Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ashburn Hotel 4 stars

111 Cromwell Road, Kensington and Chelsea, London, SW7 4DP, United Kingdom

#249 of 977 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 832 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast didnt have many options for vegetarians. Had to do with fruits and bread butter and jam.

    The location of the hotel is a bonus. The tube serving nearby is Piccadilly Line, which has direct connections to major attractions as well as the airport. The staff is very cooperative and friendly. Ms Toni was really helpful to make entire process more comfortable. We were upgraded to a Superior Room to make our stay even more unforgettable and pleasant. The room was spacious and comfortable. Washrooms are very clean and maintained well. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would go there the next time!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The same piece of music every morning at breakfast.

    The location is perfect for exploring London. Adjacent to Gloucester Road Tube with access to Piccadilly (direct line to Heathrow), Central and District lines. The staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining room was a bit small. Only a continental breakfast was included in room rate but you could pay extra for a cooked one.

    Boutique hotel in a great location. Five minutes walk from Gloucester Road Underground station. Ten minute walk to nearby V & A and History museums. 15/20 minute walk to Hyde Park. Many restaurants close by. Staff were lovely and the concierge was extremely helpful. Pleasant room with comfy king bed. We were here for 6 nights and really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows too hard for me, but that’s just a personal preference.

    Lovely breakfast. Very comfy bed. Nice big room. Fantastic location. Very efficient and warm staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a little too hard..

    The location is not in the center (zone 2) but it’s very close to the tube & a bus station (no. 74). You can choose if you want a better breakfast for fare price. Stuff very helpful & cooperatives

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no warm greeting on arrival and the place seemed to lack atmosphere. Staff seemed totally disinterested in us when we arrived and also whilst having breakfast the next morning. My husband and I both remarked on it and thought staff could have been much friendlier. When we checked out the girl on reception was lovely though. The breakfast room could do with an update as colour scheme didn't blend well and the wallpaper was torn. the music playing on arrival and in the bar the evening we arrived was absolutely dreadful. A fellow guest agreed. We had to take our drinks to the room. This probably explains why the bar was empty. Not sure I would go back because of the staff attitudes. There are plenty of other hotels around. It's a shame it's staff (apart from the girl checking us out) let the hotel down.

    It is a beautiful hotel situated in a nice part of London. It has lots of character. We had a lovely room which was clean and met our expectations. The complimentary drink in the bar was welcomed, as were the free newspapers and magazines. We loved the close proximity to the tube station and it was located near a fabulous outdoor beach called 'Ken's Garden' where we lounged and enjoyed a few drinks before heading to the Chelsea Flower Show.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were warmly welcomed at reception and were able to register quickly and go to the room.The room was a good size we appreciated the bottles of water, tea/coffee etc. Room was very clean and bed comfortable. We were given vouchers for a free drink, and enjoyed a glass of wine in the cosy bar area. There were magazines/papers for guests to read. Continental breakfast was good with a friendly and attentive waitress. We paid extra for some cooked food which was good, very reasonably priced and arrived quickly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was out dated, with dust and dirt in the room. No knob on sink plug to take the water away. Shower doors didn't shut fully. Bath mat was soaking before we had a chance to use it. Staff rude with regards to payment.

    The location was great 2 minutes walk from the tube station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is excellent. The bed was very comfortable with super smooth sheets. The continental breakfast had an excellent selection with delicious coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had requested a bottle of bubbly be in the room on our arrival. Got an email to say no problem, but on arrival it was not there? Couldn't raise this at the time as I was with my wife and it was meant to be a surprise.

    We were very fortunate to get an upgrade on booking in and were given the keys to one of their apartments in the next building. This provided us with far more room to sit and relax rather than just sitting on a bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpets in the foyer and halls old and shabby. Woodwork old and nicked up. Some of the furniture in the room very old and not well kept. Sofas and desk chair had lumps and stains.

    Nice breakfast included with the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is close to underground station and you can be in west end and theatre land within 15 minutes. Hotel is comfortable and staff are exceptional with their service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no negatives with our stay at the Ashburn.

    The beds were really comfortable and the room had air-conditioning,we didn't hear noise at all from anyone else. The staff were really friendly and helpfull advising us on the tube and what lines to take. Fresh bottled water was left daily along with a small gift. There was also a fridge and safe in the room. My part er paid extra for the cooked breakfast which was good and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Helpful staff. Good continental breakfast included, with optional hot items available for purchase. Complimentary glass of prosecco in the evening. Excellent location, convenient to Tube, Kensington Gardens, Natural History Museum, Victoria & Albert Museum.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was so hot in the room and the air conditioning didn’t work meaning we had to have the windows wide open all night. The heat and the noise from the road meant we had a couple of bad nights sleep. We asked if they could turn off the heating in the rooms and put on the air con and they just said ‘if you are hot just open the window’. The room was a little tired in places - the carpet in particular could do with replacing. The beds were ok but the pillows were very firm. We asked for a softer pillow and this was sorted no problem but may be an idea to make softer pillows available in the rooms. No iron in room but you can request one - just make sure you check it before you use it as the first iron we had looked like it came out the stone ages and leaked absolutely everywhere. The WiFi wasn’t working when we were there but the man at reception was very friendly and apologetic about this situation. The breakfast room was underground and compact. There was only one lady serving lots of people. She did a fantastic job but was run off her feet trying to serve everyone and clear down tables. This meant the service was slow - It took about 20 minutes to order some eggs. They came quickly once ordered though. The lady who checked us in and out at reception was very cold... not rude... just not warm and welcoming like you would expect.

    Room was a good size for a London hotel and the shower was good. The free welcome drink and the free morning paper were nice touches. It is only a short walk to Gloucester Road tube station which gives you good access to central London,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast included but doesn't mention that it is not a cooked breakfast. Bathroom a bit cramped as well.

    Staff were brilliant from start to finish, the facilities were great and the room was clean and light. Excellent location being so close to the station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is located around 100m from gloucester station which have direct connection to heathrow airport. Heated floor bathroom. A very accommodating staff. We mistakenly left our wallet in the safe when we checking out of the hotel and they emailed us to inform us about it and return it to us when we came back from our trip. Breakfast was good with a lot of food selection. Overall, this is a perfect hotel from the location to the staff who runs it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is Very small

    Close to the underground. Really Nice decor and a great bed. Every day you receive a news paper in the morning and a gift, when the staff has cleaned your rooms. Nice Breakfast and polite staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was compact but nicely appointed with a classically themed fitout and a super comfy bed. The staff are welcoming and accomodating. Fairly priced for the area and just 5 minutes walk from a good tube station with 3 lines, and some good shops.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the decor repairs let the place down which was sad to see, dust in places that was easy to clean but none of this stopped us enjoying the hotel.

    A beautiful character hotel in a super location, wonderful warm welcome, super comfy bed, lovely decor, lovely to find out that our rate included welcome drinks and the most wonderful and tasty continental breakfast in a beautiful light and clean room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were very small and dated. In need of a revamp.

    The staff were friendly and helpful.A free drink in the bar was an aded bonus and the included continental breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower wasn’t great. The room temperature was way too hot. Concierge said he couldn’t help us with booking a taxi. When I asked for directions I was told I would have to ask concierge - not very friendly or helpful.

    Room was clean with a comfortable bed and the location was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Rooms were spotlessly clean and staff were super friendly and attentive. It was my birthday gift from my daughter and in my room staff had left a personalised card and chocolates for me - such a nice touch

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Material headboard smells of peoples dirty heads horrible. Outside temperature in the minus walked into freezing room with no heating on. Was really shocked to see a hygiene rating of 3 on the restaurant door. Would definitely have not booked if I had know this.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were given a basement room and I was not pleased as I booked quite abit in advance and nothing was indictated to me about this. They said there was no way to change this. I feel you should be told this before you book the room so you can decide if thats an issue....then the room was so hot we called 2 times and they said turn off the panel and nothing worked. We had to open the window which we did not like since we were below street level. We also had a flight change and went and asked to leave early 24 hours before we would be leaving and apparently that was not what they thought was 24 hours they wanted from midnight the evening before and therefore we were charged the full rate for the room...since they were full I have to wonder if they booked that room we had paid for.

    The location was very good to get the the Glouster tube and a grocery store close by as well as restaurants and places to walk to. The cleaning staff and the breakfast staff were very polite and and quick to get you coffee and have all the food kept filled and fresh.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Advertised as breakfast included, but did not specify continental only. Full English was over £7 more.

    Very clean, well laid out and comfortable. Staff friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is a very short walk from the tube station with shops and restaurants nearby. As we were celebrating my husbands 40th Birthday the Hotel very generously upgraded our room, which was lovely. The room was spacious, bed was comfortable and breakfast was great, lots of choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was down in the basement next to the storage rooms where staff were banging and clattering about outside our room very early in the morning talking and laughing at the top of their voices. It was a Sunday morning and we had paid a lot of money for one night. Also there must have been the staff office above us as all you could here was a chair on wheels backwards and forwards. Again it was early morning and all we wanted was a lie in with peace and quiet

    Bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel management went out of their way to help us due to unforeseen circumstances before our arrival, when we were not even sure we would be able to come. So helpful we cannot appreciate enough their assistance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs some refurbishment and upgrading. The room didn't feel very clean, the linen and soft furnishings need replacing. Strong smell of air freshener (to disguise other smells?).

    The location is excellent and the hotel is good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C wasn’t working during our stay.

    The Underground station was very close and there was also a grocery store almost next door. Also we had an amazing view. The hotel is off the main road so getting in and out of Ubers was also a breeze.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The various shower levers took a bit of figuring out, but not a big deal.

    Great location, very friendly staff. I was given a room upgrade and a member of staff went to my original room to fetch a complimentary box of chocolates that had been placed there for me for Valentine’s Day and brought it to my new room. Great service!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safety deposit on arrival which wasn’t mentioned on booking.

    Staff were very attentive nothing was too much bother. The bed was super comfy, with complimentary slippers and gown on arrival too. The continental breakfast which was included in cost of room we chose gave a great selection with the added option of upgrading if we wanted too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    £50 deducted from your account which takes 3 to 5 days to be put back if not used. Think this is a cheek.

    Although the room was small it was very well presented and very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really to complain about

    The experince at this hotel was just fantastic! Location is great, just a minutes walk away from the tube station. Nice little arcade with good restaurants and a store located just across the street. We were welcomed with a smile and the room was given hours before the standard check in time which we appreciated as we were able to freshen up before hitting the central shopping streets just a few short tube stops away. The room had a nice view and double Windows ensuring totally acceptable noise levels from the street below. Very nice sizeable bathroom with a fresh looking tub and two showerheads. We really appreciated the personal service we recieved including an anniversary greeting as we celebrated 5 years together with my spouse. There was a complimentary selection of fresh fruit in the room. The Included breakfast was really nice with a good selection of toast, jams, yoghurt, fresh fruit, cheese, ham and a variety of brand cereals. We missed the hotel complimentary glass of sparkling wine whilst at the nearby Royal Albert Hall (10 min walk) at the Circue Du Soleil show. This hotel is at perfect walking distance from the Natural history & V&A museums, as well as Harrods. This is the Place we will be staying at the nex time we visit London.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing to say

    Very helpful staff Very comfortable bedrooms. Even if the whole style of the hotel is a bit old fashioned, it is very clean and pleasant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked to have been able to turn of the AC to make it a little quieter at night, though this did not prevent a good night's sleep

    Boutique hotel with comfortable bed and period décor. Continental breakfast also good standard

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A nice comfortable stay. The hotel has a nice atmosphere. Breakfast included fresh fruit and fresh pastry yoghurt and cereals. We had a room on the top floor which was first too hot but ok after the reception adjusted the AC.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a tad small, carpets in the hallway are a little worn.

    My husband said he slept better here than at home! Bed was comfortable, blackout curtains were amazing and windows had excellent insulation since we didn't hear any street noise. Location to the Gloucester Road Tube station was perfect but also could walk to plenty of sites (Kensington Palace, Natural History Museum, even Harrods). Enjoyed that I could order eggs in the morning (at a small fee).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location. The hotel is something like hotel apartments , the room is tiny but well decorated, nice and comfortable bed and very clean. The breakfast is good , above average. The staff is kind but not so well experienced, I think there is room for improvement.. In conclusion, it is a more than a good choice to stay in London!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Problems with the bedroom heating. Air conditioning in service mode and in constant cooling in January. The hotel provided portable electric heaters to help address the problem.

    Great location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar not opened until 6pm, web site states otherwise. Messaged ahead with details of early morning arrival and received confirmation. When we did arrive the staff looked at each other and gave us a frown, followed by "check in is not until 3". We just wanted to leave our bags as per the prior arrangement. When we did check in we were told we had an upgrade. It was the room we booked. Had to leave at 730am before breakfast room opened and were told nothing they could do about that. We were encouraged to take a pastry the day before. Other properties offer to accomodate early departures. When meats ran out on the breakfast buffet we had to wait 25mins after asking for renewal.

    Easy to access from train station. Lovely rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A list of nearby museums, their opening hours, and how to get there on foot.

    The staff were very responsive to our needs, adjusting the room temperature, providing extra soap, extra coffee (which was made in French presses), keeping the buffet filled with fruit, milk, cold cuts, jams, and so forth.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The booking had a free glass of prosecco but I didn’t want the prosecco so asked for a cocktail instead.. I was told that wasn’t possible. I was prepared to pay the difference. So I settled to buy a cocktail but the bartender could t make it as he didn’t have one of the ingredients... not good enough I’m afraid!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is very basic. Toast, yoghurt, mini croissants, jam, ham, cheese etc. You've to pay extra if you want an egg or other additional stuff.

    Cosy room, great bed and beautiful building. The location is fab, subway is just around the corner.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room and outdated decor and furniture. Toilet was not functioning properly in my room. Breakfast is below average

    Location is great and the staff are friendly and helpful. Clean room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast could be improved a little.

    Really good place for Christmas Holydays, the room was clean and the staff was friendly. Good position near the subway and many restaurants. London is absolutely a wonderful city you must visit!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath plug in room wouldn't open, so all shower water remained in bath (room 307). Staff at breakfast less friendly than reception and bar.

    Good large bedroom, very friendly staff on reception and in the bar. Relaxed breakfast. Good location close to Gloucester Road tube station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Very comfy bed and room was lovely and warm. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast although continental there was plenty of choice and everything was fresh and plentiful.Very close to tube station and plenty of restaurants and pubs nearby for evening meals

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was complicated to operate and had a clear glass window along side with just a shower curtain for privacy it made for a very nervous shower as we were on the ground floor! There is also a £50 deposit required on top of pre-authorisation of the room cost which I felt was unnecessary as they already have your card details and made me wonder what sort of guests they are used to. There were coffee making facilities tucked away in a cupboard but the shelf was too high to be functional unless you are tall. A spacious, comfortable room overall but I felt it was over priced.

    Large room, comfy bed and clean. Plentiful and varied continental breakfast. A nice lounge area with comfy sofas and a bar plus a free glass of Prosecco at 7pm for guests. Just 100 yards away from Gloucester Road tube.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was not quite as advertised with the distance to our venue for the evening further than we were expecting.

    Hotel was clean and tidy with good facilities. Bed was comfortable and the room well presented. Appreciated the added touch of a glass of prosecco, fruit basket in the room and it might sound strange but flannels in the bathroom. Breakfast in the morning was a reasonable spread of continental fayre.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having stayed at this hotel a few years ago I was very much looking forward to returning - but how things change. Dis-engaged staff (never did anyone offer to help me or my wife with our bags!), the worst "homemade" pizza we've ever had (don't order one!), ripped bed clothes and a TV not working in the room throughout our stay (despite a promise it'd be fixed). A huge shame as this WAS a truly great stay some time ago, but certainly this is not the case today in our experience.

    The location is obviously still great, but everything else has certainly changed for the worse.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The foyer could do with an entrance mat the floor is slippy when wet

    The room was large with good facilities, the bar is small but very nice, all the staff were very helpful, the breakfast was good and catered for Celiac's

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Property can still do better on cleanliness (of beds and linen mainly) part.

    Overall, we enjoyed our stay. Most of the staff were friendly and very helpful, room was reasonably sized, location was excellent and breakfast was superb too. A small, cozy (and basic) bar area was handy during cold and wet evenings. :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress on the beds were quite hard.

    Nice simple bar with complimentary Prosecco and good happy hour prices. Simple but OK continentakl breakfast. Location so close to the Tube and interesting sights in the area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    emmm, the type of breakfast served is not very rich, but still nice.

    extremely huge room! wonderful location---about 3mins walking to the nearest tube station. relatively low price. generally speaking, it is a nice place to stay for one or more nights!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service is available although there is a tray service fee. The bed was quite firm.

    Breakfast is a plentiful continental although a cooked breakast is available for a extra cost. Very close proximity to the underground and numerous shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was at hotel on coldest night of the year and my room was VERY cold. I turned up heating to the highest but room was still cold in the morning. Fortunately the duvet was excellent so my sleep was not affected.

    Room was small but clean with comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent with fresh food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hairdryer was not very effective; took a long time for hair to dry .

    The Victorian ambience was very nice and cosy. Staff were helpful and friendly and made us feel very welcome. This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. If there are good promotion rates in future, we definitely will come here again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was far too hot and although there was air conditioning in the room it could be controlled from the room. The stand alone light kept switching off and on. I found the controls on the bath and shower very difficult to understand and the plug in the sink got stuck in. The breakfast room was very small and people were packed in like sardines.

    Very conveniently placed hotel for what we wanted. Pillows on bed very comfortable. Very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only down side is the room size

    Nice hotel in a good location and very close to the tube with 3 lines. The breakfast is much more then Continental, and for a small fee you can order supplements.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath and shower system in the bathroom was so complicated to use without instructions . I tried running a bath which took approx 1 hour and ended up supplementing the water with the 2 shower heads

    The continental breakfast was absolutely first rate

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room felt old with the pain of the furniture wearing out. I was surprised because from the photos on booking.com, the hotel looked like a grand hotel. But the hotel front desk was just like a manager's desk, with one person manning it. I was expecting a bigger check in counter space. It personally did not affect my stay in anyway but it was a little surprising. Wonder how they would handle if a big group of tourists come streaming in together. Booked a Double Queen Room but it did not come with a writing desk which made it diffcult for me to do work especially when I am travelling for business. Requested for a room with desk, but I was told that I needed to upgrade to the the King room by paying additional 30 pounds.

    The staff were very attentive and offered to bring me breakfast to my room when I could not have it due to an early morning flight. I was offered a welcome drink from 7 to 9pm, but I was out so I was not able to enjoy the drink. The location was near (3mins walk) to Gluocester Road underground station. Kensington shopping area is about 20mins walk away (or 1 stop away by the tube).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the iron. All hotels should invest in having top notch irons. It's essential for anyone traveling on business to be able to iron quickly and efficiently, and the iron at this hotel was very mediocre.

    I really enjoyed the location, and it being a small hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was feeble, had to use the hand held shower head

    The decor was lovely, the bed was super comfy except we booked a queen size and got a super king??

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room is a bit cramped but nicely decorated.

    Excellent location about 5 minutes walk from Gloucester road tube, restaurants and great pub, the Hereford arms. Nice quiet hotel with very comfortable room. The continental breakfast was a very good standard, lovely yogurt, crusty rolls and good coffee. Nohad on reception was very helpful and checked me in for my flight. She went above and beyond!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom and dining room seemed very cold. Waitress in dining room was not very attentive.

    Reception staff very friendly, warm and welcoming. Room was fine, though slightly tired looking. Hotel conveniently situated within walking distance of museums and Albert Hall. Being close to Gloucester Road Station, shops and banks was another plus.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At around £160 a night including continental breakfast it's a shame they charge £2.95 for hot chocolate or a latte with breakfast. Breakfast good otherwise with very friendly and helpful waitress.

    Friendly staff. Comfortable clean rooms. Quiet. Close to Gloucester Road tube station and within easy walking distance of the museums, Albert Hall and Hyde Park. We didn't have the complimentary prosseco.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Great location near the museums and Royal Albert Hall. Close to Gloucester Road Tube Station. Lots of eateries close by. The staff were excellent, very friendly and efficient. Spotlessly clean throughout, comfortable bed, pleasant room. Very good continental breakfast though the breakfast room was a little small.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little tired looking in areas of our room and when we went to make a cup of tea one morning in our room the milk in the little milk cups had gone off

    Great location, warm, clean and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff treated us like second rate citizens. Room was shabby, wall paper peeling off, marks on walls. Breakfast was ok, except the staff didn’t seem to top up items such as bread and orange juice.

    Location was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and immaculately clean. Small lounge with bar and cosy breakfast room. Continental breakfast included fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, meats and pastries.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One day they forgot to make our room. We were outside all day, we’ve got the hotel ar 11 ay night and the room was not made. We called the concierge, he didn’t help us anyway. We asked for clean tiwers at least a de he said the were out of towers. I think it’s vert dissapointing. Going out all day Long and fied yout untidy room it’upsetting. They had all day to do it. My husband asked for explanation and they didn’t hace one. They even tried to blame us for that. The concierge was really rude with my husband too. They need more plugs in the room and a plug in the bathroom to use de haír dryer.

    The breakfast was quite good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the receptionist said i have not paid and i paid mths before the visit, thus calling me a liar.the room was too hot and uncomfortable, the towels dirty, the robes had an awfull smell to them. visited this place before and was very disappointed this time round.the tv had wires hanging down and covered with insulation tape plus tv needs updating.in fact the more i write the more i get upset so will leave it at that.

    the girl who served tea and coffee was very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is tired and the carpets are brown in colour which make you put on flip flops to walk around , the walls need painting.

    Great location , close to subway, restaurants & shopping. Breakfast -continental very good, staff obliging and ray of sunshine in the morning. Night manager informative and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Ashburn Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: