Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, London This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

41-54 Buckingham Gate, Westminster Borough, London, SW1E 6AF, United Kingdom

#163 of 977 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 4801 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    5.0
    Great location but very outdated and worn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were tiny, the bathrooms were very old, worn and scruffy as was the decor of the bedroom. This hotel is need of a good refurbishment and update

    The hotel is in a great location and the staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    10
    We had a relaxing stay and a superb meal in the Quilon Restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Seemed strange that we had to queue to get breakfast. We have visited many hotels in several countries and never had to do this before.

    Excellent bathroom and comfortable bed. Friendly and professional staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    7.5
    Good but not fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad experience in bar when we got back ...poor service and not friendly. We had booked a room for three people so it would be nice if they provided three mugs for coffee facilities.

    The location was very good and the style of hotel lovely

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    9.6
    Great visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very convenient location. Close to good restaurants, Buckingham Palace, the tube, Westminster Abbey. Couldn't be more convenient, yet very, very quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    10
    Wonderul
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Being an Indian hotel, I wish there would have been more food options. I love Indian food but have issues with the spices.

    The hotel was comfortable, beautiful, centrally located.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    8.3
    The facilities all round are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything to do with the service. From the welcoming, to the room service, to further help. If you don’t “look” like you have a million in your account don’t expect to be treated like they want you there. I even asked to extend my stay and the snobby girl at the desk stated there were no room, I looked online and there most defiantly was. It’s a shame.

    The facilities all round are great. Rooms, beds, all of it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    10
    We enjoyed dining at Quilon and walking just steps back to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We enjoyed dining at Quilon and walking just steps back to our hotel lobby. We also loved the small and empty fridge provided so we could keep drinks cool.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    6.7
    Well.located but nothing special about it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Studio Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very bland decor. No charm about the hotel. There was no body lotion in the bathroom for the entire time we were there. They wrongly billed us for 3 people even though we were two and took quite some time to sort it out at check out

    Our suite was big. The bed was very comfortable. Concierge staff were helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing at all.

    Personalised attention, cuisine choices and quality of food. Attention to detail. Rooms were a very decent size and extremely comfortable beds.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    8.8
    Ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dated furnishings, unclean grouting both rooms and unclean bath in 1 room which was much smaller than second room for same price.

    Ambience. Location, staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dust on the walls. They have a rodent problem on the patio. One woman told us a mouse ran across her shoe. We told the waiter about it and he said they knew and needed to do something about it. Fortunately, we did not eat on the patio - drinks only - do not sit on the couches! They charged us 5 bps per local call whether we connected or not which we thought was quite excessive. The one consierge during the day was helpful, however, the other one was clueless and I waited over 10 minutes for him to come to the desk - he never showed up. Disappointing!

    Right down the street from the palace and next to Victoria Station. Great breakfast and Italian dinner place across the street and not too pricey. Housekeeping was wonderful and bar/restaurant manager was very nice, unfortunately, it was his last week on the job.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    10
    Our 4 day stay at St James Court was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They didn’t have Fox News channel and it would be nice if they had complimentary coffee in the lobby.

    The staff was exceptionally friendly went out of their way to make us feel welcomed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    9.2
    Overall we love our stay at St James Court. Will be back again if we visit London in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some rooms are facing walls of other buildings. So it's dark and no good view.

    Great location. 5 minutes walk to Buckingham Palace and St James Park. The India restaurant next door is very good. Very helpful staff. The room is very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent hotel with excellent customer service from all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Asked for a room with a couch, as my mum prefers sleeping on a couch for her back, but instead got four single chairs, so we made do and turn the chairs to face each other. it wasn't the most comfortable, but she said she slept alright.

    Excellent hotel with excellent customer service from all parts of he hotel. Hotel facilities was lovely and the room was nice, quite and comfortable. Ate at both restaurants that the hotel had (Bistro and Quilon) and we enjoyed the food more than any place we had eaten in London. The concierge was very helpful in booking a car service for my mum and brother to go to Heathrow airport and was a very reasonable price. Couldn't beat location, 5min walk to Buckingham Palace, 15min walk to Westminster Abbey, and 20min to the London Eye

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    4.6
    Highly disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms not comfortable and highly priced compared to other hotels in the same category.

    Highly expensive tariff for the rooms and rooms are very small and understand comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    7.1
    Great location and desk staff very helpful
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was poorly presented for the price; very small and dark with a dreadful view. The bathroom whilst nice was compact! No mini bar in the room and breakfast costs were unbelievably high

    Great location and desk staff very helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    9.6
    5 star experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is in the middle of refurbishing the rooms.. the older part is a little dated in the communal areas.

    Spotless clean the staff were excellent professional and extremely helpful.. facilities excellent and the courtyard beutiful surroundings.. very relaxing stay.. 5 stars

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    10
    I'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The outlook. I had to keep the curtain (which was way to large and long for the window) closed and that made the room feel smaller. Next time i will request a nicer outlook..

    The location.. the service.. the amenities..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    9.6
    Loved the upgraded rooms bed and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was construction going on..we requested a quite room and woke to Jack hammers .lol..the view for an upgraded room was of trash cans.. liveable I guess but could have been better.

    Loved the upgraded rooms bed and bathroom..very comfortable beds.we loved the staff. all were the best

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous hotel, lovely courtyard and great location. Would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a little bit noisy from construction work and a snoring person in the next room.

    Beautiful hotel. Fabulous location and lovely staff. Nice touch of chocolates, fruit and water on arrival and a free upgrade. Concierge was very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable and central
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room service menu was poor. Okay if from Middle East or India. Basic English fare missing. Food in bar better

    Centre of London Staff excellent. Spotless hotel everything provided

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    10
    Fabulous in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to leave !!

    Stayed here for our 25th wedding anniversary. All the staff made such a fuss of us. We’ve stayed here many times and it remains for us, the best hotel in London . Looking forward to our next visit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    10
    Highly recommended by fussy travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Another excellent stay at St James Court. This is a quality 4 star hotel and should be 5 star in our opinion. Staff are friendly and helpful, fabulous breakfast. Quick walk to Buckingham Palace or Westminster Abbey etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    9.6
    Friendly and polite staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would stay here again for sure,?

    Friendly and polite staff. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable beds. Great location, easy access to transport and short walking distance to highlights like Buckingham Palace. Also a bike hire rack just across the road.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly staff, keen to make our stay as pleasant as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly staff, keen to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Nice attention for the birthday of my son was delivered at the suite! Excellent located!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    10
    Had a wonderful time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I know they were fully booked but we had 2 rooms and tried to get a late check out for 1 room, unfortunately they could not accommodate this request.

    The staff was very approachable, friendly, accommodating and always answered questions with a smile. The location was perfect!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    10
    Amazing relaxing stay with wonderful staff and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything. I stayed with family and had an amazing time. The staff are extremely friendly and it is a lovely hotel. The facilities are great. The location for this hotel is central to everything. I will be returning in the future. I cannot fault anything with this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    6.3
    Great location, beautiful hotel exterior
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room was booked for 3 people, facilities in room catered for two people only the room was not set up for three people, extra bed squeezed in to a small room, bed very uncomfortable

    Great location, beautiful hotel exterior

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    9.2
    The outside courtyard was lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was small and the shower's water pressure was not very strong.

    The outside courtyard was lovely! The lobby was gorgeous with the sunflower arrangements.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    10
    This an excellent hotel close to all facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    none

    The location was excellent . It was close to public transport and near to many attractions in Westminster. The rooms were well maintained and the breakfast had good variety. Breakfast was available from 6 AM which made it easy to go for conducted tours which start early.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    10
    Comfortable , Elegant and very accommodating you cannot go wrong with the Taj
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Master Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They missed turning the bed on Saturday and instantly gave us £100 of the bill as an apology

    The charm of service and the way they deliver a very unique Taj Style of service that effects the ambiance everywhere . Elegant refined quiet and careful suits us perfectly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Slow breakfast service when order a dish. Small breakfast rooms.

    Friendly and multilingual staff. Very good facilities and location. Great and comfortable lounge. Piano bar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    4.6
    mice in the the courtyard garden meant that we didnt use that facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the mice in the courtyard - the place was overrun with them - when we told staff they just said they would tell some one else - really unhygienic - the pigeons were bad enough but MICE in a Taj hotel - really not good!

    central location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    9.6
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think I will try and come here during less busy times because during the busy times it’s hard to get loyalty/complimentary upgrades.

    This is a great hotel. For £200 per night you get service and comfort which exceeds some of the massively overpriced Park Lane hotels which sell equivalent services for £500-600. The staff are exceptionally polite.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is great, the location is super good, and the beds...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is expensive and the rooms are kind of small, although very comfortable.

    The hotel is great, the location is super good, and the beds are very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant stay, have experienced better Taj hospitality though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Housekeeping needs to improve. Attention to detail was missing. We stayed for 9-10 nights. The desk, table, TV console were not dusted daily. Found film of dust. There was an XL sticker on the wall which we noticed from the night we checked in and remained there till we checked out. There were crayons dragged on the wall that were not washed or even attempted to be cleaned. After the 1st 2-3 days, shower gel was not replaced. The difference in courtesies extended to a long stayer business travel and long stayer leisure traveler was obvious.

    Good location (within walking distance to St James Park Tube station -7mins and Victoria - 15mins). The room size was good (comfortable with extra bed) . Pleasant, courteous staff. Excellent check-in. Restaurant staff well informed about dishes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    9.6
    A lovely home away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    I was in one of the newly renovated rooms which was beautiful. Very comfy bed and pillows. The hotel is in a very convenient location for all the major attractions. Just a few minutes walk to the tube station and buses. All the staff are very friendly and professional. It is always nice to be greeted by your name when you walk into the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    10
    The Taj is an excellent property serving all your needs. Location and service fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Lovely rooms and very comfortable beds. Friendly staff, very attentive to your needs. Concierge staff was amazing! They were able to obtain ManU opening game tickets for our family, not an easy feat. Once in a life time opportunity for us -- shout out to Matthew! Hotel is centrally located to public transportation and walking the city. We highly recommend this property and would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    5.0
    Taj London
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fire alarms going off at night time. The room size and the bathroom pictures NOT as seen on booking.com. Furniture old and dirty looking and the room looks dirty.

    Location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    10
    Fab hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed here for my daighters 18th birthday. It was a Really lovely hotel, the staff were very helpful. The rooms were immaculate and the air conditioning in the room was Devine due to it being one of the hottest days of the year. The bed was huge and very comfy. When we arrived back to the hotel after our meal one of the staff had left a happy birthday dessert in the room which was a lovely gesture. Within a short walking distance of the tube. I would definetly come back

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous location and lovely hotel. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurants which are part of this hotel are all very expensive which is not surprising. Fortunately you have other choices nearby.

    Beautiful property just down the street from Buckingham Palace. The staff were very professional, smiling, and welcoming. The concierge staff was excellent! A very cute Italian restaurant, Bon Gusto, is just steps away. It is a short walk to the subway, and a few more steps to Victoria Street where you can find anything you want. The room was large with good light and a big bathroom. It had some charm and was not like the new, modern chain hotels.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    10
    Great Find
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location comfortable rooms ,BONUS --Air condition or open window Staff wonderful Walk out front door turn right 5 mins Westminster Abbey,Houses of Parliament, turn left and run into Buckingham Palace and St James park and underground tube station

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was good but the croissants seemed stale, there were limited breads and natural fresh squeezed orange juice would have been in keeping with the general quality standards.

    Great location. Super comfortable and clean. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    7.5
    Good location if you're off to see Hamilton...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we were given was dark and in a poky upper "inner" corner of the hotel - whichever window you looked out of you could only see other windows (some of which were very close!). Aircon was noisy and not brilliant, so we tried to open windows but there was a country music festival in the courtyard below our room, the day/evening we were there and the music was SOOOOOO loud we had to shut them again (and it could still be heard). If we had known about the festival before we booked, or even been told about it when we checked in, we would have requested a change of rooms or hotel.

    The hotel was very well situated for visiting the theatre nearby. Bed was comfy. Close to Caxton Grill (where we ate in the evening and which is part of a beautiful (and cheaper!) hotel called St Ermin's, where I would stay next time I was in the area!).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    9.2
    Near enough perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Duvet too heavy therefore too hot. You either slept with the duvet on or without any sort of cover. Coffee machine was not very good.

    Perfect position. Excellent room with lovely little touches

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    10
    Great stay great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Did ask for a Sherlock Holmes book to be at the afternoon tea as a present for my mum but it never happened

    Loved the hotel great location, very clean, lovely lovely staff, afternoon tea great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    4.2
    I would not stat there again..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The furniture was old..the beds were uncomfortable, the electrical outlets did not work...

    I cannot recall anything that I liked.. The property does not qualify as a 4 Star...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent for overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was small with little natural light but served our purposes as an overnight sleeping stay.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly, eating facilities were very good . Location was excellent. Very good atmosphere. Quiet at night .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    6.7
    Great hotel but rooms need updating
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was spacious but dated and not cosy at all. We were given a disabled room which felt very basic. It did not meet the expectation of the room advertised on the photos when booking.

    Beautiful communal areas and facilities, good choice of restaurants and a stunning courtyard. Fantastic location and beautiful breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2018

    8.8
    Clean central hotel. Worth staying at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A tad expensive for the style of hotel. I understand it is an Indian styled chain of hotel - however I feel the everything is more aimed at the Indian clientele such as even the olives in the bar are covered in chilli. Rooms are cleaned wonderfully but should provide more milk for coffee. Check in would be good if earlier. Especially if flights arrive at 5am it makes for a long long day if you can’t check in sooner.

    A staff member Ilona was superb at checkout. She made me feel important by not allowing a rude man push through and interrupt our communications. The bathroom is fantastic . The shower is great. The bed is comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2018

    7.5
    Well located, good breakfast and comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some parts looked a little bit shabby, for instance the bathroom could use an update. For instance, there was a wooden panel behind the toilet that was loose and the shower had a shower curtain (which is less hygienic) as opposed to for example a glass panel.

    The room was spacious and quiet. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and the breakfast was really good too. Sufficient toiletries in the bathroom, and complimentary mineral water in the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2018

    9.2
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing they can do about the long long walk to our room as it is the building structure. We didn't have mice but overheard some other guests talking about mice in a room. It makes sense there could be mice if there's building work going on so maybe guests should be informed at the beginning of their stay that mice are around but the staff are doing everything in their power to remove them.

    Sheets were so so soft! Bed was super comfy- could have stayed in bed all day. Booked a standard double room but it actually had a small living room which was amazing and the room as a whole was very big and beautiful-had windows that could open and a tiny balcony. Bathroom was out of this world! They are remodelling at the moment so as we walked to our room some parts of the very very long corridor were old and drab but our section was all newly refurbished. If they do everywhere the same it will look gorgeous!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2018

    10
    You have all you need in a room: iron, tea pot and tea,...
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A long queue in the restorant on breakfast.

    You have all you need in a room: iron, tea pot and tea, europian rosette, robe. Everything was comfortable. It's good location for sightseeings.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The reception lounge area was small and felt enclosed. I like something grander with views. The couch in the suite was uncomfortable. Water pressure was inadequate.

    The location of the Hotel was perfect. Very close to both St James Park underground and Victoria Station as well as many major tourist attractions. The staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    10
    A home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing otherwise I would not stay there every time I go to London.

    I can only comment on the category of room I booked. I was lucky to be in the newly renovated section of the hotel. The room was beautifully appointed, lovely big walk in shower, very comfortable bed and pillows. All the staff are very friendly and professional. It’s nice when you walk into the hotel and you are greeted by your name, even if it has been a year since I was last there. I base myself in London and do various tours from there so I am at the hotel 3 or 4 times each time I travel overseas. The breakfast has a good variety and is delicious. The hotel is centrally located and an easy walk to all the main tourist attractions including Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, the Houses of Parliament and Big Ben. The tube and buses are only a few minutes walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    8.8
    Higher-end hotel that we thoroughly enjoyed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is under renovation and we were put in one of the newly done rooms, which was really nice. However, there was lots of noise outside the window (which was frosted glass, no view), including construction noise starting in the morning, and that was annoying. Also the service in the bar is absolutely atrocious. We liked the vibe and the drinks selection there, but the bartender and servers were all, without exception, surly and borderline rude-- not to mention slow. It became a bit of a joke for us. "How rude will they be tonight?" That should be fixed.

    The check-in and valet staff were wonderful, and we liked the lobby bar, which is open late. The Indian bistro there is delicious as well. It's also a great location in Westminster. The room was well-appointed, newly renovated. HUGE bathroom. Extremely comfortable stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    6.7
    Booked this on-line and was charged more when I checked out luckily I had a copy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were missed no clean towels or room cleaned and bed not made , had to call to reception for clean towels on our second day and the showers were pathetic no pressure.

    The location . That’s all

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    10
    A really great experience. The location and the hotel were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the initial check in was delayed until 3pm which was not the best start. However, that was the only issue we had during our stay

    the experience was wonderful. Thanks for the upgrade and the anniversary cake. The location was perfect and the staff were excellent and great at providing support when requested regarding the local area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel, that made us feel well taken care of during our overseas vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room seemed a bit smaller than what the photos indicated. But it was clean and modern.

    I especially enjoyed the patio with bar service. It was very relaxing after a long hot day of sightseeing, to be able to sit outside in the evening and have a glass of wine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    10
    Top Class
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything about the Taj is first class indeed. The staff were incredibly helpful, the hotel itself is beautiful and opulent, the service was exceptional, I love staying here and will gladly do so again in future.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    5.8
    Poor service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Master Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service was poor. We were given a much smaller room and were told that it’s an upgrade to premium. But it was an downgrade from a master classic suite to premium executive room. When requested, they apologised and shifted us to our room which was beautiful with no smell of fresh paint as previous. So be careful of what you book and what you get! We requested for an extra bed which was put in at 12:30 am after repeated calls. The breakfast place was too busy and the service was very slow. Good for celebrity spotting though!

    Clean and beautiful rooms, location is great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    5.0
    A Colossal Disappointment that failed to deliver on the expectation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of facilities in my room (see my main review)

    It is very difficult to discover a hotel you had previously stayed in is a shadow of its former self. But lets start with the positives: Beata on reception was lovely when I arrived to check-in and explained to me all about the range of facilities available at the hotel. I was staying there for 2 nights due to a conference event I was hosting in Whitehall and had taken the advantage of a good deal on bookings to book a 'deluxe' room. Sadly, the definition of 'deluxe' must have been lost on the Taj St James Court Hotel as nothing about the room i stayed in (which was perfectly comfortable) was deluxe. In fact, the mini bar was empty with a note saying if i wanted it filled to ring reception. However that didn't stop the hotel taking a £100 swipe of my card in case i did a runner having emptied the mini bar. My room was in short a colossal disappointment - barely any nature light (a very small window) and just functional. Perhaps the staff at St James Court need to revisit what they think deluxe means and realise if they are charging a medium-high room rate there is an expectation from travellers that they get some value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    7.1
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We arrived the hotel at 5 pm. Our room was not ready. The receptionist told us that they have upgraded our room and would be ready in 5 minutes. The room was ready 30 minutes later. It was more like a downgrade. The furniture was old, bed was uncomfortable and the bathroom was very small and bathtub was very old. Not as seen in the pictures on booking.com.

    Breakfast at Bistro and location of the hotel is great. Staff is very polite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    6.7
    Good location, reception staff and concierge very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Both lifts out of order when we arrived. Bar staff chatting so didn’t notice customers in the bar. Bar staff didn’t understand orders for drinks and overcharged.

    Good location, reception staff and concierge very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    10
    Loved staying here
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Don’t have any complaints.

    This property is a gem. The location can’t be beat. The staff was excellent. We enjoyed spending late evenings in their courtyard drinking wine and recovering from our daily outings. It’s very close to the Victoria and also the St. James underground. We walked to many historical sites and enjoyed spending time in the numerous parks near by. The room was comfortable and the ac worked great. Our breakfast was included in the price. Taxis were always out front.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The gym wasn't great but a pass is given to a local gym less than 5 minutes walk away.

    Fantastic service, Great rooms. Upgraded to a brand new suite which are excellent. 5 star service, above average little hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    8.8
    Stephen and Dorrinda
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overall everything was fine. No real complaints.

    Fantastic staff, most polite and professional hotel staff I have ever encountered. Incredible standards throughout the whole hotel in terms of fixtures and fittings. Food was of a very high standard even in the bar area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    8.3
    Had a very good trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Housekeeping needed help. One night, after return from a long day, we had no bath towels to take a shower. However, upon request, they delivered the towels quickly. Our last day there, after return to hotel around 3 pm., our room had not been made and we did not have fresh towels. We called again for towels and shortly after they were delivered, housekeeping came to do our room around 4pm. Also on that day, there was a lot of remodeling going on so it was a little noisy. Other than these situations, we had a very good trip.

    The property was close to Buckingham palace, the St James underground circle line and to the hop on and hop off stops. At night time it was very relaxing and the piano player was great. The workers were very curtious and accommodating. Upon arrival, our room was ready and in the remodeled area of the hotel. We enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel but I would wait until renovations were complete.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is under construction..... Noise starts very early but the worst thing is all the windows were COMPLETLY covered! I was very claustrophobic.

    People and location were great. Room was renovated and although I booked a 2 queen and they gave me a king I was fine because it was one of the renovated rooms. It was odd because I had a conversation with the front desk about how they were waiting for the 2 queen suite to be cleaned and then gave us keys to a king room without mentioning they were going to change.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    8.5
    Well located, for some purposes.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Both room keys were deactivated at 10am despite checkout time of midday - reason not clarified, and they were reinstated of course on request. Very high price, but London high season after all. Buckingham gate is choked with traffic

    Well located, for some purposes. Pleasant lobby, attentive staff. Excellent beds and bedding, room good but slightly disappointing for the room rate and description.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    7.5
    Ok apart from the items above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    TV was most irritating as it advised you when to have breakfast but then you had to start the whole process again and it did this every hour. The air conditioner did not work twice was fixed and finally insisted we go to another room - 6 day stay. Check out / was poor as they wanted to charge us extra for the moving to another rather better room and tried to suggest the payment I made was a deposit and not payment for the room. Breakfast was mediocre

    Bed was comfortable - bathroom small

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    7.5
    Vert nice room with air conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were unable to use the outside court yard on Sunday afternoon Due to a private party.On such a hot day this was very disapointing Also for the whole of our stay there was a problem with the lift's On of which was out of order the hotel was very busy .

    Vert nice room with air conditioning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant and friendly hotel and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very hot this weekend and unfortunately on Sunday late afternoon/early evening we could not sit outside in the court yard as there was a private function going on. There was not enough tables/chairs for the hotel guests to use outside (only about 3/4 that could be utilized by hotel guests). Not really adequate especially on such a lovely evening. More tables should have been free for paying quests to use.

    Pleasant and friendly hotel and staff. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    3.3
    Terrible experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Master Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn't get the suite we paid top dollar for. The trip was for a special occasion and the whole experience was so disappointing. When asked why we didn't get the room we booked they told us there wasnt one available and gave us a lesser category and the receptionship told us we were given an upgrade 😖

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    10
    Wonderful Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    The most marvellous hotel - I've never stayed anywhere as nice as this! Staff were all excellent, so pleasant and they all did their very best to make our stay as comfortable as they possibly could - which, in turn, made the whole experience just perfect in any way we could have expected. The ambience of the hotel itself was lovely and the atmosphere in the Courtyard (where the service was perfect, by the way) was lovely. The doormen, the concierges and the staff in the Bistro were particularly outstanding: all impressive in the skills, knowledge and helpfulness. Our room was faultless - and we even stayed in the smallest/cheapest! Very clean and tidy, perfectly maintained by the housemaids. Will definitely go back in the near future!

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, London Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: