Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Arrochar Hotel 'A Bespoke Hotel' 3 stars

Main Street, Arrochar, G83 7AU, United Kingdom

#17 of 18 hotels in Arrochar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1946 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    10
    Best time of our holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The staff at mealtime were attentive but discreet, the entertainment was good, having a lift to the upper floors useful, and the fact that downstairs rooms were available. With plenty of off road parking, and the rooms on the front of the hotel gave a good view of the Loch.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    4.6
    Miserable tired old hotel, no atmosphere, staff miserable. Dinner rubbish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most staff were miserable. Especially the Barman. Dinner was absolutely diabolical. Ordered hamburgers, precooked and microwaved meat patty.

    Breakfast was quite good. Room was just ok with a n ice view of the loch.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    5.4
    Price was reasonable for where and what we got
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are tired looking and decor could do with revamp. Staff were quiet and breakfast was disappointing. We were given a menu asked to choose and despite seeing that there were other items available for breakfast we weren’t offered them. We were given breakfast which had potato scone which had clearly been sitting for a while. All in all we weren’t expecting a lot for the ££ paid which was just as well. It was clean, tidy and well located for where we needed to go.

    Price was reasonable for where and what we got

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    9.6
    Short but sweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather but that is not the hotels fault. Bed a bit too soft for me but that is personal preference.

    Wonderful view even in rain. Staff friendly. Room clean and well appointed

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    5.4
    Even for the price it was not worth it. The whole hotel is very run down and institutional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole hotel has seen better days and needs a complete refurbishment. Our room was reasonably clean but the window was covered in mould and the gutters outside leaked and the noise kept us awake. The electric wall heater did not work and the shower control was broken. The bedside lights were overhead and far too bright if one side of the bed wanted to have a bit of darkness. One side didn't work anyway. We should have asked to change room. We knew we did not have a view but we were not expecting the outlook from our room - Number 114. The staff were not particularly friendly and the service in the restaurant was very bad. They seemed to want us in and out as quickly as possible. Silly reservation system to book a table - you had to book with reception which we did. When we went through the restaurant staff did not have our details and dealt with it badly - seemed to be our fault rather than their system. The hotel is very institutional and old fashioned and not in a good way.

    The bed was comfortable. The evening meal was good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing although location fabulous. Not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty rooms and corridors Small room Dirty walls in room Poor food and indifferent waitress No fresh fruit for breakfast

    Chief Scottish waiter was good and friendly Service was quick

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    5.5
    Disappointing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of cleanliness and housekeeping lack of maintanence in room and lack of decent lighting in room. 3 days I had to ask for room to be cleaned and/ or clean towels and on one day the soiled towel was just hung up again on the towel rail. Found a previous occupants tablet on the floor ( obviously had not been cleaned up ) and reception talked over me when I tried to explain what was wrong . ,and while the restaurant staff were very good ,this does not compensate for the other things that are lacking . I think it will be a very long time before I stay here again or even recommend this hotel . There are several others in the vicinity !

    Restaurant staff were very helpful and welcoming

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    4.6
    Go somewhere else.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very poor.

    Nothing. I have stayed here a few times before and the hotel is getting worse. The decor is so tired and worn, holes in the floorboards on the first floor. They also tried to charge £10 per night for my dog insisting that they have to use extra chemicals to clean. The carpets have clearly not seen shampoo or chemicals for many months.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    8.3
    Most enjoyable - would be happy to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly dated and tired but the pricing was realistic and so I was not left feeling as if I had been taken advantage of as a tourist - shabby chic only goes so far!

    Good value for money. Rooms clean and comfortable and staff welcoming. Views from front of hotel stunning - not all rooms can have a loch side view and the hills also provide dramatic scenery.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    6.7
    Staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Entertainment loud and directly under one of our rooms. Door of room couldn't be locked due to problem with handle and shower very difficult to use.

    Staff were friendly. Location was good and views over Loch Long stunning

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.1
    Don't think we will revisit shame because location very good lovely views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very tired room very snappy breakfast very poor bacon very fatty poached egg hard. Potato scone very fatty not what we expected paying 100 pounds for the nights stay

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    2.9
    Won't recommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel lounge and room smell. Very dim lighting in the hotel room, can't read the guide book for the next day. Breakfast is below average quality, whisky at the bar is very expensive for the hotel standard.

    Free parking

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing. Very dated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was basic and dirty, paper peeling off the wall in the corner, from what looked like damp at a not so close inspection. The walls and ceiling are paper thing and we could hear conversations from next door and above plus people simply walking across their room was 'thumps from above'. Shower in the bath, fine, but the glass partition to prevent water on the floor didnt do it's job, floor was flooded so had to soak with a towel...and this must be the case for many rooms on the first floor as when we went for breakfast there were around 12 buckets catching the water heavily dripping from the ceiling! We wasnt told at reception that we needed to book for dinner and to do that AT reception and not just walk in and wait to be seated, we were greated with a frosty reception as we didnt know that. We ordered food at the bar instead, which was good and we didnt have to wait long. The hotel is in a much needed update of pretty much everything. Room rate should be nearer £70 p/night.

    The view across Loch Long. The Burger and chips i had for dinner in the bar area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    3.8
    Awful unacceptably poor substantially over priced!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    About everything smelly thought hotel, room cold with ineffectual heater, wallpaper pealing of damp walls, taps loose in bathroom, plugs detached from chains, bad layout of bath making use of bath shower taps almost impossible for smaller people. Poor menues an d eating areas. 1970s decor and finish. All I all an awful hotel stay a severe else!

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked I rang the hotel and asked about gluten free options on the menu. I was told that there were plenty choices. We booked in for our evening meal and the choices were good but the breakfast choices were very poor. My wife has a very rare form of coelliacs disease and it can actually be life threatening if she eats the wrong food and her medication doesn't work. Whilst we enjoyed our stay I think more could be done to help people with my wife's condition and the restaurant staff could be better trained.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    We had a great experience thanks to all the staff, especially reception x
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The handling of the drunken English man should of been dealt with as soon as he started xx

    We liked thee overall experience, the staff were excellent the hotel was very comfy, the views were spectacular, clean and tidy, smiles all round

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Returning honeymooners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor selection of beer they had 1 draught beer working Other spirits they ran out of No background music

    Location was great Food was great Breakfast great Rooms clean Staff friendly and helpful Service was quick

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    3.3
    dreadfull
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The attitude of the staff. The hotel was very dirty Breakfast was cold. rock hard poached egg, cold black pudding, greasy mushrooms, cold bacon.

    there was nothing to like about this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    3.8
    This place needs money spending on it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were having breakfast, and there was a leak from the ceiling ,there was 5 buckets catching the water. The lady showing us to our table did not want to be there ,she was so rude.

    The location was very good. The lady on reception was really nice , and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.3
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lumpy mattress. Lack of water pressure in shower. Hairs on bathroom tiles. Cobwebs all around room. Shabby 1970s furniture. Dining room had 2 buckets to catch leaks from ceiling.

    Staff were pleasant and evening meal was good apart from a defrosted supermarket cheesecake. Good views from dining room. Good parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    2.9
    Very very disappointed
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff poor attitude. Food cool and poorly presented. Mattress cover was Stained and had been covered with a clean sheet. Barr area very noisy large group of bikers drinking

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.5
    The hotel’s location is really nice, with a view right over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel’s location is really nice, with a view right over the lake. The staff was friendly and made eating there or relaxing in the lounge / at the bar enjoyable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    4.6
    Overall not a bad hotel just needs good clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was not very clean the entrance looked liked it hadn’t been hoovered and the rooms were never hoovered, I use pink tooth paste which was still in the sink had not been washed table in room very dusty and had no hot water for three days

    The location of the hotel and the food good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.4
    Tired hotel in need of a face-lift and staff training in hospitality and hotel management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fawlty Towers! With a view of the Loch (maybe). When we booked the rooms, we specified the need for ground floor rooms as our party was made up of elderly and disabled members who cannot negotiate stairs. On arrival we were put into rooms on the 2nd floor. This was despite our booking being made several months in advance of our arrival. Staff unwilling to even try and accommodate our request at check-in. Also, payment requested up front. This should have rung alarm bells. Whilst there is a lift, there were still stairs to negotiate to the rooms. We were there for only one night, thankfully! In the middle of the night we were all rudely awoken by the sounds of a door being broken down which was extremely distressing. The hotel staff were breaking the door down to the room opposite as the door lock had jammed and the guests wanted to retrieve their belongings. No one gave the rest of the guests the simple courtesy of a warning before very noisily hammering the door down. To add insult to a disturbed nights sleep, there was no hot water in the morning, so our party left the hotel un-rested, un-washed and un-fed, as we did not want to stay a minute longer in this hotel. Only after a lengthy heated exchange with the manager Colin, were our grievances acknowledged, and our stay fully refunded. Did not appreciate being shouted at in the reception area and made to feel like it was our fault for the complete failings and total incompetent hotel management. The hotel itself is dated, very tired and in extreme need of a face-lift. The Loch-views as advertised on all the booking sites seem to be it's only saving grace. However, we were treated to a view of the the refuse dump at the back of the hotel.

    The view from the hotel overlooking the loch. Sadly, our room was overlooking the outbuildings that had old stained mattresses and other discarded furniture spilling out of it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.8
    Arrochar stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very uncomfortable beds. No hot water for our shower on the second morning.

    The location was lovely. Nice views from the room. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.7
    I needed early check in as i was attending a wedding and was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I needed early check in as i was attending a wedding and was charged an additional £30 to check in at 12pm instead of 3pm which i thought was excessive. I spoke to other guests who also attended the wedding they didnt pre arrange an early check in just turned up and asked and werent charged! I felt ripped off because of this

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    Restaurant meal was lovely and the staff especially the 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Asked for paper towels to be put in toilet as they were finished and hand dryer not working. Visited toilet about 3 times and this never happened. Cleanliness in bedroom/ toilet could have been better but wouldn't stop me returning. Hotel a little outdated.

    Restaurant meal was lovely and the staff especially the 2 gentlemen who seemed to be in charge. Always smiling and very pleasant. Reception staff could perhaps have smiled a little more but were ok. All in all a nice stay and would go back. Entertainment was an added bonus.View from bedroom was lovely and beds very comfortable. Slept well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    Good location, pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was faulty (dangerous). Informed reception who responded quickly . Unfortunately maintenance man didn’t know it was an electric shower, in fact knew nothing about showers at all! It still didn’t work next time. Very poor!

    Good location, pleasant staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Great location, stay could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was awful. I stood there for 10-15 minutes trying to get the right setting and had to settle for the lower, eco setting as the high one would not work correctly. The hotel had a “Shining” (movie) feel to it and needs updating as the floor can be quite loud and we were disturbed a few times early hours with people going past our room with the noise.

    Location was amazing with a great view from the room. Love that they allow dogs too. Breakfast was good with a good selection!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    I enjoyed my stay at The Arrochar hotel,good location,amazing local walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    breakfast could be improved

    I had a warm welcome from the receptionist Marta and she was very kind and helpful throughout my stay. I liked the large hotel bar which encouraged socialising. There was also live entertainment- 2 very good singers -on Tuesday and Thursday night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    We loved the view from the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had asked for vegetarian breakfast, but there were no vegetarian sausages or any extra of the non-meat items.

    The location was beautiful - we had a room overlooking the loch. There was off-road parking and the staff were pleasant. The room had a kettle and TV.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.4
    Better find something else
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was horrible, the people working there were not nice and seemed very annoyed by us. The food was awful and was probably all defrosted. The rooms were very noisy and the bed hard and dirty (I found hair on mine). The only good thing was view

    N

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.7
    Location at the end of the loch was pituresque.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front entry mat was worn and soiled, which didn't give an initial good impression. The music in the dining room was American country and Western which didn't set a good atmosphere for our introduction to Scotland.

    Location at the end of the loch was pituresque. Relatively close to Loch Lomond and our route north.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    4.6
    Good location for climbing The Cobbler.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No character, very old and crumbly, staff were not particularly helpful. Room felt dirty. The whole place was a bit depressing. "Pub" was just a charmless lobby.

    Good location for climbing The Cobbler. Nice pub (the village inn) down the street with much better food.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.0
    Room for improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the shower in our room was ice cold. The quality of the breakfast was not as good as in smaller B'n'B's we stayed at. You can tell that the hotel has come in the years, which would be okay, but spider webs right next to the breakfast table and a dirty wall behind a loveless arranged buffet could easily be fixed and increase the hotel's quality a lot.

    Nice hiking options close to the hotel's doorstep.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.4
    I'd like to see the place after the refurb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water to get a shower in the evening, bedroom window wouldn't shut so the wind was blowing a gale and making the curtains move, the curtains were hanging off and we had to attach them back up even before the wind, paid extra 10 pound for a room with a view of the lake and some of our other party had a view without having to pay extra for it!!!!

    Staff were friendly and lovely location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.8
    Not worth the price for one night.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs decorated, very dated. The shower was cold. The food in the bar was ok. We also waited over half an hour on breakfast as the waitor forgot about our order.

    Good location. Nice views.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.8
    very nice view, somehow cosy retaurant/bar downstairs,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's not very clean (shower, floor not vacuum cleaned), the staff is not very welcoming (some are though, thanks to them), the food is expensive in regard of what you get (and not so tasty), they sometimes forget to bring you what you ordered. Breakfast not very good either (correct but really could be improved…), no fresh fruits,... The (single) room was small (but well, that's not really a problem) with a very small bed (a real 1 person bed) and equiped with… a bible :( It seems that you are stuck in the eighties (which could be absolutely fine if you keep it fresh…). The place has a good potential though, but i guess the mediocrity explains the price...

    very nice view, somehow cosy retaurant/bar downstairs, some of the staff was nice… One of the cheapest in town. Some Entertainment some nights, can be enjoyable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.4
    Amazing location, stunning view from the window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower went between being scalding hot and freezing cold, for £70 a night you really don't expect that. Was also damp mould in bathroom

    Amazing location, stunning view from the window. Staff seemed friendly, food at restaurant in the building was incredible (brill fajitas)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.7
    Smoky room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The twin room smelt as if it had been a smoking room for many many years. It stank of old smoke. The window was open as we entered the room and we kept it open despite the rain and cold weather, but the smell never faded. There were no other free rooms. They told us that they do not allow smoking.... well believe me, the room was awful. I Have a lung condition and woke at 3am with non stop coughing. I have never been so happy to leave. Apart from that, the hotel was a reasonable budget hotel. The bathroom was very tired. We paid £60 But would not have been happy to more. With the smell I would have preferred a refund!

    Pleasant lounge, lovely views. Friendly staff and good live music.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    4.6
    poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    damp cold dreary hotel, restaurant roof leaking, badly cooked breakfast and servers were miserable. there were steps outside our window were there probably was once a door, people sat outside our window smoking.

    nothing, worst booking.com we,ve ever used.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful View
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn’t very comfortable Fairly noisy in rooms. Walls are not very thick so you can hear the TVs and conversations in adjoining rooms.

    Beautiful View Easy to find Bathroom was very clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.8
    Views and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we booked in the receptionist was unhelpful and rude about as much use as a chocolate fire guard, if you like a good nights sleep this is not for you squeaky floorboards from room above and then live music not a relaxing start to our Hoilday

    Views and great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.4
    A very sleepless night in a dis-organised Hotel.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel is not like it looks on the Internet. It is shabby on the outside and needs some TLC. Had a shock when we first saw it. Had very little sleep as there seemed to be a party going on underneath us until after 1.00am. Tried telephoning reception, but no answer. The floorboards creaked above us and there seemed to be someone moving furniture and people in the corridor slamming doors during the early hours. The meal in the restaurant was just about ok, but they ran out of mashed potatoes just half an hour after the restaurant opened. The checkout was very bad. There was no apology when we complained about the noise, he didn't seem to care and he tried to charge us twice for the dog. I had to pay for our drinks and meal before they could produce the invoice, thats when we noticed that an additional £10 had been added on checking out, even though he had been told that the dog had been paid for when checking in.

    The Hotel was warm.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    4.2
    Rubbish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift that didn't work. Having to carry two cases up four flights of stairs. Having to put my shoulder on the door to open or close the door. Luke warm shower. Curtains hanging off rail. Dirty air extractor in bathroom.

    Leaving at six am on the Monday after two nights and not waiting for breakfast at 7.30.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    5.8
    OK FOR AN OVERNIGHT STAY BUT NO LONGER
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    HEATING IN CORRIDORS SHOULD HAVE BEEN ON THROUGHOUT THE HOTEL. HEATING IN BEDROOM INADEQUATE NO CARPET ON STAIRS NEAR BEDROOM BEDROOM NEEDED MORE LIGHTING POOR SHOWER

    STAFF VERY FRIENDLY FOOD WELL COOKED AND PRESENTED LIFT AVAILABLE

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    Landscape is beautiful even trough the windows, few pubs and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not all credit cards accepted. We had no shower gel in bathrooms.

    Landscape is beautiful even trough the windows, few pubs and restaurants around, big car park. Can get your clothing washed for reasonable prices, pet welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    Location
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room OK but pretty dingey . Bulbs in room uniformly dim. Desk so dim I couldn’t work at it. Asked for a lamp, to be told they didn’t have one. Lift was out of service — again, I gathered. Sounds of the guitar minstrel in the bar floated into our room late evening. He was good, actually, but we could have done with better sound shielding. The place basically caters to transient coach trippers. Not worth its star rating.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Good value and excellent views of the hills and loch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single beds too narrow,if you roll over you fall out of bed.

    The scenery was excellent. The food was very good and reasonably priced. Raymond the singer on Saturday was very good entertainment.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    Arrochar is beautiful and the hotel has a spectacular view !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No t knowing about live entertainment when our room was through the wall from the bar!!!!

    The room was lovely unfortunately through the wall was the bar so when we had an early night the live entertainment which we had not know about was very entertaining!!! It did not go on to late so we will let them off!..Rooms food and staff were a delight!!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.8
    Great for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could do with a bit of a refurbish but still good for the price.

    Great location with views over the loch. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Dog friendly. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.9
    Great Location and lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom and showers were old and quite hard to work out how to use them properly. Since it was a old hotel, the plumbing was done for hot and cold water separately and mixing them and using it was difficult.

    We ran a bit late to check in (latest allowed is 11pm) as there was road closures. We tried ringing the reception at around 9:30 to let them know that we will be late, however there was no answer. However, when we got there a very friendly night porter was on site (it was midnight by now) and he checked us in without any hassle. The breakfast was brilliant as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Location was amazing, the staff were all really helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Location was amazing, the staff were all really helpful and friendly. Our dog was made to feel very welcome and we were able to eat our breakfast in our room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Both my husband and I enjoyed immensely and will return sometime.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could be a bit chilly in the lounge and dining room. Although a lovely hotel could do with some redecorating.

    Lovely staff and a very welcoming manager. Excellent food and fair bar prices. Clean comfortable room with fantastic view and good heating.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    4.6
    Faulty towers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room, shower not working & beds uncomfortable. Moved to another room, that the same, but the shower worked in this.

    Good breakfast and staff polite.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.3
    Good location.... but that's it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was tiny, the door didn't even open fully due to a cupboard behind it, so trying to squeeze suitcases through was a nightmare. The whisky bar had very limited selection, the deciding factor on booking this hotel was the 'excellent whisky bar', I have a better selection at home in my kitchen cupboard. The waitress at breakfast was ...... surly bordering on rude! We were looking to book for another night, but one night was enough and we moved on to a different hotel. Such a shame as the location is amazing.

    The location was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice staff, uninspring facilities, inadequate food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast cooked early in the morning and kept warm - very limp by 9 am! Our waiter in the evening and next morning did not know the difference between an omelette and crepe or know the menu properly. But his service and manner were perfectly fine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were lovely and comfortable. There was plenty to chose from the diner menu and served very quickly and efficiently

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    4.2
    Do not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was mold in the rooms and the bathrooms. It is an old property that needs a lot of renovation. It is in a state of disrepair. They need to do all the renovation and upgrading before bringing in customers to stay. The restaurant closes at 8.00 PM and you have to drive 60 minutes to get to even a convenience store or any place at all to get food. Not a place to consider if you are traveling as a family. No vending machines for snacks or even bottles or cans of soft drinks/water . The bar just serves a pack of chips(not fries). It is suitable for backpackers.

    The staff are warm and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    4.2
    View and breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower never worked properly in both rooms. They put us in the room by the exit lift doors so it was consistently banging from 5am,bed was uncomfortable and no cover on the mattress just a really thin sheet that didn't fit, bar was awful. Banklet on bed had stains all over it.

    View and breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Everything, beautiful location overlooking Loch Long,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The day I had to leave.

    Everything, beautiful location overlooking Loch Long, friendly helpful staff. The room was lovely and clean. Our dog was welcomed by all and even though we could only eat in the bar we were looked after perfectly. Plenty of parking spaces. It's a perfect little stop off for Loch lomond and the west of Scotland although it's a beautiful place in itself with some lovely hill walks on the door step. We will definitely be returning. A very good value hotel with good food( the baked camanbert is fantastic). Entertainment on a couple of nights was an added treat. Definitely at the top of my list.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    4.6
    Will look elsewhere in the area in future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor cleanliness, especially the bathrooms. Food ok. Breakfast slow and small portions. Little choice from the buffet bar, missing dishes and too few staff to fulfill requests.

    Perfect location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.1
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soundproofing was bad. We were disturbed by the sound of other guests late into the night and early in the morning. Parking was limited.

    The beds were a good size. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.7
    Just about value for money. Needs work.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in the same room last October. The curtains were hanging off the curtain rail.........they still are! The hotel is very noisy with traffic and wafer thin walls and floors so you can hear your neighbours a LOT. Pillows are so thin it is hardly worth having them. The whole building is very tired. Many of the staff are very miserable and can’t manage a smile however friendly you are towards them.

    Parking on site, early breakfast, dog friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.8
    Ok for a couple of nights. Would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decoration of the room and overall facilities-building interior etc - tired. Staff dismissive at breakfast and not very friendly. We had to wait considerable amount of time to be seated at breakfast and were clearly ignored.

    Room was clean. Check in easy. They overcharged which I didn’t catch but phoned shortly thereafter and rectified it. The hotel had nice views of the Loch.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.7
    Nice Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired hotel in need of major improvemts to the rooms. Parking totally inadequate. Restaurant food OK but wildly over priced for the quality and quantity.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable room and manager at meal times was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was awful. Only could use hot tap other it was freezing and just dribbled out.

    Very comfortable room and manager at meal times was very friendly and a good laugh

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Just what I needed, a calm, restful stay in beautiful countryside with pleasant, helpful staff
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything that could have been better apart from visitors complaining about trifling matters, like the hills being too high to climb in leisure (honestly!).

    First, you will not find a hotel anywhere in the World with a better view if you're looking for picture postcard. More importantly the staff cannot do enough for you. They made my Service Dog and I most welcome and came to my room to explain and sort WiFi troubles I was having when I was being my usual stupid self about technical matters. Food was wonderful and the dining staff helpful and smiling. As Arnie says - "I'll be back!".

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    A pleasant stay in a character full hotel, slightly spoilt...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A pleasant stay in a character full hotel, slightly spoilt by the excessively loud music in the bar on Saturday evening. It was not possible to hold a conversation and our party retyred to bed early.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.4
    Car park.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place is a little tired. Living in the past with a certain aloofness that doesn't cut it anymore. Dinner and breakfast should have been better - very poor quality. Why no food after 8:30pm? Some sniffy staff - most OK though. Room decoration overdue. Stains on the bathroom wall where the rain has leaked in. The accommodation was the most expensive of our Scottish tour and a very long way from being the best. Won't stay here again.

    Car park. The view out of the public areas over the loch.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Although the weather was awful - wet, cold and misty - the hotel was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is not a criticism of the hotel but it is true to say that it is an old building and some of the features are dated, however it is still very good value for money. I had looked at other reviews of this hotel before we arrived and I must say that they nearly put me off going. I don't know what people expect these days when they book a room in a 3 * hotel but whilst not exactly luxurious the facilities all work so I would recommend a visit.

    The location of the hotel is lovely, we had a room with a view over the loch. The room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was small but functional. The food was delicious and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    Arrochar Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything at the moment, if we had been in a back facing room, who knows.

    We had a loch facing room and it was beautiful. If they could have done something about the weather I'm sure they would have. Food was excellent in the dining room and in the bar, staff were lovely. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone, and wouldn't hesitate to return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    3.3
    Disappointing, dated and a bit run down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms, one room was ok. But the other 2 rooms we were given were very poor. Damp, smelly, grimy, dark and dingy, old fittings, dated bathroom, staff sitting on the window ledge of room smoking.

    The location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.5
    Hearty meals
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room but the bed was very hard. Hearty dinners in the restaurant, efficient and friendly service. Hotel quite tired but adequate for short stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant dog friendly hotel with good facilities, good food at fair prices and good location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel, we were given good spacious rooms and the evening meal in the bar and breakfast were good and fair price. I would stay here again without hesitation.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: