Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Balmoral Hotel 3 stars

High Street, Moffat, DG10 9DL, United Kingdom

#7 of 17 B&Bs and Inns in Moffat

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 736 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    6.3
    The hotel is well located and with a little more care it could be good but it requires tlc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double mattress,. The sausages at breakfast time were poor quality as was the tea. There was no fresh fruit or any other fruit provided.

    We were allocated cottage accommodation which was well furnished. The bedrooms were upstairs. One bedroom was a double which we decided to use, unfortunately the mattress badly needs replacing so in the middle of the night I used the other room which was a twin and that was fine.There was a kitchen with tea, coffee and biscuits+ cold drinks in the fridge and those were complimentary.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Possibly the fish and chip shop should be completely closed off from the hotel as there is a smell of frying chips when you come into the hotel foyer.

    The room was large and comfortable with water and cola in the fridge which we were told were free. there was also a kettle, tea coffee, sugar and milk and a biscuit tin full of biscuits. The room and bathroom, which supplied bath robes, were the cleanest that I have ever experienced in a hotel. first class.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    10
    Excellent inn with rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all We we’re more than delighted with the hotel

    Rooms are very clean and have extra additions like full size toiletries Bathrobes chocolates Excellent position with very nice beer garden

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money , we loved it !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing could be better it was perfect in every way from the rooms right down to the friendly staff

    Very large room with separate lounge area, coffee making facilities, small fridge with complimentary water and bottles of coke , complimentary chocolates , very nice ,tidy hotel, I would definitely stay there again .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    10
    A very relaxing time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t fault it.

    The little details.....milk, water and coke in the fridge, shampoo etc. The room was very large with lovely bathroom facilities Breakfast was excellent Great food A lovely family atmosphere.....very relaxing.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    Possibly the best B&B I've stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was not their fault but was that we couldn't get 2 nights at the time of booking, meaning we stayed elsewhere for the second night for over double the price and it wasn't a patch on this place!

    Possibly the best B&B I've stayed in. We had one of the cottages and the facilities were outstanding. Clean, spacious plus all little extras such as chocolates & drinks in the rooms. Breakfast was well cooked & plentiful. Staff were very accommodating. Highly recommend and would stay again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed our stay but due to the attitude of the morning staff we probably won't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we came down for breakfast, there was no greeting with a 'good morning' or even a smile. There was a lady behind the bar and I asked her for some glasses for the juice. Without speaking, she went out of the room and got a different member of staff to go behind the bar to give me the glasses. When we paid, I was going to say how we had enjoyed our stay, but again there was silence and not even a 'thank you' or 'goodbye'. The staff could definitely do with some training on customer service.

    Our bedroom exceeded our expectations. It was exceptionally clean, there was a bowl of sweets, there was a biscuit barrel of biscuits and fresh milk in the fridge. I thought the cost was definitely value for money.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    8.8
    A very nice homely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fire safety notice in the room,showing assembly point etc, no hotel information book in the accommodation,showing hotel menus and meal times.

    The room was very clean and tidy, plenty of towels and toiletries in the bathroom, breakfast was very good. overall a good stop over place, would certainly use it again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.6
    Lovely, really good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    T reception area was pokey.

    The bedroom was spotless. There were flowers in a vase; real milk in the fridge; a biscuit barrel full of biscuits. the en suite was huge.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    Excellent comfort and great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There really was nothing that could be improved on.

    Booked as a double the room turned out to be a lounge area with comfortable sofa, fridge and TV with bedroom (second TV) and en suite attached. Very spacious, spotlessly clean, warm and very comfortable. Lots of nice touches like fresh flowers in the room and a jar full of custard cream biscuits.The staff were exceptionally friendly and very helpful. Hotel bar well stocked with a good range of single malt whiskies and serving well priced good food. Choice of breakfast items, also good food. No hesitation in thoroughly recommending The Balmoral in Moffat.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.2
    TREMENDOUS VALUE FOR MONEY, WE WERE SHOWN TO OUR MASSIVE...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    VERY LITTLE TO BE FAIR, POSSIBLY SOME OF THE FURNITURE, BUT THATS BEING PICKY REALLY, WILL STAY AGAIN!!

    TREMENDOUS VALUE FOR MONEY, WE WERE SHOWN TO OUR MASSIVE ROOM BY V. FRIENDLY STAFF MEMBER, MET A GREAT AUSSIE COUPLE,FOOD DRINK COMPANY AND SURROUNDINGS WERE SPOT ON. GREAT BREAKFAST ALSO, AS MENTIONED BIG BANG FOR YOUR BUCK AS THEY SAY

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Overnight in the Borders
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had no dislikes

    Great location in centre of town with easy parking. Good size room with sofa and seperate TV. Quiet and comfortable room. Tasty simple pub food.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel. I would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My adult son was in the single room and he felt the bed was a little small

    Location good. Staff very pleasant facilities really good. Especially the little extras like the bowl of chocolates in the room., a mini fridge with cold milk and nice toiletries in the bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Excellent service and facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and we had a super lunch on the premises with Our friends which was very tasty and reasonably priced. Well done the Balmoral!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    2.5
    Very disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived at the hotel at around 8 pm only to be informed that they had double booked my room and that they had booked me in at a pub opposite. The room that i had was below standard and wasn't what I expected. I was in the smallest room in the loft of the pub. The bathroom was so tiny and the shower was a trickle. The breakfast was ok and the people where really nice. Maybe the other rooms are better but mine was not what i would normally expect. I am not one for complaining and it was no fault of the people that they ended up accommodating me. Because it was late when i got there it makes me wonder whether they gave my room with the hope that i wouldn't turn up.

    NOTHING

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    Good for a one night stay on our tour of Scotland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fresh fruit at breakfast.

    The courtyard was a very pretty approach to the Old Stables accommodation. Excellent cooked 'Full' breakfast and service at breakfast time. Old Stables accommodation is lovely and spacious. Good free parking on the road.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    warm welcome on arrival, spacious, bright, well heated, modern room with quality fittings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was nothing to dislike.

    bright and spacious, well heated, room with large seating area and also a large modern bathroom with quality towels and toiletries. comfortable bed and quality bedding. in house restaurant serving good quality and very reasonably priced bar meals.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful accommodation, friendly staff and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact there was no residents dining area and food was served in the bar. It can be rather noisy but it didnt phase me too much and I’d certainly return to the hotel again.

    The fact that as a single traveller, The standard of the room was superb, even allocated a beautiful sitting room. It is a well known fact that many single travellers are given the tiniest of rooms, that to watch tv you have to lie in bed, there is no sitting area at all and views from windows often look into walls, back yards etc.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.5
    Second stay at this hotel and would highly recommend.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A Scottish breakfast would have been appreciated (lorn sausage, haggis, fruit pudding), although the options offered are sufficient and freshly cooked to order.

    Room was large with a sofa and flat screen tv, mini fridge, fresh milk, water and cola. Bathroom had robes, full size bottles of shower gel, shampoo and hand soap. Very clean and comfortable. Noticeably quiet. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was good, as was the meal we had in the evening.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Good location in the centre of town, excellent room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lift would be good.

    Good location in the centre of town, excellent room, spacious, tea/ coffee making facilities, biscuits, complementary drinks in the fridge, fresh flowers in the room. Good breakfast - they real try to go the extra mile.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    The Room was spotless & the facilities within the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing about the Balmoral Hotel that I didn't like.

    The Room was spotless & the facilities within the room were of high standard, the staff were very pleasant & helpful & breakfast was really good as well. I would highly recommend the Balmoral Hotel to anyone who is looking to have an overnight stay in Moffat

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Great value for money.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money. Nice room with en suite. Friendly staff and good food. Had dinner plus real ale in the bar. Got chatting with the regulars. All in all an excellent choice for an overnight stay on way to the north. And Moffat is a lovely town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable,value for money hotel. Good selection of bar meals ,friendly atmosphere "
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to report

    Very convenient overnight stay. Very clean comfortable room with generous extras.Fridge with fresh milk and two complementary drinks. Recently upgraded en- suite facilities.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Managed to check in earlier than stated, only expecting a room but got a suite (room 12) spotlessly clean no problems at all would definitely recommend. Also lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Friendly, welcoming and a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The comfy beds, the dish with sweets, the biscuit barrel with vanilla creams, the beautiful toiletries. Lots of thought to detail to make you ferl welcome and at home.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Excellent overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very good breakfast, pleasant and welcoming staff, and the large, comfortable room made this hotel a perfect stop on the journey to the north of Scotland.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Central location , motorbike friendly , room nice and clean ...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Central location , motorbike friendly , room nice and clean , good shower , good bar and exellent food . Would be 1st choice to stay next time in Moffat

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Great stopover en route to the highlands.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We had a suite of rooms all beautifully decorated. Fresh milk in a fridge. Free parking right outside the hotel in the square. Superb value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was not very comfy it had a spring sticking up at the bottom, it really needs changing, we were in Room 6

    Very large room, absolutely spotless, lots of lovely touches, chocolate, bottles of water, coke, biscuits, tea coffee, fresh milk in fridge and even a real tea pot, toiletries

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    The hotel was in an ideal location for us and was absolutely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The hotel was in an ideal location for us and was absolutely stunning. We went on a walking holiday and it was perfect for us. We had a lounge with our room and we were given complimentary chocolates, drinks, tea, coffee and biscuits which was unexpected! Our room included a breakfast everyday and we were offered a choice of cooked breakfast, vegetarian options, toast and preserves, cereals, yoghurts and fruit juices. The hotel was extremely clean, warm and welcoming. We had an ensuite to our bedroom with complimentary shampoo and shower gel, plenty of towels (which were on a heated towel rail as an added treat) and bath robes. Simply cannot fault and we will definitely be back!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    FABULOUS BALMORAL HOTEL!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficullt to think of anything! Just one small suggestion - our bedroom overlooked small alleyway which was brightly lit, and window only had vertical blinds, so room never got dark. Could do with curtains in addition.

    EVERYTHING! Our "room" was a SUITE, with sitting room/kitchenette, complementary cold drinks in fridge, re-stocked every day, bowl of choccies on the coffee table, also re-stocked every day! Hot drinks, kettle and bikkies also. Plenty of towels, CHANGED EVERY DAY! Quality shampoo and shower gel. Fabulous food.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    FABULOUS, backed up by the cleanliness of the trown and surrounding countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I only wish I could think of something but absolutely nothing could have been bettered during our stay.

    The facilities, the friendliness of the staff were far superior to any stay we have had over the past six years and we are already considering what time of year to return next year. As for value for money, it is top of the hill.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Excellent, home from home with extra comforts you don't get at other hotels.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are brilliant, everything you want and is like home from home. Sofa, fridge, barrel full of biscuits, sweets, water, coke. Beds are really comfy and everything you need in the bedroom. Looked at one of the cottages at the back and will be back for a long weekend at some point in the not too distant future with friends as they are 2 bedrooms. Friendly staff and good food.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Clean large room with separate lounge area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean large room with separate lounge area. Water and milk in fridge prior to arrival . Excellent staff and breakfast and very good value. Right in centre of moffat. The downstairs bar area could do with a makeover but apart from that could not fault the place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay except we would have liked to have eaten in the hotel. Still excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately we arrive around 7:30pm on a Friday night and were unable to get a table to eat in the hotel. There is no dedicated restaurant and the bar was busy. However there are a lot of alternatives locally, so it was an inconvenience rather than a big problem.

    Room was large and well decorated and comfortable. Complimentary, Tea, Coffee, Biscuits, Sweets and Drinks was quite exceptional.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    A very central location within the characterful town of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    A very central location within the characterful town of Moffat. The rooms were recently renovated and were spacious and with excellent en-suite facilities for a hotel at this price. Food was reasonable and staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    An absolute gem in the heart of Moffat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything we didn’t like....apart from having to leave

    We booked for a 3 night stay. The Balmoral is right in the centre of the town, parking spaces are at the front of the building. We picked this hotel as it was only 10 minutes to Auchen castle where we were attending a wedding.We had just got back from a 2 week cruise so wanted to keep the costs down and so chose this hotel not just for the location but also the fact that it was cheaper than most of the others for the 3 nights. It was rated 3 star and we had read some recent reviews that made us feel fairly confident that it would be ok. But it was more than ok, in fact it was exceptional, bearing in mind its 3 star rating. We stayed in room 2 & were pleasantly surprised as we had a living room as well as a double bedroom. The living room has 2 comfortable leather sofas, large tv, an electric fire in a surround and a couple of kitchen units with a sink & a fridge. There is also a desk & chair. There is a kettle, jars of tea bags, coffee & sugar, a large jar of biscuits, hot chocolate, a tea pot, mugs plus complimentary milk, (real milk, not those awful miniature packs),2 bottles of water & 2 cans of coke in the fridge! We also had a bowl of celebrations chocolates! We really were spoilt! The bed is a standard double, comfortable enough, and there is a small wardrobe & a large chest of drawers. There is also a flat screen tv.The bathroom is very modern, the shower was powerful & always plenty of hot water. We had hand towels, bath towels & bath sheets plus dressing gowns! They even provided large size quality toiletries, tissues,herbal essence shampoo, dove soap, imperial leather hand wash & shower gel!! The rooms were very clean, very comfortable & very pleasant to stay in. We had breakfast included & that was exceptional & plentiful. We had the full Scottish/English comprising of 2 eggs, 2 bacon, 2 sausages, 2 tomatoes, beans, mushrooms & toast. Help yourself to cereal, orange juice etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    BRILLIANT START TO A HOLIDAY IN SCOTLAND
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING NOT TO LIKE

    WE HAVE STAYED AT THIS HOTEL SEVERAL TIMES BEFORE, IT IS A PERFECT START TO A TOURING HOLIDAY IN SCOTLAND. THE BALMORAL IS A LOVELY HOTEL WHICH SERVES VERY GOOD FOOD AND DRINKS THE STAFF ARE VERY FRIENDLY AND ALWAYS EAGER TO PLEASE.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    Great value for our long distance stop-off
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor point: the bed and some of the doors creaked - we were extra aware of this as travelling with a baby we were trying not to wake!

    Clean, spacious accommodation with everything we needed. Food was good. Staff were great. Overall, really good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    Clean, comfortable and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    Décor a bit dated, and lack of healthy options on the menu. But good value for money.

    Comfortable and friendly. Particularly liked the little extras that you don't get in the big chain hotels - real soap, decent towels, plenty of tea and coffee, and real milk! Easy to park. Fresh cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Super place to stay in Moffat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't fault anything!

    The hotel seems to have been recently refurbished (well our room had anyway) and it was much nicer than we had been expecting. It was super clean and had lots of lovely touches - a plentiful tea tray, lots of thick towels, robes, a little jug of fresh milk in the fridge and even a small bowl of chocolates. We honestly couldn't fault it. Breakfast was superb and set us up for the day. We also ate in the pub at night and though the menu wasn't extensive, we thought prices were very reasonable (as were the drinks) and we enjoyed our meal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely place right in the centre everything was great an was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the only issue was the bed wasn’t the the most comfortable and it squeaked a lot so whenever I moved in my sleep the noise was waking me up. But that was my only problem with an other wise great place

    Lovely place right in the centre everything was great an was a great price. It was clean, quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The duvet was a bit warm but that's probably just me!

    Everything Lots of homely touches, biscuits, dressing gowns, fresh milk in the fridge Lovely place to stay for a mini break and the breakfast was first class too

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Absolutely outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing negative to say.

    Everything was great about this place, which was the best place we stayed in during our trip. Very nice ans helpful owners. We stayed in a cottage on two floors, with a big leaving room an a great bathroom. Excellent breakfast to chose from a menu.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel will definitely be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The little extras in the beautiful room. The fresh cut flowers, lovely toiletries,sweets,biscuits. The breakfast was great made with good quality produce.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    I arrived extremely late as a result of an accident blocking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived extremely late as a result of an accident blocking the motorway for several hours. Paul was fantastic! He offered to stay up and wait for us to arrive. Sure enough, at 2 am he was there to greet us. Incredible service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Worth every penny
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no negative all was above what was expected for the price!

    Spacious very well equipped rooms...upstairs and down! Great staff ... one minor problem which will no doubt be sorted... I paid twice... on line which I was told booking.com only hold payment but don’t take it... they did and I paid on departure as well... We will return another time.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Fresh, clean spacious room with separate sitting room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fresh, clean spacious room with separate sitting room. Our own little suite. Lots of tea, coffee, biscuitsand fresh milk. Lovely touches like fresh flowers and a bowl of sweets, coke and water in the fridge and all replenished daily. Ate in the hotel every night food is good and the fillet steak was amazing! breakfast was good too. Staff are very friendly and helpful! We will be back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, very clean and comfortable room with lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, very clean and comfortable room with lots of extras such as water, fridge, biscuits, chocolates and tea and coffee all provided. Lovely location just off motorway but in a quaint and historic town. Perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Fabulous Hotel - Affordable Luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. I honestly have no 'room for improvement' comments to make.

    I like everything about this establishment, which is why it's my 3rd visit - the rooms are fab (I've stayed in three different ones) with complementary products galore, and the breakfast is fabulous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Fabulous accommodation. Lots of extras. Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only bad point which wasn't the hotels fault was the noise from bar over the road where there was music until the early hours.

    Great room with an unexpected lounge area. Complimentary refreshments much appreciated including fresh milk.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Brilliant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the cottage we stayed in. Ample room. Very clean. The weather was hot so made use of the garden but the cottage was cool inside. Breakfast good and friendly staff. We loved Moffat and would definitely return

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    We really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything

    We really enjoyed our stay. We had booked in for 1 night, but we liked it so much we stayed for 3 nights.. we had a meal there steak and it was lovely. It was so nice to have the choice of potatoes with our steaks instead of chips wi th everything that you find most places. Our cottage was lovely. The staff were very nice and we loved our breakfast. No faults at all. We will be back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.9
    Great room, lots of space and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of issues with crockery at breakfast, however breakfast good generous portions!!

    Great room, lots of space and very clean. Toiletries good. Tea tray, biscuits and chocolate great!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Gorgeous wee hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous wee hotel! The rooms are so clean and spacious. The little courtyard/beer garden out back is a lovely little escape. Breakfast in the morning was delicious😋

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Never fails to impress.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Self contained cottage which offered privacy yet close enough to all the main hotel’s amenities. Best cooked breakfast ever. Friendly staff Beautiful surroundings

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Excellent, would certainly stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice room which was clean and spacious. Lots of little touches like complimentary biscuits, chocolates, fresh milk and soft drinks. Staff friendly and helpful. Great position in middle of town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Good surprise and excellent setup as far as homey comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m having trouble thinking of anything.

    I liked having the amenities, such as Kleenex,clock, shampoos, etc. the room was large and had a sofa as well as queen bed. Bed very comfy.i was on the fourth floor, which would ordinarily be a nightmare for me to carry my bags up but the man checking me in carried them up. Everything was spotless and they left snacks and water for me. Probably coffee too but since I don’t drink it, I never look for it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Great friendly welcome a very pleasant stay & great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    all good

    Great room , sofa area with fridge , complimentary soft drinks & water , plenty of tea coffee & biscuits . Bath robes very roomy shower .we will definitely book again when we visit Moffat

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful courtyard cottage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been told the courtyard cottages are being converted just to double rooms. Seems a waste of great space. We sadly won’t be able to stay again. Have used this wonderful property for stop overs on our way to the highlands

    Beautiful courtyard cottage. Very comfortable and with a double and twin rooms perfect for a family.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    Go for one of the self contained cottages with excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Go for one of the self contained cottages with excellent accommodation. Paul, who was in charge on our arrival, was particularly helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Great place to overnight!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked this place for a one night overnight stop. The room was really very good - lots of towels, comfortable bed, tea coffee and biscuits! The meal was 'pub grub' but really well prepared and breakfast was good as well. For what we paid we had absolutely no complaints. There is ample free parking in the large area outside the hotel (not owned by the hotel).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and felt well looked after.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside lights on very late reflecting into room.

    Very convenient location to main road for our purposes. A good standard of food at the right price. Excellent amenities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Most enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside bar seating area could get a bit noisy as weather was good so busy in the garden.

    We were in the stables, very roomy and comfortable. Had breakfast and dinner which were delicious, lots of choice. Hotel right in the centre of town and easy to park nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    excellent value and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only negative was that the breakfast was average and had to wait 15mins for porridge.

    The room was excellent and having the little kitchen and fridge a big bonus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Property well positioned on high street plenty of parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Property well positioned on high street plenty of parking for free. Very clean, very spacious room, good facilities, excellent staff, great food. Lovely walk in shower, quality toiletries, soft towels and dressing gowns . Great stay thank you .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    This is a great place for a stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was as skylight in the room which could not be closed off, so the sun came through pretty early.

    This is a great place for a stopover. Right in the middle of the main street. The staff were friendly and helpful and even let me park my motorbike round the back out of the way. The room was very big, with a full sofa and big TV, very comfortable. There is even a fridge with free coke and mineral water, full tea, coffer and biscuits in the room too. Proper toiletries in the bathroom. Nice breakfast, plus a had a steak in the evening, which was nicely cooked and good value. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    The Balmoral is getting there but has a little way to go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old & tatty armchair in room. 45 minute wait for breakfast is unacceptable.

    Bedroom clean & up to date. The barrel of "Custard Creams" & dish of "Celebrations" were nice touches. Plenty of teabags, etc & fresh milk,soft drink & water in fridge Plenty of towels, different soaps in good sized en-suite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel, great food, helpful staff, nice rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms provided were great and huge with a seperate lounge and kitchen area filled with lots of great provisions. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast and dinner were yummy and large in serving

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely, bright and clean rooms in a traditional old hotel and pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, really good value

    Really exceeded what I was expecting. Room was fantastic, it had a large, comfy sitting room with a couple of reclining sofas and then separate bedroom. Nicely furnished and decorated, spotless clean. Plenty of towels, bathrobes, fresh milk and soft drinks in the fridge. Welcoming staff. Lovely breakfast, cooked fresh to order. Very happy with my stay there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Centrally located in the High Street. Bedrooms a good size with free chocolates, ample tea and coffee, complimentary water and cola all refreshed on a daily basis. Breakfast well presented and a good quality.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Excellent accommodation and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Menu was a bit uninspiring but good was cooked well.

    The accommodation in the stable cottages was fantastic, spotless, roomy and comfortable. Extra touches included fridge with free water, milk and soft drinks. Breakfast cooked to order and was plentiful and tasty.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Great for a quick overnight stop with personality, or for a few days longer to explore the Borders.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noting to dislike, but it could help to have one or two items of cutlery in the kitchenette.

    Everything very well maintained. There seems to be a prominent 'red' theme in the decor, inside and out, and it all looked very new and fresh although the buildings go back to the 1800s (at a guess..!). Stunning plants and shrubs in the courtyard. Smiling friendly service at breakfast. Fresh milk in the fridge for an early morning cuppa.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Perfect stop over for a night or two!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi in cottage is poor, we had to keep going into the garden area to get better reception. I was travelling on business and needed reliable wi-fi to send emails.

    Friendly staff, large rooms, good breakfast & value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    I'll be back !
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cant find a reason to be unhappy abouf thid hotel

    I would stay there agsin it was lovely..nice genuinely helpful folk. Slick and efficient too. Big rooms and well equipped. Even had sweets and fresh flowers in the rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: