Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Avonmore Hotel 2 stars

57 Cartwright Gardens, Camden, London, WC1H 9EL, United Kingdom

#748 of 977 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 959 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    4.6
    We were very disappointed by our room and felt that the price was completely unreasonable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we booked, with four single beds, had been given to another customer. Instead we were given a room with a double bed and a single bed, and a wheeled bed was brought in. The room was too small for us, and the double bed was unacceptable. Additionally, the room was very hot - no A/C, and the fans provided barely moved the air around. The room was dingy and depressing.

    The location was terrific for our early departure from St. Pancras. The room was quiet. The wifi worked.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, easy, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place didn't have a luggage storage room, but the man at the reception desk was happy to allow us to leave our bags next to reception so he could keep an eye on them.

    The staff at the hotel were so friendly, happy, and accommodating! The room was comfortable, a decent size for three people. The bathroom was nice as well--clean, and strong water pressure. The beds were nice, and the room had a wardrobe and a desk and a TV, and an electric kettle as well. The location was great--equidistant from Euston and King's Cross St Pancras station. Located in Bloomsbury, the hotel was just a few minutes walk from some other great parts of London as well, like Covent Garden, Regents Park, Camden Town. Great being so close to King's Cross (5 min walk) because it afforded links to everywhere else in the city and the country as a whole.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    3.3
    My worst hotel experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Separate Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got kicked out of my room after the 1st night Needs renovation Bed was awful Breakfast below standards Smell of the room Bathroom was tiny No air con

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.7
    It's location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    En suite was adequate but very small; breakfast was limited if you don't eat a cooked one and windows, window ledges and radiators in the room didn't look as if they had been cleaned in months!

    It's location. Within easy walking distance of Euston station and London theatres. View of the gardens.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    4.2
    I will urge booking.com to not classify this hotel as 3-star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no proper reception area. Just asmall counter that gives a fast food drive-through feel. Moreover the wifi wasn’t functioning properly. The rooms were old fashioned, dirty and dusty. The staff was incompetent and it seems as though they don’t have the slightest idea how to attend to their customers in proper fashion. Furthermore, there is no room to store luggage after checking out. All the guests need to leave their suitcases on or next to the stairs in the hallway thus blocking the entrance. Not only does this look very messy but it can also be considered a fire hazard.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money, great location, quaint old building. Recommended for singles!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No aircon so I would recommend taking a small mains fan (London is always stuffy and hot).

    Single room was small but the very high ceiling and big window meant it wasn't claustrophobic. Bed very comfy. Room spotless, bathroom small but better laid out than some in more expensive hotels. Staff lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    Good for a very short stay, has all the basic facilities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got a tiny room on the ground floor, but that's what one can expect from a single room in the heart of London. The English breakfast could have been a bit tastier. No cupboard.

    I was just there for 1 night, so it was a good place. It was clean, the staff at the reception were nice and it's just a set walk away from King's Cross station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    Just about acceptable as a place to rest your head
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minuscule shower/WC room, almost impossible to get into! Poor wifi, TV not working on first night but acceptable on second night after complaining.

    Maybe location but not much else

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location and good family rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of an evening was ridiculous it sounded like trains every 15 minutes. And the girl who cooked breakfast was quite rude and had love bites all over her neck which my youngest daughter kept asking about!

    Great location. Room was great. Two adults 2 children and there was a partitioned wall so the kids were separate but still in the same room which was good. Reception staff were friendly and helpful would go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Beyond expectations, great cost-benefit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really loved it all. Was quite impressed.

    Breakfast is simple, but complete with big attention from employees. All employees were just lovely! Room, despite being small (as already known), was very clean and has some "essentials" as hair dresser, water heater, shampoo, which was a very good surprise! Location is also great, 20 minute walk from center, and very close to stations where you can get international trains and also the underground.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.0
    London no sleep
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi did not work. No hot water at night ; only in morning. Very noisy . Impossible to sleep except for a few hours. No toiletries provided. The owners should try sleeping in the ground or first floor rooms for a couple of nights and see how they feel about the prices charged. Breakfast is perfunctory bland and loveless . London you can do better. Lovely old building that is running at basic hostel standards .

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    4.6
    Upgrade needed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Separate Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on a slope (!) , bin hadn't been emptied, tv didn't work, iron was pretty rubbish. You have to leave your key at reception - I was uncomfortable with that given that I had work tech etc in my room so took my bag out with me. I also had to complete a paper based form with my details even though I'd booked and paid online.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location. Adequate accommodation for the price - I'd go back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower could have been cleaner. Asked to leave my key at reception when I went out in the evening and there was no ID check when I picked them up later.

    Excellent location on the crescent of Cartwright Gardens, very quiet but close to St Pancras and Kings Cross. Basic accommodation in a small room but had everything I needed for a one night stay. Comfortable bed. Adequate breakfast - not the place to go if you need breakfast to be the highlight but was fine for me and as expected for the price I paid (£85). I would go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.4
    Don't take a room in the dungeon!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was put in the 'dungeon' which was very cramped. I had the joys of underground trains rumbling along every two minutes. The wifi was terrible and unreliable. Its the one thing I rely on and was just not good enough. Not enough power points for modern day hotel living. If you are going to charge £100 then get these things right or reduce the prices for issues in certain rooms and give guests a choice about the noise. Full disclosure needed!

    Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    We paid for what we got in terms of comfort and convenience to the amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been a little later - i would prefer a little lie in but thats personal to me.

    The windows were dirty and the curtains were really dusty but the beds were extremely clean and comfy. The bathroom was very clean too. The staff were friendly and let us keep our bags there even though were had checked out. They also let us wait in the foyer while we waited for our train time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    4.6
    Not good for single female
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very scary. People up and down stairs at 2 and 3am. I put my suitcase against the door to prevent anyone coming in. Did not sleep at all.

    Not much. It was small but comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    4.6
    Probably the worst hotel I've ever stayed in
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Otherwise not much good to say about the hotel- tiny room, soft bed, thin pillow, awake until 2am as walls so thin, dirty cup in room, wire too short on kettle so has to boil it on floor, broken drawers slide open etc

    Great location and staff friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Great stay at a strategic location for single business traveller.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness can be improved, dust found in some spots, but I would still say it’s clean enough. Additional facilities for personal touch would be great, such as body lotion and hair dryer.

    I got big room with plenty of space, even when I booked for a single room. View to the crescent garden is great. Coffe and tea were generously available, shower was comfortable and water was warm and easy to control. Staff were friendly and helpful. Check in and check out were fast and straightforward. Breakfast was great and more than enough to start a busy day. Location is great, close to UCL where I needed to go to the next day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    A comfortable, friendly place to stay, located conveniently for Euston station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The beds were very comfortable, the facilities in the room were good, the breakfast was delicious and served quickly, and the staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money. Great staff. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was dated, bathroom though clean was a bit drab and unloved.

    All staff I came in contact with were lovely. Breakfast was great. I was allowed to drop my back off before check-in and kept them there after checkout so we could go sightseeing without the hassle of luggage.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed with hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor WiFi, no electric for 24 hours so couldn’t use room facilities. Nice reception man but very rude kitchen staff and shocking breakfast. Cleanliness of hotel poor

    Location clean sheets and towels

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Separate Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff were not very pleasant. Double Bed was on the small side. Bathroom was across the hall.

    Great location. Check in was good. Price was very reasonable for the location. Near main train station, walking distance to convent gardens , the British musium.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    English breakfast. Could be more options to choose especially for vegetarians who don't want sausage and bacon. Could be hashbrown or mushrooms instead.

    Everything was good . This site of London is perfect for me to stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money, clean, cosy, friendly and separate bathroom was delightful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Separate Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a criticism as such but I wasn’t able to have breakfast as it didn’t start until 7.30am a little too late for me. It would have been great if it had started at 7am at least. Other than that it was an excellent stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little small, but suited my needs for a short stay.

    Great welcome upon arrival, very informative, helpful and friendly. Breakfast in mornings was good with the service being great and efficient! Room was clean and accessible. Location was great and loads of public transport options and shops nearby. Ideal for my short stay in London.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.3
    Price/performance not ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minus- room very small, instead of triple room we have got quadruple, it means, the same small room with one extra bed. No place for luggage, no place for things you have, wardrobe small, only 4 clothes hangers for 3 persons. Staircase to room extra narrow, not easy to go up with suitcase. Rooms need repairs, especially bathroom. Walls and window and shower with mold. Bathroom doesn't have heating. Breakfast was always the same, served per person- 1 egg, slice of bacon, sausage and a little bit beans, toast. Other possibility- cereals, 2 types, jam. Juice. One day or two ok, but more not. Price/performance not ok.

    Plus Location very good, near to Kings Cross, good public transport, near to all attractions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Would definately stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Warm welcome. Excellent location, nearby buses, underground and British Museum. Staff went out of their way to be of assistance when one of our group was sick. We received excellent advice as regards directions for restaurants and tourist attractions. Perfect place to stay when sightseeing in London.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    5.0
    I have stayed in this hotel many times and it is a good,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed in this hotel many times and it is a good, comfortable well priced. I love Cartwright Gardens because its so quiet. On this occasion I was in Room 1 which I would avoid in the future. A basement room in desperate need of some TLC. Shabby with the tiniest bathroom. I am 6ft 2 and could barely fit in it!.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Very relaxing .I would recommend to others .
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room downstairs would be a struggle for those with walking difficulties.fortunately my inability to walk wasn’t so bad this trip.

    The staff were kind and considerate on reception Alexander was really helpful. They had given us a room on ground floor because I need to use a wheelchair for most of the time or a stick.stairs can be extremely difficult sometimes impossible. The catering staff were efficient the food was good rooms beds and facilities were very good comfy warm and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.8
    The staff and the cleanliness and safety of having someone on premises 24 hours met all I required
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single Room a little small for some, but it suited my needs.

    Clean all round. Bed comfortable. Staff excellent, friendly, aproachable, knowledgeable, someone always in office. Excellent breakfast offered and service very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    5.8
    wont stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were rushed to finish at breakfast. The room was cramped and the lampshade above bed had an inch of dust on it - shower was black around seals and it was freezing in the barhroom despite a lukewarm radiator - as they were full we couldn't change room - bed sheets were clean but the room was scruffy

    Reception was good. Have an impression of helpfulness. Watched bags for us on arrival and held onto them after checking out

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.1
    Great Location!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Separate Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was on the top floor and the final staircase was very steep indeed. The room was outdated and needed a good spruce up!!! It was quite dreary and looked very sad.

    The location was excellent. It is between Euston and Kings Cross train stations so therefore very easy to reach!! The bathroom was very clean indeed and was very well maintained.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    5.4
    there are better hotels in london in good locations for better or same price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    have to give back the room key to reception each time you go out + super low ceiling + super small bathroom, cant barely stand + my room was in a basement

    location + cleanliness

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    All in all good. Reception staff very helpful
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Separate Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast request no meat. The first morning no problem. The second morning same request but breakfast arrived with a sausage. Sausage is a form of meat. Also a brighter light in the bedroom maybe a brighter led energy bulb? One light over the mirror was not working. Bedroom 6.

    Good location from Kings Cross just 10 mins away. Ideal.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    2.9
    Speechless
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception was located up the stairs and looked dirty and dated this caused a sinking feeling in the stomach that the rest was going to be just as bad. The bed was disgusting with small hairs on the sheets, stained pillowcase and a mattress worn so much there was no support, you could feel the springs coming through. The carpet looked like it had been down since the 1980's. You could see the dust on railings from a distance and behind the Tv there was so much dirt it makes you wonder if the room is ever cleaned. Breakfast was pathetic, fried eggs looked like they were microwaved as were hard boiled and the tomato looks like it had been reheated as did the bacon and sausage. The waitress didn't understand English and a request for scrambled egg was aborted as she didn't know what that was. The door key would not shut the room door either so the staff had to be called for that to be done.

    NOTHING

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.8
    Cute, little, and comfy hotel with the most convenient and quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think because we were staying right at the top there were wifi issues, however it did work now and then and it wasn’t much of a big deal!

    Loved this hotel, the location was absolutely perfect literally 5-7min walk from London Euston station, super convenient!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.3
    It isn't the Ritz, and it doesn't pretend to be. A good value hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was on the top floor, so in coldest January it takes the hot water a minute or 2 to come through, but when it does it is hot.

    The hotel is what it is, if you want £200 a night luxury, then this isn't for you. If you want a decent room that is clean, comfortable, warm, affordable, convenient and has everything you need, without all the trimmings, then it is good value place to stay. About 5 minutes walk from Euston, St Pancras and Kings Cross train stations. Full English breakfast is excellent and served with a smile.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    Great spot - awesome value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the position, it's super convenient to Kings Cross Station in a secure building where you have to be buzzed in to enter the building. The breakfast is pretty good and makes the cost of accommodation super cost effective

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.9
    Good location, clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were travelling with a 1 year old which means lots of luggage and a pram. Stairs were a little difficult to navigate but not a huge problem.

    Comfy and clean, and good value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    6.7
    ok,but did not look like the photos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast very poor, over cooked bacon and sausages, flooded in baked beans, lack of choice, staff do not understand much English and very noisy in kitchen and laying tables.

    ok,but did not look like the photos. poor internet, very small bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant, comfortable and convenient
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot. Room very small, but toilet/shower surprisingly spacious compared to the bedroom.

    Pleasant welcome by staff at reception. Room and shower/toilet very clean. Rather comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    8.8
    Really comfortable room in a very nice area within walking distance of London's hotspots.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free wifi couldn't reach us on the top floor and nothing was done about the issue. The second set of steps to our floor were narrow and scary to use in fear of tripping; typical of many older buildings in the uk though.

    It was in a lovely area and the beds were super comfortable to the point that when we checked in we found ourselves crashing out and relaxing in the room for a few hours instead of carrying on with the planned sightseeing we were there for. I dare say I felt more relaxed there than I do in my own house!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.3
    Good comfy but thirsty
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have drank from bigger thimbles. Why do hotels insist on the worlds smallest glasses. I had to stand by the sink refilling my room supplied shot glass for 5 minutes to quench my thirst.

    Location is great and priced well. Very comfy beds

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    5.0
    Horrendous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place was very shoddy to many narrow stairs no lift or porter carpets thread bare floors uneven radiators rusted shower rusted bed very old to low interior very very dated breakfast poor ,this place is very substandard for the money

    The staff couldn't be more helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    3.3
    Wouldn't stay there again. Have had much better for lower price in London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs carpet worn through to big holes in several places ..trip hazard. Duvets grey/off white and dirty looking. No fire exit other than main staircase. Room for 3 very small,tiny wardrobe,dressing table. Room kettle heavily encrusted with limescale with dirty bits in the bottom. Any attempt to make cup of tea resulted in curdled milk. Breakfast room down 3 flights of stairs,clean.Full English breakfast=1small sausage,1 tomato,bacon rasher very tough,watery baked beans,cold toast.Choice of apple,orange and/orweight-watchers yoghurt(sweetened with aspartame)

    Bathroom was clean. Bedlinen was clean. No bad smells

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.1
    Convenient for our onward journey with lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Separate Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit skimpy and overcooked but then it was only a 2 or 3 star hotel

    My husband was due a small operation on his knee but we didn't have the date. Since we booked the hotel he was given the date of his operation and as a result was walking with a stick. When the staff saw this they moved us to a ground floor room so he wouldn't have to climb the many stairs in an old Victorian building.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    The hotel was easy to find, the location is great, everybody...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Separate Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the hotels fault, but the couple next to us enjoyed themselves a bit too much at night.

    The hotel was easy to find, the location is great, everybody was very friendly. We absolutely loved the full english!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.2
    Perfect budget break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stair carpet needs replacing before it becomes a trip hazard. Shower needed some instructions as it wasn't obvious how to control temperature.

    Room was large and comfy. Pillows retained shape and didn't flatten. Breakfast was presented quickly after ordering.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing & won`t be coming back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress in our designated room was appalling with the springs coming through & making a noise like an out of tune piano if you moved. The bathroom was not properly ventilated and the shower did not have a thermostat making it very easy to burn yourself. This room was also much smaller than expected. After complaining twice we were moved to a family room which once we squeezed between the door & the bed was a much better size & one of the beds was comfortable. Same problem with the shower however. Elsewhere in the hotel the stair carpets were worn through & really tatty

    Very friendly receptionist (Alexander)., The hotel is well situated as quite close to Kings Cross.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.5
    Did the Job in a nice location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is in need of a little modernisation but it was clean and functional.

    The hotel was clean and functional for a short break. I had booked a single room and was given a a double, bed was comfortable and shower worked grand. The breakfast was good with cereal, fruit, juice and a small cooked option with toast. It was more BnB style than hotel but it was grand.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    6.3
    Mostly OK.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi not working most of the time, Hot water in shower never really hot.

    Passable room (reserved the Trio-bed room not to feel crowded as ll other rooms are so small)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    4.2
    I wont be booking there again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The duvet was dirty, the shower was mouldy, the carpets were worn on the stairs, the room was very tiny and obviously reduced in size by partition walls. You could hear everything next door and people going downstairs right by the loo in the room.

    The mattress was comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    4.2
    i) Requested a wake-up call - they forgot to give it so I...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i) Requested a wake-up call - they forgot to give it so I was late. ii) Room too small to swing a cat. Had to boil the kettle on the floor iii) Carpets grubby and threadbare on the stairs iv) Poor breakfasts. You have to leave the breakfast room when the given meal time is over whether you've finished eating your breakfast or not!! The meal time durations are much much shorter than other hotels! It appears to be due to lack of staff as kitchen staff double up as cleaners.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    We always stay here and love the location park and staff.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet really needs replacing on the steps in the hallways, it’s threadbare. The rooms could do with some touching up and minor refurbishing. And they don’t have anywhere to store your luggage if you need to leave it there for a few hours. Not having a lift is really inconvenient. When you have heavy suitcases, a bad back or are a senior citizen and have to struggle upstairs two rooms on the fourth and fifth floor, it’s very difficult. Even my adult children struggle with getting a suitcase up those narrow steps to the Upper rooms.

    The staff were very helpful. Like that breakfast is included. Room was comfortable. Location is good. Trees in park are a pleasure. It was clean and safe.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.3
    comfy stay staff need to learn manners
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the attitude from some of the staff was disgusting the way they told you to finish breakfast dead on 9am told to leave as the finished at 9am

    comfy beds

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.7
    Cheap and cheerful stay near Russell Square
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did what it said on the tin but overall could use a coat of paint and a bit of a freshen up. My bed was very comfortable (single bed) but my parents were in a double bed in the same room and my mother said it was very uncomfortable (could feel the springs through the mattress). I opted to not use the shower the next morning as it didn't seem exceptionally clean and the provided toiletries did not seem very good.

    A very reasonably priced accommodation near to Russell Square where I needed to be for work. I could easily walk there the next morning without worrying too much about navigating. The front desk was very amenable and helped me out of a jam when I needed some printing done for an important meeting the next day. They were also very flexible when I needed to pay / check out before my parents were awake and ready to go for the day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.5
    A relaxed and enjoyable stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not fussed on the sausage!

    Friendly reception. Comfortable beds in family room - well adequate for 3 of us (nan, granddad and 15 yr old granddaughter). Great value inexpensive accomodation, close to Euston Station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.5
    Very local to Kings Cross, nice clean rooms, comfortable beds. Overall would book again. Thank you.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fixed shower head. A shower cap would be good for those that do not want to wash their hair. Vegetarian breakfast option was not on offer.

    Location, cleanliness, slept well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.3
    I was really annoyed - breakfast served 7-9 and I went down...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was really annoyed - breakfast served 7-9 and I went down at 8.50 to be told that I couldn't have a cooked breakfast as it was so close to 9am! Don't say you serve breakfast till 9 if you stop at ten to!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.3
    Convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny. Bathroom cramped. Mattress not great. Not great VFM

    Night Porter was fast and professional. Lots of lovely hot water from the shower. Lovely building/location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    5.8
    Great location, disappointing room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a family room and although the beds were decent there was no room for anything else. Not enough plugs. Room was in the attic and very warm. Breakfast was good enough but the service was lacking.

    Location is great for access to many great places.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    The accommodation and location exceeded my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything.

    Mostly the location; within walking distance of the British Museum, Covent Garden and other places of interest. This area also contains a wide selection of eateries, catering for all tastes and budgets.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.4
    No bad
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water two days, about the key l can not save with she needs leave the key white receptions and no body halp my whan i take bags , reception staff are not halpful ,brakfast every day same list, and The atmosphere in side the room hot

    Room clean and bathroom it is clean there's park in front hotal and there's station near hotal olso laundry fanali behind grat ormaid hospital

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    2.5
    Awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was dirty, hair from previous visitors in shower and cobwebs/ coffee stains all over units. There was no hot water for 2/3 days we were there so we couldn't was out hands or shower at all! Electricity went out for a night leaving us in pitch black and NOTHING to do. Staff treated this like an "oh well" situation and gave us NOTHING for our terrible stay.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.1
    We was at the top stairs where steep but clean and matched...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We was at the top stairs where steep but clean and matched our needs . We left at 6:30 wish we could have been offered fruit to leave with has we left before breakfast which was in our price staff nice good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    4.2
    Would not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was the size of a shoebox, the rates varied daily, internet was variable, poor at times.

    The location was convenient, close to major underground stations. Breakfast was ok though cereal and juice were of the cheap variety...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.1
    Within easy walking distance of St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast doesn't start until 7.30 which was too late for catching our train. There is no lift if you have heavy suitcases. The room was slightly smaller than we expected ( although comfortable.) We had the window open at night but sound travels and someone working with a door open- might have been an adjoining property - thought it was ok to put the radio on at almost midnight. Another guest was letting us all know that she was having a good time in bed by moaning at the top of her voice. Twice. Lucky her but we had an early train to catch and needed sleep.

    Within easy walking distance of St. Pancras but in a quiet side street. The staff were friendly. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    5.8
    Too expensive
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Separate Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got a room on top floor on a very hot day, impossible to sleep. Bed was quite narrow for a 2 persons room, glad i was on my own. Discovered in the morning there were some fans in the wardrobe. Leak in the roof just in front of the bathroom. Not worth the 99£ I paid, and that was with a discount!

    Location was convenient for early eurostar, reception open 24/7

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.9
    The location was great for me - right in the area I had to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was great for me - right in the area I had to be most of the days, and very short distance to any place in central London. Generally - small, clean and peaceful. Two steps from Russell square, the British Museum, and the three universities. Checking in was fast and smooth ( it is not always the case in b&b in London). It is basic, but everything needed for a short stay is there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    5.8
    Horrible. I felt robber. Never again. The local backpackers are so much better in quality and service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the property didn't look as great as the images posted on booking.com . I was given the room beside the breakfast hall which had a very stuffy smell. The room door didn't align. I could hear the neighbours talk, watch TV and more. The receptionist was great to offer me the double room 14. This smelt much better when the windows were opened. Really dated place with.old carpets, beds. Literally everything was dated. The carpets could be peeled back and was of bad quality. The toilet To my room was a walk along the corridor. Private toilet but terribly inconvenient. The staff was the only positive thing. The receptionist tried to accomodate as best as he could but all I wanted was a refund as soon as i entered the room I realized it is not value for money. I'd rather be in a backpackers and will never return. Even though I did not touch anything and literally opened the door and then came and said please refund me, he refused. As I was ill the venue made me feel much worse. I think this property is ok for half the price.

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.9
    Location, wifi, room fan, toiletries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door not staying open so bathroom could air out after a shower. Window not opening (easily) to let outside air flow. I wasn't able to budge it.

    Location, wifi, room fan, toiletries.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    Proper, traditional b&b in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water took an age to come through in the afternoon/ evening when I was getting ready to go out but as it was a very hot week in July I didn't mind too much. One afternoon I couldn't get back in as there was no one on reception to answer the buzzer - but hey everyone needs a loo/fag break ;)

    Feels like a proper b&b - I liked the cosy room, decor & older style of the place. Nice, friendly staff - all guests looked happy. Great fan in my room, excellent view overlooking a park. Lovely location right in Bloomsbury & minutes from Euston or Kings Cross tubes. Breakfast (included) was fantastic for the price. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    3.8
    Not good!
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Separate Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy at reception had to call for my card details. After the seventh time of asking he wrote them down at my suggestion because he couldn't take them down correctly. The room was marginally bigger than the bed (which was tiny, if you're over 6ft expect to have your legs dangling over the bed). The place is so tired looking, it's more like a hostel than a hotel. Our fault for not checking properly I suppose but the massively discounted price of £75 for the room for the night (for some reason the website had this knocked down from £199 a night for the room, which is so inflated it's actually funny), was way over the price you'd expect to pay for a place of this standard. Will not be returning.

    Leaving

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.8
    Good location but...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the relatively lot of money I paid for the room it looked quite "worn-out". Out of all the sockets in the room just one worked and warm water did not flow the first day.

    Great location (at least for myself), near Russel Square underground station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    4.6
    Awful Hotel :(
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room with Separate Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a 'small double room' but when we arrived we found that the room did not have a double bed - only a three quarter double. We had taken my daughter along who had consultations at Great Ormand Street Hospital the next day and was therefore sharing the bed with us - we (room advertised children going free if they were happy to bed share) which would have been fine in a double bed but the three quarter double meant my husband actually had to sleep on the floor. The room was advertised as having a 'private' bathroom and when we arrived we found the bathroom was across the corridor. The ceiling was leaking and dripped water onto us as we walked from the room to the bathroom, and shower plug was full of hair. I will never book a cheap room in London again and I'm afraid probably won't have the confidence to use booking.com. The original price on this room was double what we paid, I don't see how with the facilities this was possible

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Avonmore Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: