Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ashley Guest House 4 stars

76 Scott Street, Off Scarcroft Road, York, YO23 1NS, United Kingdom

#7 of 84 B&Bs and Inns in York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 217 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Excellent stay, would definitely recommend
    • Couple
    • Double Room - The Tub (Room 4)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was massive and so comfy, excellent location for tourists. Delicious breakfast every morning, so many to choose from. Very convenient for parking also. Phil (the host) was just the best.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic Stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Digs (Room 6)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location - 20 Min walk from centre Breakfast - Loads of choice, Excellent quality Staff - Friendly, helpful and polite Room - Clean, everything that needed was there. Price - Good value for money

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Great location to stay when visiting York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Book (Room 5)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a bigger room but our one being the smallest was the only one left when booking.

    The breakfast was very nice. Loved the extra snacks such as rocky roads, cookies that Phil made and left in the breakfast room for you during the day.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    Ashley guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Book (Room 5)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the book room the curtain didn't fully stop the light coming in through the window.

    Very friendly staff who were willing to help with ideas for places to visit and suggestions of walks and places to go for food. Very clean and comfortable rooms Good options for breakfast including vegetarian options. Lovely coffee and homemade cakes available when coming back from exploring the city. All in all a great place to stay and I will be recommending it to others that I know.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Excellent location and comfort for our short break to celebrte our ruby wedding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Digs (Room 6)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent welcome. Host helpful and knowledgeable. Superb breakfast . Very clean and comfortable. Ideal location just a short 15 minute walk to the centre of York. Would certainly stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - The Tub (Room 4)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very warm welcome, the room was great with nice bath tub, quiet place which was big bonus for us as a couple, brilliant breakfast, we can only recommand this B&B. Very very happy with our stay, thank you very much Phil

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    Great breakfast good choice and happy to help with dietry...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - The Tub (Room 4)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault it really

    Great breakfast good choice and happy to help with dietry requirements if needed ... and lovely cakes for you to help yourself to the flapjack was amazing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful accommodation and a warm welcome, easy parking, great location and a really relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Digs (Room 6)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't fault it

    Warm welcome. Lovely room. Great location with excellent restaurants and cafes round the corner. Parking straight outside the property and an easy walk into York.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Had a wonderful stay at the Ashley House
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Plum (Room 1)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we did not like.

    The bed was so comfy, we were made to feel very welcome and the food was amazing. They went the extra mile and provided us with information about the centre and where to visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Friendly and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Digs (Room 6)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, friendly B&B, the host was so helpful giving us great ideas on where to visit , places to eat etc..stayed in room 6, The Digs, wonderful room very spacious, lovely large bathroom with a huge bath ...the added little touches of homemade flapjack were wonderful Definitely stay here again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    Good location, lovely white bedding and towels, great staff and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It met with our expectations.

    Lovely crisp white bedding. Fluffy white bath towels. Phil the owner and all the staff made us feel very welcome and were nice and friendly. Very good breakfasts. Good location and parking permit meant the car could be parked outside.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    perfect stay in York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Plum (Room 1)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    an excellent stay all round. We stayed in the plum room which has an en suite bathroom. The room is lovely, breakfast fantastic and our host couldn't be more helpful. 10/10.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Duck (Room 2)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely clean room very accommodating and such a good breakfast menu and we had the best of welcomes .. it is a stones throw from the city centre and it is a lovely walk, when we arrived we were given a map and told the best way to get into town and the best places to visit ..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Brilliant Guest House In Superb Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Book (Room 5)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location in a very popular side of the city. Bishy Road is lovely with quaint shops and coffee houses. 10 mins walk got you to the wall and just over the bridge was the castle tower. The room we were in (book room) even though small, was comfortable and clean. The welcome when we arrived was very warm and helpful. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of variety. Just what you want to start the day

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Friendly clean walking distance of town
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Book (Room 5)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like to stay on 2nd floor as we were in the attic ok for one night but staying longer would appreciate larger room

    Welcome, fab breakfast made to order and served with a smile. Cleanliness.Friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    COMFORTABLE.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NOTHING

    GOOD CONVENIENT POSITION TO WALK TO CENTRE OF YORK.NEAR RAILWAY STATION TO VISIT HARROGATE.SAFE STREET PARKING.THE ACCOMODATION WAS VERY ACCEPTABLE AND THE BREAKFAST. SPOT ON.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay if your visiting York. Handy for the centre. Quiet clean easy going guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Book (Room 5)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all was spot on

    Close to centre of York. Quiet area Phil the owner was very friendly and informative about York room and ensuite very clean. Breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful time, wonderful accomodation. Will be back in December!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Book (Room 5)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed hard couldn't sleep properly but ok.

    The breakfast was wonderful, little extras waiting for you when returning from a day out like home cooked cookies and flap jacks. Excellent host, very informative willing to help. Location short distance from town with plenty of shops to keep you entertained on the way. Will be back in December!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    A home away from home except that someone else cooked and cleaned!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Digs (Room 6)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no where to store luggage or put things

    Excellent communications from the start. A lovely warm and helpful welcome on arrival, nothing was too much trouble 😊 Excellent breakfast and flapjacks 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Highly recommended B and B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - The Tub (Room 4)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Phil the owner was very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were delicious. The room was homely with a comfortable bed. The location was excellent - we parked our car outside the guest house and walked to all the places we wanted to visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Great little place! Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Book (Room 5)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely breakfast. Staff very friendly and welcoming! Great location about 10 min walk to York centre. We even got an Easter egg left in our room which I thought was a lovely touch!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Perfection.
    • Couple
    • Double Room - The Tub (Room 4)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The hosting at Ashley Guest House was outstanding. I have never felt more welcome and will be recommending this place to everyone. Thank you for a great short stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Book (Room 5)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent B&B....Phil was an excellent host. Loved the breakfast which Mandy prepared....local sausages and bacon delicious. Just 15/20 minute walk from train station and York centre Would highly recommend

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Most enjoyable and relaxing weekend which was what we were looking for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Book (Room 5)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't really change but off street parking was by permits only, like most of York. Permits were provided without question but you couldn't guarantee to get a space nearby when you came back. No problem if using guest house as a base and walking into York or to the station nearby

    Breakfast is just the best I have ever had. Freshly cooked, everything on offer nothing was too much to do for us

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Duck (Room 2)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm and cosy, excellent breakfast very convenient for walking into the city 10 minutes. Very close to the Barbican theatre 15 mins walking .Easy to find from railway station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Absolutely lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Duck (Room 2)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booking.com system of payment. I paid in full up front using my credit card. I was then astonished to be asked to pay again by the proprietor. So far the Booking.com charge has not been deducted. Why have this ridiculous and scary system of double payment?

    Charming welcoming people who treated us if we were long lost friends.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Digs (Room 6)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to nit pick the bed was a little soft as I am used to a hard mattress but that's it

    Everything about the Ashley guest house was awesome no other word for it

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.0
    A pleasant stay in a guest house that I would not hesitate to recommend
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Digs (Room 6)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all

    The homemade biscuits and chocolates available for guests were a nice touch. There was also a good selection of magazines to choose from.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful and Inviting 💕
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Plum (Room 1)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly, I can’t think of any major flaws! The only issue was the thin ceilings and floors so we could hear our neighbours coming home (was generally pretty quiet anyway) but that can’t be helped by anyone 😊

    Breakfast was amazing, owner was beyond helpful (even showed us the best way to get around the city, which we were so greatful for), and just the little things like making sure the room was warm when we arrived and having little biscuits available 💕

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.0
    Dissapointed for my birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Digs (Room 6)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never told would be in a basement No light no fresh air unable to open windows Fan noisey macerater noisey Damp on walls paint flaking off in bathroom Damp in bedroom on walls felt like we where in a prison Breakfast good but had to ask for everything no sauces left out

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Absolutely perfect 5* rating from me
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Duck (Room 2)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent b&b very friendly staff that went the extra mile to make sure our stay was one to remember. Really nice little touches like: fresh baked biscuits, Santa sack in room with complimentary goodies in. Also very helpful of where to go.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.6
    Really enjoyed will return to Ashley Guest House again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Digs (Room 6)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a little strange that there were no wardrobe space but didn't really matter as only there for 2 days.

    The hospitality was fantastic, it was my husbands birthday and when we returned to the room there was a couple of nice beers and a card. Phil the owner bakes every day and there is something there for you to try. Very nice too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, very quiet, 10 min walk into City, very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Plum (Room 1)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wardrobe space was quite restricted in the Plum room and shower toilet area despite having a radiator was very cold.

    Greetings by the owners, home made cookies, early check-in which gave us additional time in the City.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Warm, welcoming and a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - The Tub (Room 4)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As we were in the 'tub room' the only drawback was the W/C located in a separate room rather than an en-suite and the tub itself meant showering was slightly restrictive. But i'm splitting hairs, other than that it was perfect.

    The welcome and ongoing treatment from Phil and the team was superb. The bed was very comfy and the place was ideally located for us - away from the hustle and bustle but only a short brisk walk (10 mins) away from the action.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Digs (Room 6)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The morning coffee was very very weak. Parking permit could have been offered a little bit longer than 10 am, as other place have offered.

    Good location, good host

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Lovely B&B. Great location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Duck (Room 2)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent B&B. The owner Phil was very welcoming. The room was warm and cosy. Bed was comfy. Can't fault this place. I would definitely stay here again. It is ideally located and just 10-15 steady walk into York. Breakfast was really good too with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    I loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Book (Room 5)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location walking distance to both the racecourse and city centre. Beautifully decorated, fabulous food and extremely helpful owner. Great local shops, cafes and restaurants all around the corner. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Duck (Room 2)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was overheated, partly due to unseasonably warm weather. Fortunately we know how to operate radiator thermostats!

    Friendliness and helpfulness of the proprietor and staff. Nothing was too much trouble. They were all keen to help us to make the best of our visit to York. Breakfasts were brilliant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    3.8
    We were quite disappointed with this property based on the reviews. Definitely would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Digs (Room 6)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't realize when I booked it that our room (The Digs) was in the basement. Unfortunately, it had the look, feel and smell of being below ground. Where I come from the basement is reserved for non paying family members, not paying guests. We were shown two different rooms that were on the top floor but they didn't appear any better and with the steep, very narrow stairs it would have been near impossible to get our luggage up.

    The breakfast was good (although there wasn't any homemade cakes). There was parking in front and was free. The location is good, only 15 minute walk to city center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    The best value b and b That I have stopped at .
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Book (Room 5)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff couldn't be more helpful ,as soon as we arrived The owner sorted The parking out for us. The room was spot on and the yorkie breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    We had an excellent time and felt well looked after, comfortable and only a stone's throw form city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Plum (Room 1)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Host takes a lot of time and care with making sure your have everything you need. Home made treats prepared everyday for guests and he was very helpful with nay questions

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Lovely b&b, will be returning one day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Book (Room 5)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in the book room, a bit difficult to get in and out of bed as room quite small. Not too bad for a few days though!

    Delicious breakfast, homemade treats, excellent host, clean and in excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    5.4
    breakfast was nice with wide choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Digs (Room 6)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was in basement hence no windows. Didn't think it was same standard as you would expect for £90/night hotel room.

    breakfast was nice with wide choice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    We loved it - this will be our go to place whenever we are in York.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - The Tub (Room 4)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small sink and no shelves in the bathroom.

    Friendly and flexible owners, charming room, good selection of food for breakfast, great location next to a beautiful park.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    great b&b, highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Book (Room 5)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Phil was a wonderful host and he makes sure you feel right at home, he handles personal requests for breakfast and the b&b is cosy and lovely. It's one of the best b&b's we've been to, every room has it's own theme and you always come back to cookies in the dining room and in your room. The staff was very kind and helpful, the home's design is very romantic, perfect for couples.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Phil was a great and trustful host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - The Tub (Room 4)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though that was fun to have it in the bedroom, I thought the hot tub would be in a different room

    Phil was a great and trustful host. His help and flexibility were VERY much appreciated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Perfect base to explore York
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - The Tub (Room 4)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Ashley House is a beautiful B&B a short walk from the city walls. We stayed in "Tub" which has an ornate bath in the room (boutique style) with a separate toilet. The toilet is literally next door to the bedroom and has its own key, so is completely private. The room itself has a great big bed with immaculate sheets and a rather posh chaise lounge at its foot. Perfect for a morning brew from the best stocked hospitality tray I have ever seen! The first thing I look for at a hotel/B&B is cleanliness. Ashley House was spotlessly clean. Toilet was properly cleaned as was the sink - no mould/grime! I'm amazed how often I have to ask the toilet to be re-cleaned at hotels - not this time! Everything felt clean and well cared for. Breakfast was a real highlight. I am a pretty awkward vegetarian, but I was very happy with my meat-free breakfast. The mushrooms were the very best I have ever eaten (making me hungry thinking about them!) Phil, the owner was superb yet never intrusive. He obviously cares greatly about what he does and if I had any concerns I knew they would be resolved promptly. All-in-all a wonderful B&B which I have already recommended to family. I still can't believe how inexpensive it is compared to other B&Bs - considering the level of service & extras.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Lovely well managed B&B 5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - The Tub (Room 4)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ashley Guest house was very quiet, welcoming & well managed. They had complementary cakes available on the side daily, excellent quality breakfast with plenty of options to choose from. The room was well decorated with a lovely big comfy bed & deep bath tub to the side of it. We would 100% recommend a stay at this b&b.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Lovely stay in a beautiful cosy room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - The Tub (Room 4)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was absolutely fantastic and the little homemade cookies and cakes made throughout the stay were a delight! The room was cosy and the bathtub was an excellent touch! The host couldn't be more friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Plum (Room 1)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like having to park on the street but that is the norm in a lot of properties

    Phil our host was excellent great communication with us . Breakfast was good the property is in a good location for exploring York and surrounds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.6
    Would certainly go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Duck (Room 2)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Knit picking here! Couldn't find a 2-point shaver in the room. All the toilets are fitted with toilet shredders which are quite noisy once flushed. That being said easily one of the best places I've stayed in with my partner.

    Friendly staff and owner who gives very good advice on where to go and what to see. Good location close to town centre within easy walk of everywhere of interest. Very Good Breakfast. Reserved parking. If we were to ever revisit York I would definitely try and book again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.5
    Excellent breakfast and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Digs (Room 6)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little storage space. No wardrobe to hang clothes. Nowhere to sit and do hair and make up.

    Locationi close to York city centre. Lovely breakfast and homemade cakes and cookies in the afternoon.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Made to feel welcome in a lovely house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Plum (Room 1)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    We were made to feel very welcome and by prior arrangement we checked in early. Lovely house and location, you can walk through the park and by the river into York City Centre. Had both the full English and French toast for breakfast. Both were perfectly cooked and very tasty. Would certainly stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.6
    Great Guest House
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Duck (Room 2)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was a little small but this wasn't a negative for us as we were not in it through the day.

    Staff were great, food made to order hot and delicious. Room comfortable and clean. Bonus they left a home made afternoon treat every day which was something to look forward to after a long day out. Ideal locality for York. Easy to walk to.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    One of the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Digs (Room 6)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had the "Digs" room which was comfortable and just as described; bathroom spacious; the breakfasts were lovely with plenty of choices and the host and hostess were kind, friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    9.6
    Another wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Book (Room 5)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the book room which was a little small, not much room to get out of one side of the bed. Other than that perfect and cosy!

    Delicious French toast and blueberries for breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Fantastic breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Digs (Room 6)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was exceptional

    Fantastic breakfast Friendly welcome Informative re local amenities and knowledge Beautifully decorated house with many extra special extras

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    10
    Excel accomdation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Book (Room 5)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great hospitality, great accommodation and excellent location. There were a couple of minor issues during our stay which were excellently dealt with.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    9.6
    Exceeded expectations - would like to visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The plumbing system is very noisy, so not great when other guests use the bathroom during the night.

    Very warm welcome, lovely rooms and guest lounge, nice little touches e.g. homemade cakes. Great breakfast with impressive choice, also some more unusual dishes which were much appreciated.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    9.2
    Warm, cosy, and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - The Tub (Room 4)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Host Phil made us feel very welcome. Bedroom was compact but beautifully warm and comfortable. Breakfast was hot and tasty. Extra touch of Phil baking cookies for when we returned from our days out was a thoughtful touch.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - The Tub (Room 4)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We picked the tub room so we had to have a bath rather than a shower but we should have read that.

    Excellent location. Owners are lovely and can't do enough for you.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    10
    High standards in all ways.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Digs (Room 6)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing other than the stay was too short

    Homely, friendly, cosy with a very high standard, could be mistaken for a high star hotel. Breakfast was amazing with so many choices.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    10
    It was very comfortable and cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Duck (Room 2)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff was very very friendly. We had tea coffee and delicious short bread in our room and the rocky roads and muffins were tasty. The breakfast was incredible.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    Anniversary child free night away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Digs (Room 6)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were met on arrival by Phil & made to feel very welcome.The room was gorgeous & spotlessly clean.A great location within walking distance of town & we were given a permit for parking. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.2
    At home in York.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Book (Room 5)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Next time I would chose the red room with the bathtube...

    A hearty welcome by Phil, a good night's rest in a small but nevertheless comfortable room and a gorgious breakfast - all you need to feel at home!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    9.6
    Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Book (Room 5)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here for two nights, and had zero complaints. Phil was very helpful -- he gave us great information about the city and allowed us to keep our bags at the B&B after we checked out to accommodate our late afternoon train. He also upgraded us to a larger room since we had booked at a time he wasn't that busy, which was very nice. The room was clean and comfortable, and the neighbourhood is quiet and safe. It's a short walk to everything. The food is fabulous; we appreciate being able to choose our breakfast since some days you don't need the full English deal! We highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Slightly bigger portions on full breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Plum (Room 1)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly bigger portions on full breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Great B&B just 15 minutes from city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Duck (Room 2)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly Fantastic breakfast Helpful and informative

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Very welcoming and great Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Plum (Room 1)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming and great Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Lovely ,will be going back .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Book (Room 5)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only stayed for one night , nothing to complain about

    Lovely breakfast my husband said the best he'd had , the food was good quality .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Ian n Dawn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Duck (Room 2)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like

    EVERYTHING😃😎👍👌

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    Ashley Guest House
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Digs (Room 6)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was to soft.

    The breakfast was lovely, Phil was very welcoming and the location was ideal. Just out off town but a 10 minute walk into town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Couldn't do any more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Plum (Room 1)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything especially the breakfast. All aspects of this guesthouse are top rate

    Friendly welcome and very informative about local area and amenities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Digs (Room 6)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a major problem. But it would be good to have a shaver point with mirror in bathroom

    Superb breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely old house for super quiet sleep and great breakfast near center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Book (Room 5)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful cosy house. Super quiet sleep in the Book Room (2nd floor). Great breakfast (Full English).

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: