Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Ashburton House - B&B This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

43 Valley Rd, Scarborough, YO11 2LX, United Kingdom

#38 of 86 B&Bs and inns in Scarborough

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 437 B&B reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    10
    Excellent thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very easy xheck in we had the family room a huge 4 poster bed which was really comfy probably one of the moat comfortable neds we have stayed in &we have sampled a lot of hotel beds room was cleaned every day & milk tea&coffee was filled every day witj a pack of biscuits ,location was great ten min walk straight down the road to beach,room was lovely modern bathroom&shower a setee aswell ,plenty of space on wadrobe

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was excellent value. Centrally located. The breakfast was brilliant such a varied menu. Room had all the amenities needed & extremely clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    7.5
    Friendly and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The coffee at breakfast wasn't very hot, and went cold quickly. I would have liked a full length mirror in the bedroom.

    The breakfast was very good. Good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    10
    Excellent. Very happy to be returning in August.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great value for money - everything spot on - stayed in single room, bed was a large single. The room was plenty big enough for me, great shower, breakfast was excellent and the hosts were really friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable and we will stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn't anything we didn't like

    The owners made us feel very welcome, the guest house is very well maintained and clean. Good choices for breakfast and the cooked breakfasts were perfect! We would definitely visit again and would recommend Ashburton house to anyone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    7.1
    Fun packed day of adventure
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    noisey people above us in the room sound like they was doing DIY!

    didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that but did see the breakfast area was nice and clean. The room we stayed in was clean and tidy. Very impressed about the lay out of the family room that there was another room adjoining for the kids and they had their own tv and games console, the adults can have a bit of me time!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    8.3
    walking distance of town.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the tea and coffee need to be hotter and know fan in shower room so open window to let steam out.

    the room was nice and clean . big window in room as it was on second floor .large kingsize bed.breakfast good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    8.8
    It was easy acess few stairs the couple were very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was easy acess few stairs the couple were very friendly an nothing was any trouble . Breakfast was fresh tasty an plenty of it great value for money , if went to scarbourgh agin would only stay there 10 min from town an a lovely walk too .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    10
    A convenient, welcoming, comfortable and happy stay - thank you Steve and Maureen.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A very happy establishment, just the right balance between friendliness and professionalism. Super-comfy bed, plenty of cupboard space (with plenty of good quality coat hangers) excellent en-suite bathroom and fabulous breakfast menu - superb value for the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    10
    Restful sleep and amazing breakfast-just perfect for a days' sightseeing
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For me, the en-suite was too compact, but I stayed for 4 nights and I managed.

    It was clean, the owners were very welcoming and could not do enough for me. The room and bed were very comfortable. The breakfast was amazing. I will be staying again and am looking forward to that. The location for me was perfect as it was very close to my family which was the purpose of my visit to Scarborough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    10
    first class from start to finish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    we only had board not breakfast as we dont do breakfasts,you can not fault the hosts,good to be able to park your car off the road,also it is very quite and peaceful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    9.2
    Thoroughly Recommended........ We'll be back.......hopefully 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.......parking is a squeeze, but no fault of propriaters!

    The food was excellent .......better than the reviews!! All tastefully cooked and presented and local jams and sauces were a lovely touch. Best breakfasts we have had in a very long time 😀 Excellent propriaters who tick all the boxes....thank you!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable, peaceful and relaxing. Short distance to all attractions. Food was great too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was a bit on the small side.

    The location was close to all the local attractions. The breakfast selection was decent which included tea, juice, cereal, full breakfast, kippers, etc. The rooms were homely and comfortable. The staff were friendly and polite. Excellent. We would come again. Thanks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    8.8
    Scarborough stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike but the shower wasn't very powerful and no full size mirror in room - minor things.

    Great location and great value for money. The breakfast was fresh and delicious, filled me up for the day. The room was perfect for one night, would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    10
    Best value b+b in Scarborough!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows could av been softer but only my preference.

    A really great value b+b with a cracking breakfast, the b+b is in a great position with only a 10 minute walk into town and the host was kind and welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    9.6
    The stay was very nice, the room was lovely, very clean and warm with plenty of space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a very small niggle, we were opposite the breakfast room so could here some noise early in the morning with people walking up and down the stairs and doors opening and closing. The car park at the front was ok, a little tight at times if there were a few cars parked but there were no issues.

    The room we stayed in was nice and cosy, it was very clean and had plenty of room. The bed was large and very comfy. The bathroom was very clean with a very nice shower. The breakfast was great and plentiful. The owners were very nice and helpful and there if needed, you just had to ring a bell in the reception and they would be there to help if needed. The location was good about 10 minutes walk down the hill to the sea front which was fine for us. All in all a very nice stay and I would go back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    10
    Couldn't improve on anything and for £95 for 3 nights, a total bargain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved everything about the place. The only thing we didn't try was breakfast as our friends were in separate accommodation, so we met them for breakfast in town. Would definitely recommend and would definitely go back again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    10
    Thankyou once again! We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can’t think of anything!

    Made to feel very welcome from the minute we arrived. The room was exceptional - spotless, very well equipped, spacious and above all very comfortable. The breakfasts were fabulous, and didn’t hesitate to adapt the menu for my 8 year old twins!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    8.3
    Comfy and home from home feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much option for cereal as was nearly all gone at 8:30 needed to top it up and fruit running low, child price for breakfast should be lower than adults as dont eat all

    Was close to beach and family friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2018

    8.3
    Happy to book and stay again
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked a king size room which was lovely however the room is on a slight slant so the bed wasn’t as comfortable as it would have been if the floor was straigh. Just my view as the bed itself was comfy enough.

    Lovely clean hotel, good area, friendly owners

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    9.6
    Best hotel I’ve stayed at in Scarborough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast

    We stay about 6 times a year In Scarborough and this was the best hotel we have stayed at- breakfast was brilliant The lady was lovely The room was very clean and warm The bathroom was a good size too The only down side was the shower wasn’t brill

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room could have been cleaner, under shower tray soap dish needed a good clean, window sills and doors had stains on them.

    Lovely welcome, great hosts. Good breakfast. Great location for Scarborough

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    8.3
    was exactly what we wanted for our short break away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the finish on the rooms is a little untidy, ie sealing around the sink etc.

    well received by the host, accommodation was comfortable if a little snug. Facilities were of a good standard and breakfast was delicious very clean rooms and communal areas with convenient parking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    10
    An excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived early, room was ready and we were made very welcome. Room was very clean and it was warm. Everything worked fine TV, shower etc. Breakfast was exceptional. All staff very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    9.6
    Nice and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit far from the beach, but the price is reasonable, so fair enough.

    Excellent. The most satisfying part is the toilet, new and clean. Great heating and bed, quiet, 10 mints walk to rail station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2017

    10
    we will definately stay there again,for longer next time.cannot praise enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to fault.

    The room was spotless clean,ideally situated.The choice of breakfast plentyful,we chose full english which was fabulous.We will definately stay again. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    3.3
    not my or my mrs cup of tea people in the next room smoking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Size Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not my or my mrs cup of tea people in the next room smoking weed tryed to ring owner but no ancer booked a 4 poster bed on ground floor but ended up on the floor and no lift or stairs aid as can not get up the stairs very well and shower was two small would like a refund or a part refund as it was not up to standers

    not my or my mrs cup of tea people in the next room smoking weed tryed to ring owner but no ancer booked a 4 poster bed on ground floor but ended up on the floor and no lift or stairs aid as can not get up the stairs very well and shower was two small would like a refund or a part refund as it was not up to standers

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    10
    Comfy relaxing and easy access to Scarborough front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The whole stay was lovely,comfy clean tidy spacious room ,friendly owners,the breakfast was delicious with lots of choices besides the 'Full House'.It was also only a short walk into town or the seafront.we will visit again and recommend it to others.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    10
    This was a great guest house and i would most deffinatly stop there again 5stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owners were nice and friendly. It was very quiet even tho there were children staying also. The rooms were nice and everything was clean we had tea & coffee supplied and even had extras at no additional cost really good place to stay would reccomend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2017

    10
    Central, great hosts and marvellous breakfast - would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing!

    Immaculately clean, lovely bathroom with very long bath (excellent for a soak after a long day hiking!) Extremely friendly hosts and fantastic breakfast - perfection!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2017

    10
    Clean and friendly b&b would definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Nice friendly welcome and fantastic breakfast both mornings nothing too much trouble, plenty of choices. Rooms nice and clean with plenty of tea bags, coffee etc to make your own drinks

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    7.1
    very warm room during the cold weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room we stayed in was waiting for a professional to come in to rehang the door to the room which meant we struggled to shut and lock the door during our stay. Housekeeping forgot to lock our door one day and we had left a few bits in the room we wouldn't normally leave in there. Shower could do with being slightly more powerful.

    very warm room during the cold weekend friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    10
    The bed was proper comfy nice warm room and bigger than we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was proper comfy nice warm room and bigger than we expected 👍🏻 Nothing was too much trouble all round excellent I would certainly stay there again if we're in the area

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    10
    A lovely B&B very friendly room nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A lovely B&B very friendly room nice and clean. Breakfast was lovely a few things to choose was only 5pound. A 10-15 minuet walk to town. Would definitely recommend

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel, very nice owners, would recomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owners were very helpful, I accidently booked for just 2 people instead of 2 and 2 kids but the owners were very nice and moved us to a family room for only £10 extra

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    could be a choice of duvet (winter weight or summer weight.

    Warm welcome, great breakfast (plenty of choice). exceptionally comfy bed but unfortunately to warm for us to sleep in - slept on top of bed. very tastefully decorated rooms. this was our second stay at Ashburton House and will be back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    4.6
    Comfortable room could have been cleaner for price we paid. Breakfast good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paid more through booking.com. The hotel was not like photo's more rundown.Very dusty in room hairs on carpet not clean under bed, mould around the shower, stains on net curtains.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    10
    Lovely Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel is great, I would re book without any concerns to go back here. Lovely staff, great room, comfortable bed, great facilities, free wi-fi, good shower & lovely breakfast. We had to cut short our stay due to a family emergency which was unfortunate but could not have been helped & was able to check out very quickly without fuss.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable B&B
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very cramped, though decently equipped, with a good shower. The entrance area is nondescript and dull, but that's of no importance: the breakfast room, for instance, was bright and airy.

    The bedroom, though one of those slopey-ceilinged top floor jobs, was surprisingly spacious and comfortable. Breakfast offered an excellent choice: the kippers were good and the full English looked impressive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    9.2
    Alue for money establishment convenient for the sea front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Duvet rather too thick for warm weather, a summer version would have been preferred.

    Helpful check in arrangements. Delicious breakfast, well worth the £5 extra.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    10
    The room was very comfortable and well presented.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very comfortable and well presented. Breakfast was amazing and the service that came with it was fantastic. We would love to return and stay again. Thank you

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2017

    9.6
    handy for the cricket
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    excellent breakfast,good to have a variety of options when staying more than 1 night. room very clean and tidy.comfortable bed. convenient location for cricket ground and town centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2017

    7.9
    Nice people and good place. Would recommend but need to sort out plumbing or explain problems that
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Size Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only problem was a faulty WC that with a concerted and prolonged "wiggle" would flush but promised plumber never appeared. No explanation or excuse for non-appearance given.

    Excellent breakfasts! Really first class and young son of owners deserving of praise in breakfast room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    9.6
    Overall it was a very pleasant stay and I would consider rebooking in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a little dark as the ensuite blocked some of the natural light

    The breakfast was fantastic, the service was very good and the proprietor and staff were all very helpful and eager to please.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    10
    First Class!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We should have mentioned that stairs would be a problem for me when booking. This was our fault. If we revisit, which is likely we would ask for an alternative room at a lower level.

    Very spacious room, modern and clean. Very good choice at breakfast. Freshly cooked and delicious. The couple running the accomodation were very friendly, welcoming and efficient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    8.3
    Would stay again and recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tap in bathroom was temperamental. Room was hot and we were unable to open any windows in the bedroom due to it being on ground floor. It was a hot July day however.

    The room was very spacious and well decorated. Nice big bed. Good value for money and friendly hosts.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2017

    10
    Very friendly owners, nothing is too much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Very friendly owners, nothing is too much trouble. Lovely full breakfast ,plenty of choice on menu . Room very good ,comfy bed .quite area parking onsite .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    8.8
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady who greeted us when we arrived was lovely. So polite and welcoming. We saw her the next morning at breakfast and again she was lovely. The breakfast was delicious. I would definitely go back there and recommend to everyone.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2017

    10
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They did say they do not except children under 2yrs, I did not see this until I booked as it is in the small print. I think this should be made more clearly. When I called to say my granddaughter was 1yr they hesitated before they said bring her along. But I do have to say the lady of the property was wonderful with her.

    Had a good selection of hot and cold food. Excellent full English breakfast. The room and bathroom were very clean. Lots of room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable coastal break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was overly warm even though we had no heating on.

    The breakfast was very tasty and well presented. The room was clean and the staff were helpful and attentive without being overbearing and inquisitive.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    10
    good location, excellent service, the breakfasts were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    noise from other rooms, particularly one late arrival on sunday night, which i recognise as the responsibility of the people and not the owners of the B&B.

    good location, excellent service, the breakfasts were excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    10
    Perfect B @ B which met our every need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints whatsoever.

    We had a fabulous 3 night stay. The location was perfect and our twin room met all our expectation and more. Clean, comfortable, lovely shower, tea and coffee facilities, hairdryer. Friendly staff and the most delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    8.3
    Great little B&B. Perfect walking distance to the town and sea front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not really the fault of the B&B but the tenant in the room next to mine woke me and my partner up at 2:30 am by taking a shower. Other than that it is very difficult to find fault with.

    The staff were very polite and accommodating. Breakfast was great too, too many options on the breakfast menu made me want to stay longer so I could try all of it🙂

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2017

    10
    Comfortable Bed and Great Breakfast - Exceptional value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was on the small side however everything was fully functioning and clean. This really isn't a downside though and I would recommend this place to anyone visiting the area.

    Nice big room with a comfortable four poster bed. The breakfast was of exceptional quality and I have already booked my next stay in 5 months time when I am next visiting the area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2017

    8.3
    Very nice. Didn't love it, certainly didn't hate it - just nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn't much to not like apart from the tea at breakfast (proudly listed as proper Yorkshire tea - I'm from Yorkshire and can promise you we don't drink our team that weak) and the slightly poor soundproofing between rooms - but in an older building there isn't much you can do about it, I suppose. I don't like having to pay a charge to pay by debit card, so to avoid paying this I withdrew cash in town and paid that way. It's only a small charge but I find it galling, it feels like a hidden charge as so few people carry much cash or pay for things like hotels in cash anymore.

    Nice B&B in a fairly quiet area but still within walking distance of the town (if you don't mind hills, which you presumably don't if you've picked Scarborough for a holiday!). Friendly welcome. The breakfast was good with lots of choices apart from for vegetarians - the "vegetarian breakfast" was the normal breakfast minus the meat with no substitutes - and included salmon and scrambled egg. Portions were quite small though - maybe if we ate meat there might have been more. Coffee was OK but the tea was truly dreadful and my tea loving husband couldn't face any the second day so had coffee instead. Nice decor in the room. Good sized bedroom. Free parking. WiFi free and reliable. The bathroom was small but pleasantly decorated, clean, and serviceable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2017

    8.8
    Convenient for Oliver's Mount
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed a little soft for my preference.

    Smooth service, good location for all Scarborough has to offer, handy off-road parking and tasty breakfast. Room clean and smartly decorated.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2017

    10
    Lovely short stay in Scarborough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing and quite a small thing was the skins on the sausages was hard to pierce, maybe they were real skin? Anyway they were nice sausages. Such a small moan ;-)

    Friendliness of host and staff. Selection of breakfasts. The bacon sandwich was great and full English with nice eggs and bacon superb.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2017

    10
    Lovely location walking distance to town and sea front, gorgeous comfy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was a little cold on arriving but electric fire soon boosted the heat. no space to put toiletries in bathroom, some kind of shelving unit would have been good.

    massive room with very comfy four poster bed and cosy lounge area with very comfy sofa, tv and dvd player!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    9.6
    Nice friendly B&B and only a short walk to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owner was very friendly, the room was clean with a soft comfortable bed. Breakfast was good and served promptly and with a smile from the young lady on duty . The town and beach were just a ten minute walk away. On site parking was good and was a must for us as we traveled on a Vespa and didn't want to leave it roadside. So all in all a nice three night stay and I would certainly recommend Ashburton house.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    10
    Excellent stay in a lovely B& B
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was very squishy which made it a little difficult to get comfortable at first.

    Breakfast was satisfying and heartening for a full day of walking ahead! Great location close to the station and seafront. Really comfortable room - I enjoyed my stay immensely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    7.5
    Perfect location and friendly owners/staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A better option of pillows instead of having to ask for a softer one which was still quite hard. Rooms were extremely warm even in April with the radiator off and window wide open.

    Rooms comfortable enough albeit could do with a refurb in places. Service from the breakfast staff was amazing as was the breakfast itself...always piping hot. As much tea, coffee & toast as you like.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2017

    10
    Well worth staying here - don't miss it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The B & B was easy to find with on-site parking and within easy walking distance of the seafront, shops, pubs and restaurants. Lovely room (with a four poster bed!) and fabulous, tasty and hot breakfast. Lovely hosts - very friendly - nothing seemed too much trouble. Will be back.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2017

    9.6
    Surprised, very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lifts, so if you struggle getting around, ask for first floor. No net curtains.

    Huge bed, room modern fittings in a classic building. Good breakfast, well cooked.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2017

    9.6
    Warm welcome, good sized family room which was spotless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Warm welcome, good sized family room which was spotless. Very quiet location. Lovely breakfast with parking and WiFi included. We shall be making a return visit soon.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2017

    10
    Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great breakfast Really comfortable king sized bed Spotlessly clean Lovley and warm A fantastic little hotel with the personal touches, we will be back

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2017

    10
    Less than 10 minute easy walk to the coast and town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower was a bit too small for my partner (spends a lot of time in the gym so quite broad). The hdmi port didn't work in the tv (was going to use Amazon fire stick) but didn't really effect us massively. I thought breakfast options were good (typical full English girl) but partner would prefer more options.

    Less than 10 minute easy walk to the coast and town centre. Rooms were spacious with comfortable beds. We were on the top floor (2nd) at the rear of the property so room was quiet. Room had blackout curtains which I was particularly happy about. Had all amenities we needed (tea, cofffee hot chocolate, hair drier, good wifi in room). Breakfast was good quality

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2017

    9.2
    Rooms were good, owners friendly and responsive, good value...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were good, owners friendly and responsive, good value for money compared to some alternatives, and there's a pub serving food two doors down the road.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed uncomfortable. Bedding seemed old. Would have liked option of poached eggs.

    Breakfast was very good. Heating was good and easy to alter. Off street parking was a bonus

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2017

    8.8
    Nice Place to stay overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only problem but tiny, if I have to say, is the location would be a little distance from train and bus station and Morrison.

    Cozy. The property is next to the loch, you can enjoy your breakfast and the Loch view.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2017

    7.5
    Immaculate Linen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lacks the personal touch and sense of pride. Very much a business. No butter at breakfast. No poached egg.

    Comfy bed with so,so very clean linen. Warm and cosy room. Good Wifi.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good options available for breakfast - the smoked salmon and scrambled egg was excellent. Accommodation was clean, comfortable and efficiently organised.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2017

    9.6
    A great two night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is just nothing not to like about this b&b.

    The room was large with a four poster bed and a two seater sofa, the room very clean. The ensuite bathroom was functional with shower,wc and wash basin. The breakfast was second to none, in fact i would go as far as to say it was better than some 4/5 star hotels that we have stayed in.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2017

    8.8
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A sheet would be good I am to hot under a quilt too cold if I throw it off the joys of menopause!! Light not working over sink forgot to mention when checking out

    Excellent breakfast friendly service quickly replenished tea and coffee so it was hot, choice of white whole meal toast freshly made. Clean comfortable room Discovered excellent real ale pub next door but one walking distance to spa seafront and town centre all this and parking definitely plan to return

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2017

    9.6
    Best breakfast ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a small amount of mould around the window in the room. I didn't notice until we were leaving.

    The room was lovely, the bed was comfy and the bathroom was ample for what we needed. Not far from town and all on the flat too. The breakfast was amazing! We would stay again :)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2017

    10
    Location handy for the town centre and beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower room was a little bit small.

    Very nice welcome from the owner. Choice of breakfast was good. Bedroom was the ground floor four poster suite with a lovely comfy bed and great seating area in the room with TV, feature fire and coffee table.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Ashburton House - B&B Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: