Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ashurst Lodge 3 stars

2 St Efrides Rd, Torquay, TQ2 5SG, United Kingdom

#119 of 126 B&Bs and Inns in Torquay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 39 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay , very welcoming and clean tidy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely large room ensuite. really clean, everything you could need tea/coffee making facilities. TV. Good size wardrobe and draws. Wonderful breakfast full English, cereal, toast, orange juice. Fantastic location close to town. Good parking.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Very cosy and welcoming guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very cosy guest house, we truly enjoyed our stay. The owner is lovely, very welcoming and helpful. If we're ever go back to Torquay we will definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    The Ashurst Lodge is a traditional and charming guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only issue that we had with staying here was not anything to do with the facilities themselves, but the location. The Ashurst Lodge is just a little bit of a walk away from the Torbay and the Town Centre. Having said that, if you don't mind a bit of a walk (which we did not mind in the least) it's more than fine!

    This was the first time that we stayed in Torquay. We quite liked the Ashurst Lodge as it was a very clean room and Guest House. The breakfast that the owner made for us was amazing. The owner who greeted us was very friendly and gave us an overall great experience. The room came with an electric kettle, tea cups, and coffee & tea. This was very useful. Onsite parking was a massive plus. The Ashurst Lodge itself was a quite traditional guest house, but was very charming.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Décor a little bit dated but that’s just my personal taste

    Great host, knowledgeable and friendly Good location (though hillphobes beware!) Clean room Comfy beds Quiet (apart from the seagulls) Cool even in a heatwave Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    It’s was very old but in a good way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t hate anything!

    It’s was very old but in a good way! Absolutely gorgeous property! Breakfast was amazing and a relatively quite area. Would defiantly go back there!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were accused of stealing a cup which put a little bit of a downer on it when leaving and we were upset that the lovely man that runs it was angry at us- I hope he found the cup as we definitely didn’t take it!

    Lots of character in this lovely guesthouse, cooked breakfast was really tasty and great location at a great price. Staff were very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    A basic, but clean and comfortable place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a small Guest House, and although that's not necessarily a negative, it's quite basic and the seventies decor may put some off.

    This is a 3 star Guest House, although one of the exterior signs states hotel. The decor is rather dated, but I couldn't fault the cleanliness of the place. We saw only one person, the manager, during our stay, he also took the role as cook at breakfast. We normally stay somewhere like one of the budget chain hotels, but as we were booking at the last minute, we thought the prices they were charging were just too much on this occassion. Looking around, we found the Ashurst Lodge, reasonably close to the centre of Torquay, and it was somewhere that offered a full English breakfast included in the tariff. I have to say that the room, we had room 4, was kept in a very clean condition and the en-suite was spotless. When we returned from a day out we found the room had been serviced with fresh towels and a new stock of tea and coffee supplied

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor could be a little bit dated for some people

    Comfortable and good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    5 night stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely quiet location..lovely breakfast...Nothing was too much trouble for Norman the host !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.0
    An average experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Nice quiet location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Paul and Lisa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all good.

    Norman was a great host, he even gave us a little stand up comedy show, he was very charming and nothing was to much trouble.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.8
    A very comfortable and quiet stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very comfortable and quiet stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant ceiling was very low but cudnt be helped

    Room was very comftable and had everything we needed for our short stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was great.

    Breakfast was good and the man who owned it is a great bloke.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Easy access to the town centre and to the sea front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all good.

    Easy access to the town centre and to the sea front.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location, nice and clean Norman was nice and friendly...
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, nice and clean Norman was nice and friendly and helpful, would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Felt welcomed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Friendly, clean and good position

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    nice and quiet and friendly good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    The owner was very friendly and tryed to help when ever he could enjoyed our stay nice and quiet

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Everthing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everthing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.9
    Value for money
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly & accomdating owner. Good location and value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    The owner is attentive and willing to help in anyway he could.Breakfast at no extra cost was a bonus
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is limited

    Close to town, rooms were clean, tidy and a decent size. Good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    A very pleasant stay and superb value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only issue was the uncomfortable bed, everything else was very good

    Owner was friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.3
    Comfortable stay , but would have hoped the Lodge to be a little bit more modern .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lodge needing updating , .Beds could do with renewing.

    Liked the quiet and safe surroundings. Easy to get to town centre, good bus service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    Just right for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Everything was fine especially when you consider how much we paid.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    Our stay was quite pleasant and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surrounding natural beauty and friendly local people.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice breakfast,Easy access to town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    7.1
    Room very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Host was very miserable and rushed us. He wanted us to be out of the room by 10am everyday so he could clean the room. He moaned at us, saying we were looking for things to pick out, when we mentioned the out of date packet of weetabix.

    Room very clean. Comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    10
    The whole place was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The whole place was excellent. We will go bacķ. Breakfast great.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.5
    People lovely and bed comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We requested a bath and didn't get one. :(

    People lovely and bed comfy

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    9.6
    Friendliness of proprietor.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Friendliness of proprietor.Desire to help

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    8.3
    Quiet location but not too far from town/beach.
    • Couple

    Quiet location but not too far from town/beach. Pleasant and helpful host.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    6.7
    Good breakfast included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slightly overpriced (£60 a night) Bit of confusion on arrival (struggled to find booking details)

    Good breakfast included. Friendly staff.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: