Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Arrochar Hotel 'A Bespoke Hotel' 3 stars

Main Street, Arrochar, G83 7AU, United Kingdom

#13 of 14 hotels in Arrochar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1952 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Returning honeymooners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor selection of beer they had 1 draught beer working Other spirits they ran out of No background music

    Location was great Food was great Breakfast great Rooms clean Staff friendly and helpful Service was quick

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    3.3
    dreadfull
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The attitude of the staff. The hotel was very dirty Breakfast was cold. rock hard poached egg, cold black pudding, greasy mushrooms, cold bacon.

    there was nothing to like about this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    3.8
    This place needs money spending on it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were having breakfast, and there was a leak from the ceiling ,there was 5 buckets catching the water. The lady showing us to our table did not want to be there ,she was so rude.

    The location was very good. The lady on reception was really nice , and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.3
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lumpy mattress. Lack of water pressure in shower. Hairs on bathroom tiles. Cobwebs all around room. Shabby 1970s furniture. Dining room had 2 buckets to catch leaks from ceiling.

    Staff were pleasant and evening meal was good apart from a defrosted supermarket cheesecake. Good views from dining room. Good parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    2.9
    Very very disappointed
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff poor attitude. Food cool and poorly presented. Mattress cover was Stained and had been covered with a clean sheet. Barr area very noisy large group of bikers drinking

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.5
    The hotel’s location is really nice, with a view right over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel’s location is really nice, with a view right over the lake. The staff was friendly and made eating there or relaxing in the lounge / at the bar enjoyable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    4.6
    Overall not a bad hotel just needs good clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was not very clean the entrance looked liked it hadn’t been hoovered and the rooms were never hoovered, I use pink tooth paste which was still in the sink had not been washed table in room very dusty and had no hot water for three days

    The location of the hotel and the food good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.4
    Tired hotel in need of a face-lift and staff training in hospitality and hotel management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fawlty Towers! With a view of the Loch (maybe). When we booked the rooms, we specified the need for ground floor rooms as our party was made up of elderly and disabled members who cannot negotiate stairs. On arrival we were put into rooms on the 2nd floor. This was despite our booking being made several months in advance of our arrival. Staff unwilling to even try and accommodate our request at check-in. Also, payment requested up front. This should have rung alarm bells. Whilst there is a lift, there were still stairs to negotiate to the rooms. We were there for only one night, thankfully! In the middle of the night we were all rudely awoken by the sounds of a door being broken down which was extremely distressing. The hotel staff were breaking the door down to the room opposite as the door lock had jammed and the guests wanted to retrieve their belongings. No one gave the rest of the guests the simple courtesy of a warning before very noisily hammering the door down. To add insult to a disturbed nights sleep, there was no hot water in the morning, so our party left the hotel un-rested, un-washed and un-fed, as we did not want to stay a minute longer in this hotel. Only after a lengthy heated exchange with the manager Colin, were our grievances acknowledged, and our stay fully refunded. Did not appreciate being shouted at in the reception area and made to feel like it was our fault for the complete failings and total incompetent hotel management. The hotel itself is dated, very tired and in extreme need of a face-lift. The Loch-views as advertised on all the booking sites seem to be it's only saving grace. However, we were treated to a view of the the refuse dump at the back of the hotel.

    The view from the hotel overlooking the loch. Sadly, our room was overlooking the outbuildings that had old stained mattresses and other discarded furniture spilling out of it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.8
    Arrochar stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very uncomfortable beds. No hot water for our shower on the second morning.

    The location was lovely. Nice views from the room. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.7
    I needed early check in as i was attending a wedding and was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I needed early check in as i was attending a wedding and was charged an additional £30 to check in at 12pm instead of 3pm which i thought was excessive. I spoke to other guests who also attended the wedding they didnt pre arrange an early check in just turned up and asked and werent charged! I felt ripped off because of this

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    Restaurant meal was lovely and the staff especially the 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Asked for paper towels to be put in toilet as they were finished and hand dryer not working. Visited toilet about 3 times and this never happened. Cleanliness in bedroom/ toilet could have been better but wouldn't stop me returning. Hotel a little outdated.

    Restaurant meal was lovely and the staff especially the 2 gentlemen who seemed to be in charge. Always smiling and very pleasant. Reception staff could perhaps have smiled a little more but were ok. All in all a nice stay and would go back. Entertainment was an added bonus.View from bedroom was lovely and beds very comfortable. Slept well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    Good location, pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was faulty (dangerous). Informed reception who responded quickly . Unfortunately maintenance man didn’t know it was an electric shower, in fact knew nothing about showers at all! It still didn’t work next time. Very poor!

    Good location, pleasant staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Great location, stay could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was awful. I stood there for 10-15 minutes trying to get the right setting and had to settle for the lower, eco setting as the high one would not work correctly. The hotel had a “Shining” (movie) feel to it and needs updating as the floor can be quite loud and we were disturbed a few times early hours with people going past our room with the noise.

    Location was amazing with a great view from the room. Love that they allow dogs too. Breakfast was good with a good selection!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    I enjoyed my stay at The Arrochar hotel,good location,amazing local walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    breakfast could be improved

    I had a warm welcome from the receptionist Marta and she was very kind and helpful throughout my stay. I liked the large hotel bar which encouraged socialising. There was also live entertainment- 2 very good singers -on Tuesday and Thursday night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    We loved the view from the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had asked for vegetarian breakfast, but there were no vegetarian sausages or any extra of the non-meat items.

    The location was beautiful - we had a room overlooking the loch. There was off-road parking and the staff were pleasant. The room had a kettle and TV.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.4
    Better find something else
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was horrible, the people working there were not nice and seemed very annoyed by us. The food was awful and was probably all defrosted. The rooms were very noisy and the bed hard and dirty (I found hair on mine). The only good thing was view

    N

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.7
    Location at the end of the loch was pituresque.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front entry mat was worn and soiled, which didn't give an initial good impression. The music in the dining room was American country and Western which didn't set a good atmosphere for our introduction to Scotland.

    Location at the end of the loch was pituresque. Relatively close to Loch Lomond and our route north.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    4.6
    Good location for climbing The Cobbler.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No character, very old and crumbly, staff were not particularly helpful. Room felt dirty. The whole place was a bit depressing. "Pub" was just a charmless lobby.

    Good location for climbing The Cobbler. Nice pub (the village inn) down the street with much better food.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.0
    Room for improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the shower in our room was ice cold. The quality of the breakfast was not as good as in smaller B'n'B's we stayed at. You can tell that the hotel has come in the years, which would be okay, but spider webs right next to the breakfast table and a dirty wall behind a loveless arranged buffet could easily be fixed and increase the hotel's quality a lot.

    Nice hiking options close to the hotel's doorstep.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.4
    I'd like to see the place after the refurb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water to get a shower in the evening, bedroom window wouldn't shut so the wind was blowing a gale and making the curtains move, the curtains were hanging off and we had to attach them back up even before the wind, paid extra 10 pound for a room with a view of the lake and some of our other party had a view without having to pay extra for it!!!!

    Staff were friendly and lovely location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.8
    Not worth the price for one night.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs decorated, very dated. The shower was cold. The food in the bar was ok. We also waited over half an hour on breakfast as the waitor forgot about our order.

    Good location. Nice views.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.8
    very nice view, somehow cosy retaurant/bar downstairs,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's not very clean (shower, floor not vacuum cleaned), the staff is not very welcoming (some are though, thanks to them), the food is expensive in regard of what you get (and not so tasty), they sometimes forget to bring you what you ordered. Breakfast not very good either (correct but really could be improved…), no fresh fruits,... The (single) room was small (but well, that's not really a problem) with a very small bed (a real 1 person bed) and equiped with… a bible :( It seems that you are stuck in the eighties (which could be absolutely fine if you keep it fresh…). The place has a good potential though, but i guess the mediocrity explains the price...

    very nice view, somehow cosy retaurant/bar downstairs, some of the staff was nice… One of the cheapest in town. Some Entertainment some nights, can be enjoyable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.4
    Amazing location, stunning view from the window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower went between being scalding hot and freezing cold, for £70 a night you really don't expect that. Was also damp mould in bathroom

    Amazing location, stunning view from the window. Staff seemed friendly, food at restaurant in the building was incredible (brill fajitas)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.7
    Smoky room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The twin room smelt as if it had been a smoking room for many many years. It stank of old smoke. The window was open as we entered the room and we kept it open despite the rain and cold weather, but the smell never faded. There were no other free rooms. They told us that they do not allow smoking.... well believe me, the room was awful. I Have a lung condition and woke at 3am with non stop coughing. I have never been so happy to leave. Apart from that, the hotel was a reasonable budget hotel. The bathroom was very tired. We paid £60 But would not have been happy to more. With the smell I would have preferred a refund!

    Pleasant lounge, lovely views. Friendly staff and good live music.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    4.6
    poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    damp cold dreary hotel, restaurant roof leaking, badly cooked breakfast and servers were miserable. there were steps outside our window were there probably was once a door, people sat outside our window smoking.

    nothing, worst booking.com we,ve ever used.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful View
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn’t very comfortable Fairly noisy in rooms. Walls are not very thick so you can hear the TVs and conversations in adjoining rooms.

    Beautiful View Easy to find Bathroom was very clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.8
    Views and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we booked in the receptionist was unhelpful and rude about as much use as a chocolate fire guard, if you like a good nights sleep this is not for you squeaky floorboards from room above and then live music not a relaxing start to our Hoilday

    Views and great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.4
    A very sleepless night in a dis-organised Hotel.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel is not like it looks on the Internet. It is shabby on the outside and needs some TLC. Had a shock when we first saw it. Had very little sleep as there seemed to be a party going on underneath us until after 1.00am. Tried telephoning reception, but no answer. The floorboards creaked above us and there seemed to be someone moving furniture and people in the corridor slamming doors during the early hours. The meal in the restaurant was just about ok, but they ran out of mashed potatoes just half an hour after the restaurant opened. The checkout was very bad. There was no apology when we complained about the noise, he didn't seem to care and he tried to charge us twice for the dog. I had to pay for our drinks and meal before they could produce the invoice, thats when we noticed that an additional £10 had been added on checking out, even though he had been told that the dog had been paid for when checking in.

    The Hotel was warm.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    4.2
    Rubbish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift that didn't work. Having to carry two cases up four flights of stairs. Having to put my shoulder on the door to open or close the door. Luke warm shower. Curtains hanging off rail. Dirty air extractor in bathroom.

    Leaving at six am on the Monday after two nights and not waiting for breakfast at 7.30.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    5.8
    OK FOR AN OVERNIGHT STAY BUT NO LONGER
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    HEATING IN CORRIDORS SHOULD HAVE BEEN ON THROUGHOUT THE HOTEL. HEATING IN BEDROOM INADEQUATE NO CARPET ON STAIRS NEAR BEDROOM BEDROOM NEEDED MORE LIGHTING POOR SHOWER

    STAFF VERY FRIENDLY FOOD WELL COOKED AND PRESENTED LIFT AVAILABLE

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    Landscape is beautiful even trough the windows, few pubs and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not all credit cards accepted. We had no shower gel in bathrooms.

    Landscape is beautiful even trough the windows, few pubs and restaurants around, big car park. Can get your clothing washed for reasonable prices, pet welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    Location
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room OK but pretty dingey . Bulbs in room uniformly dim. Desk so dim I couldn’t work at it. Asked for a lamp, to be told they didn’t have one. Lift was out of service — again, I gathered. Sounds of the guitar minstrel in the bar floated into our room late evening. He was good, actually, but we could have done with better sound shielding. The place basically caters to transient coach trippers. Not worth its star rating.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Good value and excellent views of the hills and loch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single beds too narrow,if you roll over you fall out of bed.

    The scenery was excellent. The food was very good and reasonably priced. Raymond the singer on Saturday was very good entertainment.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    Arrochar is beautiful and the hotel has a spectacular view !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No t knowing about live entertainment when our room was through the wall from the bar!!!!

    The room was lovely unfortunately through the wall was the bar so when we had an early night the live entertainment which we had not know about was very entertaining!!! It did not go on to late so we will let them off!..Rooms food and staff were a delight!!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.8
    Great for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could do with a bit of a refurbish but still good for the price.

    Great location with views over the loch. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Dog friendly. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.9
    Great Location and lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom and showers were old and quite hard to work out how to use them properly. Since it was a old hotel, the plumbing was done for hot and cold water separately and mixing them and using it was difficult.

    We ran a bit late to check in (latest allowed is 11pm) as there was road closures. We tried ringing the reception at around 9:30 to let them know that we will be late, however there was no answer. However, when we got there a very friendly night porter was on site (it was midnight by now) and he checked us in without any hassle. The breakfast was brilliant as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Location was amazing, the staff were all really helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Location was amazing, the staff were all really helpful and friendly. Our dog was made to feel very welcome and we were able to eat our breakfast in our room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Both my husband and I enjoyed immensely and will return sometime.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could be a bit chilly in the lounge and dining room. Although a lovely hotel could do with some redecorating.

    Lovely staff and a very welcoming manager. Excellent food and fair bar prices. Clean comfortable room with fantastic view and good heating.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    4.6
    Faulty towers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room, shower not working & beds uncomfortable. Moved to another room, that the same, but the shower worked in this.

    Good breakfast and staff polite.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.3
    Good location.... but that's it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was tiny, the door didn't even open fully due to a cupboard behind it, so trying to squeeze suitcases through was a nightmare. The whisky bar had very limited selection, the deciding factor on booking this hotel was the 'excellent whisky bar', I have a better selection at home in my kitchen cupboard. The waitress at breakfast was ...... surly bordering on rude! We were looking to book for another night, but one night was enough and we moved on to a different hotel. Such a shame as the location is amazing.

    The location was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice staff, uninspring facilities, inadequate food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast cooked early in the morning and kept warm - very limp by 9 am! Our waiter in the evening and next morning did not know the difference between an omelette and crepe or know the menu properly. But his service and manner were perfectly fine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were lovely and comfortable. There was plenty to chose from the diner menu and served very quickly and efficiently

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    4.2
    Do not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was mold in the rooms and the bathrooms. It is an old property that needs a lot of renovation. It is in a state of disrepair. They need to do all the renovation and upgrading before bringing in customers to stay. The restaurant closes at 8.00 PM and you have to drive 60 minutes to get to even a convenience store or any place at all to get food. Not a place to consider if you are traveling as a family. No vending machines for snacks or even bottles or cans of soft drinks/water . The bar just serves a pack of chips(not fries). It is suitable for backpackers.

    The staff are warm and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    4.2
    View and breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower never worked properly in both rooms. They put us in the room by the exit lift doors so it was consistently banging from 5am,bed was uncomfortable and no cover on the mattress just a really thin sheet that didn't fit, bar was awful. Banklet on bed had stains all over it.

    View and breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Everything, beautiful location overlooking Loch Long,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The day I had to leave.

    Everything, beautiful location overlooking Loch Long, friendly helpful staff. The room was lovely and clean. Our dog was welcomed by all and even though we could only eat in the bar we were looked after perfectly. Plenty of parking spaces. It's a perfect little stop off for Loch lomond and the west of Scotland although it's a beautiful place in itself with some lovely hill walks on the door step. We will definitely be returning. A very good value hotel with good food( the baked camanbert is fantastic). Entertainment on a couple of nights was an added treat. Definitely at the top of my list.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    4.6
    Will look elsewhere in the area in future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor cleanliness, especially the bathrooms. Food ok. Breakfast slow and small portions. Little choice from the buffet bar, missing dishes and too few staff to fulfill requests.

    Perfect location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.1
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soundproofing was bad. We were disturbed by the sound of other guests late into the night and early in the morning. Parking was limited.

    The beds were a good size. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.7
    Just about value for money. Needs work.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in the same room last October. The curtains were hanging off the curtain rail.........they still are! The hotel is very noisy with traffic and wafer thin walls and floors so you can hear your neighbours a LOT. Pillows are so thin it is hardly worth having them. The whole building is very tired. Many of the staff are very miserable and can’t manage a smile however friendly you are towards them.

    Parking on site, early breakfast, dog friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.8
    Ok for a couple of nights. Would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decoration of the room and overall facilities-building interior etc - tired. Staff dismissive at breakfast and not very friendly. We had to wait considerable amount of time to be seated at breakfast and were clearly ignored.

    Room was clean. Check in easy. They overcharged which I didn’t catch but phoned shortly thereafter and rectified it. The hotel had nice views of the Loch.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.7
    Nice Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired hotel in need of major improvemts to the rooms. Parking totally inadequate. Restaurant food OK but wildly over priced for the quality and quantity.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable room and manager at meal times was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was awful. Only could use hot tap other it was freezing and just dribbled out.

    Very comfortable room and manager at meal times was very friendly and a good laugh

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Just what I needed, a calm, restful stay in beautiful countryside with pleasant, helpful staff
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything that could have been better apart from visitors complaining about trifling matters, like the hills being too high to climb in leisure (honestly!).

    First, you will not find a hotel anywhere in the World with a better view if you're looking for picture postcard. More importantly the staff cannot do enough for you. They made my Service Dog and I most welcome and came to my room to explain and sort WiFi troubles I was having when I was being my usual stupid self about technical matters. Food was wonderful and the dining staff helpful and smiling. As Arnie says - "I'll be back!".

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    A pleasant stay in a character full hotel, slightly spoilt...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A pleasant stay in a character full hotel, slightly spoilt by the excessively loud music in the bar on Saturday evening. It was not possible to hold a conversation and our party retyred to bed early.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.4
    Car park.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place is a little tired. Living in the past with a certain aloofness that doesn't cut it anymore. Dinner and breakfast should have been better - very poor quality. Why no food after 8:30pm? Some sniffy staff - most OK though. Room decoration overdue. Stains on the bathroom wall where the rain has leaked in. The accommodation was the most expensive of our Scottish tour and a very long way from being the best. Won't stay here again.

    Car park. The view out of the public areas over the loch.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Although the weather was awful - wet, cold and misty - the hotel was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is not a criticism of the hotel but it is true to say that it is an old building and some of the features are dated, however it is still very good value for money. I had looked at other reviews of this hotel before we arrived and I must say that they nearly put me off going. I don't know what people expect these days when they book a room in a 3 * hotel but whilst not exactly luxurious the facilities all work so I would recommend a visit.

    The location of the hotel is lovely, we had a room with a view over the loch. The room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was small but functional. The food was delicious and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    Arrochar Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything at the moment, if we had been in a back facing room, who knows.

    We had a loch facing room and it was beautiful. If they could have done something about the weather I'm sure they would have. Food was excellent in the dining room and in the bar, staff were lovely. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone, and wouldn't hesitate to return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    3.3
    Disappointing, dated and a bit run down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms, one room was ok. But the other 2 rooms we were given were very poor. Damp, smelly, grimy, dark and dingy, old fittings, dated bathroom, staff sitting on the window ledge of room smoking.

    The location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.5
    Hearty meals
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room but the bed was very hard. Hearty dinners in the restaurant, efficient and friendly service. Hotel quite tired but adequate for short stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant dog friendly hotel with good facilities, good food at fair prices and good location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel, we were given good spacious rooms and the evening meal in the bar and breakfast were good and fair price. I would stay here again without hesitation.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building was gloomy. WiFi was poor and unreliable. Did not see any disabled access to the front of the building. Paintwork in the bedroom was grubby / in need of a repaint. Some tables in the bar area were unwiped and the carpet crumbed. Toast at breakfast was burnt and not fresh.

    Bed was comfortable and clean as was the ensuite.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.0
    Very unsatisfactory Will not recommend using you again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dingy room though clean with damp stained wallpaper and shabby furniture Poor shower and towelling. Understaffed bar & only 1 draught beer cold. Breakfast appalling reheated hard food except egg and greasy Conveyor belt type service overall. Definitely misrepresented by you. Paid for 2 nights but left after 1 so cost me £105 through your misleading information

    Beds were comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    Loch Lomond visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Public areas were a little shabby. We were given a room on the ground floor which was missing its net curtains so was like sitting in a goldfish bowl. Asked to be moved which couldn't be done until the next day. I'm not sure where the curtains where or if they ever turned up.

    The staff were helpful and pleasant and the food good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.8
    A bit disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is oldish which does not appear on the pictures... Carpets in the halls were not clean at all. You could hear absolutely everything from one room to the other. We had a room next to the lobby and in the evening, we could hear the singer (who was very good, I must admit) as if we were sitting next to him.

    Nice location on Loch Lomond.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.1
    Fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit dated and the shower looked like to had seen better days! But overall it was fine. Breakfast was a bit meagre.

    Beds were comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    HONESTY.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    to be honest breakfast was served cold plates ,not hot food. we had one evening meal ,mediocore is only discription. shame as it was lovely to have bar meals.,not have to fine dine. ironing facilities was laughable. We were handed an ironing board without a cover ,Iron cable was split in two places,dangerous to use. such a shame on something so simple to rectify.

    comfy bed. location friendly staff especially James and Lynda. we had a problem with first room,but James made the effort to get us moved,which made such a difference to our stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.1
    Great location and views. Poor food and cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast not good, bathroom sink too small.

    Very small bathroom sink in a single room that made brushing your teeth and washing your hands somewhat a challenge. The view over the back part of the building and the staff entrance (=disheartening). Cleanliness could be much better. But the location right at the loch border, very close to bus stops, and the walking trails so that was simply excellent. Good parking for the guests with cars. Breakfast was not good - I eat to survive but the food there was bad. However the staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.0
    Anniversary let down - the rooms not what they look like on site
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were charged £95 for a single room with a double bed in it. It was nothing like the images on the site - half the size. It faces the road with single glazing, so the traffic made it difficult to sleep. The mattress was knackered you could feel the springs. It was our anniversary which I had emailed the hotel and it was a real disappointment. Stayed in a B&B in Cairngorms next night for £75 and was far far nicer. We arrived at 8:30 and the kitchen had shut.

    The location is right by the Loch They put the flowers I had delivered in the room as requested

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    Views were amazing. The live music was extremely loud and chased me out the bar and my room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't know about the live music every Thursday. Stayed on the 1st floor and the music was so loud the whole room was vibrating.

    Reception was really friendly, food was great, views were amazing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    4.2
    Lovely location but grubby hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel, particularly the rooms are very dated and quite grubby. Not cleaned properly This hotel is certainly not bespoke... Its a throw back from the seventies (probably the last time it was properly cleaned!)

    The view and the location was stunning The staff were OK quite helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    My single room had everything I needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    some of the European guests lost their manners.

    My single room had everything I needed. The receptionist was helpful also with wifi. Bar had a great range of beer wine and spirits. Dinning room for breakfast was set up well and the menu covered it all along with several staff to serve us quickly. The lounge area was comfortable with great views of the loch.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.8
    Weekend in Arrochar
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Several points to make: Maintenance of room facilities is poor. Our main bedroom light did not work. The shower was very temperamental and kept turning off midway through a shower. The building is rather shabby and in need of an upgrade Breakfast was at best average, and I have had many better breakfasts in bed and breakfast accommodation. We were not entirely happy with staff service. Front desk staff were not always available and in particular when we came in after midnight, no staff were available and appeared to be in a back office partying and after a few minutes one emerged to get us our room key. That was unprofessional.

    The location was beautiful and very convenient for reaching the village and other facilities. The bar area looks out over lovely views. Parking is generally good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    3.8
    Dissapointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1960's décor desperately needs an update. Bathroom too small, shower inadequate, no room. Bed springs noisy. The room at rear of hotel noisy due to traffic noise. Breakfast could have been better.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location, close to Loch Lomond and obviously on Loch...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were so thin, we were kept awake by the man snoring in the room next door!

    Great location, close to Loch Lomond and obviously on Loch Long. Really welcoming to dogs and staff were great with them!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    5.4
    Stay at the Arrochar Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The state of the corridors, room, staircase , entrance etc

    The location was good for what we wanted The breakfasts were good - plenty of choice and portions very good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.4
    Arrochar hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs an update and room was not properly cleaned (greasy handmarks on cupboards). Small amenities in the room were missing (hair dryer, shampoo etc) and should have been included for the price. Eggs for breakfast seemed to be powdered eggs.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: