Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ballathie House Hotel 4 stars

Kinclaven, Stanley, PH1 4QN, United Kingdom

#2 of 3 hotels in Stanley

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 624 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner was lovely and everything was very tasty but quite a drawn out affair, with lots of tiny courses but frankly we were still hungry afterwards which wasn't good as it was expensive. The fish main course was just 2 tiny pieces of fish whereas the breakfast haddock fish serving was huge and excellent.

    The staff were all lovely and helpful especially the young lady on reception who was extremely helpful in ever way about directions, wildlife , local walks and local history .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Annex is like a Motel. The rooms are cheaply decorated and cheaply made. The floorboards creak which tells you corners have been cut in the building of it. The dinner was very acceptable and the staff attentive. The surrounding area is very beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fairly basic and would have benefited from refurbishment. The hotel offered only a fixed £55/head evening meal service.. If there had been an itemised menu choice we would have eaten there, as I suspect would many other guests.

    The hotel grounds were exceptional

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a lodge as the hotel was full. I knew it would be of a lower standard but was a bit surprised at how basic it was. The windows are at ground level and very close to people walking past which impacts on privacy too. We have stayed in the hotel before and I would recommend making sure you book a room in the hotel.

    The staff go out of there way to be helpful and are very friendly. The food at breakfast was delicious. Very fresh and well cooked. Ballantine is in a beautiful location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi in room. Limited TV channels, curtains and shades in room dusty and wardrobe doors poorly fitted.

    Lovely Riverside balcony in room. Grounds beautiful, food fantastic and staff very customer focussed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel has the most beautiful grounds, and has many rhododendrons, which were in full boom, a special bonus for me. Staff very friendly. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing of significance.

    Food is outstanding. Absolutely top notch. walks along the river Tay are spectacular. Staff are excellent. We had our dog with us, and staff were genuinely 'pet friendly'.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Untruthful statements about the Sportsman’s Lodge : - Not the same level of comfort as in the main building (shown on photos). (We already stayed ... in the main building some years ago.) - The rooms were not clean. - No WiFi. - Bad value for money.

    Beautiful surroundings. Meals were O.K.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Annex room is too expensive for what it is. The location is only good for those willing to stay nearby and not traveling through the country

    The house itself is beautiful and the gardens very peaceful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water from the shower on the night of our stay, then no running water at all from sink bath or shower in the morning, notified staff on checkout and they were going to see to it.

    Beautiful area and views, breakfast and wait staff were excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant meals are excellent especially the 5 course dinner menu. My one suggestion is the alternative of a well priced table d’hote.

    The whole hotel and policies are really well kept. The staff are well trained throughout. We will definitely go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our booking was made several weeks before our stay, and I booked dinner at that time, mentioning that our stay coincided with our silver wedding anniversary. At dinner, we were seated in the main restaurant, but at what a waiter later described to us as 'the worst table in the restaurant' . His assumption was that we must have only booked for dinner that day - not two months previously. It felt as if we were seated in what was essentially a corridor, with the staff passing within inches of the back of my husband's chair - far from relaxing. We asked to be moved, which was done professionally and without any fuss, to a smaller ante-room to the main restaurant. Our dessert arrived with a 'congratulations on your anniversary' message - so the hotel had obviously noted that, but it served to just underlined that, despite knowing we had chosen to celebrate with a stay there, we had been allocated what was acknowledged to be a rather 2nd rate table. It was a real shame, as it took the shine off what was otherwise a very pleasant stay

    Superb location, excellent food and wonderful views of the river Tay from our room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Afternoon tea was good but could have been better, Ie inclusion of a tea menu and better quality fizz. The champagne glasses look and feel like supermarket glass. The cakes and sandwiches however were very very good and the location is exquisite.

    Dinner menu and dining room staff were outstanding. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room in the sportsman lodge was comfortable but a bit dated for the price we paid.

    Set in beautiful grounds with helpful and attentive staff who saw to and remembered my dietary requirements. Great food and common areas.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have mobility problems and use a mobility scooter to get around. The gravel in the parking area was quite difficult to manoeuvre and would be impossible for anyone in a wheelchair or on crutches. Smooth, buggy-friendly path ways and fewer steps would be a great help

    We used to visit Ballathie a lot when we lived in Scotland in the 1970s and early 80s. We returned on a trip to visit our old haunts and were delighted that Ballathie fully lived up to our expectations. Everything was perfect, staff friendly and efficient. Room was beautiful and well-appointed. Many thanks, we shall return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be needing a little care in chairs in bar especially the blue leather not acceptable for a country house hotel of this standard

    The restaurant menu was excellent value for money and special mention of waiter Sean in the detail explanation of all courses well done

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't like the speed bumps in the drive, but they are necessary for BMW owning clients.

    I cut dinner to one course to deal with a car problem, but that was excellent, if a touch "nouvelle cuisine" fo my taste.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom not good value for £162 , box room size, small bathroom and uncomfortable beds.

    Stayed here many times and love it but this trip wasnt as good. Its important to clarify which room you are getting as the rooms listed as classic rooms vary enormously. I felt we were in a box room with very uncomfortable beds. This is the first time ever in all the years we have been going that we have been disappointed. Staff are always superb and breakfast lovely . Hotel is relaxed and very comfortable public rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in sportsmans lodge, very clean and comfortable. Had dinner in hotel, excellent food and service. Breakfast was lovely with a good selection. The hotel was faultless, would definitely recommend for a quiet relaxing break.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard Matresses Badly cooked kipper for breakfast otherwise breakfast was fine

    Lovely situation, friendly staff. Had a very nice dinner in the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Felt there could be another evening dining choice - bar food in the evening so that dinner was not the only option. Vegetarian option was the same on both nights and although tasty, could have been changed the 2nd night.

    Great to be able to stay in main hotel with the dog. Very impressive breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of the dinner. Guest late at night laughing and cackling on the sofas very late at night. Very disrespectful of others.

    The location and the quiet. Somewhere I could live.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked through Booking.com and wasn't aware that we had not booked to stay in the hotel which was a little upsetting as we had looked at the pictures of the rooms prior to booking. That being said the Annex was nice and we had a good nights sleep. As with many hotels the bar is overpriced. £5 a pint, £8 a glass of wine or £30 for an average bottle of Prosecco is expensive.

    Nice location and although we did not stay in the main hotel it self (unbeknown to us we had booked an annex room which is offsite) we had dinner and breakfast in the main hotel which was good. The annex it self was very clean and warm and a good size.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was very uncomfortable and left my wife with dreadful back ache.

    The food was fabulous. A wonderful vegan menu. Freindly, helpful and attentive staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lodge was basic and dated. Shower screen leaked. Toiletries and tea/coffee selection minimal. Very overpriced and we apparently had a reduced rate. Main house dated, doesn't have a proper reception. Bar too small and very limited food choice. Set menu for dinner very expensive. Not really dog friendly just dog acceptable.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food, altho expensive, was excellent. Shower hot and powerful. Gorgeous setting. Will probably go back for food but not to stay unless prices reduced/ hotel upgraded.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms are very dated and really need repainted new furniture etc - not just antiques which are lovely pieces but just a bit down at heel considering the cost. Beds need new comfy mattresses as very hard beds!

    The food was amazing and the staff were so friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing to criticise - all marketing descriptions of this hotel are accurate.

    Exceptionally warm, friendly and professionally hospitable atmosphere throughout. Very relaxing and welcoming accommodation and public rooms; imaginative menu is fully complemented by consistently high standards of cuisine using predominantly local produce. Beautiful location and remarkable value considering the luxury on offer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet in our room was a little dirty and stained. It's a great hotel for a relaxing break but there's not a huge amount of facilities in the hotel itself.

    It was a beautiful hotel placed in the Perth countryside, great for just getting away from it all for the night. It was really quiet and romantic. The grounds were beautiful to have a walk around and explore. Dinner was divine, would 100% recommend eating at the hotel, food was perfect and service was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very small detail, but the toast for breakfast was disappointing, bog standard "warburtons" type bread, we had excellent bread rolls at diner , I suggest they could be toasted for breakfast.

    We had diner at the hotel which was superb. The quality was very good and care and attention had been taken to present the meal which we appreciated. Atmosphere very friendly and cosy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The most comfortable chilled and very relaxed stay comfortable bed I have had any where food was excellent staff warm and friendly this was my second stay and I can't get enough

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was unheated on arrival but hotel staff sorted this quickly and offered an extra heater whilst the room was waiting to heat up. Hmmm ... trying to think of negatives. I suppose I could say that the bed was a bit harder than we are used to and the duvet could have been wider but luckily we're both small! Oh, and I also found the gluten free bread inedible and weirdly greasy as if it had been soaked in oil ? or the toast fried. I would recommend them getting a different brand or to take your own. Apart from that it was all thumbs up for us.

    So grateful to stay in this lovely place. Nice lighting and quiet with no background music playing . Lots of quiet places to sit and read. A real place to totally relax. We wanted a place that felt like a nice old proper hotel, where you felt left in peaceful to relax. I am pleased to say this is it and isn't a hotel that looks old on the outside but has then been 'upgraded' on the inside, had its walls painted the colour of a bruise and been stripped of everything nice. This is the real deal. If you want the 'upgraded' chain hotel experience go elsewhere and leave us to enjoy this as one of the few lovely places like this that is left. Accomodated my GF and DF dietary needs - thank you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We always feel a little rushed between courses at dinner time. It would also be nice if returning guests were recognised as such ( “welcome back” would suffice as it is a bit disappointing to always be asked “is this your first stay?” When we’ve been a few times before.

    Great accommodation. Friendly staff. Great food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our accommodation was in need of a spring clean, stains/marks/cobwebs on walls and carpet dusty along skirting edge, everything else was perfect.

    The staff were friendly and attentive. Food at dinner was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing that we didnt like.

    The bed was really comfortable for someone who has a bad back. The staff were very helpful and very pleasant to deal with. Considering the icy weather outside the hotel was lovely and warm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sanitary disposal bags or facilities in the bathroom, would need to ask staff for this. Need a hot water caution notice at the bathroom sink as water was scalding.

    Lovely walks, beautiful scenery, first class food and accommodation. The fact you can take dogs is a massive plus!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extractor fan in the bathroom was extremely noisy.

    The room was spacious with a beautiful view over the river. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel is surrounded by lovely grounds with plenty of opportunities for walking. We booked dinner and were delighted with the choices on the menu and the quality of cooking. Breakfast was also very good. Would definitely consider staying here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lodge that we stayed in is cheaply built unlike the main hotel. The heating went off early. Every time the people in the room next to ours flushed the toilet, the pipes would make the loudest howling noise ever! This went on until gone midnight, then started again early in the morning, about an hour before we were ready to wake up. All in all not a good night's sleep. I did try to call reception at 11pm to get something done about it, but no one answered the phone! I also mentioned it when checking out, but the lady in reception, although friendly, dismissed it.

    Very nice setting. Lovely breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked to have just a cup of tea and a scone in the late afternoon, but this was not an option so had to order full afternoon tea

    we were in the annexe owing to late booking so not really applicable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold The hotel very busy and noisy Smart attire at dinner had been lost housekeeping tried to come in to our room before we had even checked out.

    Food was excellent The location was wonderful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a cold weekend and allpublic spaces were cosy. Room could have been warmer but given it is an old property it perhaps take time to warm through. There was an additional blanket and duvet was warm.

    Staff and quality of food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was very temperamtal. One member of the F&B staff let down what was otherwise a super level of service.

    Lovely former mansion set in extensive wooded grounds.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    would be great if the bathroom was updated. also, a spa could be a good idea for the future.

    lovely breakfast, fantastic walks by the river with the dog

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOTHING

    Everything from the lovely woodland and river walks to the interior. The bar is well stocked,cosy and comfortable, the lounge is relaxing our room was spot on. What a lovely view over the Tay and onward to the cattle and horses in the fields.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was terrible. The food was cold and the food also was served raw. The chef needs to learn about hot holding temperatures for the food. This is basics in catering. And this is a legal requirement in the catering trade. Staff attitudes were terrible, even when pointing out there were dead bugs on the table! Dining room floor had not been cleaned.

    The room was very clean. The bed was huge!!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the evening only option in the restaurant was the main chef menu. Was beautiful meal but for special occasion not for prolonged stay. We couldn’t afford it. Hotel was very hot. However didn’t spoil the stay.

    The room in the main house was fantastic. View over the river and so very quiet. Staff exceptional helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked English breakfast a little lacklustre although the smoked salmon and scrambled egg good

    Beautiful setting and pleasant atmosphere. Excellent dinner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were of poor quality and the spare pillow covers were not ironed . Dust beside bed when I pulled up the telephone cable . Stains on carpet For a 4 star you would expect to be served all the breakfast not self service

    Grounds are beautifull

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't know that it was essential to book evening meal at time of booking the room. I assumed if we were staying we would be able to dine there. It might have been helpful to mention this during the booking process

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Evening meal was too expensive for us.

    Breakfast was excellent. Room 69 in the Annexe was wonderfully spacious. Loved being able to adjust the heating ourselves. Water was really hot and the bath filled in about 1 minute!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked for our 20th wedding anniversary so I expected the room at hotel to be of a much higher standard. B&B it was worth £70 not £125 as we paid. Could somebody please contact me to discuss?

    The evening meal on Saturday night was very good and the breakfast was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed not to be staying in the main building but in an adjacent lodge which was clearly designed for the outdoor sports visitor.

    Superb dinner

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that I didn't like!

    Had Afternoon Tea which was excellent and very good value. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Beautiful situation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot think of anything

    The bed was large and very,very comfortable. Fantastic breakfast. Lovely selection on the cold buffet to start and cooked to order hot breakfast. Staff at breakfast could not do enough and we had a table overlooking the River Tay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    £20 for a dog!!! Prices of drinks was over the top. Room we were in was about parr with a run of this mill b& b. Not four star. ReSonzvbke

    Dinning was very good if not pricey

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well, I couldn't handle the on line booking. Maybe I'm just too old! And, I 've never had trouble with my Daily Telegraph coupons before

    The accommodation, particularly the bed, was superb. The hotel staff were caring & helpful. And chef in the kitchen cooked that best beef I've tasted.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main building was too hot!

    Hotel is lovely, set in extensive grounds. Staff could not have been more helpful they made the stay even more enjoyable. Food excellent and the scrambled eggs were amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner very expensive did not like reg salmon which was serve with chips .Asked for potatoes.Sorry not available have been to his hotel many times before but this was the worst dinner ever

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Choice of tea (Earl Grey) and fresh milk in fridge in room would have been perfect, but this is a very minor quibble.

    Attention from all staff was faultless. We felt the unique privilege of being in a hotel run to a very high professional standard at the same time as being friendly and 'homely' - a very difficult trick to pull off.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all was fine but if I were to find something then drinks were quite expensive

    room very comfortable with lovely views of Loch Tay and the dinner was excellent, great chef and the breakfast was very nice. staff friendly, attentive and smiley

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 'home from home' rooms. Comfortable and lovely. Efficient and pleasant staff, especially the check-in/out lady. Not our first stay and won't be our last. Excellent kitchen.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They totally misrepresented on booking.com The room looked nothing like the pictures. The house was totally run down. Our room was not worth even half the money we paid for it. The mattresses lumpy and felt every spiral. The room was hot (heating broken) and the carpet dingy. We heard every word from the other rooms. We spent as much time as we could in the public lounge, to avoid the room. The public areas also were run down. We heard many people complain about their rooms and things that were broken. The staff made us feel like it was an honour to be served at all. When we went to the bathroom, they moved us to another table and put reserved on our lounge table. We were very happy to leave there, and regret having paid so much money for what even in London would have been a crappy room. I should have taken a photo on the inside, but forgot as I just wanted to get out of there.

    The location was beautiful, sat in a great park and along the river, on a very large plot with nice trees and also not too far off from the cities we wanted to visit, so quite convenient and still nicely remote.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stay at Ballathie House every year when we compete at Blair International Horse Trials its something we look forward to. This is the one time we don't sleep in the wagon. as we won reserve championship on the Thursday we had dinner, bed and breakfast it was wonderful. already looking forward to 2018.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Annex accommodation was OK. Rooms in the main house are much better, but of course more expensive.

    Excellent restaurant and attentive helpful staff. Beautiful riparian location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely with a door directly to the garden with pretty views of the river. Our dog was made welcome. The meals were first class and highly recommended. Parking is easy and plentiful. The location on the banks of the river is beautiful and peaceful but your own transport is ideally required. Nearest small village is 5 minutes by car and the city of Perth about 15 minutes. The A9 is just minutes away but you will feel as if you are deep in the country. A super place to relax and be spoiled.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were unable to take me for dinner as a resident !! They put me in an unsuitable room which basically had hot water pipes running through it in August and could not be turned off. Check in was poor although I don't think that it was the receptionist - unhelpful and unfriendly. Only soup and sandwiches offered to me as an alternative which was wholly unsuitable after a long day of travelling. I had to travel 4 miles each way to the nearest pub which was excellent and had accommodation. I wish that I had stayed there. Upon my return I was offered another room eventually. I was very nice to the lady but I have to say that I felt like being really mad at them ! Breakfast was pretty average and I think that they think that the hotel is better than it is. Old world charm doesn't do it anymore. Stayed in a Premier Inn the previous night and I had no problems

    The tranquil setting

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it has been over 30 years since my last visit, I felt the lounge area in the central hall and the bar looked a bit tired and not as well maintained as my last visit. However, it looked a bit better in the evening with low lighting. Regular maintenance with an eye to detail is what I'd recommend to bring it back to the grandeur and special venue that I visited 30 years ago.

    The superb dinner and service. Lots of different seated places to chill out before and after dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only real complaint was the room temperature. Our room was very warm. Although not all of the windows opened as most of them were painted shut, it was actually the fact that we could not turn of for the hot water radiator that was the real heat problem. As a side note, the cleaning of the draperies in the DiningRoom and the insulation of new carpet the reception area, lounge and DiningRoom would go a long way to spruce up the overall feel of the place. That being said...if all I have to pick on is the drapery and carpets that shows you how wonderful the place is overall.

    What a fantastic location super central to everything in Perthshire. Added to the fact that the staff are wonderful and the food was spectacular. I am finding it very hard to find fault with any part of our stay here. A few small items I have mentioned under the things that I didn't like but, all in all we were very pleased with our stay here. Looking forward to returning next year when the beat here is open to try our hand at a bit of Tay fishing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appalling service went in for breakfast They forgot my tea then they forgot my breakfast I walked out disgusted My advice to anyone don't go here

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor and furnishings were a little shabby in places.

    This was our second visit to Ballathie and hopefully not our last. Dinner at Ballathie is outstanding!! The staff are welcoming, friendly and no request a problem. The setting is very peaceful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no criticism of this hotel and would and will happily stay there again

    The rooms were clean and comfortable Staff were excellent Food excellent. A much higher standard than expected Location was idyllic

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The initial room we were allocated was a bit noisy due to being on the front where the car parking is, but we were moved swiftly and easily the next day to a beautiful room with a river view.

    Staying here is like staying in someones comfortable, relaxing country house. Beautiful shabby chique furnishings with stunning views of the river. The staff are so friendly and helpful. We have stayed here many times and it never fails to deliver.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a shame that there was a wedding on which had exclusive use of the hotel. We were therefore unable to sample the restaurant or bar facilities. We had to travel to another town for dinner. The restaurant was however lovely.

    Excellent location, beautiful grounds - peaceful. Overlooking the river Tay. Staff were friendly, efficient & helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The river lodge is getting very tired the floor creaked, no place to hang towels in the bathroom. They advertised wifi but only work if you sat under the stairs in the main hotel then only occasionally. This stopped me looking up flight details and emails.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was actually a fairly basic but serviceable chalet room in an annexe building and not one of the period rooms (in main building) advertised during our booking. Wifi did not work during our stay.

    Beautiful hunting lodge style hotel. Lovely lounges and outdoor seating options in a tranquil setting by the river. Superb breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was booked into the annex, very poor, damp and dingy, asked to be moved to main hotel, costing us an extra £50. Annex not what it says on the website.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Ballathie House Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: