Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Aveland House Babbacombe 4 stars

Aveland Road Babbacombe, Torquay, TQ1 3PT, United Kingdom

#100 of 119 B&Bs and Inns in Torquay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 46 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Peaceful, relaxing and exactly what we needed. All boxes ticked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No complaints at all.

    Very friendly welcome from Jackie & Dave, along with helpful tips on where to go and what to do. Lovely breakfast and room spotlessly clean. Many thanks to our hosts. Next time we are in Babbacombe we know where to stop, and there will be a next time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.9
    Extremely friendly landlady and quality breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather dated small bedrooms and bathrooms.

    Extremely friendly landlady and quality breakfast. Fresh fruit salad was a welcome addition to the locally sourced sausage egg and bacon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    6.3
    Fair for a couple of nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of fried English breakfast since 7am the room and hearing boiler/ water pressure pump since 6,30am because someone must have been having a shower and using bathroom in another floor. Bedroom and Bathroom were too small for two people if wishing to stay more than a couple of nights. Price seems excessive for the size and quality of the room It seems to be an English thing rooms being too small in B&Bs

    Definitely the staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Lovely hosts in Babbacombe
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No negative comments

    Comfort of bed excellent. Lovely breakfast chosen from the wide range of food on offer. Extremely friendly hosts - Jackie prepared to go the extra step to help. No problem serving gluten free food for breakfast and dinner. Thoughtful when my friend was unwell and needed a day in bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Exactly what we were looking for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect for what we required especially their friendly and helpful nature and the delicious breakfast using locally-sourced, high quality ingredients.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    5.8
    Safe and quiet but needs a bit of flair.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee tea making packs very limited and basic. Minimum of milk supplied. Biscuits could be better quality. Breakfast again well cooked but everything rather "pinched"coffee better at breakfast. If you wished to see tv or news a small quality tv would be good in each room. Helpful in other ways just a bit stingy -upgrade a bit. Very well chosen background music would give a better ambience -in general classic FM but very low. owners were very pleasant but could be a bit more classy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    10
    Aveland house babacombe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carnt fault anything no tv in rooms if that bothers people.

    Aveland house was in a excellent position only 5 minute walk in to babacombe which was a lovely small place with a lovely beach and facilities a few places to eat and drink babacombe Inn is worth a visit for food we walked in to torquay center which took us about 15 minutes. Would definitely recommend babacombe and also aveland house which was lovely very welcoming and friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.2
    Weekend at Babbacombe
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, no TV in the room, which was not a problem. I just had to talk to the wife a little more.

    Breakfast good selection of cereals local produce, jams, bacon, sausages Convenients of bar, friendly, atmosphere, very clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    8.3
    Babbacombe Great Surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    We stayed here for 3 nights. We were met and welcomed by Jacqui who is extremely friendly and always has time for you even when busy. Met husband David later and he is the same, real nice couple.Make sure you leave enough room to enjoy breakfast! Room extremly clean and well presented. In fact the whole place was the same. Great place to stay. We used this as a base for some walks, not too far! The views from Babbacombe and along the( South West Coast Path) are absolutely stunning. Make sure to walk along for a few miles and you will be so impressed with the scenary. Saw 2 sea lions at Babbacombe beach. Certainly would go again and hopefully stay here. Thank You

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    9.6
    Rally enjoyed our stay and would definatly go back. Thanks for everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This, for us, was a very late booking and we were fortunate enough to find a hotel as good as this at such short notice, given the time of year. Everything about it was ideal but we were a little disappointed to find the hand basin within the main room. Given the constraints of the room this was unavoidable. But I have to say, this did not detract greatly from our enjoyment.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.6
    stayed here for three nights July couldn't fault it very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    stayed here for three nights July couldn't fault it very clean throughout lovely room friendly staff and the breakfast is very good will definitely stay here again .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    9.2
    A Hot Weekend in Babbacombe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owners were very friendly and prepared to put themselves out to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Very helpful in recommending local attractions and places to eat. Despite several previous breaks to the English Riviera there were still plenty of new places to visit.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast finished at 8:45 and checkout was early

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    A very comfortable night's stay whilst walking the South West Ciast Path
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely welcome and very helpful hosts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely owners
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jackie and David were very friendly and highly attentive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Owners were very hospitable and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Owners were very hospitable and welcoming. We would definately stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.3
    very happy with are choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    friendly and very helpful

    breakfast very good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Very friendly and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No TV in room but made up for by fast and free wi fi

    The breakfast. Great choice of marmalades

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stopping there was so relaxed anything you needed you just had to ask

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay, near some nice views on a quiet part of Torquay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very courteous and kind hosts; very pleasant stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    See above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All ok.

    Perfect hosts, very friendly, helpful, and attentive. Premises spotlessly clean. Food great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.6
    A warm welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attentive owners who made me feel welcome and were obviously pleased to make my stay as pleasant as possible

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything was perfect, we were made so welcome by Jacqui and David., we were the only ones there so felt a bit special!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    Friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    9.6
    super
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Parking place instead of garden

    Very clean, very nice owner

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    10
    Aveland hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly people can't do enough for you, very clean and a superb breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    4.5
    Room very hot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very hot. Bath room very small. It be better if they had fans in the room To help out. And a cable television.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    10
    The place is brilliant , very hospitable and welcoming staff and a place l will definitely return to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A TV with free viewing channels

    There was no tv in the room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    8.8
    Very acceptable and comfortable with very happy welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Owners very friendly and most helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    10
    The staff, amazing.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, amazing. I really enjoyed my stay. They were above and beyond. Thanks so much for the stay. I loved it. Greetz Daan

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    9.6
    A lovely friendly hotel in a great location, extremely clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A lovely friendly hotel in a great location, extremely clean and comfortable. Fantastic breakfast and service, would stay again and will be recommending to friends and family!

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    10
    Hosts were very friendly and helpful form the moment we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hosts were very friendly and helpful form the moment we walked in. The location was good, 5min walk into the township of Babbecombe. Room was more than adequate for our stay, clean and Tidy.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    8.8
    We was met by Jacqui on arrival who was lovely, we sat in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We was met by Jacqui on arrival who was lovely, we sat in the bar with her and had drinks on the Saturday evening which was nice to find out about the area and bit more of a personal touch. We had a cooked fried breakie sunday morning which could not be faulted with fresh juice & coffee. We booked a large double which was clean & comfy infact every where was clean and tidy. We will stay again

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    9.6
    Lovely welcome from Jaquie, and nothing too much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely welcome from Jaquie, and nothing too much trouble. In a pleasant part of Babbacombe close to parks and yet just a five minute walk from the cliff top with its lovely views and great places to eat.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    9.6
    Hospitality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hospitality! Very Clean ! Free wifi! Fresh breakfast ! Plenty of coffee ! Good location !! Near beach and close to centre !! Quiet place if you want a good night sleep ! I'll come back again !

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    7.9
    The location for the football.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A tv in the room would have been nice.A bit pricey for the size of the bed.

    The location for the football.Very helpful info and a map of the area.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    9.6
    Very friendly service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed could have been a bit more comfortable

    Very friendly service Great breakfast Spotlessly clean Very quiet location

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    9.6
    A very quiet position easy access to bus route, lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad to report.

    A very quiet position easy access to bus route, lovely hosts, delicious breakfasts ,what more do you need?

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    Friendly and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly and very clean. Breakfast was superb. Very comfortable bed and quiet location for good nights sleep

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    8.8
    Fresh , not tinned, fruit at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fresh , not tinned, fruit at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    10
    The staff were friendly and made us feel wellcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were friendly and made us feel wellcome.The breakfast was very good.and lot to choose from.We would stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    9.6
    Excellent food and very attentive hosts .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent food and very attentive hosts .We had the most relaxing stay and would highly recommend them.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.6
    Excellent hospitality :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Warm welcome and enjoy the stay

    Excellent hospitality :)

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    10
    The owners were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owners were very friendly and helpful. Access to local bus services was within a 5 minute walk

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.1
    friendly hotel owner ,very helpful.
    • Solo traveller

    friendly hotel owner ,very helpful.and good location.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    10
    Closeness to the sea front and cleanliness of accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing - everything was perfect!

    Closeness to the sea front and cleanliness of accommodation. Thank you to Jacqui and David for a great stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    10
    Excellently run guest house very professionally run by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellently run guest house very professionally run by excellent hosts nothing a problem

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    8.3
    Breakfast, the area, parking on site
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stairs

    Breakfast, the area, parking on site

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    7.5
    Very quite and peaceful and away from it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed was a bit uncomfortable for me.

    Very quite and peaceful and away from it all.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    9.6
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good breakfast. Spotlessly clean. Owners very friendly and helpful

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Guests also reviewed these properties: