Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Babbacombe Guest House 4 stars

53 Babbacombe Road, Torquay, TQ1 3SN, United Kingdom

#105 of 119 B&Bs and Inns in Torquay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 67 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I personally favoured the house speciality. Salmon & omelette which was cooked to perfection. My Husband had full English, which was also delicious. The hosts we're fabulous.We They couldn't do enough for us Very friendly lovely people.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Good, comfy bed; hot shower; everywhere spotless and a good, hearty breakfast. The hosts were friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. Parking right outside the guest house was a bonus and the location is convenient and easy to find.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be impossible to dislike anything here.

    The owners of Babbacombe Guest House, do everything they can to make your stay comfortable and memorable. They are exceedingly thoughtful and sensitive to your needs. The property is beautiful. Breakfast is amazing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really lovely place. Lovely clean room great bed nothing was to much for Danny and Rita ... I will defo go back and soon hopefully !! Breakfast was lovely and very filling

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely and clean rooms with everything you would need for a break away beds made everyday for you complimentary biscuits and toiletries for you soft fluffy towels and delicious freshly made breakfast fantastic hosts Rita and Danny who were very helpful and nothing was ever too much trouble for them cannot recommend this place enough

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The choice of room .

    Breakfast was excellent, location was perfect, Rita and Danny were brilliant hosts. However our room was up in the eaves and would not recommend this room to anyone. we kept hitting our heads and were continuously crouched to avoid this, so very uncomfortable!! Everything else about this place was perfect!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My fault I didn't read the online details before booking that the bathroom was in the eaves with low head room!

    Very friendly, helpful and accommodating owners. Exquisitely clean - it could not have been cleaner! Bed comfortable. Very well equipped. Very good value for money as I was in single attic room with separate own bathroom. I got the impression you could just ask if you needed anything as the owners really wanted me to enjoy my stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low ceiling in bathroom couldn't stand up to take a shower. I was in a single room at the top and had own bathroom which was good but you need to be very small or you keep banging your head. Bed uncomfortable, but new mattresses are on the agenda!

    Danny and Rita very nice hosts - very clean and facilities good. Excellent breakfast. In very good location and easy to get to Torquay Harbour. Excellent for short break. Very peaceful and quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location great for all amenities, room was clean & comfortable, on site parking is available, nothing was too much trouble at breakfast, the owners were the perfect hosts and the cost was value for money

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A truly delightful 7-night stay .. I was made to feel most welcome from the start .. Danny & Rita did everything they could to make me feel at home .. my room and en suite bathroom were nicely decorated .. the room was equipped with hair dryer and kettle, plus complementary tea, coffee etc .. bed linen and towelling is of a very good quality .. TV Freeview was most welcome and the Free Wi-Fi was faultless .. breakfast was a delight .. the guest house is within walking distance of a number of pubs and restaurants, and the Downs are just 300 metres away .. the bus stop into the town centre is only a minute's walk .. in a nutshell, this guest house is truly amazing value .. Danny & Rita work so hard to provide a relaxing and spotlessly clean stay .. I have already recommended to friends & family .. the most welcoming, cosy and clean B+B I've ever stayed in .. thank you so very much.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the sea, friendly owners, spotlessly clean, very comfy bed. Breakfast excellent. Can recommend for good value hotel near the coastal path and beaches.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative

    Lovely place too stay, close to all you need for a holiday or weekend away. Run by a very nice and attentive couple, best breakfast I've had for a while, will be staying again .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a little cold when we arrived.

    Very convenient for visiting Babbacombe Theatre, the purpose of our weekend. Owners were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything good nothing bad to say about rita and danny really good hosts

    location, friendly hosts, breakfast . ideal for visiting torquay and like us close to torquay football ground (10 min walk)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked some sort of a lounge to relax in if weather was inclement. Limited parking sometimes required reversing on to busy road.

    The room was comfortable and handy. The proprietors were very helpful and friendly, only a very short walk to the cliff walks and very well placed for bus services. Good breakfasts though rather limited time span.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could have been more comfortable

    The breakfast was good plentiful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early evening traffic noise but quiet at night

    Convenient for us. Clean,good bed, good breakfast ,friendly owners

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great, room was very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    friendly, helpful, spotless, comfy bed, great location, and a fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Danny and Rita were very welcoming and friendly. The whole experience was wonderful. You were made to feel like friends not customers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely clean and comfortable room..really good breakfast and danny and rita were lovely hosts made us feel very welcome

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was excellent! I had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs-it was the best. The owner was very friendly and we felt very welcome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal attention at all times

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    stayed in attic room bathroom a bit cramped but very clean

    nice breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service,great room,great breakfast,great value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast too rushed

    Location and parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Danny and Rita were great hosts

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friendly hosts - very good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Large bedroom. Owners extremely kind and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The full English breakfast was superb

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't find anything I disliked.

    A lovely welcome and very friendly owners

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Owners were extremely friendly and easy to talk to, Very helpful, room was spotless, breakfast was excellent,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the road noise throughout the night

    the room was nice,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not being able to stay longer.

    Everything was very well catered for, we were made to feel very welcome. The breakfast was to a very high standard.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    spotlessly clean, attention to detail excellent, everything we could have wanted. very friendly, great breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That it rained

    Nice friendly people will be goin back Breakfast was very nice room was clean and tidy shower was lush had a job getting out lol

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    my bathroom was small, but fixtures and finish excellent

    excellent value for money

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1st rate

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great people, great food, great room. We were made very welcome and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was excellent, all fresh produce, Danny and Rita were delightful host's striving to make our stay as enjoyable as possible

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses uncomfortable

    Marvelous breakfasts .lovely welcoming owners.easy parking.. bright airy bedroom. Good atmosphere very clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing for the price and location

    Everything was excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    parking was a bit tight, good job my husband was driving and not me!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing very clean lovely room breakfast excellent friendly owners

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Welcoming and friendly hosts, clean comfortable property, well decorated, fantastic breakfasts and all in a superb location (with off road parking). Really enjoyed our stay!

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Couple

    Only downside was the main road, could be noisy if you wanted your windows open.

    Nice location, short walk to the beach and all amenities only a short walk away. Tesco Express nearly next door, handy for those forgotten items. Room was small but all you needed for a couple of nights. Will use again.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower room was too small and the plumbing made gurgling noises. The TV was small and the sound was tinny.

    The Bed, The Room, Breakfast, The Garden, the service, the little touches like sweets and biscuits.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The accommodation was very good with lots of little extra touches. It has private parking which we were allowed to use the following day after checking out. It was 5 mins to the Babbacombe Theatre and downs, and it's central to most other locations in and around Torquay. We'll definitely be using this B&B again.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They were friendly and helpful, breakfast was lovely. Good location, close to regular bus route and close enough to town to walk if it's a nice day.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The owners were very friendly and accomadating. Good knowledge of area. Brill accomadation .

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Couple

    There was nothing to dislike

    The whole experience was excellent.Breakfast was fabulous.The room was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Couple

    The beds were uncomfortable. Lots of "do not" notices.

    Cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    all good

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    spotlessley clean good location,would stay again.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    our bedroom was close to the road a tad noisy

    very clean and very close to transport links and on site parking

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was convenient for buses and for walking to the areas we wanted to visit. Excellent decor, good standard of toiletries.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Convenient for buses, taxis, shops and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Was made to feel very welcome and place was very clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing bad to report!

    Welcoming owners, spotless guest house, good food

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    shower was difficult to use due to sloping roof in bathroom

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Location

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Very welcoming, excellent hosts, scenic place.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Guests also reviewed these properties: