Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bail House

Bailgate, Lincoln, LN13AP, United Kingdom

#5 of 19 hotels in Lincoln

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 741 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.5
    Lovely house, beautiful rooms in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative was our room was next to a bunch of students on freshers week who were very noisy.

    Room was great. Loved the honesty bar and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    Really enjoyed the stay. Excellent base for the Castle etc. Staff excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had an attic room which was a little quirky but we liked it. I did have to duck under a beam to get into the bathroom but not a major issue. We were allowed to leave our car in the car park on the day of departure for a £5 fee but that is cheaper than a local council car park. We were informed that we could return to the hotel for a complimentary tea or coffee (self-serve) before we departed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Ideal spot for old city mooching.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing little hotel. Room was fantastic (though you must remember to duck under the beam when going to the bathroom!) The bed was so comfortable too. Staff were fantastic and really welcoming. Ideal location for our needs over the weekend. Just prepare your legs if you are coming in via train like us for walking up (and down) steep hill, it's name is very apt!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.3
    Convenient location but overpriced for the facilities on offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four-Poster Bed with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our rooms 9 and 10 downstairs at the front of the hotel shared a bathroom which was quite public being accessed off the main corridor. It was more of a shower room with a butler sink and a draining board it desperately needed updated. Ceiling was in a poor way and the mouldy shower cubicle didn’t drain well the riser was supported by sellotape and the toilet was loose. We had to lock the door each time we used the room with a key. The rooms were quite spacious but very dated and the shutters let in light. No remote for the tiny T. V.

    The rooms were spacious and the lounge area was particularly welcoming. Cooked Breakfast in the adjoining tapas bar was fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.3
    The hotel itself was very nice, clean, comfortable in a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four-Poster Bed with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself was very nice, clean, comfortable in a good location. But when checking out we was left in a que of 4 guests whilst the receptionist wondered off for 20 min, she then came back answered the phone and wondered off again for 10 mins. At this point we just left our keys and left.. Spoilt what was a lovely trip.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Quaint, Cute and Gorgeous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four-Poster Bed with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything.

    The room had an extremely comfortable 4 poster bed and period features. The bathroom had exposed brickwork which I thought was brilliant. The front door is locked and alarmed at night which made us feel extra safe. Access is via 2 coded doors after 9pm. Wi-Fi is free and really good. We booked a room with shared bathroom and that was only with 1 other room. It is based really close to the Lincoln Cathedral and the bells sound good. The walk up Steep Hill (which lives up to its name) is good as there are plenty of heritage to look at as you go up it. Over all, a beautiful place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful Period House in an Excellent Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside was the incredibly uncomfortable pillows - felt like they were filled with rocks!

    Beautiful period building. Our room was quirky, with lovely exposed ceiling beams, though we did have to remember to duck (to avoid a beam) to get into the bathroom. There was a nice big bath, with plenty of hot water. Breakfast (in the nextdoor Tapas restaurant) was excellent, and served by a very cheerful and helpful waiter. The location was very convenient, and the extras of a comfortable lounge and honesty bar, plus tea and coffee were good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    The room and the hotel decor was lovely and modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable and very creaky. The access from the car park to the hotel entrance was across a mud and stone area that could have caused tripping over

    The room and the hotel decor was lovely and modern

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    I loved the look and feel of the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast and the cafe next door leaves a little to be desired. Wasn’t worth the £10.

    I loved the look and feel of the property. The communal area, with the honesty bar, is really comfortable and a great idea.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay at Bail House
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    As soon as we walked through the door we had a lovely welcome from the receptionist. It is a beautiful old style building with great character and our room overlooked the cathedral. Location brilliant lots of nice shops and restaurants plus the castle. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and would recommend this hotel to anyone!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed Lincoln. Will stay longer next time and stay at Bail House.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking was a little difficult but there was a steam punk event on so very busy. To be honest, with only one case it wasn’t really a problem. NCP car park was about 10 minute walk away and £11 for 24 hours.

    The room was just fantastic and right in the centre of everything. That said it was not noisy at all. Very clean and staff superb. Breakfast at cafe, next door, was excellent. We will stay there again and will totally recommend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Could not have had a better stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 2 was right on the main street, so quite noisy from an early hour (with window open).

    Lovely, characterful room in a traditional hotel. Roomy, public area downstairs, with pleasant seating areas inside and outside. With ventilation and heating provided in the room. Helpful and amiable personnel. We liked it so much we stayed an extra night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.1
    Great night in Lincoln, good location in the heart of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outside space unkempt, so poor first impressions, inside also in need of a refresh but the staff said they are limited due to it being listed. The mattress was also a bit old so was not so comfortable.

    Great location, Lots of complimentary tea, coffee and hot chocolate, Breakfast was great and although parking was an extra £10 we parked until early afternoon the following day. Staff all helpful and very friendly, thank you.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Great find awesome location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little noisy but that comes with the great location!

    We had a four poster bed and the room was spacious and comfy. The location was fabulous, so close to the cathedral and castle. Breakfast next door in ole ole was lovely. We had dinner in ole ole the night before and it was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    Liked the friendly staff, we were able to leave our bags and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another guest had left a bra and tissues in the cupboard, which was a bit of an unpleasant find.

    Liked the friendly staff, we were able to leave our bags and the tea and coffee in the room were a nice touch.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    brillant
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs could have had edging to show the edges for safety reasons .

    We booked a family room but the hotel upgraded us to a two bedroom. Which meant my granddaughter had a room to herself which a 15yr old likes. Well stocked refreshments and reading materials. Downstairs were more refreshments and a lounge where you could relax.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    Our parents booked the room but their concert was cancelled and the hotel refused to refund.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four-Poster Bed with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drunks walking past and singing in the early hours especially when you’re on the ground floor and your bedroom window is on the street

    It was nice to getaway, nice fireplace

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Great price and location, but small details let it down.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Four-Poster Bed with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are a bit stuffy and need ventilation. I stayed a few days longer but in the first room I couldn't open the windows. The hot water was scalding - I reported it to the manager. The first room I had didn't have an en-suite so had to use a common bathroom. The hotel is unmanned between 8PM and 8AM. the courtyard is not complete and part of it resembles a cabbage patch. There is a management company that runs the hotel, but the windows needed cleaning and many needed repainting.

    The location is brilliant, the castle is only across the yard at the back. The building is medieaval with loads of character. It is great value for money, especially the ensuite rooms. There was a ground floor lounge and stocks of refreshments and chilled drinks. The hotel is a few yards to many cafe's and pubs and is on a main thouroughfair. At the back there is a courtyard and off street parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location, helpful staff, building with character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hair drier in room, weak shower. Breakfast wasn't great, but not directly related to the property as is a separate business next door who cater.

    Great location, helpful staff, building with character

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.1
    The staff were lovely and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot and the street outside was very noisy. The room was a good size but there was only one rickety dining chair to sit on apart from the bed.

    The staff were lovely and very helpful. The building was very well laid out down stairs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Lovely place to stay for a night or more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold tap ran hot for a while but wasn't a major issue Only 1 bath towel between two of us

    Lovely room and staff were all very friendly and helpful. Bed was incredibly comfortable and the en suite was beautiful. Appreciated the lotus biscuits in the room too! Really great location to reach all of Lincoln.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.6
    Anniversary Treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think to pay what we did, which I was happy to pay, but then pay an additional £10.00 to park my car in their car park was over the top. I'd probably stay there again but would look at the detail more closely

    Probably the nicest room we've ever stayed in, quirky with wooden exposed beams. Absolutely great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four-Poster Bed with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sharing the bathroom, it makes it so much cheaper to share the bathroom, but the idea that another person your sharing with could easily unlock the door for the bathroom, makes me want to pay that bit extra for a private bathroom

    The style of the room, very beautiful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.0
    The Location is Ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was uncomfortable (could feel the springs), the light was faulty, the bathroom mirror light did not work, there is black mould around the bath, the room in general was dated and in need of redecorating.

    The Location is Ideal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location for castle and cathedral, room was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was bit small and the controls need updating the plumbing was shabby

    Perfect location for castle and cathedral, room was very warm due to weather but lovely spacious room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.0
    Not as good as it looks
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is worn and our bedroom was dirty and in desperate need of a refurbishment. The breakfast was next door in the tapas bar which was dirty and uncared for. I had to send our plates back as they had left over breakfast on from the previous users. The lady serving us had long unkempt hair that she kept rubbing her fingers through😖. The pool wasn't in use and the gardens were unkempt. But all in all I really enjoyed Lincoln city .

    The clean towels.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable stay, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were a couple of large stains on the curtains and the light in the bathroom was a bit dim.

    The location was perfect for bars and restaurants in the Bailgate and the staff were friendly and efficient. The room itself had character and the bed was comfortable. The lounge/reception area downstairs was well equipped with drinks and refreshments.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Bail House rocks!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Four-Poster Bed with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the Cathedral & castle and tourist centre. Great staff, helpful n friendly. A lovely experience in a period residence. Lived the four poster bed. Place oozes charm and history. Great to have parking too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    All round ok but would perhaps go elsewhere another time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor and really let the hotel down which was quite disappointing. Lots of nice places to eat close by though. Room was extremely hot and very noisy - not the hotels fault but during hot weather, as there is no air con, you need to open the window and traffic on cobblestones outside was very loud. A fan was provided and used, but this too was quite noisy.

    Location for event at Lincoln Castle was excellent and hotel staff were very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing....it was perfect

    We had the feature room and it was absolutely stunning. The pictures on the website do not do it justice. Loved it so much so that would love to take our two boys.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, lovely features and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot in the room and the fan didn’t really do enough to cool it down. We are in a heat wave and the building is very old but there wasn’t enough provisions in place to bring the temperature down

    Honesty bar is a great touch

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Amazing relaxing warm and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. From the moment you arrive Emily the receptionist was amazing very welcoming and informative. Tapas bar next door was wonderful and breakfast was amazing. Location is perfect. A very beautiful hotel steeped in history and extremely relaxing. Would definitely book again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    The honesty bar was a unique concept which we found very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four-Poster Bed with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The desk is not staffed 24 hours but we were fortunate to not need to make enquiries during the hours it was not

    The honesty bar was a unique concept which we found very novel and innovative

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    B & B located in a picturesque part of Lincoln
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great part of Lincoln in which to stay. Breakfast across the courtyard in tapas bar is delicious. We loved our room- spacious, clean, old world charm! Lynette at reception was especially welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four-Poster Bed with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely cosy Victorian style hotel, very welcoming and friendly staff who are happy to help with anything you need. Very reasonably priced all the way from the room itself to the refreshments and breakfast. Great location in the quieter part of the city, 10/10 would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.0
    A very pleasant old world (4 poster bed) guest house. It made me think of France.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Four-Poster Bed with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I took the cheapest option in my brief online search. It came with shared bathroom facilities. This wasn't a major issue but I shouldn't have been such a cheapskate!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    A lovely little place very cozy and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Four-Poster Bed with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was right on the street so I was up with the trash collector pretty early and the people walking by had a lovely view into my room but that can't be helped.

    I loved the room they gave me the bed was huge and so comfy and I needed to just be alone and sleep and stroll through Lincoln and this was the perfect locale.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.4
    Despite being below my expectations I would recommend and go again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Light above sink not working nor extractor in bathroom. Shower had insufficient water pressure to work when bath was being run. Asking for more money than was quoted for breakfast and car parking then arguing about it but it a pleasant way.

    Location was great and the room was lovely with character

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.7
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reason the second visit was less enjoyable was based on the room standard. The room occupied at the front is historic nil issues the the size bed. The issue was the bathroom stansdard. Plumbing/ drainage slow, ventilation fan squealing and grill missing in the wash basin. The room was let down by a tired bathroom. The observations/defects were noted by reception on check out.

    This is a second visit. The first visit was very good nil issues. Breakfast good in the taps bar next door. Staff very good. Hotel areas very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Very good, we are very pleased with our visit
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The positioning of the bedroom TV was not good in relation to the four poster bed since one of the posts obscured the TV for one of us - not a big deal but the TV could be better placed!

    Very comfortable room, a warm welcome on arrival and a enjoyable arrangement for breakfast with the restaurant next door. Excellent location for Cathedral and Castle

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not very good as not any of the 4 of us enjoyed the English I breakfast - on our second day we ate at a local restaurant which was excellent.

    Staff are friendly Bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Friendly , quirky historic property ideally sighted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little cramped.

    Delightful , historic property ideally situated in the best part of the city. Good size room . Lovely staff and amazing breakfast . Fantastic stags head near by for dining . Lovely independent shops on the door step .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place to stay very near castle and cathedral.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed an electric socket near desk to plug in laptop. I’m 5ft 3 and it was a real stretch to pull the handle to flush the loo. Bath was not full sized. TV did not have subtitles.

    Beautiful old building. Very welcoming staff. Great comfortable lounge area. Lovely breakfast. 24 hrs in nearby public car park was only £8.50. Very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic location, friendly staff, home from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We wanted to watch TV when we got in from an evening out but on the second night the signal kept dropping despite it working perfectly the previous evening (this was in room 7).

    Friendly staff, comfortable bed, fantastic location, plenty of storage for clothing etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Lovely building in a beautiful and convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It did need a little decoration in places.

    Lovely building in a beautiful and convenient location. Rooms were very comfy and had all we needed. Staff always on hand and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Four-Poster Bed with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little dated

    Ideal location Reasonable price Plenty of room Complimentary tea/coffee in rooms My son who is a student at the university was able to come and visit me during my stay so well happy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    The staff were extremely polite and resourceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could do with an up date as there were stains on the curtains. Also, the fan didn't work.

    The staff were extremely polite and resourceful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.5
    Lovely room, great location, but service could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Housekeeping: was not as thorough as you might see at other hotels. We even had to make the bed ourselves! On one instance, a bulb had blown, which tripped the fuse, resulting in the main lights failing to work. We alerted someone at reception before breakfast; later, we enquired at reception about it (someone else was on, then), but she did not know anything, so that was a little sloppy. - Breakfast: this is served in the tapas restaurant next door. Not a huge amount of choice (if you ask for cereals, you are provided with a box not of your choice); and the fried mushrooms did taste a bit burned. - Car parking: very often full! We were very lucky to have found a space (of sorts) each time, but I know this was not always the case for some...and finding parking in the centre of historical Lincoln is no mean feat!

    Stayed in a room with a four-poster bed. My wife was immediately wowed by that, so it definitely had the desired effect! Very spacious room, too - more than enough room to swing a cat. Great hotel location - right in the centre of historical Lincoln. We arrived late, after reception had closed, but the instructions sent earlier by e-mail were clear and, as promised, our keys were waiting for us in an envelope at reception, so it all went without a hitch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location, lovely place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice to know that they charge £10 for parking before, not after booking. Apart from that wonderful stay.

    Great location, Yummy Breakfast, Lovely staff and great communication. I was late to arrive accidentally but they sort it really nicely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    I asked for an early check in to get ready for a function...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for an early check in to get ready for a function & that was no trouble & the hotel staff did everything they could to accommodate this.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Great for a mini break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very hot when we arrived. Parking at the hotel is expensive (£10 per night). We would advise that you park in Westgate car park 1 (LN1 3AS) as is better value (£8 per 24 hours) and is only 1/2 min walk away.

    Lovely room, great location. The room was spacious and staff helpful. Quiet overnight

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Car parking fee is a bit steep/ unnecessary. We had some very low exposed beams in our room so there was a risk of head bumping!

    Excellent location. Firendly helpful staff. good facilities, internet connection

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.3
    Excellent location if you can cope with 'Steep Hill Road', but shabby room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Décor tardy and shabby with dirty marks. My other half also experienced a hot shower turning cold and then dribbling in the morning; all that was offered was apologies. Noise from street, during day.

    Very comfy bed and enjoyable breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    Ideal position - shame about the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dusty with dirty curtains and tatty,mismatched furniture - cheap rather than quirky! 4 poster bed needs a few features that match it's style! Rather disappointing, especially as we spent nearly £200 on 2 nights! Some photos on the website seem misleading.

    Ideal for cathedral/castle and historic quarter. Bed was very comfortable. Reception desk staff were lovely!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.0
    Just OK. Was happy to be home for a good nights sleep and better standard of cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cobwebs, dirty,mattress poor quality rolled into middle of bed resulting in poor quality of sleep. Bathroom needs work. Room extremely hot. Room not cleaned on second day when out. Bed unmade etc.

    Quirky period room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Perfect weekend in a great location, in a comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Visited here twice before, was shocked that there is now a £10 per night parking fee. Cannot see the need for that. Please be careful if you are over 6' and you are in room 4, you will bang your head if you're not careful, walking between bedroom and bathroom. There is no sign, so be prepared. I love this place but is slowly getting out of my price range.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    Rooms need some attention, dont have the breakfast!! Car park £10 a day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was tired, the paper on the ceiling was fall down the sofa looked old and dusty and I didn't really want to sit on it, one of the curtains was falling down, I paid £158 for 3 nights, they were asking £237 really not worth the money, the breakfast was at the restaurant next door, I had the continental I wasn't offered Juice, I had 1 croissant with a few pieces of cheese that was it for £10 very poor I only had it for 1 day. car parking at £10 a day rip off I think that is just greedy!!

    The reception staff were really lovely and helpful. the location of the property was fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paintwork in room / bathroom could do with 'touching up'

    Excellent lounge facilities, with sofas, TV, complimentary tea & coffee and honesty bar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Pure period Elegance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only criticism was the room was too warm and no apparent way to control the temperature other than that it was perfection

    The four poster bed was super comfy and I loved the period features of the room. The location was also spot on for what we needed...would definitely visit again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location. Would stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't dislike anything but it is a bit tired in places- mouldy stains on our bedsheets, holes on armchair hidden by cushion covers, paint flaking here and there. Could do with a refurb / lick of paint.

    Great location by the castle on top of hill. Very spacious room. Very Good breakfast. Friendly staff. Car park onsite (at extra cost)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.3
    The location was brilliant, the staff were very nice but I did expect a better room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The paper was hanging off the ceiling, the sofa was shabby and breakfast wasn't included in the £89.

    The room was too shabby for the price I paid, and breakfast wasn't even included

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    Really nice friendly welcome when we arrived , excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four-Poster Bed with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Made the mistake of booking a room with shared bathroom thought it would be between the rooms but it was across the corridor on the lower floor so had people going upstairs and into reception. This was ok during day but in the night in night clothes not much privacy . Never again. Room was very hot and had to use fan that was in room

    Really nice friendly welcome when we arrived , excellent location very close to cathedral and castle . Lots cafes, bars close by . Really good breakfast . Bed was really comfortable .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.1
    I booked to stay at Bail house but due to over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely and clean the only problem was the heating in the room. The radiator was on all night despite me turning it down,it was still really hot (May be a fault with the radiator) which made it uncomfortable to sleep I had to keep getting up and sitting in the bathroom to cool down.

    I booked to stay at Bail house but due to over booking(booking.com fault) I got moved to Charlotte house. Charlotte house was lovely, nice and clean and very quite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    We would love to return to Bail House again.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No warm water in the shower. There was no possibility to regulate the temperature in the shower in our room. It didnt matter to me but to my son.

    A house with a history. I specially loved the old atmosphere combined with modern comfort.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't see the TV from the sofa! Disappointingly small cups on the tea/coffee tray, mugs would be a welcome -and low cost- update, otherwise well pleased.

    Great location Attractive, spacious room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    We loved Lincoln and we would not hesitate to stay at the Bail House again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not book for another night. So much to see in and around historic Lincoln.

    The Staff were very welcoming and friendly. The location was great so close to everything. The on-site parking. The Wifi was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.8
    Dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were originally given a family room even though we booked a double room, this room was horrible, tatty furniture, old fashioned and grubby bathroom. I complained and we were moved to a four posted bedroom without any fuss which was good of them, but the standard of hygiene is poor there were nasty marks on the wall that look like someone had wiped their nose on the wall and had been there a while, the wallpaper was hanging off the curtains were poorly fitted and it really just looked like it needs a complete refurb.

    Friendly staff. Good location and quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.0
    i arrived at 9.30 pm and left at 8.30 am so my experience was very limited. room large (#9) although
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Four-Poster Bed with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was a bit hot (weather had been very cold, but had now warmed up, but central heating had not taken account of the fact it was now mild outside).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.1
    Nice few days away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bail House is advertised as a luxury hotel. It doesn't really live up to its billing. There were small holes in the walls, the bed had a piece of wood in the middle, propping it up, the mattress sagged in the middle. The bathroom was ok, the flooring was lino, whereas ceramic tiles would be luxury, the lino was marked, the sealant around the shower was coming away and a bit mouldy in places. The armchair provided was really old and sagged. We've stayed in better places for the same money.

    Good location for the cultural quarter, literally down the road from the Cathedral, Castle and lovely cobbled Steep Hill with lots of independent shops. Plenty of places to eat within walking distance. Breakfast was good, served in the cafe next door. The weather was bitterly cold, but the hotel was lovely and warm, although a bit too hot for me.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Will book here again,loved our room and friendliness of all the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast experience. Didn’t like having a room full of people/friends,family all sitting having breakfast together.felt like I was imposing on a family get together.

    We loved our room,so comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    If you are going to Lincoln for business or pleasure this hotel is a great choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    A hotel with some character, and extremely comfortable throughout. A little tlc required here and there but overall I thoroughly enjoyed staying here and would most certainly book again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Perfect romantic break to celebrate our wedding anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except tge weather which is beyond everones control.

    2nd time we have stayed here still as good. Excellent facilities and location, lovely breakfast perfect for a treat to ourselves.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    The location was fab!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small maintenance things in the room could of had some attention, tv cable on show, skirting board coming away in places. Due to the location there was a bit of noise from outside.

    The location was fab! Right on the top of street hill.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    We will be returning as we were bowled over by this beautiful place !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This beautiful hotel provides such a chic and unique experience . Location is perfect for sight seeing . Beautiful scenic views in the midst of the quant little streets and boutique style shops . We loved the fact that attached to the hotel is a little tapas place with amazing food and breakfast is served here also ! We loved it !!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    Excellent! We can't wait to come back asap :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ONLY thing i would change is we would have liked more then one pillow each for the bed.

    Beautiful property with amazing beds/ rooms. Staff are very friendly and welcoming. Loved the honesty bar!

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: