Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Balkan Lodge Oxford

315 Iffley Road, Oxford, OX4 4AG, United Kingdom

#26 of 65 B&Bs and Inns in Oxford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 452 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Four-Poster Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we didn't like but could have done with a few hooks in the bathroom to hang dressing gown / clothes on while taking a shower. Also it was lovely to have plenty of hot water but sometimes it did get extremely hot. A warning sign in the bathroom would have been beneficial.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, city centre easily accessible by bus or footed you fancy a walk... Very friendly staff. Accommodating & flexible where possible in terms of check in time & car park. Lots of choice at breakfast, more than enough to get you started for the day. All the things you need inside the room. Request a room at the back of the building if you are easily disturbed by road noise or a light sleeper. Enjoyed our stay & it was very convenient for our trip music fest nearby. Close to Cowley road where there is plenty going on.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four-Poster Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The check-in was strange as the host had the phone glued to his ear whilst talking to us and gave the impression that we weren't getting his full attention. The room was nice but dated. The bathroom in particular looked very tired. I'm not sure what the exact cause was, but I was woken about 6am by very loud clicking noises which I assumed to be from underfloor pipes. This went on for over an hour and was very repetitive.

    Cleanliness of the accommodation was very good and excellent breakfast provided. Very knowledgeable and helpful host. No noise issues and on-site parking was indeed a bonus. Good local bus service into city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No problems at all

    Clean, well maintained and comfortable. Breakfast was included in the reasonable room rate and there was a choice from cold buffet and a hot breakfast menu which was all very nice. Owner and reception staff were friendly and courteous. It was only 30 minutes walk to the High Street and 10-15 minutes walk to Cowley road which has a lot of pubs, cafes and restaurants so it's in a great location. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault anything. Perfect for us.

    Great location and very clean. Breakfast was good quality and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The showerhead is installed due to the restriction by the oblique ceiling, thus very low and there is no curtain around the bath tub. The towels were damp and had strong smell of detergent. The fruit salad tasted a bit soured in the second morning.

    The location is very convenient. Easy to be accessed from west and east sides of the city. It's within walking distance from the city and the riverside. The reception kindly agreed to stay as late as 11pm to accommodate my unexpected delayed arrival. The view is excellent at the table by the dinning room window.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money and perfect for attending a gig at the O2 academy. A short taxi ride into Oxford centre or a 30min walk. Lovely welcome, super helpful with taxi booking and information of the area. Was even able to leave the car in the car park after check out which was very kind of them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating (radiators) was switched off at night so I was cold. Found the existing old-fashion blankets a bit heavy. There were no extra blankets so had to wear extra clothing in bed only to wake up boiling when the central heating was turned on early in the morning.

    Friendly staff. Very clean. Convenient location. Good car park.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ensuite was very small and rather cramped, but this is not a complaint. Given the price paid and the other very positive features this is merely an observation (and they have probably done as well as they could with the space available). The shower itself was very good.

    Comfortable bed and very clean, well equipped room. Convenient free parking at the rear. Excellent breakfast in a very attractive breakfast room. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very friendly and helpful. The whole place, including the bedroom and bathroom was spotlessly clean. There was a bar on site although we didn't use it. It was on a busy road but this didn't matter as you couldn't hear the traffic through the double glazing. Good value for money compared to the price of other accommodation in Oxford. Only a 5 minute taxi ride to the O2. I would definitely stay here again when visiting the O2.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four-Poster Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My daughter actually is the one that stayed here with her boyfriend. The Balkan holds a special place in our hearts as it’s where I stayed when visiting when she was at school in Oxford. She was expecially looking forward to John and was thrilled that he remembered her. Very fond memories. Despite being well out of the way of places they were visiting, it was a must-do.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was on the small side but quiet. We could have had a larger one but would have been nearer the main road.

    We were made very welcome and the room had everything we needed. The décor is well maintained and the cleanliness was excellent. The breakfast was spot on.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four-Poster Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was this noise in our room that was very loud not sure what it was or where it was coming from. It was very difficult to sleep with the noise.

    The property was quiet from out side noise.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is not ideal if you plan to walk. The shower is a bit uncomfortable even if you are average height.

    Nice, quickly prepared breakfast. Clean Room. Helpful Staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in the bedrooms was a little dated but that didn’t bother us. If you’re not bothered about modern, stylish interiors then you’ll love the homely feel to this place.

    Perfect location for visiting the city centre. John greeted us on arrival and was very helpful with directions, information and details of buses, etc. Room was cosy and clean. The bed was really comfortable and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room walls were a little thin so you could hear people in their rooms. Neede an iron in the rooms.

    The breakfast was pleasant. The staff was nice. The accommodation overall clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in a room at the front of the property and the street lights were very bright through the window. Bed was really hard and the shower was on a slope and broken, so it was impossible to stand underneath it - I had to get my partner to hold the shower head so I could attempt to have a shower! Breakfast cheap.

    The room, although dated, was very clean. It was a nice bonus to have free parking in Oxford. Hotel booked us taxi, which was helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No proper shower. Shower fitting over bath but no curtain etc so had to use sitting down in bath.

    Comfortable bed. Double glazing effective at blocking road noise. Good breakfast. Good hot water supply for bath/shower. Free wifi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was a bit on the small side, but I didn't have time to ask for more so I can't know if that issue could have been solved. Very few options for food intolerances (again, I didn't really ask for more, so I can't judge on that).

    The room was extremely small, but clean and comfortable (really tiny bathroom, but I was alone so that wasn't an issue). It was really warm, but not uncomfortable, and the staff was friendly. The place is not very central, but Oxford is small so it's only 10 minutes by bus to the town, or about 6/7£ cab ride.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing !

    The location was excellent with easy frequent nearby bus service into the city. The welcome and interest and service/helpfulness were great. The room was clean comfy and quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we have stayed here before so were confident our stay would be fine.Great value good location .secure parking on very frequent bus route to city centre. Breakfast excellent with hot food freshly cooked to order .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was at the front of the building, and the road was quite noisy. Also, the window curtains were quite inadequate, letting in far too much light from the nearby street lighting. It really needs some heavy sound and light absorbing black out curtains as this would put me off staying again.

    Easy to get into Oxford, useful off road parking. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - No Window
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit closer to city center

    The host was welcoming and informative. A clean, attractive, quiet facility made our stay comfortable. There were many choices for breakfast, including a made-to-order "English" one. A Thames walk and central Oxford were easy to access. Although the walk to city center was a good fifiteen minutes away, there was good access with the city bus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sink in main bedroom, not the bathroom. But this is only a tiny niggle. It did not spoil our stay at all.

    Hotel was clean and well furnished. Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was great. For us the position was excellent too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiny wash basin in the bathroom. OK for handwashing, but not too good for wet shaving, or cleaning one's teeth. Couldn't open the bathroom window.

    This hotel was clean and comfortable; the breakfast was good and the proprietor was welcoming in a non-intrusive way. My criticisms are of a minor nature and I would be more than happy to stay here during any future visits to Oxford.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there wasn't anything not to like

    I booked this hotel as it was near the John Radcliffe Hospital and I couldn't have made a better choice, at a time when I was very stressed, the staff were welcoming and very helpful, superb breakfast clean & comfortable superb!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The curtain let too much day and night light through thereby disturbing sleep. Would not stay in this room again because of. Black out curtains are a must.

    Very well appointed room and facilities; new fittings and decor. The room was very quiet considering the location at a busy road junction. Professional staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed bugs in room number 9 . Blood on duvet cover in room number 1 .followed by stains and mouldy pillow .And and stained second pillow . Ripped sheet . Someone else's hairs and stains on rworn mattress protector...the male who runs it or rude and unconcerned when you have problems even when your shaking and distressed after finding bed bugs . Would not offer a refund and I was forcred as I had no money or car to stay there for two nights . I now have nightmares .and am o my just getting over chest and sinus issues caused by this place ..no real appology made me feel I was in the wrong ..well I was I paid to stay there and had no man to defend me .

    I was only stuck there for 2 nights

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Exceeded my expectations. Great value.

    The staff was exceptional. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Transportation to Old Town was at the door.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a slightly earlier time for breakfast and a slightly lower room rate, but it is Oxford

    Wasn't able to enjoy breakfast, but they willing made me a packed lunch. Very friendly, comfortable and spotlessly clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only reason I do isn't give a 10 to this property is that my daughter and her partner slept in the four poster bed, it was extremely uncomfortable, a new mattress is needed, was like sleeping on the floor.

    Excellent accomodation. Easy to get to and convenient to the city. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Property was very clean, spotless in fact.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - other than perhaps not a great variety of restaurants within immediate, short walking distance, but sufficient for short stay - many more along Cowley Rd requiring a slightly longer walk or take bus into the centre.

    This B&B accommodation is excellent & highly recommended. The property, both inside & out, is immaculate, spotlessly clean & tidy, very well maintained & presented. Our room was very comfortable & quiet with very good wifi reception. Lovely lounge & bar available for guests' use was a most welcome facility. The 'full breakfast' was tasty & generous & on-site car-parking easily accessible & had enough spacing for all guests. Location was very convenient to central Oxford - 45 minutes walk or 10 minutes bus ride (Buses 3 or 3A) - bus stop about 100 metres from accommodation. Host, John, was very friendly & helpful. This B&B will enhance your enjoyment & stay in Oxford - look no further !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is on the slender side, but was spotlessly clean and everything worked.

    The owner was very welcoming and the hotel is clearly well run. The place is freshly decorated and pin-neat. Breakfast was delicious (especially the scrambled eggs) and arrived incredibly speedily. All in all would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great welcome, comfortable room and a good location - easy walking into the City Centre, too. We stayed for two nights and will definitely use this hotel again when we return to Oxford.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly people and obliging would go there again ,perhaps in a quieter room there was some kind of motor running the first night I didn't get any sleep otherwise it was nice there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four-Poster Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely guest house, a very pleasant 15 min riverside walk into town. We arrived early and the owner allowed us to leave our car safely on their car park, he gave us loads of useful information and the following morning made us a beautiful breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are getting a little tired and could do with an update. The shower head over the sloping roof does not really work, unless your are a very small person!

    The hotel was very clean and the proprietor was friendly and helpful. The onsite parking was a big plus as was the very pleasant walk along the Thames into Oxford. Breakfast was fine and plentiful. The bathroom appeared to be quite new. The bedrooms are comfortable but a little dated but very clean and contain everything you would expect from a hotel room in Oxford for this price. Be aware there are quite a few different prices quoted and if you want breakfast make sure you book it, as it may not appear in the room rate.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - No Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    My single room and en suite were very small. The tv was a little antiquated and initially did not work, however the manager responded quickly to my request to sort it out. The price was more than I would expect to pay for a hotel like this elsewhere (except London!), but this is Oxford were hotels are expensive, and given that fact this hotel is consequently good value for the city and I would recommend it.

    Nice hotel that was very clean with very pleasant staff. It is located a couple of miles out of the city centre but is on a bus route that takes you right into the centre in less than 10 minutes. The breakfasts were very good and there is enough free parking at the rear if that is needed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water at 7am, which meant I couldn't have a shower ahead of a long journey. A huge disappointment. For that reason, I felt that the room rate was not good value for money.

    Excellent customer service; when I mentioned that I'd need to leave early to catch a flight the next day, the manager immediately offered to serve breakfast 15 minutes early and book a taxi for me.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bus into centre very close. It was a very comfortable room. Breakfast was very good. The cleanliness of the hotel stands out. The owner is available to ensure you have an enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think maybe the breakfast could have been a little bigger. It was lovely, but needed a bit more.

    The host was lovely, very pleasant and friendly. We were made to feel very welcome. The room was basic but exceptionally clean. Breakfast was very good. Overall a very lovely stay, and I would definitely come back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I'm being really picky, more biscuits in the room to match available hot beverages. But seriously No issues at all. Exactly as anticipated after doing online research and reading reviews. Would use again when in Oxford.

    Warm welcome. Owner took an interest in my visit, kindly provided a map and directions. I was going to a show at the New Theatre. My Single Room at rear of property was quiet even with window open. Excellent Mira shower and comfortable bed. Free Wifi, TV and kettle, coffee, tea, biscuits. A Brisk 25 min walk from town centre.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    The property was about 1.5 miles outside the main part of Oxford but an easy walk in or bus ride away. Quiet hotel with a car park at the rear of property. Facilities were good and importantly well maintained and clean. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room faced the road so with the window open there was a bit of traffic noise. ...but hey you are near a major city centre

    The cleanliness of the property was exceptional the proprietor was very helpful breakfast was good and the cooked food freshly prepared

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - No Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 6 was not good at all - a very small twin, no window at all, little natural light or air (very high up, tiny skylight gave some light did not open at all so we had to rely on a fan for air circulation) and the bathroom was tiny with the sink outside in the bedroom. It was an expensive room at over £85 per night. Other rooms looked much better so I think we were just unlucky. We would suggest that the price is halved in future and the room only offered to single travellers with warnings about the lack of light, air and view before bookings are made.

    Guy on reception desk was very helpful and charming. The cooked breakfast was excellent (cooked by same person). Wifi was good. Location was good. Overall, I would recommend this hotel - unless you were allocated room 6......

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This property whilst a little (perhaps one or two miles) outside the city heart is on an excellent bus line with frequent departures from only a few metres from the lodge. The bus fare was reasonable, from memory about 1pound 60 pence. The room was generous size and well appointed. The owner was very helpful in providing city map and information. The off street parking was generous and probably adequate for a full house, unlike some where only limited parking is available. The breakfast was prepared to order and very good. Wifi was available in the rooms and worked well. Good ensuite facilities. Overall great value.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It had a bath with shower hose, rather than a stand up shower, but a shower unfortunately isn't possible in that room configuration. It's possible some of the other rooms have showers - don't know.

    We knew this hotel was not going to be grand, or an architectural masterpiece, but it was spotlessly clean, nice staff, and the breakfast was great too! Also enough parking that we could leave our car there and go off for the afternoon, ditto the following morning after checkout - this is a plus in Oxford. Very satisfied.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    It was a nice, quiet place to stay. The staff was really helpful and pointed out places to go in Oxford. It was about a 20 minute walk to the center of Oxford, but it was a pleasant walk and it was also very close to the Thames.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kind and very helpful host. Our 2nd stay in this hotel, good value for money, good location, bus no.3 just few steps away on Iffley Road, nice stroll by the river to Oxford Centre or Iffley Lock.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the morning water pressure in the shower wasn't strong enough, I had to spend extra time showering. While in the evening I didn't have such problem.

    Convenient location for reaching Oxford centre. Small hotel but nice. The room, I stayed in, looked cosy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had no window and therefore no real ventilation! Only a distant skylight with no curtain or blind, so it let in outside light (moonlight, street lights) all night. Had to use air conditioner evening and morning to cool down unventilated room with very hot radiator that could not be turned off.

    Helpful, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sausage at breakfast and limited fruit selection

    Warm, friendly, and helpful staff. Breakfast wasn't bad. Hot breakfast very good, except for the sausage. An orange would improve the fresh fruit selection, which was limited. But apart from these quibbles, the food was good. Room was small but spotless. Very quiet and restful. Bed was comfortable and I slept well. The basin (in the bathroom) is Lilliputian. Would certainly recommend Balkan Lodge. It's extremely good value for money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front of property traffic noise a lot of light from hotel outside coming into bedroom, frayed towels in bathroom, bathroom very snug and cosy !!

    Comfy single bed bigger than usual breakfast great ! Plenty of parking on site very friendly welcome on arrival

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been included in the price to make it better value - but Oxford is more expensive to stay.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Very clean. Could walk into town or on bus route. Great one night stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    John was our host and gave us a warm welcome. The room was bright, clean, and had everything we needed: hair dryer, coffee/tea with kettle, comfortable bed and windows that open. Breakfast was wonderful with a choices from a menu including a full English breakfast and a buffet with two types of melon, coffee/tea, cereals, yogurts, muffins, juices, etc. The guesthouse is on the 3/3A line from central Oxford, about a 10 minutes ride, and the Thames Path is a 5 minute walk down Donnington Bridge Road. We used the 24 hours Oxford Bus Company pass to get back and forth from the center. Overall we appreciated John's attention to detail that are hard to describe in a short review. A very good value.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise of machinery running all night. Shower very cramped and did not work (inadequate flow of water and temperature far too low).

    Good location close to people we were visiting.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The strong flowery scent along the hallway.

    The friendly and helpful host throughout our stay. Free parking on site is cool and consider we were lucky as there were only 3 cars on site so our Ford S-max fits okay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was expensive at £9, I didn't have it so no idea if it was worth it or not. I would have liked a cheaper 'light' brekkie option.

    Good location with parking for the city centre. Single room nice size. En suite very small, but clean and did the job!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of extra coffee sachets in the room would have been nice

    Welcoming & friendly. Clean & well presented. We appreciated the extra effort made to make breakfast an Easter celebration

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms with oldfashion style but really not a big problem.

    Good location a 20 minute beautiful walk along the Thames to Oxford centre. The bus stop was close. Clean rooms and bathroom. Free parking

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed in the hotel for one night with my family.Excellent choice for a hotel,close to town with taxi 6 minutes ,free WiFi, clean,comfortable beds,great breakfast with lots of choice.Free car park, we also could use next day after check out.The staff very friendly and helpful.High recommended.Thank you very much.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balkan lodge is a guesthouse half an hour walk from the city center and 10 minutes by bus. the bus stop is 2 minutes walk. the staff is friendly and always very helpful. I have stayed in the single room. In my opinion it was perfect for one person. the room was redone daily. reasonable price to quality ratio is good for English standards or oxford. I will come back absolutely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast was very nice, however could be improved by increasing portion size.

    Had a guest house feel rather than a hotel, however it was very clean ver comfortable. Walking distance from O2 academy and hop on hop off bus (stop 10).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower setup in our room was impractical. Shower on the slanted ceiling at shoulder height and no shower curtain. If we used it we would have soaked the whole bathroom (which was not a wet room)

    Good spot outside the centre of Oxford near a bus route in (8mins). Nice quiet spot Good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was pretty small and there were quite a bit of furniture so maneuvering around the room took a bit of skill and patience.

    The staff treated us so well and were always quick and eager to make our stay more enjoyable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four-Poster Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only small criticism would be the coffee, better coffee, but that's it.

    V. Clean, comfortable, friendly staff and a good price for Oxford. Walkable to the city centre.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The décor in the single room (carpet due an update) The tiny sink in bathroom (not practicable for washing face or brushing teeth)

    The staff - welcoming and friendly The car park The breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small sink in the toilet would make the tap water spill over and dirty the floor when washing face or hands Small toilet seat - difficult for a big man like me. No facility for the bum wash. Wall lamp over the dressing table was not working.

    Location, parking space, staff, breakfast, wifi, tv with channels ...

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in Oxford to see Minor Victories playing at the O2 Academy, Cowley Road and wanted somewhere to stay nearby. The Balkan Lodge is a pleasant 45-minute walk from the station and only 15-minutes from the O2 Academy. On Cowley Road there is a great choice of bars, restaurants and shops. Near the Balkan Lodge is a nice little Co-op that is open from 06.00-12.00 - very handy. Checking-in was quick, easy & friendly. My room (8) was at the back overlooking gardens - so was nice and quiet. The room was compact but comfortable and had everything I needed for an overnight stay. Unfortunately I had to leave early next morning and so missed breakfast - but that was down to me and a late change of plan! I would definitely stay here again next time I come to the O2 Academy - which could be February as White Lies will be playing there.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four-Poster Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was comfortable, and a well planned room with a spacious bathroom. Breakfast was good & tasty with a reasonable choice. Good location with easy access into centre of Oxford with a Bus Stop only a couple of minutes walk up the road. Even though it is located on a seemingly busy junction, the traffic noise was not an issue. Helpful staff and a nice simple layout of the hotel. Would stay again. 😊

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The duvet was very thin, and was not warm enough for December, no extra blankets were provided, so I was cold during the night. The headboard on the bed was loose and made lots of noise every time you turned over. Breakfast was an extra £10.00 per person which I think is too much. On checking out we were not asked if we had had a nice stay.

    The Balkan Lodge were were helpful in letting us check in a little earlier so we could go on a day trip without worrying about parking or checking in very late. The room and bathroom were very clean

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is little far away ,shower is very very low,can not stand up to take a shower,have to lower head which is really not good experience.

    staff are very nice and helpful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very excellent. Facilties are very nice under reasonable price. I felt there a wonderful stay during my visit Oxford for conference at the university of Oxford.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The manager is very nice and accommodating. The location is very good, the breakfast is very good and the facilities clean. It will definitely exceed your expectation for the money spent in this area.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom a little bit too small.

    The breakfast is well organised and tasty. Help provided instantly, if needed. Very good service. All in all: Would book on my next visit.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Balkan Lodge Oxford traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: