Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ashtree House Hotel 4 stars

9 Orr Square, Paisley, PA1 2DL, United Kingdom

#1 of 9 hotels in Paisley

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 584 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival the front door was locked so we had to call the hotel to gain access.

    I had a single room but it still had a large comfortable double bed. Nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double room with 7 Days parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs and walls leading to our room were tatty. There was a hole in the wall . Definitely painting the walls is necessary- they were just dirty. Not a 4 star hotel.

    We stayed for only one night before heading to Glasgow airport. Quiet location. Spacious room. The lady at the reception desk was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing 👍

    Stayed for a night before heading to airport, lovely comfortable room, spotlessly clean, beautiful gardens and front of house staff that were so friendly & helpful and are a real credit to the hotel. Would absolutely stay here again no question, great breakfast also 👍👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paisley looks a bit rough. But that did not effect enjoyment of hotel.

    Beautiful old hotel. We have stayed before and will be back. I love the staircase, tartan rug, high ceilings and plaster design. It is also very close to airport but it does not feel at all like that type of hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had mentioned that we would be checking out at 6:30 a.m., but there was no one at the desk that morning. We rang the bell several times, but no one ever answered. We ended up just setting our key on the hall table and leaving, because we had a plane to catch.

    The comfort and elegance of the room and the friendliness of the staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find on first visit to Paisley as tucked away off the High Street, Paisley itself was not very attractive.

    Lovely old merchant house with plenty of character and large comfortable rooms overlooking the front courtyard and the 2 hundred year old Ashtree. Comfortable lounge with a bar serving a good selection of drinks. Breakfast very good in a large dining area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room with 7 Days parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We cannot find anything to complain about.

    Friendly & accomodating. Excellent breakfast - enormous choice. We slept really well. Very good shower. Television, hairdryer, kettle with tea, coffee, hot chocolate, & biscuits. Soap, shampoo, etc, provided. The building is quite big & needs some tlc but these things take time to achieve & it in no way detracted from our stay. Would happily stay again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    if you walked up to the front door it was very trying, steep

    overall, the staff plus the ambie,ce was excellent, helpful, knowledgable etc. quite happy with the place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much! Breakfast was serviceable but nothing to be thrilled with. Paisley as a town has made it a bit difficult to drive to the hotel, so plan ahead.

    The owners are wonderful people, incredibly helpful and excited to discuss the region's appeal. The room was large, comfortable and clean with beautiful views out to the garden. A 5 minute ride to the airport makes this an excellent location for late arrivals or early departures.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed here at the beginning of our trip and had a double room. Small bed for two people. This stay at the end of our trip I had booked a family room that was listed as having a double bed and a large double bed. The double bed was suitable for kids only. The large double bed was two twins joined so we had plenty of sleeping room but mattress was no where near as comfortable has the bed we had on the Isle of Skye. The only problem was to get to the family room we had to climb another flight of stairs that was circular and narrow. Without luggage not so bad. But with luggage it was some work. There was some exposed wiring in the room which would concern me with children. The shower/tub is fine for young people. We have issues with knees and this made it difficult to step into such a large tub to take a shower. There was nothing to hold to safely. I would recommend doing a little research as to what type of room you are getting if you are an older couple with some limitations.

    Good location for easy access to train station to go into Glasgow and Edinburgh. Breakfast was excellent and in a wonderful area. Dinner options nice if you want to eat at hotel. Staff are wonderful. Both rooms we stayed in had 110 and 240 outlets in bathrooms. This is the only hotel that had this during our travels in Scotland.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing we did not like was the bed comfort. The double bed is clearly a double (not queen). We are older and did not sleep well in a double size bed. Both with arthritis and need to move a lot during night and was unable to. On my side there was some caving of mattress which made it more uncomfortable. This bed may be fine for couples who are young and small.

    Breakfast is great here and dinner options are nice as well. Nice area to eat in. Staff are wonderful and very helpful. The place is quiet and beautiful. It was an easy walk to the train station to go into Glasgow and to Edinburgh. Would stay here again if not for bed situation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 17 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable, mattress was very hard and pillows worn.

    Location was great. Room was warm and cozy and bed warm. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly. The building was beautiful is a secured location, but in the centre of Paisley. Though easy access to Glasgow centre. Would stay again if in the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and hotel generally could do with a refresh. In the room there were 5 light bulbs needing replacing, the bed-head was loose, there was evidence of damp on the wall, the decoration was tired, the extract fan in the shower room wasn't working and the toilet seat came off in my hand. Not good enough.

    Quiet location despite being seconds off the High Street

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe the wifi, the signal was a little weak!

    First of all, I appreciated the extreme kindness and hospitality of the owners, people who have done everything possible to solve some of my problems (I had forgotten the adapter for the sockets !!!). The room was very cosy and warm, the bed comfortable and the view of the inner courtyard made my stay very comfortable. And the breakfast was super! I really recommend this location!!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had problems logging into the wifi, but I didn't really need it so didn't ask for assistance. I'm sure they would have been happy to resolve the problem for me.

    Staff were so helpful and friendly but also polite. Lovely historic building, Beautifully furnished and traditional features.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water from the shower took its time, I had to wait 3-5 minutes to get it.

    Staff were very friendly, they made me feel like at home. Breakfast was lovely, and the waitress very efficient. The room was simple but served its purpose, I had a comfortable stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some building work going on meaning the heating was off during the day. The hotel was therefore very cold in the evening as it took a long time for the temperature to rise. This of course coincided with an extremely cold spell which didn’t help. I’m sure at any other time everything would be fine.

    Old style charm and very comfortable. Staff were most accommodating and the food was very good. I’d be very happy to stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very happy with everything we saw.

    I liked the relaxed atmosphere in the hotel and the feeling that a beautiful old building was still earning it's keep and evolving, when so many newer buildings designed for the same function will never develope into something special. The only meal we had in the hotel was breakfast, it was excellent and very well served and presented.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a little on the small side. You needed to be a contortionist to reach the loo roll!!

    Our room and bed were enormous. Room No. 2 I think looking over the front of the hotel. Stylish ensuite with nice walk in shower. We had supper and breakfast in the hotel and both were good. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely traditional hotel with many original features. The room was comfortable with a massive bed, sofa, and proper wardrobes. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. Great breakfast. Paisley Museum and Art Gallery (right next door), and the Abbey are well worth a visit. The railway station is only 10 minutes walk from the hotel and frequent trains take only 10-14 minutes into the centre of Glasgow. We will definitely return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to dislike

    Nice breakfast pleasant staff very comfortable room and bed all i would add is do not let the exterior put you of its lovely inside with a lot of character

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paisley town has become a oneway system and getting to the hotel proved difficult as the Sat Nav kept putting us wrong. Narrow streets and a pedestrian precinct proved frustrating as we could see where we needed to be. A very helpful local came to the rescue and once street system was explained we found the hotel which proved to be worth the wait.

    The fading grandeur of a beautiful building, large bedroom full of comforts, fresh cooked breakfast and friendly staff. All very clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu could have been a little more adventurous Although we sat down at 8 pm the dessert menu only had ice cream and fruit to offer!!

    Beds comfy Would be useful to have a mat for shower

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very accommodating to our special requirements for rooms and diets. Ground floor room for disabled person, although there are steps at the main entrance to gain access to reception.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were breakfast choices (continental and cooked) , however for my egg/pork allergy there were somewhat limited options. Maybe some cheese or pastries options could be added for greater variety?

    Lovely, clean and spacious room. In a great location very close to the centre of Paisley and shops, restaurants. The accommodation was great , the owners very friendly and welcoming. There was ample parking at the front of the property.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a thing.

    The whole experience was perfect, accommodation, food, staff, location. Even the football score as that was what my husband was there for!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The house is incredible and the staff are so friendly. The town was fun to walk around and there's a number of restaurants and pubs close at hand. We'd love to stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would benefit from improved lighting in the car park.

    Friendly staff, convenient, affordable. Lovely historic building full of character. Enjoyable stay. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit cool for December.

    This hotel is very close to Glasgow airport just a short taxi ride, and an interesting place to visit. Very helpful hosts.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Ashtree house is very convenient whether by plane or train, being an easy walk from the station. What makes the property exceptional is its staff and what makes it a place to come back to is the ambience. A home away from home.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The washbasin in the en suite was small so one had to be careful of water spraying over and I couldn't seem to get hot water either from the wash basin taps nor the shower. . I mentioned this at reception and they were going to look into it.

    The Staff were brilliant and being a single visitor it was great to chat. The staff and the owner himself went out of their way to make me welcome and at home.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Trying to improve on perfection is an impossible act.

    Staff was open, friendly, knowledgeable, accommodating; they ordered taxis in a prompt and efficient manner; we were in Paisley because an uncle had a stroke- they weresvmpathetic and caring; they were a 10+, w/ 10 being the highest rating. Kudos all around. The room was clean, spacious; again a 10+. Would, without hesitation, recommend this hotel to my family, my friends and even my enemies.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very little. If I had to pick something it was that the food was well cooked, using local ingredients, but not well seasoned and so was a little bland. I'm not used to using table condiments on my food, but maybe others are.

    The genteel, Georgian feel about the place. The heating and the bathroom. I had a small room but it had everything I needed. Warm welcome to a warm, cosy genteel establishment. The kind of place that wants you to use words like 'establishment'.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sat nav got us lost had difficulty finding entrance to hotel.

    Comfortable room/bed . Friendly helpful staff good location for train station to Glasgow .Good food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place to stay but some parts just need a little TLC to make it perfect:-)

    Friendly and helpful staff. Town centre location with free off street parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all

    The Hotel itself is beautiful and the rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Great bathrooms too. The staff are so warm and welcoming and go above and beyond to ensure guests enjoy their stay. We loved it and will no doubt return. Thanks!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This lovely hotel is close to Glasgow airport. The owner was chatty and charming. The only drawback was that it's very difficult to locate even with our car's navigation and my iPhone Googlemap on. But there's a large car park in front of the building once you find it! We'd would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small. Shower very awkward as under eaves and shower screen close to eaves. Some gymnastics required for the morning splash! Our room was on the top floor with a narrow stair access.

    Nice warm welcome. Pleasant rooms and relaxed ambience. We arrived early and our room was made available so that we could dress for a wedding. A lovely big room and comfy bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little chilly. The curtains may need some attention.

    Warm and welcoming staff on arrival. Helpful and informative about the area. Breakfast was nice but no traditional potato scone as listed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't as close to the airport as I thought.

    The staff went out of their way to make arrangements for an early morning taxi ride to the airport. This historic place is a wonderful place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely historic building in the heart of Paisley, yet secluded and quiet, with many wonderful sites nearby to visit. the room was large and well furnished, with lovely views. The staff was an absolute pleasure to deal with!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a few parts on the room that could’ve done with a bit of TLC: water marks on the wall where rain must’ve come in the dorma windows; a lump broken off the end of the foot of the bed; plug hole in the shower that came apart upon any kind of contact; loose socket on the wall. These could all be put right quickly. Also the leatherette armchairs were flaking fake leather, which clung to your clothes! Booking.com seems to have a glitch whereby my booking for 1 adult & 1 child reverted to just 1 adult so there was more to pay at the property. Not the hotel’s fault, but a slight fly in the ointment!

    A lovely regency property with fab staff. Very nice bathroom with a HUGE shower and nice toiletries. Nicely decorated room. The restaurant looked lovely, although we didn’t eat there as booked without breakfast to leave early for a flight.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room with 7 Days parking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inadvertently booked a small room, and although it was very comfortable it was just too small for two people.

    Excellent breakfast and friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Short, but steep, hill up to hotel would make it unsuitable for less able visitors.

    The staff were so friendly - it was like staying in someone's home rather than a hotel. The room was very spacious and comfortable, and the location was ideal - very close to the town centre. Would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directions to hotel were limited, need more info due to huge one way system around Paisley. We asked directions and told if using sat nav to enter high street as a via point. This worked perfectly!

    Spacious rooms and very friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Such a beautiful hotel - big rooms, tudor features, comfy bed, a lovely bathroom. The lady in charge was just lovely and we felt very welcome - even with our toddler chasing around.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very efficient and friendly staff. Very good standard of food. Excellent location for taking a wander around. The room was comfortable and well appointed. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property looks a bit worn in parts

    This is in the centre of historic Paisley between two striking churches. However there is free parking in front of the heritage building in a treed car park. It is an easy drive to Glasgow Airport which is easy to use. I was given a larger room with viewson request and a full Scottish rather than the expected Continental breakfast. This is a family run hotel. Great atmosphere and flexibility for breakfast time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked one night in what were described as two small compact double rooms but when we checked in the rooms were huge and really nice. We were welcomed at reception by a lovely lady and even though we had booked room only and had to leave before breakfast to drop one of our four at Glasgow airport , croissants and juices were left out for us. We would highly recommend the hotel for anyone travelling from Glasgow as the airport was only a mile and a half away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The selection of continental breakfast was ok but could have been better. The selection was limited and the croissants were dry. I had the porridge which wasn't bad but have had better.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room quiet and warm. The small en suite was excellent. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The cooked breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The included breakfast is very minimal. Cooked breakfast needs to be ordered separately.

    This hotel is hidden away right behind a very active shopping district. The whole hotel has an old country house flair but features modern amenities. Our room was at the very top under the roof, accessible via a very narrow steep staircase only. Probably problematic for older patrons.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is an old building tastefully refurbished. The food is very good, both breakfast and dinner. It is in a very good location for the centre of the town and near the railway station. Best of all are the hosts, they really make you feel at home. Definitely worth another visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decoration was poor. Accessibility was poor. Breakfast was poor.

    The bed was very comfortable and very clean. Lady on reception was very helpful and kind

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi a bit dodgy.

    Quirky hotel in the middle of Paisley. Good location for the town but not easy to reach by car due to one way system. Period style works nicely and room and bed were very comfortable. Nice shower. Very helpful lady at reception. Recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent place to stay if you are headed to the airport the next day out of Glasgow. Comfortable and friendly in this very old home transformed into a Guest House. Only 10 minutes from the airport. Continental breakfast but with little choice of restaurants around the area they have a great little restaurant at the Guest House with excellent food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff could not have been more helpful. I brought my daughter over to the university of west Scotland which was 200 meters from the college. Maurienn and her husband could not have been more helpful with all my questions. Could not recommend this hotel more

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit noisy but to be expected being situated right in the town centre. If breakfast had been included it would have been good value for money.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Traditional decor, neither brand new nor worn out. Lovely meal. Also an easy access garden with chairs/table under a tree for smokers. Plenty private parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Once you find this place, you realize the location is in fact ideal for a visit to Glasgow. Just a 5 minute walk to the train station and a few minutes ride into Glasgow, allowed us to park the car for a while and enjoy being tourists on foot. It also made it easy for some of us to stay out longer enjoying the Glasgow night life while others headed to bed. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The home itself is in need of some TLC- paint and patching- but everything was comfortable and clean, and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of closets for non hanging clothes. Furniture too big for a small room.

    The proximity to everything and the friendliness of the staff going overboard to please you.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room would be perfect for 1 person but too small for 2 people.

    Very helpful staff and good location (10min drive from the airport). Good facilities in the bedroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Windows sills outside rotten, frames inside and out require urgent attention. Cobwebs in the room! 2 of 4 lights in bathroom not working - reception confirmed it wasn't the lamps but the light units that required replacement, only one bed side table supplied, kettle didn't fit under the tap, room seats uncomfortable.

    the bed was a decent quality, good towels too. staff helpful and did try to solve the lack of lighting in the

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Main roads around the property have been closed or changed to 1 way, it was extremely difficult to get to the driveway, thorough instructions on how to navigate around Paisley would have been extremely helpful

    Room was large and included a lounge which was a nice change from having to sit on a bed to watch tv

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was builders work in progress, poorly installed electrical socket in the room. Poor lighting and lack of mirrors in the room. The layout of the table and chair was poor. No biscuits with tea and coffee. Limited evening meal choice, no daily specials, and every day something was off the menu.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom could see a renovation or a makeover. However, it was functional.

    Lovely old house, in quite a good shape. Staff was really nice, through all of our stay. Good parking accommodations. Decent breakfast. The room was big and nicely decorated. Really liked the bed. The Hotel is easy to access from Glasgow Airport, and has nice surroundings with lots of old buildings to see and a huge number of bars to eat and drink at. It was our first stay after landing in Glasgow the same evening, before heading for a 2 weeks Scotland round-trip, and it fulfilled that purpose excellently.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Needed to ask for toilteries and extra towels as the house keeper did not replenish after tiding the room

    Location near high street and staff at the restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Paisley itself is run-down, many vacant shops and those still in business catering to lower incomes; only one craft shop, and the museum, a gift in the 19th century, filled with Victorian clutter, its exhibit of Paisley shawls ill-lit and the looms, potentially of great interest, without a curator to demonstrate their operation. Of this the owners of Ashtree House were aware, and apologetic.

    The hotel is a converted double house, the first house complete (except the ladies' washroom which was closed off), the second still being renovated. My room was in the completed part. A continental breakfast (with porridge) is included, eggs and bacon and/or sausage or vegetarian are extra; Dinner is available, a good limited menu, very desirable since most of the time I stayed there it rained. An Italian and a pub restaurant were within a ten-minute walk. The main problems with Ashtree House are its distance from the train station and from the main points of interest in the town of Paisley. The staff were friendly and willing. They even apologized for the rain.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit dark. We needed better driving directions to get to the facility.

    Very good breakfast and very accommodating to vegans. Easy walking distance to multiple restaurants. Pleasant, experienced hosts.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing! It was a great experience.

    The location was a 10 minute walk to the train station with a very quick ride in to Glasgow. There was ample parking at the property and we were able to leave the car there and walk where we needed to go. It was a 10 min car ride to Glasgow airport. Staff were extremely helpful with directions and advice regarding local attractions and restaurants. Very comfortable bed!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    When we arrived we were warmly greeted by Maureen. She was more than helpful as were her staff. We had a lovely dinner at the hotel.The location is central to Paisley so you can walk everywhere. Paisley has good shopping and lovely buildings. The airport is only a short drive away.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little cold in the bathroom, but it was cold outside too even if it was july.

    We arrived in the evening and the possibility to have dinner at the hotel was very good. Lovely scottish breakfast. Close to train station with 10 minutes to Glasgow. The bathroom was nicely renovated. Nice, helpful ladies in the reception and so were the girls in the restaurant as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little out of the way, and most restaurants/businesses were closed by the time I arrived (app. 7PM).

    The owners treated me like family. I wish I had a bedroom like that at home! I had a garden view, the bed was super comfy, BEST SHOWER EVER, and breakfast was a delight. It is also located very close to the airport in Glasgow.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The house appears a bit let down, nearly NEGLECTED… - SOME PARTS of it, the less visible ones, are MESSY AND UGLY - The wall around the window along the stairs is broken, like a HALF-DOWN RENOVATION - The window in our bathroom was very hard to close, and once done, it was impossible to reopen it - In the bedroom, JUST ONE OF THE HEATERS WAS ON; while IN THE BATHROOM, NONE! - One of the two beds was just a SOFA BED (despite the huge space in the room), with pretty THIN MATTRESS, and the METALLIC STRUCTURE which STICKING OUT was very uncomfortable when getting out of bed - One the (big) SHUTTERS in our room was OUT OF THE HINGE… potentially dangerous when moving it! There doesn’t seem to be any design leitmotiv… and the restaurant room especially, is quite too dark and with an incomprehensible mix of colours… everything but welcoming. BREAKFAST (except for cooked food, that we didn’t taste): MINIMUM REQUIRED, and with WAITRESSES, NOT MUCH FRIENDLY AND WILLING TO HELP. Dinner: we didn’t ate there, because the RESTAURANT CLOSED AT 8.15 PM!!! NO AIRPORT SHUTTLE available, although indicated on the website. Despite everything, I would have assigned a better final score, but the unhinged window is a serious matter…!

    Typical grey stone house, CONVENIENT FOR GLASGOW AIRPORT (15 minutes drive), although not in a really nice part of the town. The MANAGEMENT is entrusted to a very KIND AND HELPFUL LADY, even if a bit “phantasmic”… like nobody was there… Other good points: huge room, with (one) big and good bed, shower, bathtub (quite hard to go in, because of its height)!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Driving directions inadequate, gps didn't recognise postcode or street address. Took half an hour to locate access, high street closed to traffic until 6pm

    Did'nt dine in

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our hosts were delightful as was Ashtree house. We could only stay one night due to our flight out early in the morning. Room was large, spacious, clean, and very luxurious. We left before breakfast, but they left out items for a continental one for us. We didn't see a lot of places for dinner nearby, but had a lovely dinner at the hotel--loved the ambiance, ease of dining, and the food and drinks were good. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: