Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Armagh City Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

2 Friary Road, Armagh, BT60 4FR, United Kingdom

#9 of 10 hotels in Armagh

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 625 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    6.7
    Not a bad experience but things could be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didnt like the rusty plug hole on the bath. The flakey paint on the bathroom roof. In the bar the service for food was poor we waited for 30mins for our drinks !

    The reception staff were very welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    10
    A very enjoyable stay in an excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was situated in an ideal location within walking distance of both cathedrals and other places of interest.The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about the city and surrounding area We also enjoyed an excellent evening meal in the restaurant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    9.6
    Really enjoyable and relaxed break.
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot rooms!

    The staff were excellent as was the food and service, the only let down was the heat in the rooms made it hard to sleep, but given that we are getting exceptional weather I am sure this would not normally be a complaint. Over all we were all very impressed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    10
    Love this hotel have been 4times now
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very attentive staff and pleasant. Breakfast was hot and tasty. We ate there on both evenings and it was very good. Love the space both inside and outside. Had a few hiccups but they were dealt with efficiently.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money and a good quality place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Just an all round good hotel and excellent value for money. The big screen for the World Cup games was excellent but it didn't detract from the atmosphere and quality of the bar, restaurant and atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff. Dated furnishings.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was utterly terrible. I couldn't get any work completed as it kept asking to sign in again and again. The hotel is clean but it's very dated. Appliances and decor are all bit tired.

    The breakfast was totally amazing and the staff were very friendly. Only one member of staff let it down slightly, when my colleague gave their drinks order the staff member didn't quite understand and asked for clarification with "Uh?".

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    10
    The bed was super comfortable the the smiling greeting staff so welcoming
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rashers for breakfast were over cooked,

    coffee was very good and the attending staff were tuned in first thing in the morning when travelling you need this.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    10
    I enjoyed my stay at the hotel a beautiful room friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    I enjoyed my stay at the hotel a beautiful room friendly staff fabulous food an dancing ,,, a lovely treat after the death of my father thank you 😘❤️

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    7.5
    Had a really nice time here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldent really fault anything. Bath towels could maybe have been a bit larger 🤔

    The room was lovely and big v comfartable beds . We had a lovely romantic meal on the 1st nite in the lovely restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    10
    Will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One issue children were running around at 10.30pm . Maybe a cut off time for children would be nice .

    Very attentive,pleasant staff. Food was very good. Loved the large areas where you could relax and chat. Beautiful surroundings. Bedroom large and spotless with very good accessories.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    6.7
    Great location but very expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows were very hard and I found it hard to sleep. As a tall person, I found the beds were too short causing my feet to hang over the edge.

    The bar stayed open beyond 11pm. All staff were very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    7.5
    Overall, it was a pleasant stay
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There could be more hooks in the bathroom to hang towels. There is only a small double hook behind the door which I used for my dressing gown. At least 2 more are needed for hand towels. Some kind of Xpelair fan is needed to rid the bathroom quicky of steam. Anyone using the shower needs to use the rubber mat as the bath is extremely slippy and dangerous. When tap in sink is turned on too quickly water splashes out all over the floor. Some of the staff in the restaurant appeared to be rather young and inexperienced. Our orders were not taken down properly and when we rose from our table towards the end of our meal to say goodbye to some friends - fully intending to sit down again for a short while - all our glasses (some with wine still in) and an unfinished bottle of wine had been whipped off the table. We had to rescue them from the serving counter.

    Room was a good size, light and airy. Bed was a good size, if a bit hard! Bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    6.3
    Armagh city hotel stay
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food expensive, tried to book triple room. No option provided online. Had to book both a double and single room only to find that the double room had beds for 4 people and the single room could sleep 3. Hotel refused to accommodate us in one room. Also hotel uses cheap orange juice for breakfast.

    Good location, good sized room, decent food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    8.8
    Satisfying.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the bed too hard for my own personal taste and the heat in the room was overpowering. Adjusting the thermostat on the radiator made no difference. Also, while very clean and fluffy, I found the bath towels a bit on the small side. Small complaints after a comfortable and comforting stay. We were there to attend a funeral.

    I really liked the bathroom - the size and the cleanliness. The room was very well equipped and had plenty of storage space for clothes.The room was bright, clean and quiet. There was a general feel of spaciousness throughout the hotel. Breakfast was excellent and the staff in the restaurant were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    9.6
    Staff are very pleasant and helpful, the hotel is well located with good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The meal in the bar wasn’t very good, and the bar was so noisy because of football that we had to move out to the outer area.

    We were given an upgrade due to no heat in our room as the radiator wasn’t working. The bed in the upgrade was very comfortable and it was a nice big room overlooking the city. Being next to the road meant traffic noise but the pretty room and the comfortable bed did a lot to make up for it!! Breakfast was good. There is a good swimming pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    6.7
    Really enjoyed the breakfast, plenty of choice, the deli...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The corridor to our room smelt of stale smoke, also late night noise from the car park outside was annoying that along with the continual noise from what sounded like a generate make getting a good night's sleep difficult

    Really enjoyed the breakfast, plenty of choice, the deli also a plus

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    9.6
    Stay was excellent
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I missed breakfast slept in

    Staff very nice Alice in bar very friendly and excellent at cocktails and a pleasure to have serve us. Made our time in the bar very good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    10
    We shall be back in the summer.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff efficient and went out of their way to help. Ann on reception particularly kind (we were there for funeral of family memeber). Funeral gathering also at hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    8.3
    Great bar and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool area a bit dated. Jacuzzi wasn't working, steam room too hot and sauna too cold. Only one shower working at poolside and main changing room showing its age but otherwise perfectly fine.

    Nice rooms, small problem with room key reader in first room and got upgraded to balcony suite straight away. Great bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    10
    Fabokus hotel in prime location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Property is fantastic and staff more than helpfull. Nothing was a problem. My partner asked if there was a possability of getting a dvd player for the evening, they left a playstation in the room for our use with plenty of games also to choose from. We also had lunch here when we arrived and it was lovely with all little added extras perfectly fresh and made to our liking.my partner also asked if he could leave presents in the room for our arrival and they left these perfectly arranged in the room for us which was a nice little extra. I would highly recomend this hotel for anyone for a long stay or an overnight stopover. We will deffitanly be back and inform friends and family of this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    7.5
    Room service breakfast good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our first room was a bit noisy from something mechanical but the staff moved us straight away. Also the bar is a bit lacking in atmosphere. Lighting too clinical and bright. Could do with a revamp.

    Room service breakfast good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    10
    Excellent stay,friendly staff and breakfast was faultless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not fault this hotel at all.

    This was by no means the best hotel we have have stayed in.On arrival the receptionist was very well mannered and friendly and could not do enough for us.The entertainment later that evening was brilliant and the bar staff was so friendly.Breakfast was delicious and again the staff could not do enough for us.We would highly recommend this hotel and we will certainly be back very soon.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2018

    9.2
    It was a delight to stay in this hotel and I would highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no biscuits with the tea-making facilities.

    Had a spacious room, well furnished, comfortable bed and very clean. Included kettle and tea-making facilities, large screen television and comfortable chairs. We had a very good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2017

    10
    Amazing central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing I didnt like

    everything from check in to check out was brilliant, the staff were all very polite and helpful and the hotel has a great atmosphere.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    2.5
    As Above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The entire ho l was dismally Out Dated and smelt musty !

    Northink Really this is our third visit to this Hotel but it will with our Doubt our Last it's a very Expensive Hotel with £4.00 Charge to simply bring Ice Cubes up to our room ? And despite paying our bill in Full on Arrival there was No Heating on and the room was very disme!l and Cold plus dude Staff and a Cold Buffet Brekfast to Boot reverently a Thumbs down stay !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    10
    Great hotel, great food, great location.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hairdryer in bathroom!

    Nice bar and restaurant good food good price. Good location short walk over to town. We were given an alternative room as we wanted a table and chairs in room, first room had 4 beds, receptionist was very pleasant and transfer was completed very quickly. Very nice lobby area with cafe available all day and evening.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    8.3
    We would stay again at this hotel, if we were to get a good offer/deal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was very disappointing. The reception staff were pleasant but did the absolute minimum for guests. We did not eat in the restaurant but it is a lovely hotel. It has particular appeal to those who follow the country-music showbands in the region.

    This hotel in Armagh is near the centre of town and the iconic city cathedrals. A little dated, the hotel lobby is welcoming, with a carpeted homely decor. The lobby features a clever little snack and café style bar where you can grab something quick. The decor of the hotel, although a little dated, is clean and homely. Free-wifi was of an acceptable speed and the use of the gym/pool facilities were convenient for guests. The visit was let down by a poor breakfast. Just the bare essentials which is a real shame as the coffee was good and the breakfast room good. Also we had problems in the room 132 with our TV. We reported this to reception who took no action - or if they did, it didn't fix the problem. The reception staff at check-in and check-out were not very professional. The hotel is situated within walking distance of the town and hence its theatre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    10
    It was perfect thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing I will definitely go back again and recommend to friends it was perfect

    It was a perfect stay great food, great service, great stay. All the staff were friendly and very helpful nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    7.9
    Great venue for a wedding, good location for guests coming...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Entrance area was like an airport waiting area with so much going on.

    Great venue for a wedding, good location for guests coming from different parts of the country.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    4.5
    Convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1) I slipped getting into your shower - the mat slipped (small bruise on knee). 2). Another guest kept trying to get into my room - apparently he had wrong room at 2:45 AM! 3). Bed was soft.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    7.1
    Nothing memorable, stayed before, everything is ok.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little bit on the pricey side, I can't always stay there because on occasions they have been outside of my budget.

    Overall good experience. Easy to find, on site parking, good food, good staff, free wifi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    3.8
    Very, very bad internet connection in the room, which caused...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very, very bad internet connection in the room, which caused me a lot of problems and delayed my rather tight programme in Northern Ireland. I would find another hotel if internet is important for you. Otherwise fine. Nice staff. Perhaps the opening times for the gym could be longer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2017

    7.5
    A popular hotel suitable for business and short stay holidays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Comfortable chair and small table would have been good. Toilet paper was of poor quality and delivered one sheet at a time!

    Bed was large and comfortable but we did not require the other two beds in our room which resulted in no space for easy chair or table.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    10
    A little leeway would go a long way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Gym only opens at 9am on Sunday morning and breakfast finishes at 10am. I like to work out for at least 1 hour before breakfast. So maybe the hotel should consider extending breakfast until 10.30 on Sunday morning

    Location to town is excellent. Staff were very helpfull

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    10
    we had a great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    the bed were very comfortable and we had a great breakfast and are evening meal was lovely. staff are great and this is are second visit to this hotel and we will return to it again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    10
    Can't wait to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was so central to the town centre of Armagh..., I wish we could have stayed longer. What a great base for touring in Northern Ireland. The hotel was great value and we made good use of the gym and the pool. Had a brilliant stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2017

    9.6
    We loved it and we will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From arriving at the hotel we met very friendly and helpful staff. Even though it was very busy because of the Country Music Awards night the staff had time to have a conversation and make us feel at home.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    8.8
    Wouldn't go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As I'm not a supporter of GAA we felt very much out of place on Sunday as the hotel was over come with it all we wanted was a nice peaceful Sunday evening there was evening young ones in the car park playing it when we went to r car

    Staff very friendly and helpful good lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    10
    I love Ireland and its people, the hotel matched my thoughts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Move the breakfast toaster in the restaurant to a different area.

    I loved the Afternoon Tea. also the Swimming pool which was never too busy it also included a swimming instructor which is just as well caus I can't swim!!. Sauna, very relaxing, friendly staff, great food, gym. Quiet areas.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    9.2
    Nothing too much trouble.Lovely place lovely people.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One member of staff was not very nice we complained about him and he was removed we were not going to let one bad apple spoil our time there.The other staff were WONDERFUL.

    The young staff were a joy , very well trained and nothing was too much trouble.We would definatly stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyed it, except for the cold shower on the last day.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The toilet paper dispenser. One of those 'one-sheet-at-a-time' devices. The fire alarm went off on the Thursday night and cut off the boiler. Staff didn't reset the boiler until the morning, so on my last day, there was no hot water.

    The lifts, the room and the cafeteria in the reception area. The food was good too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2017

    6.3
    Relatively comfortable and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Guests upstairs opening and loudly shutting cupboards at 2-3am Child running around at 2-3am Nice pool but pool area, steam room and sauna very dirty. Needs more than a spray of water to clean there !!!

    Room to move around plenty of bed space. Bed relatively comfy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2017

    5.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel has sadly gone downhill since my last visit, needs a major overhaul. Food was so so. Bed was is poor condition. Too many tribal flags in Armagh City this time, too intimidating- won't be back.

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2017

    9.2
    A delight to stay in.
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    locks on windows in our first room..times the fitness room, pool etc open at week end...not early enough.chair could do with being repaired in front main foyer.and tables could be wiped more often when cleared..better bigger bath towels

    staff were lovely ,nothing was to much trouble..the young ones are a credit to this hotel...food was great value..breakfast was lovely. we had to move rooms as an on going event nothing to do with the hotel but very close by was a bit too loud and kept us awake and we had a very early start...nothing was too much trouble !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Night staff were very helpfullxx

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    10
    friendly staff, good food and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would prefer breakfast to be cooked to order.

    Room was clean and tidy and very comfortable. Despite being at the front of the hotel, we didn't hear any noise. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Bar food was excellent and breakfast was as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2017

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I found was the beds was very hard

    Fantastic food - clean - location was great just had to walk a couple hundred yards and you are in the city centre

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2017

    10
    A really great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    I adore where it is, so handy for the beautiful city and the park next door, the staff are so friendly, and the rooms and pool etc are all modern and bright. There's a really good gym there too!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    7.5
    A fine base to tour the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Late on Saturday night, loud music permeated up to our second floor room and prevented us from sleeping.

    Friendly atmosphere, obviously popular with locals, good selection of food and drink. Staff helpful for 95% of stay. Armagh was central to all we wanted to see on our weekend away and hotel was easy to find.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel that is definitely 4 star plus!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing! Great in every way

    Absolutely superb hotel that is brilliantly located within easy walking access of Armagh city itself. Spotlessly clean everywhere with a great warm welcome from the reception, nothing is any trouble here. The reception area is huge and has its own small bistro serving afternoon tea along with other food, a really informal lovely setting to eat or have a drink. Rooms are a very good size with comfortable beds and tea / coffee making facilities and again is spotlessly clean. Fantastic choice at breakfast, whether it be a full English, cereal, fruit, there is something for all appetites. It is buffet style, very informal and very good quality. Food in the restaurant is also very good, not the rubbish that is associated with many, very generous portion sizes and the cost is very reasonable. Lovely, friendly bar area. This is definitely not a 3 star hotel as it has been awarded, this is 4 star plus! Thank you to The Armagh City Hotel for a lovely stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable & pleasant, despite paper-thin walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls are, unfortunately, paper thin which affects privacy. I stayed on floor 2 & while the view of the golf course & local football pitches were appreciated, the lack of soundproofing & sealed windows were not.

    Rooms were spacious and comfortable and the wifi in the bedrooms was an extra bonus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel with wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No negatives in our experience.

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff in all areas, but special thanks to restaurant staff. Shauneen was particularly helpful when we were arranging a meal for family and friends. We will be staying here again. Many thanks to all the staff we dealt with.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    7.0
    Centrally located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Greasy stodgy grill and cavery food served that night Breakfast kept under lights far too long dry and cold also Not even a good morning from breakfast staff Worst food we have had in Ireland Lovely check-out lady who talked to us

    Comfortable clean beds and bathrooms Handiness to everything Plenty of parking on ground

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    10
    A superb hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The rooms were lovely,the staff were exceptional, the food in both the restaurant and the reception area was superb-both excellent quality and great price. We will definitely return to this hotel. Superb

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    10
    Great hotel for an Armagh city break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, could not fault the hotel or staff.

    My Mum and I were there to catch up with family and the twin room was great size, beds comfortable and breakfast was excellent. We enjoyed the "Afternoon tea" package, the staff were so lovely and friendly and catered for all our requests. This is a great hotel, staff super friendly and the bar/restaurant excellent in service and food is good. Rooms and bathroom very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2017

    7.1
    Plenty of space in the room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bath was dirty. Vegetarian food choice at the bar was very limited a creamy curry or chow mein and no restaurant open early in the week.

    Plenty of space in the room staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2017

    7.5
    Room was clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price was a little bit too high. Swimming pool need a refurbishment

    Room was clean and spacious. Staff was very kind and helpful with us and our childs

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2017

    9.6
    Clean but.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We could only get into our room from 4.30, as it was not cleaned. The staff could be more friendly. The restaurant had very fancy food. Food in bar was lovely - but not cheap.

    Very clean, big room. Great reception area

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of net curtains on the window allowed 25ish rooms to look straight into my room during early evening. It means having to close the curtain to get changed, just an annoyance.

    The Pool is warm and the Gym is well equipped. The bar has a wonderful lively atmosphere not normally found at hotels. The coffee bar is a good place for friends to meet, again adding to the great atmosphere. Room was spacious, well laid out with very comfortable seating. The wifi could stream video,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2017

    10
    Good for a family visit
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fixed shower head. Otherwise great

    Friendly staff, good restaurant, good water pressure in shower. Good breakfast. Big room. Didn't use gym or pool so can't comment there. Lovely to see lots of families staying and using cafe/bar. Close to town and parks. Good parking. Will go again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2017

    10
    Relaxing stay at Armagh City Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quue at breakfast making my own toast on a machine where bread has to be run through twice to toast.

    Chef very accommodating for my wife who is wheat free.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2017

    10
    AHome From Home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Staff very efficient and welcoming well run hotel couldn't do enough for us when they found out that it was our first time up north ATM machine and beaureo de change a good thing every hotel should have one will be back most comfortable bed ever should be a four star hotel very impressed a home from home can't wait for next visit will be back 10 out of 10

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    5.4
    Poor quality for the price
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    it was pricey, the beds and pillows were very hard and uncomfortable, the internet was so slow as to be unusable even for checking email, the pool is part of a public fitness center and so we ran into swimming lessons and restricted hours and shared locker rooms, the jacuzzi is tepid, the steam room was covered in mildew, they charge for forgotten toiletries (£1 for a single use toothpaste!), the fire alarms are quite sensitive and went off twice during our stay, there was no way to control the heat so we slept with the window open, the bed was short (my feet hung off if I shifted too much and I am not tall).

    It was quite quiet where we were in the back, and the housekeeping did an excellent job. The breakfast was plentiful and went until 10am so we weren't rushed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2017

    8.3
    The wifi in the room was dreadful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi in the room was dreadful. I had to go to the foyer to send emails. The password setup was confusing and the receptionist, who was extremely polite, was apologetic.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2017

    7.5
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The double bed wasn't very comfortable as it seemed to be split down the middle .Which caused a ridged effect down the centre of the bed

    Service was very good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2017

    8.3
    Great all round stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed in the premiere suite on the first floor. The lighting could have been better. In all honesty though it was a great room.

    When we arrived at 3.20 pm our room wasn't quite ready. We didn't mind as we could clearly see that the hotel was super busy (St Patricks weekend). However as our room still wasn't ready for 4 pm we where upgraded. Fantastic room with great views. Throughout our stay the staff couldn't have been friendlier.. suggesting places to go, lending us umbrellas, sorting taxis and showing us the facilities. Great all round trip.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2017

    10
    nice clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not really much hotel could do but patricks day was a shambles!bar completely overrun with kids running around and nowhere for residents to even sit down,chaos and very unsatisfactory.

    breakfast very good,lovely big room and cleanliness.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2017

    7.1
    Good sized room and facilities, super breakfast.
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room a little dated and the pool didn't open till 9 am on the Sunday and I'd have liked a swim before breakfast not after.

    Good sized room and facilities, super breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2017

    7.5
    Great location, large room and excellent breakfast good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Gym appeared to be cramped and dark. some areas could have been cleaner and an upgraded

    Breakfast choice was excellent large comfortable room. Close to city centre

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2017

    7.5
    A nice hotel, but stay could have been much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were too quick collecting plates, if one person. Was finished their plate was lifted, even though others were still eating. Had fish and chips two nights running and paid two different prices in the bar, queried this next day and was reimbursed the difference, apparently there was two different prices on the till, but only one on the menu. Went down for a swim on the Saturday at 5pm and all 3 lanes were closed for lessons, told to come back at 6pm, not really good enough. I have previously stayed 1 night (sat) and the same thing happened on the Sunday morning, unable to swim due to lessons. I thought amenities were for hotel guests. Breakfast on the Saturday morning was a nightmare, as there was a wedding on the Friday, unable to get near the hot food.

    The staff were very nice, very handy to centre of city, busy hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2017

    9.6
    Visit Armagh city hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room price fluctuations -- was 40.00 sterling higher than previous visit

    The rooms are nice and spacious, the bed very comfortable, enough choice at breakfast, dinner choice is good and the food nice -- If I am in the area, I tend to stay here pending availability

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2017

    10
    fantastic stay cant wait to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather lol but not a lot the hotel can do about that everything else was fab.

    staff was excellent and polite couldn't do enough for guests food in restaurant was lovely rooms and hotel very clean should be a four star not a 3 star. we have been to a fair few hotels all over the world and defenatly in top 5 .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2017

    7.5
    Great location, c
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room smelt of stale cigarettes. Pool hours were irregular.

    Breakfast, location.right next to gorgeous park and walking distance of shoppers,restaurants, museums and planetarium.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2017

    7.5
    Staff were excellent receptionist helped my wife locate a...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very noisy could hear toilet next door being used and flushed during the night

    Staff were excellent receptionist helped my wife locate a late opening pharmacy.the dining room staff were most helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2017

    10
    Very relaxing and pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was available early I've never been there before and I We enjoyed the car very lunch and We're impressed with the cafe nice facility

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2017

    10
    lovely stay at armagh city hotel. would recommend it and would come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We wernt able to swim on the sunday morning after breakfast as there was swimming lessons on. We were offered a later time to swim but didn't suit.

    The good in the bar was reasonable prices and very good. Didn't like our table but staff managed to get us a better table away from the door.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: