a great welcome in the pubs

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable family run hotel, excellent breakfast and very freindly young couple

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel, lovely stay. Extremely helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfy bed. Very hospitable hosts. Beautiful room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent surroundings. Excellent breakfast. Excellent hosts.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room, lovely breakfast, lovely hosts. Highly recommend

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous !!! Wonderful property and family Always stay here if anywhere near with work

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly and very welcoming

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very very good

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Ardwyn House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: