Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel 3 stars

Balgeddie Way, Glenrothes, KY6 3QA, United Kingdom

#5 of 9 hotels in Glenrothes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 793 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.3
    Average stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Creeky floorboards, here both sides walking around. Walls thin. Very warm room in full sun. Had to open dorma and sun hit the room Toilet made an awful noise every time flushed. Over priced for a standard single room.

    Comfy bed. Ideal location Great WiFi Good size car park

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Lovely place to stay and staff really friendly. Will definitely be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing to dislike

    The staff were very friendly and the room we had was lovely and the view was great. Even got a sunset on our first night. If the weather hadn't been so good - we stayed out for the majority of the day and evening, I would have made use of the excellent leisure facilities (swimming pool, gym etc). We have a beautiful meal the first night as well and your staff were excellent. I will certainly be returning in the not too distant future and be bringing friends along so they can also enjoy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    Facilities were great (pool, sauna, steam room).
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot do could have done with a a fan. Also bed side table sticks out to close to the bathroom door (room 210) so unfortunately banged my leg on it. Needs a fridge

    Breakfast was nice, more choice would be great. Bed was big and comfy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Great quiet location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was our hot room(214) in the attic.....but when we found out that velux windows could open all was well...and we managed to cool off! Think we may have been in old "staff quarters"!

    Character of place lovely and walk into town through woods great! Swim in quiet pool brilliant!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.7
    Property was comfortable and Staff were very helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was lipstick on one of the drinking glasses in the bathroom, also the bathroom was not the cleanest! The gym and pool facilities closed at 10pm but 9.25pm and we were nit allowed entry as the staff had to clean to shut them at 10pm. If facilities say 10pm closing then the guest should be allowed to use until they time then staff should clean.

    Property was comfortable and Staff were very helpful, nothing was too much to ask for. Lovely location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Balgeddie House hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not really set up for a disabled person. No handrails in the bathroom. Towel rail was very hot so couldn't use that to hold onto. Hotel was locked up tight so had no access to outside areas until 7am . Felt like a prison.

    Garden and patio areas lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay and would definitley return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that i can complain about !

    Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Beds were very comfy. Swimming pool was a good size and weather and hotel views were beautiful. Breakfast had a good option. Free wi fi - Couldnt really fault anything!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Restaurant was good and food was a healthy portion!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In a top room on a very hot day so the room was extremely warm

    Restaurant was good and food was a healthy portion! Staff friendly and good to have the pool/sauna facilities available

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Nice to be there one week
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first time they gave us a old little room very hot it was a really deception but then we spook with the reception and they gave a beautiful room

    The room was perfect large clean the bath room was very big

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Very clean room.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 209....right above the bins..right above kitchen doors where staff stand outside for breaks..can hear all conversations...also out side door to room is where maids get equipment .towels .cleaning products etc. So a very noisey room to give to people

    Very clean room..helpful staff...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Steamy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a tad dated, plumbing not the best. The additional single bed wasn't the bed quality or comfortable

    Friendly staff. Pool facilities were lovely, especially the sauna and steam room. Bed was massive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Everything was so brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very clean and cozy and Scottish breakfast was great. The swimming pool is a perfect place to open a day for family trip. I loved it and I definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Bad deal at Balgeddie
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was close to or over the kitchen extractor fan which made a lot of noise and made the room buzz or vibrate. I complained and asked to be moved but was told the hotel was full. To cap this the manager and her assistant said they must be less sensitive than me and couldn't hear or feel anything! Insult to injury. And despite being told the noise would stop at 2100 it persisted till well after midnight! Very poor treatment and no apology.

    A very good restaurant with a nice menu and friendly staff who coped well with all guests even though there was a very large wedding reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cheaper continental breakfast!!

    Room basic but comfortable. Receptionist was not for advising us that we could have continental breakfast early Saturday morning, it was another member of staff that advised us as my son was competing in a cycling road race and we had to be away early. Not all the food was out in the morning that was included in the continental breakfast, expensive breakfast for tea and toast!!! Sarah who was very helpful also took my sons bike and locked it away at night, rather than leaving it in the car.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely venue and good value...due to signs of ageing?
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is nice and homely but pretty pricey for what it is. Portions good but I think the best part of £14 for most dishes served with frozen fries and tinned/frozen veg is a bit steep. A two courses for £15 deal would be good value and more in line with what work goes into the catering.

    Staff are welcoming and friendly. Rooms are big and comfy, grounds are lovely and nice to have a pint whilst the dog let's off some energy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, great base for exploring the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel. Efficient and attentive staff. Great spa facilities. Comfortable bed and very clean. Food was well cooked and full of flavour. Lots of interesting places to visit in the surrounding area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    2.5
    Didn’t have the correct details for us upon check in and we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t have the correct details for us upon check in and we had to be moved room. We had paid extra for our dog to stay but received no welcome pack for him as advertised. There was human waste smeared on the bathroom door (how anyone could miss cleaning it, I don’t know), our bedroom window was directly above the industrial waste bins and so there was loud smashing and banging till 2am that started back up at 6.30am. Upon check out the receptionist did not ask if everything was ok with our stay so am also in the process of writing a formal complaint. This hotel looks nice from the outside but don’t be fooled and don’t part with your money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.9
    Good Hotel, good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an issue at check is as the hotel had not received my reservation from Booking.com, the issue lying with Booking.com. Fortunately they had a room and honoured the reservation at Booking.com price. I am still awaiting a reply and explanation from Booking.com.

    Property was great, staff were helpful and facilities and restaurant very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Very pleasant and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed staying here with our 3 young children. We found the staff very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our evening meal in the restaurant and the breakfast was very good to. The pool was also good and the grounds were lovely. We'd stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Good compromise for the price but seemed overrated to me
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 3rd floor without lift is a bit hard with the suitcases. For some unknown reason, the room as well as the corridor were boiling hot even with the heater off and being 15 degrees outside... The rooms are not well soundproof as I could be lullabied by my neighbour snoring, when it was not the bagpipes from the wedding next door.

    Very dog friendly, they even offer a poo bag with treats and a whole brochure of what to do and don't in the hotel and the area with your pet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Swimming pool and gym facilities included in the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could'nt fill the kettle from the wash basin tap to make a brew. Full size kettle with modern shallow wash basin had to fill tea cups and transfer to the kettle!!

    Swimming pool and gym facilities included in the price. Comfortable huge double bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Cheery,comfortable and cosy.
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness wasn't brilliant- for example the carpet needed a good hoovering looked like it was covered in dog hairs and the plus area of the shower was very scummy.

    The bed was super soft, although a little too soft but that's just personal preference. Most staff were very friendly and cheerful. Garden looked nice although I sadly didn't stay long enough to enjoy its charm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Telaxinh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that they no longer serve cocktails as it does state cocktail bar ontheBest Western website.

    Everything, friendly staff ok though some were new and still learning. It’s not a modern hotel but the owners have stayed true to the building and preserved the integrity of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Go for it!
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The deer and bunnies ran away when I went out in the backyard around 7am..

    Service minded staff, great breakfast, amazing view, clean, easy to find a parking spot, 100% worth it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.0
    Comfortable enough for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening staff were young, seemingly untrained, uninterested and made a few mistakes with our meal. There seemed to be no-one managing them. The interior of the building and certainly the gardens were in serious need of some attention. It had an overall feeling of neglect. There was nowhere inviting to sit and relax other than the small bar. We'd thought there might be grounds to walk in, but there was only a lawn. It's such a pity because there is so much potential for the hotel and it's surroundings, but there's a sense of disinterest.

    The room was fine and comfortable with a nice view from the window. Bed was very large and luxury bed linen and towels. Food was satisfactory.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic time will definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not 1 thing . All was perfect

    Really happy customer.All the people who works their are so nice. Pool is lovely breakfast was really good. Will def be back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Good night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a good night until the morning as I mentioned to staff when checking out I fell getting into shower the matt slipped from under me I have a big bruise on my leg I think it was maybe what bath had been cleaned with that made matt slip thought staff should have took accident report as it was a sore one

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.3
    adequate
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was lumpy room very warm didn't see switch for bathroom heater until morning Restaurant food stodgy and very large portions , requested some fresh fruit for pudding and they couldn't provide this

    Staff were friendly and helpful Lovely setting Pool and gym facilities available

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    A lovely day & the outdoor terrace was lovely to sit at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit tired, but it's an older property & the ambiance made up for it.

    A lovely day & the outdoor terrace was lovely to sit at in the evening & drink a chilled glass of wine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    We had lunch there, we had to ask for a lunch menu as we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were spoilt last time with a deluxe room, this time it was just a double. It was fine but not as light and airy as the last one. I would recommend spending a bit extra on the deluxe room.

    We had lunch there, we had to ask for a lunch menu as we were given the dinner one first. When it came it was tasty and good value for money. We used the pool facilities which was lovely. Bit chilly in there but you get used to it. We were also in the sauna and steam room, both great I am just not that keen on they things in general. The green at the back of the hotel is lovely and it's so peaceful. This was our second trip there and we will be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.4
    Great location and a good price but overall the hotel was disappointing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was dark, dismal and very, very hot. Had to have the bathroom and bedroom windows fully open to get air circulating. Food wasn't the best,

    The staff were all very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to get excercise Lane in pool. The only two available were hogged and passed onto friends. No fair queuing system in place.

    Breakfast excellent. Bacon well cooked

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed our break would visit again if we were in that area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is among a resedential area although the main part of the town is only 10 minutes drive away it hardly lends itself to a easy walk to town if you wished to

    Very comfortable hotel with lovely grounds food very good leisure facilities excellent all round good value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent staff. Very short visit so did not use the facilities- has a full gym
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit hot!

    Staff were excellent. Our car broke down and we arrived quite late but they kept the kitchen open for us. They also were very helpful in dealing with the car breakdown/pickup.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Staff friendly, pool decent size. Dinner lovely and breakfast selection fab. Defo be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a dislike more to noted that the lift is only available in the new part of the hotel.

    The building was beautiful with rustic charm and mixed with the new add on gives the best of both worlds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Loved everything about Balgeddie House .
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved everything about Balgeddie House . All the staff helpful and pleasant. Room excellent and really comfy bed. Evening meal very tasty as was breakfast . Would definitely recommend .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Continental breakfast options limited. The place is very creaky, you can hear everything next door/upstairs and I could hear music etc. from downstairs.

    The room was spacious, the food & wine was good. Coffee was great in the morning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Peaceful and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool looked great, and even although we never used it we will next time. View from our room was lovely and relaxing. Bed was comfy too. All staff were lovely. Dinner was nice too with big portions. We will be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing, comfortable, dog-friendly and would definitely return.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decaffeinated coffee tasted lovely but was small serving both mornings, although I requested a large one on 2nd morning .. Partner drinks 'normal' coffee , which was served both mornings in a flask- style pot so his kept hot , and was a much more generous serving...Those of us who have to drink 'decaf', please treat our 'portion' the same... This is the only slight niggle in an otherwise lovely stay .

    Warm ambience, friendly staff, spacious rooms . Good sized pool & saunas ( didn't use gym) ..Good hot breakfast, made to order.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was large however could be doing with a refurb, very outdated. The bath tub was all cracked on the outside which would have been dangerous for mobile children. On two occasions (dinner and breakfast) we asked for our meals with no tomatoes or mushrooms and on both occasions they came with tomatoes and mushrooms. A simple request that wasn’t followed. A family changing area for the pool would be very helpful for families with young children. Apart from that it was a pleasant stay.

    Property was lovely, staff were very helpful, particularly in the restaurant (woman with short dark hair, didn’t catch her name). We had our 6 month old son with us so they were very accommodating ie changing the high chair as the first one they gave us wasn’t suitable, turning the heating down as it was very hot (many guests made this comment) the hotel also provided the travel cot with blankets and sheets which was extremely helpful. Food was very nice (chicken stroganoff is a must try) and the spa facilities were a great asset to the hotel. Having breakfast delivered to the room is a great idea.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.1
    Lovely swimming pool with steam room and sauna, very clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no double mattresses in the hotel. Only single mattresses pushed together on a double bed board.

    Lovely swimming pool with steam room and sauna, very clean and modern.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    Food was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in restaurant was very slow. We waited 20minutes after being seated at dinner before having to ask to see the menu. Same issue at breakfast both mornings.

    Food was fantastic. Very tasty, large portion size and very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.8
    Fair but not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were above the fitness centre. Not great when you want a lay in. No shampoo / conditioner or bottled water in room. Breakfast expensive should be included

    Bed was lovely & big

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    4.6
    If you think Best Westerns are all nice hotels you’d be wrong
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most uncomfortable bed I’ve ever stayed in. Didn’t sleep much as the sound proofing was terrible. The cleaners woke us up every morning! So completely ruined our relaxing break. Service and quality of food at breakfast was also bad.

    Service at lunch and evening drinks was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    we had a super time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    marks off for - no Jacuzzi, no buffet for the cooked breakfast items, room was fine for one night but i would have found it a bit cramped for a longer stay. could easily hear other guests particularly in the hall outside room when TV was off.

    plus marks for - excellent TV in the room , modern fittings in room and very neat and comfortable. steam room and sauna were ideal. breakfast food was of a good standard and there was ample staff so we were tended to quickly. plenty of parking. venue had a welcoming atmosphere and friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.9
    Would Recommend for a quiet stay or a tourist jump off point.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing of note.

    Well Placed to visit family in Glenrothes. Good Facilities, Easy to find. Well placed as a jump off point to explore the Fife Region. Best bits: Large Room Gym and Spare facilities onsite. Well stocked bar. Would Recommend for a quiet stay or a tourist jump off point. Regards James

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely surroundings, relaxing, staff helpful and friendly, beds very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have food, so cannot comment on that, but what we saw and used, nothing for us to dislike

    Everything came up to what we wanted and more, lovely hotel with beautiful countryside, lots of indoor facilities, lovely walks outside.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Really great relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The light above the mirror in the bathroom flickered a bit which was slightly annoying. Other than that, no complaints!

    Great facilities, and really nice location set against lovely gardens. Huge bed, very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice realaxinh night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a bit further away than expected but overall ok

    Bath was great.friendly atmosphere and staff wishes me happy birthday and sang to me. Pool was a great attraction to hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.3
    good facilities but didn’t get informed of what was on offer
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of the water pipes. The pressure of water wasn’t normal either as the hot water spurted out the taps. I got woken up at 2am with the guest next door having a shower or a bath the noise was terribly loud struggled to get back to sleep after that. The mirrors were dirty and pillow cases and towels had dirty marks on them which should of been sent back to linen company!

    The room had everything I required for a nights stay. Comfy bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    Great.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were lovely and super helpful. I was attending a wedding which was postponed due to the weather so i had to change my booking at the last minute and they couldn't have been more accommodating. Facilities are good with a lovely well kept pool and steam and sauna suite. The room was warm yet spacious and airy. Very comfortable. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel at an incredible price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The snow, not a fault of the hotel

    Great location, fantastic sized rooms. Very clean and a fantastic price. Gym and swimming pool looked great but didn’t use

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant hotel but avoid the new(er) wing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well, this time we booked a Deluxe room and it was a bitter disappointment. The Deluxe room we had was in the newer part of the building, just above the leisure and gym facilities. The bed was an absolute delight, however, it took up most of the room, although there was *some* space the room felt crammed and to be honest we did have difficulty getting out of each others way when we were unpacking. But and I mean BUT, in the morning I was awoken by the next door neighbour using the toilet! Not an amazing wake- p call, as I am sure you can imagine, then we heard someone else having a conversation about whether to shower or not! Then there was the lift, all I could hear from 6.00am onwards was this constant electronic advise as to whether the lift was coming, going, opening or closing ~ this was cured later that evening by myself releasing the fire door off it's magnetic stop and allowing it to close, this then prevented any lift noise reaching us (yes, the fire doors were held open all weekend). Then at some point later maybe 8.00-8.30am, the Gym classes started and I was laying in bed listening to every syllable of instruction.

    The staff were all pleasant professional and well disciplined. We could not fault the staff at all. The restaurant service was courteous, polite and efficient, although possibly understaffed on Saturday night as we had to await an opportunity to flag someone down for a drinks refill. The food we had on both evenings was absolutely excellent (particularly the venison!), everything cooked to perfection with great attention to detail. The bed was nice and big and very comfortable, however, the rest of the room will be discussed later. The leisure facilities there are great, this is one of the features that has us returning to this venue, and the garden is a pleasure to perambulate, whatever the weather.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    very enjoyable stay
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we could hear normal sounds coming from the adjacent room. More sound-deadening walls would be appreciated

    the spa facilities were excellent as was the food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Good hotel (not food-restaurant)experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner in restaurant poor standard- lasagne covered in orange melted cheese with little meat and tortellini with pasta sauce tasted like dolmio sauce unfortunately

    Good rooms and leisure facilities Spacious and clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    lovely hotel let down a bit by paper thin walls
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the walls were very thin in our room, we could hear everything the people in the next room said and did

    staff were friendly, room was nice, good shower, evening meal and breakfast were very good, bed comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Lovely weekend break, would definately stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, and through no fault of the hotel, some of the guests were less than friendly and a bit dour but they certainly didn't spoil our stay.

    We had a really lovely time in lovely surroundings. The staff were lovely and very attentive. Just a wee suggestion that the room off the bar could be made more comfy with sofas around the fire etc instead of hard tables and chairs, could be a bit more cosy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Place is beautiful with grounds surrounding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed there was no cocktail bar as it states on website regarding cocktail bar. This needs to be updated as the bar does not do any cocktails at all. I would suggest to have loungers around the pool to be able to relax.

    Staff were wonderful & polite

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and well run hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The soap dispensers don't reach out far enough and dribble the soap down the bottle rather than into your hand ... as many of them do. This is more a heads up to management, it's not a complaint.

    We had a pleasant view though some rooms overlook the car park ... as all hotels do. We liked the pool and the restaurant staff, reception and room staff were helpful and pleasant. There is good parking. We are rating the older part of the hotel as we did not go in the new bedrooms. Our older style room was charming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.9
    It was very good time and place for rest and relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although our room and other spaces was clean, you could see cobwebs on the high ceilings. Our double bed was made from two single bed, which one does not have one wheel.

    The staff was very nice and friendly. Our deluxe room was spacious, bright with the new bathroom. We used the gym and pool. It was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.6
    Would highly recommend this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Martin upgraded me to a beautiful and spacious suite - I wished I could have stayed another night! The staff in the restaurant were friendly and the checkout lady at reception went the extra mile to locate traffic news for me. Free newspaper in the morning was appreciated. Also liked the fact they switched off the heating between 11pm and 7am and informed us that was happening.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My single room was very small and I could hear everything from the rooms either side, however the bed was very comfortable and all the facilities were there. Also, the TV must have been about 20 years old and has no sky..!

    The gym and spa facilities were excellent, as was the breakfast although a bit overpriced at £11.95 considering the room was only £29.75.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic relaxing stay in the kingdom of fife
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic value you for money hotel me and my wife often stay at a 5 star hotel with spa facility’s and we will now just be returning here for our monthly treat really should be rated more than 3 star great restraunt and really good breakfast .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was good, pool etc good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single bed though which was on casters so moved around a lot. Also the tap in bathrrom seemed to be airlocking and sprayed water when using.

    Breakfast was good, pool etc good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed our 1 night stay and will probably be back for a longer stay next time.,
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy creaking door to corridor which was annoying. This was reported to reception

    The ease of having a pet with us. Property was very quiet. Nothing was a problem and she was allowed to stay with us in the lounge to have our meals.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Highly recommended!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing... everything fabulous

    Very clean.. oldy worldly but modern with it. Pool sauna and steam room also clean and well maintained. The staff were all excellent and very helpful. The food was excellent quality and value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Loved it. Will always hold a place in my memories.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Staff were fantastic. Very caring and relaxed. They were also extremely thorough and supportive whilst helping us through our wedding preparations and then on the day itself. Excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.6
    Good value stay in pleasant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cosier communal lounge area preferably with open fire would enhance facilities.

    Very comfortable single room with nice en suite. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    I'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked when I got to property to upgrade as I had only booked a single room. Receptionist was very friendly and organised everything with ease. When I asked how much the upgrade was going to cost, she explained it was free of charge as its Xmas. This really made my stay so much nicer as I was visiting my kids for Xmas. Lovely breakfast in the morning to finish off an excellent stay. Had full use of the gym and leisure facilities which were of the highest standard. Thanks and merry Xmas

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Just a great place to stay. Friendly staff, good food and quality accommodation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has character and the surrounding gardens make this the perfect setting for different occasions (Functions). The friendly staff give the hotel a homely welcoming atmosphere and they are the difference between a good hotel and an excellent hotel. I've stayed in most of the hotels in the area, and I can say that the value for money and overall experience with this hotel is very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    6.3
    Very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was very small and basic - no pictures on the wall and no curtains as there were blinds on the skylights. It more more like a youth hostel room than a nice hotel.

    Very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable, friendly, beautiful location just spoilt by food prices and quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was poor and basic quality yet the price was very steep for what you paid. If you are going to charge the price you are for food then you should cook from fresh. My example for this was the scampi, with the location of the hotel I wasn’t expecting frozen scampi out of a bag. My wife cut her leg climbing into the shower as the beading around the top of the bath was jagged and had to go to reception to seek first aid.

    The bed was big and comfy and the staff were very friendly. The grounds of the hotel were beautiful too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    Good value for Money and nice food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms may be a little basic, but they are clean, tidy and comfortable so you don't need any more

    It was a nice clean hotel, good value for what it was.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.9
    Poor sleep
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were paper thin and vibrated when next door room closed door. People in room 214 on night of 23rd November were shouting and slamming doors and knocking on doors until midnight. Suggest they are banned if regular visitors.

    Price was excellent. Room was clean and warm

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Great place - excellent staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Without being picky service a little too efficient - please allow guests to finish cereal before serving hot food.

    Excellent selection, great staff throughout.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: