Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Auld Alliance 4 stars

East Terrace, Kingussie, PH21 1JS, United Kingdom

#2 of 9 hotels in Kingussie

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 241 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    A lovely, comfy place to relax!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had very warm summer weather and some windows in the house don’t open.

    Lydie is an excellent host and there is attention to detail in every aspect of this guesthouse.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    A full of character B&B with a French twist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shame that the restaurant was closed during our stay as dining there in the evening would have been the 'icing on the cake'.

    A full of character B&B with a French twist. A comfortable, spacious and very clean room with a welcoming dram. A warm and attentive welcome with the visit finished off by an inventive breakfast of exceptional quality.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay in Auld Alliance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Downstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing !

    The house was really nice, and our host a very pleasant and interesting person. We enjoyed our stay in her house, and breakfast was absolutely excellent. Will definitely be back !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful Host, accomodation and food in a suberb setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Lovely guest house in perfect location. Large rooms and great views. Delightful and accomplished host, who is also a classically trained french chef. Breakfast totally exceeded what you would expect in a B&B/Guest House.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    We will always try and book again here if in Scotland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Downstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ensuite shower and toilet was good, but not to the extremely high standard of everything else.

    Staff - fantastic and so honestly friendly. Breakfast fantastic- the best I've ever had in a B&B. Each day we even recieved a free wisky taster in our room. Location great, nice view, nice terrace area. Nice house, very well decorated. Very cosy lounge with open fire. Maybe the double room costs €10 more than the average B&B, but it's absolutely worth it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location, outstanding breakfast and a relaxing stay!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed wasn't that comfortable.

    The room was lovely and large with a great view over the nearby hills. We had a large dog with us and there was plenty of room. The host/owner was amazing - she left dog treats, bowls and a dog towel for us which was much appreciated. We were there during a quiet time and it was such a lovely, relaxing place to get away. We really loved that there was a shared living room space available on the main floor. We were able to eat breakfast there with our dog each morning. The breakfast was outstanding. It was why we chose to stay at the Auld Alliance vs. other options (based on traveller reviews) and it lived up to the great reviews! Would certainly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    A fantastic place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Downstairs
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fantastic place to stay. Couldn’t be more welcoming or nicer to stay in. The food is particularly wonderful. -!/ we wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    We had an enjoyable time and would certainly consider staying there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the breakfast was very good all the cooked dishes involved eggs. It would have been nice to have had an option of fish (other than salmon - ie kippers).

    The accommodation was well situated. II was very clean and comfortable and the dinner was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    Kingussie gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Shower took a while to warm up but that was allowed

    Good was amazing with lovely attention to detail and lots of little touches like freshly baked croissants and homemade bread. Host was friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Loved the whole stay! Such caring attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure is not great so the shower could be a little stronger

    Amazing food, enjoyed every meal and the attention to detail was extraordinary!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Great food and a warm welcome in the Highlands
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower could use more pressure and there were some odd little things, like there not being a convenient place to plug in the tea kettle. We would absolutely return though!

    The breakfast was amazing. The quality of the food at this hotel is a massive selling point. Generally lovely and warm atmosphere and well-located for seeing the area. Beautiful views from our room and the breakfast table.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Warm, friendly, and perfect location for outdoor activities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing to dislike

    We stayed in the studio, clean well maintained comfy, however, it was the little touches that made the biggest difference. Home made fresh bread & jam & milk, butter, bottled water in the fridge, ground coffee, instant coffee and tea

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Great location, lovely hosts, felt like a 5 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cannot think of anything

    Food amazing both breakfast and dinner, friendly hosts, great location, pet friendly. Loved sitting near the open fire in the lounge. The skiing and the walks were amazing. Stayed in the studio so had self catering as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    Ideal spot for a relaxing break. ak
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Downstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lots of little touches, a dram in the room, delicious home baking, a roaring log fire. The welcome was very warm. Lydie is a charming hostess, and the food was superb.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    a lovely old hotel, with friendly staff, and owner, great food.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a very warm welcome from Lydie, the owner, who met us as we got out of the car. She led us to a nice clean room with everything we needed. The food was lovely, not what I would normally eat, I am not easy to please, but was a fantastic change from the norm, I think worthy of a michellin star.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic relaxing break but Kingussie itself was very quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Downstairs
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The instantaneous electric shower was just adequate but would, I suspect, struggle to produce a satisfactory flow if and when heating colder 'winter' water. The excellent breakfast (four courses - not buffet) although perfectly adequate for both me and my wife, could be a little lacking in quantity for those wishing to 'fuel up' for the many excellent walks in the area. Also, access to good evening meals outside of the Auld Alliance required a drive to Aviemore and back.

    The owner and the staff were friendly, attentive and extremely efficient. The accommodation was scrupulously clean. The excellent lounge with an open fire was a nice feature. The food was superb. The evening meal may seem a little expensive at first glance, but the quality and the variety more than justify the price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.3
    A good location with excellent views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was lovely and a high quality but a four course menu seemed a bit excessive for us. The pressure in the shower was quite poor and the water only seemed to be one temperature in the morning - extremely hot!

    A good location with excellent views. Lots of excellent walks in the local area. A cosy, well decorated property. We appreciated having a wee whisky in the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful welcome and the owner could not have been more accommodating and helpful !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am a shower person so no stand up shower a let down but old house so no big deal. The water was hot and the room well heated so jumping out of a bath tub was no challenge.

    Breakfast was fantastic with a great choice and well cooked and wonderful extras like real French croisssants! Dinner absolutely delicious with well chosen wines and excellent service and ambiance, which is so important!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Unforgettable experience
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Ensuite Downstairs
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi would have been an added bonus, but being on holiday, nice to be out of the loop.

    The breakfasts were a feast. All the staff were very friendly and very helpful. I would give this five stars, the evening meal was a taste fest. The room s were spotless and very comfortable, a big log fire in the guests sitting room was a welcoming sight after visiting all the villages and attractions within easy reach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    I'm ready to face work again, having been re-freshed!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Our stay... It was not long enough!!!

    Very relaxing atmosphere, friendly staff and the food was exquisite! The Auld Alliance is excellently located for exploring the Highlands!! We will certainly return here next time we cross the border!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Always a pleasure to be here and look forward to a return soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Downstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The length of our stay!

    The whole 'Auld Alliance' experience is worth it - there is a very warm welcome from Lydie. The decor in the room is lovely and the small complimentary whisky a bonus. The breakfast is so tasty with plenty of choice and all freshly prepared using Lydie's home made products. The warm, flaky croissants are a particular draw to the dining room! The set dinner is worth trying - absolutely delicious!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Lydie is a wonderful host, the place is clean and cozy and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only having limited time to stay and enjoy Lydie's wonderful breakfasts...

    Lydie is a wonderful host, the place is clean and cozy and her cooking is amazing!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Top of the class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Upstairs
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Leaving.

    My wife and i stayed for three nights for our Anniversary and my wife.s birthday,from start to finish the owner,Lydie and her staff made us feel so welcome,they were all just brilliant ,such a charming old house with roaring log fire in lounge,beautiful dinning room with lovely ambiance ,Lydie,s food is just to die for,all home cooked and prepared,fresh home baked bread every day,ive never experienced a cheese board like Lydie,s before.wonderful.wines fabulous,nice cold beer,and a dram of Whisky in your room every night,believe me it does not get any better than this,until the next time,Slangevar to The Auld Alliance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Set the bar too high
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Probably, the best place I ever stayed at during the last 3-4 years. Me and my partner stayed for two days to the studio in Auld Alliance and it was totally worth it. We were pleasantly surprised by how big the studio was and everything looked totally new (kitchen, furniture, etc) The attention to detail is ridiculous. There was even a homemade banana bread and jam waiting for us in the studio (along with crisps, coffee, tea, etc). An amazing place overall, we will visit it again. p.s. One of the few places that the photos look exactly to the rooms that you will get.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely peaceful break.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe a D,B&B price option.

    View from our bedroom was tremendous. Breakfast - healthy and outstanding. Staff lovely & very helpful. Additional dinner we had was top restaurant quality. Would highly recommend trying.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing to fault.

    All in all a no less than perfect stay at Auld Alliance for our 25th Anniversary. Perfect host, friendly staff, stunning location, atmospheric house, cozy sofas in lounge with open log fire. Nothing I could say about the food would do it full justice, from the homemade bread to incredible cheeseboard and everything in between - every mouthful was evidence of the love and attention Lydie puts into her cooking - the flavours of each element of every course were an adventure for the palate-even the carrots were to be savoured and tomatoes at breakfast were little explosions of flavour. Auld Alliance is no.1 on our 'return to' list - streets ahead of anywhere we've ever stayed! Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Absolutely fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Upstairs
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing we genuinely didn't like.

    The accommodation was spotless. Staff were welcoming and very friendly. The food was fantastic. Beautiful old house. Wonderful log fire in lounge. Excellent in all aspects. Am looking forward to next visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Upstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like in Old Alliance

    We loved the accommodation it was a lovely rambling large home and extremely comfortable, the staff were friendly. Loved Kingussie, and the surrounding areas are truely amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    4.2
    Very very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Downstairs
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no chest of drawers so we had to leave most of our bits in the case. You have to boil the kettle on the floor, as there is one plug near to the tea facilities. The room was very tired and needed sprucing up and even on asking about a chest of drawers the owner never came back with an answer. We wanted to book an evening meal but was told the restaurant was not open for the nights we were sraying but it was advertised in the room. It was a pokey room which we looked forward in leaving behind. Definitely will not return

    The breakfast was very nice with freshly cooked items

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    We were in Kingussie two nights as we toured Scotland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Downstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about

    The breakfast was exquisite! Beautifully presented, lovingly prepared and every dish was tasted heavenly. This may sound extreme but you must stay there to find out yourself. Lydie was the perfect hostess

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Friendly, welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Ensuite Downstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, welcoming staff. Lovely spacious room. Comfortable common area. Fantastically, delicious food for both breakfast and dinner. Amazing croissants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful trip, the accommodation was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Ensuite Upstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything perfect!

    Breakfast cooked by the French owner/chef was superb. What's more, if you want to eat 5 star rated food book your evening meal with Lydie, you will be in for a treat. Rooms beautifully appointed Victorian/Edwardian style to suit the house; and the welcome is extremely warm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Upstairs
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed mattress was too hard and the room quite dark with only two power points at ground level that I could find.

    Large room powerful shower fresh bottled water everyday.... owner and staff very friendly and knowlegable about the area...good quality fresh food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    A thoroughly enjoyable stay amongst beautiful scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Upstairs
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing significant. The WiFi is a bit slow but that is par for the course in rural Scotland. It might even get you off your phone which is no bad thing.

    The breakfast was really amazing and definitely worth paying for, they give you loads of food including freshly baked croissants, muesli and smoked salmon and eggs, which is a great start for a long day of mountain hikes. All of it is delicious too. The rooms are very spacious, the period furnishings give the rooms plenty of character without being kitsch. It all feels like a real bedroom and not a hotel room. The dram that is supplied to your room daily is another highlight that was much appreciated. Location is excellent very close to local amenities and easy to get to by road. Kingussie itself is nice, albeit very small, but on the plus side surrounded by stunning scenery, much of which is visible from the Auld Alliance as it is at the top of a hill. Staff were friendly and helpful and there was remarkably little paperwork and faff involved in getting our key or checking out. Overall me and my partner had an amazing time and I would absolutely recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Overall we definitely recommend this delightful B&B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Downstairs
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have provided feedback to management that the mattress needs replacing.

    The staff were very welcoming and friendly, the breakfast was exceptional, location perfect for our base to explore the region.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful catering, comfortable room and welcoming and helpful owner and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Downstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing was a little temperamental!

    Fantastic breakfasts - everything homemade including bread and preserves. Hot options available along with a daily special.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    do not tell every one or we will not be able to get a booking !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    absolutely nothing

    The Whole Experience was Superb , with breakfast & dinner a real treat & siting in the lounge with wonderful log fire burning in the hearth & drinking our Whiskies , with other interesting guests from around the world ( what more could you ask for )

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Great base to see the Cairngorms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Upstairs
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak shower. Feather pillows. Kingussie itself did not have very good facilities for visitors.

    Perfect freshly made croissants. Comfortable spacious room. Excellent staff. Top quality food. Nightcap and home made biscuits left in room daily.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Incredible view of Ruthven Barracks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Upstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Incredible view of Ruthven Barracks Had tea and biscuits in the lounge on our arrival Delightful fire in the lounge each afternoon and evening 5 star French cooking for dinner Friendly staff met our every request

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Best place we stayed on our two week vacation! Beautiful place with wonderful Staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Upstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved everything!

    This place was wonderful. Great hospitality in a very cozy, comfortable environment. This was our favorite place that we stayed during our two week trip to Scotland. Upon arrival Liddy was genuinely very kind and accommodating. Everything was perfect, from the breakfast to the fire in the evening. Thank you Liddy! Next time we will definitely stay and enjoy one of your amazing dinners as well. If only all places could be this wonderful!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Upstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It's hard to avoid superlatives describing this stopover. Everything was perfect - from the quirky, interesting decor to the fantastic breakfast. And we were made most welcome (including the dog). Just sorry we weren't there on one of the evenings the restaurant opens (Wednesday to Saturday) as I'm sure dinner there would be memorable. We hope to come back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    We booked the studio and this was much more better than we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked the studio and this was much more better than we expect. the studio is brand new refurbished and so nicely decorated, we loved it! Breakfast was awesome, the best we had on our trip and at the end the staff is so nice, we had a great time! Thanks so much for everything!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    a hidden GEM in Kinguise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Upstairs
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing. we loved everything.

    absolutely everything. a marvellous surprise and the whole experience exceeded our expectations. food was gourmet and quality, quality, quality.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful B&B, fantastic food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Upstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no wifi in the guest rooms - just the lobby and main areas of the house.

    Auld Alliance is a really neat B&B, and we highly enjoyed our stay. Very clean, our room was very large and comfortable, but the food is the absolute highlight. Everything was delicious! Highly recommend the dinner. Would absolutely return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    A little gem of a place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only a couple of things really, and these do not detract from the score - the hot tap in our bathroom sink was missing one of the cross handle things was missing, and you have to put the kettle on the floor to boil as the lead doesn't reach the table.

    Room was spacious, clean and inviting, comfy bed and a large bathroom. Tea/coffee facilities and a little decanter of whisky -lovely. Other little things like tissues and facecloths provided all add up to that something special. Breakfast is exquisite, lots of choice, all beautifully prepared and served in a lovely dining room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    Are we first guests from China?(*^ー^) beautiful house,clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Ensuite Downstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Are we first guests from China?(*^ー^) beautiful house,clean and comfortable room,best breakfast and dinner,everything were wonderful. Although I am not a good english speaker,staff tried her best to give us best service.Thank you!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Breakfast was delicious and the meal at night exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Upstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was delicious and the meal at night exceptional. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed sitting beside the roaring fire in a lovely comfy roomy. Felt like a home from home

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    If you wish to have the most memorable stay in the Highlands, you must stay at the Auld Alliance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Downstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely nothing to dislike or complain about.

    This is the most wonderful place to stay. We have never stayed anywhere we liked better. From the minute we arrived till we left was a wonderful experience. We were very sad to say goodbye, but we can look forward to returning. You can be sure of a great welcome, being very well looked after and magnificent food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Brilliant Hotel. Would have no trouble recommending to family and friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Downstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are used to a firm mattress at home. Our bed had a memory foam mattress which we found to be too soft. Therefore not a great nights sleep.

    A beautifully presented Hotel which has been lovingly furnished with great taste and style by Lydie the owner. Breakfast was amazing and I can recommend Lydies muesli, a surprise in each spoonful!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    A wonderful establishment which I would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Downstairs
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The Auld Alliance was superb with an excellent breakfast and a very attentive owner. The room was well supplied with tea, coffee and home made biscuits plus an unheard of dram for each of us every night

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.6
    Total comfort in the Cairngorms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Downstairs
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was a little softer than we are used to

    Superb freshly prepared food especially the croissants Wonderful hospitality, nothing was ever a problem Gorgeous open fire with view of the Cairngorms as the sun set

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    10
    As above.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Ensuite Downstairs
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having my wife Tracy with me to share the experience.

    Could not fault this place, food 5 star!!! From the large log fire to the little Touches like the whiskey decanter in my room which was topped up each day with a first class malt, they all made for a lovely week. Please don't tell everyone about this place want keep this one for myself!!! Will put this on top of the list for a visit with my wife. Many thanks Booking.com team. Philip Dainton Director RTD/Training & Accreditation.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    10
    Fantastic culinary gem of a B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Upstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food (both breakfast and dinner) was all home made and of excellent quality. There was plenty of choice for breakfast, including freshly baked bread, fresh fruit and egg dishes. The dinner was delicious with very nice wine recommended by the owner/chef. We were offered fresh milk for tea in our room every day and even the biscuits in the room were home baked and lovely. Lydie, the owner, was very welcoming and flexible with breakfast times. The house is lovely, the room nice and warm and we felt truly pampered.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    8.8
    enjoyed stay criticism I hope is fair and constructive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Downstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom a bit cold even with heater full up.lounge log fire not lit in lounge daytime very cold.lack of convenient plugs in room,plug for tv etc seemed overloaded.

    Friendly,good breakfast,well situated.whisky in room a nice touch.bed comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    10
    What a lovely place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pleased with everything!

    The welcome and kindness of our hostess, the breakfasts and evening meal - excellent. A friendly informal place with lovely lounge with its open fire. Hope to go back!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    Gastronomic delight!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fabulous cooking. Everything made on premises. Best breakfast we've ever had! Croissants were superb. Lydie has thought of everything to make her guests feel comfortable and welcome. Whisky in room was much appreciated. Dinner was wonderful. Cooked to perfection. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    Weekend of treats
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Downstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lydie is a wonderful host and we were made to feel very welcome and comfortable. We really appreciated the complimentary whiskey and the living room had a lovely fire going where we could sit in the evening with a drink. We loved the cheese tasting evening. And Lydie made the most delicious breakfasts! All in all a weekend of treats.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    9.6
    Outstanding venue and host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Upstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really can't think of anything I'd change or missed, would definitely go back.

    The atmosphere, décor were wonderful. Period feel and a lovely mood to the house. Lydie's cooking is exceptional and the evening meal on the Wednesday was amazing. Her knowledge of the area and helpful advice on routes and sights was invaluable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.6
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only complaint was the central heating remained on all night making the room very warm for sleeping. We tried to turn down the radiator but to no avail although we were probably doing it wrong.

    Really lovely property in a great location. The host was welcoming, friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was outstanding. All ingredients were fresh and made to order......the pastries were the best we have ever tasted!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    The whisky decanter in the room was much appreciated, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Downstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was excellent.

    The whisky decanter in the room was much appreciated, and the food for the evening meal was superb. Everyone was very friendly. The recommended walk around Loch An Eilein was a delight.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Upstairs
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing not to like!

    Exceptional b and b/restaurant run by a charming woman and friendly staff. Very comfortable and nicely decorated Victorian villa, with brilliant food at breakfast and evenings. Good value wine list too. Would recommend to anyone in the area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    Weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very warm welcome. Room delightful and comfortable. Breakfast is a highlight. The porridge has to be tasted. Lovely fresh baked crisp croissant with home made jam. Definitely recommend to all.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    9.6
    Best B&B in Scotland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Downstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lydie is the best host, her house is very beautiful and confortable with the most cozy living room, and she's a real chef (best breakfast we've ever had). She does everything to make your stay at her place confortable and memorable, and all this for a reasonable price. Thank you Lydie!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    9.2
    A taste of Provence in bonny Scotland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall Wi-Fi connection was poor.

    Friendly and welcoming staff. Loved the personal touches such as complimentary whisky and homemade biscuits in your room. The room was clean and fresh, with a French style about it. Lovely home cooked food, fresh cooked croissants, all homemade preserves etc. We only had the breakfast but was aware that they cater for gourmet meals in the evenings too, cooked by the French owner Lydie. We were even able to purchase some homemade delights of biscuits and preserves to take home with us for the family!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    10
    Lovely house perfect location for great walks, the Gynack Mill Trail 2.3km highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing it was superb

    The breakfast was simply the best very different for your usual hotel fare! A nice touch was a wee toddie left in your room at night too! Lovely lady...lovely place

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful choice in Kingussie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet a problem in the bedroom. Poor signal. Had to go downstairs to the lounge to check email.

    Fantastic place with fabulous food. Comfy beds, quiet. Lovely house and hosts. Exquisite breakfast and dinner (best meal we have ever had in the U.K.)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    9.6
    Our stay here was fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Downstairs
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only down point was the shower in our room was a little small and we had no where in the shower to put our shower gel ect. This is more about personal preference than Auld Alliance itself.

    Our stay here was fantastic! Arrived and shown to our room which was beautifully laid out. There was a tipple of whisky for us to try at out leisure and some homemade biscuits hidden on the tea tray! The bed was really comfy and me and my partner both slept really well. In the morning we enjoyed Lydie's breakfast which was amazing! Really yummy and plenty of it! On one of the evenings we had our evening meal at Auld Alliance. The meal was cooked to perfection and offered a variety of flavours. We loved the artisan bread that was on offer and had our bread basket filled twice!! As it was my 21st there were a few extras from Lydie that made my stay even more memorable. Auld Alliance, Lydie and her staff were brilliant and we cannot wait until we stay again! I would recommend Auld Alliance for anyone wanting a enjoyable and memorable stay in Kingussie.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    It doesn't get any better than this
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Downstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed two nights and what a treat it was. The Inn is charming and comfortable, and Lydie is a wonderful host and chef. We were lucky to experience her delicious four course dinner in the company of other lovely guests. All in all a fantastic and unique experience.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    10
    Loved this property. Great food.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It couldn't have been better. Excellent from start to finish. I would go back and would highly recommend to others.

    The croissants were delicious. The whole breakfast was delicious. We especially liked the rhubarb compote with yoghurt and toasted almonds.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    a very unexpected welcome pack awaited us and the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have no negative points to report

    a very unexpected welcome pack awaited us and the staff were exeptionally freindly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Location was great, lovely house and great hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Downstairs
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great, lovely house and great hospitality

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to do in zkingussie - could be a positive

    Beautiful run place in idealism location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Scottish style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Downstairs
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows where a little on the hard side for me however perfect for my partner.

    The building had a lot of character

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    We stayed in the studio rooms of this beautiful guest house...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the studio rooms of this beautiful guest house and felt totally at home. A lovely’s stay in a special village. I totally recommend it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    What a idyllic place
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi in our room wasn’t perfect.

    Beautiful house, clean and comfortable. Great restaurant!

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Auld Alliance traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: