Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Atholl Arms Hotel 3 stars

Bridgehead, Dunkeld, PH8 0AQ, United Kingdom

#6 of 7 hotels in Dunkeld

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 579 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    Reasonable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For next season, lift and replace all the carpets.

    This was a basic very reasonably priced place to spend thenight. For when you need a bed but are not willing to spend a lot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    We had a very restful and enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been better for us to be on the first floor as there is no lift. we could however manage the stairs but were a bit puffed out when we reached our room.

    The staff were extremely helpful,professional and efficient. The food was very good and the choice was excellent. It was a very peaceful hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    Two day break away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bedroom window wouldn't stay open. The catch was broken. Not so good in this hot weather. The bed wasn't very comfy either.

    the location was great. The staff friendly. The food was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel that just needs a boost
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plumbing in rooms 10 and 14 needs attention. Breakfast was a bit basic, dried prunes, no non- dairy available and very small piece of bacon served up.

    The location is ideal and the rooms and public areas are clean and bright.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Food was very disappointing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food

    Food was very disappointing ! Catch of the day consisted of 2 tailends of sea bass, rather dry, on what was supposed to be herb crusted potatoes with lemon sauce, of which there was none!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    another very pleasant and convenient stay in the middle of a very long journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I use this hotel as a very convenient half-way stop when travelling to see my daughter in Orkney. It is very well located, comfortable and meets all my needs for an overnight stop.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    The friendly staff nothing was to much bother for them.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendly staff nothing was to much bother for them. Made our stay very enjoyable Steven couldnt have been any more helpful, even tho it was a bank holiday weekend and they were run off their feet he always had a smile on his face and a friendly word. We will certainly be back to visit this hotel Wilma & Ian Glasgow

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Overall a good Hotel and great location just needs a bit more customer focus to make it really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV Showing sports in a bistro ? Don't get it... and the time it took to serve the food and drinks both for evening meal and breakfast was way too long

    Great location and good room with great riverside view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Great room and views, but food could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor continental breakfast, although it was an early one at 5am. Toast was burnt, as were nuts in muesli bizarrely. Loo sounded like the titanic going down when it flushed, with loud plumbing noises.

    Changed erroneous double bed to two singles very quickly on arrival. Fresh bar area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    just what we needed travelling to north of Scotland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff really friendly. easy to find off A9. parking just opposite down narrow lane. food very good. Dunkeld lovely village to wander round after a long day driving north.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    4.2
    A disappointment not to be repeated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 hand towel in the bathroom of a double room. Room shabby and in need of refurbishment. Service very slow in bistro and at breakfast on Saturday night and Sunday morning. Ate elsewhere on Sunday night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The girl that dealt with a problem we had with the lock on the door .she was soo helpful and friendly,got a.locksmith from Perth as our concert tickets were locked in the room .Nothing was too much trouble for her.Didnt get her name ,she worked on reception and also served breakfast .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Cute little town, the hotel an ok value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were ok, the heater kept making a clacking noise throughout the night...

    Good breakfast and location, just next to the river and on a street with restaurants, little cafes and a supermarket.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    Was ok, beautiful spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors where a bit thin which meant we could here everyone talking and walking up and down the corridor Also Breakfast was a little mid leading and on the small side.

    Was a beautiful stop and hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.3
    Good location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a bit tired and sad. It was clean but in need of some TLC. It was ok for 1 night as this was our last night before coming home so we just wanted to relax, however our room was facing the main street which was fine but extremely noisy when the bar bottles barrels etc were being put out. We also could not get our shower to work. It was either scorching hot or freezing cold...I did report this on checkout. We were lso very disappointed at the breakfast...although there was a choice we opted for the breakfast platter which consisted of 1 pork chipolata sausage, 1 piece of bacon, 1 tomato, 1 egg and a teaspoon of mushrooms. It had been pre cooked as it seemed a bit dried out and was Luke warm at best. We were surprised that there was no beef or steak sausage but this is just our observations. Of the 4 hotels we stayed at this was the most expensive pet charge at £13....2 of the others were only £10 and one didn't charge at all

    Good location. Friendly staff. Comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant overnight stay in a fascinating, picturesque location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In a cold early April the room could have been warmer with newer double glazed windows but there may be conservation rules which prevent this.

    Location, river and woodland views, great staff, hearty included breakfast and cosy lounge with fire. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.7
    The food was great. The room was clean but furnishings were tired and needed refurbishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was tired and needed refurbished. It was very strange to find a water pipe running the length of our room ON TOP of the carpet!

    The food was great. Lovely to see vegan options

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.8
    Great relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure from shower very weak indeed, extractor fan in bathroom is very loud, like a Chinook helicopter, meaning we couldn't put light on in Bathroom when one of us was asleep. Hot water takes in excess of 10+ minutes to heat. Requested welcome bottle of prosecco in room, astonished it cost £24.95!

    Staff are fab, river views from bedroom are superb, food was great, overall we really relaxed, and will return!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.3
    New terrace area by the river was very nice including the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast was average Room freezing cold on arrival had to wait a few hours for it to heat up as there was only 1 electric heater. Hot tap in sink intimitant. Initial check in wasn’t very welcoming WiFi was poor, was quicker using my own 4G

    New terrace area by the river was very nice including the food served. Hotel easy to find and parking convenient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    6.3
    Lovely warm room, comfy beds, dogs welcome.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    3 flights of stairs to our room. Bathroom could do with a lot of attention re decorating.

    Lovely warm room, comfy beds, dogs welcome. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.5
    Good location. Small room but comfortable enough. Quite a few stairs to negotiate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff could have been more friendly.

    The room was a little small but comfortable and all you need. The breakfast was good . The tv was not working but this was also quickly attebded to,. We had help with our luggage up the stairs. We didn't eat at their restaurant for dinner but found a lovely warm welcoming pub down the road with good food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    Fab...could have stayed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains but no blind ...big window onto high street so shut curtains ... and that is being over picky

    £69 double room and two cooked breakfasts...exc quality local sourced food too...free parking too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel room let it down a bit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was lovely just the room was a let down. We paid the upgrade and stayed in room 1 which was a big room but we're the wardrobe was it was hard to open and as we were in room 1 everyone had to go past us to get to there room so was a bit noise which was a shame as we had the upgrade. The bar man who is relatively new was fantastic and the cocktails were amazing. Over all the stay was good just a bit of a let down with the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facecloths or tissues in the bathroom. Dinner very good but somewhat overpriced.

    Lovely location in the middle of Dunkeld overlooking the river Tay. Interior fresh and clean. Really spacious suite with good quality furnishings. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Despite the cold bathroom this time, our stay was "top notch" as always.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in our room was very cold. The heater wasn't powerful enough to heat the large room in winter,but it would be super in the warmer months. The hotel staff would have given us a different room(with warmer bathroom) if we'd asked, but it wasn't really a big problem for us.

    Food is excellent. Service is exceptional- everyone is caring and considerate. The bedroom was really comfortable and warm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant stay, would recommend staying here to friends, comfortable hotel with lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that the room was very cold on arrival and we had to put the heater on immiediately and go down stairs for a coffee until room warmed up. It’s was too cold to use the room facilities for coffee at this point. Perhaps it would be a good idea, especially in the winter, to heat the room up a little for guests arriving. Also you can’t run the hot water tap in the sink at the same time as the bath is being run, don’t know if that’s just the way the system works or not. Only criticism of the dining experience was the Sticky Toffee Pudding sponge was quite heavy, would have been nicer if the sponge was lighter.

    Everything was very good and although I didn’t have a dog I was delighted to find out the hotel welcomed dogs. Food in bistro was,in the main,very good and service was good too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.9
    The location was perfect for exploring the area, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no heating in the bathroom and only single glazing. As we had stayed when it was very cold and snowy it could have been better on the heating front.

    The location was perfect for exploring the area, and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location, lovely staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast included wasn't great. My poached eggs tasted sour, and I had a sore tummy afterwards even after just having one bite. My partner enjoyed his fry up but the amount of food you got with a fry up was small.. especially when on the menu the breakfast is priced at about £15. Although it was included in our stay it definitely wouldn't be worth the money. The cold buffet was adequate. I felt like the hotel in general was a bit dated, for the price paid I'd expect more. The bathroom was tiny, the shower was so small, and I would have like to have had a bath.

    The location was amazing. The staff were friendly, and the bed was comfy. It was very clean and tidy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    A good stay that would have been excellent if a few things were fixed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress in room 4 needs replacing as it sagged in the middle, the street light outside the bedroom window turns off and on throughout the night so a blackout blind would be appreciated as the curtains didn’t block this out. The bathroom was lacking hot water to the sink and there was no soap. The ceiling cornices have a lot of cobwebs that need dusting away.

    The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent - the breakfast platter was delicious and we ate dinner in the restaurant one evening and can thoroughly recommend it. The public spaces were clean, bright and comfortable. The bedroom was bright and felt like it had recently been refurbished.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    4.6
    Would not stay again but a very good locstion
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not worth £99 even though I had a river views. It was cold I had to put the heating on and it took all afternoon and throughost the night to hear the room needed to use the extra blanket. The towel warmers did not work and the bathroom wasuites baltic. This is an old building and historical but rooms need TLC.

    Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Clean, friendly, nice staff
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs,not used to them and made me realise i need to exercise more! And the old dog struggled a bit.

    The food was super tasty, a vegan menu, which you don't see very often. Not busy at this time of year which made it even more pleasant. Getting to sit beside the fires made it feel extra cosy. The whole place was spotless, not a cobweb anywhere!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    Lovely, helpful and friendly staff but room lacked warmth.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is old and didn't appear to have central heating. Whilst there is a heater in the bedroom it was not switched on when we entered the room. It was freezing and took hours for the room to warm up. I had to leave my coat on, so cannot say it was a comfortable experience. As it had been a cold day, and obviously takes awhile for the room to warm up, I was surprised this hadn't been a consideration. It was a shame because everything else about the hotel was great.

    The staff were fantastic. Very helpful and friendly. Couldn't do enough for us. Pet friendly, not pet tolerant. Lovely location. We had a very tasty, reasonably priced meal in the hotel's Bistro.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.3
    A pleasant and good value overnight stay in Dunkeld.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes but the bar/restaurant didn't look as enticing or comfortable as it could have, so we went out for dinner.

    Excellent location in the village; guest car park across the road; nice sized room and quiet; good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.5
    our stay was last minute pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As said above warmer restuarant. Fresh flowers on table or nice dry ones.

    Room was clean took a while to heat up nice view river.Restuarant for dinner was cool felt although food was good it seemed bit pricey £8.95 Cullen skink???Lounge area was comfortable fire was on cosier.Breakfast was lovely dead flowers on table looked sad.Attention to detail seemed bit lacking.Think hotel was due to close for a break late january this might be the reason little tired looking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    6.3
    Good budget stay but don't expect the Hilton !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little tired - communal areas etc but for a budget stay justified. Staff were poorly dressed / appearance.

    Very affordable hotel - good considering the rate.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    6.3
    On the whole good, but given the 3pm check in I would’ve expected the room to be clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    3 o’clock check in. Bathroom floor not vacuumed Had to phone reception for toilet paper

    Breakfast very good. Restaurant service was good as was the food

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.1
    We enjoyed our overnight stay, principally because of the positive features mentioned above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of single glazing and the cold outside, the windows were wet and the room was cold, though better when we put on the heater. Getting hot water to run in the bath/shower was very difficult and seemed to rely on the hot tap in the sink to run first, but once we got it running the water was good and hot. Because of the snow and ice, we couldn't use the hotel car park as it is down a fairly steep slope, though in better weather it must be very picturesque.

    Dinner was delicious and well presented as was breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel , though perhaps in need of a little tlc , was a great example of the Victorian period and had interesting old pieces of evidence that Queen Victoria and Prince Albert had visited. It felt nice to be in a hotel with such a lot of history.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.5
    More than adequate room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More than adequate room.Comfortable bed.Guests should be warned that shower can turn extremely hot very quickly.Nice breakfast.Staff friendly and helpful.Room clean and well serviced

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.8
    Breakfast good staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was Baltic too cold to take a shower had to ask for a heater to warm it up can’t believe no one has complained about this before

    Breakfast good staff friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    A lovely place for a weekend break. It was a super base for lots of local walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all fine so no complaints at all.

    For once I had a lovely vegan breakfast. Lots of other hotels don't offer this option. Friendly staff. Lovely room with a river view.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.5
    Nice friendly and cozy place in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was large but a bit sparse- It would benefit from a small couch possibly. The room could maybe do with a wee freshen up decor-wise but it was clean and cosy. The breakfast could have been a wee bit better for the money too, the veggie sausages weren't great and maybe 2 per item would have filled the plate a bit better. I honestly liked the place though, just a wee bit of room for improvement =]

    Friendly staff, nice old building. Good parking at a nice location down by the river. The wee garden would be a great place to sit during the warmer months. The location was great, a brilliant place to explore the area from. The bar downstairs was nice and cosy. The bed was comfy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant but don’t expect too much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold on arrival but the heater did keep it warm when it was on. The bathroom had a hair and dirty mark at the sink- otherwise it was clean. The room was basic and slightly dated. There were holes in the linoleum in bathroom but it was fine.

    The Location was great. Found it difficult to locate the Car park but when we did it was fine. The staff were very accommodating. The macaroni in the bar is amazing!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.5
    Brilliant location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being unable to open curtains after 4pm and before we were fully dressed next morning as our room overlooked the Main Street ..so we felt a little claustrophobic We were a party of three husband wife and brother...we wanted a three bedded room but none available so we had to have two rooms. My husband and I were put into twin room with 2 single beds and brother into a double room ?

    The location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    5.8
    Basic hotel which we managed to get at a discounted price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was unbearably sloped (room 4) & workmen drilling in the hall at 8:15am was a rude awakening Pics of rooms on site didn't marry up with actual experience Would have been upset to have paid full price

    Staff were great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.6
    Good for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bigger breakfasts ..........1 Sausage 1 Slice of Bacon and 1 Egg a bit miserly to put it mildly

    Big old fashioned bedrooms the Victorians knew how to sleep in style I swear I saw the ghost of Prince Albert creeping about

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.1
    I wouldn't stay there again. I didnt think it was value for money particularly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV was really too small. The kettle had to sit on floor to reach the plug. The coffee making facilities were poor, hardly any coffee and no biscuits! There was little surface space in bathroom to put anything on. The room was noisy as it was at the top of the stairs and open to the lounge area and reception. It cost £10.05 for a pint of beer and a large glass of wine in the very ordinary adjoining bar. Extortionate!!

    The breakfast was excellent. The room was warm,spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was a good size too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    5.0
    Not very happy at all.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was poor as I had dinner when I arrived that night. The shower wouldnt work in the morning and when I got to the desk they said I should have pulled a cord somewhere. It was too late to go look for it as I had run out of time to go to work.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    5.8
    Nice for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had no record of our booking when we arrived even though we had paid in advance. We were lucky to get a room!! The bed was uncomfortable and shower very difficult to work.

    Nice staff, excellent breakfast and good location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.9
    We had an enjoyable stay, this wasn't our first visit, will return again but not to a budget rm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The standard of the room, even taking into account it was classified as a "budget room". The over use of bleach and the use of spray detergents on tables both of which i am allergic to. And this is now quite a common allergy.

    The breakfasts, the lounge seating area and the public bar.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    very very good food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    food in the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast was excellent, the food reviews were actually a reason we stayed here and we weren't disappointed. Staff were good and friendly, although it felt a bit understaffed at times, but I guess it's heading to winter. Parking was easy and if their own car park were to be full there is another car park nearby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.1
    Handy location from main roads, fantastic location- superb building- room for improvement though.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor was extremely bland and chilly on arrival - cooked Scottish breakfast - although tasty, was small and inadequate.

    Excellent location and authentic building

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    The breakfast was great, and we loved having a view of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was quite basic and the location and thinness of our door meant we heard everything that happened in the lobby.

    The breakfast was great, and we loved having a view of the river. Staff were amazing and so accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    Lovely location, great that dogs can stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I never noticed on booking.com that there was a £13 fee per dog, so was hit with a fairly substantial £52 bill for our dogs for one night. That puts me off staying again, I understand why there would be a charge for dogs but I think there should be cap on the price.

    Lovely location, great that dogs can stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Friendly, good value hotel in the heart of Dunkeld.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A king sized bed rather than just a double and the straight backed chairs replaced with small armchairs , would have made this room perfect.

    Room had super view and bed very comfy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    Very enjoyable and friendly staff.
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shelf in the toilet could not put anything on it as it slopped everything fell off it useless.

    Breakfast was lovely. Bed very comfy and warm location was excellent staff very friendly and nice nothing was too much trouble.enjoyable stay all the way from Canada x

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.2
    happy and well satisfied - would come back again; cocker spaniel enjoyed it too!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Info on parking could have been clearer- suggested there was a "public" car park nearby - there was, but also the hotel had its own private park even nearer. We paid for the public park to find we didn't need to!

    good breakfast dinner ok good location and on our route and pet friendly we already knew the town and were not disappointed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    The staff was so very friendly, the cooking was good and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    If the room would have been a little bigger, it would have been nice.

    The staff was so very friendly, the cooking was good and the entire house felt so Scottish and cosy. The location near the river, right next to the bridge was beautiful. It was a lovely stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    we
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was not very powerful,more like a trickle than a power shower

    The riverside room was very nice and the beds very comfortable. We enjoyed our short stay and will make another visit

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit cool and as the room was overlooked by other buildings blinds or net curtains would have been good.

    The staff were so friendly, helpful and chatty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    A great place to enjoy Highland Perthshire
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toiletries could be better

    Friendly staff and lovely old hotel in one of Scotland's most charming locations. The kiosk and seating area next to the bridge on the Tay provides probably one of the nicest spots to relax, eat and drink in the UK.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a small lovely town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel parking was full one night and I had to use a public parking lot which was a little less convenient. A minor issue as I would still use this hotel again.

    Lovely hotel in a small lovely town. One of my favourite stops on this holiday in Scotland

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.1
    great location and good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    as we were only there for 1 night we had no reason to dislike anything would use this hotel again as a stop if touring in the highlands again

    the outside dinning area is excellent with a fantastic view off the river and central location in town dinner in the bistro was excellent and good value breakfast was of a high standard staff were friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    Over all nice stay , shame about the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My breakfast was ok , felt the sausages could be better quality , they are very small and you only got 1, my partners smoked haddock wasn't good , rubbery like had been cooked too long or heat up in microwave

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely old hotel in historic town, friendly staff and very good food.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Acoustics in breakfast room. With bare tables and floor, and the kitchen close by, continual clanking of crockery and cutlery was very noticeable. A dog charge of £13 (per night) we felt was hefty.

    Relaxed, informal atmosphere. Dining in lounge, quiet environment, our dog stretched out beside us. Appetising menu, enjoyed evening meal. Waterside cafe with outdoor seating Lovely walks rights from door.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Pets welcome even in one of the restaurants.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pets welcome even in one of the restaurants. Fabulous views from our "river view rooms" which are definitely worth the extra in my opinion. Great outside bar area down at the river.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    Perfect for our needs (family gathering in town), nice staff super location.No lift, plumbing dodgy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift, which was a blow as I had a bad leg and we were on the second floor. Should have checked that myself though. The bath was very noisy when it was being run - the plumbling generally could do with a good upgrade. Lovely drinks area by the river across the road and parking right beside.

    The location was very good, right by the bridge over the Tay and in the middle of the High Street. The downstairs seating area (lounge) was very comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent. The staff were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    4.6
    For £332.00p I feel a little cheated, my reasons for visit meant just accept and be wiser next year.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Access to parking, Accessories in bathroom, most hotels provide Shampoo, Body care, Clean glass beakers protected in plastic bag, Tissues, Toilet brush, etc. You provided Hand Soap, Unprotected beakers.

    The bed was Comfortable, freedom of movement.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    5.8
    An excellent location but the hotel needs a spruce up to get it up to 21st century standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one hand towel was supplied and on one day it had a hole in it. The radiator in the bedroom looked like it hadn't been wiped clean for weeks. The tea tray could have included a choice of biscuits which is what you would expect for the price.

    The location and the views across the River Tay were excellent. The choice of breakfast was good and the food was lovely except for the sliced "Mother's Pride" type bread.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    great hotel and excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Everything thin was fantastic from breakfast to the staff, couldn't be any more helpful and most pleasant. Would recommend this Hotel and location to my friends and family.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    3.8
    Not what I expected and was bitterly disappointed. So glad we'd only booked one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was extremely poor - bacon dry, sausage burnt, eggs overdone. Bathroom - light switch and mirror way too high even for a tall person. Could not switch light on or use the mirror. Meeting place restaurant - food very poor for price paid. Generally - insufficient staff so serving meals, then on reception; Had to wait several minutes at reception when we arrived for someone to arrive on reception desk; staff need to receive training as a grunt as a welcome is dreadful. Will not be returning or recommend it to anyone despite its great location.

    It's location by the River Tay. Cafe at the bottom of the garden/car park next to the River Tay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Stay st the Attol Arms Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should be a ramp for disabled people.

    I am a back sufferer I found the beds very comfortable. The room was warm , the bathroom was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing compared to the previous year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was certainly not value for money although it was a suite the room and ensuite certainly did not come up to a suite standard. Bathroom didn't look as tho it had been cleaned over the two days we were there the towels most certainly had not been changed and for the rate we paid that was poor. Room was cold and the sofas were ready for the bin .

    Size if the bedroom and location of the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Elegant and comfy
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only drawback was room was 2 floors up and no lift. Difficult for less mobile people and not very convenient for taking dogs out! However it was all they had for that night and everything else was excelletbeautiful characterful

    Beautiful building super location and views good food and helpful friendly staff. Lovely big room and comfy beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing stay in stunning setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing was that we could not open our window !

    The location is stunning . The hotel is very comfortable ,with nice living room to relax in . It is not modern or flash , but very relaxing . Breakfast was great , and we had a good meal in the Bistro one evening . The garden at the front by the river was fantastic, and great to have a little bar there too ! The staff were lovely. The room was on the small size , but fine .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.1
    Area around the hotel was lovely, limited parking in hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Area around the hotel was lovely, limited parking in hotel car park due to lack of thought by other guests. Breakfast was nice although would be better if buffet style rather than ordering from a waiter/ess.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: