Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Balbirnie House Hotel 4 stars

Markinch Village, Glenrothes, KY7 6NE, United Kingdom

#6 of 9 hotels in Glenrothes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 110 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in room 314. There was some noise from outside. fan or Generator not sure. Not overly a problem and stopped at some point in the night.

    Staff were all excellent and the hotel was immaculate

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put in a room for disabled persons which meant the toilet was very high.

    Lovely location, good food , very restful. Taken note of request to have a blanket, thank you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a lot really Apart from the pillows on the bed.

    The room was everything we wanted , Even thou we stayed for 1 night, The evening meal was very nice and the menu you got a good choice, and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    No complaints, staying here 5 nights (1 with booking, 4 on business) Great venue, food excellent, staff attentive, great business facilities....but feels secluded and relaxing...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom we had - 201 - was large but the chest of drawers were a little shabby and the en suite had not been renovated with good plumbing or decorating skills. It did really let down the quality of the rest of the hotel.

    All reception rooms were in good decorative state. Breakfast was excellent and the overnight stay was very good value and very comfortable. Lovely location which will be particularly enjoyable in Spring/Summer/Autumn. Very convenient for Edinburgh and Fife coast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much choice at breakfast time - when we arrived many of the fruit bowls were empty, the bacon was thick cut (which I really don't like), the haggis slices (which I loved) were dried up, not enough mushrooms, no grapefruit juice, cups of coffee and pots of tea with just enough for one cup - really need larger pots of tea and pots of coffee. Cleanliness wasn't great in out room with2 dead flies attached to the pelmet and hairs on the towels. Slightly dusty in areas too.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful but not enough of them! Short staffed at the bar where many people left waiting for drinks.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been better, bacon at buffet was hard and over cooked, no marmalade , which was a bit strange, also very sparing with the butter for toast. Eggs cooked to order at the buffet were excellent but second morning when no buffet and all cooked to order it was a big disappointment.

    We ate in the Bistro downstairs which was excellent. staff were all lovely and very efficient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was lovely, but felt that a few bits could do with some TLC/upgrading. The fire places in the bars/public places were really nice, but the actual room could do with a lick of paint, some care & attention. Quite annoys me when we book a double room, and it turns out to be 2 single beds pushed together, maybe it's just me but it's a wee bit uncomfortable. The dinner in the 'Orangery Restaurant' was nice enough, but not brilliant. The staff kept disappearing for long periods of time. Food was alright, but from reviews, we were expecting 5star, was probably more 3star, to be honest. Think the place is now trading on Weddings (which are probably excellent). Overall, a lovely weekend getaway, but not as good as expected, and probably trading on past glories.

    Location, the building, the cocktails, the overall ambiance, the grandeur, the walk around the golf course.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is an old building and the windows in our room rattled in the strong wind. The hotel does not provide bath robes.

    We stayed one night on 23rd December and were made very welcome by the staff. The food was excellent and, again the restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very tastefully decorated for the festive period.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really I was allocated a room on the top floor so had several stairs and fire doors to negotiate

    Allocated such a lovely room for my overnight stay. Sitting at the roaring log fire in the bar lounge in the evening

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initial room had no heating on arrival, the window would not close, the carpet was marked and plate glass on side table was chipped. We were given another room which was much better but there was no toilet roll holder. Neither room had any biscuits which would have been appreciated after a long journey and there was no instructions in the upgraded room on how to work the coffee machine which we were going to have to use as there was no kettle.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was awful...toilet coming away from the wall, tiles mouldy over the bath/shower. No safe in the room no fridge...only bottled tap water...not exactly luxurious! Room was a bit depressing ...no nice view only the smell of food coming from the nearby kitchen.

    The orangery was very nice where we had breakfast. Staff very pleasant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner menu not as good as previous one, breakfast worst I have ever been served complained and cost of breakfast taken off bill, when we have visited previously there was a Maitre de who looked after you before and after dinner this was sadly lacking this time, we had to ask if we ordered dinner in the bar prior to going to the dining room and we were told just go to dining room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gorgeous old place, very shabby chique. Our bedroom was amazing with very comfy bed and amazing shower. We had a lovely view of the garden. It was a lovely surprise getting such a fab room as often when you are just staying for one night you get the worst room.Very good breakfast. All staff delightful and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is grand. The Staff are very friendly. The room is really comfortable with ample space and furnishing. The interior decor is something to relish. I had breakfast which was very good. The grounds are beautiful for a stroll.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beds beautifully comfortable bathroom excellent with great pressure from shower very trlaced atmosphere staff very welcoming and attentiveness was exceptional breakfast excellent we had dinner in the orangeray it was lovely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wedding parties were held in the hotel both nights that we stayed Music could be heard until 12pm and loud talking and laughter and drinking went on until about1am We went for peace and quiet Don't think the hotel should mix wedding guest and ordinary guests who are looking for peace and relaxation No mention of wedding parties when we booked the hotel

    Nice building and grounds

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The menu was rather odd. Seemed there was too many choices which didn't quite fit. The 'disco' window lights in the bar were peculiar. Some parts of the hotel seemed to be a storage place for tables/chairs and some rooms didn't have any particular function (room beside the bar). This might have been due to forthcoming wedding. The service was fine and friendly. The shower had the tendency to have bursts of excruciatingly hot water flow. Not pleasant. There was just a few niggles about the hotel. Needed a bit more care and attention. e.g. there was a big hole behind the toilet and lots of noisy doors. I don't think it was a 4 star hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Weekend weddings had loud bands that played until midnight. Quite noisy until 1 am.

    Friendly staff, very good breakfast, on site golf course with very helpful pro in the club house.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were put 3 flights up with no view - windows too high to see out of.The staff are pleasant but poorly trained - it is not good enough to be waited on by students who don't know how to make a cocktail -they need to be instructed on how to serve ..breakfast was poor - tasteless/dry/no one in the dining room so why use the hot lights - it should be cooked to order.Ingredients advertise local produce - useless if cooked indifferently .Wr wandered about looking for directions to bistro etc -no notices anywhere.What a pity they dont get Aussies or Kiwis or SouthAfricans in to run it - this hotel could fly!

    the hotel was clean- the grounds were lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small rooms - and they vary in quality. We asked for a change of room and took a smaller but nicer room. Could have offered that to start as it was across the hall from our son instead of a crummy room another floor up. As with so many older hotels - the rooms vary significantly in decor and quality for the same price.

    Lovely grounds, bar, sitting rooms. Bartender in library was good. Downstairs bistro was good but noisy. Rooms quiet, small. Decent driving distance to visit St. Andrews and better value than in St. Andrews

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Splendid house hotel with spectacular garden and parks on the estate. Serene and tranquil location for walks with fantastic trees and bushes in their spring blooms and beautiful streams. A place to energize one's mind and soul

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No information in room about meals - where to go; what times they were provided; whether room service was available; what food was provided.

    Very clean; spacious room and en-suite; very comfortable bed; luxury linen; well-decorated to match period of property; nice touch of a coffee machine in room and bottled water. Option of a normal kettle if preferred (in cupboard). Staff friendly and helpful but discreet, which was appreciated. Received requested wake-up call exactly on time. Good Wifi connection (free).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - guess the only improvement they could make would be the addition of a Health Spa but then we would never get a room there!

    Large room, very quiet with a large comfortable bed. Good sized bath and shower with decent toiletries. Didn't have dinner but breakfast was lovely, good choice of food and stunning surroundings in the sunny Orangery. Plenty of parking set in grounds with woodland walks and with a golf course. We did book last minute and got a very good deal so was great value for money - otherwise some of the rooms are a bit expensive :-)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful refurbished room! Can see each time we go, the efforts taken to refurbish, upgrade & upkeep this beautiful period property. Celebrating our Anniversary, received a bottle Chapagne from the Management....nice touch! Cannot fault the staff. Excellent breakfast. The owners deserve a pat on the back for their hard work!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room could have been better. Would have preferred a shower cubicle rather than a shower over the bath. Work top in bathroom was loose. Paper coming off bathroom wall. Bed was two singles pushed together and I would have liked a double bed.

    Staff helpful and friendly. The food in the bistros restaurant well worth the money and very tasty.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out is at 11:00 and it's not negotiable unless you pay £15 per extra hour.

    Dinning experience was fantastic! Bed was very comfortable Very bright and clean bathroom Service was spot on!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we were in looked a bit tired- the wallpaper is starting to come away. Can do with re decorating. The bathroom is definitely needing a revamp. For what we paid per night I expect toiletries and a shower cap.There was only soap and shampoo in a bottle on the wall which is what you get when you stay at a Premier Inn. The shower curtain is not a good idea as it clings to your body and you fight with it all the time while having a shower , I dont think it is changed everyday . From the reviews I expected more from the acomodation, I was a bit disappointed with the room

    The staff were really friendly and helpful. The evening meal was very good. Lovely property, loved the log fires

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A wee bit pricey for the area. One of the rooms was not nearly as good quality as any of the others - but was still the same cost....!

    Food was excellent & the staff could not have been more helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That I could not stay longer.

    Was disappointed that I could not get into the dining room, but the casual restaurant downstairs was superb! Great baked fish. The grounds are beautiful and lovely to walk around. The staff is friendly. Breakfast was delicious. Will be back!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There seemed to be inexperienced staff at times. Was told that I had to go to reception to sign my bar bill to the room, then the reception staff had to be told what we have had. General hotel staff not very attentive, didn't seem to want to make contact. Not once was I asked " can I get you anything " when we were in the public areas.

    The hotel is full of lovely paintings and there are a lot of areas to sit to read. Staff in bistro were nice. Bistro food was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner is served in the old kitchens at an underground room. Not understandable given the nice common rooms they have that would be great for hosting the restaurant.

    Lovely classical building surrounded by a beautyful golf course and woods. Staff at the golf course is so nice and helpful!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    windows in room didnt open so room was a bit hot and stuffy

    Location Hotel environment. Lovely staff especially Leigh

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service. Staff kept disappearing. Difficulty getting wine/coffee/drinks after dinner/ more tea at breakfast time

    Good food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great atmosphere & wide choice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It rained!

    All round excellent experience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dark dungeon Bistro and the lunch. Would never go back there

    The dining room ( the Orangery ) and the evening dinners

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed to be unable to have breakfast due to inclement weather but did enjoy my evening meal. Bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was below the standard l would expect of a hotel of this quality’s

    The room the public areas

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room, clean and comfortable, lovely relaxing time

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful character building well restored and maintained

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was fairly small and there was a cold draught from the window

    The hotel was very quiet, and our room was on the ground floor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    needs a spa facility to encourage you to relax more

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were so friendly it was a lovely stay .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The BEST hotel I've stayed at, the staff, grounds, room are all amazing!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a lovely big room. cosy log fire. food was lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Staff very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator

    Situation

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room although well decorated and comfortable was basically in the attic.

    Beautiful building, well appointed and very well decorated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift in property. No pen in room.

    Overall a good stay albeit only one night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful building, very friendly staff. Great value for money. And lots of pianos around to play!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs Some biscuits in room 😂

    Lovely breakfast. Room very clean with coffee and tea facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel with a very nice ambiance and in a beautiful setting. Breakfast was extremely good and definitely to be recommended. It was all good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were lovely and bistro was excellent !!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. The food was exceptional. The staff friendly. The room great. Well done to all

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no tv in honeymoon suite

    beautiful location good food comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasnt clean....stains on carpet and bed was 2 single beds pushed together.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No negative comments!

    Relaxing environment

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was very nice & the breakfast was varied & very tasty.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unclean, damp, poor room and v outdated

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift, OK if you are young but not good if you are elderly. Phone signal very poor

    Location very nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No dislikes

    Elegant property

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful grounds. A very relaxing atmosphere. Gorgeous accommodation.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very stylish hotel. Classy beautiful furnishings and garden. Excellent breakfast. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely meal in Bistro and excellent breakfast too. Beautiful gardens and grounds to stroll around.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toiletries in bathroom

    Staff exceptional nice and friendly Danish pastries very good (being Danish I should know )

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much Wish I had more time!

    Great setting Fantastic traditional building Food great Staff, really excellent EV car charge point a real bonus

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little bit frayed around the edges in some places, BUT in a nice way :-)

    Restaurant for breakfast was sumptuous

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Beautiful house, comfortable and well decorated rooms, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food- the croissants at breakfast were especially flaky. The staff were lovely and the whole experience was just wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast: good choice but plates were cold for cooked breakfast. One morning we were told we couldn't have toast because there was NO BREAD!! Tables were left uncleared when guest had left. Room decor a bit dated although decorators were in during our stay. No biscuits with brew making facilities. Very over priced for B&B.

    Staff very friendly. Hotel location for our holiday.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    My sister who was with me had room 106 her room was also lovely but the corridor was been redecorated. This means it was a real mess and did not help when the painters came at 10am and switched on their radio esp when check out is 11am

    I had room 101 and loved the room

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast served from hot plates- even though we went at 8.30 - all overcooked and dried out. Toast was served burnt .

    Setting of hotel and building itself beautiful Shower was great for old building Evening meal in bistro was excellent

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The bedrooms and the corridors could do with a lick of paint and updating.

    The restaurant was excellent. The main areas of the hotel were lovely. The breakfast was excellent.

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: