Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Aztec Hotel and Spa - A Thwaites Hotel and Spa 4 stars

Aztec West, Almondsbury, Bristol, BS324TS, United Kingdom

#15 of 48 hotels in Bristol

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 333 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was given a twin instead of the double booked on arrival but this was corrected. The nespresso coffee machine in the room didn't work properly but as it was hot Weather we were only there one night we didn't bother reporting it until check out. Cleaner could clean the changing rooms more thoroughly such as the surfaces people sit on in middle of changing room by lockers.

    Spa area was good and room Comfortable and clean. Gardens are lovely and location very convenient for not getting caught in central traffic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was a little too low. Even my 5 foot girlfriend couldn't get right underneath it. The cold tap in the bathroom was warm most of the time. They didn't replace the croissants when they had run out at breakfast. Breakfast, although nice, wasn't as good as some other ones I've had. I want some way to heat my croissants, I want more selection of jams, the fried eggs were a bit meh, I would have liked some prunes. I'm being picky, but I do like a good breakfast when I come to a hotel. The dinner menu was very pricey and not that extensive, especially with regards vegetarian stuff, so we didn't bother eating there in the evening. I don't want to have to pay extra for parking when I'm paying £100+ per night to stay somewhere. We were okay as we stayed at the weekend, but be warned if you come during the week. Yes, it's only £3 per day, but what's the point of extra charges?

    The gym was great, as was the pool and hot tub etc. although I only got to use those facilities once. The bed was big and comfy, the room spacious and I loved the fact they had a fridge and provided fresh milk, and that the cups in the room were a decent size for once. The maple and pecan danish I had at breakfast was first rate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking had not been received/room given to someone else (still not sure which). I had to take a room that was 'under maintenance' as no other rooms ready, which meant no working shower, bath only. Knocked about £30 of room and a free breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con system didn’t work, we removed the filters which were thick with dust!!!! The rooms were not as pictured and were dated!

    Restaurant and bar area lovely!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was nothing that I didn't like about this hotel.

    The bed was really comfy and I liked the separate seating area in the room. The swimming pool was very nice but did not arrive in time for a treatment in the spa. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a half hour massage for my partner and I but it only lasted 20 mins. I mentioned it to reception on departure but it wasn’t acknowledged by the hotel staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to get tea spoons during the breakfast ;-)

    Amazing ambience and fantastic atmosphere. Great food; a foodie-like experience without a need for spending hundreds of pounds on a wonderful meal. Wonderful decor. Feels very modern and fresh whilst lovely and homely at the same time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were placed near a meeting room and were woken up by extremely loud people outside our room at 7am even though we told them to keep the noise down the noise just increased which left us pretty unhappy with the stay

    Comfy bed and nice sized room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant wrong meal brought out took ages to get bread to share and when asked if we could see the manager the waiter failed to tell Him but when we did see the manager he resolved the situation To our satisfaction

    Very nice well presented hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything - cost - value for money - quality of the food - price of the wine - bed comfort - WHAT more do you want - this was an appalling bad hotel in my opinion!

    Nothing - over priced at £188 per night but THEN you were expected to pay for your carpark AND your breakfast on top - the which at best was poor - ordered toast but never got it and there was no-one around to cook eggs to order - overall a really rotten hotel - and the bed was uncomfortable too!!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was ok, took 20 min to get coffee after we had to track down the manager to ask for some.

    Quiet room even though there were weddings happening each night I stayed. Nothing special to look at on the outside, the inside is quite nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The evening meal selection was limited and the meal we selected (duck was tough), burger dry and overcooked). Service at the end very poor (we waited 10 minutes to get a cup of coffee! Limited selection at breakfast with some of the food cold.

    The pool was great & the staff very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drink expensive and if you stay here regularly, the menu in the restaurant can get boring, needs to change more often

    Food, service and facilities good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A Hotel reception tried to charge us for having a later checkout for £20 for an extra hour, we had genius via booking.com but they still wanted to charge us until we disputed this. When we got home the Hotel had charged us twice for our one night stay & the amounts were different, we made the Hotel aware & it did eventually get resolved.

    A lovely hotel, good location.unfortunately we didn’t have a great experience, we arrived a little early but were happy to wait for our room at the said check in time at 3oclock, but it was still not ready then !! We booked our evening meal in the restaurant for our daughter in laws 30th. Our meals arrived, my son had ordered the fillet steak rare but came medium & quite well cooked, we explained this & his meal went back. After we had all finished our meal his steak eventually turned up. My wife found this very upsetting & spoke to the manager who didn’t seem to be very sympathetic. At the end of our meal the manager had taken our wine off our bill, a nice gesture but all the same didn’t make us feel very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Easter was a disappointment compared to last year. 5 minute Easter egg hunt and no other organised activities for the kids apart from a small play room. No DVDs to watch either. Won't be back for Easter again.

    Lovely comfortable hotel with great staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff (all 3 that I spoke to) were all so genuinely friendly it made a really nice change (I stay in hotels a lot). Particularly in the bar area where I had dinner - they couldn't do enough for me.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The selection of dishes for dinner could have been more varied.

    Although our stay coincided with the second "Beast from the East" snow storm we were very pleasantly surprised that there seemed to be a full complement of staff who all appeared to be jolly and cheerful. The log fire in the bar was blazing and after a lovely breakfast we really did not want to leave.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Spa facilities were exceptional and the fact our 8yr old was included was just perfect. The staff within the whole hotel establishment couldn’t help enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room air conditioning controls are too low and in a dark spot so very difficult to read and operate, which with no hot water coming into the controllable radiator made for a cold start to the day

    The room was spacious and well appointed; the beds were comfortable with really good linen and pillows; our Grandchildren loved the pool and the staff were cheery and helpful - what's not to like?

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Portion size with evening meal could have been slightly bigger... but to be honest I am just being awkward as it was difficult to find fault!

    The facilities were as listed, but the real stand out for us was the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dinner menu choice could be more extensive Fitness & welness also available to non-hotel guests - makes it a bit busy.

    good fitness and welness facility available to hotel guests good breakfast & dinner helpfull staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady who checked us in wasn't overly polite, really seemed like she was looking down on me and my partner, but when we came down a few hours later a different member of staff was on she was great and so was the guy who checked out when we left. Just this one lady. Also the pool had far to many kids in so we never ended using it. Bit I guess it was a weekend but from the way booking.com made the hotel come accross made me and partner feel like you wouldn't find many children there.

    The room was lovely, the staff at the spa we're amazing the breakfast was also great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was in this place 5 years ago , restaurant was superb - now is just average or even below average. "Supreb" add on to breakfast american pancake - 3 days in row. About 5 main dishes in menu is not enough - on top of that , prices do not reflect quality. 5 stars for stuff , friendly and helpful as always.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps some limitations on times in which children are allowed in the spa

    Had 2 singles pushed together instead of a double bed, lots of children screaming around the hotel, restaurant and spa which took away from the whole 'Tranquility' of it and ruined it a bit, since it made it hard to relax. The facilities themselves were of a good standard and friendly staff were very welcoming. Breakfast was self-serve and delicious with a good array to choose from. Overall nice hotel, but overpriced and not what I would rate 4 stars.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great spa facilities, plenty of time to use the spa even when your staying just for one night. You can use the spa as soon as you’ve checked in and in the morning before you check out. Comfortable bed, great tea and coffee making facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the hotel was lovely, and the staff very helpful and offered brilliant service, the restaurant was hugely overpriced for below average food. Would stay in the hotel again but would never bother with the restaurant - far too much money for bad food!

    Although the service and hotel was lovely, the restaurant was hugely overpriced for below average food. Would stay in the hotel again but would never bother with the restaurant - far too much money for bad food!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom Needs a new shower and enclosure Shower curtain was dirty and smelly Bedroom could do with refurbishing When we complained to reception a member of staff simply said “I’m sorry about that”

    Restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was too soft and duvets too dense, could have been a tog or too lighter. The lighting controls were complicated and one of the interior wardrobe lights was flickery. The extractor fan in the bathroom didn't work and the bottom of the outside of the shower screen was not perfectly clean.

    The room was really well spec'd although for true excellence that little extra was needed. Massive telly was a nice bonus although more channels would be appreciated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was distinctly cool on top setting. And wash basin didn’t drain quickly and obviously has a blockage. The former was reported at check out.

    Style and design . Quality of furnishings. Food..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only gripe was the bed was horribly uncomfortable, too hard and it had some sort of plastic mattress protector that crinkled loudly whenever we moved in bed.

    Very clean modern and overall a lovely place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are very thin could hear a bit of noise however was discounted for the disturbance.

    The room was clean and tidy with a 55ich tv perfect for the kids. Spa area was amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Perfect in every way with the most amazing staff. The best welcome at Reception from any hotel we have ever stayed in, both in the UK and abroad. Can't wait to return!! ASAP!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough sugar/sweetner and some ‘back up’ uht milk would have been handy.

    Fruit infused water in spa. Lovely lady on reception. Fridge in room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the double bed seemed a bit small, breakfast was ok, and, unlike what was been advertised, kids were in the pool at all the time making it not really a place to relax

    Facilities

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a room with a toilet that didn't flush! We phoned and reported it to reception who did nothing. After a few hours we had to walk to reception and tell them again, where we were told to use the toilet in the empty room next door! You'd have thought they'd upgraded us to another room but they didn't. Not very satisfied.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think we came when there was a hot water problem. When we took a shower/bath the water was very cold. The next day we also used the spa facilities and the pool and jacuzzi was very cold too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The evening meal was very disappointing for vegetarians. Both the adult and kids portions were very small and the desserts were packaged.

    The pool and spa facilities, the water with lemon and orange pieces by the steam room. The welome goodies in the fridge. It was so easy to get to the pool and breakfast room from our room 222 - very family friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other guests making a lot of noise in the early hours. No consideration for others

    The thought that went into things for the children, like milk and cookies

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    unhappy with room allocation Requested adjacent rooms and got on ground and one on third After some discussion changed but ended up with one refurbished room and one very tired older room Again changed after discussion but informed that it was our fault for changing in the first place ''??'' Pool time was limited for children which was not advertised

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean swimming pool, beautiful changing room and excellent gym . Rooms were also very clean and comfortable. Staff were all very friendly. To be honest we didn’t expect it to be this good, really impressed and will definitely stay again if in the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My only complaints really was that the suites' curtains needed fixing as they were torn, and the pancakes were not fresh.

    The staff were excellent - exceptionally helpful and friendly! The food was good, and the breakfasts were varied with lots of fresh fruit. The rooms were modern and spacious too. I just wish I had had more time here!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening service in the restaurant was very slow . We weren’t happy with the meals and they had mixed them up so we had to wait again . Also ordered champagne and waited 20 mins to receive it. Staff were very apologetic and refunded the two main meals.

    Bar staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The attitude of the General Manager to a booking adjustment request, he has zero clue about client retention and good customer service. The service in the restaurant was extremely poor, worse in the morning when we had to ask for cutlery.. when asking a member of staff for an extra pot of coffee the answer came back "Sorry love I have finished now".... astonishing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy, bed too soft, bathroom door no 217 couldn't shut stains and signs of wear and tear on curtains

    We liked the breakfast the spa facilities

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything. If I was to bring family (2 boys) would need a room with 2 single beds as I understand family room has a sofa bed which wouldn't be any use for boys to share.

    Clean room comfy bed excellent choice of breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cost of the breakfast I don't eat much maybe coffee some times scrambled egg and bacon, some times, glass of milk, some times toast, I think £12.95 is quite expensive for such a small amount.

    It was really nice to stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The waiting staff all seemed as if they were on work experience. One waiter spilt the wine on the table and didn't clear it up until we asked and he also spilt sauce down our grandson's top and we had to ask for a damp cloth to clean it up. Some of the side orders for dinner were cold and the staff weren't around to get things changed.

    The reception staff were helpful, moving us to a lakeside room as we asked when we arrived

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, service and management is probably at the worst level I have ever experienced. It was almost comical how ridiculous it was. Many guests were bewildered by the utter incompetence. Sadly the staff that were clueless; behind the bar, serving food and generally getting it all wrong were clearly lacking in management and training. A great shame but it could be rectified with good higher management. Meanwhile I certainly would not return.

    The property is very smart and has good facilities. It gives you the impression that you will have a nice stay. If you value service, this may not be the case!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not as expected or asked for we wanted a family room but did not receive this,,the facilities in the room were inadequate,the shower was a disgrace the water was either freezing cold or too hot to stand and also dribbled out,there was was not enough coffee ect in room and had to ask twice for more,the food we had in the dining room was of pot quality and quantity for the money we paid as was the breakfast overall a very disappointing experience and one we will not be repeating or recommending

    The look of the Hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not made clear that there was an additional parking charge.

    The food was lovely, the room was one of the nicest I've ever been in. The gym had plenty of equipment.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only faults are the pillows was to soft and room full of spiders and moths and prices of food and drinks was outrageous

    The decor and friendly staff it was a lovely hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only minor negative was there was a crane operating for a bit but this was not for long

    After the long drive to get here, the room was exceptional and very relaxing (room overlooked the outside pond area).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in took a long time as the fact that we had added breakfast online seemed to cause a lot of confusion. The breakfast itself was really disappointing for £15. Hot courses and toast were cold. Coffee and tea took a long time to come and had been sitting around for ages (tea undrinkable). Fruit was still frozen. We didn't pay for it at checkout so a good response from the hotel to our complaint about it.

    Hotel had a good location and also a nice outdoor area. Breakfast area also modern and well-paid out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower curtain had seen better days and some of the lamps didn't work in the room however when I informed reception of this issue it was sorted out very quickly.

    It's great to have complimentary milk and bottled water in the room and nice to see an adequate number of power sockets too. It's a lovely hotel with great facilities and a good atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service was so so slow, possibly the slowest ever wait I've had. I ordered a cocktail at the bar, it took 20 minutes and when it arrived it tasted like they'd forgotten the alcohol and it wasn't presented properly (ie. no strawberry garnish or frosted glass, the wrong type of ice). Normally I wouldn't care about stuff like that but when it costs £10 for a drink and 20 minutes to make it you're left feeling underwhelmed by what was essential cranberry and line juice in a cocktail glass! I returned it to the bar or a pint of cider, but when I checked out it was still on my bill which the receptionist did quickly resolve. We decided to eat at the restaurant, the meal took 45 minutes to arrive which I absolutely do not have a problem with because the food was delicious, but families with small children would appreciate some warning I'm sure. The main problems were that we also ordered a starter, that didn't arrive and 2 pints which don't arrive until after our main course! We were being served by a lovely lady and it was her first day. But the slowness wasn't down to her, it was the terrible system they have for ordering food and drink. The drinks are prepared in another room, there is no notification to the waiting staff that drinks are ready and the bar staff don't serve them, the waiting staff do. How silly is that? Orders were written down on a paper, not electronically, so the serving staff also have to deliver the orders to the bar and the kitchen separately. There was a chefs table which we have eaten at before but it was much smaller this time compared to our last visit - I think the change in management have a few things to answer for here sadly.

    The hotel is really nicely decorated and lovely and clean, there were some nice touches, like take way cups in the room so you could make a coffee and take it in the morning and fresh milk in the fridge. Reception staff were excellent and very efficient, other staff were lovely but very slow. The spa was great and the staff there very friendly too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine in one room did not work. Restaurant prices were high for the location.

    Fridge and supply of hot drinks. Comfy bed. Swimming pool and associated facilities. Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Fantastic hotel

    I loved the cookie & milk left for my son and the bottled water & juice. It was great to be able to take a cup of tea with me too on the road. Facilities were fantastic very friendly staff. Will def stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming and helpful staff. The room was fantastic with decent coffee (no packets of nescafe to be seen!), large mugs and real milk. Clean and comfortable throughout the room, hotel and the spa.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We love it nothing to complain about

    Me and my Partner booked a weekend to get away and the Hotel provided everything we could ask for,great spa area, it was very professional-looking,comfortable bed and room and staff at Reception were very helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I requested a double room and basically got 2 single beds pushed together. When I queried it the staff at the hotel tried to tell me that it was on my booking for a 'joined bed' This wasn't the case. Only when I went through my booking with them did they acknowledge that I was correct. - Clarity required please.

    The waitress at night, I think her name was Emily but may be wrong was fabulous for such a young girl her service was excellent, nothing was too much for her and she was extremely pleasant. The food I have to say in the restaurant was superb we ate there twice out of 4 days and food wise they were our best nights.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked through booking.com where we'd requested a family room for 2 adults and 2 children but the hotel didn't have this information. Luckily the hotel were able to provide a room with an extra sofabed.

    Lots of goodies left out for the children. Excellent pool changing facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was massively overpriced and very disappointing. We found the staff slightly wooden- very scripted.

    The room was comfortable and fairly clean. The spa facilities were good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Kept getting Certificate errors when connecting to Wi-Fi: seems to be something to do with HTTPS protocol which many search engine home pages and business pages now use. It was a serious faff to work round them every time I wanted to connect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not comphy and not long enough for both of us. Also the coffee machine didn't work properly only gave about an inch of coffee each time.

    The room was lovely and the staff were friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness in the room Paid the same as others for a far less plush room- dated and in need of refurbishment to match other rooms

    Lovely staff, very helpful, comfy bed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room service food a bit expensive, £7.20 for 1 portion of chips, we enjoyed every one !!

    Convenient to the M5 and very easy to locate. Rooms really comfy, attention to detail good. Friendly staff, so important to your stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was way to hot even with the ac running full tilt it didn't drop to a tolerable level The bed had to thick a cover adding to the overheating

    The decor and feel of the place was excellent we all loved it

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening bar food of mediocre quality. Drinks very expensive

    Great recently refurbished room. Location excellent as a stopover on a he way to Cornwall. Gym fantastic

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not brilliant.

    We stayed in a family suite. We were not expecting all the little extras for our little girl, especially the cookies and milk at bed time delivered to our room. What a lovely Suprise. Thank you

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was good but overpriced, the staff in the bar and restaraunt were quite slow and our room neighbours were very noisy however the reception staff were professional in handling a situation which was out of their hands.

    Room was clean and comfortable.staff at check in were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Overall food is expensive at the restaurant and I guess since there are no other options near by. The room I stayed in during my first trip was decent however I stayed at this hotel again at a later time and the room was nothing like the first one. So outdated, smelly, uncomfortable bed, toilet and shower functioning poorly and bath tub so old and unpleasant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly and the factilies were nice and modern

    The room above our room was loud due to how thin the celilings were. I could hear there TV, them closing there doors and the door in the corridor leading to the stairs slam. Causing us to not have such a relaxful weekend for our anniversary

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't really find anything negative to say about it in our two night stay.

    The room was lovely. There was a cookie & a glass of milk left for our daughter plus a little chocolate treat & some raisins, which we thought was a lovely touch. Breakfast was good as was the restaurant food in the evening. Convenient location straight of off the motorway practically.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaniess in the restaurant ... hairs in food ... tables full of dirty pots .... banister in restaurant needed a good clean and service a little slow

    Welcoming friendly staff , facilities excellent rooms amazing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant is expensive and average, although the fish was always a good choice.

    Spacious bedrooms and good facilities. Easter activities for the children were a bonus and the staff went out of their way to make sure the children were entertained.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: